Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 253 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

253 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

253 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

77%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
107
4 stars
66
3 stars
22
2 stars
23
1 stars
35
1-20 of 236 total reviews
77%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 236 total reviews
1-20 of 236 reviews
Very well made for price.
8/26/2012

Customer review by NormalGuy84

5.0 stars 8/26/2012 by NormalGuy84
by NormalGuy84

I am always weary of reviews that trash self assembled furniture like this for being cheap. You are buying a 50 dollar shelf that at other big box stores would be 100 or more. At a furniture store it would be a few hundred(and you don't always get any better quality). This shelf is made of wood that is heavier than I expected based on other reviews. This shelf is actually very good for 50 dollars. When assembling, be sure to align all pieces the exact same way as the instruction book, then everything will work perfectly as you assemble. Any questions? Just look back at the picture and make sure the piece is oriented exactly the same. It fits together with ease. The instructions claim you need a drill, but I think that is only if you mount it to the wall(into a stud), I did not need a drill to assemble the shelf. Just a phillips screw driver. This is an easy shelf to put together. Keep in mind, for the shelves to all be flush with the wall and perfectly level, you will need to mount this to the wall so it does not tip over. If you don't want to mount it to the wall, just tilt it against the wall. The shelves will not be perfectly level, they will be slightly slanted up, which means nothing will fall off of them. This is how I use it, since I didn't want to screw into a rented wall. It seems to work perfectly fine like that, just make sure that you tilt it enough so there is no risk of it falling forward. If you are in doubt or have kids, you probably want to mount it to the wall. For 50 bucks this shelf is pretty solid. The only problem I found is if you don't mount it to the wall, it can wobble a little left and right. Just enough to scratch your wall. If you are going to free stand this, get those little self adhesive rubber bumpers meant for cushioning cabinent doors. ("Bulldog Clear Rubber Bumpers" #001113557) A few of those on the very top and the thing won't scratch your wall. Place some on the side if you are putting this in a corner so it touches two walls.

Was this review helpful? (182) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NormalGuy84
Kansas City, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/1/2012

Customer review by KitKath

5.0 stars 8/1/2012 by KitKath
by KitKath

Other reviews did not seem very appealing, but I still went ahead and bought one. Have not regretted buying it. It was easy to install and the nifty part about it is it did not take up so much space and yet functional. Very good for small living places. Big bang for your bucks!

Was this review helpful? (68) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KitKath
Colonial Heights, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Just What I Was Looking For
10/25/2013

Customer review by 1ChicChick

5.0 stars 10/25/2013 by 1ChicChick
by 1ChicChick

This bookcase is great for decor, and it has just the modern look I was going for. It was easy to assemble and excellent for the price. It has a rich espresso look, almost black.

Was this review helpful? (47) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1ChicChick
Starkville, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Exceeded my expectations.
12/29/2012

Customer review by rjart14

5.0 stars 12/29/2012 by rjart14
by rjart14

I was skeptical about buying shelves from Walmart due to quality concerns, however, these shelves were the exact size, color, and price I needed. The instructions were clear and easy to follow taking about 30 min to put together. I was so impressed by how sturdy and nice it was, I bought two more! The color is a very dark espresso, it looks almost black with a brown tone. I especially like the top connecting piece for structural support. I removed the very top shelf to fit a small TV on the second shelf, the connecting piece kept the bookcase strong. I highly recommend this ladder bookcase!

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rjart14
Olathe, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
HIGH QUALITY!!
12/17/2012

Customer review by rocketcool

5.0 stars 12/17/2012 by rocketcool
by rocketcool

I admit that I was kind of worried to purchase the product after reading some of the reviews. I liked how it looked in the picture though, and I did need the product at a great value. I decided to risk it, and I love it!! It looks amazing in my living room. The quality is even greater than some products at Pottery Barn. It is the perfect shade of deep chocolate brown and super sturdy. It holds all of my photos and decorations with ease. Please try it. Walmart is amazing about returns if you decide it is not for you. I have been wanting a ladder shelf for five years now, and it was totally worth the wait. LOVE IT.

Was this review helpful? (20) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rocketcool
Texas City, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hmmmmm!!!
5/26/2013

Customer review by Anntionette1969

3.0 stars 5/26/2013 by Anntionette1969
by Anntionette1969

I bought my shelves from a local Walmart, they were exactly the size I was looking for to go in my bathroom. But it's a pain to put together, and not very sturdy. Must connect to wall to make it more secure.but looks great when finished.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Anntionette1969
Dallas,Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Looks great for a great price!
6/21/2013

Customer review by 78hellhound

5.0 stars 6/21/2013 by 78hellhound
by 78hellhound

I am a Walmart associate. I saw we received these in after our new mod set and I immediately bought one after work! I had been wanting one of these leaning ladder bookcases for a long time and finally something that was in my price range. It was very easy to assemble. I was worried it was a bit wobbly but its on two legs so what can you really expect? I filled it with books and it looks so great and with the weight, it was more stable. The picture doesn't do it justice at all. I will purchase another for more books for the other side of my room! ^_^

Was this review helpful? (14) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
78hellhound
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Loved it.
9/22/2012

Customer review by DIZZIEFISH13

5.0 stars 9/22/2012 by DIZZIEFISH13
by DIZZIEFISH13

I loved this product my 50" is mounted on my wall and I have one of these on each side of it looks great. There is 2 screws that are slightly shorter than the rest so be carefull when puting together because you will split the wood trying to force the longer screw where it doesn't belong. easy set up fantastic results 5 stars.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DIZZIEFISH13
PHOENIX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love my bookshelf
12/30/2013

Customer review by MzLevelz09

4.0 stars 12/30/2013 by MzLevelz09
by MzLevelz09

I brought this bookshelf because I needed storage for my school books. The unit itself looks great. I love the modern look it gives for a bookshelf. Its kind of shaky but I did not mount it to the wall. Other than that I love the unit and its look. It was a pain in the but putting together (I thought is would be easier) took about an hour. No power tools needed a regular screwdriver did the job.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MzLevelz09
Miami, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GOOD BOOKCASE FOR THE PRICE
12/8/2013

Customer review by ChrissyinMI

4.0 stars 12/8/2013 by ChrissyinMI
by ChrissyinMI

The bookcase came well packaged. All the parts were marked and it was basically easy to put together. Except when it came to putting in the last shelf (8). That is the area where the top and bottom portions of the shelves come together. Make sure you have these laying down on the floor when you are performing this step. If you have it standing up, it can start to sway and (for me) it pulled a screw (and some wood!) out before I could get both sides done. Thank goodness I did not inflict any major damage. I do think that there could be more support in that area and I am going to drill two holes (one on each side) where an additional screw can be added for greater support. As far as the anchoring it to the wall directions, I decided to bypass that altogether. It did not appear that it would hold very well. Instead, I used a thin drill bit and drilled a hole in the middle of the third shelf. Then I drilled in a screw. You can barely notice it is there (I used a black screw) and the bookcase is now firmly anchored to my wall. Once up and dusted of all dust and residue particles from the box, it looks really nice and will provide a lot of additional storage space for a small guestroom. The shelves are very sturdy and will hold a lot more than just books.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChrissyinMI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very disappointed.
3/28/2013

Customer review by Gingersb

1.0 stars 3/28/2013 by Gingersb
by Gingersb

I followed instructions exactly and the rungs snapped in two and one of the shelves I had attached to the rung broke loose and tore an area out of the self. Would not recommend to buy.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gingersb
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great bookcase for the price!
12/11/2013

Customer review by gmawitt

5.0 stars 12/11/2013 by gmawitt
by gmawitt

This is exactly what I expected. The quality is great for the price. Easy to put together and looks really nice in my small apartment. I just love it. I would definitely get another one if my place was bigger. I'm 65 and I had no trouble putting it together!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gmawitt
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just what I needed...
8/23/2012

Customer review by MamaAleman

4.0 stars 8/23/2012 by MamaAleman
by MamaAleman

I was a little concerned about the one "not so great" review but I went ahead and ordered this item on line. I put it together with my daughter in about 30 minutes and all but one screw went in without any problems. I ended up having to use gorilla glue on the one screw but it worked and I’m extremely happy about this bookcase. I wish I could have given it 5 starts but because of that one screw I didn’t think it was appropriate. Other than that I think it’s a great product and would recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MamaAleman
Austin Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Assemble with care
7/5/2014

Customer review by Fikoth

4.0 stars 7/5/2014 by Fikoth
by Fikoth

All in all I love the shelf. It fits exactly where I was looking to place it and was easy to assemble. However. While following the directions, I attached one side of all the shelves to one side of the legs. When lifting the leg slightly to align the holes on a later shelf, the leg snapped apart at the joint where the lower half attached to the top. I had ordered it site to store and did not want to deal with the hassle of any returns so I built it as is. Completed it's stable enough to stand but I am more weary about applying any more weight. Clearly it's not quality material but I did not expect that, honestly.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fikoth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Bang for the Buck
1/20/2013

Customer review by monstermel

4.0 stars 1/20/2013 by monstermel
by monstermel

Picked up two of these using site-to-store a few weeks ago to go in my dining area (to hold pictures, trinkets and some house plants). Very easy to assemble and they're fairly true to color (In my experience, some "espresso" colors have been considerably lighter or darker than depicted). It does show some signs of being build it yourself furniture, where screw heads are visible (no sticker in packaging to cover them), seams where parts come together aren't very desirable, but as others have mentioned, it's a great deal for the price. If you choose to not mount it into your wall, and go with the "leaning" option for this bookcase I'd recommend picking up some rubber drawer stoppers for the top. Though the packaging does include some, they're thin and won't protect your walls very much; especially in a rental. Overall, I'd recommend it for anyone looking for a good accent piece. I'd be hesitant using this as a full-functioning bookcase.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
monstermel
Medford, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7/8/2012

Customer review by ciney

1.0 stars 7/8/2012 by ciney
by ciney

While putting it together the legs split. While returning it i saw another one in the store. I got it home and no screws or directions. Just spend a little more at furniture store and get a quality product,.Steer clear of this one.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ciney
pascagoula ms
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Looks great and definitely not cheap
1/3/2014

Customer review by AuroraBorealis5

4.0 stars 1/3/2014 by AuroraBorealis5
by AuroraBorealis5

Assembling this was a toughie. Also for some reason they sent me assembly Instructions in Spanish! So I had to do a lot of guess work. Do not keep it on the ground Or any hard surface while assembling. You may want to put a rug or sheet beaneath it so you don't scratch the shelves. Some of the shelves' pre assembled parts were loose and had to be tightened but if you can assemble It without damaging it you've got yourself a great ladder shelf. It's almost black and so is my furniture. I did not have to nail it to the wall. I put mine in the corner.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AuroraBorealis5
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
NOT GOOD WASTE OF MONEY
11/25/2012

Customer review by jjlsummer

1.0 stars 11/25/2012 by jjlsummer
by jjlsummer

I just bought this case from Walmart yesterday , It is the ultimate WORST .. wood splits all over pegs don't fit holes ,, DO NOT BUY I wasted 50.00 .. it is so terriable not worth the money I am going to call the Co. to see what they can do , it says DO NOT return to store ,, now i know WHY !!! throughing it out to the garbage ..

Was this review helpful? (11) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jjlsummer
bay city Mi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
8/10/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/10/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Super classy and holds a lot of stuff.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Beautiful piece at a great price
4/11/2013

Customer review by shoetacular1

5.0 stars 4/11/2013 by shoetacular1
by shoetacular1

I ordered 3 of the shelf ladders to display my shoes on.. They were delivered within a week. It was so easy for me to put togetter with just a screw driver. The quality is great for the price and every piece was in tack with easy to follow directions. Since there was no information on the height, I will tell you that it is about 72inc high. I ordered 3 more the next day, and they were delivered to my door within 3 days. These shelves made an amazing shoe display even more amazing.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shoetacular1
N.Y.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 236 total reviews
1-20 of 236 reviews