Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.7out of 5 stars
3.7 out of 5 | 401 reviews
5 stars
170
4 stars
101
3 stars
34
2 stars
30
1 stars
66
Sort by: 
1-20 of 384 reviews
1-20 of 384 reviews
Just What I Was Looking For
10/25/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This bookcase is great for decor, and it has just the modern look I was going for. It was easy to assemble and excellent for the price. It has a rich espresso look, almost black.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (118)No (21)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Assemble with care
7/5/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
All in all I love the shelf. It fits exactly where I was looking to place it and was easy to assemble. However. While following the directions, I attached one side of all the shelves to one side of the legs. When lifting the leg slightly to align the holes on a later shelf, the leg snapped apart at the joint where the lower half attached to the top. I had ordered it site to store and did not want to deal with the hassle of any returns so I built it as is. Completed it's stable enough to stand but I am more weary about applying any more weight. Clearly it's not quality material but I did not expect that, honestly.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (33)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Decent
9/10/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Its exactly the way as shown in pic. Set up was complicated took me & my husband to do it just to figure out ... we finished this I think in 1 hour or so.. Quality is basic so be careful while setting up my husband used his man power and it got a crack after that I told him just do it gently..Yes like other reviewers it was chipped on one of the shelf ..check pic..Overall I am happy..It hold things what I originally planned however it's delicate and average quality so its good if you just keep it at 1 place I mean if you are moving I will just leave it instead of taking it part and putting it back again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
What a piece of junk!
4/22/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was excited to purchase this bookcase because the price was about 1/3 off, but once I began to put it together I understood why. The assembly instructions are clear enough and assembly was simple - until I screwed in the center bookshelf that connects where the two vertical bars connect. Each vertical bar is actually two pieces fastened together, making it the weakest point. As I screwed the bookshelf on, the wood naturally split. I followed the instructions to NOT return the bookcase to the store and instead contacted Mainstays customer service, only to find out that they discontinued this particular bookcase and no longer have the parts I need (they have all the other replacement parts, however; I bet I can guess why!). Mainstays instructed me to return it to Wal-Mart, which involves taking the bookcase apart and somehow packing it back into the box for shipping. In other words, all my time and effort to assemble it has been for nothing. Yes, this bookcase appears to be an excellent deal, but you know the old saying - you get what you pay for. I would highly recommend spending the extra money and purchasing a bookcase of better quality.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (26)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Hmmmmm!!!
5/26/2013
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 1000 contributer
I bought my shelves from a local Walmart, they were exactly the size I was looking for to go in my bathroom. But it's a pain to put together, and not very sturdy. Must connect to wall to make it more secure.but looks great when finished.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (31)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Buy
5/7/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I received this as an early Mother's Day gift and love it. It was so easy to assemble I was able to do it by myself. I use it in the kitchen to store small appliances. The color was perfect and its durable
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
BONFIRE MATERIAL (aka complete trash)
7/15/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is total garbage. Do NOT waste your money. During the last stage of assembly, the 'wood' split on all four corners to an extent where it's impossible to fix. The screws stayed in but the materials surrounding it fractured in two. The wooden dowels that help connect the two vertical side bars also split in two because of the sheer weigh of the ladder. The cheap quality of the materials can't sustain their own weight. Not sure how this product got such high reviews by some customers... and since I live in a city without a car, I can't simply drive it back to a walmart to return, and it's too bulky to ship. I guess we'll be having some pricey s'mores tonight. :( :( :(
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Looks great for a great price!
6/21/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Walmart associate
I am a Walmart associate. I saw we received these in after our new mod set and I immediately bought one after work! I had been wanting one of these leaning ladder bookcases for a long time and finally something that was in my price range. It was very easy to assemble. I was worried it was a bit wobbly but its on two legs so what can you really expect? I filled it with books and it looks so great and with the weight, it was more stable. The picture doesn't do it justice at all. I will purchase another for more books for the other side of my room! ^_^
Was this review helpful?
Yes (23)No (13)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love it!
3/13/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Really modern look!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not even wood
9/11/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I guess you get what you pay for ..... Was not easy to put together for sure ? You really need a drill not a screw driver. Finally got the pieces attracted and without putting one item on the shelf it fell apart.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It looks cute
2/12/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It looks very modern in my living room but I only give it four stars due to the quality is not so good so make sure your being carefull when your putting it together to not break the fake wood or you can always invest a little more for a better quality wood but for looks this is cute ;)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love my bookshelf
12/30/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I brought this bookshelf because I needed storage for my school books. The unit itself looks great. I love the modern look it gives for a bookshelf. Its kind of shaky but I did not mount it to the wall. Other than that I love the unit and its look. It was a pain in the but putting together (I thought is would be easier) took about an hour. No power tools needed a regular screwdriver did the job.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Looks great and definitely not cheap
1/3/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Assembling this was a toughie. Also for some reason they sent me assembly Instructions in Spanish! So I had to do a lot of guess work. Do not keep it on the ground Or any hard surface while assembling. You may want to put a rug or sheet beaneath it so you don't scratch the shelves. Some of the shelves' pre assembled parts were loose and had to be tightened but if you can assemble It without damaging it you've got yourself a great ladder shelf. It's almost black and so is my furniture. I did not have to nail it to the wall. I put mine in the corner.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Looks great but a pain to put together.
4/7/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Usually I'm great and fast at assembling things like this but for some reason this one got to me. After all was said and done they look fantastic!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Meets expectations
2/18/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
You're able to find many versions of this bookcase at varied prices and quality. Some auction sites have less expensive deals , but I wasn't going to chance a low end purchase from an unknown seller. With walmart I knew (know) that I'm getting at least what I pay for. The description of sizing needs to be payed attention to. I say this cause even though I read and took some measurement at my home when I put it together it still seemed a bit smaller than I expected. Not small but not large by any means of measure. Anyways it holds quite a bit of media and books for its size. It was a little difficult to understand the directions(just drawn pictures), but once you stop trying to understand them and just follow them it goes right together very easily. Make sure you have an area opened quite large to assemble . This was my only hurdle, I ran out of room . Some parts are pre assembled , do your self a favor and check all the screws on these parts for looseness. During shipping the jarring affect must loosen them up , and in turn makes some screws stripped within the wood. It took me an hr to put together start (unpacking) to finish (screwing to wall) only because I loosened premade parts and glued the screws to add stability. I also glued all the parts I put together (screws and dowels only) . This is a functional book shelve (CDs DVDs video games etc) but it's not made to be handed down generation to generation. Looks nice and if kept away from harm I think it will last for quite awhile..
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Received defective product
11/29/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I was anticipating the arrival of my shelves however when it arrived it was defective as one of the pieces was bored out incorrectly making assembly impossible. I had to repackage the entire unit and haul it to the post office for a refund which I'm not sure when it will arrive. Overall a large hassle with lots of extra work. Clearly quality control was an issue with this product
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fantastic
1/12/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Beautiful and simple bookshelf that you can't beat for the price. It matches my other dark espresso furniture perfectly. Shelves seem sturdy. My only issue was during building the directions seemed a bit vague. Keep in mind this bookshelf will not stand on its own and does need to be drilled into the wall. All in all I'm very happy with my purchase.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Exceptional for the price, easy assembly
1/19/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Assembled in less than 5 minutes. May not be stunning to look at or super stable or durable, but still looks nice (the dark espesso veneer is great) and functions well for the crazy low price. I bought 2 of these for 1/3 of what I'd pay for one real wood beauty. The distance between shelves is perfect.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great buy!
10/13/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
For the money it's a great buy. I only wish there were covers for areas where screws are. I used a wood cover up marker around screws and looked much better. Not as noticeable. Love it!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love it
9/4/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
It took my husband 45 mins to put together. Great quality.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643925, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-