Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1189 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

1189 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

1189 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
739
4 stars
281
3 stars
47
2 stars
34
1 stars
88
1-20 of 995 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 995 total reviews
1-20 of 995 reviews
Works great... free map updates.
9/30/2012

Customer review by itsogood

5.0 stars 9/30/2012 by itsogood
by itsogood

I like the way this garmin works compared to my old one. The free map updates for life is a great deal. You almost have to pay as much for the updates on the old one as you would for the price of the new one. (Around $70) The lane change feature tells you which lane you need to be in pretty far ahead of time and once you learn how to use that feature it is really helpful especially if you are in an unfamiliar area. It also shows a little thumbnail of the traffic sign you will see when you are approaching the turnoff ahead. There are two areas to look at when you are coming to the turnoff... one is the split screen that pops up and the other is the upper left corner that shows you which lane, of all the lanes that are coming up, to be in. Took me a couple days of using it to figure all that out. Having a larger screen is another great aspect of this GPS. I got the re manufactured model and it looks and works just like a new one. Hope it holds up as long as my previous garmin. Definitely recommend this one if you are looking for a good GPS.

Was this review helpful? (326) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
itsogood
cy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great product
12/4/2013

Customer review by Wodanaz

5.0 stars 12/4/2013 by Wodanaz
by Wodanaz

The GPS is great has a great screen and doesn't have all that stuff you never use like Bluetooth and music storage. It does have the split screen like the more expensive models do I was very impressed with the unit. I updated the software while it was charging for the first time. The Garmin new downloader is also easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (125) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wodanaz
Kansas city
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Reconditioned - have to return it & get new one
7/12/2013

Customer review by kathyatty

3.0 stars 7/12/2013 by kathyatty
by kathyatty

I got to use it for one day and it was fantastic but I noticed that some touch screen items were not entering easily. Today I needed to enter an address with an "l" in it and it wouldn't enter it for anything. That means I have to take it back, and yes I am going to try again because the screen and information was fantastic. I was disappointed that it didn't have [or I couldn't find] the "where am I" button which made it so easy for me to enter places I go to frequently in my old garmin [which has stopped talking to me.] conclusion: if you have the money buy it new. If you're on a budget probably get the extra warranty. Mine failed immediately so I can return it no problem, but it makes me a little doubtful about the reconditioned ones. [My old one stopped talking to me after about 2 years use but it was very cheap.] Now my eyes are not as good and I need the big screen which is amazing. Also I have the dashboard beanbag holder and the big one seemed to transfer to it easily. I still vote for garmin over anything else.

Was this review helpful? (97) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kathyatty
scottsdale,az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/7/2013

Customer review by smilingDave

5.0 stars 10/7/2013 by smilingDave
by smilingDave

The unit I received seemed to be ,"never used", in original packing. No scratches or marks on it. I used it the same day to get directions to a destination I had never gone to before. I was very impressed by the operation and accuracy of the unit. As well as the voice and the way the graphics presented the road. Very easy to use and navigate. I like the local speed being presented on the screen as well as my actual vehicle speed. This is the third GPS I have purchased. I have borrowed a few others and by far this one is the best! One thing I wanted was the lifetime maps, which this one has. Its' my rule not to buy refurbished electronics products. Buying this one, I am completely satisified. Again, impressed with this unit. And the price! Great deal!

Was this review helpful? (77) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
smilingDave
Hampton,ct.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great product, received as described...
10/27/2013

Customer review by gagarwal

5.0 stars 10/27/2013 by gagarwal
by gagarwal

I was about to buy a lower model (42LM) from Garmin, it was costing me $150+ including taxes and shipping. Then luckily I saw this product (50LM) on Walmart. Although this one is refurbished and initially I was hesitant to but this, but after reading some positive reviews I gave it a try. And I am satisfied now with my decision. The product came as described on website and works great. It is neat and clean.

Was this review helpful? (79) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gagarwal
Bellevue, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Defective when recieved.
8/31/2012

Customer review by thesaurus

1.0 stars 8/31/2012 by thesaurus
by thesaurus

I Don't know what Garmin calls "Refurbished" but mine was defective right out of the box. Don't they test these things before they ship them out "Refurbished"? The keyboard page would enter the letter to the right of the one pressed and Couldn't enter the letters on the right side of the page at all. Also the "Done " would not work. No owners manual per discription.

Was this review helpful? (151) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thesaurus
Kitty Hawk, N.C.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
I like Garmin
10/28/2013

Customer review by Nzungo

4.0 stars 10/28/2013 by Nzungo
by Nzungo

I like the speed of operation, quick startup, and general operation. I prefer Garmin over Magellan or TomTom. With any GPS its good to get used to how it works in light traffic with lots of easy pull-off opportunities so you don't become distracted. Most of them have a simulation mode where you can experiment in your home. I'm still getting used to the finer operating nuances. I had a previous Garmin that had a female voice with a British accent - I miss that. Haven't figured out how to get it to display arrival time instead of time until arrival. I personally like to get altitude, which Garmin has - but I wish you could display several items when driving long distances including more info on waypoints - especially when you are the 'navigator' not the driver. On ANY GPS I wish they would give you the next closest address if it can't find the address you've entered.

Was this review helpful? (69) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nzungo
World Traveler
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent
7/17/2012

Customer review by Ronrun

5.0 stars 7/17/2012 by Ronrun
by Ronrun

great GPS...simple and easy to see

Was this review helpful? (65) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ronrun
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
DISAPPOINTED SCREEN FILTHY AND SUCTION CUP MOUNT
11/19/2013

Customer review by SunniDayfifty

2.0 stars 11/19/2013 by SunniDayfifty
by SunniDayfifty

I just received today and upon first look the Unit was very dirty with fingerprints on screen. I looked at other items in box and the suction cup mount has something sticky on it as well as a dry thick substance all over it. I thought when I read the details that they cleaned refurbished products before they were resold??? Not in my unlucky case I guess. I don't know what the reason it was returned the first time but I would need to totally disinfect before I could use so I'm going to have to return and buy New one. I didn't mine it being refurbished but not in this condition

Was this review helpful? (51) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SunniDayfifty
Oklahoma City OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
great product at a great price
11/16/2013

Customer review by CarlDV

4.0 stars 11/16/2013 by CarlDV
by CarlDV

The Nuvi arrived as expected in new condition. The menus are very straightforward and the item performed well. It started up fine and ran without any problem. The assembly was easy and the screen was bright and clear. I hooked it up to my laptop and updated the lower 48 maps as the instructions said. That part took a while, but the unit does come with lifetime unlimited maps, so the whole process was easy. I have taken it on one road trip (about 500 miles) and the NUVI worked well, save for one glitch where it led me across a shopping mall parking lot for no reason. I especially like the big screen. I use reading glasses, but not for driving, so the extra large screen is great. I can read it without glasses. Also, this item being reconditioned, I decided to get the extended warranty. The process for the warranty went just like Walmart described; no problems. The item even arrived in 5 working days!

Was this review helpful? (79) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CarlDV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice product - I bought two of them...
12/9/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 12/9/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This looked like a nice step up from my 3-year old Tom Tom 3.5" screen (which didn't have lifetime maps and they wanted more than the cost of the unit for the maps). The larger screen is very nice, the touch controls more sensitive/intuitive than the Tom Tom, and I really liked the ability of the software to "clone" the favorites in each device between each other so that I could just keep one in each vehicle w/its charger and dash mount. The unit is heavy, but the glass mount appears to be very strong in suction (vs. my Tom Tom who's mounts fell off both of my windows over a year ago and won't re-stick). I have only had these for a few weeks but would definitely recommend them at this point. The Wal-Mart black Friday price was great - less than the cost of a year's worth of Tom Tom's maps, and this has lifetime map updates included. Both units were clean, professionally packaged, and in good condition vs. a couple of the review comments that I noted before buying the first unit.

Was this review helpful? (54) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
excellent value
9/28/2012

Customer review by rotaryboy

5.0 stars 9/28/2012 by rotaryboy
by rotaryboy

Good basic navigation system with nice large screen for very little money. Battery life could be better is my only complaint. GPS locks on to satellite much faster than my older Nuvi. I only paid $1 for shipping and Walmart got this to me overnight...outstanding.

Was this review helpful? (44) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rotaryboy
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Just as good as new.
9/28/2012

Customer review by Ytownguy

5.0 stars 9/28/2012 by Ytownguy
by Ytownguy

The Refurb NUVI 50 is a great bang for your buck..same warranty as a new unit.Lifetime maps,5" screen,user friendly...no bells or whistles just works.

Was this review helpful? (40) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ytownguy
ne ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product and awesome value for a 5" GPS
8/20/2012

Customer review by PewaukeeIronman

4.0 stars 8/20/2012 by PewaukeeIronman
by PewaukeeIronman

This product meets all of my expectations. I was very nervous after the first unit I received failed right out of the box. Thanks to the great Walmart returns policy I marched it back to my store, received a full refund and ordered a second unit. This one works great. I recently gave it a good workout using it for a two hour trip. Road construction along the way caused me to use the detour function multiple times. Every time the unit picked a good alternative. The on-screen graphics aren't what you'd get from a tablet or smart phone display but you can't buy one of those for $100 either. I'd recommend this unit.

Was this review helpful? (38) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PewaukeeIronman
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Lifetime Map alone is well worth the price!
11/7/2012

Customer review by Jiggz858

4.0 stars 11/7/2012 by Jiggz858
by Jiggz858

Plain Vanilla no fuzz great working GPS with large screen. Virtually brand new except when you try registering it is already registered. Had to email Garmin support and email a copy of the receipt to transfer registration to my name and then was avail the lifetime map. Saved about $40 from a brand new one with a little glitch in the registration. Is it worth the hassle? I guess so.

Was this review helpful? (37) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jiggz858
WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great GPS for long distance travel
6/12/2012

Customer review by kishp

4.0 stars 6/12/2012 by kishp
by kishp

This GPS is great and very useful in my last few trips. Only thing I did not find how to avoid local roads within the city.

Was this review helpful? (69) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kishp
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Garmin 50LM
10/24/2013

Customer review by JerryLongIsland

4.0 stars 10/24/2013 by JerryLongIsland
by JerryLongIsland

Upgraded from a 255. Always complained that the 255 took forever to find satellites. This thing comes up fast and finds signals fast. Nice clear, well defined screen. Battery life is good (about 3 hours) but not as great as the 255 was (about 5-6 hours). You need to download the latest Garmin WebUpdater to your PC/Mac and be very patient with the new software and map updates. Make sure you have at least 2Gb of room on your pc too! It took a couple of downloads and re-connections to Garmin to get everything, but now its fast. Well worth the upgrade. Very happy with this investment.

Was this review helpful? (31) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JerryLongIsland
Long Island
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very good for the money
9/8/2012

Customer review by keepyourmoney2

4.0 stars 9/8/2012 by keepyourmoney2
by keepyourmoney2

After a Tom Tom, a Megellan, a Garmin, I finally now have this Nuvi 50LM which looks and works great. My upgrade to the latest map went easily but took about 2 1/2 hours. My best like is the speed limit on highways display which is very accurate. My dislikes are it's too complicated and takes too many steps to find anything other then what's closest to your current location. Also it's no different then it's competitors, the downloaded manual doesn't tell you everything, just the things you can probably figure out on your own. What I would like to add is a step to go directly to my map destination screen using only one button press. Also the screenshot option should have a way to display my screen captures back on the display, it's a useless feature. Also an up/down volume button on top of the unit or at least a mute button on top of the unit. I've found all gps's have features I like but none have all the features I like.

Was this review helpful? (29) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
keepyourmoney2
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Exceptional GPS!
1/24/2013

Customer review by Seacoastscene

5.0 stars 1/24/2013 by Seacoastscene
by Seacoastscene

I was skeptical about buying a refurbished GPS, but with Walmart's great guarantee, I went for it. I was amazed when it arrived--it looks totally brand new!! The best part was when I used it. It is very user-friendly and easy. You can't go wrong with lifetime map updates. I bought this Garmin to replace my high-end Tomtom. The Tomtom was terrible at giving the best directions to get from point A to B. It gave a diferent route each time I travelled to the same destination. The routes it gave were by no means the most convenient. Very Frustrating! The Garmin gives you either the fastest or the shortest route--period. And, the routes it chooses are sensible ones. The voice clarity is excellent and I love the 5 inch screen. One of the best features was Walmart's price. I paid HALF the msrp for this reconditioned gps. Yea, Walmart; go Garmin!

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Seacoastscene
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great units for the money
10/30/2013

Customer review by Bowup

5.0 stars 10/30/2013 by Bowup
by Bowup

Have had the units about two weeks, and so far, so good. Easy to setup, easy to read. The units looked brand new. Not a mark on them.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bowup
Tampa, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 995 total reviews
1-20 of 995 reviews