Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 300 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

300 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

300 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
133
4 stars
76
3 stars
26
2 stars
24
1 stars
41
1-20 of 283 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 283 total reviews
1-20 of 283 reviews
Just What I Was Looking For
10/25/2013

Customer review by 1ChicChick

5.0 stars 10/25/2013 by 1ChicChick
by 1ChicChick

This bookcase is great for decor, and it has just the modern look I was going for. It was easy to assemble and excellent for the price. It has a rich espresso look, almost black.

Was this review helpful? (71) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1ChicChick
Starkville, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Assemble with care
7/5/2014

Customer review by Fikoth

4.0 stars 7/5/2014 by Fikoth
by Fikoth
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

All in all I love the shelf. It fits exactly where I was looking to place it and was easy to assemble. However. While following the directions, I attached one side of all the shelves to one side of the legs. When lifting the leg slightly to align the holes on a later shelf, the leg snapped apart at the joint where the lower half attached to the top. I had ordered it site to store and did not want to deal with the hassle of any returns so I built it as is. Completed it's stable enough to stand but I am more weary about applying any more weight. Clearly it's not quality material but I did not expect that, honestly.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fikoth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Decent
9/10/2014

Customer review by Indiangurl

4.0 stars 9/10/2014 by Indiangurl
by Indiangurl

Its exactly the way as shown in pic. Set up was complicated took me & my husband to do it just to figure out ... we finished this I think in 1 hour or so.. Quality is basic so be careful while setting up my husband used his man power and it got a crack after that I told him just do it gently..Yes like other reviewers it was chipped on one of the shelf ..check pic..Overall I am happy..It hold things what I originally planned however it's delicate and average quality so its good if you just keep it at 1 place I mean if you are moving I will just leave it instead of taking it part and putting it back again.

Was this review helpful? (3) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Indiangurl
Bronx, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Hmmmmm!!!
5/26/2013

Customer review by Anntionette1969

3.0 stars 5/26/2013 by Anntionette1969
by Anntionette1969

I bought my shelves from a local Walmart, they were exactly the size I was looking for to go in my bathroom. But it's a pain to put together, and not very sturdy. Must connect to wall to make it more secure.but looks great when finished.

Was this review helpful? (22) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Anntionette1969
Dallas,Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Looks great for a great price!
6/21/2013

Customer review by 78hellhound

5.0 stars 6/21/2013 by 78hellhound
by 78hellhound
Walmart associate

I am a Walmart associate. I saw we received these in after our new mod set and I immediately bought one after work! I had been wanting one of these leaning ladder bookcases for a long time and finally something that was in my price range. It was very easy to assemble. I was worried it was a bit wobbly but its on two legs so what can you really expect? I filled it with books and it looks so great and with the weight, it was more stable. The picture doesn't do it justice at all. I will purchase another for more books for the other side of my room! ^_^

Was this review helpful? (22) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
78hellhound
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Love my bookshelf
12/30/2013

Customer review by MzLevelz09

4.0 stars 12/30/2013 by MzLevelz09
by MzLevelz09

I brought this bookshelf because I needed storage for my school books. The unit itself looks great. I love the modern look it gives for a bookshelf. Its kind of shaky but I did not mount it to the wall. Other than that I love the unit and its look. It was a pain in the but putting together (I thought is would be easier) took about an hour. No power tools needed a regular screwdriver did the job.

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MzLevelz09
Miami, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Looks great and definitely not cheap
1/3/2014

Customer review by AuroraBorealis5

4.0 stars 1/3/2014 by AuroraBorealis5
by AuroraBorealis5
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Assembling this was a toughie. Also for some reason they sent me assembly Instructions in Spanish! So I had to do a lot of guess work. Do not keep it on the ground Or any hard surface while assembling. You may want to put a rug or sheet beaneath it so you don't scratch the shelves. Some of the shelves' pre assembled parts were loose and had to be tightened but if you can assemble It without damaging it you've got yourself a great ladder shelf. It's almost black and so is my furniture. I did not have to nail it to the wall. I put mine in the corner.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AuroraBorealis5
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Meets expectations
2/18/2014

Customer review by Vicpnut

4.0 stars 2/18/2014 by Vicpnut
by Vicpnut
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

You're able to find many versions of this bookcase at varied prices and quality. Some auction sites have less expensive deals , but I wasn't going to chance a low end purchase from an unknown seller. With walmart I knew (know) that I'm getting at least what I pay for. The description of sizing needs to be payed attention to. I say this cause even though I read and took some measurement at my home when I put it together it still seemed a bit smaller than I expected. Not small but not large by any means of measure. Anyways it holds quite a bit of media and books for its size. It was a little difficult to understand the directions(just drawn pictures), but once you stop trying to understand them and just follow them it goes right together very easily. Make sure you have an area opened quite large to assemble . This was my only hurdle, I ran out of room . Some parts are pre assembled , do your self a favor and check all the screws on these parts for looseness. During shipping the jarring affect must loosen them up , and in turn makes some screws stripped within the wood. It took me an hr to put together start (unpacking) to finish (screwing to wall) only because I loosened premade parts and glued the screws to add stability. I also glued all the parts I put together (screws and dowels only) . This is a functional book shelve (CDs DVDs video games etc) but it's not made to be handed down generation to generation. Looks nice and if kept away from harm I think it will last for quite awhile..

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vicpnut
Meriden, ct.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Looks great but a pain to put together.
4/7/2014

Customer review by MerlottesBarAndGrill

5.0 stars 4/7/2014 by MerlottesBarAndGrill
by MerlottesBarAndGrill
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Usually I'm great and fast at assembling things like this but for some reason this one got to me. After all was said and done they look fantastic!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MerlottesBarAndGrill
Evansville,IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just what I needed!
4/27/2014

Customer review by MiriBella

5.0 stars 4/27/2014 by MiriBella
by MiriBella
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Purchased 2 of these for living room organization. Perfect size and very stylish!

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MiriBella
Bronx New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Exceptional for the price, easy assembly
1/19/2014

Customer review by QuesoWiz

4.0 stars 1/19/2014 by QuesoWiz
by QuesoWiz
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Assembled in less than 5 minutes. May not be stunning to look at or super stable or durable, but still looks nice (the dark espesso veneer is great) and functions well for the crazy low price. I bought 2 of these for 1/3 of what I'd pay for one real wood beauty. The distance between shelves is perfect.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
QuesoWiz
Wichita, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great
1/17/2016

Customer review by sjhughson

5.0 stars 1/17/2016 by sjhughson
by sjhughson

I like the entire leaning shelves. My grandson came over and put it together with just a little help. He even got it attached to the wall. The value is good also.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sjhughson
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Looks great, but not flush on wall
12/29/2015

Customer review by kalle

4.0 stars 12/29/2015 by kalle
by kalle

I added this to my Amazon wishlist so I could have a stylish version of what hubby had in the office since we bought the house earlier this year. They look great and were easy enough to put together on my own, even with a toddler running around, but they are not flush against the wall. I'm hoping as other reviewers have said that it will seem more secure with more weight on it. Overall I'm happy enough to keep it and plan on ordering three more to fill the small wall of our office. You definitely get your money's worth with this one.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kalle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
i love it... you will too..
2/1/2016

Customer review by Hilary

5.0 stars 2/1/2016 by Hilary
by Hilary

I received ridiculously fast. Like in 2 days tops. I put it together by myslef in like 30min, could prolly be done even quicker but I wasnt rushing threw it. Directions couldnt be easier! Parts labeled perfectly. Looks great. Fairly sturdy, if u secure it to the wall i imagine it would be even more sturdy however i cant do that. Perfect size and height for what i need to fill a space on the wall and add dimension with functionality.. Great deal, cant beat the price for the quality...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hilary
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very fragile
2/1/2016

Customer review by NewBabyMama101

3.0 stars 2/1/2016 by NewBabyMama101
by NewBabyMama101

I bought this bookcase before (about a year ago) and it seemed okay for the money. I bought a second one recently. I am not sure if they changed this product or not but it broke while we were trying to put it together. I would recommend spending $20 more and buying a better one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NewBabyMama101
Would recommend to a friend? No
Easy to assemble looks great
2/2/2016

Customer review by leventhal

5.0 stars 2/2/2016 by leventhal
by leventhal

Very easy to assemble looks great with super cheap price

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
leventhal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Don't buy this.
1/26/2016

Customer review by Staceyklj

1.0 stars 1/26/2016 by Staceyklj
by Staceyklj

First of all, putting it together was a nightmare. Second, it's of worse quality than I figured. I buy a lot of this type of furniture but this one was bad. It doesn't look as nice as it does in their picture. Basically I'm dealing with it bc it's paid for. The holes to put the screws in are terrible and barely there. Buy something else of better quality.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Staceyklj
Would recommend to a friend? No
Perfect small bookcase
1/29/2016

Customer review by Bookreader

5.0 stars 1/29/2016 by Bookreader
by Bookreader

I purchased it for my daughter's bedroom. It doesn't take up a lot of space. The price was on point too.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bookreader
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very well made for price.
8/26/2012

Customer review by NormalGuy84

5.0 stars 8/26/2012 by NormalGuy84
by NormalGuy84

I am always weary of reviews that trash self assembled furniture like this for being cheap. You are buying a 50 dollar shelf that at other big box stores would be 100 or more. At a furniture store it would be a few hundred(and you don't always get any better quality). This shelf is made of wood that is heavier than I expected based on other reviews. This shelf is actually very good for 50 dollars. When assembling, be sure to align all pieces the exact same way as the instruction book, then everything will work perfectly as you assemble. Any questions? Just look back at the picture and make sure the piece is oriented exactly the same. It fits together with ease. The instructions claim you need a drill, but I think that is only if you mount it to the wall(into a stud), I did not need a drill to assemble the shelf. Just a phillips screw driver. This is an easy shelf to put together. Keep in mind, for the shelves to all be flush with the wall and perfectly level, you will need to mount this to the wall so it does not tip over. If you don't want to mount it to the wall, just tilt it against the wall. The shelves will not be perfectly level, they will be slightly slanted up, which means nothing will fall off of them. This is how I use it, since I didn't want to screw into a rented wall. It seems to work perfectly fine like that, just make sure that you tilt it enough so there is no risk of it falling forward. If you are in doubt or have kids, you probably want to mount it to the wall. For 50 bucks this shelf is pretty solid. The only problem I found is if you don't mount it to the wall, it can wobble a little left and right. Just enough to scratch your wall. If you are going to free stand this, get those little self adhesive rubber bumpers meant for cushioning cabinent doors. ("Bulldog Clear Rubber Bumpers" #001113557) A few of those on the very top and the thing won't scratch your wall. Place some on the side if you are putting this in a corner so it touches two walls.

Was this review helpful? (219) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NormalGuy84
Kansas City, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Bang for the Buck
1/20/2013

Customer review by monstermel

4.0 stars 1/20/2013 by monstermel
by monstermel

Picked up two of these using site-to-store a few weeks ago to go in my dining area (to hold pictures, trinkets and some house plants). Very easy to assemble and they're fairly true to color (In my experience, some "espresso" colors have been considerably lighter or darker than depicted). It does show some signs of being build it yourself furniture, where screw heads are visible (no sticker in packaging to cover them), seams where parts come together aren't very desirable, but as others have mentioned, it's a great deal for the price. If you choose to not mount it into your wall, and go with the "leaning" option for this bookcase I'd recommend picking up some rubber drawer stoppers for the top. Though the packaging does include some, they're thin and won't protect your walls very much; especially in a rental. Overall, I'd recommend it for anyone looking for a good accent piece. I'd be hesitant using this as a full-functioning bookcase.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
monstermel
Medford, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 283 total reviews
1-20 of 283 reviews