Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 91 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

91 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

91 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

99%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
59
4 stars
25
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
1-20 of 75 total reviews
99%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 75 total reviews
1-20 of 75 reviews
A review of Emergency food bucket for a month
6/19/2013

Customer review by Chocodoggy

5.0 stars 6/19/2013 by Chocodoggy
by Chocodoggy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I must say that I was quite impressed with the bucket and how heavy it was. I have scene some others at different stores and was disappointed at how light weight and poor the food quality seemed. When this arrived, I couldn't believe how heavy the 6 Gal. pale was, its very heavy and looks like it would supply lots of calories for the month. Now I have heard that this dehydrated food doesnt have much in the way of Protein, but you can subsidize that by purchasing some black beans, pinto beans, stuff like that, which has lots of protein. I feel that if you had that along with the dehydrated food, it would work pretty well. I haven't tested my food yet, but like I said, very impressed with the size, weight and presentation of whats inside of the bucket, there are several pictures of the food and it looks pretty good. I will try some out this week and come back to do one more Review. So basically this was a review for how much food you get for 30 days for only $99 and for how well packaged it is and how nice the photo illustrations are of the food included! So far, I am really impressed by this company, Augason Farms. Also, you get a total of 1857 calories a day from this but like I said, you will also need to get some protein in your regiment which can be done with canned beans of various sorts from the store. You can keep canned food for probably as long as this is good for which is 26 years. Canned food will last much longer and if it goes bad you will know because the cans will start to bloat and bulge. Take Care hope this helped a little but like I said, check back in the next few weeks and I will also rate the taste of this food. TJ

Was this review helpful? (65) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chocodoggy
Phoenix, Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It IS for emergencies...
11/28/2012

Customer review by Preppergirl3

3.0 stars 11/28/2012 by Preppergirl3
by Preppergirl3
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought 3 pails. REALLY DIFFICULT to remove lid. First pail had small rip in oatmeal, and 4 cheese powdered bags had leaks in their seal. Second pail had tear in oatmeal, and 2 cheese powdered bags had leaks in their seal. The third seemed ok. The bags felt powdery on the outside but I couldn't find what leaked. When repacking I removed water bottle and "fire round" to give food more room as it was obvious the items being compressed in the pail which caused the bags to open and the inside of the lid caused the oatmeal to tear as it is the top packed item. Items are sealed in some sort of non see through plastic bags. The oatmeal is in Mylar. Overall product packaging gets a 3 (barely). I can't rate te food as it was purchased for emergency and have not tried it. Wish the bucket had a "twist" lid instead of a "peel open" that took 2 people, pliers and a hand towel to protect my fingers. Don't regret purchase.. Price is good considering how much you get.. Can't re seal pouches once opened though except Mylar.

Was this review helpful? (82) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Preppergirl3
Palm Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Several of the packets had holes
2/13/2013

Customer review by Wizzzard

1.0 stars 2/13/2013 by Wizzzard
by Wizzzard
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I received the pail and it appeared to be in good condition externally. There was no damage to the shipping container or the pail. The lid was very difficult to remove because there is a plastic ring that has to be torn off, sort of like a zipper. This had to be cut with a knife. On opening the lid, I immediately smelled food and saw some powder on the outside of the mylar bags. The manufacturer claims that this food is supposed to have a 25 year storage and that it is either nitrogen flushed or has oxygen absorbers. Neither of these are any good if the bags are punctured. It appeared that the sharp edges of the bags had punctured the other bags. In all, 4 of the bags were leaking powder or other contents. This appears to have been a result of rough handling when the items were packed into the pail. I requested a full refund from Walmart, and to their credit, they issued a full refund promptly. I wouldn't buy any more of this item for the reasons stated. I haven't eaten any of it, so I can't comment on that.

Was this review helpful? (104) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wizzzard
Moorefield, WV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent way to begin or diversify food storage.
7/21/2012

Customer review by WolfNotSheep

5.0 stars 7/21/2012 by WolfNotSheep
by WolfNotSheep

The Auguson Farms 30-Day Emergency Pail is essentially a 6-gallon bucket filled with several large mylar (heavy duty foil) pouches. Each pouch contains a different freeze-dried food product. There is also a food planner that illustrates exactly what should be eaten and when in order to make the contents of the bucket last for either 30 or 45 days. Each pouch is individually sealed and has a Ziploc type zipper to remain fresh once opened. There is very little spare room left in the bucket after all the pouches are piled in. The lid will also come sealed to the bucket, so a good bit of prying is in order to remove it. I have not opened or tasted any of the products yet but have had plenty of other Auguson Farms products in the past and have always been very satisfied with them. Hands down I would recommend this product to anyone (aside from my enemies, they can starve). And I will definitely be buying again.

Was this review helpful? (242) (43)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WolfNotSheep
Central Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Best deal for the money
12/18/2012

Customer review by Kret

5.0 stars 12/18/2012 by Kret
by Kret

I bought one for me and one for my sister as we have been talking about prepping for an emergency situation for awhile. I opened mine when I got it to check it out. Maybe I was doing something wrong but it took me about 45 minutes just to open the bucket. When I finally got it open I took everything out to check it. There was a tiny hole in one of the mylar bags which was not a big deal because I wanted to try one of the meals. Pretty tasty but I wouldn't want to be on the diet in this bucket for too long. Mostly starches. That's okay too because now I can buy other emergency meals to have more variety. It is a great way to get started with any emergency plans you have for you and your family. Great price and fast, free delivery. Walmart undersold everyone again.

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kret
Baltimore
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Did I Pay a Hundred Bucks?
9/9/2014

Customer review by mrblueu

5.0 stars 9/9/2014 by mrblueu
by mrblueu
Top 10 contributor

Maybe I did pay a hundred bucks per pail but I could have sworn it was more like 50 or 75. I think this product has increased in price considerably since a few years ago when I purchased. I purchased two of them and I have yet to open either. I don't believe zombies are going to get us. I don't believe we need to stock pile a bunker under ground. No ground or rock is gonna help us when the end arrives. With that said, I really like the Augason Farms products. I think their great in many situations such as simple every day living. I live in a rural area and it's always much handier to have plenty of food in stock. The products also give peace of mind. With the crazy weather we have these days, not much telling when an ice storm will hit, power goes out for days, and it's good to know one has something to eat besides potato chips and cookies. One thing I wanted to stress about these is the temperature storing. It's best to store them in a moderate temperature, dry cool area. I forgot about that and I had two of these pails sitting in the shop for two years, no heat or cooling. The contents are probably ok but keep that in mind.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mrblueu
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Top 10 contributor
I hope you have a good water supply.
12/22/2015

Customer review by 1Name4Me

4.0 stars 12/22/2015 by 1Name4Me
by 1Name4Me

I got mine off Amazon (for less). I only tried the potato soup. You have to use a lot of water to make it a soup texture. It's really thick otherwise and frankly won't cook properly. Also the hard bits of dehydrated onions take a long time to soften and yes, you guessed it tons of water. It tastes great but super salty for my tastes. I added even more and more water to dilute the saltiness. In the end, it was tasty but it took a lot more water than you would think you'll need to prepare these meals.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1Name4Me
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
7/14/2012

Customer review by Blnzrfn

5.0 stars 7/14/2012 by Blnzrfn
by Blnzrfn

I haven't broken the seal because I don't want to compromise the contents and it's 25 year shelf life . I read reviews before I purchased this product . I read it was a high quality product . It has been recommended that you tape a measuring cup and lighter and pot to lid so you can grab it and go . Also that you figure extra water in your emergency plan for rehydration of this product . I plan to buy one for each of my 5 siblings for Christmas . Hope this was helpful . Better to have and not need then need and not have .

Was this review helpful? (242) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Blnzrfn
Northern IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
super fast shipping
1/27/2016

Customer review by allen

5.0 stars 1/27/2016 by allen
by allen

opened it up every thing looked good didn't fit back in the bucket. I think that's a good thing.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
allen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good starting point for home preparedness
9/29/2012

Customer review by MFrancis

4.0 stars 9/29/2012 by MFrancis
by MFrancis

In the past I have been a live-a-board sailor and multiple times fitted out a boat for 30-90 days of sailing. It is a daunting task. I wasn't familiar with emergency kits until they were demonstrated on TV. After reading buyer reviews on multiple kits options decided this would best suit my needs. It is a good value but I made a few additions 1. Added minimum 3 - 1 litre bottles of water. The first days of an emergency water might be scarce 2. The Aquamira bottle included is very nice and good for 100 gallons of water . . . however Aquamira also sells Water Treatment Drops (1oz) as a cheap backup and treats 30 gallons. Chemical treatment is consider a superior guard against bad water. Est cost $12 3. The Fire On disk is an emergency fire starter ONLY. Estimating 30 days requires heating fuel for 20 hours a safe cooking stove is essential. A pocket stove is easy to find, plus add sufficient fuel that works with your stove. Make sure you have at least two types of fire starters. COST EST $30 4.. To conserve fuel a sailor are prepared to make two meals at a time and put the 2nd meal in a wide mouth thermos (a 28 oz plastic Thermos with a sturdy built in handle works well) A wide mouth Nalgene bottle would NOT be an appropriate alternative. COST EST $8 5. It appears this kit requires cooking every meal which is unrealistic if your group includes kids or the elderly. 1-2 boxes of crackers w/peanut butter, canned cheese or foil pouch tuna or chicken are a cheap solution. These can be rotated yearly which adds to your long term cost and a serious omission of this particular kit. COST EST $20 7. No flavor enhances was a surprise. Some long term food storage kits have up to 20% of the total contents/calories as Kool-aid or Gaterade like drinks. I added 24 individual servings foil wrapped water enhancers designed to be poured into a liter water bottle They are easy to find. COST EST $8 8. The kit may be nutritionally sound but I added several bags of dried fruit, nuts and multi-serving pouches of vegetables.These can be purchased on line or at a local camping store. COST EST $20 9. In times of stress, sweets are an obvious moral boost. Fun size M & M's, individual servings of hot chocolate mix instant coffee, a couple freeze dried Mountain House desserts add to the overall cost but if you are 'addicted' to eating sweets or coffee you might not be able to live without them COST EST $24 10. Add a measuring cup, a cooking pot, a metal cup and plate, plus 2 or 3 1 oz purse size hand sanitizers and two dry wash cloth, aluminum foil and coffee filters. Most can be purchased at a dollar store. COST EST $12 11. The county extension office offered a class in homeland security and recommends several screw cap plastic bottles be added to a food storage kit to secure dry-powdered food or keep uneaten loose food. A recycled plastic peanut butter jar and a open mouth mayonnaise jar were suggested 12. An additional safeguard to consider is a 72-hour MRE kit which may be unnecessary but me I'm a bit uneasy having the bulk of emergency food to be from the same source. COST $38 All the above suggestions can be put in a zippered canvas bag or back pack and secured to the Augason kit with a clip or a bungy cord. Sailing journals often mention the quality of food available is a deal breaker to how well an individual tolerates adversity. The items suggested above adds $180 but likely can stretch a 30-45 day kit into a 60 day kit which makes the purchase of the Augason 300 meal kit plus add-ons still an affordable option for home preparedness.

Was this review helpful? (510) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MFrancis
SE Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Only a few items are Non-GMO, Nothing is Organic
5/4/2015

Customer review by kaeandcolesmom

3.0 stars 5/4/2015 by kaeandcolesmom
by kaeandcolesmom

So, I saw some reviews that stated that Auguson Farms food is Non-GMO...and I believe I even saw someone state that their food is Organic. Obviously this is not organic food, but I did email Augason Farms and ask if the food was Non-GMO as some have stated. They said that only "some" products are Non-GMO and that it would say if a product was Non-GMO on the sales page as well as on the packaging. Also, make sure you take the total calories and divide that up between the number of servings so you know how many calories you really are getting in a day. Some of their items will tell you how many calories you get in a day, but most of the buckets just say what the total calories are inside the bucket. When I did the math, it turned out to be less than 200 calories per serving...So make sure you buy more than one serving per meal when you are calculating how much you are buying and for how many people. I still recommend this product because IF it will be "needed"...we will be happy to have food and won't be picky if it's Non-GMO or not. (I know, yuk). ;)

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kaeandcolesmom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My review isn't based on the taste of the food!
4/13/2014

Customer review by 140581

4.0 stars 4/13/2014 by 140581
by 140581
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I always wanted to get something like this since I live in Los Angeles. If a big earthquake hits, I want to be prepared to stay at home, (if it's safe to do so). With this 30 day supply, as long as I have enough water stored, I don't have to worry about going out into the chaos, (stores too damaged to open/looters/ people acting irrational). I haven't opened it, I just added it to my earthquake kit so hopefully the quality of the food is good. I recommend getting a trash can and putting this inside of it along with a first aid kit, water, blankets, etc. and close it up and put somewhere where you can access it easily in case of an emergency.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
140581
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bought as a starter into Augason farms products
7/16/2013

Customer review by HighHopesinHighHeels

5.0 stars 7/16/2013 by HighHopesinHighHeels
by HighHopesinHighHeels

We bought these as a great starter into Augason products. There is a lot of food in this pail for how much it costs. The creamy potato soup and maple brown sugar were great. A lot better than what I expected for a food storage company. I ended up purchasing several more and giving them as Christmas gifts. Its a nice back up plan for "just in case".

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HighHopesinHighHeels
Chandler, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Eatable but read comments
9/23/2012

Customer review by SurfaceChief

2.0 stars 9/23/2012 by SurfaceChief
by SurfaceChief

Tried the macaroni & cheese , the cheese powder was a pain to dissolve. If your at home safe and can cook the food like normal this is ok. It reminds me of military food, not especially great or bad. If your on the move, real freeze dried meals are the way to go, you can use cold or hot water, and they taste really good.

Was this review helpful? (49) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SurfaceChief
Carthage, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Hunting season smorgasbord
1/5/2016

Customer review by Mark

5.0 stars 1/5/2016 by Mark
by Mark

Easy meal prep little or no clean up. If you want 20 year 30 to 45 day one person prep this item offered is the best value with water filter and fire started real bargin.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mark
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Opening the container cuts storage life to a year
9/1/2015

Customer review by Eblingus

3.0 stars 9/1/2015 by Eblingus
by Eblingus

FYI> According to the packaging label, if you open the plastic bucket it comes it, it cuts the storage life to only a year, even if you don't open the food containers inside.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Eblingus
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just in case
9/29/2012

Customer review by BUTX

5.0 stars 9/29/2012 by BUTX
by BUTX
Top 250 contributor

Got two of these just in case. Checked around and this was the best deal. Not only concerning what you get, but also Walmart prices were well under any others. They have a 25 Year shelf life and mine were produced 2012. Hopefully I will never have to use these things, but now I am ready for those zombies.

Was this review helpful? (22) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BUTX
Burleson, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Top 250 contributor
Augason Farms 30-Day Emergency Pail
8/13/2012

Customer review by Spikemcm

5.0 stars 8/13/2012 by Spikemcm
by Spikemcm

Looks like a real good deal! I haven't broke the seal on the pail yet but what it contains is a real good deal I believe. I went with many of the other reviews on deciding on the quality of the product and like what I read. I think getting 30 days of food for one person is great. I don't want to open the pail till we get our supply built up a bit, then we can try em and rotate stock. But I guarantee you, if your hungry anything taste good. Plus I know you can get samples to try before you tear into your stock just to try it.

Was this review helpful? (26) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Spikemcm
Chicago Suburb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
7/8/2012

Customer review by Stashiu

5.0 stars 7/8/2012 by Stashiu
by Stashiu

This is a good deal. Great for bug-out, or bug-in. Includes a way to heat food too. long shelf life. Buy one for each member of your household.

Was this review helpful? (63) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Stashiu
Lancaster, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
GREAT PRICE
11/29/2013

Customer review by 57BELAIR

4.0 stars 11/29/2013 by 57BELAIR
by 57BELAIR
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

CAN'T BEAT THIS PRICE, COMPANYS OWN WEBSITE ASKING $40 MORE. BUT RIGHT OUT OF THE BOX, THE PLASTIC LID WAS NOT SEALED PROPERLY, I FIGURE IT SHORTEND THE LIFE OF THE FOOD TO MAYBE ONLY 10 YEARS. TOP MUST NOT HAVE BEEN SEALED PROPERLY FROM FACTORY.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
57BELAIR
OLEAN, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 75 total reviews
1-20 of 75 reviews