Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 22 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

22 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

5 stars
19
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Best axe I've ever used.
6/11/2012

Customer review by Funkenstien

5.0 stars by Funkenstien

Had a good amount of woos to split. Decided to buy this axe and get the workout instead of renting a log splitter. Glad I did. Splits even large or difficult pieces with ease. Did a lot if research on line first. This axe lives up to the positive comments out there.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Funkenstien
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Simply the Best Axe
6/10/2012

Customer review by SW6906

5.0 stars by SW6906

The best axe there is! It does not get stuck and splits wood effortlessly (almost!).

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
SW6906
Seattle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Axe!
10/2/2012

Customer review by soulber

5.0 stars by soulber

Pros- Great axe has a super strong handle. Comes very sharp straight from the factory. Cons- The metal is a soft metal, wich allows for it to be such a sharp axe. Make sure you buy the Friskars sharpener with this axe. Its only 10 bucks and even with that added to the price I am positve once you split some logs you will be glad you made the purchase of this axe. Peace out.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
soulber
Grants, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great splitting axe, but it's not a maul
10/2/2012

Customer review by Fixit2013

4.0 stars by Fixit2013

I bought this axe a few weeks ago based on all the positive reviews. I've used nothing but a splitting maul for the last few decades, so it took some adjusting to get used to. This axe is a good value, but it is definitly different to the 8 lb maul I am used to. It sinks deeper into the wood and has less chance of boucing back, which is good. The downside is that if it doesn't split on the first strike, it is somewhat difficult to remove. I used it a few time on large rounds, and once they are partially split, it works fine, but don't expect the large rounds to split on the first try unless it's dry pine or something. I used it on oak, birch, and hickory with mixed results. It seed to work better if I take a smaller chunk off of the side of the round, rather that trying to split it down the middle. Also, the instuction say not to strike the backside with a sledge, like you can with most mauls, but I did anyway and again, it does not spread the wood as quickly as a maul due to the smaller angle. So, in conclusion this tool did not change my life like it did for some of the other reviewers, but it is a good value for the price.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Fixit2013
New Milford CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Quality Heavy weight axe
10/25/2012

Customer review by axeyoudis

5.0 stars by axeyoudis

Very sharp and sturdy. I like the fiberglass handle. I had an axe with a wood handle that split.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
axeyoudis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent!
5/7/2013

Customer review by MrBunyan

5.0 stars by MrBunyan

After many years of using a combo maul/sledge, it finally broke. So, after doing quite a bit of research and seeing all the great reviews, I thought I'd give the Fiskars a try. It's half the weight and splits better! I've probably split ~2 cords so far (oak/maple) and it definitely lives up to its description for durability and splitting ability. As a reference, I'm ~6'2" and the length works great. One thing to be careful of is hitting the sharp edge on anything but wood. I got excited and was splitting some wood directly on the ground and of course dinged a rock (can't fault the equipment on that). A file quickly repaired my mistake, but it's just something to keep in mind. Overall a great product!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MrBunyan
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fantastic
1/17/2013

Customer review by garyoinmd

5.0 stars by garyoinmd

Splits wood like a hot knife through butter. Best splitting Axe on the market!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
garyoinmd
Bel Air MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Buy your last axe first!
1/31/2013

Customer review by Jesusculture

5.0 stars by Jesusculture

I am very impressed with this axe. It has a great swing, and a very light comfortable grip.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Jesusculture
Happy valley, Or
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Light and easy
2/3/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars by An anonymous customer

This splitting axe is a delight to use. It is very lightweight (the composite handle is hollow). It is minimally yet well engineered. When used as directed, it splits wood easily. I am using it for splitting many dead ash trees due to the emerald ash borer. The 36" handle is a nice feature. I am glad that I purchased it. The cost at Walmart was the lowest available.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
Grosse Ile, Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Wood Splitter
2/4/2013

Customer review by Tinytunerz

5.0 stars by Tinytunerz

This splits wood like a hot knife through butter. Well balanced.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Tinytunerz
Mt. Bethel
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Splitting axe even for the beginner
2/7/2013

Customer review by SkippyKtm

5.0 stars by SkippyKtm

The only splitting axe I've ever used before this was some hardware store cheapie, which was hard to use. I ended up buying a Hydraulic splitter and was happy with that, but then I got the X27. I find the X27 fills a gap when you have smaller loads that need splitting especially if the logs are straight grained and frozen, which makes the hydro unnecessary. So for smaller loads its great, I'm glad I bought it. Fiskars makes some dang good stuff.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
SkippyKtm
Northeast CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worth very penny
2/10/2013

Customer review by Axman30

5.0 stars by Axman30

Strongest, Easiest, most efficient axe I've ever used. Worth every penny.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Axman30
Ft Thomas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
X27: Best axe I've ever used
2/18/2013

Customer review by RJ111

5.0 stars by RJ111

Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
RJ111
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great axe
1/28/2013

Customer review by DocNorton

5.0 stars by DocNorton

The best.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
DocNorton
Mendham NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Axe
4/25/2013

Customer review by Jeff9876423

5.0 stars by Jeff9876423

Rarely do I take the time to write a review. But......this is a great axe. Got it the day before yesterday. Have some thick white oak with a bunch of knots and twists that needed splitting. Had my concerns if the wood would be 'splittable.' Took a few swings and was fascinated with the ease of splitting. Didn't want to swing too hard and end up splitting the chopping block also. Called my friend that had given me the wood just to brag about the axe (inviting him over to try it out for a few hours :)). Be careful when you take off the head gaurd. Brushed up against the cutting edge with my little finger and began to bleed. Still had an almost factory sharp edge after an hour of chopping. Did a couple of overstrikes....no problem with the tough handle. Walmart had the best price I could find with site to store and no shipping costs.....although you will have to pay local sales tax with Walmart online ordering..

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Jeff9876423
North Augusta, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice Axe
6/8/2013

Customer review by NicklasPinhead

5.0 stars by NicklasPinhead

It splits well. Doesn't bury itself into the wood as often as my old maul.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
NicklasPinhead
Alexandria, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great axe
7/3/2013

Customer review by beepmyjeep2

5.0 stars by beepmyjeep2

I bought this for my brother. He showed me how good it was by splitting a piece of oak that his other axe just got stuck in. The permanent head and lifetime guarantee makes it well worth the money. Don't let the lightweight handle fool you. It also has a protective blade cover with a handle for carrying it or hanging it up.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
beepmyjeep2
Versailles, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product, great value
8/18/2013

Customer review by Fredfire

5.0 stars by Fredfire

If you're working with firewood, you need one of these. Split 2 cords of very hard oak with this axe. Amazing performance.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Fredfire
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Axe
12/29/2013

Customer review by Johnathon40

5.0 stars by Johnathon40

The axe is really excellent. This axe is pretty much the same as the wooden handle axes, if not better, as I antipate the blade & handle will not fall apart which happens with the wooden handles. I am 6ft 5in and the 36" handle is perfect length for me. The blade is all metal & can be resharpened easily. Very smooth at splitting wood. It is faster & better at splitting wood than my old 10 ton manual log splitter!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Johnathon40
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
6/7/2013

Customer review by Scrooge777

1.0 stars by Scrooge777

Have only used it for one wood splitting session but, so far, great! Thanks.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Scrooge777
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.