Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 112 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

112 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

112 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
58
4 stars
33
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 stars
10
1-20 of 101 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 101 total reviews
1-20 of 101 reviews
Good performer
12/30/2013

Customer review by white336

4.0 stars 12/30/2013 by white336
by white336

I have owned previous PowerShot camera's over the years and this is a definite improvement. It is worth is for the price. A lot of people are complaining about performance but I haven't seen many problems. With the correct settings and a tripod in certain instances it performs well. Low light is good if you don't move. No camera shoots well, or while zoomed, in low light without a tripod. I recommend the add on flash for the point and shoot cameras. Blown out, blurred, or bad pics are usually caused by incorrect settings. The burst works good for action shots. Just delete the bad ones. I haven't had any battery issues. I've shot 20+ min of HD video on the same battery. You must have an SDXC card to shoot a long video because of the file size. Video on full zoom is good without a tripod. The auto focus works well. Main problem that people have is they don't understand how their camera operates. Take the camera out and practice with it. No camera can do everything for you.

white336
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
PowerShot SX260HS Fails
2/1/2013

Customer review by Stuffed Shirt

2.0 stars 2/1/2013 by Stuffed Shirt
by Stuffed Shirt

I bought my SX260HS camera on January 11, 2013 looking forward to taking many pics of my grandkids in an upcoming visit. I practiced with movies, snapshots, etc until I felt comfortable. Then, just 7 days later, on Jan 18, I opened the camera to take some more practice pics. I knew the battery was low so didn't worry too much about the fact that the camera quit working at all. No power, no pictures, nothing. Changing to a new battery didn't help. I took it in to a local Canon shop for repair after talking with the dealer (who said these were a real problem) and was told that I had mishandled the camera. Never was I told how. All I can say is that Canon refused to refurbish/repair my unit. After 7 days, treating it just like my cell phone (which has lasted over a year). I feel Canon has some real quality problems with this unit and they are refusing to acknowledge it by saying the consumer has "mishandled" it. Would suggest not purchasing this unit at all.

Stuffed Shirt
Garland, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nice, but could be great!
11/20/2012

Customer review by EdConexion

3.0 stars 11/20/2012 by EdConexion
by EdConexion

At my company, we communicate with the world using images – we are a social media agency for chambers of commerce and other business organization and we take photos at more than 100 events per year. We absolutely love the zoom capability of his camera; we can stand in back of a ballroom and still capture great shots. We truly dig its ability to adjust in dim settings (networking events have many of them), its facial recognition, shot stability and grid modes make our work versatile. We’ve also found video capability is not too shabby either – we recently covered an event with celebrities and got great content. HOWEVER, that flash pop-up on the left hand side is a total disaster, particularly when you only get seconds to capture the moment, and rather than fidget with the flash we’d rather be shooting in different modes to ensure success. We find we get good shots without a flash (most of the time), but we’re seeking GREAT shots.

EdConexion
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
THE model I was awaiting!
6/12/2012

Customer review by guitarer

5.0 stars 6/12/2012 by guitarer
by guitarer

I must admit that I ONLY use Canon cameras, due to the consistent quality & familiar operation from model-to-model, but I was getting frustrated waiting for a compact "super-zoom". As soon as I saw the SX260 HS' 20x zoom, I knew that I'd buy it, even if it may have a few shortcomings. So far, though, I haven't seen any; from 20x optical zoom & into max digital zoom, photos have been remarkable, even better than my trusty SX20is, but in a much smaller package. Videos are great, too; though I didn't buy the SX260 particularly for that feature, its great to have on hand. I'll let others get into technical aspects, settings, etc., & comparing this model to ones made by other companies. If you want the familiar quality, features & menus of a Canon, plus a long zoom in a travel-size package, look no further. I'm sure that I'll use this camera for years, no more "upgrading" for a good while! Thanks, Canon!

guitarer
Anderson, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Camera
4/24/2012

Customer review by rafiramos

4.0 stars 4/24/2012 by rafiramos
by rafiramos

I have owned one Canon Camera with each DiG!C image processor in the past 10 years. PowerShots: S50, A700, SD850 IS, G10 and now this SX260 HS. I took around 2,000 pics in my last 5 day trip to NYC. This is a quick performer right out of the box. But you can't forget this is a pocket point and shoot camera. Yet you'll be amazed with the features. Taking panoramic no flash images at dawn or night is impressive. First night I had the camera I took a picture of the moon, no tripod, it was not only focused, (something I have not been able to do with my higher end G10) but I could see details on the screen I couldn't see with my bare eyes. The 20x lens is a great one, I took pictures from the Observatory of the Empire state and you can see a slight curvature of the lens on distant objects but nothing unacceptable. Recording @ 240 fps can only be done @ a lower resolution other that full HD, not so good for video editing, but its a fun cheap camera with features rivaling more expensive ones. If you have used Canon digital cameras before you'll love the DiG!C 5 new features and if you are new to canon, just compare and see the difference.

rafiramos
San Lorenzo, PR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Little Camera
7/31/2013

Customer review by RedRyder

5.0 stars 7/31/2013 by RedRyder
by RedRyder

I have used Canon cameras for many years, starting with film B&W and heaving my own lab. When my current Canon A630 lost its flash I looked for a replacement. I liked the viewfinder and swing out screen with great macro capability. However NLA. I looked at reviews and specs and chose the SX260. Its a small camera with great capabilities . It also has a program mode where I can customize its settings. The auto settings work well too. I tested the camera in multiple settings and it preformed well. The film mode was amazingly clear for such a little camera..I considered buying a larger camera such as the G12 along with this one but for now the SX 260 does everything I want a camera to do. Being able to take a camera with you in your pocket makes it available when a shoot is to be had. The camera is as good as you are. Photography is in the eye of the photographer, this camera will do the job. I would have liked a view finder for sunny days, and the POP up flash does not make sense since it uses more power and is where I like to hold the camera. The camera with its great long lens is power hungry so buy a spare battery. Screen protector is also a good addition.

RedRyder
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
In love with this camera
9/17/2012

Customer review by TravelBug

4.0 stars 9/17/2012 by TravelBug
by TravelBug

After dropping my first Canon camera on pavement resulting in its untimely demise, I bought this wonderful camera. I use the camera to take photos for my blog. Since we are full-time RVers, we travel a lot and I use the camera for outdoor photos, close-ups of flowers and cats, photos with people and artsy photos. The quality, clarity and color of the photos is beautiful. I'm still learning how to use it as I am a little technically challenged, but that's the beauty of the Auto mode. In the future, I plan to take more photography classes, but for now, I am very happy with my purchase. Two problems: 1. No viewfinder. On sunny days, I cannot see what I'm photographing. 2. The flash pops up right where I hold the camera with my left hand. I will have to remember not to put my fingers there.

TravelBug
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great camera
1/8/2014

Customer review by annieb1110

5.0 stars 1/8/2014 by annieb1110
by annieb1110

I love this camera and all pictures I have taken with it. I have had other brands and hands down best camera. I am still learning how and what settings to use, the best one's for different times of light settings. I have wanted a canon for some time, I couldn't afford a DSLR but I am not regretting my choice. I would still like a DSLR, but will definately keep this one. I bought this for our trip to Disney World last year and I can not complain about any of the pictures taken. Night pictures, fireworks, day, indoor, outdoor. My only complaint and it irritates me everytime I use my camera is when changing my exposure compensation, turning the dial I hit the flash button. It is a pain in the butt. If they could figure out how to put it a different way this camera would be the best camera.

annieb1110
Mishawaka, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best medium sized pocket camera
12/29/2013

Customer review by Pietro

5.0 stars 12/29/2013 by Pietro
by Pietro

My wife and I are retired and we travel in a little 4 WD pickup truck camper, with a kayak on the roof, visiting cities, attractions, parks, forests, deserts, coasts, swamps, caves. We are nurses and treat equipment gently but we are out in all kinds of weather, in sometimes harsh conditions, hiking, camping, exploring, paddling . I've taken thousands of wonderful everyday photos with this camera ranging from portraiture to around the campfire to museums and theaters to the grandchildren to the forests and deserts and caves to Mardi Gras at night to dis-assembly documentation to an engineers idea of art. For this type of photography I have found it excellent. It is durable, versatile, forgiving with a superior collection of features appropriate for this purpose. Brava! Bravo!

Pietro
Upstate NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Don't Recommend This Model
7/11/2012

Customer review by ezwider55

3.0 stars 7/11/2012 by ezwider55
by ezwider55

I love Canon and use Canon EOS 5D MK III's, S90 Powershot, and several other point and shoot cameras that I have given to family members. I expected a 20X zoom camera would have some compromises but I was really surprised a Canon with Digic 5 would have poor still picture quality and even worse video. I have an older version of this camera and even it has much better still quality and way better video with the older DIGIC 4. High degree of Noise in most pictures and soft image focus made the image quality very disappointing. Video on my SX260 was completely unacceptable in 1080p. I went back to the dealer and had them check my menu settings and choices for something I might have missed which is certainly possible with the menus in this version. IMHO, Canon missed the mark by a long shot with this camera. Unfortunately I waited too long to return this camera assuming I had to have made a mistake in some settings. I would definitely recommend that you buy any of the other Canon point and shoot cameras and do not make the mistake of trying to get more than 5x zoom. The S100 would make a far better choice if you want a really small camera with the DIGIC 5 image processor or the G12 even with the DIGIC 4 processor.

ezwider55
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Pictures, Button Placement awful.
9/19/2012

Customer review by Gracie

3.0 stars 9/19/2012 by Gracie
by Gracie

I recently dropped my Canon 700 and broke it. So I needed a replacement. I love the 20x zoom. Low light shooting awesome, sunsets, animals in shade butterflies etc. I shoot mostly in manuel and the flash and timer buttons pop up all the time while I'm turning the wheel to adjust. Flash itself is in the place you need for holding the camera. Takes or views about 250 pictures before needing a battery change. Shutter button a bit hard to reach. GPS is a waist as it does not work in rural areas. You should include a user manuel with all the stuff on this camera. If I'd had another choice I would have taken it back. But love the manuel option, size, weight, 20x zoom, and low light quality pictures. If you only shoot in automatic, you may like this camera.

Gracie
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not for computer challenged
5/13/2013

Customer review by Mustang Man

4.0 stars 5/13/2013 by Mustang Man
by Mustang Man

Read with interest some negative reviews. This is a computer that makes pictures and video. TiP: this camera can do a tremendous number of things, but many won't be important to you. Decide what is and works with those. Ignore the rest and the 220+ manual won't overwhelm you. I used if for the first time in Kenya and allowed the camera to automatically make the "best exposure" decisions. It made the right call 90% of the time and I'm a professional videographer. The video was good but rapid movement on any camera in this price range is going to have some issues. My video was good within normal usage. Bottom line: read the manual, practice with it, find out what it can do and I think you'll be thrilled. A great camera for the price.

Mustang Man
Charlotte NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
replacement for SD900
12/5/2012

Customer review by C-bear

4.0 stars 12/5/2012 by C-bear
by C-bear

The Powershot SX260 HS was a replacement for the Powershot ELPH SD900 and it was the right choice for me. I don't have a lot of time to sit on the computer to edit/enhance my photos.... and with this camera, I don't need to. The camera comes with all the modes/functions I need to get creative while I take the picture instead of after. I also like the fact that even though it's a small camera, it has a large LCD screen. I am having a little trouble figuring out when is the best time to shoot with some of the modes... it seems like some of the modes are repeated but within the camera. But that just may be because I don't really undrstand that certain function yet. All in all, I totally love Canon and I'm very pleased with this camera.

C-bear
Santa Cruz, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
did I get a lemon?
4/13/2013

Customer review by bjr

1.0 stars 4/13/2013 by bjr
by bjr

Like another reviewer wrote, I hate this camera. We purchased this to replace a previous older powershot that actually took better pics than our canon rebel. We didn't want to take the big camera on long haul trips and also wanted something quickerfor grandkids, parties, etc. We bought this on black friday '12. I finally tried using it at Chrismas and it was evident from the beginning this camera takes awful pics. I called Canon and we decided most of the blurriness is when I need a flash, it takes too long to charge back. Pretty much every pic I take of my 18 month old is blurry. Still shots of posing are blurry. Still objects are blurry. Also grainy. I downloaded and read the manual and tried all settings and options. Still blurry. Took it out to an EAA eagles activity with my cubs today and the just charged battery was dead after 2 hours. It was an expensive camera but takes worse shots than disposables. It is like I have the shutter open on a tripod shot. Actually, the only decent shots I get are with the high speed shots and no flash, then again, I have to sort thru them all and keep one. Very disappointed and may resort to taking the rebel to China in 3 days. With all the great reviews, and so many bad ones, can they really vary that much?

bjr
ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love This Camera!
9/25/2012

Customer review by Jill

5.0 stars 9/25/2012 by Jill
by Jill

I bought this camera about 2 months ago for a horseback riding trip through Utah. I played around with it for a few weeks before we left and was very impressed at the image quality. There are 2 basic modes, "auto" and "easy" that are both straightforward and take great pictures without fiddling around. I have yet to use the manual and live options, but I'm sure they take amazing pictures as well. My favorite features on this camera are the 20x zoom and the creative "scene" modes. While in Utah the "super vivid" mode did a phenomenal job of picking up the bright colors in the landscape. The camera is a little pricey but overall I am very happy with my purchase and continue to be impressed with the camera to this day.

Jill
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Would be great if it worked
8/31/2013

Customer review by Roobahsox

1.0 stars 8/31/2013 by Roobahsox
by Roobahsox

This compact camera has many good features for easy non-commercial use. Easy to understand settings. Good zoom. Has the potential to be a good little aim and shoot, or small travel camera. However, the battery requires reseating many times with each use. Screen goes black, pics are black, and then it starts all over. Also, there is a significant shutter delay. I could do with the delay, but I can't deal with a camera that takes black pics and requires battery to be re-inserted over and over at each use. If the camera worked, I would give it a 4.5. But despite all its potential, the fact that it takes black pictures, I have to give it a zero. Do not recommend. Save your money and time and get something else.

Roobahsox
Minneapolis
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best camera by far!!
7/18/2012

Customer review by Nohope4humanity

5.0 stars 7/18/2012 by Nohope4humanity
by Nohope4humanity

Ok, so I received this camera for my birthday, and I must say, this camera is freaking awesome!! The manual controls are perfect, and there are priority modes for you to practice manual, where you can set the apeture and the camera sets the others automatically, etc. The automatic settings produce incredible image quality. There are really cool effects available, which included but are not limited to: miniature mode, toy mode, poster effect, color exchange. Color exchange is cool: you choose the color of an object, and apply it to another object!!! I could make my eyes brown or black. I could turn my couch purple. It is pretty awesome. The only con is the GPS feature. Why is there so much hype about it?? As far as I can tell, it gives you the COORDINATES of your location, it does NOT put your location on a world or country or state/providence map!! I was in washington dc, and when I took pictures I wanted them to be labeled as photos taken in Washington D.C. Instead, they were labeled with coordinates!! Pointless. Thank god, to, this gives me an excuse to turn it off, to save battery life (which really isn't all that bad). I know I didn't cover all of the features/specs of this camera, but there are unlimited things about this camera, I could happily rave about it forever.

Nohope4humanity
Brooklyn, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy to use
7/2/2014

Customer review by Ralphie123

5.0 stars 7/2/2014 by Ralphie123
by Ralphie123

We bought the camera just before going on a trip. We aren't professional photographers but like to take a lot of pictures on vacation, with family, etc. The "getting started" guide is very basic and doesn't tell you much more than putting the battery and memory card in and taking a picture. When we got home and downloaded the images onto our computer, we discovered the images were around 2.5 MB to 3.0 MB. There isn't any guide in the getting started guide about setting the image size. Having images this large is not very easy to share. You have to do some digging to find out what the right image size is for you. We are a little disappointed that the factory setting is on the max size.

Ralphie123
Midland, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
OK for a Back-Up Point & Shoot
3/14/2015

Customer review by fluke fotography

4.0 stars 3/14/2015 by fluke fotography
by fluke fotography

As a professional shooter, I always have a back-up body to my 5DIII - just in case. That being said, I use this SX260 as a back-up to my S95. It was obtained well after later models were issued, so this is a bit late for a review. I feel I can only rate a camera for what it is expected to do and not what I want it do (i.e., I can't downgrade it because it doesn't shoot RAW, as it wasn't sold boasting RAW capabilities). It works well, but I find the noise using higher ISO numbers - 600 to 800 - to be intolerable. The distortion in small print sizes is not acceptable and to reduce the noise using high-end noise ware programs makes the end result unusable. Not a bad camera for daylight or low ISO shots, but anything "dark" requires a flash. The type of photography I do does not allow the use of a flash, hence the downgrade from a 5 to a 4. Other than the noise problem, the prints seem clear and crisp and, although the files are not RAW, the jpeg files shot Large, superfine, are representative of the original shot so working with them in post program is not as difficult as with some other point and shoots. Color rendering is quite on point and the image stabilization also works quite well, I don't shoot video so can't say much about that. As noted before, this camera was obtained well after subsequent models were issued, so this review might be a moot point.

fluke fotography
Los Angeles
Great Camera
1/8/2014

Customer review by franky

5.0 stars 1/8/2014 by franky
by franky

This was a refurbished camera. No idea of what was wrong if anything from the original owner if it was infact owned. Possibly it was reject at the factory. It has been a great camera. Light sensitivity is wonderful. I went outside at night and took a picture of a star constelation and it came out great. I used a tripod. I purchased it for my wife who was going on a Mediterranean cruise. She is totally technically challenged when it comes to these devices. She took over 1400 photos that were absouletly perfect and had no difficulty. She took photo's out of a tour bus window on many occasions and you simply can't tell.

franky
Las Vegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 101 total reviews
1-20 of 101 reviews