Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.5out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 | 48 reviews
5 stars
31
4 stars
9
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
Sort by: 
1-20 of 47 reviews
1-20 of 47 reviews
Awesome
8/18/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have just one thing to say and that's this set is awesome. It has a lot of cool features, including the pedestrian bridge, shelter building, and taxicab. The section of platform with the shelter building actually detaches from the rest of the model, allowing you to put the building on either side. Trains with fronts that are far enough in front of their front wheels, such as the Horizon Express or Emerald Night, tend to hit the pedestrian bridge if arriving from that direction on a curve, but the set includes enough straight track to prevent that from happening. The platform is a bit short; some sort of extension available separately would be nice for future train stations. Overall, I'd say LEGO did a great job with this one.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
OK set
12/29/2010
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This set is a good addition to the 7938 Passenger Train. I love the over-the-track walkway, which adds a lot of playability. However, it isn't perfect. I would personally like a modular station, not the kind in this set where there isn't a back wall. It doesn't have nearly enough room to be a functional station. But, I guess that's why it's intended for kids 6-12. The taxi cab is pretty cool, but I don't think it belongs in a train station set. Maybe a small train car or something else would be better. There are also some issues with trains going near the station. There aren't any issues with the 7938 Passenger Train, but there are some problems with the 10194 Emerald Night. The designers of this set (thankfully) made the track space 10 studs wide, so even the Emerald Night makes it through the station if placed correctly. However, you have to be careful where you put the station, because if you put the station near a turn, the Emerald Night won't be able to clear the white support beams for the walkway, because the smoke deflectors bump into the supports. (See Emerald Night vs. Walkway picture below) Another issue is the platforms. This set works fine with a single-track layout, but if you have a double track or triple track layout it can get messy, especiallly if you have limited space. This is because the right platform (with the taxi cab near it) seven studs wide, so putting a track next to it could get hairy. I have fixed this by curving the other track away from the station. (see Platform Solution picture below) But overall, this set is okay. I don't know why this set was aimed towards kids 6-12, though, because I think it could have been a lot better if it had more detail. But, I guess you can't please everyone.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
We advise our customers that train 1E4 is late...
4/1/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I got this set because I really needed a station, and, in my opinion, this station works well. The taxi you get is well designed too. The station is pretty wide, 32 studs. The pedestrian bridge, as TLC calls it, was one of the main reasons I needed this set. The small building includes some sorta shop, and that's nice. I don't have the new passenger train, but the one from 2006, that I personally like better (it appears on the picture). I had some issues similar to the ones another reviewer had with the emerald night: If i put the station near a turn the train's front hits the yards. The solution is to put the station in a point with at least 4 straight rails. Also, you could combine this with other stations. I mean, that if youbuy this set twice, you can combine them together. The Taxi is nice, and fits two minifigs, together with a storage area. Now, pros and cons area: Pros: Taxi Pedestrian bridge Modular Cons Small issues with older trains.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
You might need two of these!
11/7/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I liked this set very much. Big bonus - four lengths of straight track included in the set! In fact, if you buy this set AND the Level Crossing, there's 8 straight tracks in total without needing to buy the Straight and Flexy Tracks pack. It's got everything you need for a small station out in the 'suburbs' of LEGO City. Ticket machine, kiosk/waiting room and a bridge to get you from one side of the station to the other. Personally, I would have liked to have seen a wider bridge spanning an 'up' and 'down' line but that would obviously add a chunk to the cost and it would need to be a bit more structurally rigid. Track spacing should have an 8 stud pitch between lines so the smaller 6 stud wide platform would sit nicely between two correctly spaced tracks. I'd just add a couple of extra slope bricks to clip to the sleepers on the other line, but apart from that, it's a pretty good set. If you got two of these, you would of course have a station at each end of your layout! Pros - 4 lengths of straight strack. Cons - None spring to mind - a great little set!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Small Cosy Station
6/7/2010
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Pros: Finally a bridge across my tracks! Love the Taxi. First taxi in my lego city. Cons: Station is alittle too small Bridge only goes across 1 track Not enough minifigures Main building is a tuckshop! Taxi stickers are soooooo small! There's many things to like about this station - the bridge is very well designed and stable. The store is stacked with products and the new timetable is nice and big. The taxi included is great! finally an official Taxi from lego! But i have real problems with this set. The old stations are much larger and grander than this. there's alot of stickers and the main building is basically a convenience store. There appears to be a gate entry but no ticketing machine or gates. Really in my mind this is not a station - its more like an accessory - a footbridge + convenience store.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Stylish but...
6/30/2010
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The new train station is cleverly detailed and has at last a second platform to allow the doors on both sides of the train to be used - or even a second set of tracks to be added to the outside. The Taxi takes two minifigures as well as luggage and the shop has a sliding door, a feature I've not seen before. Lots of stickers for decoration and a three-stage build, taxi, platform & footbridge, and shop. The main feature for me, is the passenger bridge, a great improvement on the stations predecessor. I do have a couple of con's though; The platform shop seems to be too small to be of much playable value and my daughters frustration was evident when she struggled to get her hand in to play. The platforms themselves, although cleverly detailed and laid out, seem to be a little too short for the emerald nights single coach. Overall I think that the pro's balance out the con's but leave a set which could have been a great deal more if the Taxi were dropped for a larger ticket office or if the set were aimed at the next pricing bracket up. Please don't let this put you off though, it is still good value for money and for those of you with a bag of spare bricks, you can always build your own ticket office on the other platform. 6/10
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Train Station
9/9/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I got this set along with Passenger Train set for Christmas last year. It comes with nice mini-figures, especially two more passengers for your train. The train station is detailed and the computer behind the sliding door is a nice touch. I love the elevated platform bridge that the mini-figures can use to get across. I definitely recommend this set to anyone who buys the passenger train set. I wasn't too fond of the stickers that came with the set since they are finicky and hard to get right and centered (especially someone like me who has a little bit of OCD). My only other complaint is that the station isn't long enough to accommodate the two sections of the passenger train for passengers to get off but that's just me being nitpicky.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best Purchase Ever
6/22/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This product (the train station) is the best purchase ever made by me. Everything about it is awesome. Train Station and Ticket Shop The train Station is an easy to build set with soooo much detail. There is a newspaper on the side of the shop that has a picture of the set 3221 (tracter trailer). The two platforms are a great way for passengers to wait for their arriving train. the bridge over the tracks is well constructed. The shop is great and has a small table with drinks. Taxi The taxi is also a great addition to the train station. The cab has room for two people and the travelers luggage. The only negative about it is that the taxi stickers are really small and are a little difficult to put on This is one great set!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Rail Fans
7/16/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I really enjoyed building this set and watching it come together. The platform, store, overhead walkway, taxi, and 4 minifigs are all well done by LEGO. You only get 4 pieces of straight track in this set. I think more should have been included or at least 2 additional flex tracks. I have taken this set to my local train station to show the rail fans and they all think it's great. My Hogwarts Express looks pretty sweet sitting at this station. All Aboard!!!... Pros: Taxi - awesome little car! Platform - very long Minifigs - good variety of figs. Station worker and tourists. Timetable - shows when the train will arrive in different citys - very cool Cons: Stickers No flex track
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
"Platform 1 for the passenger train to..."
6/4/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This has got to be my favourite non-Star Wars purchase yet! This set has it all: A clear instruction manual, good playability, good minifigures, good value for money, good looks and great fun! The station looks brilliant. The design of the bridge is clever and the small details such as the clock, the news and route map stickers, the loudspeaker, the little shop, the slidy door, the lamposts and the flowers are fantastic additions and make the station seem more real and atmospheric. The TAXI is also small and sweet, especially with the little suitcase compartment at the back! Another good point is that it is great fun once you have finished building it. Some sets, you can only build and then you can't do much with, and with others, there is only a limited amount you can do. But with this train station, if you have a passenger train and some track to go with it, you can make up so many story lines and create a lot of different scenarios. This set is very easy to build, like many other city sets, making it an ideal start for a transport-loving LEGO fan! The only construction bug was that the stickers on the TAXI were very fiddely, but that is just me nit-picking. Overall, this set is a must have for all LEGO city, trains or transportation fans and, trust me, you won't regret buying it for your collection! I hope this review has been helpful!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A must for any city but questionable playability
6/21/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is not a bad set but it does have it's limitations. I think that the main issue here is that it's not a set that's got great playability on it's own. If you're not really into the city theme, or you don't own a Lego train, then you may want to spend your money on a different set. And at $80Aud, this isn't exactly cheap either. It's not a bad design - although I would have liked to see some ticket gates incorporated into the set. Also, too much reliance is given to the overhead bridge and tracks to hold the two platforms, and thus the set together, and so it can be a bit flimsy. This set comes with 4 minifigs ad there's also a ticketing office/convenience store on one side, but compared to previous Lego stations, this one seems a little small and is a bit disappointing. As mentioned before, there's not really much you can do with this set on it's own. I mean, in essence it's only 2 platforms separated by train tracks. If you have a Lego city or a train however, your playability options increase significantly. One more thing before I sign off - I have to mention the taxi. I love it. It's very well designed, is the first 4 stud vehicle to sit 2 minifigs and even has room at the back for luggage. Well done Lego!. Only downside - the stickers. They're super small (especially the one on top thatt says TAXI) and extremely difficult to place right.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
12/16/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Expensive!!! The waiting-room looks fine with the sliding doors, computer and desk but it could be larger Other departments could have been built in like a small canteen and kiosk. Lot of small parts like lamps, clock, flower, chairs make its mood. They all can be applied separately. The overpass fence is not nice. More minifigs are needed. The taxi is good idea but bad design. No doors are on the back seat and on the front neither. No "official" luggage rack and the car might be 6 dots wide to accomplish the missing features. Though I enjoyed it very much when I stopped the train slowly just beside the station.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
New But More
6/5/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Now our new Lego train Station has just camed out. This lego is pretty much a replacement of the old Lego Train Station. But the bad thing is that it is not good with 9V Trains, just like it said in the descrpition. You need the new Lego Train which might come in a few weeks. It also feels like its a small station. Smaller than the old one. But it is more realistic. I do recommend to tell your friends about it until they buy the new lego trains. Because the new train could work with the new lego train station. I guess that you people should buy the train station when you buy the new lego train(s).
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great set, easy build
7/23/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
today i purchased the train station and the passenger train set 7938 with my sister. this set goes great with this set because you can make a perfect oval. the set is made into 3 separate pieces and at the end you put it all together. the instructions were easy and it was put together very fast yet it's very sturdy. Pros: Taxi Map on a wall a cool sliding door a cool bridge going across where the train goes Cons: only 3 mini figs. but thats all that it really needs except a store clerk none other honestly you should get this set if you have any type of passenger train! adios
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
New train station
7/19/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The new city train station is better then the old one in some ways yet worse in some ways. The taxi is better then the little train thing. But the old one had a better look . The new set has 2 sides compared to the one side of the older one. The new one also has a bridge wich gives it a great look. This set goes great with all of the train sets i currently only have the cargo train, station, and the crossing. my passenger train is in the mail right know. If you have a friend that collects city train sets buy it for them heck buy it for yourself toooooooooooooooooo.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Only good with modifications.
1/1/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This christmas, I received this set with the new passenger train, and was happy with this set. many people said the platform was too small, but not to worry! most people who own this set probably have plenty of legos to begin with. It's very easy to expand! (even more so if you have the platform that comes with the new passenger train!)anyway, on to the highlights. one of my favorite features is the little taxi that comes with this set. I love it! it couldn't have been better! great job, LEGO! it has two seats, and a little spot for the suitcase as well. the shop I will admit is very dissapointing. on the inside is nothing but a lame cash register and a even lamer rack of soda. LEGO, why have a shop instead of a ticket office like a real train station? that to me makes no sense at all! although the outside of it is very nice. on one side of the wall there is a newspaper that says 'NEW truck in town' and 'Great news'. on the front there is a sliding door which is pretty cool. also, there is a clock and two flower pots. finally, a double platform! I liked the map and lights, those were nice touches to the set. the kiosk is ugly and in a bad spot. It now sits in my lego bucket. the yellow 'grill' plates work nicely as caution lines. the foot bridge is awesome! it has 8 white 'crane boom' brick along with 4 rare dark grey stair elements. overall, it`s a great set, but only if you have parts to spare.miniman signing out!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A must purchase for anyone with a train set
6/7/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is definantly a set to get for anyone with a train set. There are very few times I will say a new set goes above and beyond what a classic (80s-early90s) set can do. Lego recently has been remaking classic sets but with new components and a new style. This set is modeled off a set from I beleive 1980 called Railway Station. This one definantly is way better than the original. 4 minifigs is just about right for this set. I wasn't sure if 5 should have been included but if you are adding this to a train set and you have minifigs already its fine.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Too cool!
10/19/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The new train station is fab! The taxi is a great addition. It also comes with four tracks! The platform is great and I love the stairs and the sliding door! The people that it comes with are great! Now for the pros and cons PROS: The taxi has a little boot. Four minifigs. Four train tracks! Sliding door. Platform and stairs. Self service tickets. Map of routes and times! Street lamps. The shop building! CONS: NONE!!!!!!! Thanks for reading and I hope it helped you to decide whether or not to buy this set! Check out my other reviews!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great addition
9/25/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The set was really easy to build, under a half an hour. There's a lot of detail to it for such a small set, cash register with bottles to sell, the clock on the building, the train map and more. The set comes with four minifigs, the standard railroad employee, along with three waiting passengers which will make nice additions to your Lego city. The taxi is only four wide so it will not fit in with other larger city vehicles, but that was easily fixed. The per brick price is nearly 14 cents which is average for this theme.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A Simple Station
7/18/2013
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is exactly as shown, a very small, very simple station. I didn't have a station for my now growing Lego train set and needed one so I could stop the train(s) at something for when it gets an engine. I only really looked at the front of the box and paid little attention to the detail expecting it to be similar to a station I previously had in a Lego monorail set (item: 6399). I was surprised to find the cool little taxi included with two minifigures. I was however a little bit disappointed in the amount of prefabrication on this station. The stairs on the station are an all-in-one piece as are the sides to the pedestrian bridge which defeats the purpose of the learning value for kids building using different techniques. This is possibly relevant for the age range of 5-12 but more so to the younger aged audience and whilst it does take some of the fun out of building the station it does make it a stronger more durable station for heavy hands and the set is labeled as 'Modular Build, Easy Start'. For me though I would have liked to see some slightly more technical instructions to building the steps and sides of the pedestrian bridge from scratch, that's how Lego was when I was a kid, a little bit difficult sometimes but a fun challenge. With only four minifigures the set lacks some playability but on a plus side will add four pieces of strait track to your collection, younger kids will enjoy this set but it may be too basic for kids closer to 12 years old.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641741, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-