Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 265 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

265 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

265 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
191
4 stars
55
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 stars
9
1-20 of 190 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 190 total reviews
1-20 of 190 reviews
Good value, good picture.
1/18/2013

Customer review by buckeye1953

4.0 stars 1/18/2013 by buckeye1953
by buckeye1953

For a 51" television, this is a great value. Because the resolution is only 720p, I knew the picture wouldn't be as outstanding as the 1080p sets, but it is still a very good picture. From where I sit in the room (about 9 feet away) the pixels are visible, but nobody else notices them but me. The one thing I do NOT like about this set is that the pixels often "dance" in the dark places. That is to say, they fire on and off in different colors, giving the dark places a shimmering effect. This only happens with some TV programs or some Netflix shows. It does not happen when watching our Blu-ray discs. In other words, with higher quality picture sources, this shimmering does not take place. It's very noticeable up close (2 feet away) but not too noticeable from our seating positions.

buckeye1953
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
It won't turn on.
6/11/2012

Customer review by peorth

3.0 stars 6/11/2012 by peorth
by peorth

When I plug it in, the sound will play indicating that the device has powered on but there is nothing being displayed--not even black! The screen simply never powers on. The stand-by light above the power button lights up and flashes six times but simply shuts off afterwards. If I leave the power button pressed for a few seconds it (the red stand-by light) will also light up for several seconds then power back off. I've replaced the power cords and used several different outlets to make sure that isn't the issue. There is not surge protector or power strip involved. Can't find the issue. :(

peorth
san diego ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Great TV, Great picture, Great price
3/8/2012

Customer review by Osprey

5.0 stars 3/8/2012 by Osprey
by Osprey

I spent a lot of time comparing LCD, LED and Plasma and decided on the Plasma because the industry has done a good job overcoming some of their previous problems. I’m so glad I made that choice. We chose Samsung because we'd had one before and really liked the quality. This is the “E”, 2012 version of the “D” from 2011, which has gotten very good reviews. The picture is crisp, colors are vibrant, black is so BLACK! The on-screen set up is easy, the menu system is simple and just about anyone can figure it out without much help from the directions. The commands are logical and the options for sound and picture dynamics work well for HD, digital or standard cable incoming signals, which is great since we get all three in our area. Don’t be dissuaded by the 720p; it give great picture quality. We had a 1080p and at this size (51”) we see no difference, it’s a non-issue. Several people have said that, in on-line reviews, and they are right, I’m glad we listened to them. The only minor issue is the shiny screen; if a lamp is on in the room you may see it reflected in the screen. Watch TV with the lights off and it’s not a problem at all. The weight is less than 50 lb. making it easy to set up. It comes with a plastic stand that seems flimsy as you put it together but it’s not, and it’s perfectly capable of holding the television securely and looks great once assembled with a Phillips head screwdriver and the 8 screws that come with it.

Osprey
Orlando Area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Great TV for the price!
7/8/2012

Customer review by Arkngel81

5.0 stars 7/8/2012 by Arkngel81
by Arkngel81

Just bought it we'll see how it goes. So far the picture quality is great as expected from a Samsung plasma. Even though is a 720P it was sitting next to a few LCD 1080P and the picture was comparable if not better. The sound is great haven't had to go over 10 on volume. Having issues connecting a hard drive but its probably just format issues I was able to have the TV recognize the hard drive and content but have not been able to play anything. I will update my review once I get figured. Overall great TV for the Price.

Arkngel81
Williamsburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Sharp, clear picture!
8/4/2012

Customer review by LovinLifeNC

5.0 stars 8/4/2012 by LovinLifeNC
by LovinLifeNC

After only 4 years of owning our plasma TV (a different brand), the picture went out and it was more cost effective to buy a new one instead of fixing the existing one. After hours/days of online comparisons and friends' recommendations we decided on the Samsung 51" Plasma. So happy with our choice! Setting up the various cables for digital cable, DVD player, and gaming console was very fast and easy. The picture quality is crisp and bright and the design is sleek. Definately recommend buying this product.

LovinLifeNC
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Best value on the market
6/3/2012

Customer review by I90toI35

5.0 stars 6/3/2012 by I90toI35
by I90toI35

This television replaced my DLP unit. Technology and picture quality has changed a great deal since 2008. In comparing LCD, LED and Plasma, Plasma seemed to be the best value and had superior picture quality - and much better for gaming. Some complain that Plasma is not as bright as the other two competing technologies, but I argue that there is a reason that the developers give you the ability to adjust your video options. Brightness is a matter of preference and this television is plenty bright.

I90toI35
DFW
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
Best Value with a Great Display Quality & Screen Size
6/28/2012

Customer review by Axle1lan

4.0 stars 6/28/2012 by Axle1lan
by Axle1lan

So far this is the Best Value with a Great Display Good Quality & Screen Size TV ever been sold in the market. The only disappointment is that, this TV does not have " Anynet + HDMI " option ,meaning that if you buy a Samsung compatible device it won't auto detect your samsung device that is plugged in when you are let's say as an example playing a Blu Ray Disc it won't auto detect & you have to do it manually like the old days to select the device for you to see it in the screen.

Axle1lan
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
Awesome Plasma picture
2/25/2012

Customer review by d19r59m

5.0 stars 2/25/2012 by d19r59m
by d19r59m

I originaly purchased an LED 1080P 120htz (not Samsung) and was very diapointed in picture and sound quality so I returned it and picked up this Samsung and the picture is so awesome and at 720P who ever would have thought that it had a better picture than the previous stated item. I also owned a Samsung DLP and that tv had a supurb picture for over seven years. Samsung just makes so many good products that are very good. I will never purchase another brand tv again.

d19r59m
Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Great TV for the price
4/7/2013

Customer review by 1Travelinman

5.0 stars 4/7/2013 by 1Travelinman
by 1Travelinman

We purchased this TV a few weeks ago and for the price we thought we would sacrifice some options/quality. That is not the case. I own a Galaxy tablet 10, 7+, Blu-ray wireless player. They are all trouble free, easy to use. I doubt I would purchase another brand. The only negative is the lack sound experience, the speakers are ok, but lack that volume and true big sound experience this TV should provide. It was easily fixed with a wireless speaker system.

1Travelinman
Worldwide
Expertise:Expert
Awesome product
6/7/2012

Customer review by Terry1962

5.0 stars 6/7/2012 by Terry1962
by Terry1962

Purchased this in May 2012. I have never owned a 720P Plasma TV before. I always get 1080 LCD. However, I could not pass this up price wise. When I took it home and mounted it to my wall, I was amazed at the picture quality. If you did not know was 720, you would swear it was 1080. It's that good. Crisp and no glare. My first plasma is turning into a sound investment. A must buy for first time Plasma users.

Terry1962
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
Really like the new tv
4/7/2013

Customer review by 2full

5.0 stars 4/7/2013 by 2full
by 2full

Was not really sure I would like a plasma tv. After getting it home and seeing the color and refresh rate I was very pleased. The color are very crisp and watching video games being played is so much nicer then the old tv. I am glad we decided to purchase this tv over the other we had been looking at. It was worth shopping around for the right tv. The sound it very good also without anyother speakers.

2full
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great tv, great price!
7/16/2012

Customer review by NicksMom10

5.0 stars 7/16/2012 by NicksMom10
by NicksMom10

We bought this tv when our projection tv died, and we couldn't be happier! We did a lot of research online and in stores. This tv is tops! It has a great picture, great sound (volume never has to be too high!), and excellent design. It was easy to hook up (well, according to my husband). I would highly recommend this tv. Even the non-HD channels that my toddler likes to watch look good. :)

NicksMom10
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Super Duper Plasma
12/14/2012

Customer review by Mervyn

5.0 stars 12/14/2012 by Mervyn
by Mervyn

Everyone dont prefer a plasma, I dont know why. I went for it, just because i wanted a big screen within my budget. I would say this is the best purchase i have made ever. The pictures and colors are stunning. Watch a movie, you dont need to go to a theatre. Good speaker sound.. Watching sports on this TV is absolutely awesome.. A little pricey, i wud say, but the performance overtakes it.

Mervyn
Atlanta, GA
Expertise:Intermediate
Love
2/7/2013

Customer review by LoveETronics

5.0 stars 2/7/2013 by LoveETronics
by LoveETronics

Just got this TV last night, its was the first plasma iv ever bought, got a great deal on this and that's the reason i purchased, i was indeed looking for a Samsung 50" LCD/LED but i seen this and the color and design was amazing!!! love it!!! i was also wanting 1080P but the quality of this was awesome thats why i went ahead and sacrificed the LCD/LED kind and the 1080P

LoveETronics
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Great TV for just about everyone!
11/26/2012

Customer review by BMBiehler

5.0 stars 11/26/2012 by BMBiehler
by BMBiehler

Bought this TV for my living room. So far its been great. I really like the picture and unintrusive thin bezel. It could use a few more ports for connections, but with planning, fit into my system well. Although this is a 720P device, it works well because my other devices only output 720P as well, and the sound fills the room great almost don't need a soundbar.

BMBiehler
Independence, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Coaxial Trouble
12/3/2012

Customer review by amoore01

4.0 stars 12/3/2012 by amoore01
by amoore01

The picture is great and the menu is classic Samsung, but I am however having trouble getting my dishnetwork to work on this unit, I screw in the coax into the back of the TV and get nothing, have been messing with this for a couple hours now and still no luck. I will have to call Samsung in the morning and will update this if and when I can figure this out.

amoore01
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great buy
10/11/2012

Customer review by danceout1990

5.0 stars 10/11/2012 by danceout1990
by danceout1990

I love this TV one of the best tv's that I will continue to get, the price was great and love everything about it, I have lost the remote tho (I think my ex threw it away or has it) so I just have been using a universal remote, which isn't bad. Overall I would buy this TV again in a heartbeat. Thank you SAMSUNG for coming out with amazing products

danceout1990
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
Best 51" plasma value
5/20/2012

Customer review by Mi3sons

5.0 stars 5/20/2012 by Mi3sons
by Mi3sons

This is a great TV for the price. Although it is fairly basic in terms of features, for my needs, it has everything I want. My first concern was a great picture, and it delivers. Sound is also pretty good. My hope is that it holds up with no repair issues. If you are not looking for a lot of connections or internet content, this is a great choice.

Mi3sons
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Excellent value. Can't find a better picture at this price.
7/17/2013

Customer review by gdaya

5.0 stars 7/17/2013 by gdaya
by gdaya

Excellent value. Can't find a better picture at this price. Bought for the price but enjoying the beautiful picture even more. This is our first Samsung product and it has been a week since we got this TV. Very nice purchase. If it turns out to be as excellent in durability as it is in the picture quality then this would be the best TV to buy.

gdaya
VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Love my Big TV !!!
9/24/2012

Customer review by SnowPea17

5.0 stars 9/24/2012 by SnowPea17
by SnowPea17

This is my first big screen tv. I am very happy with the picture quality. I had to get HD service from DISH network due to standard definition looking a bit blurry, but so glad I did. I would recommend this to anyone. The price is great and I have had many different Samsung products which have never disappointed me.

SnowPea17
Stockton, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Beginner
1-20 of 190 total reviews
1-20 of 190 reviews