Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 78 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

78 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

78 reviews | 4 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
40
4 stars
21
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
10
1-20 of 73 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 73 total reviews
1-20 of 73 reviews
outstanding for price
7/7/2012

Customer review by mierze

4.0 stars 7/7/2012 by mierze
by mierze

I knew eventually I was going to have to purchase a new TV, so I shopped around for the last few months trying to decide what to buy. I had some requirements for whatever unit I bought (1080, HDMI, 37 inch +), and looked at Best Buy, Tiger.com, etc. Everything I found was at least $800ish. I didnt want to spend that much, as it would be going into my game room mostly for the kids to play Xbox Kinect on, and the likelyhood of it getting smashed was a bit high. Anyway I was at Walmart buying a Kinect and came across this unit. It was side by side with a Samsung of the same size. I could tell immediately the Hisense had a better quality picture. A quick look at the price tag and I was sold. Got it home, set it up myself (set up was almost too easy) and I was very impressed. Decent sound, which is customizable. Very good picture, also customizable. Large stand AND IT SWIVELS!!!! 3 HDMI inputs, VGA, RCA, component, headphone jack. So many cool features. I hooked up the Kinect and the gameplay and graphics looked so much better than anticipated. Ive had this about 10 days now, and still no issues or real complaints. I havent experienced the "channel change noise" like some have. Enable the auto sound feature to get rid of that noise, so I hear. The unit always stays off, never turns on by itself, which I hear is another issue. I have but one tiny issue with this TV and its a small one. The cable coax input is rather close to the edge of the back (left side when facing the screen) and is pointed out to the side rather than down or towards the middle. Coax is rather stiff and after hooking up the cable, the coax sticks out the side of the unit a few inches before it turns down toward the floor. I really dont care too much, as its a game room TV but if it were wall mounted in a nice room, Id have to change that somehow. I know this review was lengthy, but I wanted to anyone who is used to paying top dollar for quality like myself, realize that there is a more affordable alternative. I think you get much more than you pay for with this TV.

Was this review helpful? (114) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mierze
Middletown CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent TV!! Better than anything in its class!!
6/4/2012

Customer review by VivaldiJ

5.0 stars 6/4/2012 by VivaldiJ
by VivaldiJ

I originally a Hitachi 40" and it returned it for this unit and couldn't be happier. Very clear and crisp image and couldn't imagine a better Tv for the price. I am a very picky customer and this is a quality product. Don't let the "no name" brand deter you from buying.

Was this review helpful? (139) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VivaldiJ
Cumberland, Md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Fantastic TV for Master Bedroom
6/21/2012

Customer review by EMSurfer

4.0 stars 6/21/2012 by EMSurfer
by EMSurfer

Very nice sharp crisp picture with deep blacks given it's price and not being a name brand. Not as good as SONY, Sharp, Panasonic, Toshiba, or Samsung but not paying for one either. Changing channels can make a loud static sound that can be corrected by switching on "Auto Volume Control". Definitely was a wise purchase on my part.

Was this review helpful? (77) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EMSurfer
Carlsbad, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
6/4/2012

Customer review by Steelersfan501

4.0 stars 6/4/2012 by Steelersfan501
by Steelersfan501

this tv is great if you plan on using for watching dvds and blue-rays or playing videogames. as long as you use a hdmi cable . if you plan on watching mostly cable tv don't sit to close it will go fuzzy but if you sit a middle distance away it looks pretty good

Was this review helpful? (75) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Steelersfan501
Sayre pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
FIX TO SCREECHING WHEN CHANGING CHANNELS
8/5/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 8/5/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Change Cable setting to PCM ONLY!!!!!! Not PCM/Dobly DIGITAL!!!

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Better than many well-known brands
6/20/2012

Customer review by BuddhaRebellion

5.0 stars 6/20/2012 by BuddhaRebellion
by BuddhaRebellion

My boyfriend and I bought this TV a few months ago, and love it. We needed something cheap but were worried about the quality. However, once we plugged the TV in, all of our worries disappeared. It has a crystal clear image, especially with an HDMI cable. My friends bought a Sony of the same size for over a thousand dollars, and I think the picture on the Hisense is better. The sound quality is also great. Overall, it's an awesome TV.

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BuddhaRebellion
Farmington, Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
6/20/2012

Customer review by Sassylady1

5.0 stars 6/20/2012 by Sassylady1
by Sassylady1

Was looking for a new flat panel tv(never had one). Went to Walmart and spotted this flat panel. WOW what a picture. Clear, sharp, and color was as natural as if you were right there in picture. Had a tech hook set up,not that I couldn't of did myself but prefered not to. The one thing I wish was the sound would stay at the level it's set to. I think it just might be the signal from local channels that affects the sound. But none the less this Hisense flat panel tv is the best for the money.

Was this review helpful? (29) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sassylady1
Gassville,Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
bad tv for cable!!!
6/20/2012

Customer review by mrsmorales0707

3.0 stars 6/20/2012 by mrsmorales0707
by mrsmorales0707

Although this TV is nice and has a nice picture and slim look it lacks something important...it makes a "static/electric" sound everytime its switched from one channel to another!!!! I just bought this TV a week ago (twice). Cable was attached to it and made that horrible sound. Not only was it annoying but cable man said it would blow out my speakers eventually. They tried everything to get it to stop it. Tried THREE cable boxes to resolve it. He said for us to try a new TV..went out got bought same TV again (4 days later-30 miles away since they were all selling out because of Fathers Day). Put it all together..and SAME issue happened again!!! Just bout RCA 42 in TV and now it works just fine! Something needs to be fixed on it asap so others dont go thru what we did!

Was this review helpful? (33) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrsmorales0707
Reno, NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Unbeatable deal on an LED HDTV
7/4/2012

Customer review by Critick

5.0 stars 7/4/2012 by Critick
by Critick

I purchased this 42" Hisense LED-LCD HDTV several days ago, and have had it running non-stop since then for "burn-in" (this may not be strictly necessary, but it's a habit), and to detect any problems. There are none whatsoever. The picture quality is noticeably better than my other Hisense (yes, I'm a repeat buyer of this "no-name" brand--it's served me well), which is a conventional LCD HDTV with CFL screen illumination. Fast-moving sports are depicted well with no artifacts, even though this is only a 60 Hz set. The picture is clear and bright, as one would expect. The viewing angle could be a bit better, as could the sound--both are fine, just not high-end. But this is not a high-end TV price-wise. I was a bit skeptical after reading about some buyers' bad luck with defective sets, but mine is perfect. Also, all TV manufacturers--including Sony and Samsung--occasionally produce and ship a dud. Conclusion: For 398 bucks, this TV absolutely can't be beat. Walmart should be able to sell a ton of them.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Critick
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV at a great price.
7/22/2012

Customer review by Graygoat

5.0 stars 7/22/2012 by Graygoat
by Graygoat

I've had my TV for a little over two months now and couldn't be happier. The picture quality is fantastic. With the LED back-lighting, the whites are true and crisp. On HD channels the picture is exceptionally sharp just as you'd expect. The sound quality is fine for watching regular TV and movies (there are several modes to select from plus an equalizer to customize it to your liking.) I'm sure it would be better with a surround system but I haven't yet invested in one. (A lot of my viewing consists of news and '60's sitcoms .... I don't think there's much ANY sound system could do to make Aunt Bea's screeching "Andy!" sound much better. LOL) I'm sure there are better ones available, but for normal TV and movie viewing I don't think you'll beat this one.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Graygoat
Decatur, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pretty good bang for your buck
7/18/2012

Customer review by Mrbcash38

5.0 stars 7/18/2012 by Mrbcash38
by Mrbcash38

Did a lot of research and read the reviews before I purchased this TV. Very sleek looking and thin. Also very good picture quality; I don't even have an HD cable or satelite box. The only negative about the TV (if someone wanted to be picky) would be the sound quality could be a little better. However, I planned on purchasing a theatre system before I even purchased the TV. All in all, very good TV for the price considering other brands charge near 150% of the $398 that I purchased this TV for. Pleased with my purchase, and will consider Hisense for future TV purchases. Thanks Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mrbcash38
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A second look and review
6/26/2012

Customer review by JJRinAZ

2.0 stars 6/26/2012 by JJRinAZ
by JJRinAZ

I wrote a review a week ago, but it's not showing up. After returning the first TV because of the horrible screeching sound it makes when I change channels or use the DVR to advance or go back, I thought the second one would be better. Nope. I just read a review that shows this same problem, but is listed only when you show "All Reviews" ... I have a Dish DVR, so if you do as well, beware! This is a great deal if you can use it without the screeching -- but neither of the TVs that I have gotten have been free of it.

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JJRinAZ
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great bedroom tv
6/28/2012

Customer review by hitandrepair

4.0 stars 6/28/2012 by hitandrepair
by hitandrepair

After owning it for 6 months, you have to play around with the video settings to make it work for you. Sound is sound, you are buying a 400 dollar tv, not a 1000 dollar tv. Buy it to watch tv, movies and play games. If you are into major detail, buy something more expensive.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hitandrepair
Rockfalls, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome tv...
6/23/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/23/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I was looking for a flat tv..bought this one..easy setup,great picture,the sound is great just needed a little tweaking,my boyfriend didnt like the sound so he hooked up his pc speakers in the headphone jack(the speakers are Roland's)the sound to me is about the same...I also hooked up my pc to it WOW!!Im hooked on using my pc on my tv..all in all this tv is sweet,its everything and more,thanks Walmart!!bought on 6/21/12

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Gloversville,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
6/19/2012

Customer review by DVJTW

5.0 stars 6/19/2012 by DVJTW
by DVJTW

First Flat Screen TV. Loved it. Was easy enough for me to set up. Screen was just the right size. Wish the sound was a little better; but maybe with HD cable, it will be better.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DVJTW
Osage, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great tv for the price
6/30/2012

Customer review by soulssong

4.0 stars 6/30/2012 by soulssong
by soulssong

I just purchased this tv from the store yesterday. It is our first flat screen tv and I had done some research on them prior to going to the store to see the video quality myself. I found myself coming back to this tv time after time so I decided to purchase it. When I got it hooked up, I was disappointed at first because I hooked it up with the coaxial cable we used for our old tvs. I decided to try using the AV cables instead and found that there was a HUGE difference in picture and sound quality. The sound quality went up several times from what it was when hooked up with coax cable and the picture quality was much better also. This tv seems to have comparible features to other LED LCD tvs. My husband and I are very pleased so far. I will revisit after we've had this tv for awhile.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
soulssong
CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great TV for a great price!
7/29/2012

Customer review by ajninnyc

5.0 stars 7/29/2012 by ajninnyc
by ajninnyc

I researched flatscreens extensively before finally going with this one, and I am so glad I did. The picture and sound quality, and ease of set up, made this inexpensive tv a great bargain!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ajninnyc
Springfield, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Slim design with swivel stand
10/8/2012

Customer review by Coreman

5.0 stars 10/8/2012 by Coreman
by Coreman

I compared this TV with Visio, Sony and LG in the same price range -with HiSense being on the low end - and I am quite pleased with my purchase. What really made this TV/Model especially atttractive for me was the very slim design (half or less the width of the Visio) and the fact the stand was an easy to use "swivel" stand, so I don't have to move the entire base. Had plenty of connectivity, including VGA for older systems to plug into. (I would prefer the cable plug-in to be on the bottom as opposed to the side, as cables tend to be inflexible and perhaps are visible somewwhat.) Also, it has an LED/LCD screen, which is really a blend of the better technologies. LED adds brightness. Speakers are in the back, not front, so don't expect superior sound projection without adding speakers. BTW, the 3 year extended warranty on this model was less than more costly ones, so I am quite pleased with the TV, warranty and value overall.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Coreman
Linconton, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Buy
10/19/2012

Customer review by peachy12

5.0 stars 10/19/2012 by peachy12
by peachy12

I was at my local Walmart and they had this TV on sale because it was a display model. I wasn't sure about the TV but for the price I couldn't resist. Like other purchasers, there was a clicking or popping sound when I changed the channel. I went directly to the site, downloaded the firmware on my jump drive and plugged that into the TV. Once the update processed and I powered the TV back on, everything was great. http://hisense-usa.com/support/firmware.asp This is definitely a great TV. The picture is amazing and for me the sound is perferct (I'm not too keen on the TV being loud so my volume is never past about 14 so no problems there#. The TV is very thin, there is a swivel base, 3 HDMI ports, a USB port for service #firmware updates) and AV ports. I would definitely recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
peachy12
Duluth, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GREAT for the price!
10/13/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/13/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This SLIM Flat screen tv has meet all my I wanted from a tv and much more! Great picture from all angles, great sound, easy set up and light weight. Would recommend this to anyone. I did my research on this brand before I purchased it, and was surprised on who makes this brand. So just because it doesn't have the name brand on it doesn't mean it's not a great quality tv. Love the swivel stand was the only one that had it in compairsion to others even name brand. So many features and the big plus not only the price for the size but the nice thing if not connected to anything such as dvd or laptop it shuts its self down. It also has an energy saver button and I have not notice any difference in my electric bill since this purchase and its on 95 % of the day. So I just LOVE, LOVE the Hisense 42".

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 73 total reviews
1-20 of 73 reviews