Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 349 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

349 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

349 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
253
4 stars
75
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 stars
7
1-20 of 319 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 319 total reviews
1-20 of 319 reviews
Best vacuum for every floor in the house
7/14/2014

Customer review by sarahe

5.0 stars 7/14/2014 by sarahe
by sarahe

I have tried so many different vacuums over the years and have never found a vacuum that worked wonderful on both tile/laminate/wood floors and carpets. Right now I have tile and laminate floors all throughout the house but rugs of all types- from a thick wool rug to a thin jute rug. This vacuum works amazing on all the surfaces. It doesn't blow away the tumble furs on the hard floors and still has great suction and cleaning on the rugs- from the thick wool rug to the thinner rugs. It also doesn't "eat" the edges of the smaller rugs and lets me vacuum them without having to perform gymnastics to try to keep all the edges down while vacuuming the middle. Seriously in love with this thing! Plus it can get underneath almost every piece of furniture which no other upright could do unless you used the accessories. I would recommend this to anyone- no matter what floors you have- because it would work great on any surface! I recommended it to my parents and they are now in love with their own.

sarahe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
A cumberson product
6/2/2014

Customer review by 2mary1

1.0 stars 6/2/2014 by 2mary1
by 2mary1

First let me say I am a great fan of Dyson Upright sweeper- we have a Jack Russel dog who sheds just walking and sitting. This sweeper is amazing and I cannot believe the dog hairs and dander it picks up. Now as to the dc39 I thought it would be easy to use and manuver but that is not so - the rotator brush assembly is not a good design as it seems to clog easily I don't believe it is designed to pick up say a penny or anyother object that size which seems strange since the suction is very great- also the whole product just does not seem to be right- the collection container if not held right the filter pops out and it seems to catch a lot of debris on the screen inside. whoever designed the device that is supposed to hold the sweeper assembly please take another look it is not easy to attach the sweeper to the unit when storing. Actually is does not swivel around as I thought it would- I am sorry to have purchased it and should have just bought another upright.

2mary1
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
MY DC39 multi floor
1/16/2015

Customer review by Hanneke

4.0 stars 1/16/2015 by Hanneke
by Hanneke

I used to have a Dyson (an animal Pro) when we lived in Europe and I absolutely loved it! So, with our move to California, I of course went for another one, this time the DC39 multi floor (it is a shame I couldn't move my European Dyson with me due to the voltage issue). I still love it's performance, weight and functionality, but I absolutely hate the floor brush. I was very sceptic about the floor brush when I bought it, but the guy at the store said these kind of brushes are normal in the US and it won't tangle. Yeah, sure. It tangles like crazy. Since I do like Dyson I've contacted their European office and I'm ordering the same brush as on my European one. At least that one can't tangle and it cleans better than this roller floor one. So, because of the weird, annoying floor brush just 4 stars out of 5. My European Animal Pro from Dyson would get 5 of 5 ;). If my DC39 works better with a new European brush I will definitely give a new review.

Hanneke
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Can you love a vacuum? Yes!
9/17/2014

Customer review by Greenflower

5.0 stars 9/17/2014 by Greenflower
by Greenflower

In my home I have hardwood floors, many rugs, and 5 dogs. I demand a lot from a vacuum cleaner. I've been romanced before by machines that claimed that they could handle pet hair, only to be heartbroken within 12 months when they broke down. After careful research I decided to give the Dyson DC39 Muti Floor a try. My hopes rose as I opened the box and snapped my new vacuum together easily. Halfway through vacuuming the living room rug I had to empty the dust cup. That was easy too. I was amazed by how much dirt my previous vacuum cleaner had left behind. Yuck! Weeks into the relationship, when I caught myself thinking "I'll never have to sweep again.", I knew it was love. The included attachments, which fit neatly on the handle, are perfect for reaching all the cracks and crevices where dirt and fur like to collect AND stay secure during vigorous, enthusiastic cleaning. Add the compact size, easy storage, washable filter, and 5 year warranty and I feel like my Dyson and I are going to have a wonderful long-term partnership.

Greenflower
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
1/16/2015

Customer review by MHS53

5.0 stars 1/16/2015 by MHS53
by MHS53

This vacuum is wonderful. I had previously purchased a competitor's product that was top rated by Consumer Reports because it was less expensive. My home is all hardwood and tile floors and the competitor's product did not work well on hardwood floors. After reading through customer reviews I decided on the Dyson. I am not disappointed. This vacuum is great. It works on hardwood, tile and rugs- just like the other reviews said. I do have to empty the dust bin often which means the vacuum is really doing its job. - Just wish it was a little larger, but then the machine would be heavier and more cumbersome which I do not want. I like the lightness and ease of use. The other minor complaint is that I wish the on/off switch was on the handle instead of the canister. I will put up with this minor inconvenience though because the vacuum performs so well. I should have bought the Dyson to begin with since I could not return the previous product.

MHS53
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
DC39 = AMAZING!!
7/25/2012

Customer review by Thedysonmaster

5.0 stars 7/25/2012 by Thedysonmaster
by Thedysonmaster

This vacuum is overall amazing! The DC39 has unrelenting suction, excellent agitation at the turbine head. I think that the best part is the fact that you can see what has been picked up!! Makes Me think, did my other vacuum really leave all that behind?!?!? WOW! Nice sized vacuum, light enough to carry. REMARKABLELY SILENT!! To pull it along, it doesn't really feel like you are pulling anything. Radial Root tech. is the stuff!! When I go to dumb the canister I can see all the fine dust and particulates in the door of the canister. I highly recommend the hard floor tool! The spot that the turbine head locks onto on the back of the machine takes a few times to master. Gotta have the right angle. Doesn't scuff! The ball makes it effortless. Would recommend anyday!!! Great job dyson! And for the dumping of the canister, yes you have too stick it in the trash can a little ways, but have some common sense and dump it outside in the dumpster!!

Thedysonmaster
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
almost love it
3/28/2015

Customer review by lacspupmom

4.0 stars 3/28/2015 by lacspupmom
by lacspupmom

I have had a Dyson upright for ten years now. Loved it in the beginning so much so that I convinced my Mom that she needed one. The difference was hers had the ball and mine was right before the ball came out. The low level canister is my problem. The DC39 was a gift from my husband for Christmas. He saw me looking at them and thought all the reviews where praising this one the best. I like it and would recommend this to a person that is shorter than I, but I would prefer another upright. The upright takes up less storage space in the closet and it is working in front of me, instead of dragging behind me knocking over what I am unaware of. I would swap it, but I fear my husband would get... I keep looking at the new updated Cinetic, but the price tag is a deterrent. As far as suction the machine is wonderful, but our longhair clogs the small opening. After a few cuts with scissors, the hair is freed and sucked inside with all the rest.

lacspupmom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Pro & Con
6/2/2014

Customer review by Piner

5.0 stars 6/2/2014 by Piner
by Piner

All considered a very good vac and I am happy with the purchase. Small and easy to maneuver. Suction is excellent. The bin is easy to dump and clean with a good volume. The cord is a good length and retracts fully. On the down side. My home has over 2000 sq. ft. of ceramic tile flooring and two greyhounds. The rug/bare floor attachment is not really designed for that much bare floor work. The "bare floor attachment" available as an accessory is a must purchase and works very well. There is also a group of accessory items sold together that has a general type dusting attachment as well as one designed for high things like the tops of fan blades. This group of attachments is a good value and understandably sold as an extra. The bare floor attachment really should be part of the included tools with the machine and not and extra purchase. That having been said I am very satisfied with performance for price.

Piner
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
DC39 Review
7/20/2012

Customer review by Ikeepaparrot

5.0 stars 7/20/2012 by Ikeepaparrot
by Ikeepaparrot

I recently purchased the DC39 Multi floor vacuum from Dyson online. I have used it about twice a day in the last two weeks and am very happy with the machine and how it works. I think what one needs to remember about the vacuum is that it doesn't have more suction than some other vacuum, but it does not lose that vacuum while you are vacuuming. That was certainly the problem with other vac's I have owned. This little canister vac is fun to use, as it sort of follows you around like a puppy. It's cute! and it is quiet. I was very concerned that it might be quite loud. Not one bit. The one little glitch that I have noticed is the way the the vacuum head with the spinning brush is supposed to fit into a little notch on the back of the ball/vacuum motor. I have lots of trouble fitting the power head into that notch. I find it hard to get the right angle on the head to fit into the small notch.

Ikeepaparrot
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great Product!
9/21/2013

Customer review by Martin3

5.0 stars 9/21/2013 by Martin3
by Martin3

This is a great vacuum. The suction is awesome and it is very easy and light to use. A lot of the negative reviews state that the suction is too strong for area carpets and such. However, the triggers at the top of the extension arm reduce the suction in such situations so you can run the vacuum over area carpets. People just need to use these features and they will see how effective the vacuum is over all surfaces. Also, I had a problem with the turbine head. It stopped spinning so I called Dyson and they sent me a new one which works great, I thought I would have to pay for a new head and was surprised that they were willing to send me another one, no questions asked. Great service in that respect. This is by far the best and easiest vacuum to use that I have ever owned and I have owned a lot of different vacuums through the years. I was skeptical at first but am now convinced.

Martin3
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Wonderful
2/13/2015

Customer review by JohnnieMay

5.0 stars 2/13/2015 by JohnnieMay
by JohnnieMay

I have multiple orthopedic/allergic issues which has required some life adjustments. One change was to remove all carpet! I owned the Dyson upright prior which is still in perfect condition after years of use. Pushing and pulling the upright on carpet became too much for my ability. I had to get a vac that I could use with my abilities. I bought a Dyson cordless stick which is great for short jobs but gripping the handle to keep it operating again was too much for whole house cleaning. I then choose a Dyson canister! Its perfect! It has step on retractable cord! Its light weight and has on off switch which can operated by stepping on button. It has an extended handle so i can stand tall and vacuum! The attachments snap on and off with ease! I can keep baseboards dust free, dust off ceiling fan blades, as well as vac my floors and area rugs! If I could change or add to the design I wish the cord was 5 foot longer and a hair proof brush roller! I love Dyson products as I own 3! I adore being able to wash hepa-filters and not have to buy them all the time. I also love the ease in empty the vac.

JohnnieMay
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Finally!!!
7/6/2015

Customer review by puzzles14

5.0 stars 7/6/2015 by puzzles14
by puzzles14

I could not be happier with my Dyson multi floor canister, it's as if every request for a vacuum has been put into this one! I have 3 large dogs, and 3 cats in my house, plus we live in the country so plenty of dirt. I finally feel like the house is clean when I'm finished using it! The multi floor has amazing sucking power and I'm starting to wonder if some of the carpets I have were ever clean, yuck! The flat out head is amazing and what I have been searching for to use with all my hard woods and get under the furniture the "tumbleweeds" of fur like to roll to and hide! It truly fits under and in all the crevices! Every time I use it, I exclaim how much I love this vacuum!!! Also have to say the customer service response time, and just overall before I even purchased it was phenomenal!!! Seriously could not be more pleased with a purchase and feel it was worth every penny!

puzzles14
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Good, solid vacuum.
12/20/2014

Customer review by JustMeInOregon

5.0 stars 12/20/2014 by JustMeInOregon
by JustMeInOregon

Used it twice now. Both times I had very good results on medium pile carpet, vinyl floors, tile floors and wood laminate floors. The knap on the carpet seems to remain standing longer than with our old canister/beater unit. The beater unit is smaller and more maneuverable so getting into small gaps is much easier. The beater has an on/off switch for the beater part right on the handle so no need to switch from the beater head to a floor head when going from carpet to hard floors - very nice. The base canister follows nicely when pulled, but does not like being pushed backwards to exit a room. However, with the lighter and more maneuverable beater unit I've found it very simple to pick up the canister and hold it (it's very light and well balanced) while sweeping and backing out of a room. Overall I am very impressed with this unit and would recommend it without reservation.

JustMeInOregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Awesome vacuum
12/20/2014

Customer review by mattboske

4.0 stars 12/20/2014 by mattboske
by mattboske

So far I love this vacuum! The main reason I haven't given it 5 stars is its just to soon. We got the vacuum only a month ago so I can't speak of its durability or longevity. With that said, so far it's amazing! When we got it I vacuumed the house with our old vacuum and the amount of stuff the Dyson picked up right after was scary! It has all the power and ease of use as advertised. I do have a couple small gripes that are mostly just personal issues. I'm 6'1 and while the canister does roll well I do wish the hose was longer. It could be because I'm taller but either the ball is hitting me in the heels or I have to carry the ball and the hose gets a bit tangked around my shins. That leads me to my next issue. It's heavy, not terribly so but my shoulder gets tired after carrying the ball around the house. Lastly I believe that you get what you pay for and don't have a problem paying for quality. As long as it does what it says, is durable and lasts...so far so good. I just think that for the price of the units they should come with more than just 1 attachment. Overall we are super happy with our Dyson.

mattboske
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
DC 39 - Review
9/27/2012

Customer review by DC39

5.0 stars 9/27/2012 by DC39
by DC39

I rate this unit DC-39 very highly because it has the equivalent vacuum power of some large industrial systems. We've have had many vacuums that are only sold door to door. So you may know what brand I mean they are nice but the service and sells are exactly that; "Out the door!" when you own one. This Dyson DC-39 is so small and compact it stores anywhere. It does not require hear protection to operate it. it has the most slight whisper that will hardly interrupt others. It came with optional attachments for our hardwood floors, carpet and furniture. Imagine this my wife can actually carry this Dyson DC39 unit and all the attachments up and down the stairs without getting bruised legs. Not so with others. We have a busy household with two teenagers, so I recommend this bag-less system to anybody with allergies, kids or just to keep a good clean home.

DC39
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Multi Floor DC39
7/11/2014

Customer review by NanaC

5.0 stars 7/11/2014 by NanaC
by NanaC

My husband and I had to call three times about the button on the handle that is supposed to stay down when pushed in order for the beater bar to stop to sweep hardwood floors. Dyson told us to make sure the hose was extended fully the first time we called. When the button would not stay down even with the hose fully extended, we called a second time and were very quickly sent a new handle. The new handle did exactly the same thing. On the third call Dyson said they had a special tool that could be attached to sweep hardwood floors and would send it to us without charge. The customer service of Dyson is excellent. We have the Animal and the Multi Floor models, and we are very pleased with both other than the problem with the button on the latter. Hopefully the new tool will take care of that. We recommend Dyson and would definitely buy their products.

NanaC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
First-time Canister vac owner
7/23/2014

Customer review by Lotsofpetfur

4.0 stars 7/23/2014 by Lotsofpetfur
by Lotsofpetfur

This is my first canister style vac. I LOVE Dyson and have had 2 uprights. I have 2 dogs, 2 cats and 3 kids. I got rid of all the wall-to-wall carpet in my house 1 year ago and decided a canister may be a better option for me with tile and wood floors. Likes: lighter to move around, got used to the canister really quick, smaller brush head goes under most of my furniture so I don't have to use an attachment, works great on steps, moves from hard floor to area rug with ease, bin holds lots of dirt, easy to empty. Improvements: cord is too short, brush head does not have a motor so it stops moving if I try to vac the sofa or a bedspread so I have to use an attachment, I think a motor in the brush head would work better on area rugs as well. I feel the brush head has trouble moving on area rugs. Recommend for anyone with lots of hard floor surface.

Lotsofpetfur
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
So much easier!
10/25/2014

Customer review by SEAbeliever

5.0 stars 10/25/2014 by SEAbeliever
by SEAbeliever

First off I would like to thank Dyson for creating such an effective and simple vacuum cleaner. We bought this vacuum cleaner for my wife because she is obsessive over her cleaning, and nothing makes her happier than a clean house! We had struggled with our last two vacuum purchases, in both effectiveness and durability. With those in mind, we decided to drop the extra money into a Dyson, and let me tell you what: seeing the look on her face when she cleaned the entire house top to bottom in 30 minutes compared to the hour and a half- two hours that it took her before was priceless! Thank you, thank you, thank you! She is pregnant now with a baby on the way, so I wanted to get her something that would make her happy and still have her be able to have her immaculate home! We are afforded both with this vacuum. The superiority in regards to the build quality and the materials used to create it are as plain as day. While it certainly looks like no other household device that we've ever seen, it does the job even better than I anticipated! If you are unsure of purchasing one of these vacuum cleaners, rest assured you will not be disappointed! Thanks again!

SEAbeliever
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Worth the investment
5/29/2012

Customer review by mamacres

5.0 stars 5/29/2012 by mamacres
by mamacres

Priding ourselves on frugality, my husband & I have been tempted, but put off getting, a Dyson for a long time. While channel surfing one day I was impressed with the DC39 I saw on QVC, broke down and purchased their exclusive model which came complete with bonus attachments. I am so glad I did. I feel like we've made a good investment. We have 2 indoor cats, this machine is wonderful at picking up their fur as well as other particles that are so fine, I never knew they even existed! The maneuverability is just as good as advertised. The mechanism for turning on & off the power brush is very convenient. I am impressed with how quiet the DC39 is. I also like the variety of tools that came with my model. Being a skeptic I did initially hold on to our canister & upright vacuums thinking I would find something that the Dyson would fall short on, but haven't found anything that the Dyson hasn't done better! I do plan to purchase the smaller power brush attachment, as this was not included with my model, and it would be much easier to use on carpeted steps than the full size power brush that came with the DC39. I feel like it was money well spent! No more bags!!!!

mamacres
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
awesome but hard to push over certain carpets
2/16/2015

Customer review by thestudio

4.0 stars 2/16/2015 by thestudio
by thestudio

I have had this machine for almost a year now so I'm very familiar with it's pros and cons. We have a small house so I purchased a canister so it would maneuver around the small space a little easier and it's been awesome for that. Great on the stairs and wood floors. We have several rooms of Flor carpet tiles and this vacuum works amazingly well on those. It's easy to push around and it really sucks up every last bit of crud on the carpets...and we have two kids and a dog so there is a lot of junk to suck up. My only beef is that we have one large area rug that is a sculpted shag and it's almost impossible to push the vacuum over that particular rug. It's an older rug and has seen a lot of traffic and this cleaner just doesn't have the weight to really ruff up the shag and move easily over the surface. I can do it, but it's not easy. It's super easy and clean to empty and it's not too heavy to lug up and down the stairs. My triggerhead was defective and Dyson did send a replacement, which was nice. Their phone and email support is awesome too. Bottom line, I love this vacuum and wouldn't trade for a different one but it's definitely an aerobic workout in the dining room.

thestudio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
1-20 of 319 total reviews
1-20 of 319 reviews