Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 80 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

80 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

80 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
56
4 stars
15
3 stars
0
2 stars
5
1 stars
4
1-20 of 60 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 60 total reviews
1-20 of 60 reviews
Just about what I expected
4/10/2012

Customer review by ming10

4.0 stars 4/10/2012 by ming10
by ming10

After some research and forcing myself to stay in budget I bought this set for my bedroom. 40 inch is a perfect size for a bedroom set at least for my room it is. Pros- 1080P plus Sony know how =very good PQ, the sound while nothing to write home about is fine. Setup was a breeze the set found all my available OTA stations with no problem the rest was just plug and play. The weight is 29# my five year old 37 inch LCD is 46# so it's very easy to handle Cons- Limited ports and having one HDMI in back and the other one on the side is a drag. The set has minimal features but I knew that going in the bezel is pretty thick so not that stylish but who cares. Remote is about as bare bones as it gets but once again for what I'm using it for who cares. Bottom line this is a Sony entry level bare bones set and for what I paid for it I'm happy. I normally skip the extended warranty but after hearing one horror story after another about just out of factory warranty failures with LCD sets even brand name sets I thought I'd better get it. PS Wal Marts 90 day return policy is also very nice Best is only 30 days.

Was this review helpful? (115) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ming10
Colorado Springs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
THIS IS BEST T.V.
6/24/2012

Customer review by Walllace

5.0 stars 6/24/2012 by Walllace
by Walllace

I HAVE HAD THIS TV FOR 2 YEARS AND HAVE BEEN EXTRORDINARILY AMAZED AT THE PICTURE QUALITY AND SOUND. AT FIRST, I BOUGHT A VIZIO TO SAVE MONEY--THAT WAS A MISTAKE--AND I RETURNED THE VIZIO. THE SOUND QUALITY IN VIZIO WAS TERRIBLE. SO TAKE MY ADVICE AND GO SONY!

Was this review helpful? (57) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Walllace
High point, nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/14/2012

Customer review by MrsPicklesIsHome

5.0 stars 5/14/2012 by MrsPicklesIsHome
by MrsPicklesIsHome

This tv is magnificent. I LOVE the crisp picture. Set-up was automatic, simple, and includes features I'd not seen before. I'd always heard that Sonys are excellent televisions, but I wasn't sure about purchasing from WalMart. I'm so glad I came in and looked around. I have ZERO problems with this television and, frankly, I'm spending way too much time watching it! Need to get outside more! :) No hesitation-- I recommend this model-- and you can't beat the price.

Was this review helpful? (56) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrsPicklesIsHome
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
6/22/2012

Customer review by Shapley

5.0 stars 6/22/2012 by Shapley
by Shapley

Very impressive!

Was this review helpful? (22) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shapley
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great TV
7/27/2012

Customer review by photogdeb

5.0 stars 7/27/2012 by photogdeb
by photogdeb

I've had my TV for a few weeks and so far I haven't had 1 problem. This is my first flat screen TV . I went from an 80's floor model to this SONY, so it's hard to compare. I just wish I went a little bigger. Oh yes the sound. I always have to adjust the sound for one reason or another, other than that, I love it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
photogdeb
Fall River Ma.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Bought a Sony Bravia KDL- 40S 2 years ago
6/28/2012

Customer review by Unhappy111111111111111

1.0 stars 6/28/2012 by Unhappy111111111111111
by Unhappy111111111111111

This TV has just started giving trouble the picture goes into like a Negative black & white I googled the problem and found a lot of people getting the same thing First of all Sony warranty is out nothing we can do Second cost of repair is more than a new TV now this thing cost over $1000 two years ago I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER SONY PRODUCT AGAIN Recommend you stay well clear of these TV's Go buy a Panasonic or a Samsung

Was this review helpful? (24) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Unhappy111111111111111
Orlando
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Would not recommend
8/11/2012

Customer review by mdhousewife

1.0 stars 8/11/2012 by mdhousewife
by mdhousewife

I have had this TV for about 6 weeks. It has a constant humming sound. Very annoying. I can not enjoy watching TV with a constant high pitch hum.

Was this review helpful? (19) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mdhousewife
Joppa, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent picture for those looking for just that!
12/17/2012

Customer review by AcuraHead

4.0 stars 12/17/2012 by AcuraHead
by AcuraHead

Overall I'm satisfied with this purchase. The picture is amazing as well as the sound and quality of this sony tv. Bought it for my wife 2 weeks ago and she loved it! I thought the price was just a bit high but I didnt feel like going thru the hassel of taking it back and finding another one. I would of been happier with spending $375-$400 but it is what it is and I like it! One down fall tho is that its a little bit thicker than what I wanted since I was going to hang it from the wall but nonetheless once it was up, it looked pretty good :) I'd give it a 8.2 out of 10!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AcuraHead
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Product
8/26/2012

Customer review by Radahs

5.0 stars 8/26/2012 by Radahs
by Radahs

I tried other makes, and they didn't compare with Sony.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Radahs
Buena Park Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1/7/2013

Customer review by Hedron

5.0 stars 1/7/2013 by Hedron
by Hedron

It's a Sony! What more is there to say? Had a little trouble figuring out the closed captioning because I was trying to do it with the TV remote and the Direct TV tech had programed it to operate only with DTV remote. If you're thinking about HD don't settle for second best. Get a Sony!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hedron
Baker City Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/31/2012

Customer review by solidal

5.0 stars 7/31/2012 by solidal
by solidal

GREAT T.V. FOR THE PRICE EXCELLENT!

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
solidal
home
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worked for 12 hours
10/16/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 10/16/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I ordered the product through Walmart.com and got it before I thought I would....GREAT! I plugged it in and watched it for 12 hours of the course of 3 days. The next morning, I find that I have a pixel in the center of the screen that is red ALL THE TIME. This was unacceptable to me, so I called SONY (I had already registered the machine) and described the problem. SONY informed me that this performance was acceptable and that they would not send me a new television. SONY says it's acceptable for a device to have more than one pixel fail on that screen and that I'd have to have nearly 10 pixels stop working before they'd consider the screen defective. SONY used to have such good products!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Linden, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great tv
3/15/2013

Customer review by Tobysmojo

4.0 stars 3/15/2013 by Tobysmojo
by Tobysmojo

The picture quality is great vary sharp and clear. The only bad thing I found so far is the sound from the speakers. They are on the bottom and u can hear it vary good had to hook it up to a home theater for good sound .

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tobysmojo
Leesville la
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Its a SONY
7/19/2012

Customer review by fantasea3474

4.0 stars 7/19/2012 by fantasea3474
by fantasea3474

The product is fine. I was hoping for more from a SONY but it is fine for the money

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fantasea3474
greene ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Returned becuase of poor sound
8/31/2012

Customer review by shouffre

2.0 stars 8/31/2012 by shouffre
by shouffre

The speakers are on the bottom of the TV and face the floor. I had to turn the volume up so loud to decipher spoken word it was uncomfortable. I ended up returning it and purchasing a Vizio 39" (not available at Walmart at the time) with front firing speakers. The Vizio ended up being a superior to this Sony in Every way, including a better picture for over $100 less.

Was this review helpful? (9) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shouffre
Palm Springs, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
sony bravia" best buy"
5/16/2013

Customer review by chaosslady

5.0 stars 5/16/2013 by chaosslady
by chaosslady

if your looking for a reliable TV,great picture with good sound,this is the best comparable around.This is our second set .the first is in the bedroom,and this one in our family room.If you want decent sound ,play around with the settings,that what there for.to many people expect to just turn on the set and give no thought to setting the controls.Believe me I am not high tech,but I found the panel to be user friendly.The picture is so crisp,and we don't have Hd.I watched a blade of grass waving on the ground and started laughing ,it was just like the commercial.all in all this is a great tv.For the price the quality is excellent and Walmart makes that happen.Good Job Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chaosslady
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/11/2013

Customer review by Stormydowneaster

5.0 stars 2/11/2013 by Stormydowneaster
by Stormydowneaster

Very pleased with timely and secure delivery service. Excellent picture, sound could be louder, but is correctible.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stormydowneaster
Houlton, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I bought this model 4 + years ago and I love it!!
4/29/2013

Customer review by virgoman0

5.0 stars 4/29/2013 by virgoman0
by virgoman0

Sony has great quality and it's worth paying for.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
virgoman0
Baltimore MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Basic - Not Bad OR Boring!
12/19/2012

Customer review by PGHammer

5.0 stars 12/19/2012 by PGHammer
by PGHammer

I bought this TV as a replacement for a failing 42" plasma (bedroom TV) - the TV is getting a steady diet of cable via ClearQAM for now. Just due to changes in display technology (the replaced plasma was purchased new in 2005), LED is decidedly better than plasma unless you are talking literally bottom-end (that is any of the major brands); this is entirely due to shared sources for most LED display panels and common technologies for the most part. In addition to the HD via cable, I also have a DVD/VCR combi-player connected via component (DVD section) - the TV is showing the limitations of the *player* (which is also of the 200x era), as it supports neither 1080p or HDMI. The TV has two HDMI inputs - the rear one will eventually be used for either an HD STB or Tivo Premiere, while the side input will get my desktop PC when it gets moved into the bedroom for Widescreen Windows. It's not fancy - but it's not supposed to be; as it is, it more than gets the job done.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PGHammer
Accokeek, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Pleasant surprise
2/26/2013

Customer review by Learningtofly

5.0 stars 2/26/2013 by Learningtofly
by Learningtofly

I am very pleased with my new SONY BRAVIA 42" TV ! I was pleasantly surprised to receive my order a week earlier than the projected delivery date.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Learningtofly
Niceville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 60 total reviews
1-20 of 60 reviews