Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 384 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

384 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

384 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
260
4 stars
84
3 stars
14
2 stars
11
1 stars
15
1-20 of 323 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 323 total reviews
1-20 of 323 reviews
Great value for a Smart TV w/apps, fast shipping
7/16/2012

Customer review by LPalo

5.0 stars 7/16/2012 by LPalo
by LPalo

This is a great value for a TV this size with this many features, and this clear of a picture. Overall: Pros -LED screen is gorgeous; great for bright colors and no blur when watching sports. -Very easy to set up Wifi and begin downloading apps; took me less then 5 minutes. -Ordered on Tuesday and received in great condition on Friday, so very fast free shipping. -You can watch cable/over the air channels while browsing the apps, which some Smart TVs aren't able to do. -Includes Hulu Plus, Netflix, and YouTube, my favorite apps. Very easy to sign into your accounts and quickly watch your favorites. I'm telling you, get rid of cable and get Hulu Plus for $8/month while using a digital antenna to get several free channels, it saves a ton! -Energy saving, and apparently only costs $7/year to power if watched for about 5 hours/day, so not a power sucker. Cons -A little wider than the other LED TVs out there, but not noticeable unless you are very picky about how it looks from the side; about $300 more for comparable models 2-3 inches thinner. -Not able to download Twitter app; I don't really mind this but some people might. -Web browsing is laborious when typing since it has a traditional controller, but the pages do show up like they would on your computer. Don't think you can use a wireless keyboard you buy separately either, so if you are looking for having the same capabilties on a TV as your laptop, you may need to look into much more expensive models. Hard to go wrong with this TV. Also easy to return to a physical Walmart store if you have problems, but I haven't had any issues.

Was this review helpful? (208) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LPalo
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Samsung does Smart TV the right way
11/10/2013

Customer review by CommanderAwesome

5.0 stars 11/10/2013 by CommanderAwesome
by CommanderAwesome

We routinely shop in the US since there's so much more choice and things are way less expensive, so I purchased this TV for my workout room after returning a similar sized Vizio Smart TV, that was utterly disappointing. So, I picked up this Samsung instead and am I ever happy. This TV lets you stream media from your computer or network storage. It has a ton of apps to choose from to download. It's even got exercise apps. The picture is amazing (way better than the Vizio) and the Smart features are unbelievable. It's easy to use, looks great and the price was fantastic. It's exactly what I was expecting a Smart TV to be. Samsung has a new fan.

Was this review helpful? (57) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CommanderAwesome
Ontario, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent TV for the cost.
6/29/2012

Customer review by relsel

5.0 stars 6/29/2012 by relsel
by relsel

The TV is what we expected. The sound quality could be better. Most of the reviews that we read before purchasing this TV stated that the sound was not loud enough and that one would need to have a surround sound system to boost the sound. Since we had a surround sound system when we purchased the TV we were not concerned about the sound from the TV itself. So far everything else is perfect on the set.

Was this review helpful? (87) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
relsel
Niagara Falls, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I would have gave it a 5 star BUT
10/6/2012

Customer review by Smith93

4.0 stars 10/6/2012 by Smith93
by Smith93

walmart advertises this tv as a 120Hz but it is really a 60Hz. I bought this at the store thinking it was a 120Hz but when I got it home and looked up the features of the tv I found out it was a 60Hz. Not really something that would cause me to return the tv but makes me really think about going elsewhere when I buy electronics. Other than that I am happy with my purchase it is a nice tv and somewhat better than the 120Hz Vizio in our living room. Walmart PLEASE put real specs on your website and on your signs in the store

Was this review helpful? (80) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Smith93
Republic, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent buy
8/21/2013

Customer review by WonderfulJoy

5.0 stars 8/21/2013 by WonderfulJoy
by WonderfulJoy

Great buy, very satisfied with the features available. Can be used as additional monitor, excellent video quality for streaming movies. With wireless connectivity mouse and keyboard can be connected from anywhere from the room. Wireless mouse can act like a remote when TV is connected to laptop through HDMI and if streaming from a PC, no need to stay closer to the laptops wireless mouse can handle most of the activites. The Xbox playstation will add an awesome gaming experience. Youtube, Netflix apps work really great. since the youtube connects to any device, anything can be played on the TV through laptop , mobile or ipod which really adds amazing options. with the Galaxy S4 having remote feature adds a new dimension to the suggestive programs and also the mobile can act as a remote. HDMI , USB connectivity ensures I can connect any camera, hard disk , laptop almost any device with the memory and enjoy family pictures, wonderful trip experiences in HD on big screen. This is really a wonderful companion in home which is sure to add joy in living everyday.

Was this review helpful? (63) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WonderfulJoy
Louisville Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1080p 120Hz? I don't think so
11/3/2012

Customer review by Davethereviewer

2.0 stars 11/3/2012 by Davethereviewer
by Davethereviewer

Just so ppl know, this is 1080p but it is only 60Hz not 120Hz as advertized.

Was this review helpful? (75) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Davethereviewer
Bangor, Me.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Samsung Smart tv
10/29/2012

Customer review by Iowamermaid

5.0 stars 10/29/2012 by Iowamermaid
by Iowamermaid

The tv was easy to set up, including the wireless feature. It's great to be able to jump from a tv program to the web to look up something on google. The tv show is in a box on the bottom of the screen, so nothing is missed while surfing the web. Picture is excellent, the sound options include "clear voice" which makes it easy to understand the dialogue, and the menu is simple to use. The only negative is that this tv is 60 HZ, not the 120 Hz that is advertised. But the picture is so clear, even with action scenes, that the smaller 60 Hz is not a deal breaker.

Was this review helpful? (33) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Iowamermaid
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good brand and good performance.
12/6/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 12/6/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

We "upgraded" from a Samsung 32" LCD to this 40" LED Smart TV. While it does everything it is supposed to, we did not fully understand the limitations of a typical "smart" TV. We hoped to be able to watch missed episodes of TV shows directly from the TV network's website, as we previously did through a laptop connected into the 32". However, we learned too late that the "smart" feature does not include full PC-type interface and support. You must subscribe to paid services such as Hulu to enjoy this feature. Since there is no VGA input on the 40" Smart TV, we can no longer connect the laptop to it without additional expenditure for a VGA-to-HDMI converter and cord adapter. Otherwise, we are satisfied with the picture quality. The sound quality is typical of mid-range flat screen TVs: nothing to write home about. This did not matter to us as we have it connected to a home theater system. Set up and connection to home wireless network was quick and well-guided through the on-screen procedures.

Was this review helpful? (38) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Simsbury, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great picture
8/19/2013

Customer review by Justadude52

4.0 stars 8/19/2013 by Justadude52
by Justadude52

This set looks really good in the family room. The picture is noticeably brighter than any hdtv set that I have owned and it has wonderful color with great contrast. The speakers are in the rear, so placed in my alcove they sound hollow when set is first turned on, but this becomes unnoticeable after a minute and acceptable (i think bose uses this reflecting method in their infomercial products to make sound seem bigger). The thin bezel looks nice when tv is not on but takes getting used to watching as the picture lacks the framing we are accustomed. The built-in apps are a convenience (with the hdmi jacks it is just as easy to watch the apps from a pc or ipad instead). We use netflix lots so this works for us, most of apps require extra fees. The web browser is unneeded (again just use a pc) and frustrating to use without a mouse and keyboard (not supplied). My recommendation: this is a very fine tv at a good price ($449). When shopping, great pix and sound for price are the goals. The apps and browser are bells and whistles so dont pay more to get them.

Was this review helpful? (32) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Justadude52
South carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great picture, Netflix App Does Not work
10/20/2012

Customer review by whonboxer

4.0 stars 10/20/2012 by whonboxer
by whonboxer

I got the TV, delivered good and on time. I did not have internet in the house at the time, so I did not have an opportunity to check out the SMART features of the TV at the beginning. However, when I did get internet in the house, I was on the phone with Samsung and Netflix for about an hour, trying to determine why the TV would not launch the NETFLIX app. You Tube worked great, TIME worked great, but NETFLIX would not launch. In the TV settings, it said it was not supported, and the Level II technician at Samsung could not fix it. Instead, she wanted to send a technician to my home to fix it. I decided that I paid too much for the TV, to keep it, and have it repaired in the first 10 days of ownership. The web browsing feature is a pain in the tail, because you have to type one letter at a time with the on-screen keyboard, and that gets old. It was a BEAUTIFUL picture. Maybe I will try a Samsung TV that is not smart, and just get ROKU or a bluray player that has internet access. Taking it back.

Was this review helpful? (46) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
whonboxer
Williamsburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
No complaints
9/22/2013

Customer review by Linda1935

5.0 stars 9/22/2013 by Linda1935
by Linda1935

This 5300 40 inch TV is all one could want. Another Samsung winner. Easy to assemble onto the stand and did it myself. Easy to understand remote and features as described in the manual. I only have rabbit ears to pull in channels. Live on a hill. Switched the digital shorty rabit ears from my analog tv to the new Sampson. They did not work as well so, I had the old tall analog rabbit ears nearby and attached the RF cable. They pulled in more channels than the digital ears. That in combo with the Samsung tuner made for a great looking picture. Pulled in NBC and CBS fine. Also several PBS channels. Live in the mountains so cannot get many. All paramater controlls easy to learn for pic and audio adjustment. The picture color did not need adjustment but it is available in various degress and as a mode setting from dynamic (very bright) to lo fi movie. This was a good buy and I am a satisfied customer. My Mac monitor is also a Samsung.

Was this review helpful? (31) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Linda1935
Asheville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good LED tv
1/1/2013

Customer review by Hseindhariwala

4.0 stars 1/1/2013 by Hseindhariwala
by Hseindhariwala

This is a best led tv that I have brought. I had initially planned for a LCD tv, but after comparing led and LCD, I thought of going with led. Samsung tv is best.

Was this review helpful? (41) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hseindhariwala
Jersey city, nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Samsung 40" LED Smart TV
11/15/2012

Customer review by Sassypants2

5.0 stars 11/15/2012 by Sassypants2
by Sassypants2

I had researched several different manufacturers of Smart TVs. The Samsung TVs had the clearest picture, good sound, easy internet accessibility and was a breeze to set up. This is a great TV with many features for a fantastic price!

Was this review helpful? (27) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sassypants2
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Outstanding picture quality
8/15/2012

Customer review by Eagle0127

5.0 stars 8/15/2012 by Eagle0127
by Eagle0127

We purchased our 40" Samsung LED from Walmart about a year ago. We choose it because of the obvious superior picture quality that exceeds other competitors, in my opinion. This unit continues to perform in an outstanding manner. The electronics department employee was very helpful and delivered the TV to our car!

Was this review helpful? (35) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Eagle0127
Sand Springs, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent TV!
9/19/2012

Customer review by Generic11

5.0 stars 9/19/2012 by Generic11
by Generic11

Bought this 40" and mounted it on the wall in the Bedroom. WOW.....excellent picture with true HD quality. Smart TV features (Netflix, Pandora, etc) are great, and I have had NO problem with wifi 'dropping' or having unwanted logoffs. Do NOT expect to surf the web, as typing is a real effort on the on-screen 'keyboard' and moving the curser with the remote arrows. Takes a few minutes just to type in a website address; I didn't buy it for this feature, and is not a big deal to me, but may be to others. Also, the sound seems a little low, particularly when viewing a movie on DVD or Netflix......again, not a huge problem to me. Overall, this TV is a very nice unit for the price, and I would recommend it highly.

Was this review helpful? (24) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Generic11
Seymout, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/1/2012

Customer review by Msterbs

4.0 stars 8/1/2012 by Msterbs
by Msterbs

Much better picture then the Vizio that I bought before this one! Definitely glad I returned it and got this one!

Was this review helpful? (31) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Msterbs
Dav, is
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV
12/21/2012

Customer review by AnotherTVViewer

4.0 stars 12/21/2012 by AnotherTVViewer
by AnotherTVViewer

We've had our tv for about a month now and really like it. We bought it to upgrade our 32" Samsung LED, which we still are very happy with - in a smaller room. We have the sound hooked up to our stereo surround sound, so I really can't speak to the quality of the sound. I think the only cons we have are the cursor and the search feature when online. They are very slow when compared to a mouse and keyboard. We bought a wireless keyboard and that has helped a lot. The other negative is watching TV shows from the internet. It's so slow and choppy with a lot of buffering that it's not worth watching. One reason for buying this tv was to do away with cable. At this point we'll need to keep cable to be able to watch many of the shows (our local news station, PBS, HGTV etc.) we like. We are able to watch online tv shows from our computers. That being said, Netflix and Pandora work wonderfully. We haven't had the time to try Amazon, Hulu plus or some of the other apps on this tv.

Was this review helpful? (22) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AnotherTVViewer
Ossipee, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good TV but a couple of drawbacks.
12/9/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 12/9/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Purchased TV well below market price. That made this TV my best choice for my money. There are 2 important things you should consider before buying this TV or any Samsung Smart TV. One is that the 120 Clear Motion Rate is still only 60Hz so pictures in fast motion will still look clearer in true 120Hz. The scond is the remote, which works well as a TV remote, functions poorly with Apps and is almost usless with Internet. If you want to use Internet or Apps, I recommend looking at Vizio as an option as the include a 2 sided remote that works well compared to a normal keboard. This Samsung is a very good TV in most aspects but I recommend only buying if discounted 40% or more.

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
North Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Smart TV? Not quite.
4/18/2014

Customer review by RichTheGinge

1.0 stars 4/18/2014 by RichTheGinge
by RichTheGinge

The TV is extremely slow to load up the apps. But that is only the tip of the iceberg. The selection of apps is awful! It drops connection to the internet in my house all the time (funny none of my other wireless devices have that problem!) and the other problem is that it does not have bluetooth, and will not connect to smartsound sound bars. So if you are looking for wireless technology in your tv so you don't have to have cables running everywhere from your blu ray player, sound bar, or other peripherals, this is NOT the TV for you! I'm quite unhappy with this TV. What I would recommend is a 1080P 120 MhZ non smart TV, and a Roku, amazon or apple tv player hooked up to the TV and do your homework with a TV that is wireless, can connect wirelessly to externals.

Was this review helpful? (20) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RichTheGinge
Brush, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
NOT GOOD
12/10/2012

Customer review by cocoam

1.0 stars 12/10/2012 by cocoam
by cocoam

LED 'GHOSTING' was terrible on this TV due to no downgrade back to 60Hz or the use of 'True Motion' technology. Most TV shows were a pain to watch and I had to finally give up (and I have cable, not over the air - although if I had true HDTV programming over the air it would probably have been somewhat better). Like All Flat screen LED/LCD's they do not put the speakers on the front for true front projection of the sound (usually underneath the front bezel facing downward). At 100% I could hear the TV better in the rooms on the back side of the TV (sound conduction was really good through the wall - may have acted like an amplifier/bass). Also, be aware that the Smart TV's restrict you to the available apps so that you may not access the free portion of any site that has an available app - and they're adding to the apps all the time if they can. I wanted to be able to watch free internet TV. In addition, the agreements you must go through take about an hour to two hours to go through before you can access, then you have to sign up with each application's own service - and agree to further restrictions as well as monthly payment in some instances. Better to purchase a PC based media center and hook to your TV - that way you get what you want and won't be limited by the TV maker's agrmts (or discontinuation). Overall I was not only disgusted with ghosting/picture quality and sound issues, but with the rediculous agreements and restrictions on what I could watch on MY TV!!!! Not worth the money and aggravation at any price. I took the TV back and purchased an LG 3D 120Hz 47" with True Motion - not a SMART TV!! - for about $50 more. Although the sound issues remain because its an LED with speakers undermount (still better quality than the Samsung), the picture quality is fantastic!!! It has an RJ (ethernet) connection as well as HDMI and VGA so I can now hook to my computer and get all the FREE internet TV I want, stream to other computers, play on-line games and work from the TV too if I want. I still have to pay the IP for internet (dang it).

Was this review helpful? (25) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cocoam
Tulsa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 323 total reviews
1-20 of 323 reviews