Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 41 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

41 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

41 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
16
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 stars
5
1-20 of 38 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 38 total reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews
12/31/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 12/31/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is my 3rd canon waterproof cameras and I loved the other two. The changes that have been made to this model are horrible and have reduced the quality of this camera to the point that i will be sending my recent purchase back. The change to the location of the strap attachment makes it impossible to set up a timed shot because the camera will no longer stand up without being propped up. And when propped the pucture is crooked due to the srap attachment not letting it sit evenly. The focus time is much longer and sometimes it took over 5 seconds to get the camera to focus in order to take a picture. The quality of pictures in low light is horrible even in auto mode. Very grainy and unfocused. And if any of the peple in the pictures moved at all the picture was blurred. The latch / cover over the battery compartment is also very flimsy compared to the last 2 models. I am so disappointed. I have raved about my last 2 cameras and the difference with this model is huge. Poor work canon.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
I Can't Say Enough For This Camera!!
9/12/2012

Customer review by Lauryn88

5.0 stars 9/12/2012 by Lauryn88
by Lauryn88

This camera totally blew me away and exceeded my expectations! Takes Beautiful pictures, completely waterproof and shockproof, comes with a convenient strap, and the price was Awesome. Beware, it doesn't float so I recommend a floatation device to hook onto it. I took it on vacation to Lake Powell and had an absolute blast with it! Way to go Canon!

Was this review helpful? (38) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lauryn88
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Fantastic Camera
8/21/2012

Customer review by Jayfishonetwothree

5.0 stars 8/21/2012 by Jayfishonetwothree
by Jayfishonetwothree

This camera has met or exceeded my expectations. I also own other Canon cameras, but wanted one that was waterproof. The picture quality is outstanding.

Was this review helpful? (44) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jayfishonetwothree
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Camera!
11/19/2012

Customer review by ABPrach

4.0 stars 11/19/2012 by ABPrach
by ABPrach
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We bought this camera before our trip to St. Lucia. It worked great. It took pretty good pictures, although things in motion were blurry almost every time. It also was not able to take multiple pictures in a short amount of time. Overall, we are very happy with our purchase. It is larger than some waterproof cameras which I didn't mind. The extra bulk made me feel safer about dropping it. We would order this camera again.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ABPrach
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great camera when you want a little more!
10/4/2013

Customer review by Craftynaynay

5.0 stars 10/4/2013 by Craftynaynay
by Craftynaynay
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

First of all, I'm partial to Canon. I just love all the bells and whistles they include. We bought this camera because we are an active family and I liked the durability and waterproof features. This has so much more. After downloading the operation manual and reading about all the features it included, I loved it even more! There are so many fun features for capturing that special photo. Here's some of the options: macro focus, fish eye lense, toy camera look, miniature look, black and white, sepia, backlight, snow, underwater macro, etc. So many fun little looks for your pictures and all at a push of some buttons.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Craftynaynay
SantaClarita, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/28/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 6/28/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I had the d10 camera and was looking for a smaller version of the same camera. when I first looked at the d20 , I thought the specs said it would have a time exposure setting of up to 15 seconds. That was the one feature of my d10 that I used to capture auroras in AK. When I got the camera home I couldn't find the setting for long exposures. I called Canon's helpline and was told that the new models are not able to do time exposures. I was ready to take it back to the store. But I knew I had read somewhere that the camera could take 15 second time exposures. So I looked again on the Canon website and found that it did. I had to call Canon's helpline again.This time after about 10 trying minutes of being on hold, someone finally came on the line and talked me through the steps to setting up the camera for a time exposure. It is not so easy to figure out unless you have someone tell you how. You have to quickly move through the controls or you get stuck where you pause. This needs to be fixed Canon. I hope I can recall the needed procedure next time I want to use it. It is not user friendly.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Power Shot D20
10/28/2014

Customer review by Gumbo

4.0 stars 10/28/2014 by Gumbo
by Gumbo

I live on the Gulf Coast and purchased my first Canon Power Shot D10 just before the 2010 BP oil Spill. We liked the fact that there are no moving external parts and found it to take great pictures. I sampled twice weekly as the oil was coming ashore and took thousands of great pictures...and then one day the camera was dead. We purchased the Power Shot D20 - and on the first day of use the camera quit working, and canon immediately provided a new camera in return for the first. The second D20 has worked great until last month...while underwater - I took several pictures and the power never came back on. We are good about rinsing our equipment and set it out to dry. Every few days, I try it to see if something will work. Nothing. Ironically, the D10 started working again. So now it is the primary day-to-day camera. I'm disappointed that the cost of repair is more than the cost of a new camera. The camera takes great pictures, is rugged, and thankfully doesn't have any external moving parts for sand to get in...but throughout the past 4.5 yrs, this moisture issue seems to be a downfall for this camera.

Gumbo
Pensacola, FL
Kid-Proof and Versatile
5/26/2012

Customer review by Briarwoood

4.0 stars 5/26/2012 by Briarwoood
by Briarwoood

We've owned nearly a dozen different Canon digital cameras. This is one of the best we've owned in that it is so versatile. Going on family trips to the beach or hiking we always want to have a camera with us but don't want the weight of a DSLR or the fragility of our superzoom. We decided it was time to get a kid-proof camera that could withstand the sand. mud, much, and otherwise camera-unfriendly treatment our kids dish out. Our 3 and 4 year old use this camera without a problem (though the 3 year old has to be reminded to move her fingers out of the way of the lens, since it is so close to the outside edge). My wife and I always take pictures of our family, but now we can get the kids to take pictures of us - it's great. Picture quality is not good, but not great - don't expect the tonality of a DSLR or a higher-end point-and-shoot. This is a small sensor in a tight package and the results are typical for this category. The quality is good enough though, that coupled with it's versatility and small size, it will replace our digital elph. Wish the lens and rear-screen were gorilla glass, so case/cover was not necessary.

Briarwoood
Southern Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great camera overall
1/8/2013

Customer review by islandgirl

4.0 stars 1/8/2013 by islandgirl
by islandgirl

I had the older powershot D model and I absolutely loved it... unfortunately it was stolen so I had to upgrade to this current model. I love all the features, modes, and image quality of the camera. My two complaints are that 1) the lens is on the left hand, upper corner which can cause a problem if your left finger gets in the way (the prior model had the lens in the middle which I liked more). and 2) The other issue is that the strap can only be connected on the bottom right corner which does not allow the camera to stand up (again, the prior model had different options for the strap placement). Overall, I'm still very happy with my choice of sticking with the powershot D. It takes great underwater photos as well as dry ones. I love the newer filters such as "poster" and "miniature". Would definite recommend it to a friend.

islandgirl
Dominica
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great durable camera.
7/27/2013

Customer review by Bridge2673

5.0 stars 7/27/2013 by Bridge2673
by Bridge2673
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I took it in a lake, zip lining and white water rafting. The camera was great and took pictures underwater.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bridge2673
Berlin, nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Short life
5/11/2015

Customer review by Traveler

2.0 stars 5/11/2015 by Traveler
by Traveler

The camera did take good pictures and is easy to use. a plus for sure. My problem is it only lasted 3 under water trips. On the fourth use, water did get into the camera killing it. After paying for the service repair, I was given a new D30. Less than a new one but still expensive. About to try this camera on a trip and hope it lasts longer.

Traveler
Toronto, Ontario
5/11/2013

Customer review by Nenita1

3.0 stars 5/11/2013 by Nenita1
by Nenita1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Pretty good camera it does what it says it will do but I returned it only because I found a better deal at my local walmart for around the same price, the new fujifilm that can go up to 50 feet under water, but if I hadn't found this camera I would have kept the cannon, good camera over all.

Was this review helpful? (3) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nenita1
Tucson
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
best purchase ever
11/17/2013

Customer review by a

5.0 stars 11/17/2013 by a
by a

I love this Camera.it takes great pictures underwater and out.I use it regularly at our local YMCA with me and my 2 year old daughter. she took a survival swim class. And I have lots of videos and pictures of her swimming underwater.I have burned DVDs and they come out great. I wish I can upload a Videos of her doing her swim float Swim sequence. just so you can see what it looks like. I just keep it strapped to my arm with the float keeper. And it works out great. I wish I could buy another one just so if they stop making it I will have a backup. Because I love it so much.I have owned other brands of waterproof cameras and this one is the best hands down.

a
north Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for underwater- not for video
12/4/2014

Customer review by CO_dogs

3.0 stars 12/4/2014 by CO_dogs
by CO_dogs

I purchased this camera for a special trip to use for snorkeling. It performed wonderfully under water and fish photos turned out great. It takes good pictures for day to day things, but the 5x zoom is not enough for many situations. The videos all have a clicking sound in them and I don't like to use it for video at all, so it becomes a less useful all-around camera. It is nice to have a camera that I don't worry about getting wet. I attach a "float" strap and take it on a paddleboard to take photos. This is my third Canon camera and they have all been reliable.

CO_dogs
Denver, CO
Not-so-waterproof
11/13/2014

Customer review by Sorrento

3.0 stars 11/13/2014 by Sorrento
by Sorrento

I owned my D20 since 2011 and I have been very happy with it. It produces very good quality photos, very easy to use and a lot better than than other water-proof in size and looks. I have always been a fan of Canon, so I chose this for my weatherproof camera as well. After years of using it in bodies of water, my camera was tested and failed in the waterfalls. Water breached through and was rendered unusable. I am past the warranty, and it would have been more expensive to have it repaired. So maybe it wasn't shock-proof and waterproof?

Sorrento
Boston, NY
Nasty suprise - not water friendly
11/27/2013

Customer review by Snorkeler

2.0 stars 11/27/2013 by Snorkeler
by Snorkeler

Bought this camera in October for snorkeling in Mexico November for its waterproof, GPS, Movie and rugged capability. Sampled pictures prior to trip and liked the simplicity and feature set. However, on first use in water (all doors are sealed with a goof-proof snap-click lock), at a depth of 3 inches, it filled up with water and became unusable. Very disappointed as I love the canon line and buy all my cameras (SLR, DSLR, Powershot) from them. Camera has been sent out for repair. I am waiting for the results of their warranty investigation and will post the results. Had this camera for just over a month.

Snorkeler
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
12/5/2014

Customer review by had

3.0 stars 12/5/2014 by had
by had

The same thing happened to me as a previous reviewer. I have used this camera on vacations, cruises, white water rafting (for two consecutive successful years), and this year water got through and it no longer works. I am past warranty, and am looking into a new waterproof camera for my cruise this January, and part of my wanted to buy the same one again. But since other reviewers have had the same problem, I will probably head in another direction. :(

had
Massachusetts
4/27/2014

Customer review by LA

1.0 stars 4/27/2014 by LA
by LA

I am extremely disappointed with this camera. Our family loves to be in the water. I thought this camera would be perfect. Unfortunately it is not really waterproof. The first one I bought started leaking within a month. Canon sent me a new one. (which was great for customer service) But, now the second one let water in too. :( Obviously it isn't waterproof like they advertise. I can't say anything bad against Canon's customer service and their other products. I love my 7D. BUT, do not buy the Powershot D20!

LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Canon D20 Waterproof Camera
6/4/2012

Customer review by fishskicanoe

5.0 stars 6/4/2012 by fishskicanoe
by fishskicanoe

An excellent product. I've owned two other waterproof cameras and neither came close to this one. Pleasant image quality, tiny shutter lag, fast photo to memory time differentiated this camera from my previuos two. The D20 is built like a tank. Perhaps a bit weak on low light pictures, but no worse than any other point and shoot digitals out there that I've used and better than many. The macro works well. I didn't submerge it, since I buy waterproofs as a guarantee against accidental dunkings but if Canon designed that feature as well as the rest of the camera then I'm confident that will wotrk well too.

fishskicanoe
Northern Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
happy customer
10/4/2013

Customer review by galapagos diver

4.0 stars 10/4/2013 by galapagos diver
by galapagos diver

I was worried about this product when I read a bad review on it but I've had it for a while and it hasn't disappointed. The only things that I didn't like about this camera is there is no panorama button and the zoom isn't very good. I just got the standard camera without any additional zoom but I found when I was taking pictures of birds that were kind of far away that the zoom didn't cut it. It foucusss relatively well - I took a lot of pictures inside a moving bus and for the most part they turned out well

galapagos diver
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 38 total reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews