Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 112 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

112 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

112 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
58
4 stars
33
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 stars
10
1-20 of 101 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 101 total reviews
1-20 of 101 reviews
Great Canon photo quality and excellant value.
1/20/2013

Customer review by jacklap

5.0 stars 1/20/2013 by jacklap
by jacklap
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

For a compact ultra zoom camera this Canon product is a winner. The Auto and Easy modes hand over setting up the photo to the camera making it simple for me to take great pictures. Other modes give me more creative control. The GPS function works good and will prove to be useful to me, I think.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jacklap
Ionia, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just a novice
1/5/2013

Customer review by FloriGirl

4.0 stars 1/5/2013 by FloriGirl
by FloriGirl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this camera to replace an old Canon PowerShot, which takes great pics but is very slow between pictures. I often missed a shot waiting for it to capture the image. I haven't used the new camera much yet but did test out the zoom, which is amazing. The shutter speed doesn't seem a whole lot faster... BUT I have not tried the speed shutter yet. The directions are on a disk rather than a manual. I will have to download them from a PC with a CD drive to read them. So far that's the one of two complaints I have. Here's other: The flash pops up on the top left of the camera... which is where my finger is when I hold the device. This keeps the flash from coming up, and you have to re-power the camera to reset it. This new one is not as easy to hold as my older Powershot.. which had the thicker side as a handle... very stable. I expect to be happy with the technical side of things though since I read many reviews by people who know what they're doing. No one mentioned the comfort/handling/flash issue, so it must just be me.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FloriGirl
Fla
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Little Camera
6/18/2012

Customer review by Wallmartee

5.0 stars 6/18/2012 by Wallmartee
by Wallmartee

I have high expectations for my cameras and tried (and returned or sold on ebay) a few before settling on this one. I bought this Canon to carry with me in my purse as I always like to be ready to take a photo. My Iphone camera just doesn't cut it. I also have a Canon DLSR. This camera takes great photos. I tried it in low light and with the flash and all the photos came out extremely well. The shutter speed is very fast. While I'm not a professional photographer, this has met all my expectations for what I need in a camera. I've come to the conclusion that Canon makes the best digital cameras.

Was this review helpful? (72) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wallmartee
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1/29/2013

Customer review by Photobugi

5.0 stars 1/29/2013 by Photobugi
by Photobugi
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This camera meets all my expectations, and I'm happy with it. Just yesterday I shot over a hundred images with it: indoor with flash, indoor with no flash, outdoor in cloudy weather, outdoor in sunny weather, images of the ocean, images of the sunset, and videos of a party. The 20X zoom is great, photos without flash are very good, as are photos with flash. Distance shots are good, as are very close shots. Focusing is excellent. The videos are beautiful, and the image stabilization is great. The camera is compact, and it fits in a pocket (probably not in tight jeans, however!). Opening and closing are easy, and access to adjustments is intuitive. I hardly paid any attention to the manual, but I'd certainly recommend that a new user do so.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Photobugi
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good performer
12/30/2013

Customer review by white336

4.0 stars 12/30/2013 by white336
by white336

I have owned previous PowerShot camera's over the years and this is a definite improvement. It is worth is for the price. A lot of people are complaining about performance but I haven't seen many problems. With the correct settings and a tripod in certain instances it performs well. Low light is good if you don't move. No camera shoots well, or while zoomed, in low light without a tripod. I recommend the add on flash for the point and shoot cameras. Blown out, blurred, or bad pics are usually caused by incorrect settings. The burst works good for action shots. Just delete the bad ones. I haven't had any battery issues. I've shot 20+ min of HD video on the same battery. You must have an SDXC card to shoot a long video because of the file size. Video on full zoom is good without a tripod. The auto focus works well. Main problem that people have is they don't understand how their camera operates. Take the camera out and practice with it. No camera can do everything for you.

white336
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent camera for general picture taking.
1/5/2013

Customer review by sgjmm

5.0 stars 1/5/2013 by sgjmm
by sgjmm
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This camera is a great all around camera. Excellent pictures on what I have used it on so far. Very fast when turns on and ready to take a picture. Image Stabilization is fantastic and really helps eliminate blurry pictures. The only thing so far that I don't like is the location of the flash. It pops up right where you want to hold the camera with your left fingers. Have to learn to hold it differently I guess. I like the size of the camera as it will fit in my pocket and still has alot of the features I wanted. Really like the LCD size and quality picture it shows. Overall, real happy with the SX260.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sgjmm
Viroqua, Wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
PowerShot SX260HS Fails
2/1/2013

Customer review by Stuffed Shirt

2.0 stars 2/1/2013 by Stuffed Shirt
by Stuffed Shirt

I bought my SX260HS camera on January 11, 2013 looking forward to taking many pics of my grandkids in an upcoming visit. I practiced with movies, snapshots, etc until I felt comfortable. Then, just 7 days later, on Jan 18, I opened the camera to take some more practice pics. I knew the battery was low so didn't worry too much about the fact that the camera quit working at all. No power, no pictures, nothing. Changing to a new battery didn't help. I took it in to a local Canon shop for repair after talking with the dealer (who said these were a real problem) and was told that I had mishandled the camera. Never was I told how. All I can say is that Canon refused to refurbish/repair my unit. After 7 days, treating it just like my cell phone (which has lasted over a year). I feel Canon has some real quality problems with this unit and they are refusing to acknowledge it by saying the consumer has "mishandled" it. Would suggest not purchasing this unit at all.

Stuffed Shirt
Garland, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
SO far so good!!! :)
1/23/2013

Customer review by HisMineAndOurs

5.0 stars 1/23/2013 by HisMineAndOurs
by HisMineAndOurs
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I researched like crazy for a good new camera!!! I really love this camera so far!!! I have a very active daughter that is 2 and goes and goes, and I captured a great pic of her in motion and from across the room and the auto option caught it perfect! :) I have played with the zoom from across the room and it's fantastic! I am looking foward to digging in and really playing with all of the great options, but I love the AUTO feature so much!Oh and I even tried moving around while taking a pic of my object and it straightened it and didn't even blur!!! :) Kudo's!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HisMineAndOurs
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/26/2012

Customer review by irishstu

4.0 stars 7/26/2012 by irishstu
by irishstu

A great "point & shoot" camera for those of us who don't want something more complicated & expensive.

Was this review helpful? (20) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
irishstu
Longwood, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Nice, but could be great!
11/20/2012

Customer review by EdConexion

3.0 stars 11/20/2012 by EdConexion
by EdConexion

At my company, we communicate with the world using images – we are a social media agency for chambers of commerce and other business organization and we take photos at more than 100 events per year. We absolutely love the zoom capability of his camera; we can stand in back of a ballroom and still capture great shots. We truly dig its ability to adjust in dim settings (networking events have many of them), its facial recognition, shot stability and grid modes make our work versatile. We’ve also found video capability is not too shabby either – we recently covered an event with celebrities and got great content. HOWEVER, that flash pop-up on the left hand side is a total disaster, particularly when you only get seconds to capture the moment, and rather than fidget with the flash we’d rather be shooting in different modes to ensure success. We find we get good shots without a flash (most of the time), but we’re seeking GREAT shots.

EdConexion
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
2/10/2013

Customer review by Vacationman1

4.0 stars 2/10/2013 by Vacationman1
by Vacationman1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a great camera. The video is excellent 1080p. I use it on vacations when you don't want to carry big bulky professional grade cameras. Great zoom.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vacationman1
Rockville Center, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Camera for the money.
1/24/2013

Customer review by allyoucanbe

5.0 stars 1/24/2013 by allyoucanbe
by allyoucanbe
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have Several Cameras and needed a good point and shoot. The Cannon SX260HS is very compact. takes great pictures indoors and out. It is easy to use and great for taking on trips where the larger DSL's are not as covenient. It does take a little getting used to holding to avoid the flash when it comes up. With a little practice it gets easier to use. For the money it is a great camera and fun to use.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
allyoucanbe
Conover, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
THE model I was awaiting!
6/12/2012

Customer review by guitarer

5.0 stars 6/12/2012 by guitarer
by guitarer

I must admit that I ONLY use Canon cameras, due to the consistent quality & familiar operation from model-to-model, but I was getting frustrated waiting for a compact "super-zoom". As soon as I saw the SX260 HS' 20x zoom, I knew that I'd buy it, even if it may have a few shortcomings. So far, though, I haven't seen any; from 20x optical zoom & into max digital zoom, photos have been remarkable, even better than my trusty SX20is, but in a much smaller package. Videos are great, too; though I didn't buy the SX260 particularly for that feature, its great to have on hand. I'll let others get into technical aspects, settings, etc., & comparing this model to ones made by other companies. If you want the familiar quality, features & menus of a Canon, plus a long zoom in a travel-size package, look no further. I'm sure that I'll use this camera for years, no more "upgrading" for a good while! Thanks, Canon!

guitarer
Anderson, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
10/25/2012

Customer review by LaceyLacey

4.0 stars 10/25/2012 by LaceyLacey
by LaceyLacey
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This had more options than I even expected from it. One option I haven't found and don't think it has is an "outdoor scenery" option like all my other cams have had. That's disappointing and so I give it 4 stars for that but that's the only thing I can think that is missing and that even may be there, perhaps I haven't found it. There are no instructions with this camera as all other users have mentioned. Boo to that as well.

Was this review helpful? (11) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LaceyLacey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/17/2013

Customer review by Jinx4

4.0 stars 5/17/2013 by Jinx4
by Jinx4

This really is a great little camera. However, for those of you considering the bundled package, be aware that the SD card offered is only a Class 4 card while Canon recommends a minimum Class 6 rated card for this particular camera. That said, the bundle deal (plus buying additional better SD card) is oftentimes cheaper than buying the camera separately. For those people complaining that the camera is too slow, I'm guessing they are using a slower class 4 card. If you plan on using the camera for a lot of HD videos, I definitely would make sure to buy a faster class 6 or higher card.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jinx4
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Amazing Camera
7/26/2013

Customer review by kashmir3469

5.0 stars 7/26/2013 by kashmir3469
by kashmir3469
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this camera specifically because I wanted a camera with higher zoom. At the same time, I didn't want one of those bulky DSLR cameras. I've been watching for sales on this camera for a long time. I've seen it regularly priced for $300 which is a bit more than I wanted to spend. Wal-Mart had this on sale with an 8 GB memory card and carrying case for $239. Great value! I first used this last week at a music festival and was able to zoom and take pictures way down on the stage even though I was in the reserved seating way in the back. I was amazed at the clarity of the pictures and how far it could zoom. The camera is a little heavier than your normal point and shoot but it is still small enough to fit in my pocket. I love it!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kashmir3469
Eau Claire, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Camera
4/24/2012

Customer review by rafiramos

4.0 stars 4/24/2012 by rafiramos
by rafiramos

I have owned one Canon Camera with each DiG!C image processor in the past 10 years. PowerShots: S50, A700, SD850 IS, G10 and now this SX260 HS. I took around 2,000 pics in my last 5 day trip to NYC. This is a quick performer right out of the box. But you can't forget this is a pocket point and shoot camera. Yet you'll be amazed with the features. Taking panoramic no flash images at dawn or night is impressive. First night I had the camera I took a picture of the moon, no tripod, it was not only focused, (something I have not been able to do with my higher end G10) but I could see details on the screen I couldn't see with my bare eyes. The 20x lens is a great one, I took pictures from the Observatory of the Empire state and you can see a slight curvature of the lens on distant objects but nothing unacceptable. Recording @ 240 fps can only be done @ a lower resolution other that full HD, not so good for video editing, but its a fun cheap camera with features rivaling more expensive ones. If you have used Canon digital cameras before you'll love the DiG!C 5 new features and if you are new to canon, just compare and see the difference.

rafiramos
San Lorenzo, PR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
High tech but easy to use
7/7/2013

Customer review by Middleclass

5.0 stars 7/7/2013 by Middleclass
by Middleclass

We got this camera for my wife. She did the research and decided it was the best for her needs. She LOVES it. She sets it to AUTO so all she has to do is point and shoot. A really great feature is the zoom. 20x optical zoom brings things in extremely close and the pictures are amazingly clear. The camera a little bigger than some pocket cameras but it is worth it if you want the best pictures. We just came back from a 10 day cruise to Alaska and the pictures she took are beautiful. The zoom let her take pictures from the ship, she got up close pictures of whales, otters, eagles, and sea gulls. They were all clean and clear.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Middleclass
Mesa, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Little Camera
7/31/2013

Customer review by RedRyder

5.0 stars 7/31/2013 by RedRyder
by RedRyder

I have used Canon cameras for many years, starting with film B&W and heaving my own lab. When my current Canon A630 lost its flash I looked for a replacement. I liked the viewfinder and swing out screen with great macro capability. However NLA. I looked at reviews and specs and chose the SX260. Its a small camera with great capabilities . It also has a program mode where I can customize its settings. The auto settings work well too. I tested the camera in multiple settings and it preformed well. The film mode was amazingly clear for such a little camera..I considered buying a larger camera such as the G12 along with this one but for now the SX 260 does everything I want a camera to do. Being able to take a camera with you in your pocket makes it available when a shoot is to be had. The camera is as good as you are. Photography is in the eye of the photographer, this camera will do the job. I would have liked a view finder for sunny days, and the POP up flash does not make sense since it uses more power and is where I like to hold the camera. The camera with its great long lens is power hungry so buy a spare battery. Screen protector is also a good addition.

RedRyder
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
In love with this camera
9/17/2012

Customer review by TravelBug

4.0 stars 9/17/2012 by TravelBug
by TravelBug

After dropping my first Canon camera on pavement resulting in its untimely demise, I bought this wonderful camera. I use the camera to take photos for my blog. Since we are full-time RVers, we travel a lot and I use the camera for outdoor photos, close-ups of flowers and cats, photos with people and artsy photos. The quality, clarity and color of the photos is beautiful. I'm still learning how to use it as I am a little technically challenged, but that's the beauty of the Auto mode. In the future, I plan to take more photography classes, but for now, I am very happy with my purchase. Two problems: 1. No viewfinder. On sunny days, I cannot see what I'm photographing. 2. The flash pops up right where I hold the camera with my left hand. I will have to remember not to put my fingers there.

TravelBug
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 101 total reviews
1-20 of 101 reviews