Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 352 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

352 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

352 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
158
4 stars
91
3 stars
31
2 stars
25
1 stars
47
1-20 of 335 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 335 total reviews
1-20 of 335 reviews
Just What I Was Looking For
10/25/2013

Customer review by 1ChicChick

5.0 stars 10/25/2013 by 1ChicChick
by 1ChicChick

This bookcase is great for decor, and it has just the modern look I was going for. It was easy to assemble and excellent for the price. It has a rich espresso look, almost black.

Was this review helpful? (93) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1ChicChick
Starkville, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Assemble with care
7/5/2014

Customer review by Fikoth

4.0 stars 7/5/2014 by Fikoth
by Fikoth
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

All in all I love the shelf. It fits exactly where I was looking to place it and was easy to assemble. However. While following the directions, I attached one side of all the shelves to one side of the legs. When lifting the leg slightly to align the holes on a later shelf, the leg snapped apart at the joint where the lower half attached to the top. I had ordered it site to store and did not want to deal with the hassle of any returns so I built it as is. Completed it's stable enough to stand but I am more weary about applying any more weight. Clearly it's not quality material but I did not expect that, honestly.

Was this review helpful? (22) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fikoth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Decent
9/10/2014

Customer review by Indiangurl

4.0 stars 9/10/2014 by Indiangurl
by Indiangurl

Its exactly the way as shown in pic. Set up was complicated took me & my husband to do it just to figure out ... we finished this I think in 1 hour or so.. Quality is basic so be careful while setting up my husband used his man power and it got a crack after that I told him just do it gently..Yes like other reviewers it was chipped on one of the shelf ..check pic..Overall I am happy..It hold things what I originally planned however it's delicate and average quality so its good if you just keep it at 1 place I mean if you are moving I will just leave it instead of taking it part and putting it back again.

Was this review helpful? (12) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Indiangurl
Bronx, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
What a piece of junk!
4/22/2016

Customer review by TooTallMama

1.0 stars 4/22/2016 by TooTallMama
by TooTallMama

I was excited to purchase this bookcase because the price was about 1/3 off, but once I began to put it together I understood why. The assembly instructions are clear enough and assembly was simple - until I screwed in the center bookshelf that connects where the two vertical bars connect. Each vertical bar is actually two pieces fastened together, making it the weakest point. As I screwed the bookshelf on, the wood naturally split. I followed the instructions to NOT return the bookcase to the store and instead contacted Mainstays customer service, only to find out that they discontinued this particular bookcase and no longer have the parts I need (they have all the other replacement parts, however; I bet I can guess why!). Mainstays instructed me to return it to Wal-Mart, which involves taking the bookcase apart and somehow packing it back into the box for shipping. In other words, all my time and effort to assemble it has been for nothing. Yes, this bookcase appears to be an excellent deal, but you know the old saying - you get what you pay for. I would highly recommend spending the extra money and purchasing a bookcase of better quality.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TooTallMama
Would recommend to a friend? No
BONFIRE MATERIAL (aka complete trash)
7/15/2016

Customer review by AmyM

1.0 stars 7/15/2016 by AmyM
by AmyM

This is total garbage. Do NOT waste your money. During the last stage of assembly, the 'wood' split on all four corners to an extent where it's impossible to fix. The screws stayed in but the materials surrounding it fractured in two. The wooden dowels that help connect the two vertical side bars also split in two because of the sheer weigh of the ladder. The cheap quality of the materials can't sustain their own weight. Not sure how this product got such high reviews by some customers... and since I live in a city without a car, I can't simply drive it back to a walmart to return, and it's too bulky to ship. I guess we'll be having some pricey s'mores tonight. :( :( :(

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AmyM
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Buy
5/7/2016

Customer review by Morena64

5.0 stars 5/7/2016 by Morena64
by Morena64

I received this as an early Mother's Day gift and love it. It was so easy to assemble I was able to do it by myself. I use it in the kitchen to store small appliances. The color was perfect and its durable

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Morena64
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Hmmmmm!!!
5/26/2013

Customer review by Anntionette1969

3.0 stars 5/26/2013 by Anntionette1969
by Anntionette1969
Top 1000 contributor

I bought my shelves from a local Walmart, they were exactly the size I was looking for to go in my bathroom. But it's a pain to put together, and not very sturdy. Must connect to wall to make it more secure.but looks great when finished.

Was this review helpful? (26) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Anntionette1969
Dallas,Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Looks great for a great price!
6/21/2013

Customer review by 78hellhound

5.0 stars 6/21/2013 by 78hellhound
by 78hellhound
Walmart associate

I am a Walmart associate. I saw we received these in after our new mod set and I immediately bought one after work! I had been wanting one of these leaning ladder bookcases for a long time and finally something that was in my price range. It was very easy to assemble. I was worried it was a bit wobbly but its on two legs so what can you really expect? I filled it with books and it looks so great and with the weight, it was more stable. The picture doesn't do it justice at all. I will purchase another for more books for the other side of my room! ^_^

Was this review helpful? (23) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
78hellhound
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Love my bookshelf
12/30/2013

Customer review by MzLevelz09

4.0 stars 12/30/2013 by MzLevelz09
by MzLevelz09

I brought this bookshelf because I needed storage for my school books. The unit itself looks great. I love the modern look it gives for a bookshelf. Its kind of shaky but I did not mount it to the wall. Other than that I love the unit and its look. It was a pain in the but putting together (I thought is would be easier) took about an hour. No power tools needed a regular screwdriver did the job.

Was this review helpful? (13) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MzLevelz09
Miami, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Looks great and definitely not cheap
1/3/2014

Customer review by AuroraBorealis5

4.0 stars 1/3/2014 by AuroraBorealis5
by AuroraBorealis5
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Assembling this was a toughie. Also for some reason they sent me assembly Instructions in Spanish! So I had to do a lot of guess work. Do not keep it on the ground Or any hard surface while assembling. You may want to put a rug or sheet beaneath it so you don't scratch the shelves. Some of the shelves' pre assembled parts were loose and had to be tightened but if you can assemble It without damaging it you've got yourself a great ladder shelf. It's almost black and so is my furniture. I did not have to nail it to the wall. I put mine in the corner.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AuroraBorealis5
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Looks great but a pain to put together.
4/7/2014

Customer review by MerlottesBarAndGrill

5.0 stars 4/7/2014 by MerlottesBarAndGrill
by MerlottesBarAndGrill
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Usually I'm great and fast at assembling things like this but for some reason this one got to me. After all was said and done they look fantastic!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MerlottesBarAndGrill
Evansville,IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Meets expectations
2/18/2014

Customer review by Vicpnut

4.0 stars 2/18/2014 by Vicpnut
by Vicpnut
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

You're able to find many versions of this bookcase at varied prices and quality. Some auction sites have less expensive deals , but I wasn't going to chance a low end purchase from an unknown seller. With walmart I knew (know) that I'm getting at least what I pay for. The description of sizing needs to be payed attention to. I say this cause even though I read and took some measurement at my home when I put it together it still seemed a bit smaller than I expected. Not small but not large by any means of measure. Anyways it holds quite a bit of media and books for its size. It was a little difficult to understand the directions(just drawn pictures), but once you stop trying to understand them and just follow them it goes right together very easily. Make sure you have an area opened quite large to assemble . This was my only hurdle, I ran out of room . Some parts are pre assembled , do your self a favor and check all the screws on these parts for looseness. During shipping the jarring affect must loosen them up , and in turn makes some screws stripped within the wood. It took me an hr to put together start (unpacking) to finish (screwing to wall) only because I loosened premade parts and glued the screws to add stability. I also glued all the parts I put together (screws and dowels only) . This is a functional book shelve (CDs DVDs video games etc) but it's not made to be handed down generation to generation. Looks nice and if kept away from harm I think it will last for quite awhile..

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vicpnut
Meriden, ct.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Exceptional for the price, easy assembly
1/19/2014

Customer review by QuesoWiz

4.0 stars 1/19/2014 by QuesoWiz
by QuesoWiz
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Assembled in less than 5 minutes. May not be stunning to look at or super stable or durable, but still looks nice (the dark espesso veneer is great) and functions well for the crazy low price. I bought 2 of these for 1/3 of what I'd pay for one real wood beauty. The distance between shelves is perfect.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
QuesoWiz
Wichita, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just what I needed!
4/27/2014

Customer review by MiriBella

5.0 stars 4/27/2014 by MiriBella
by MiriBella
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Purchased 2 of these for living room organization. Perfect size and very stylish!

Was this review helpful? (1) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MiriBella
Bronx New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Absolute trash
6/30/2016

Customer review by ArkanSassy84

1.0 stars 6/30/2016 by ArkanSassy84
by ArkanSassy84
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This thing is not worth your money. It is VERY flimsy and unsteady, and it stands out so much further from the wall than it looks like it does! The photo makes it look like the back of the shelves are against the wall.... if that's how it is supposed to be, then the holes drilled in mine DEFINATELY didn't line up, bc that wasn't even close to the end result. Also, putting it together took WAY longer than it should have, because the unit is poorly made and some of the holes weren't quite big enough for the screws, etc. Also, the very top piece of mine had the hole for the small screw (that holds the stabilizer bracket) ON THE WRONG SIDE!!! uggg. Just... don't waste your money, seriously. Shipping to store wasn't an option, so we paid for rush shipping to get it to our house in time to not sit on the porch while we were on vacation... and now I'm immediately listing it on social media selling sites to unload it and just take a slight loss, because it's easier than trying to take it apart and ship it back. I will definitely just go to the big Red store and spend double to get a better quality shelf!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ArkanSassy84
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great price but assembly issues
7/31/2016

Customer review by christinecag

3.0 stars 7/31/2016 by christinecag
by christinecag
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

i shouldve read the reviews more carefully as mine also broke in half when i flipped it over to screw the shelves into the other side. Definitely a 2 person job? i returned it no problem and found a floating shelf that is better suited for the space i intended it for. Great price and would buy again but need 2 people to turn it over or it will break in half where its attached.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
christinecag
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good purchase
8/1/2016

Customer review by KJake

4.0 stars 8/1/2016 by KJake
by KJake
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

True to picture. Looks very good, just a bit darker than I was expecting.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KJake
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works!
7/16/2016

Customer review by Yessika

4.0 stars 7/16/2016 by Yessika
by Yessika
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This item is great. I have a 2 year old who has a ton of dvds and movies so the fact that it bolts to the wall it great. The only flaw is that the shelves come loose and start tilting down. So periodically we have to take the stuff off and tighten them. Buy I guess that doesn't bother us much because we have 3 of the book cases. The color is beautiful and they seem sturdy. Hope this helps. :-)

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Yessika
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Quality Item
8/18/2016

Customer review by cyly

5.0 stars 8/18/2016 by cyly
by cyly
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This ladder shelf was fairly easy to assemble and when completed looked like a quality piece of furniture. Very satisfied with the quality and the low price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cyly
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very pleased
8/16/2016

Customer review by GinnyG

5.0 stars 8/16/2016 by GinnyG
by GinnyG
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The shelves were easy to assemble and the finish is attractive. We bought these because of the ease of moving them, due to moving periodically with my husband's employment.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GinnyG
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 335 total reviews
1-20 of 335 reviews