Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 77 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

77 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

77 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
69
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-20 of 76 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 76 total reviews
1-20 of 76 reviews
Great!!!!
12/8/2013

Customer review by Stegge11m0m

5.0 stars 12/8/2013 by Stegge11m0m
by Stegge11m0m

Fun for son!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stegge11m0m
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lego Creator Sopwith Camel Review
4/26/2014

Customer review by wolviefanmike

5.0 stars 4/26/2014 by wolviefanmike
by wolviefanmike

Well,what can I say about the Lego Sopwith Camel Airplane and here it is,this is one of the best Lego Sets ever,but honestly I just can't decide between this,the Horizon Express,or the Pirates of the Caribbean Black Pearl set,and it is so hard to pick one over the other (or in this case,between 3 of them),but I will say of those 3 this one seemed about equal in building complexity as the Horizon Express but I really don't just base my Lego's on how hard it is to build,there's other things I consider too. But as for the Sopwith Camel I give it 10 all around for complexity,the design,and just plain looks to the real thing.So I would totally recommend this to the age group on the box of 14+.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wolviefanmike
Marshall,Tx.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome Biplane
8/9/2013

Customer review by Gjabe35

5.0 stars 8/9/2013 by Gjabe35
by Gjabe35

If your reading this you are probably interested in buying this set and I will let you know that this set I showing to be put on the retiring list very soon so get one why you can now the review. I got this set from Lego.com came here in about five days which is great I immediately started sorting out the pieces which takes about 30 minutes. This build was quite challenging which made it fun I thought that the string would be very difficult and complicated but it did not. The build is extremely fun and classic and the best part is looking at it complete. The flaps function like the actual Sopwith Camel which is awesome. It's really nice that there was not very many stickers which was helpful. The engine is extremely detailed the engine is large like the real one. The stickers on the top flaps are British Royal Air Force logos. The guns on the front are a very nice touch overall this is just a fun challenging detailed classic set and my personal favorite for 2012-2013 and I highly recommend getting before it retires.

Gjabe35
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sopwith Camel: 5/5
7/6/2013

Customer review by boyzinoz

5.0 stars 7/6/2013 by boyzinoz
by boyzinoz

This set is a fantastic set. It is totally worth the money, and is a challenging, but fun build. What made the build particularly hard was that there were no numbered bags. I built the set in 3 hours with no mistakes. The 2 instruction manuals aren't split evenly, but are still smartly divided. This is a great set that is a perfect replica of the Sopwith Camel. It would look great any where on display.

boyzinoz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
New Favorite
8/27/2012

Customer review by FlyingSioux

5.0 stars 8/27/2012 by FlyingSioux
by FlyingSioux

I received this as a 30th birthday gift, I have been building since I was 5 years old. There are a lot of pieces. A brick separator tool is included. It took about 4 hours at a leisurely pace to build this model. The flight control surfaces move, and despite a previous reviewer's comments the surfaces do move correctly, I should know I am a certified flight instructor and professional airline pilot. The value is incredible and it is sturdy enough to play with as long as the person doing the playing is not too rough with the aircraft. I highly recommend this model for any LEGO, aviation, or model enthusiast.

FlyingSioux
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
An Average play toy, but an Awesome Collectable
6/6/2012

Customer review by Legofan2010

5.0 stars 6/6/2012 by Legofan2010
by Legofan2010

It is a very rare and very collectible plane. I think it is a great plane to be a lego set. And if there was to be a plane made from the WW 2, i would have the B-25C Mitchell Bomber or a P-41 Mustang Fighter

Legofan2010
Pearland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best set ever
12/5/2012

Customer review by deathstar1017

5.0 stars 12/5/2012 by deathstar1017
by deathstar1017

OK when i first saw this set i thouth it looked very hard and i did not like it. but when i got a good look at it. It looked pretty sweet. But if you're just starting to build i wouldn't buy this set because its really hard. Ok its time to get to the PROS and CONS. PROS Perfect designing sweet fuselage but hard to put together rudders work great (but need some breaking in) CONS lots of little parts the stickers are hard to put on because they barely fit on the piece I would recommend this set to anyone.

deathstar1017
calgary
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
SOPWITH #1! (| :
6/17/2012

Customer review by lego551

5.0 stars 6/17/2012 by lego551
by lego551

AMAZING is the only word to describe this kit. Moving flaps, New Lego techniques, Amazing detail, Up-to-date design, and Great playability! This kit has it ALL! My favorite section of it is the propeller canisters. They were amazingly created with unparallelled detail! Oh and the size! It is mouth O= gapingly huge! measuring 19 1/2 inches at its wings and from front to back 16 inches! I also love the 'wires' that go along the plane and actually serve a purpose that the Sopwiths did back at that time. There is also great detail in the guns on the front and the rudder on the back (which actually turns side to side) I would no doubt recommend this kit to a friend and anyone else who likes classic detailed models like this. The only cons I have are the fact that the tail wings are being pulled up by the front stick, and that the rubber bands keep coming off of the wheels, but let's not dwell on that to much. This model is a great buy you should certainly get.

lego551
Simi Valley
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/3/2013

Customer review by NvdK

5.0 stars 1/3/2013 by NvdK
by NvdK

Great and impressive exclusive mode with loads of special colored bricks.

NvdK
Oosterhout
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best choice
6/7/2012

Customer review by LegoInventor

5.0 stars 6/7/2012 by LegoInventor
by LegoInventor

This set is completely fun, playing with it and building it as fun also, I would recommend this to all lego builders.

LegoInventor
Pasadena
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Super Cool Set!
7/1/2013

Customer review by GideonF210

5.0 stars 7/1/2013 by GideonF210
by GideonF210

Hey guys! :D Ever since I first saw this set on LEGO.com I always wanted to buy it. It wasn't until a few months later though, that I received it for my 15th birthday. This set was awesome! It was really fun to build and I was very happy with the great assortment of LEGO bricks that came with the set, for example, the dark green bricks. I also thought the amount of string(13+) that came with the set was great! The LEGO Sopwith Camel was really fun to play with. I even found myself once spinning the propeller repeatedly for at least 10 minutes! Overall I think it is a great set and I am very happy that I bought it. :)

GideonF210
Auckland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good buy for history lovers
8/17/2012

Customer review by Harddog

5.0 stars 8/17/2012 by Harddog
by Harddog

A great buy and a fun build, alot of detail and looks pretty cool up on display.

Harddog
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best lego ever!!
9/9/2012

Customer review by Speeder

5.0 stars 9/9/2012 by Speeder
by Speeder

This is super cool. I built it in 5 1/2 hours. It has very realistic features and functions. My favorite model so far!!

Speeder
houston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Sopwith Camel plane
1/9/2013

Customer review by vince1972

5.0 stars 1/9/2013 by vince1972
by vince1972

As with most adults I haven't paid much attention to the lego world until now. I was walking through the local mall when I saw this sharp looking model bi-plane in a display window. I nearly knocked my wife over turning around to get a better look at it when I realized we were in front of the Lego store and the plane was a lego kit. WOW! I was really impressed. Yup, I had to have it! The people at Lego really went over the top designing this beautiful plane. The color scheme, design, attention to detail, is amazing for a lego product. I liked the moving wing flaps, the detail of the radial engine (note: the propeller is supposed to spin not the entire engine, oh well still looks great) the choice of colors, all of it very well designed. Now Lego needs to come out with some WWII planes like the North American P-51 "Mustang" or the Supermarine Spitfire or even the legendary Boeing B-17 Flying Fortress bomber (imagine the massive wing span with those four huge radial engines, and all the 50cal. gun turrets to build on that!). Now that would truly be an exceptional model plane. Excellent job Lego, keep the great models like this coming.

vince1972
Lynnwood
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just Wow..
6/19/2012

Customer review by fighter0f22

5.0 stars 6/19/2012 by fighter0f22
by fighter0f22

This is the most fantastic set ever made in the history of ever. Ever. Period. This is unbelievably incredible. The functionality... the detail... Of course, being a military aviation buff I have a bias opinion but this is knock your socks of awesome. So... the functionality is flawless (except that its reversed, so pulling the rod left makes it go right. I would know I actually fly). People who complain that there isn't a tail wheel are wrong. The real plane only has a stick. So... Pros and Cons. Pros: Functionality Exceptional detail Minimal stickers Cons: Functionality inverted.

fighter0f22
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Set
7/12/2012

Customer review by swampeye

5.0 stars 7/12/2012 by swampeye
by swampeye

I personally loved this lego being a history buff and lover.(especially of WWI-WWII era stuff) It was especially good because of the detail put into it. It kept me occupied for several hours and was fun to build. The back flaps do not move as well with the joystick. But other then that it's a great lego and display piece. I would love to see more planes and authentic things such as this by lego. Some suggestions: Fokker Triplane, Spitfire Mk I, Bf 109, P-47(or P-51), and many more could be designed. An interesting one that could be built is a B-17 or Lancaster Mk III heavy bombers. All in all this was a great purchase.

swampeye
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I'm waiting!
6/22/2012

Customer review by wifiducky

5.0 stars 6/22/2012 by wifiducky
by wifiducky

over all its a great buy and fun to play around with ;) there are some things id like to change like the stickers i always hated that but oh well now!!!! LEGO!! please make a new red baron so i can have the matching set

wifiducky
pasadena
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A Rare Lego WarBird
1/18/2013

Customer review by lenniedou

5.0 stars 1/18/2013 by lenniedou
by lenniedou

First of all, I just want to say that I highly recommend buying this set before it goes extinct! You don't often see a Lego Set like this having alot of features close to the real bird around plus the model itself is based on a historical plane! A must have for aviation fans! Flight controls are a plus on this set as well! Although motion is limited, it is still quite a feat to have this on a Lego model. I heard the previous Sopwith Camel (the brown one) didn't even have the same features as this. Moving the cyclic stick left and right will move the ailerons, forward and aft for the elevator. Moving flight control surfaces involves those minus the rudder. I wish they came up with pedals as well to move the rudder but other than that, the biplane looks like the real thing! Its pretty much looking at a real Sopwith Camel transformed into a Lego set. The RAF stickers by far we're a bit challenging for me because you have to center it to the square block to where it goes to. Not something that you want to hurry up and just stick it otherwise it'll really look crooked. It comes with rubber o-rings to help provide tension on the flight controls(and a pair as well to help keep traction on its landing gear) and nylon thread strings to transfer controls from the cyclic stick to the ailerons. How they came up with the flight controls was genius to incorporate them to a Lego set! It was nice for them to even include a brick separator as well seeing that most of the parts involved in assembling this set are skinny plates and small blocks.. to probably minimize the gaps and holes usually seen from other typical Lego sets. When you view this set from afar it really does look like the real thing! Kudos to the designers for this set! This would be a nice decoration to a fireplace or to any other spot in your house, specially to the aviation fans out there!

lenniedou
Queen Creek
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Build, Incredible Model
6/3/2012

Customer review by phelgo

5.0 stars 6/3/2012 by phelgo
by phelgo

Bought this thinking it was a re-release of the older 2001 version. The functioning controls was an awesome surprise. 1st non-friends build with my daughter and this has def. turned her into a huge lego fan. Very happy to see such solid construction, heft and function into what looks like a delicate model. Sold my whole technic collection to start buying more of the exclusive releases and could not be happier with The Camel. Great job lego. Only suggestion, 14+ is a little high and might turn off some potential builders. Its not as difficult as technic and seems fine for 8-10+.

phelgo
Austin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great but...
6/21/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/21/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

As others have stated, this is an impressive kit and perhaps the best Father's Day gift I've ever received. My issue with it is missing pieces, 12 so far and I'm 85% done. I've raided the boy's Lego bin for the parts and so far I've been able to find replacement parts but it's pretty annoying, especially considering the retail price of the kit. I'll defiantly recommend this to all my aviation/history buddies, despite the parts issues. I did see Lego has a pretty slick replacement parts service which I'll look into after the plane is finished.

An anonymous customer
Stykersville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 76 total reviews
1-20 of 76 reviews