Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 688 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

688 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

688 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
528
4 stars
113
3 stars
15
2 stars
12
1 stars
20
1-20 of 645 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 645 total reviews
1-20 of 645 reviews
It's pretty good
5/2/2014

Customer review by CB1971

4.0 stars 5/2/2014 by CB1971
by CB1971

I really like the vacuum and its suction. It moves easily. Am I 100% happy, not really. These are my issues...1. If you roll the canister over the cord it sometimes either gets stuck or tips over because there really isn't a clearance between the rollers and the floor. 2. The dog hair gets sucked up into the top area of the bin, which is good because it has good suction. The only problem is that the hair gets stuck so when you go to empty the bin you have to reach in and pull it out. Yuck! I have contacted Dyson about this and they have recommended emptying the bin sooner but it is supposed to be for homes with animals and I refuse to stop in the middle of a room to empty the bin. With my upright I can vacuum almost the whole first floor of the house! 3. It always has dog hair static clinging to the floor attachment. Overall, it seems like it doesn't have good suction, but it does. It is easy to use and really light weight. I like the button on the handle to turn on and off the brush.

CB1971
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Animal Lover
12/23/2014

Customer review by Mamadez

5.0 stars 12/23/2014 by Mamadez
by Mamadez

I was in a bind when my old vacuum broke. At the time, I had 2 dogs (1 shedder) and 3 cats of my own and was fostering 5 kittens. There was a teenager in the house and daily vacuuming was a necessity. The DC39 looked like my best bet. We brought it home and plugged it right in. All of the sudden, the carpet was a different color than we originally thought. There was a green Persian area rug in front of the door that literally changed to a brighter green. This vacuum was getting up hairs that had been embedded in the carpet, that my old vacuum didn't even know were there. It pulls the dust bunnies out from underneath the furniture BEFORE it gets there. One of my favorite features is the long power cord. I don't have to stop to unplug and plug in every time I change rooms. Since we bought ours we've added 2 dogs and fostered 16 more cats. (Not all at once) and our Dyson has held up to everyone of them. I work with a large pet rescue and always recommend the Animal to rescuers and adopters.

Mamadez
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Best vacuum I ever owned
12/4/2013

Customer review by CriticalEye

5.0 stars 12/4/2013 by CriticalEye
by CriticalEye

After years of disappointing performance from numerous other make vacuum cleaners, I am amazed at the excellent performance of my Dyson. I was somewhat skeptical at first because of the odd shape and relatively small size and light weight, but it puts all my previous vacuum cleaners to shame. The Dyson Animal 39 cleans much better with excellent suction and is easy to maneuver. Even the accessory brushes and tools are well designed. The regular carpet tool really removes dust and dirt, and the small turbine tool is outstanding. In addition, I purchased the "flat-out" tool because we have lots of hardwood floors and hard to reach low places. It's great! One very useful feature I didn't realize when I bought the vacuum is that you can disassemble the canister with three quick clicks and wipe it out with a towel to keep it functioning perfectly. Those folks at Dyson know their engineering and make an excellent vacuum. It earns a big thumbs up from a guy with a critical eye for quality and performance.

CriticalEye
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Love it
6/9/2014

Customer review by Sorrelapp

5.0 stars 6/9/2014 by Sorrelapp
by Sorrelapp

I bought the DC 39 animal. I have 5 dogs and live in an older log cabin with hardwood floors with some large area rugs. The very first time I used the vacuum I didn't realize I had filled the canister twice as much as it should of been filled after only vacuuming half my house. The vacuum was actually sucking out the old dirt from the tiny groves between the floor boards. I like that I can go from the floors to the rugs by just pushing a button. I used to have to change heads on my old vacuum. I have purchased several dusting attatchments and use them to dust the house as well. It definitely has super suction. The only negatives I have found is it does not roll as well as I thought. I wish the cord were a little longer. And I have to take the dust container down to the garage to empty it, as it's a bit of a mess. But that could be because I fill mine with every weekly vacuuming. Other than that, I would have to say once you go Dyson, you don't go back.

Sorrelapp
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
A vacuum for real life
1/17/2015

Customer review by DarrylB

5.0 stars 1/17/2015 by DarrylB
by DarrylB

THIS IS THE ONE! After trying out two other Dyson vacuums (the DC 50 Animal and the DC 47 Animal) I recently received the DC 39. Out of the box this machine was impressive. From the oversized collection canister to the large diameter tubing to the rigid brushes on the vacuum head this machine looked as if it could do the job; I was not mistaken. If you have kids and pets the DC 39 will quickly and effectively pick up the hair, the cereal, the cookie crumbs the dog didn’t get, the candy pieces and the pieces of candy wrappers; and the DC 39 will still have plenty of capacity and suction power power to take the hidden dirt and allergens out of the carpet that you thought you cleaned up long time ago in addition to the stuff that you didn’t even know was in the carpet. It didn’t stop there, switching out for the flat-out suction tool, the DC 39 thoroughly cleaned all of the non-carpeted areas of my house. The DC 39 is truly the vacuum for real-life use.

DarrylB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
LOVE IT!
4/20/2014

Customer review by nannynanna

5.0 stars 4/20/2014 by nannynanna
by nannynanna

I have used my Dyson DC39 Animal 3 times now. The more I use it the more I love it! I usually prefer an upright however I opted for the canister. I thought long and hard before I choose which model was best suited for my cleaning needs around my house. The canister is able to get under my furniture better than an upright would. I have 1/2 hard wood floors and 1/2 carpet to clean. With the press of a button which is right at my fingertips, I can turn the brush off and on. I keep the tools on board as I go around the house so they are always very handy, quite frequently switching from one end to another as appropriate. It's very easy to shorten the "pole" at the end of the bendable hose, which also tremendously helps my cleaning situations. I have chosen wisely and am happy for it. I trusted the Dyson name, and I am not disappointed. My advise is to think about your cleaning situation - how much room you have to maneuver around, do you have furniture to go under, etc., and then decide on the model. Choosing Dyson is obvious!

nannynanna
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Great little tool!
11/7/2014

Customer review by MaksandHettyMom

4.0 stars 11/7/2014 by MaksandHettyMom
by MaksandHettyMom

I purchases the DC 39 as I have a small home and prefer a tank-style vacuum as opposed to an upright for agility. Additionally, I have all hard floors and 3 dogs and 1 daughter living with me.. I had been using an older Dson upright (pre-ball body style). I received nearly all of the attachments with the puchase. I like this tool for suction and agilty. I am able to reach the tops of my wood blinds and dust them(as opposed to doing them by hand). I can reach the tops of my kitchen cabinets to dust. It picks up all the dust and weeds the dogs drag in. The one thing I'm disappointed in...On the earlier model I had been using, the bottom drops out of the cannister...and the bottom is flat, so all the dirt empties very easily into a bin. On this model, there is that dip in the bottom of the cannister. I find really fine dirt clumps in the depression of the bottom of the bin. I have to be sure to empty it into an empty garbage bag, and shake it around really well, or I have that really fine dirt all over and have to re-vacuum.

MaksandHettyMom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
I am very happy with my first Dyson
5/16/2012

Customer review by Goldenluvr2

5.0 stars 5/16/2012 by Goldenluvr2
by Goldenluvr2

I have had my Dyson for about a month now and so far I am very pleased with it. It does a wonderful job with the fur from two Golden Retrievers as well as the dirt they track in. The suction does a good job on dust too. I was surprised at how light weight this vacuum is and the canister is so easy to remove and re-attach. It does a wonderful job on the staircase (which is carpeted). I have hardwood flooring and area rugs, the suction is so strong that a few of my thinner rugs prevent the brush from spinning. The brush is so easy to remove and clean - no parts for the hair to wrap around or bearings to burn up. I just wish that the on/off switch was on the handle instead of the canister, my old canister was like that and it was so convenient but that is my only real complaint and one that I can certainly live with. This vacuum moves so easily and is so light weight that it can and does follow me everywhere. I would definitely recommend this vacuum.

Goldenluvr2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
"My Dyson Really SUCKS!!!!!!"
2/13/2015

Customer review by khull

5.0 stars 2/13/2015 by khull
by khull

That's what I tell everyone when they ask me how I like my Dyson. And it's true. I can clean the house, empty the canister, and vacuum the next day, and it gets more dirt out of my house. The attachments are great, practicle, and easy to use. The ease of taking off and attaching the hoses and attachments is fast. There is only one thing I would say against the animal. I bought mine from QVC and they said it goes very easily around furniture without catching itself on it. It DOES catch on my furniture. Technical support is phenominal. I had to call up on one occasion because my Dyson stopped picking up. I took it apart as stated and could not find anything wrong. I called the support center and they took all the time I needed to resolve the issue. It was dirt stuck in the flat part of the intake to the cannister which was my fault for not seeing it. They were great. I would recommend a Dyson to anyone who wants to make sure their house is CLEAN!!!

khull
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Great Canister Vacuum
11/29/2016

Customer review by Rittmeister

5.0 stars 11/29/2016 by Rittmeister
by Rittmeister

I bought the DC39 as a replacement for another Dyson Vacuum. It has powerful suction, thoroughly cleaning carpets and floors. The floor attachment that comes with the DC39 is very easy to switch from carpet to floor. I also purchased a separate floor attachment, which is narrow and flexible enough to go in very small spaces, which is very handy for cleaning around my refrigerator. Overall, I am very pleased with the DC39.

Rittmeister
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Great vacuum for any chore
6/17/2012

Customer review by chantel

5.0 stars 6/17/2012 by chantel
by chantel

I read a lot of reviews trying to deside what type of vacuum to buy. Went to alot of stores to try them out and this is the one I chose. I must say I am not disapointed. The suction power on it is outstanding so great that when I vacuum my rugs that it would pull them along until I realized theres a trger button on the handle that will release some of the suction and still does a great job. I also use it on my tile floors still works great. Vacuumed my intake ac vent on ceiling did a great job.Only wish the wand would extend a little longer because of valted ceiling. Then I decided to vacuum out my car with it. You can detatch the handle and add an attachment and its just like the one at the car wash if not better. Gets under the bed and stands. Really I can't say enough about this vacuum. Cord also retracts very well into ball. Push the button and it goes right in. It is very easy to handle and clean with. It just follows you along wherever you go. Leaves my carpet looking brand new. Ok I really hope this helps when your reading reviews.

chantel
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
I should have read the details more carefully
12/27/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 12/27/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The main reason I purchased this was because of prior good experience with Dyson vacuums and especially because it says it is designed to deal with animal hair. I was very disappointed when I pulled it out of the box today and realized that there is only a VERY SMALL "tool" primarily meant for vacuuming hair from furniture. Do they think that my dog only sheds when she is laying on the couch? There is still a roller bar intended for use on carpets, but it has the exact same problem as every other vacuum with a roller bar... it quickly gets hair wrapped around it that prevents it from working. While the special tool does seem to work, I expect it will take a very long time to vacuum a room using it. Overall, the Dyson still picks up more dirt than any other vacuum I have ever used (and I've owned almost every brand known to man), but I'm disappointed that I'll still have to deal with cutting hair from the roller bar every time I vacuum...I feel like I've wasted money on a new Dyson that doesn't do anything better/different than my old Dyson.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Best Darn Vacuum EVER!
11/21/2016

Customer review by TJgibby

5.0 stars 11/21/2016 by TJgibby
by TJgibby

I love the Animal, for one she picks up every cat hair ever & works on hardwood, carpet and tile without issue. The color is awesome, never have a problem locating the animal, look for the purple cat hair eating machine. Great suction power and always starts right up without problems. Moves gracefully across the floor & the cord retractor still holds enough power to reel in even the most stubborn cords! Great machine, not too loud, but just right

TJgibby
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
2nd time around
4/22/2012

Customer review by Solex

5.0 stars 4/22/2012 by Solex
by Solex

This is actually the second Dyson I have owned. I bought a DC15 animal ball ten years ago and it had given long and faithful service. It road around in my truck, took unscheduled trips down stairs and was used extensively. Finally, the housing where the air tube met it at its base cracked. So now, I bought a DC39 Animal and it addressed all of the small gripes I had with the DC15, including having a retractable power cord. It is much lighter, has just as good suction as the upright, is easier to use on stairs, and the Hepa filter is a nice touch. Dyson is pricey, but the old adage about getting what you pay for clearly applies here. When I went to go buy my replacement vacuum cleaner, I looked at the other brands. Most were just plain cheap and the knock off "Cyclonics" were not nearly as quiet, and not nearly as well built. So put the money into up front and forget about having issues with your vacuum for a long time.

Solex
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
DC39
10/7/2014

Customer review by judylu

2.0 stars 10/7/2014 by judylu
by judylu

I'm really quite disappointed in my animal DC 39. I guess I assumed that the on and off switch was on the handle, it's not, and isn't very handy. It does a wonderful job of picking up dog hair, and just plain dirt. My other vacuum didn't do as well, but I don't like the bagless feature, at least in this model. I can only use my vacuum twice before it's full, which is a good thing, that it get's it up, but also then I have to clean it which is not so easy and messier than I had envisioned. I have to day the DC 39 works great on carpets and the attachment I bought separately is fantastic for hardwood floors. It gets in and out of places I've never been able to get at before. I guess the main things I don't like about this appliance is that it is unhandy, and could have been made better considering the price. Otherwise it's fine, but I don't think I'll be buying another without checking everything it does and doesn't do.

judylu
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
A very good machine for the price
9/24/2015

Customer review by ccartec

4.0 stars 9/24/2015 by ccartec
by ccartec

I bought my animal three years ago and I am still satisfied with the performance of the machine. I have only a couple of concerns. The first is that the wand brush will stick from time to time making a tiresome chore a little more difficult. The second is the reason that I am writing this updated review. It is very important to keep the drum of the machine clean. There are instructions for rinsing the filter but it is necessary to go further and actually flush the drum with running water from the facet of dust, hair, lint and grit picked up in cleaning. I flush mine after each use. It's also important to allow it to dry. It takes about a week to dry so I would recommend buying two of them if you have a large house with multiple pets. If you use it before it's completely dry it will have that dirty-feet smell which is very difficult to remove. It's also necessary to flush it for maximum performance and suction.

ccartec
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Awesome product
7/28/2014

Customer review by Jamie16

5.0 stars 7/28/2014 by Jamie16
by Jamie16

I was skeptical of buying a dyson at first, as i'm a believer that you shouldn't have to spend an arm and a leg on a vacuum in order to get a descent functioning one. Boy, was I wrong. Over the years, we've gotten countless machines, and end up replacing them within a year of purchase. What I love about this product is the 5 year warranty! It makes the cost so much more easier to bear, and it is true, sometimes spending more is worth it! This product does it all, picks up pet hair stuck in carpets, the tool attachments are perfect for small spaces and underneath furniture, and the suction is so strong, it will pick up almost anything you need. I definitely recommend this product. I like the canister version as it suits our lifestyle and being on one floor, it's easy to wheel around and hit each room. I have not had an upright so I can't comment on that. Easy to use, easy to assemble and worth it. I'm a believer!

Jamie16
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
8/31/2016

Customer review by 2SamoyedsClean

5.0 stars 8/31/2016 by 2SamoyedsClean
by 2SamoyedsClean

This machine has been pulling Samoyed hairs out of my carpet now for 5 years. We bought it to replace a Dyson upright, and were very happy with the results. It has been a reliable machine, working just as well today as it did the day we bought it. Pros: easy to pull around behind you, can be used by children and adults alike with an easy adjustment to the length of the handle, and does a good job at picking up fur. Cons: will tip over going around corners or turning around quickly and must be righted, can be messy when emptying the canister (nothing a dustpan can't handle), and does collect a lot of fur in the bristles of the vacuum head (nothing consistent cleaning can't handle). If you're looking for a vacuum that handles pet hair for years... this one does it.

2SamoyedsClean
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Best Vacuum I've owned yet!
1/18/2015

Customer review by CharlieWan

5.0 stars 1/18/2015 by CharlieWan
by CharlieWan

I recently moved into a multi-story townhouse. My previous vacuum, a DC25 Animal, just wasn't cutting it with all the steps, so a canister vacuum was needed. After a lot of research, I chose this, the full-size model. The unit is shipped in a very small and intuitive package. Upon opening, everything is easy to remove. Assembly is a breeze... it really doesn't get much easier. The real wow factor, though, is when you turn it on and use it for the first time. This canister has suction for days! It's pulling stuff out of my carpet and off my floors that I never even knew was there! It is taking some getting used to, pulling a canister instead of pushing an upright, but it's an easy switch. My only complaint is that the beater bar isn't as wide as on most of the uprights... so you don't cover as much area on a single pass. That's a really nit-picky complaint, though. Overall I'm very happy with this vacuum!

CharlieWan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
disappointed
3/1/2013

Customer review by ChristineMarie

1.0 stars 3/1/2013 by ChristineMarie
by ChristineMarie

I did all the research and believed all the hype when I bought an "Animal" about a year ago. Yes it does vacuum up an amazing amount of dirt, but it is not a good vacuum for my Ethan Allan area rugs. My choice is to use the beater bar and ruin the carpets - or turn that feature off and not get the rugs clean. Less significant, but still annoying, is the fact that for all the hype about how well a Dyson is engineered, you have to prop it up in the corner of your closet only to have it flop out when you open the door. And I can't imagine why they didn't put the on/off switch on the handle instead of the canister. It's just not logical or intuitive. I must confess I knew about these two flaws when I bought it, and I didn't think they'd be such a big deal. But they are! Bottom line: Yes it gets the dirt probably a lot better than most, but it's got flaws, too. Decide if you can live with them.

ChristineMarie
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 645 total reviews
1-20 of 645 reviews