Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 234 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

234 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

234 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
139
4 stars
55
3 stars
12
2 stars
8
1 stars
20
1-20 of 146 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 146 total reviews
1-20 of 146 reviews
7/1/2012

Customer review by jazzyswtlady48

5.0 stars 7/1/2012 by jazzyswtlady48
by jazzyswtlady48

I got this as a dad bundle and it was great. It met all my expectations. My son works on computers and was impressed also.

Was this review helpful? (195) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jazzyswtlady48
Moreno Valley Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7/14/2012

Customer review by CHEYAALI

5.0 stars 7/14/2012 by CHEYAALI
by CHEYAALI

I bought this for my 14 year old's birthday present, as she would need a computer for her upcoming high school years. I was sceptical, as most computers with similar capabilities were running much higher in price. I was not disappointed. It was everything she needed for online access, file storage, and of course downloading of games and much, much more. I am very happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (91) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CHEYAALI
Land O Lakes, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Itss Awesome !
8/7/2012

Customer review by Kubskout

5.0 stars 8/7/2012 by Kubskout
by Kubskout

Okay so i just got my compaq presario an i think itss awesome.I play video games on it,and watch movies,ann youtube is excellent.The webcam is also good i can talk to friends and family with good resolution.Absolutely no complaints.

Was this review helpful? (49) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kubskout
Orange nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wished I had read the specs thoroughly...
7/7/2012

Customer review by Remital2015

2.0 stars 7/7/2012 by Remital2015
by Remital2015

I found the Compaq Black 15.6" CQ57-339WM Laptop PC to be an excellent unit for those who did not need it for complex tasks like detailed graphics, multimedia editing or heavy duty administrative tasks. If you wanted a computer laptop for the game player, the social network officianado or the person that is no longer a student. This unit is the unit for you at the right price. It comes loaded with Windows 7 Home Premium, MS Office Starter Editions, A trial version of Norton Internet 360 and an HP Warranty which is only good for 90 days, as a matter of fact none of the trial software bundled with the unit last more than 60-90 days. With only a 340 Gig HD, a Celeron B800 Processor and only 2 Gigs of Usable Memory, I would have been satisfied with that but there is an already existing partition for backup which is only usable if you don't install anything else on the system. The HP components are a bit invasive just as Norton has always been. This is a perfect unit for the fledgling teenager who doesn't plan on doing anything major with this unit at the outset, perhaps it can be upgraded at a later time, but in order to have that done, you must (no doubt) extend your warranty within the 90 day grace period, at a cost of near $300 for a year's worth. I must remember it is a refurbished unit. Next time I will read the specs more carefully before committing to such a purchase.

Was this review helpful? (133) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Remital2015
Imperial Beach, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Refurbished saves $$!
7/5/2012

Customer review by Mgood4x4

4.0 stars 7/5/2012 by Mgood4x4
by Mgood4x4

Awesome laptop for the price. To purchase new (not refurbished) I would've easily spent double, and it does everything I need.

Was this review helpful? (69) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mgood4x4
Bentonville, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice basic laptop for discount price!
8/7/2012

Customer review by carbonfiament

5.0 stars 8/7/2012 by carbonfiament
by carbonfiament

I was a little nervous about buying a refurbished laptop ( or refurbished ANYTHING for that matter ), but the laptop I received is a gem. It comes with Windows 7. I wiped the hard drive and installed UBUNTU, the FREE linux-based operating system, as I will never again pay royalties for problematic virus prone Windows garbage. This laptop SCREAMS for web surfing, streaming video, and Skype! I am not a gamer, but true gamers aren't going to be messing around with a laptop anyway. This laptop does everything I need a laptop to do, and with UBUNTU, I will never need to worry about Trojan horses, Malware, Anti-virus software, etc. Very nice for the price!

Was this review helpful? (22) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
carbonfiament
Yellow Springs Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This is a great Laptop
8/20/2012

Customer review by albesureofit

5.0 stars 8/20/2012 by albesureofit
by albesureofit

My mom is 85 years young and just getting started with the computer world this is also her first Laptop and it was a great in store deal @ $248.00 + tax you can not go wrong with the price its great right out of the box internet ready all you have to do is load your info and update all the programs that you use and your off to play all the Bingo games and e-mail all your friends Its not a super fast computer but it will do the job can handle Facebook and any program you may use this is a great for the new beginner to computers

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
albesureofit
Largo Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
DON'T DO IT! ITS JUNK
10/15/2012

Customer review by Sheena17

1.0 stars 10/15/2012 by Sheena17
by Sheena17

I bought this lap top less than three weeks ago and my hard drive failed this past Friday! I am going to be returning it to wal-mart to get my money back! Yes, they give a 90 warranty and I bought the extra coverage from wal-mart, but if this piece of junk can't even work for 3 weeks before crashing, god only knows what kind of other problems it will have or if it will crash again. Not to mention I have to mail my lap top in every time it may crash in the future and risk losing everything on it! I just transferred all of my old data on to the new lap top and added some the past 3 weeks ( as a law student) and now it is gone! I didn't even have time to back up before it crashed! Don't waste your time or money! Pay the extra and get a good lap top and brand!

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sheena17
Jax, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Yo quiero taco bell
9/13/2012

Customer review by solo2

5.0 stars 9/13/2012 by solo2
by solo2

This laptop showcases an Intel Celeron dual core processor in 32 nm technology. Celeron processors run faster then Pentium dual cores because the pipeline is shorter. They may or may not have an execution disable bit for data integrity. The case shows as black plastic. The keyboard is generic laptop. The laptop boots into wireless mode automatically unless it is turned off. The 2 GB of memory adequately powers the laptop. I added 2 GB more and it performs well. The processor boots to login faster then a Pentium D 820 with equal RAM. The laptop runs for nearly four hours on battery mode with the standard battery. Application threads execute quickly and Word starts quickly too. For $268 dollars who can ask for more. The laptop is made for internet browsing and MicrosofT Office. If you want to game buy a desktop or Xbox 360. I use it every day.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
solo2
Stockton, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Broke after one week
7/11/2012

Customer review by cmhgrl

1.0 stars 7/11/2012 by cmhgrl
by cmhgrl

I purchased this because I needed a laptop for school and all I needed was something to get on the internet and type some documents, nothing fancy and I was on a tight budget. I ordered from walmart and received the very next day. Firstly, it does NOT come with microsoft office. It comes with Microsoft Starter and a lot of advertisements to buy microsoft office. To make a new document, you have to open an old document and then choose from the file menu to open a blank document, what a pain. It also takes as much time to boot up as my 8 year old mac desktop. Lastly, after one week, I turned the thing on and was working on one of my projects for my thesis when it all of a sudden froze up and the screen went black. I had to hold down the power button to turn it off and then when I turned back on, it just had a blue screen with a cursor. No log in, no icons, nothing. Even the windows button didn't work. I called HP support (it's an HP product) and it turned out that the hard drive failed. After over an hour on the phone with them, they are finally sending me a new hard drive but get this.... HP charges you $1 until they get the damaged one back from you. Then they refund the $1. Why? Who knows, it should be completely free especially since I only used the thing a total of 6 times. I also had to listen to a lecture about backing up my files. I only had 2 documents on it but they were important and now they're lost because I didn't expect my brand new laptop's hard drive to die within the first week and so I didn't get around to backing them up yet. Now I know better. When dealing with a PC, anything can break. Next time I'll save for longer and get a mac.

Was this review helpful? (31) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cmhgrl
West New York NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
great for my needs
8/27/2012

Customer review by gon2ceed

5.0 stars 8/27/2012 by gon2ceed
by gon2ceed

i just wanted a laptop to take away from home, to keep up with my business, and social connections, and for some gaming, and so far it's done all i ask.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gon2ceed
monticello, ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
good value
9/30/2012

Customer review by NANMA6

4.0 stars 9/30/2012 by NANMA6
by NANMA6

I received this computer today as a replacement for an earlier version of this same laptop that decided lately to keep crashing on me. I had my older one for 3 1\2 years and was comfortable using it so thought the transition would be easier buying the same brand. I paid exactly $100.00 less for this new one and it has more features! I like the black matte finish, webcam, media reader and I went from "Vista" to Windows 7 home premium. I was alittle worried about it being refurbished, but it looks brand new. The only thing I found "iffy"was the touch pad but that's minor. I checked into getting my other one repaired and it was going to cost about $200.00 so I shopped around and saw this one for $259.00 and decided it was a "no brainer". Of course this is pretty much for us who aren't really techno geeks but it is a nice basic computer for home use. I am pleased with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NANMA6
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7/9/2012

Customer review by AwesomeNess4000

5.0 stars 7/9/2012 by AwesomeNess4000
by AwesomeNess4000

Best laptop I ever saw!!

Was this review helpful? (24) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AwesomeNess4000
Jewell, IA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
EXCELLENT
10/20/2012

Customer review by KEYKIIY

5.0 stars 10/20/2012 by KEYKIIY
by KEYKIIY

I dont have any problems with this product it is excellent for a student in school or just everyday use. I use this laptop to do school work and also to play games and check Facebook, twitter etc. if you do buy this think about getting the Microsoft office product because this only has the starter even though im sure all computers are like that. It also comes with Norton security for 60 days. i love it because it looks and feel like a more expensive hp computer (because hp brought out Compaq) it basically has all the features my friends hp has. I love this i wouldn't think twice about getting another refurbished hp or Compaq computer they are the best.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KEYKIIY
nashville,NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great buy. Good low-end laptop/fantastic price
11/22/2012

Customer review by SoggyPaws

4.0 stars 11/22/2012 by SoggyPaws
by SoggyPaws

I was looking for an inexpensive 'starter' laptop for a friend. I bought this one refurbished from Walmart and the price was lower than any other laptop I've found with compatible specs online. It arrived a few days later (free shipping), and worked right out of the box. So far, have found no drawbacks.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SoggyPaws
Melbourne, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A littleLite on memory
9/17/2012

Customer review by Olehelper

4.0 stars 9/17/2012 by Olehelper
by Olehelper

Cost 41 more to go from baby cub to big 8 gig bear, plug in modules, shame on manufacturer, there cost is less then 12 dollars, other than that has up grade for 15 for windows 8, clean vibrant screen, led, long battery, recommend twin fan cooler to prolong life.dvd is reader writer, can't beat the price. Refurb means a human checked it out and it went through checks most line products don't.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Olehelper
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Better than I expected
10/31/2012

Customer review by srqyyz

5.0 stars 10/31/2012 by srqyyz
by srqyyz

I expected a lower end product at this price but this computer is as good as laptops costing 3-3 times more. Everything works perfectly and setup was a breeze

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
srqyyz
sarasota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great working computer
11/21/2012

Customer review by LITTLEBIT67

5.0 stars 11/21/2012 by LITTLEBIT67
by LITTLEBIT67

The Computer is WONDERFUL...Refurbished but not a mark on it...looks like brand new and has been a great computer for me. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a computer for games, emails and video chat..Its exactly what I wanted it for and for the price it is an EXCELLENT COMPUTER.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LITTLEBIT67
FLORIDA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Software issues, had to return to store
9/27/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 9/27/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The refurbished laptop would not boot up....called tech support (very nice) and they told me, after trying many procedures, to just return it to the store......very nice at store and refunded my money.....purchased the same computer at the store for about 10 bucks more (not refurbished) and it works fine.....great laptop for the money......recommend you buy a new one and not refurbished.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Niceville, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Everything as functional as a new computer
9/9/2012

Customer review by lmw30223

5.0 stars 9/9/2012 by lmw30223
by lmw30223

Everything works just a well as a new computer. The appearance is like a new computer. The software included with the computer has tutorials which explain how and what the software does.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lmw30223
Griffin, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
1-20 of 146 total reviews
1-20 of 146 reviews