Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 332 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

332 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

332 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
178
4 stars
96
3 stars
22
2 stars
11
1 stars
25
1-20 of 231 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 231 total reviews
1-20 of 231 reviews
Great Value!
5/5/2013

Customer review by msfleming

5.0 stars 5/5/2013 by msfleming
by msfleming

This MP3 player has 16 GB, compared to similar items $60 is a steal. I'm even happier because I purchased the item when it was $39.98. I have no complaints whatsoever. The screen is bright and vivid even when covered by a screen protector. The sound is great (I use Koss earbuds). I was presently surprised at the fact that it shows album covers, can store photos, and comes with FM radio. The battery life is also very good. If you need a device that lets you listen and store music and is easy to use, this is for you.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
msfleming
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Exactly what I expected - And more!
12/28/2012

Customer review by YeOldSalt

5.0 stars 12/28/2012 by YeOldSalt
by YeOldSalt
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

For what I paid, and especially when compared to the cost of an Apple or Sony unit, it just doesn't get any better. As a long time fan of Phillips quality and value, I expected a fair amount from this unit. I received all I expected and then some. The sound quality is excellent, volume more than adequate, and the controls are fairly intuitive and easy to use. For less than $40, with an equivalent 16GB Apple unit starting at just under $150, it's hard to not like the Phillips. Sure the screen is smaller, and no you don't have all the Nano's pedometer, but you do have at least $100 extra still in your pocket and if what you want is an MP3 player, then this is just the ticket. The only negatives I've found thusfar are the bundled "Songbird" application and Microsoft Zune's inability to recognize the device. If you accept the default settings it works just fine, but if you already have a library of MP3s and don't want to move them, changing the settings can be a bit of a challenge due to the lack of documentation for the Songbird application. Windows Media Player recognizes the Ariaz just fine, and will manage the contents. I haven't tried iTunes with it yet, so I can't say if it's compatible. In summary - The hardware is (as expected) exceptional, the software is okay but not great, and the overall value simply can't be beat.

Was this review helpful? (115) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
YeOldSalt
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good for the price!
1/10/2013

Customer review by Nyuklehead

4.0 stars 1/10/2013 by Nyuklehead
by Nyuklehead
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Pros; it plays videos, mp3's, has an external speaker, voice recorder, fm radio that even informs you of tracks in play! displays photos and album art too! longevity of lithium battery. Cons; songbird software included bogs down processor and is extremely slow. conversions are required for videos and sometimes some photos. no clip included for belt. No found cases for display/unit itself. not the greatest sounding headphones either. no charger other than usb chord included. reccomendations; do not install songbird software! Drag and drop or copy/paste all photos and mp3's. Use Free GP converter (not included) to convert videos to 320 x240 for best viewing! Then drag and drop, you'll be prompted to convert, and click yes!

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nyuklehead
shelby, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I love it
2/7/2013

Customer review by bluem6

5.0 stars 2/7/2013 by bluem6
by bluem6

I've had a Rhapsody account for as long as I can remember so a player’s ability to play well with Rhapsody is very important to me. When I saw the price that Walmart was offering this Ariaz for I had to add it to my collection. I have another Philips player, which I like, so I based my expectations off of that. However, I was blown away when I took this one out of the package. I still can’t believe that Walmart is offering this much player at such a low price. The sturdy, metallic feel was the first thing I noticed. I charged it up, loaded some Rhapsody albums and channels on it and started navigating the menus. The interface is very user friendly and being able to see the album art while exploring the menu is a nice touch over my other Philips model. I’m only using about half of its memory right now with 1228 songs and 7 Rhapsody channels. The sound is crisp and clear. Philips FullSound does push a little too much bass through if you are using a good set of headphones or connecting it to a home or car stereo that already has an equalizer set. However, there are other sound settings on the player that will help customize your sound.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bluem6
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Solid MP3 Player for the Price (Got it for $40)
1/16/2013

Customer review by JMag76

4.0 stars 1/16/2013 by JMag76
by JMag76

It's a solid player, It has a built in speaker thats loud and clear. you can listen to radio either thru headphone or speaker (headphones still need to be plugged in since it uses them as an antenna#. you can create playlist on to go, no need for pc to make playlist. becareful with songbird PC software, my player had an outdated one preinstalled, and it kept crashing. so be sure to get it from philips website #make sure you have the SA# on the player or box cause you'll need it to get the correct software) plus you should register it first before anything else so you won't run into any problems. The headphones are ok but not great, invest in some better ones. this player has alot of bells and whistles to really make your music "Bump". so I highly recomend this player because you can't find any other 16GB for this price and with all the features.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JMag76
Union City, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
You can't beat the value for the price of 39.98!
12/20/2012

Customer review by ftoastd

5.0 stars 12/20/2012 by ftoastd
by ftoastd

Long battery life, about 6+ hours with on board speaker with mid level volume, with external Yoo Mee speaker the battery meter hasn't dropped yet and I'm up to 4.5 hours of battery usage. Most important; the player remembers where it left off after power down or after plugged into PC for charging. I had a Zen Stone 4GB w/built in speaker that lasted 4 years and still worked 3 weeks after going through the wash. I have tried the new zen, but only a mono speaker and a Coby player, but none of them matched up to the Zen Stone. The Phillips 16GB makes a perfect replacement for my dead Zen Stone and then some. I just copied over my mp3/wma folders over, browse for the music folder i want to hear, and I'm up in running even without installing the additional software.

Was this review helpful? (30) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ftoastd
Philadelphia Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great sound
12/10/2012

Customer review by Candixxxooo

5.0 stars 12/10/2012 by Candixxxooo
by Candixxxooo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

very sturdy, works great, easy to use plug n play no soft wear , the sound is amazing the only thing negative at all to me are the ear buds that come with it , they are a bit hard

Was this review helpful? (68) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Candixxxooo
Greensboro,NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works Good
6/29/2013

Customer review by eak1999

4.0 stars 6/29/2013 by eak1999
by eak1999
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Excellent value for the price. Used this to replace an Ipod classic that was broken. Pros: - The sound quality on this player is better than the Ipod - Includes an FM radio tuner - Includes a voice recorder Cons: - Does not have the same mechanical quality "feel" as an Ipod. The Ipod feels like it is solid and built well. This player feels a little plasticy and cheap. The "up" button on mine doesn't click quit the same as the other buttons (buttons are inconsistent). - The processor in this is a little underpowered, the screen lags a little but it is still very useable. If you're looking for a good value, small, lightweight, with voice recorder, FM radio, and MP3, this is a great player. If you looking for a top of the line unit that you can show off to other people, this is not what you want. For me, I just wanted something that worked and was a good value so I'm happy with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
eak1999
Lawrence KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
very easy to use
12/31/2012

Customer review by SkySD

5.0 stars 12/31/2012 by SkySD
by SkySD
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It is easier to copy the audio/video files directly into the Music/Video folder instead of using the software comes with the player. For video, the unit can ony play WMV and MP4 of video size 320x240. Video has to be converted to this size before you can play it.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SkySD
Rapid City, SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/25/2013

Customer review by rmcbride27

4.0 stars 1/25/2013 by rmcbride27
by rmcbride27
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This MP3 player is a very good player. Ilike that it has an external speaker that you can use if you don't want to use headphones. I was surprised how much I tend to listen to it without headphones. The safe sound setting is great also if you have children (I have a 3 year old) that like to listen to the music. I feel better knowing that she can't turn the volume up and hurt her ears as easily because the safe sounds setting will turn the volume down if it is set at a dangerous level. The only down side is actually with the Songbird software that comes with the player. It is not nearly as user friendly as window media player. The good thing is that you can still use windows media player to download to the player.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rmcbride27
Windsor, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Meet expectation
1/1/2013

Customer review by hungtinakhang00

5.0 stars 1/1/2013 by hungtinakhang00
by hungtinakhang00
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I owned several mp3 players, from expensive one to cheap one by far this philips gogear is best so far by storage room to player performance. Sound very clear and crisp, the buttons is very well lay out, ease of use is excellent , the only down side of this player is the head set come with it. I used my own head set by JVC made this sound exceptional good, I recommend this product for people who is on the go. Light weight sound good, and super cheap price vs other player at the same capacity.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hungtinakhang00
philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value for price!!
12/30/2012

Customer review by LinzeT

4.0 stars 12/30/2012 by LinzeT
by LinzeT
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Excellent sound & quality for the price! Functions are easy to use. I don't know if misunderstood the description but it says that the batteries can last for "up to 26 hours of music"? ... On a full charge I think it only lasted something around 7 or 8 hours or so max. The USB cord is a little short and not the most practical. Other than that, I would totally recommend this MP3 player for a friend!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LinzeT
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Philips GoGEAR Ariaz MP3 Player
1/29/2013

Customer review by kfinpgh

5.0 stars 1/29/2013 by kfinpgh
by kfinpgh
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this MP3 player on sale at Walmart.com. It arrived on time and was securely packaged. The device works nicely and should store over 3000 tracks. Sound quality is great and battery life should be decent at 12-14 hours of play time per battery charge. This is a great device for those that want to listen to their music collection offline. This device and Walmart.com met my expectations for those attributes. There is one caveat. This device will not work with the Rhapsody music subscription service. The consumer can load the device with tracks they purchased, but none that are under subscription requiring monthly renewal. Rhapsody's compatible device page listed this device so I bought it in January, 2013. I found out after I opened it and connected it to my computer that Rhapsody doesn't support the device. Rhapsody's support page states that it does not support any Philips devices made in 2012 or later, even though they showed it on their compatible device list in 2013. I would have to purchase all of the 2,000+ tracks I want to store on the device. I copied the 500+ tracks I own to the device and connected it to the AUX port in my car. It serves that purpose nicely.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kfinpgh
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to use and good value
12/4/2012

Customer review by PaDad218

4.0 stars 12/4/2012 by PaDad218
by PaDad218
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Battery life is great and player is very user friendly

Was this review helpful? (103) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PaDad218
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Keep in mind what you pay for it
1/21/2013

Customer review by efga

5.0 stars 1/21/2013 by efga
by efga

I have an Ipod touch that I paid hundreds of dollars for. I need a small, less expensive MP3 player to run and workout with. I don't like taking my expensive Ipod and putting it through the rough treatment of a workout MP3 player. So I paid 40 bucks for a small player to hold about 2000 songs to workout with and my cadences to run by. I'm amazed at what I got for 40 bucks. Out of the box, I hooked it up to the computer, dragged and dropped the folder in. In about an hour it was ready to go. It feels sturdy, the album art is crisply displayed, and the sound is incredible. Just a tip. Don't install the software just drag and drop. This review is from someone who takes into account what you should expect from a 40 player. Plus I only listen to music on this so I can't comment on any other functions.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
efga
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good for Price
1/5/2013

Customer review by Elekronix

4.0 stars 1/5/2013 by Elekronix
by Elekronix
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

THis Mp3 is very user friendly and solid for the money you pay. Only comes with like 14.7 GB of memory but typical of 16 GB Mp3 players because of system files and memory restrictions. The front buttons sometimes over respond or fail to respond. Thats my only complaint, besides that highly recommend. Alot of bang for your dollar.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Elekronix
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best MP3 Player For Price
1/14/2013

Customer review by Reviewman84

5.0 stars 1/14/2013 by Reviewman84
by Reviewman84

I was skeptical at first buying this mp3 player. Since I have bought so many mp3 players. But this has been a great mp3 player. The best feature about the mp3 player is that it comes with a built-in speaker. Because of this I never have to use the headphones. The only problem with mp3 player. Is that there is not a mp3 player holder specifically sold for this model.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Reviewman84
Goddard, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/12/2013

Customer review by Stormsailor

5.0 stars 1/12/2013 by Stormsailor
by Stormsailor
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is an excellent product that performs in every respect as well as I hoped. It's tiny speakers produce enough volume and decent sound quality so that you can use it without earbuds. Thus, if you're wearing it while working, you don't have the hassle of messing with earbuds that are constantly falling out. My one complaint is that the owner's guide that accompanies it explains in exquisite detail the manufacturer's limitations of liability, but nary a word to explain what each button does.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Stormsailor
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product!
12/31/2012

Customer review by Nish1983

5.0 stars 12/31/2012 by Nish1983
by Nish1983
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this as a gift for my friend. Of course I got to mess around with it before she got it. I seriously considered keeping it for myself and getting her another one. In the end, she got it and loves it. The only "bad" thing I have to say about it is that it took me a little bit to figure out how to adjust the volume! I am considering this as a future purchase for myself.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nish1983
Columbia, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/8/2012

Customer review by jtigger

4.0 stars 12/8/2012 by jtigger
by jtigger
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It would have been a better value if I had ordered it a week later when Walmart lowered the price from 59 dollars to 39 dollars. It is a good mp3 player with only the one drawback of the ability to expand memory, but with 16gb it should be ok.

Was this review helpful? (68) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jtigger
utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 231 total reviews
1-20 of 231 reviews