Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 96 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

96 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

96 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
73
4 stars
19
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-20 of 92 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 92 total reviews
1-20 of 92 reviews
Wonderful, yet...
6/24/2012

Customer review by trainmaster

5.0 stars 6/24/2012 by trainmaster
by trainmaster

This set is definitely a good set. However, it is extremely small, so be very watchful and keep a strong consideration about the set. The pros do outweigh the cons, though, and its characters are worth. Lego did a very good job doing LOTR people, but the sets feel a little bit skimpy. This one in particular. I feel that they could of added a bit more to the set. The pros: The minifigs are all amazing (Legolas and Gimli particularly) and are worth the money. The cave troll is huge and cool looking, but his club (this is just me now) comes apart really easy. The orcs are identical, although their faces can change. One orc has a Uruk-hai shield. The set includes a full set of Heroica weapons. The set has three diamonds, one emerald, and two golden geodes. The set has falling pillars. Very good for killing orcs. The cons: The skeletons have new, more compact (therefore not as cute) faces. The set is a bit small and overprices. I would save for Helm's Deep. Well, that's all. I hope my review helped. Trainmaster

trainmaster
Winchester
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
TO THE BATCAVE!!!
7/27/2012

Customer review by legobuilderguy115

4.0 stars 7/27/2012 by legobuilderguy115
by legobuilderguy115

This set has its good and bad sides, but it does not disappoint! Compared to the previous version of this set (7783 The Batcave: The Penguin and Mr Freeze's Invasion), the older one still seems to be the best. This is due to the fact that this lego comes with less minifigures, and the batcave is somewhat smaller. However, this set is fun to play with and the minifigures are GREAT in detail! PROS: - New Bruce Wayne/Batman transformation chamber! - Large sliding doors - New and better detailed versions of BATMAN, BRUCE WAYNE, ROBIN, BANE, and POISON IVY - drill on bane's drill tank spins when moved! - plenty of flick fire missles CONS: - Batcycle is kinda small and cheesy compared to the one in 7886 The Batcycle: Harley Quinn's Hammer Truck - Bane's drill tank was smaller than i expected /: - red phone gets stuck in its holding piece when you try to pick it up - only 5 minifigs. we could have used a Tim Drake or Alfred minifig Despite the cons, it is still a fun set! However, if you have the old Batcave, i recommend sticking with that one and not purchasing this one.

legobuilderguy115
Stratford
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Mines of Moria!!! Awesome!'
6/28/2012

Customer review by AleHANDdro

5.0 stars 6/28/2012 by AleHANDdro
by AleHANDdro

Awesome, good detail & fun, fun, fun!! I love LOTRs so I'm Sure I'll like The Hobbit; the set had a lot of specific locations in the tomb that were in the movie & really fun to put together. Minifigs are cool too...all in all, great purchase!!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AleHANDdro
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
It was good to get a troll.
11/25/2012

Customer review by HrwAmen

4.0 stars 11/25/2012 by HrwAmen
by HrwAmen

This set is my biggest Lord Of The Rings Purchase so far and I was looking forwards to getting it. Although I knew in advance that it did not have one it was still a little disappointing that there was no base plate to put all the structures on to give them a grounding. I like the door a lot and have charged the troll through it countless times. Also the well feature is pretty good even if it could have been a brick or so deeper, a thing that is easy to fix if you have the right bricks. One thing I think would improve the set a lot is more Moria Orcs / Goblins as in the film the place was swimming with them. But overall it is a fun set to build and has many good features to enable play. It just could have been that little bit better for the sake of one or two extra things. However still a very decent set that I would recomend as a must have item for any Lord of The Rings fan.

HrwAmen
Weymouth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great set, but...
1/4/2013

Customer review by mysteriouslegoguy

4.0 stars 1/4/2013 by mysteriouslegoguy
by mysteriouslegoguy

ok, im not saying this is a bad set or anything, this is a great lego set and is more or less a really good value for money, but my one big problem is that the mines of moria was the one big fight scene with the COMPLETE fellowship of the ring, the COMPLETE fellowship should be in this set. now i know why you cant put the complete fellowship in but im just saying, wheres gandalf? he played a big part in that scene. wheres frodo, i mean he got stabbed at the end by the cave troll and hes not even in the set. and the other problem is that if your a big Lord of the rings fan and you want the complete fellowship, you have to get every set! aragon, gimli, and frodo are all only in 2 different sets each and legolas, boromir pippin merry and sam are all only come in one set each. i cant afford all these sets so i had to make a custom aragon merry pippin boromir and sam. but, overall this is still a great lego set and i would highly recomend it. lego, please dont not post my comment. im not trying to offend or hurt you im just criticising. the set is fairly easy to construct and recreates this scene well. 9/10 set

mysteriouslegoguy
Dubai
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A must for fans of the LOTR Lego.
11/16/2012

Customer review by Hathem

4.0 stars 11/16/2012 by Hathem
by Hathem

This set is probably one of the best in the series, if not THE best. The price is quite reasonable for what you get. Mini-figures: The range and amount of mini figures is quite good. The quality of them is excellent. Many of the Mini-figures (except troll of course) come with two different faces. The troll is probably the most interesting one, it is really big and very well done, however more articulation in the legs would have been nice. A few more Moria Orcs would have been nice, seeing how in the movie there was so many of them. It's hard to recreate this scene with only two. Weapons: This set includes many weapons, very unique ones too. Including some very crude looking orc weapons which are a very nice addition. Accessories: This set is also great to expand your collection of lego accessories, including buckets, gems, chests, bones, books and more.

Hathem
Medicine Hat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I now have the entire Fellowship!
6/27/2012

Customer review by LegoDwarf

4.0 stars 6/27/2012 by LegoDwarf
by LegoDwarf

This is the 6th set I received in this theme. As a LOTR fan it is a must! I now have the entire Fellowship of the ring, and only need the Helms Deep set to complete the collection. Here we go... Pros: The set has 6 exclusive figures: Legolas, Boromir, Pippen, two Moria orcs (aka goblins), and one cave troll. The details on the set are great and the details on the figures are great. The pieces all fit with the scene, (except the whole treasure box thing). and most of the scene is movie accurate. The price per piece count is pretty good. Cons: Stickers! I think this is the first set in this series that I have that has them. Although the are good stickers, they are still stickers, just print the patterns on the bricks. Hopefully these sets are to test the market, because if they continue this line they are going to need a lot more bricks with Dwarven runes printed on them. Next, the set does not connect, it is just literally pieces of a set and not a whole set. They should have found a way to connect the set pieces together. I'm hoping that they will add to this set further down the line with other sets. If you're a LOTR fan this set is for you, if not, then it's only good for parts.

LegoDwarf
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderfully thought out set! Splendid!
12/31/2012

Customer review by ARCCommanderFrodo

5.0 stars 12/31/2012 by ARCCommanderFrodo
by ARCCommanderFrodo

I received this set from my sister. The first noticeable thing is the immense size of the box. It's huge! As the set came together, the visions of Moria came to mind. The doors are stunning, and an added function allows a large chunk to fly off. The book/treasure wall is quite large, and other functions slide treasure from the dark and topple pillars onto unsuspecting cave trolls. Balin's tomb is straight from the movie, and has a function to reveals poor Balin's skeleton underneath. The well was my least favorite part of the set. It doesn't have a piece to hold the Skelton up, so he falls in with the bucket before Pippin comes close. The figures are wonderful, but a few more orcs and printed legs would have been great. We must wait for the Balrog set in May. Good job lego, keep it up!

ARCCommanderFrodo
Orlando
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I LOVE THE PRODUCTS
12/29/2012

Customer review by tf7762

4.0 stars 12/29/2012 by tf7762
by tf7762
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I LOVE BUYING AT WALMART WHEN EVERYBODY ELSE WAS DOUBLELING ON THERE PRICES FOR LORD OF THE RINGS LEGO WALMART WAS THE ONE WHO MAINTAIN THERE PRICES TO JUSTICE AND AFFORDABLE IN ADDITION TO THAT LOVE THERE IMEDIATE SPEEDY SAME DAY CANCELATION CAUZED I CAN QUICKLY KEEP LOOKING FOR OTHER WALMARTS SO I COULD GET ALL THE ITEMS I WANTED TO MY LITTLE ONE HAPPY TO COMPLETED HES SET OF LEGOS LORD OF THE RINGS LOVE WALMART YOU GUYS ARE THE BEST AND VERY COMPETITIVE WITH OTHER STORES NOBODY COULD BEAT THE PRICES I GOT ON THE ITEM A FOR EVER LOYAL CUSTOMER ESPECIALLY IN THE TIMES OF SEASON EVERYTHING WAS SO EASY AND THE LINES WHEN READY TO PICK UP ITEMS WERE NEVER LONG ONE TIME THEY WERE AND THEY TOOK QUICK ACTION TO OPEN THE CAMERA SECTION SO SERVICE COULD BE FAST FOR ONLINE SHOPPERS LOVE IT THANKS WALMART SINCERLY A HAPPY HAPPY CUSTOMER

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tf7762
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A Very Nice Set, But a Bit Pricey
9/1/2012

Customer review by drmcdoct0r

4.0 stars 9/1/2012 by drmcdoct0r
by drmcdoct0r

This set was a very nice set to build as it took me a few hours(2 and a half-ish). It comes with several exclusive minifigures, such as Legolas, Boromir and Pippin. The Cave Troll is also exclusive to the set as well as the two Moria Orcs(although the set should come with one or two more). The set has some nice, movie-accurate functions, like falling pillars, falling walls and the tomb that breaks open. The skeleton can fall into the well when something is pushed and a treasure chest can be revealed by pushing something. The minifigures are great for collectors and kids alike, as they are extremely detailed. However, the set is a bit pricey and the price should be dropped $10-20. If you're a hardcore lotr fan or hardcore lego fan like me though, it is completely worth it.

drmcdoct0r
St. Paul
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Mines of Moria
6/9/2012

Customer review by Brocktree1234

5.0 stars 6/9/2012 by Brocktree1234
by Brocktree1234

This set is one of the best Lord of the Rings Lego sets made. This set is well priced piece-for-piece and comes with Legolas, Boromir, and Pippin who are exclusive to this set. I built this with my younger brother and we had a lot of fun. The only cons are that there are about 25 stickers (literally) and the well function DOES NOT WORK. Also, there was a rumor spreading that Boromir's shield was a sticker. It is not, so don't worry. The Tomb function works perfectly as does the exploding gate. The towers that fall are well done and work about 95% of the time. The minifigures (except the two skeletons) all have double-sided faces and all are well armed. The Moria orcs have nice weapons as does the Fellowship. Anyway, this is overall a well done set. 9/10 Brocktree1234

Brocktree1234
Indianapolis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A Really Great Buy
3/21/2013

Customer review by Macedon

5.0 stars 3/21/2013 by Macedon
by Macedon

Well, I new that I was going to get most if not all of the Lord of the Rings sets. When I got to the Mines of Moria, I was thinking: "Okay, it's the scene where they fight the cave troll. Sounds cool." When I got home, ripped open the box, and started building, I was speechless. This was a really great product. I loved how the goblins had reversible faces, and all the Fellowship minifigures in it had incredible detail. Right down the under shirt Boromir wears. My favorite part of the set is all of the collapsing components. Especially the columns. The detail on the gate is incredible. The doors look really beat up like in the movie. The whole set looks like it came right out of Peter Jackson's head. It seems a little pricy for its size, but over all, it's worth it.

Macedon
Altamonte Springs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LOVE This Set!
3/21/2013

Customer review by LOTRNerd

5.0 stars 3/21/2013 by LOTRNerd
by LOTRNerd

I purchased the Mines of Moria set recently, and I have to say it is probably one of my favourite sets! I am a HUGE Lord of the Rings fan, and it is the reason I started collecting LEGO. The set is absolutely amazing and I love the minifigures. The Cave Troll is super cool, it is detailed and movie-accurate. All the mini figures in this set are fantastic and very detailed, as well. Also,I loved the functions in this set. The well feature worked extremely well and the falling pillars were a realistic touch when reenacting the battle scene. I also love how detailed the set is, even applying the stickers, they add a very nice touch. This is absolutely a set you should purchase. I believe it is worth the money and I am VERY pleased with my purchase.

LOTRNerd
Toronto
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
One of the best sets
5/20/2012

Customer review by LegoRedfoo

5.0 stars 5/20/2012 by LegoRedfoo
by LegoRedfoo

Lots of detail and Mini-Figs, A con would be that there's a lot of stickers. The set has exclusive Mini-Figs like, Pipin, Legolas, Borimier, and the cave troll. Overall this is a good set, a little pricey but you do get exclusive Mini-Figs, and a orange brick separator which is about $1.00 So it's a good set. It's worth the price just cuz of the Mini-Figs, and all the detail lego put in to make this set, there's also new sword molds and hair molds, so gimli alone is about $1.25, Legolas about $1.00 because of his really long hair, pipin would be about 0.50 because of his new hair and sword mold, Borimier is about $1.25 because of his hair and sword, and the cave troll about $2.00 because of his size. So that's about $3.00 in Mini-Figs

LegoRedfoo
Tampa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
An alright set.
12/13/2012

Customer review by fusrodahdovahkiin

3.0 stars 12/13/2012 by fusrodahdovahkiin
by fusrodahdovahkiin

OK. This set was alright for me. It came with some pretty sweet goblins but i felt that it should have come with one or two more. The troll is impressive other than he cannot hold his club unless swinging. Legolas was another disappointing thing. He has no quiver which is not to big of a deal but it is the little things that count. Another thing that i am not a big fan of is that the minifigures have two expressions on their heads. Scared and Angry. I also had to modify Gimli's ax because it was not even close to proportionally right. I also had to modify Balin's tomb. It had a a hole in the side for somthing and was unrealistic. HAd to fix that. Overall cool decals and overall decent. Not a good price but would recommend it.

fusrodahdovahkiin
Frederick
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
11/4/2012

Customer review by 2boyzinmylife

5.0 stars 11/4/2012 by 2boyzinmylife
by 2boyzinmylife

My son loves this set. He is ten. He put the entire thing together himself, he wanted to accomplish it alone. He uses it quite often and has a special place on his bedroom shelf that he displays it on along with the spider set. He saved up his money for these, and is very glad with his purchases. Both are winners!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2boyzinmylife
Castle Rock, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Here lies Balin, son of Fundin
7/29/2013

Customer review by legojedimaster2

5.0 stars 7/29/2013 by legojedimaster2
by legojedimaster2

The Mines of Moria is a very cool set. The stickers are very nice and well done. I'll start with the minifigures. The Minifigures: I really like the cave troll he is really cool, and the two Moria Orcs are very nice too. My favorite minifigure was Boromir, and Pippin is nice, and I also really like Legolas, and the two skeletons are cool. The gate: The gate is a very nice part of the set, I really like the design of the doors, and the flick action part of this section of the set is cool. Balin's tomb: Balin's tomb is a nice feature, the flick function is nice and works well. The well: The well is nice, I had lots of fun dropping the skeleton down it. Pros: Great minifigures Great Stickers Overall Great set Cons: None

legojedimaster2
Hillsboro
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
They have a cave troll!
6/10/2012

Customer review by Brickydog13

5.0 stars 6/10/2012 by Brickydog13
by Brickydog13

This is a very detailed set. It is one of the closest to the movie in structure and detail. My favorite character in this set is Gimli, because of his very detailed helmet and weapons. Boromir comes next, he is very well done with his iconic shield and cape. The only down side to this set is Legolas' hair cannot turn so that he can shoot sideways. Now to the main part of this set, The cave troll! He stands as tall as two minifigs and cannot be stable unless he is on a baseplate. The pillars that fall down work about 98% of the time, the gate destruction works about 80% of the time and Balin's tomb destruction works well if you have the skeleton feet up. As for the well it works OK. Overall This is a good set, Buy it now!

Brickydog13
Indianapolis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Drums, Drums in the Deep!
5/22/2012

Customer review by Ereesden

5.0 stars 5/22/2012 by Ereesden
by Ereesden

This is a very well done set. The architecture of the set is spot on. the designer did a really great job on making the bricks look "aged" by incorporating tiles on various studs, angled bricks, etc. The tipping pillars, treasure chest, and "exploding" door frame are very cool additional features. -Pros - - Awesome Mini Figs - Well Designed Set - Very Accurate Depiction of Balin's Tomb - Fun to Build! -Cons- - Too Many Stickers. May be hard for children to place stickers. - Lack of Mini Figs. For $80 a couple more Moria Goblins could be included. - I feel like it needs a baseplate to be displayed properly. Overall, I am very happy with my purchase. I hope to collect all the LOTR sets over the next few years!

Ereesden
Minneapolis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My 11 year old nephew will love this
12/2/2012

Customer review by Ctresident

5.0 stars 12/2/2012 by Ctresident
by Ctresident
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this for my great nephew as he is a Lord of the Rings fan and a Lego Fan...I felt it was a bit pricey, but wasnt surprised to have to pay that amount.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ctresident
Central Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 92 total reviews
1-20 of 92 reviews