Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 134 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

134 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

134 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
47
4 stars
47
3 stars
11
2 stars
14
1 stars
15
1-20 of 121 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 121 total reviews
1-20 of 121 reviews
Outstanding!!!
4/23/2012

Customer review by soundman73

5.0 stars 4/23/2012 by soundman73
by soundman73

To be honest this soundbar suprised the heck out of me. Had my eyes on the LG for $300 but I was on the fence about the high price. The box this comes in is small and light weight. Didn' give me a feeling of confidence# The store was closing so I had to make a descision quick# Figured Walmart is so awsome with returns that I would just return it if it didnt fit my needs# Sound Quality=Wow factor, didnt expect the quality of sound at all# I have several drum instructional videos that I played and the sound is FULL# Deep bass drum kick, crack of the snare drum, and high crashes of the cymbals# Vocals are nice and clear# 100x better than built in speakers on tv# Volume is plenty for my master room# With volume set to high it is too loud# So plenty of volume# Use it at about half to 2/3 volume# Lower when its late# Appearance= Nice all black front# No shiny labels to draw your eyes from the tv# The lights are on top of the unit so you cant see them while you are watching tv# Seems like quality material# Works with Universal Remote=This was my biggest conscern. I hate having 3-4 remotes to do everything. TV should be simple. My logitech harmony 600 was able to get the codes for this from the logitech site so I have full control over the soundbar with one remote. 1 button turns on tv, soundbar and tv box. Thank you logitech! I have a 5.1 full suround system in my living room and didn't want the trouble or complexity of that in my room. So this fit the bill perfect. I highly recomend this product if you are looking for something to improve the sound of your TV's built in speakers. You wont be dissapointed! P.S. Like the other review said, it is cheaper in the store than online. Got mine for $98.

Was this review helpful? (100) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
soundman73
Lake Elsinore
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent for Hard of Hearing Folks
4/27/2012

Customer review by GnTN

5.0 stars 4/27/2012 by GnTN
by GnTN

My husband wears two hearing aids. The music that frequently plays in the background of movies or TV shows completely shut down the dialogue for him. Also, even with the hearing aids on both of our LCD TV's, he keeps the volume above my preference. Installed the soundbar on the bedroom Samsung a week ago and BINGO, problem solved! Headed out to buy the 2nd one for the living room LG today. For myself, the change in the quality of sound is tremendous! I'm not a techie and installation took 15 minutes or less. We are on Direct TV and I haven't yet taken time to figure out how to program the soundbar onto their remote. Volume is controlled by the Phillips remote presently.

Was this review helpful? (55) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GnTN
NE TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product, and value for the price....
4/12/2012

Customer review by dwv535

4.0 stars 4/12/2012 by dwv535
by dwv535

Buy in store, it's cheaper.... I paid $99.00! I purchased the Philips sound bar system today, have tried a few different movies, and I have to say that i am really impressed! I bought this unit to replace my Vizio sound bar, and I think this unit sounds as good or better. The sound bar is about 28" in length and the subwoofer is small as well. the surround sound mode really pulls out different noises, but didn't give me a surround sound feel. Still, the sound is clear, dialogue is crisp and the remote control is easy to use. I highly recommend this unit, especially if you have a small apartment, dorm, or game room. pros -size -price -clear audio cons -really small remote -doesn't support dolby digital encoding

Was this review helpful? (52) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dwv535
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good deal....
4/27/2012

Customer review by Drakosek

4.0 stars 4/27/2012 by Drakosek
by Drakosek

Hour ago I brought it from Walmart. Yesterday I bought VISION High Definition SoundBar, VSB200, but I missed the subwoofer. Today I changed it. For the same price. Excellent for this price. I have made a good exchange. Heights and bass are excellent.

Was this review helpful? (27) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Drakosek
Fort Walton Beach,FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Sound for this Price Point
5/24/2012

Customer review by GlamazonBlaque

4.0 stars 5/24/2012 by GlamazonBlaque
by GlamazonBlaque

I have this system connected to a 50" television in my greatroom. It really works well, and for a electronics beginner, this system is great at this price point. I dont expect to get $1000 quality sound for $100. It did however loose 1 star for the instruction insert. For all others who are considering this system, please refer to your tv's manual for connecting audio devices before you use the manual that comes with this system. It was basically not worth the paper wasted to print it.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GlamazonBlaque
Birmingham, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good sound for the money
8/20/2012

Customer review by Fordumptahundt

4.0 stars 8/20/2012 by Fordumptahundt
by Fordumptahundt

I bought this product because we couldn't hear the sound adequately on our 46" Samsung LED TV when playing DVDs. Once it was set up, it solved the problem, although the sound is not what you would expect from a more expensive home theater system (which we did not need). The directions are terrible but they do show you where to plug in different connections. They don't really tell you how to get it to function properly. I had to experiment around until I found that you had to set the sound output to "external speaker" inside the TV set-up program (easy to do once you know what is needed) and then use the product handset to control the sound level. It has bass and treble controls as well but I was not impressed with them. The optical connection was not provided with the unit. I also had to buy a 3.5mm audio jack to go from my Sony Walkman to the speaker in order to use that sound source, but the sound turned out to be quite satisfactory.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fordumptahundt
Las Cruces, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great sound bar for the price
9/8/2012

Customer review by yamesha

5.0 stars 9/8/2012 by yamesha
by yamesha

I purchase this surround bar today and I love it the sound is great just what I needed without spending alot of money i love it i would def recommend to others! don't be fooled that because of the price or the size its not good wrong its a great product and sounds really good im very happy wih product !

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yamesha
bridgeport, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome Sound! Buttons would be nice though.
7/12/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/12/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I just bought this 2 days ago for my Visio 42 inch w/ the internet. At first I was concerned about that quality because of the low price and light weight of the unit. I'm a Bass head and love to feel the music. This product does a great job of providing clear sound with a nice about of bass to really feel the music. For $100 I am very satisfied with this soundbar. It was a great buy. The unit itself does not have any buttons with is the only downfall I see. The remote is very simple and easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Port st lucie Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Decent Sound for the price!
9/22/2012

Customer review by Seahawks2012

4.0 stars 9/22/2012 by Seahawks2012
by Seahawks2012

Purchased online @ WalMart.com for $20 cheaper than Amazon. Picked up @ local store couple hours later. No optical cable or any cables included. Bought an optical cable, brought home and hooked it up. I have an older 42" Sony Plasma that is a monitor only (no tuner, no speakers) hooked up to my Comcast HD box with a video RCA to BNC connector on the TV. I installed the optical cable to the Comcast box and nothing! I don't have PCM or any audio adjustments on my TV menu. All I got was fuzzy noises from the speakers. Grabbed a RCA audio cord, plugged that in and it works fine! Sound was a bit tinny, but after looking at my Comcast on screen menu there are audio adjustments. Change the setting from "TV Speakers" to "Stereo". For $98 it sounds great! Bass is tight and dialog and music are good as well. All in a small package. Can't go wrong with this purchase for a small viewing room. Don't know why the Optical didn't work, returning that today for refund.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Seahawks2012
Bellingham, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
So Far So Good
6/1/2012

Customer review by 4musiccd

4.0 stars 6/1/2012 by 4musiccd
by 4musiccd

The sub woofer actually vibrates - even when there isn't audio that benefits from a deep base sound. However, if it doesn't vibrate itself into oblivion - it seems like it's well worth the price - they reduced it by $20.00. The Optical Audio connector is a real plus. If you have a TV that does not have a Dolby Decoder - this enhances the PCM very nicely.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
4musiccd
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
8/8/2012

Customer review by Theosa

3.0 stars 8/8/2012 by Theosa
by Theosa

Here are my observations regarding the Philips soundbar. I connected the sound bar to my Samsung TV and the sound quality was great when playing a Blue-Ray movie but the quality of sound of satellite TV programs was way below average. When connected to my I-Pod the sound quality was also inferior. However when I played the same songs via my lap top computer, the quality was much improved. Within two months of very limited use though the sound bar gave up. The lights were lit but it just quit producing any sort of sound. I talked to Philips customer service on the phone and after a few “live tests” she agreed to ship me a new bar at no charge. We will see how long the new one lasts. It’s not a bad deal for the given price but durability is a huge question!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Theosa
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Amazing Sound
12/7/2012

Customer review by Silicone

4.0 stars 12/7/2012 by Silicone
by Silicone

I bought this soundbar just to test it because I have Samsung Blue Ray Home theater and I didn’t expect it to have a better sound but I was wrong. The sound is much better than the Samsung thanks to the bass and treble buttons on the remote control and also the surround sound function, the bass is very deep. It has Optical input, AUX input and Digital coaxial input, the optical input did not work with my HD Cable box because the sound from it is 5.1 and the soudnbar is 2.1, but it worked fine with the AUX input . The biggest surprise came when I connected it to my computer which has optical output, I adjusted the software equalizer on the PC and the bass and treble from the remote and the sound was amazing, way much better than the sound from the cable box and this is with a Realtek Onboard sound card on the PC. Now I have the soundbar connected with an AUX cable to my second sound card on the PC which is Sound Blaster X-Fi Xterme Gamer and the sound is even better. The only problem with this soundbar is that it doesn’t have hardware buttons so it can only be controlled via the remote, there is not even a power button that you can push to turn it on, that’s why I gave it 4 stars. And the price is very good $88 in the store, I bought it on sale so I paid even less :) I use it on my computer now, but it is good with TV too. Doesn’t have HDMI but that’s no problem for me. There are better soundbars but not at this price, anything better starts at $250 and up. Buy it, try it and if you like it keep it, I did :)

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Silicone
Lynchburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
If you like deep bass
7/31/2012

Customer review by kmitchell123567

5.0 stars 7/31/2012 by kmitchell123567
by kmitchell123567

This is the product for you. Makes the TV sound like a movie theater. Great price, not bulky. Great sound. I love it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kmitchell123567
Lawrenceville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/9/2012

Customer review by howgoodisit

4.0 stars 10/9/2012 by howgoodisit
by howgoodisit

The only bad part is 1 more controller. If we can figure out how to connect it to the universal remote, I'll change it to 5 stars!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
howgoodisit
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Sounds good.
8/29/2012

Customer review by TBone214

4.0 stars 8/29/2012 by TBone214
by TBone214

Easy set up, looks and sounds great, but there are no buttons on the speaker so the only way you can adjust the volume is with the worlds smallest remote control which is easily lost. Actually, I think I will tape it to the back of my TV remote.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TBone214
Lindenhurst, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/8/2012

Customer review by Stickballkid

1.0 stars 9/8/2012 by Stickballkid
by Stickballkid

This soundbar only worked with an optical connection. You can only operate it with the remote control because there are no buttons or any way you can turn it off or adjust the volume on the soundbar itself. The remote is real small. I could not adjust the bass or treble. I took it back to Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (7) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stickballkid
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
I Will Be Returning This Item
10/12/2012

Customer review by huskerruth

1.0 stars 10/12/2012 by huskerruth
by huskerruth

I have spent hours trying to get this to work. The optical cable I bought doesn't fit [there is no cap on the cable] - it fits my TV but not this soundbar. There is no sound using a coaxial cable. My DVD player uses the remaining hookup option. I have checked and rechecked the setup many times. It just does not work.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
huskerruth
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great Sound Easy to Use
9/13/2012

Customer review by Robierto

5.0 stars 9/13/2012 by Robierto
by Robierto

This soundbar is a great value for the money. It sounds great and its easy to use. The remote control is a little funky but other than that, this soundbar is great.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Robierto
SFV, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A great little unit!
10/24/2012

Customer review by avcaccess

4.0 stars 10/24/2012 by avcaccess
by avcaccess

This unit is fantastic value for the money. Better than the new 32" Vizio that does not have digital inputs anymore or simulated surround. Also the Vizio now has two full range drivers per channel, where the Philips has a dedicated tweeter and driver. Vizio really went backwards with their new 32" VSB211 or 207 models. The simulated surround actually works well and does not wash out the center image like most. There is another version that includes a Dolby Digital decoder if you need it. Two typos in the brochure, the subwoofer is not 6.5" (it's 5 1/4") and there is no night mode (only the Dolby version has it). Lights are on top of the soundbar so no annoying LEDs from the front view when installed. My Logitech remote had no trouble being programmed for the remote (it's under Amplifier when programming). Bass when set properly is not boomy and ads to the presentation. No soundbar gives you a true subwoofer, they are just woofer boxes that help fill in the low end. The cable for the subwoofer in my dedicated home theater costs more than this entire unit. For less money than the competition you get a better sounding unit, more features, and solid build quality. Not to mention the Philips brand has much higher reliability/quality control than any Vizio.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
avcaccess
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wow...Im suprised.....This is a good buy
5/6/2012

Customer review by Krissygal

4.0 stars 5/6/2012 by Krissygal
by Krissygal

I just bought this soundbar about two weeks ago and I LOVE IT!!!!!! I was really suprised. The sound quality is good, easy hook up...you have to buy a audio cable to hook it up. Its cheaper in the store. I got mines for 99.99. This is a good buy.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Krissygal
1-20 of 121 total reviews
1-20 of 121 reviews