Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 104 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

104 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

104 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

99%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
68
4 stars
29
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
1-20 of 88 total reviews
99%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 88 total reviews
1-20 of 88 reviews
A review of Emergency food bucket for a month
6/19/2013

Customer review by Chocodoggy

5.0 stars 6/19/2013 by Chocodoggy
by Chocodoggy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I must say that I was quite impressed with the bucket and how heavy it was. I have scene some others at different stores and was disappointed at how light weight and poor the food quality seemed. When this arrived, I couldn't believe how heavy the 6 Gal. pale was, its very heavy and looks like it would supply lots of calories for the month. Now I have heard that this dehydrated food doesnt have much in the way of Protein, but you can subsidize that by purchasing some black beans, pinto beans, stuff like that, which has lots of protein. I feel that if you had that along with the dehydrated food, it would work pretty well. I haven't tested my food yet, but like I said, very impressed with the size, weight and presentation of whats inside of the bucket, there are several pictures of the food and it looks pretty good. I will try some out this week and come back to do one more Review. So basically this was a review for how much food you get for 30 days for only $99 and for how well packaged it is and how nice the photo illustrations are of the food included! So far, I am really impressed by this company, Augason Farms. Also, you get a total of 1857 calories a day from this but like I said, you will also need to get some protein in your regiment which can be done with canned beans of various sorts from the store. You can keep canned food for probably as long as this is good for which is 26 years. Canned food will last much longer and if it goes bad you will know because the cans will start to bloat and bulge. Take Care hope this helped a little but like I said, check back in the next few weeks and I will also rate the taste of this food. TJ

Was this review helpful? (109) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chocodoggy
Phoenix, Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It IS for emergencies...
11/28/2012

Customer review by Preppergirl3

3.0 stars 11/28/2012 by Preppergirl3
by Preppergirl3
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought 3 pails. REALLY DIFFICULT to remove lid. First pail had small rip in oatmeal, and 4 cheese powdered bags had leaks in their seal. Second pail had tear in oatmeal, and 2 cheese powdered bags had leaks in their seal. The third seemed ok. The bags felt powdery on the outside but I couldn't find what leaked. When repacking I removed water bottle and "fire round" to give food more room as it was obvious the items being compressed in the pail which caused the bags to open and the inside of the lid caused the oatmeal to tear as it is the top packed item. Items are sealed in some sort of non see through plastic bags. The oatmeal is in Mylar. Overall product packaging gets a 3 (barely). I can't rate te food as it was purchased for emergency and have not tried it. Wish the bucket had a "twist" lid instead of a "peel open" that took 2 people, pliers and a hand towel to protect my fingers. Don't regret purchase.. Price is good considering how much you get.. Can't re seal pouches once opened though except Mylar.

Was this review helpful? (128) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Preppergirl3
Palm Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Several of the packets had holes
2/13/2013

Customer review by Wizzzard

1.0 stars 2/13/2013 by Wizzzard
by Wizzzard
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I received the pail and it appeared to be in good condition externally. There was no damage to the shipping container or the pail. The lid was very difficult to remove because there is a plastic ring that has to be torn off, sort of like a zipper. This had to be cut with a knife. On opening the lid, I immediately smelled food and saw some powder on the outside of the mylar bags. The manufacturer claims that this food is supposed to have a 25 year storage and that it is either nitrogen flushed or has oxygen absorbers. Neither of these are any good if the bags are punctured. It appeared that the sharp edges of the bags had punctured the other bags. In all, 4 of the bags were leaking powder or other contents. This appears to have been a result of rough handling when the items were packed into the pail. I requested a full refund from Walmart, and to their credit, they issued a full refund promptly. I wouldn't buy any more of this item for the reasons stated. I haven't eaten any of it, so I can't comment on that.

Was this review helpful? (145) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wizzzard
Moorefield, WV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Food, But Needs Better Packaging
6/29/2016

Customer review by kelly

5.0 stars 6/29/2016 by kelly
by kelly

The food quality is excellent and you get your moneys worth! But one of the packages broke during shipping and it fell all over the other bags which I had to clean off individually. For the price though you really can't beat it. The packaging seems to be a recurring issue according to the other reviews. They need to fix that.

Was this review helpful? (13) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kelly
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent way to begin or diversify food storage.
7/21/2012

Customer review by WolfNotSheep

5.0 stars 7/21/2012 by WolfNotSheep
by WolfNotSheep

The Auguson Farms 30-Day Emergency Pail is essentially a 6-gallon bucket filled with several large mylar (heavy duty foil) pouches. Each pouch contains a different freeze-dried food product. There is also a food planner that illustrates exactly what should be eaten and when in order to make the contents of the bucket last for either 30 or 45 days. Each pouch is individually sealed and has a Ziploc type zipper to remain fresh once opened. There is very little spare room left in the bucket after all the pouches are piled in. The lid will also come sealed to the bucket, so a good bit of prying is in order to remove it. I have not opened or tasted any of the products yet but have had plenty of other Auguson Farms products in the past and have always been very satisfied with them. Hands down I would recommend this product to anyone (aside from my enemies, they can starve). And I will definitely be buying again.

Was this review helpful? (269) (63)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WolfNotSheep
Central Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Good value.
7/7/2016

Customer review by Passingthrough

4.0 stars 7/7/2016 by Passingthrough
by Passingthrough
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have tried most of the items in the bucket and they taste pretty good. The portions seem a little small and it takes longer to prepare than I like for an emergency but at this price its worth getting. I will get another one of these and not open it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Passingthrough
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great deal on long term storage food
7/6/2016

Customer review by Jason

5.0 stars 7/6/2016 by Jason
by Jason
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great deal on long term storage food plus water filter and fire starter. Handy packaging plus delivery was fast and free.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jason
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Value when they were $80
7/13/2016

Customer review by southerninnovations

5.0 stars 7/13/2016 by southerninnovations
by southerninnovations
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

They were selling for $80 which was a fantastic value in my opinion. Doesn't take up alot of room. Stackable. 20 year shelf life. My buckets were made in April.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
southerninnovations
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GOOD AMOINT OF FOOD FOR THE PRICE !
7/1/2016

Customer review by OPena

4.0 stars 7/1/2016 by OPena
by OPena
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have not tasted the food yet but I am happy with the quantity for the price and it arrived it good condition .

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OPena
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent product for the dollar.
7/3/2016

Customer review by Thundrn

5.0 stars 7/3/2016 by Thundrn
by Thundrn
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have not tried it yet as it has it's purpose which I am sure will be used soon. This morning out of Alaska, "a 4,000 foot Landslid took place". The entire 4,000 foot mountain, slid down! The Earth is expanding and heating fast. I touched a 2 inch pipe rail fence painted with several coats of exterior Tanemic Marine Paint. The sun was heavily clouded all day and touched the Pipe Fence at around 11 am and it was to hot to leave your hand on. No sun, heavy marine layer, yet the radiation from the sun has it so hot, you cannot touch it. I will be ordering more as it is a good price for what you get. It is a telling set of facts as to why the Core of the Planet is heating up.

Was this review helpful? (3) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thundrn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Must have
6/4/2016

Customer review by FringedToedLizard

5.0 stars 6/4/2016 by FringedToedLizard
by FringedToedLizard
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I would recommend that you get a bucket for each member of your family. It is quality food and provides 1800 calories a day.

Was this review helpful? (9) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FringedToedLizard
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love this product
7/19/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/19/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Good value great price!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/14/2012

Customer review by Blnzrfn

5.0 stars 7/14/2012 by Blnzrfn
by Blnzrfn

I haven't broken the seal because I don't want to compromise the contents and it's 25 year shelf life . I read reviews before I purchased this product . I read it was a high quality product . It has been recommended that you tape a measuring cup and lighter and pot to lid so you can grab it and go . Also that you figure extra water in your emergency plan for rehydration of this product . I plan to buy one for each of my 5 siblings for Christmas . Hope this was helpful . Better to have and not need then need and not have .

Was this review helpful? (260) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Blnzrfn
Northern IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great
7/17/2016

Customer review by Manaralo

5.0 stars 7/17/2016 by Manaralo
by Manaralo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Plenty of food for a month at very good price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Manaralo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best deal for the money
12/18/2012

Customer review by Kret

5.0 stars 12/18/2012 by Kret
by Kret

I bought one for me and one for my sister as we have been talking about prepping for an emergency situation for awhile. I opened mine when I got it to check it out. Maybe I was doing something wrong but it took me about 45 minutes just to open the bucket. When I finally got it open I took everything out to check it. There was a tiny hole in one of the mylar bags which was not a big deal because I wanted to try one of the meals. Pretty tasty but I wouldn't want to be on the diet in this bucket for too long. Mostly starches. That's okay too because now I can buy other emergency meals to have more variety. It is a great way to get started with any emergency plans you have for you and your family. Great price and fast, free delivery. Walmart undersold everyone again.

Was this review helpful? (45) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kret
Baltimore
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
30 day bucket
7/14/2016

Customer review by Rodgerc

4.0 stars 7/14/2016 by Rodgerc
by Rodgerc
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I only gave them a four because I have not opened the Bucket to inspect its contents.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rodgerc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Did I Pay a Hundred Bucks?
9/9/2014

Customer review by mrblueu

5.0 stars 9/9/2014 by mrblueu
by mrblueu
Top 10 contributor

Maybe I did pay a hundred bucks per pail but I could have sworn it was more like 50 or 75. I think this product has increased in price considerably since a few years ago when I purchased. I purchased two of them and I have yet to open either. I don't believe zombies are going to get us. I don't believe we need to stock pile a bunker under ground. No ground or rock is gonna help us when the end arrives. With that said, I really like the Augason Farms products. I think their great in many situations such as simple every day living. I live in a rural area and it's always much handier to have plenty of food in stock. The products also give peace of mind. With the crazy weather we have these days, not much telling when an ice storm will hit, power goes out for days, and it's good to know one has something to eat besides potato chips and cookies. One thing I wanted to stress about these is the temperature storing. It's best to store them in a moderate temperature, dry cool area. I forgot about that and I had two of these pails sitting in the shop for two years, no heat or cooling. The contents are probably ok but keep that in mind.

Was this review helpful? (25) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mrblueu
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Top 10 contributor
Arrived as packaged
7/8/2016

Customer review by polysign

4.0 stars 7/8/2016 by polysign
by polysign
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

of course I haven't opened emergency food supply, so other than what is listed on package I can not speak about the ingredients. emergency supplies are important to have

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
polysign
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Opening the container cuts storage life to a year
9/1/2015

Customer review by Eblingus

3.0 stars 9/1/2015 by Eblingus
by Eblingus

FYI> According to the packaging label, if you open the plastic bucket it comes it, it cuts the storage life to only a year, even if you don't open the food containers inside.

Was this review helpful? (30) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Eblingus
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good starting point for home preparedness
9/29/2012

Customer review by MFrancis

4.0 stars 9/29/2012 by MFrancis
by MFrancis

In the past I have been a live-a-board sailor and multiple times fitted out a boat for 30-90 days of sailing. It is a daunting task. I wasn't familiar with emergency kits until they were demonstrated on TV. After reading buyer reviews on multiple kits options decided this would best suit my needs. It is a good value but I made a few additions 1. Added minimum 3 - 1 litre bottles of water. The first days of an emergency water might be scarce 2. The Aquamira bottle included is very nice and good for 100 gallons of water . . . however Aquamira also sells Water Treatment Drops (1oz) as a cheap backup and treats 30 gallons. Chemical treatment is consider a superior guard against bad water. Est cost $12 3. The Fire On disk is an emergency fire starter ONLY. Estimating 30 days requires heating fuel for 20 hours a safe cooking stove is essential. A pocket stove is easy to find, plus add sufficient fuel that works with your stove. Make sure you have at least two types of fire starters. COST EST $30 4.. To conserve fuel a sailor are prepared to make two meals at a time and put the 2nd meal in a wide mouth thermos (a 28 oz plastic Thermos with a sturdy built in handle works well) A wide mouth Nalgene bottle would NOT be an appropriate alternative. COST EST $8 5. It appears this kit requires cooking every meal which is unrealistic if your group includes kids or the elderly. 1-2 boxes of crackers w/peanut butter, canned cheese or foil pouch tuna or chicken are a cheap solution. These can be rotated yearly which adds to your long term cost and a serious omission of this particular kit. COST EST $20 7. No flavor enhances was a surprise. Some long term food storage kits have up to 20% of the total contents/calories as Kool-aid or Gaterade like drinks. I added 24 individual servings foil wrapped water enhancers designed to be poured into a liter water bottle They are easy to find. COST EST $8 8. The kit may be nutritionally sound but I added several bags of dried fruit, nuts and multi-serving pouches of vegetables.These can be purchased on line or at a local camping store. COST EST $20 9. In times of stress, sweets are an obvious moral boost. Fun size M & M's, individual servings of hot chocolate mix instant coffee, a couple freeze dried Mountain House desserts add to the overall cost but if you are 'addicted' to eating sweets or coffee you might not be able to live without them COST EST $24 10. Add a measuring cup, a cooking pot, a metal cup and plate, plus 2 or 3 1 oz purse size hand sanitizers and two dry wash cloth, aluminum foil and coffee filters. Most can be purchased at a dollar store. COST EST $12 11. The county extension office offered a class in homeland security and recommends several screw cap plastic bottles be added to a food storage kit to secure dry-powdered food or keep uneaten loose food. A recycled plastic peanut butter jar and a open mouth mayonnaise jar were suggested 12. An additional safeguard to consider is a 72-hour MRE kit which may be unnecessary but me I'm a bit uneasy having the bulk of emergency food to be from the same source. COST $38 All the above suggestions can be put in a zippered canvas bag or back pack and secured to the Augason kit with a clip or a bungy cord. Sailing journals often mention the quality of food available is a deal breaker to how well an individual tolerates adversity. The items suggested above adds $180 but likely can stretch a 30-45 day kit into a 60 day kit which makes the purchase of the Augason 300 meal kit plus add-ons still an affordable option for home preparedness.

Was this review helpful? (541) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MFrancis
SE Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
1-20 of 88 total reviews
1-20 of 88 reviews