Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 66 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

66 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

66 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
30
4 stars
17
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 stars
8
1-20 of 57 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 57 total reviews
1-20 of 57 reviews
Great MP3 player
8/29/2013

Customer review by BG55

5.0 stars 8/29/2013 by BG55
by BG55
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love my MP3 player. The sound is fantastic and for the price I don't think you can ask for more. It's easy to use--just plug the usb into your computer, go to media player, and the Go Gear is there on the list, ready to sync your music into it. Once you figure out where all the buttons are it is super simple to play. The battery life on this is fantastic, I've never run the battery completely down even after a couple of days of fairly constant use. I like the fact that it has no side buttons--everything is on the front. (I'm constantly pushing buttons I don't want to push when I'm just holding something -- i.e. my Phone etc.) My only complaint is the middle (go to/play) button sometimes seems to get stuck if I'm doing a lot of navigating with it. I've learned how to unstick it by hitting it just right, or just leaving it alone for a couple of minutes. Don't know if this is a problem with all of them or just mine. I've had a Phillips 4GB for years and It's been extremely durable, I hope this one is as good.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BG55
North Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice Little Product
11/14/2013

Customer review by MadRunner

5.0 stars 11/14/2013 by MadRunner
by MadRunner
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

First, my evaluation is based on music only. The player is used solely for my workout but I selected this product for the sound quality and the 8GB capacity which is more than I need, but good value for the money. Philips has a reputation for sound quality which is well deserved - very good to excellent with particular emphasis on cost/value - I paid $40 for the WalMart player but I noticed substantial price differential among different vendors. Second, music and playlists sync directly and effortlessly to this player. (Songbird not required and it looks to me that Philips Songbird, which is distinct from Songbird, doesn't work with this player but as I wrote, it's not needed so the issue is moot.) Third, I can't assess the design life since it is a recent purchase but my old Philips player lasted around 3 to 4 years, slightly less than an old ipod. Last, the only negative is the small size - slips out of my hand without a good grip! Obviously a minor quibble - design is very slick - significantly more appealing than the Sony.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MadRunner
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
a unique product from phillips
8/30/2013

Customer review by tarcomed

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by tarcomed
by tarcomed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got this 8gb Phillips vibe mp3 player because it was one of the only ones I could find with an actual by-god user-adjustable EQ, all the others on the market only let the user choose between presets. I use a pair of tiny headphones which stay put on my head but are lacking bass and with too much midrange, so the Phillips vibe was the only one that let me surgically correct the sound of those headphones which I wear because they are lightweight and waterproof [I sweat a lot when I work out]. the actual ear buds that come with the unit kept falling out of my ears as they were made for folks with smaller than average ears. anyways, the vibe's volume output was more than adequate to drive my cans to high sound pressure levels sufficient to overcome even mid-day traffic noise. the FM tuner was good enough to receive KUOW-FM 94.9 even out in the middle of the woods, that is a seattle station 3 hours north of where I live and it picked it up decently enough. the video display was too small for any real videos but sufficient for its main purpose of displaying system status. all in all, a fine product at a very good price! this is my 2nd one and i'm tempted to get a third as well!

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tarcomed
shelton washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Much smaller than I expected.
7/4/2013

Customer review by tenderbearaz

4.0 stars 7/4/2013 by tenderbearaz
by tenderbearaz
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This MP4 player has great sound in both MP3 and FM radio modes. The fact that it doesn't come with anything that will allow you to clip it to your belt or pocket can be a bit of an issue. It took me a while to figure out how to use it. The instructions the come with the player are so small I ended up pulling the information up on line. Phillips Songbird will try to over ride any other music player you have on your computer. You are able to select which music player you want to use. The player comes with music and videos pre-loaded on the player. You are able to delete them. Over all I would recommend this to my friends and I have.

Was this review helpful? (28) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tenderbearaz
AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/16/2013

Customer review by BLTIME

4.0 stars 7/16/2013 by BLTIME
by BLTIME
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased two of the same item and had a hard time registering the product on the same computer. the instruction manuel was of no help. I had to do it all on line and sometimes the computer was to slow for me to try and figure the different applicatons on the mp3. I finally figured it out just by playing with the item and pressing different options with out the manuel or computer assistance from the online help. It is a very functional mp3 and meets my personal needs. I would buy another with more than 8GB if made available. I have had two pryer to these two and like the name brand. I had clear instructions and visual of the buttons and functions in the owners manuel with the last two that I purchased over all it is a good product.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BLTIME
pueblo, co
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/16/2013

Customer review by Woody1956

4.0 stars 7/16/2013 by Woody1956
by Woody1956
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I'm 75 and not tech savvy. I've only had this MP3 for a few days and at this point am very satisfied. I bought it to download AM podcasts of my favorite talk shows. It's easy to use and has ample battery life. If it lasts and continues to perform at its current level, I'd buy another in a heartbeat.

Was this review helpful? (27) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Woody1956
Austin, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great sound, functionality and ear buds!
7/16/2013

Customer review by Wolverine49085

5.0 stars 7/16/2013 by Wolverine49085
by Wolverine49085
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I liked this so much I bought one for my wife. I use mine while working out and she uses it when she walks. 8GB holds a ton of music or videos. The charge lasts forever! So small and light, it is much easier to carry than a phone. Highly recommend this!

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wolverine49085
Carmel, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Outstanding buy
11/27/2013

Customer review by CaliforniaLakeGuy

5.0 stars 11/27/2013 by CaliforniaLakeGuy
by CaliforniaLakeGuy

Sharp looking, very easy to use, good sound, reliable. My second one which, based on my first one this meets all of my expectations. Loading songs is easy and playback is even easier. Not too small so it doesn't vanish in pockets and is also easy to use. Good battery life between charges. Only change I would make is to not have a black screen as it is hard to read in direct sunlight but everything else outways this one drawback. I will keep coming back as long as the product is as trustworthy as this one has been. Great buy! You just can't miss with this one!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CaliforniaLakeGuy
San Diego CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good player for the price
1/7/2013

Customer review by CBrianA

4.0 stars 1/7/2013 by CBrianA
by CBrianA

Overall, this is a very enjoyable device. It was purchased to replace an older, failing unit from a different vendor. The design is very sleek - small and comfortable, it fits in my shirt pocket very nicely and the playback is good quality with no appreciable noise. The one problem I have is that the documentation and PC software leave a lot to be desired. I didn't notice for quite some time that the unit has an FM radio built in. As far as I can tell, there is no support for managing the stations from the PC - I just have to scan for them or set them up manually from the player. The Songbird is NOT intuitive to work. It is easier to use the Windows Media player to manage your library. And, if you are trying to import a video, it would be nice if the documentation mentioned the video media types that were supported.

CBrianA
Atlanta, GA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Nice Mp3 in a neat little package
8/30/2013

Customer review by lydinking

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by lydinking
by lydinking
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I recently had a Philips go gear vibe (older model). It stopped working on me I think from overusage..I had it for about 4 years and would use it every day. I purchased an RCA after that because it was cheaper, however I was was so unhappy with it. I came back to walmart.com and ordered this Phillips and am so extremely happy with it. It holds a lot of songs and audiobooks. Thank you Philips for such a great little mp3 that packs a punch..

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lydinking
texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
returned to orignal store
11/30/2013

Customer review by donnonhue

1.0 stars 11/30/2013 by donnonhue
by donnonhue
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

item did not include specific operating instructions i think it was defective

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
donnonhue
Champaign Il
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It decent for the money.
8/12/2013

Customer review by JDeereMan

3.0 stars 8/12/2013 by JDeereMan
by JDeereMan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Got this player to replace a previous Philips 8gb. player that had an internal speaker that was starting to sound funny. I was refunded and got this one to replace it. I had purchased the extended service plan. I was disappointed to find that this newer model didn't have the internal speaker because I liked just sticking it in my shirt pocket to listen to. This one also feels cheaper than my last one. It is very light. This is my third Philips. The first one was a $75 one that had a metal cover and seemed a lot tougher that these last two but the main center button quite working on that one. I guess I'll live with this one. I purchased the extended plan again so I think I have another two years for this one to quite and then I can get credited for a better one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JDeereMan
Barker, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Happy with it.
12/1/2013

Customer review by kene5874

5.0 stars 12/1/2013 by kene5874
by kene5874
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Wish headphones were in-ear type. Very easy to set up.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kene5874
Here, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/26/2013

Customer review by roc345

4.0 stars 9/26/2013 by roc345
by roc345
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Nice little player but if your older it's hard to read any of the instructions. I still have problems with finding what I want - it would help if the areas were color coded. I didn't like all the pre loaded pictures as it took up to much space and I still haven't figured out how to delete them-got to the delete area but it doesn't delete them. I had to download the Instruction Manuel to my computer in able to read the instructions. Very little information came with the product. Keep in mind I'm older and this is my first product of this type. The younger generation would do great with this. I like it so far but I still haven't figured it all out -. The ear plugs are uncomfortable.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
roc345
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
fails to recognize .mp4; big mistake
12/4/2014

Customer review by vern4760

3.0 stars 12/4/2014 by vern4760
by vern4760

My major problem is that it does not support .mp4, the predominant video file format. .mp4 is the video counterpart to .mp3. If it doesn't not support .mp4 it is not a video player. Not recognizing .mp4 is the same as slapping customers in the face. I could convert them to .amv, but a lot of file conversion software offsets the audio/video sync. [Plus, I have the .mp4 videos in my playlists.] Otherwise, it's fine as long as it is set on MTP, otherwise playlists will not be preserve.

vern4760
Mason City, IA 50401, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Do not recommend
12/11/2013

Customer review by Bonedog

1.0 stars 12/11/2013 by Bonedog
by Bonedog
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I recently bought this to use for music mainly while working in the yard or around the house. Will be returning this as soon as the weather improves. To hard to work, download, or do anything with. No instructions!!! Definitely a bad move on my part!!!! Do not follow my foot steps and purchase this.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bonedog
Newcastle OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This product is awesome.
1/10/2014

Customer review by jeffrey1405

5.0 stars 1/10/2014 by jeffrey1405
by jeffrey1405

I got this mp3 video player on 12/25/2013 and i`m impressed with it, it`s very easy to use. The mp3 player has a very good quality and is sleek and very easy to hold plus the mp3 player has a very good battery life and charges quickly. My previous mp3 player was a philips and was very good, it had an amazing battery life (same as this one) and i hope that i get as good of use out of this mp3 player as i did my last. If you`re looking for an mp3 player this is the one to get.

jeffrey1405
Taylorsville, KY 40071, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
unsatisfactory
12/26/2013

Customer review by Embee5488

1.0 stars 12/26/2013 by Embee5488
by Embee5488

While my old Go Gear Vibe was VERY SATISFACTORY, evidently when the battery goes, it goes forever, there is no support for it. That said, I decided to get the NEW Go Gear Vibe. Despite what it said on the box, it does NOT support WMA book downloads, one of my highest priorities. Nor could I ever get the device "activated" so I could download an MP3 book. So I had to take it back. Sure wish I could find an new OLD MODEL Go Gear Vibe!

Embee5488
Arizona, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
OK for Music, but no Podcast Support
10/12/2013

Customer review by jcrawford52

3.0 stars 10/12/2013 by jcrawford52
by jcrawford52

This is a decent little player, but it does not seem to support podcasts. You can load the files into the music folder, but then they are very difficult to find. You can set up special folders in the Folder area, but that is kind of clunky. It should recognize podcasts and sort them by their source. Philips tech support was no help--didn't even know what a podcast is.

jcrawford52
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not what was advertised
11/29/2013

Customer review by Again999

2.0 stars 11/29/2013 by Again999
by Again999

For one, the "earbuds" are made for the Jolly Green Giant, they should give you a choice of size. I have yet been able to figure out the FM radio. There are no instructions in the package other than a "quick" set up which really tells you nothing other than how to connect it to get charged. Try and register it on line, and its not even listed for registration. I will most likely send it back, not what I was expecting. The reason I will send it back is because I cannot get it to work (and yes I am computer literate and understands new technology).

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Again999
Hazel Green, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
1-20 of 57 total reviews
1-20 of 57 reviews