Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 706 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

706 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

706 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
521
4 stars
109
3 stars
30
2 stars
20
1 stars
26
1-20 of 663 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 663 total reviews
1-20 of 663 reviews
Animal Lover
12/23/2014

Customer review by Mamadez

5.0 stars 12/23/2014 by Mamadez
by Mamadez

I was in a bind when my old vacuum broke. At the time, I had 2 dogs (1 shedder) and 3 cats of my own and was fostering 5 kittens. There was a teenager in the house and daily vacuuming was a necessity. The DC39 looked like my best bet. We brought it home and plugged it right in. All of the sudden, the carpet was a different color than we originally thought. There was a green Persian area rug in front of the door that literally changed to a brighter green. This vacuum was getting up hairs that had been embedded in the carpet, that my old vacuum didn't even know were there. It pulls the dust bunnies out from underneath the furniture BEFORE it gets there. One of my favorite features is the long power cord. I don't have to stop to unplug and plug in every time I change rooms. Since we bought ours we've added 2 dogs and fostered 16 more cats. (Not all at once) and our Dyson has held up to everyone of them. I work with a large pet rescue and always recommend the Animal to rescuers and adopters.

Mamadez
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
It's pretty good
5/2/2014

Customer review by CB1971

4.0 stars 5/2/2014 by CB1971
by CB1971

I really like the vacuum and its suction. It moves easily. Am I 100% happy, not really. These are my issues...1. If you roll the canister over the cord it sometimes either gets stuck or tips over because there really isn't a clearance between the rollers and the floor. 2. The dog hair gets sucked up into the top area of the bin, which is good because it has good suction. The only problem is that the hair gets stuck so when you go to empty the bin you have to reach in and pull it out. Yuck! I have contacted Dyson about this and they have recommended emptying the bin sooner but it is supposed to be for homes with animals and I refuse to stop in the middle of a room to empty the bin. With my upright I can vacuum almost the whole first floor of the house! 3. It always has dog hair static clinging to the floor attachment. Overall, it seems like it doesn't have good suction, but it does. It is easy to use and really light weight. I like the button on the handle to turn on and off the brush.

CB1971
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
A very good machine for the price
9/24/2015

Customer review by ccartec

4.0 stars 9/24/2015 by ccartec
by ccartec

I bought my animal three years ago and I am still satisfied with the performance of the machine. I have only a couple of concerns. The first is that the wand brush will stick from time to time making a tiresome chore a little more difficult. The second is the reason that I am writing this updated review. It is very important to keep the drum of the machine clean. There are instructions for rinsing the filter but it is necessary to go further and actually flush the drum with running water from the facet of dust, hair, lint and grit picked up in cleaning. I flush mine after each use. It's also important to allow it to dry. It takes about a week to dry so I would recommend buying two of them if you have a large house with multiple pets. If you use it before it's completely dry it will have that dirty-feet smell which is very difficult to remove. It's also necessary to flush it for maximum performance and suction.

ccartec
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Best vacuum I ever owned
12/4/2013

Customer review by CriticalEye

5.0 stars 12/4/2013 by CriticalEye
by CriticalEye

After years of disappointing performance from numerous other make vacuum cleaners, I am amazed at the excellent performance of my Dyson. I was somewhat skeptical at first because of the odd shape and relatively small size and light weight, but it puts all my previous vacuum cleaners to shame. The Dyson Animal 39 cleans much better with excellent suction and is easy to maneuver. Even the accessory brushes and tools are well designed. The regular carpet tool really removes dust and dirt, and the small turbine tool is outstanding. In addition, I purchased the "flat-out" tool because we have lots of hardwood floors and hard to reach low places. It's great! One very useful feature I didn't realize when I bought the vacuum is that you can disassemble the canister with three quick clicks and wipe it out with a towel to keep it functioning perfectly. Those folks at Dyson know their engineering and make an excellent vacuum. It earns a big thumbs up from a guy with a critical eye for quality and performance.

CriticalEye
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Taming the Animal
11/16/2015

Customer review by ILoveToVacuum

4.0 stars 11/16/2015 by ILoveToVacuum
by ILoveToVacuum

This powerful animal could use a longer leash! To have such a short hose keeps it nipping at your heels constantly! It would be so nice if an extension hose would be offered as an accessory. It would also be handy for many other tasks such as dusting the chandelier, ceiling cob-webs, picture frames, shelves, stairways, etc. Trying to control a 3-4 foot extension wand on delicate items is not the best scenario but a longer hose used with the hand attachments would be sweet.. The vacuum and it's attachments are very functional and perform better than I thought some of them would. We have wall to wall tile floors with area rugs and the Animal handles the different surfaces very well. It is absolutely the best vacuum I have ever used for actually cleaning up to the edge of floorboards! We have 2 Pugs and they shed like crazy and the Animal does handle the massive amounts of fur. In fact they have started to beg to be vacuumed on the "low" setting (Release trigger pulled) every time I vacuum which has helped control the amount they shed. Overall I like the function of this vacuum and with a short extension hose it would be close to perfect! To be perfect it should feel less plastic.

ILoveToVacuum
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
disappointed
12/26/2015

Customer review by TrooperDog

2.0 stars 12/26/2015 by TrooperDog
by TrooperDog

Good for accessing hard to reach places (under furniture), but lacking the suction power needing to vacuum dog hair for such an expensive vacuum. Upright dyson animal vacuum has much more power.

TrooperDog
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
poor design
12/24/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 12/24/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I was excited to get this but after using it I really don't like it. The canister is quite hard to empty and the beater attachment is useless on carpet. It works okay on hard floors but it won't pick up a tiny pebble. Very disappointed...

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
A vacuum for real life
1/17/2015

Customer review by DarrylB

5.0 stars 1/17/2015 by DarrylB
by DarrylB

THIS IS THE ONE! After trying out two other Dyson vacuums (the DC 50 Animal and the DC 47 Animal) I recently received the DC 39. Out of the box this machine was impressive. From the oversized collection canister to the large diameter tubing to the rigid brushes on the vacuum head this machine looked as if it could do the job; I was not mistaken. If you have kids and pets the DC 39 will quickly and effectively pick up the hair, the cereal, the cookie crumbs the dog didn’t get, the candy pieces and the pieces of candy wrappers; and the DC 39 will still have plenty of capacity and suction power power to take the hidden dirt and allergens out of the carpet that you thought you cleaned up long time ago in addition to the stuff that you didn’t even know was in the carpet. It didn’t stop there, switching out for the flat-out suction tool, the DC 39 thoroughly cleaned all of the non-carpeted areas of my house. The DC 39 is truly the vacuum for real-life use.

DarrylB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
"My Dyson Really SUCKS!!!!!!"
2/13/2015

Customer review by khull

5.0 stars 2/13/2015 by khull
by khull

That's what I tell everyone when they ask me how I like my Dyson. And it's true. I can clean the house, empty the canister, and vacuum the next day, and it gets more dirt out of my house. The attachments are great, practicle, and easy to use. The ease of taking off and attaching the hoses and attachments is fast. There is only one thing I would say against the animal. I bought mine from QVC and they said it goes very easily around furniture without catching itself on it. It DOES catch on my furniture. Technical support is phenominal. I had to call up on one occasion because my Dyson stopped picking up. I took it apart as stated and could not find anything wrong. I called the support center and they took all the time I needed to resolve the issue. It was dirt stuck in the flat part of the intake to the cannister which was my fault for not seeing it. They were great. I would recommend a Dyson to anyone who wants to make sure their house is CLEAN!!!

khull
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
so far so good
9/11/2012

Customer review by loquacious

4.0 stars 9/11/2012 by loquacious
by loquacious

I've only had the chance to use this a few times but I have been amazed with how much "stuff" it gets! I'm especially impressed by the tools. I have had an Oreck, that I really liked that I stupidly traded with my parents for their Hoover Windtunnel. What I loved about the Oreck was the lightness and the handheld canister. What I liked about the Windtunnel was the ability to suck it all up, but the tools were terrible! So far the Animal has been great! I can use it to get the ceilings, the baseboards and of course the floor! We do have a thick carpet in the basement and I can't say that I'm in love with the Animal's abilities with that but with rest of it, so far so good!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
loquacious
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love it
6/9/2014

Customer review by Sorrelapp

5.0 stars 6/9/2014 by Sorrelapp
by Sorrelapp

I bought the DC 39 animal. I have 5 dogs and live in an older log cabin with hardwood floors with some large area rugs. The very first time I used the vacuum I didn't realize I had filled the canister twice as much as it should of been filled after only vacuuming half my house. The vacuum was actually sucking out the old dirt from the tiny groves between the floor boards. I like that I can go from the floors to the rugs by just pushing a button. I used to have to change heads on my old vacuum. I have purchased several dusting attatchments and use them to dust the house as well. It definitely has super suction. The only negatives I have found is it does not roll as well as I thought. I wish the cord were a little longer. And I have to take the dust container down to the garage to empty it, as it's a bit of a mess. But that could be because I fill mine with every weekly vacuuming. Other than that, I would have to say once you go Dyson, you don't go back.

Sorrelapp
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
The Best Vacuum Available
11/16/2015

Customer review by winonaww

5.0 stars 11/16/2015 by winonaww
by winonaww

This is not inexpensive, but it's the best, easiest to operate and most versatile vacuum cleaner available—its attachments are inter changeable with (almost) all Dyson cleaners, which makes this a must-have, even if you have an upright or hand-held Dyson. The horizontally circulating attachment for animal hair is amazing and removes even deeply seated junk without getting tangled. If you live with a pet, this is the vacuum to have. We have antique Oriental carpets, and this machine is both "gentle" and brutally hard on debris—I guess it's the strong vacuum that does this. Oh yes: hard floors, too, and an easy-to-use attachment for blinds.

winonaww
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great little tool!
11/7/2014

Customer review by MaksandHettyMom

4.0 stars 11/7/2014 by MaksandHettyMom
by MaksandHettyMom

I purchases the DC 39 as I have a small home and prefer a tank-style vacuum as opposed to an upright for agility. Additionally, I have all hard floors and 3 dogs and 1 daughter living with me.. I had been using an older Dson upright (pre-ball body style). I received nearly all of the attachments with the puchase. I like this tool for suction and agilty. I am able to reach the tops of my wood blinds and dust them(as opposed to doing them by hand). I can reach the tops of my kitchen cabinets to dust. It picks up all the dust and weeds the dogs drag in. The one thing I'm disappointed in...On the earlier model I had been using, the bottom drops out of the cannister...and the bottom is flat, so all the dirt empties very easily into a bin. On this model, there is that dip in the bottom of the cannister. I find really fine dirt clumps in the depression of the bottom of the bin. I have to be sure to empty it into an empty garbage bag, and shake it around really well, or I have that really fine dirt all over and have to re-vacuum.

MaksandHettyMom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
DC39 Disapointment
11/17/2015

Customer review by PB4954

2.0 stars 11/17/2015 by PB4954
by PB4954

This unit was for doing hardwood floors and stairs in a large home. We already have two Dyson uprights, one for each floor, and love them. When I wanted to get something that could handle bare floors and stairs easier I immediately went to a Dyson product. However, this unit is very disappointing. Hard to empty, the cover won't open easily and when it does the lid is swinging in the way, otherwise a mess. The rotating brush works went it wants to. Yes, it is debris free and nothing is blocking it. Overall, this is just a poor design. It is also had to maneuver around, again just poor design. Sorry I bought it. Very disappointed.

PB4954
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
LOVE IT!
4/20/2014

Customer review by nannynanna

5.0 stars 4/20/2014 by nannynanna
by nannynanna

I have used my Dyson DC39 Animal 3 times now. The more I use it the more I love it! I usually prefer an upright however I opted for the canister. I thought long and hard before I choose which model was best suited for my cleaning needs around my house. The canister is able to get under my furniture better than an upright would. I have 1/2 hard wood floors and 1/2 carpet to clean. With the press of a button which is right at my fingertips, I can turn the brush off and on. I keep the tools on board as I go around the house so they are always very handy, quite frequently switching from one end to another as appropriate. It's very easy to shorten the "pole" at the end of the bendable hose, which also tremendously helps my cleaning situations. I have chosen wisely and am happy for it. I trusted the Dyson name, and I am not disappointed. My advise is to think about your cleaning situation - how much room you have to maneuver around, do you have furniture to go under, etc., and then decide on the model. Choosing Dyson is obvious!

nannynanna
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
DC39 Animal
11/16/2015

Customer review by Pigface

5.0 stars 11/16/2015 by Pigface
by Pigface

My DC39 Animal is a pleasure to operate and use. It's light and easy to carry, stylish, compact and simple to clean. The "animal" attachment works great on small areas to clean up pet hair and, like the floor attachment, it's simple to take apart and clean if necessary. Granted, I don't have to purchase vacuum bags, but removing them from my old vacuum cleaner was simpler and cleaner than cleaning the Dyson. Also, the bags held more and had to be replaced less frequently. All in all, the Dyson design does a much better job of cleaning and I'm perfectly happy with it.

Pigface
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Dog hair....
11/17/2015

Customer review by DVent

5.0 stars 11/17/2015 by DVent
by DVent

I love this machine and the attachments that go with it. I have a 10 1/2 yr. old short haired rescued pup who I love. She is aloud everywhere in the house, usually the most comfortable place. This vacuum picks up every dog hair she sheds and it sometimes seems that it should be another dog there is so much fur. There is one thing I would change though, the handle for empting the cylinder is too hard to hold and push down without using two hands. Other than that love this vacuum. I is my second Dyson by the way. The other one was about 9 years old and used often.

DVent
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
I am very happy with my first Dyson
5/16/2012

Customer review by Goldenluvr2

5.0 stars 5/16/2012 by Goldenluvr2
by Goldenluvr2

I have had my Dyson for about a month now and so far I am very pleased with it. It does a wonderful job with the fur from two Golden Retrievers as well as the dirt they track in. The suction does a good job on dust too. I was surprised at how light weight this vacuum is and the canister is so easy to remove and re-attach. It does a wonderful job on the staircase (which is carpeted). I have hardwood flooring and area rugs, the suction is so strong that a few of my thinner rugs prevent the brush from spinning. The brush is so easy to remove and clean - no parts for the hair to wrap around or bearings to burn up. I just wish that the on/off switch was on the handle instead of the canister, my old canister was like that and it was so convenient but that is my only real complaint and one that I can certainly live with. This vacuum moves so easily and is so light weight that it can and does follow me everywhere. I would definitely recommend this vacuum.

Goldenluvr2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Animal!
11/17/2015

Customer review by Opie2015

5.0 stars 11/17/2015 by Opie2015
by Opie2015

I had always wanted one of these vacuums but wasn't sure I wanted to spend the money. After reading many reviews and talking to friends, I decided to order THE ANIMAL! When the vacuum arrived, we cleaned everything in the house! I have 2 dogs and 2 teenage boys. I love the way the ANIMAL picks up the dog hair from my wooden floors. Even my boys love it. I don't have to tell them to vacuum! The attachments are easy to change, The canister is easy to empty. Over all, I would recommend the ANIMAL to anyone looking for something to clean up after pets..

Opie2015
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
How did I ever live without it?
8/6/2012

Customer review by Gadgetsguy74

5.0 stars 8/6/2012 by Gadgetsguy74
by Gadgetsguy74

I have always owned a bulky upright, and now I have this incredible Dyson Animal Canister Vacuum that is the best cleaning product that I have ever bought in the fight against dust and pet hair. And now I wonder how did I ever live without it. The extensions that come with this product are better than any that I have ever used on another vacuum cleaner and they are specialized for specific tasks of vacuuming dust and animal hair and dander. I love the canister that opens up with a press of a button, and with the no loss suction, nothing gets away from this beautiful machine.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gadgetsguy74
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 663 total reviews
1-20 of 663 reviews