Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 122 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

122 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

122 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
114
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
1-20 of 117 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 117 total reviews
1-20 of 117 reviews
Fun
10/18/2012

Customer review by dragonkohan

5.0 stars 10/18/2012 by dragonkohan
by dragonkohan

FUN all the way. I am 58 yrs old and it held my interest and is now complete and on display. Friends are now thinking of doing some of the lego projects themselves.

Was this review helpful? (38) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dragonkohan
salt lake, ut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
THE MOST AWESOME BIRTHDAY GIFT IDEA EVER!!!
2/23/2013

Customer review by JonBoy27834

5.0 stars 2/23/2013 by JonBoy27834
by JonBoy27834
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I, along with a few other friends, all chipped in on this item as a birthday present for a mutual friend. The look on his face when he saw it made it worth every penny spent!! We spent that afternoon and some of the following morning putting it together. Other than a few weak spots any lego has, it was a really sturdy piece. I would HIGHLY recommend this if you are the avid star wars lego collector

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JonBoy27834
Greenville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This is THE droid you're looking for!
7/17/2012

Customer review by Teridax2000

5.0 stars 7/17/2012 by Teridax2000
by Teridax2000

I gotta say, this is THE droid I was looking for. A really cheap set for an Ultimate Collector's Series, and I can save $20 for a 2,000 lego piece set. The detail is magnificent! The lego designers made every lego brick count! Not only that it looks just like the one in the movie, but it functions just like the one in the movie. This, in fact probably contains the most features out of all the UCS sets! I am very proud to have this set in my house. The build for me was easier than I thought. It only took me 6 hours to make this. The set is very sturdy and overall very awesome to have. If you're a UCS collector fan, it's a must-have. If you're a huge lego starwars fan, get this set! It's a must-have! I guess you learn with two designers makes one teamwork, and one teamwork makes one awesome lego set! I love it's features, it's looks, and it's sturdiness! According to my opinion this has got to be one of the best Lego Star Wars UCS sets because that's how amazing it is! Plus the box is HUGE! So if you're room doesn't have a lot of space, I wouldn't recommend keeping it for too long :P

Teridax2000
Denver
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A must have for Star Wars fans!
5/4/2012

Customer review by WayinLA

5.0 stars 5/4/2012 by WayinLA
by WayinLA

This was a really fun build - not too challenging or repetitive. Wonderful detail, size and weight makes it a Lego Star Wars showpiece. The instructions were clear. Pieces were separated into about 12 bags numbered 1-10, the pieces in each bag did not take up much room at all when spread out and sorted. Quite solid, though the legs are a bit shaky there is no fear of the model falling over. The center leg fits a bit more snug than seen in the Lego video. It doesn't fall freely when releasing the trigger; I need to pull it down manually. Perhaps I have put something together too tightly on the inside. Would be cool to be able to have R2 roll on some sort of wheels but you could probably do it with some sort of mod. I also initially had trouble setting up the 3 leg mode but after seeing the video it is much easier to do by holding the model from behind (holding the model by the legs from behind, release center leg, lift body by the legs,use your thumbs to tilt body forward). All in all this is my favorite Lego Star Wars set to date. Well worth the price. I may even buy another one!

WayinLA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best UCS So Far!
12/28/2012

Customer review by LegoMan111

5.0 stars 12/28/2012 by LegoMan111
by LegoMan111

This is a great Ultimate Collectors Series set. LEGO really pays attention to detail! If you compare this R2 to the movie one it looks spot on. They captured everything perfectly. 180$ is a pretty good price for R2-D2, he is about 13 inches tall and seven inches wide it may not seem very big but he is not hollow and R2 is pretty heavy for a LEGO set. The build was pretty straightforward the head was a little confusing because you would add 1X1 tiles to the head and you can't really tell where they go, plus sometimes it would break during assembly. This set has a lot of cool features, four tools pop out in the front, R2's head spins around 360 degrees, and the coolest part is his third leg pops out and is retractable. It comes with a nice card with information about R2-D2. The mini figure is nothing new its the same R2 from previous sets, I wish they would have at least made him chrome. Also I would like to point out there is no brick separator. One of these would have been crucial because I had to use my own brick separators to get the pieces undone. Overall this is a great set I would strongly recommend getting.

LegoMan111
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
First UCS Set
12/28/2012

Customer review by Butters453

5.0 stars 12/28/2012 by Butters453
by Butters453

As the title says, this is the first UCS set I have built and I must say, it is one amazing model! I picked it up from my local Lego store today and thought it would take forever to build it. Surprisingly through, I finished it in just over 4 hours! The detail is amazing because of the many tiny pieces that are in the set. Anyway, on to the actual review. The first feaure on the set is the swiveling head function. What surprised me is that the head is actually hollow. My guess is to cut down on piece count and therefore, price. The head to me is the most detailed part of the set, having accurate details such as the little lights on the front and the eye. The torso is also very detailed. There are two panels on the front that open up to reveal the buzz saw and computer interface arm. There is also a lever on the back that allows you to drop down his third leg that is hidden for more support. What I didn't realize until after I finished it was the two levers on the back actually support the buzz saw and computer interface arm that was mentioned earlier. I was glad I picked this up and I would definately recommend bbuying it.

Butters453
Indianapolis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Lego Perfection for Star Wars fans
1/14/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/14/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Got this as a Christmas gift from my son and it's the BEST gift I've EVER gotten. I'm a 35 year old woman btw...and a big Lego fan, and I looked forward to putting this together every night. I drew it out on purpose so it took maybe 10 hours total to put together. I'm actually sad that I'm done now, but that's beside the point. R2 comes with 3 instruction books and bags numbered 1 to 10 so you can do portions without having all 2127 pieces out together. He has a few moving parts. The middle leg retracts and extends. His head rotates all the way around. There are 2 doors on the front that open and you can then turn a piece on the back and the universal computer interface arm and circular saw come out and can be pulled to extend. Very fun build and looks awesome now! If you're a Star Wars and Lego fan you gotta have R2-D2!

An anonymous customer
Gadsden
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
UCS R2-D2
7/18/2012

Customer review by TheAvenger6

4.0 stars 7/18/2012 by TheAvenger6
by TheAvenger6

No collection is complete without this R2-D2 UCS set. Even non Star Wars fans recognize this famous droid. Pros: Very detailed, looks identical to the real R2-D2 A very good deal, you definitely get what you pay for Has a couple of neat features that add to the overall design Looks great when displayed next to 7194 Yoda or by itself Can be played with easily, but it IS a UCS set A somewhat high durability, it doesn't break when picked up Contains the cool as always UCS sticker and stand Cons: Its difficult to get the third leg to retract Is very small considering the amount of pieces in the set (7194 is half the pieces and yet is still taller) Could contain more stuff, like the jet rockets from the movies You can't really go wrong buying this set, but remember, its meant for DISPLAY, NOT PLAY.

TheAvenger6
Pittsburgh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This is my counterpart, R2-D2.
6/29/2013

Customer review by CloneMarshalCommanderCody

5.0 stars 6/29/2013 by CloneMarshalCommanderCody
by CloneMarshalCommanderCody

This set is great! R2 is not life size, but he is pretty close. He looks very detailed. His head could maybe have had a few smooth bricks to make it look more sleek. The central leg looks great. Some wheels should have been on the bottoms of the legs so he could glide around, but I suppose then when R2 only has 2 legs he would fall. The buzz saw and computer interface arm look nice and screen accurate. Occasionally the middle leg will malfunction, but that is understandable. I don't care for LEGO's policy of making the parts of a LEGO model that are not visible weird colors. The parts on the inside of R2 are green, red, and yellow. Why is that? Does it allow LEGO to save a few cents? It doesn't really matter, though. Since the price is so good, I recommend you buy this.

CloneMarshalCommanderCody
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Son's Purchase
5/20/2014

Customer review by SRRuggles

5.0 stars 5/20/2014 by SRRuggles
by SRRuggles
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My son saved and saved his money to buy this one. He is only ten years old and once it arrived (within 5 days of purchase--awesome!), he immediately started work on it. Unfortunately, it only took him about 5 hours to complete it--and he was watching the TV too! LOL! Though, he is extremely happy and we find that the little details are excellent! Thank you, LEGO! He even has built a Wall-E, the "pet" cockroach and Eva out of the extra pieces from his sets!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SRRuggles
Independence, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/30/2012

Customer review by emjay2

5.0 stars 12/30/2012 by emjay2
by emjay2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this Lego set for my 11-yr old grandson. He thought it was "really cool". In fact, he wanted to start putting it together immediately Christmas eve. His parents thought otherwise! He was pleasantly surprised at the "packaging". He appreicated the books and instructions. I would not be surprised if he had it completely assembled within 5 days, but the package indicated it was "suitable" for 16 yrs of age and up! A great gift and value for the money!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
emjay2
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fix for the third leg
5/10/2012

Customer review by SirSteveo

5.0 stars 5/10/2012 by SirSteveo
by SirSteveo

When you open bag # 4, pay attention to instruction # 5 on page 73. Ensure that the gear wheels (item # 4514559) are close together and not touching the yellow piece. There are 2 sets of gear wheels and you need to have them close together so that the gear wheels spin easliy not touching the sides thus causing the third leg to drop quickly. If you already assembled R2, then just take off the head and reach down and push the gear wheels together and you can do the same from below to access the lower gear wheels by taking the third leg out and reaching up into R2 to push the lower gear wheels together. This should solve the problem and the third leg should easily drop without having to pull it down. Easy fix, this is a great purchase and highly recommended.

SirSteveo
Charlotte
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Set of the Year for Star Wars!
7/22/2012

Customer review by APWBD777

5.0 stars 7/22/2012 by APWBD777
by APWBD777

This R2-D2 is superb! The detail in the construction, the ingenuitive play features, and the amazing resemblance to R2-D2 himself. The model turns out a bit smaller then one would realise, but this just makes it even cuter and more adorable! The build is interesting (6 hours for me), and holds one's attention as you progress. The UCS plaque (unfortunately, stickered) and the minifigure R2-D2 make this set all the more complete. The one thing I think would have made the set better woould be the inclusion of either a light or sound brick, to make him that much more interactive. This is my favourite set for the year! A must have for Star Wars fans or model collectors, as he looks great displayed, but is still fun to play with!

APWBD777
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
R2D2 it is you it is you
4/20/2014

Customer review by Modman322

5.0 stars 4/20/2014 by Modman322
by Modman322

Just finished the best part of the build which was the Head, truly great detail and a great design! One piece thats really annoying is R2 Eye, which is soooo loose! One major headache is taking 45mins to work out how to get R2 in the 3rd leg position and after watching endless you tube clips and screaming at it....still didnt help....but then all of a sudden it clicks in place....I dare not change it back to the 2 leg position!!!!! Rating.....The build 8/10 really enjoyable Playability.....really dont know why they bother trying to put a couple of ‘features’ to add to some kind of playability....the Figure is for show!! 3/10 R2 looks really amazing when finished and a truly great addition to my Star Wars Lego Collection.

Modman322
London
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Loved it!
11/2/2014

Customer review by jigot

5.0 stars 11/2/2014 by jigot
by jigot

I've built a lot of Lego over this years. More recently, I have helped my daughters build their Lego. I'm allowed to sort the pieces as they come out of the bags and to provide the required bits for the next step. Occasionally, I get to build a small section, especially if there's a 'x2' in the instructions. But I bought R2D2 for myself, so this time the tables were turned. My younger daughter (aged 12) was allowed to assist - she was even allowed to build one of the legs! We really enjoyed building this set and I particularly liked the mechanism for releasing / securing the third leg. There probably isn't a great deal of play value in this set, but I love it!

jigot
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Enjoyable!
7/22/2012

Customer review by Crimson

5.0 stars 7/22/2012 by Crimson
by Crimson

As a Star wars fan, seeing this on the shelves as I peeked around in København. I fell in love. After finally getting home after a 9 hour drive, I sat down right away starting to build it. Even though I was tired as heck! i sat up for 2 hours getting 3 bags done. the day after I almost skipped breakfast just to get going on it again. It was really addictive. I love Lego but it's been a while since I've been building. Didn't find it way to difficult but you need to take your time building it. the middle leg is a bit fiddly towork with. but that's about the only con I have for it. You need to be a Star wars fan to enjoy it the most but all in all it's a fun build :)

Crimson
Skiptvet
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The droid I was looking for...
5/12/2012

Customer review by LegobearMark

5.0 stars 5/12/2012 by LegobearMark
by LegobearMark

May the force be in your LEGO collection. I have been waiting for this for a couple of months and absolutely love it. Great kit, R2D2 is my favourite droid from Starwars. Took me about 6 hours to put together including some tea breaks. Some parts are a little tricky especially those intend parts. Watch the you tube video which shows how to make sure you extend the legs properly. Good kit and well worth the money, I honestly tought it would be over £250. Goes well in my LEGO starwars collection. Looks amazing next to the Death Star, AT-ST, AT-AT, Home one calamari, slave 1 and Millenium Falcon. If you love Lego and star wars then this is the kit for you.

LegobearMark
London
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
R2D2!!!!!!
12/14/2014

Customer review by buildssofast

5.0 stars 12/14/2014 by buildssofast
by buildssofast

This is a superior set, with a 360 spinning head, pop-out tools, retractable third leg and easy-to-read instructions. R2 looks like the real thing, blue, gray and white. The little info sheet taught me things I didn't even know. This set also includes the mini version of R2D2. The way R2 functions is amazing and they used building techniques that I have never seen before. I love this set in so many ways, and looks good near all my other Star Wars sets. A great set collectors of lego Star Wars will love. Makes a great gift to builders of all ages. This set just makes other sets look ordinary. Please enjoy your R2D2 as much as I do.

buildssofast
darien
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Everyone needs a droid
1/17/2013

Customer review by Stumpy

5.0 stars 1/17/2013 by Stumpy
by Stumpy

I loved making this set. There are some really nice features on this which makes it lots of fun to build. It is a relatively straightforward build to anyone who has built even simple technic models, but the finished product looks excellent and has been admired by many a passing Lego and Star Wars fan. It now sits pride of place on the corner of my desk to keep me company whilst at work. This model is particularly good at mixing various Lego building techniques (e.g. studless on the third tread) and is a really good mix of components. Took me about 4 hours to build all in split over two days. Lots of fun seeing the model come together though.

Stumpy
Edinburgh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A fantastic addition to the UC Series!
5/22/2012

Customer review by Njal

5.0 stars 5/22/2012 by Njal
by Njal

I have to admit, I was a bit apprehensive about this kit, as the old Ultimate Collector Series sculptures of Yoda and Darth Maul are simply some of the less interesting pieces in my UCS collection. But I was definitely pleasently suprised with this kit! The model features plenty of moveable parts, such as a rotating head, fully retractable third leg, and hidded tools like the buzzsaw. The completed model is reasonably sturdy- it sort of shakes/wobbles but it definitely won't fall apart on you. The parts in the kit are sorted into ten different sets of bags, which will let you assemble the kit without ever having to sort through gargantuan mounds of parts. I think this makes construction too fast and easy, though, so I opted to empty all the bags and mix them all together at teh beginning- I'd recommend doing the same if you're somewhat experienced. Also, the kit is priced EXTREMELY well. The cost is well less than $0.10 a piece, which is exceptionally good on a kit as colorful (and with so great a variety of pieces). I mean look a tthe new Star Destroyer- It has hundreds of identical mass-produced pieces and Lego is asking about $0.13 per part- adding $100 to the total cost (making it unaffordable to people like myself). But to be less negative- Thank you lego for such a fun, attractive and EXTREMELY well-priced kit!!! BUY IT!!!

Njal
Fort Collins
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 117 total reviews
1-20 of 117 reviews