Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 278 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

278 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

278 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
178
4 stars
70
3 stars
18
2 stars
3
1 stars
9
1-20 of 262 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 262 total reviews
1-20 of 262 reviews
1/30/2017

Customer review by Bito

5.0 stars 1/30/2017 by Bito
by Bito
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Everything was perfect, thanks.

Bito
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not what it claims to be
1/12/2017

Customer review by MountainManTony

2.0 stars 1/12/2017 by MountainManTony
by MountainManTony

I ordered this to see if it would fit into a my prep plan but the variety they claim is simply not there. While there are probably a lot of meal types made, I ended up with Creamy potato soup and hearty vegetable chicken literally for every meal. (I think there are 2 packets of macaroni and cheese to be honest). In a survival situation where you would be feeding several people for only a few days this would be less of an issue, but for personal food security its really not the best situation. After eating the same thing for a month, I will probably have to get rid of my chickens because ill be sick of looking at anything chicken related. On the plus side, the bucket which is extra tall, is perfect for use as a field toilet or to carry water with you if you are on the move. I wouldn't recommend relying on the fire disk thingy as it has no auto-ignition potential, best to keep a pack of matches and a few Bic lighters. Some cans of Sterno. The water filtration bottle however is one saving grace. Its a decent size and allegedly can filter toxic waste and nuclear fallout contaminated mosquito infested runoff from an IADS clinic, although I wouldn't recommend putting it to the test unless you had no choice :) I also recommend having a knife or some pliers to open the lid as it is definitely sealed for the long haul. All together I will say if you need to store large amounts of rations for extended periods, this is a viable option. With a longer shelf life than civilian MRE's it is more economical to rotate the stock on a larger supply without having to eat them all the time.

MountainManTony
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent product, excellent price
5/18/2015

Customer review by PaddleFaster

5.0 stars 5/18/2015 by PaddleFaster
by PaddleFaster

Purchased this primarily to provide trail food for my son on an extended Scouting trek. Home tested the mac & cheese, cheesy broccoli rice and mashed potatoes. All very tasty, filling and easy to make. 1/3 cup servings are about right and you can ziploc store what's not used at that meal up to a year according to Augason. Only complaints are that it takes longer to cook than expected and the water recommendations are too low. Had to add water to every item as they cooked. The rice never did fully cook but was still edible. Haven't gotten to test on an actual back country trek yet but we cooked some of the home test servings on a small sterno rig and it did just fine. Never bought or used emergency / prepper food before other than MRE so nothing to compare to but I'll say for the money, quality, volume it's a solid deal. Whatever doesn't go on the scout trip we will eat at home or in the RV as supplemental to our regular groceries when needed for convenience etc.

PaddleFaster
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
L 99 ks good
1/3/2017

Customer review by Erik

5.0 stars 1/3/2017 by Erik
by Erik
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Buckets came quick and in good shape. Not going to try the food until I have to, which I hope is never.

Erik
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I wanted to like this company and their product...
12/8/2016

Customer review by Spencer

1.0 stars 12/8/2016 by Spencer
by Spencer

After a year of sitting I decided to open one of my pails. Some of the food packets were broken. Not what you want to find in your emergency food supply. Contacted the company. After over a week they finally came back and told me they would replace any broken packets. They suggested I open my other pails (I have 11 of them) and inspect for broken packets. I have decided against this. I will count on some spoilage and will probably buy from another company in the future. The value is still decent if spoilage is low but needing to open and inspect sealed food containers will drive me away from this company in the future.

Spencer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great item to have on hand
11/2/2012

Customer review by Muffins322

5.0 stars 11/2/2012 by Muffins322
by Muffins322

I bought this product in the spring to sample Augason Farms food. It was easy to prepare and tasted excellent - I had expected it to taste of preservatives but it was all very good. My husband and I were so impressed that we bought the 3 month supply of food for 2 people just so we would always have food on hand. It actually came in very handy since we were hit by hurricane Sandy and the local grocery stores are either sold out of many items or have no power and are closed. I am going to get this as a Christmas gift for my sister and my parents. It's important to have emergency supplies around - you never know when you might need it. As far as I remember with this kit you just add water to the items in order to prepare them. I recommend adding some honey or white chocolate chips to the oatmeal. The cheesy rice and broccoli soup was great. The filtration water bottle is awesome and definitely worthwhile. Bottles like this often retail for upwards of $20.

Muffins322
Whitehall, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Nice bucket
12/31/2016

Customer review by Tom swift

5.0 stars 12/31/2016 by Tom swift
by Tom swift
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Nothing to tell, no emergency yet

Tom swift
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I was very impressed with this product
11/16/2014

Customer review by gatordiver

5.0 stars 11/16/2014 by gatordiver
by gatordiver

Most survival all-in-one food is some cans of dehydrated food plus buckets and buckets of wheat to bring up the caloric count. This food was all dehydrated meals and all that was required was hot water. The meals are tasty and easy to prepare. The price is fantastic; most 1 month food supplies are twice or more as expensive. The daily calorie count was the highest I've seen: 1857. That's a number that a human being can actually live on indefinitely. Most survival foods are much lower which means you will have to add other food to actually get enough calories. I have already ordered more buckets myself and would recommend this product to anyone. Surely even apartment dwellers could find room for a bucket or 2. I plan to take a few envelopes along when I backpack since they are so light and easy to prepare. I also liked the free water purifier and heat brick, both good for camping too. I'm considering giving buckets to hard-to-convince friends for Christmas. Buy 1 bucket and try it for a week or two to convince yourself.

gatordiver
Montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Wonderful solution
12/18/2016

Customer review by Teewill4u

5.0 stars 12/18/2016 by Teewill4u
by Teewill4u
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I just recently purchased this food and I was so excited I opened it just to cook some of the food and taste it. The food taste delicious I am in the process of purchasing another one. The only thing I did not like was the FedEx people deliver the product to the wrong house and I had to have them to find the product.

Teewill4u
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Looks good
12/17/2016

Customer review by beatwalker

5.0 stars 12/17/2016 by beatwalker
by beatwalker
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is one of those items that are difficult to use. I bought it for an emergency situation and it is sealed in a 6 gallon bucket. It appears to be just what I ordered. If things get bad and I survive the incident, I will be glad to give a more thorough review.

beatwalker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/26/2012

Customer review by In2pro

4.0 stars 5/26/2012 by In2pro
by In2pro

Purchased for use camping, figured it would be a good leave in camper stand-by food. Each food item is packaged in 2 individual bags, 2 milks, 2mac&cheese etc... bags are somewhat resealable but I would recommend using all contents of opened bag within a 30 day period of openning. The bags are thin, and can be punctured easily with the other bags corners so take care when re-installing into bucket ( that you will most likely never get packed back in like it came out) the vacuum packed bags are tight and make sharp points of the corners. I poked a hole in the moo milk trying to put it all back in the bucket. The bucket is re-sealable. This package should be fine for 2 adults 2 kids for a long weekend( 3 days) of camping using only 1/2 the bags and supplementing with other snacks. This is lighter then packing a bunch of canned or refrigerated food for camping so cost is pretty compatible. I like that I should be able to leave it in the camper for food always available. A package with individual meals per-person would be nice. ( MRE's)

In2pro
Austin Tx.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
hidden MSG
11/26/2016

Customer review by jack

1.0 stars 11/26/2016 by jack
by jack

Looks like a lot of hidden glutamate for taste enhancement

jack
Would recommend to a friend? No
Fantastic
11/15/2016

Customer review by JW321

5.0 stars 11/15/2016 by JW321
by JW321
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very fast shipping before time that it was supposed to be here

JW321
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value for the money
10/30/2016

Customer review by Rose

5.0 stars 10/30/2016 by Rose
by Rose
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the second Augason 30 day "bucket" I've purchased. I tried some of the foods from the 1st bucket, and my family was very happy with the taste and variety. Add in the water filter and the fire starter, and the product's value is increased. I have tried other products from other vendors, but I wasn't impressed. I will make other purchases from Augason Farms in the future.

Rose
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not truly "discreet" packaging.
4/15/2014

Customer review by Foodie1

1.0 stars 4/15/2014 by Foodie1
by Foodie1

My comment is not about the quality of the contents, but rather the packaging. Items like this are frequently advertised with "discreet packaging" - for good and obvious reasons. While the packaging does not scream that it's prep food, the sticker on 2 sides of the box says that it's "Emergency Pail" and you can see the pail through the handle holes. So neighbors might not see it, unless they're looking for it, but the delivery guy certainly does. I don't see why that is necessary. It's a box - it should say who it's from and who it's going to. That's it. Imagine if your paycheck envelope said "paycheck for this week". That's just wrong. So again, I am not faulting the product itself, it's a great value. And I'm not a "prepper" - I just wanted one of these "just in case", so it doesn't matter to me, but just imagine someone ordering a number of these and their delivery guy seeing it piling up...

Foodie1
Springfield, IL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Very Low calories per serving!!
10/26/2016

Customer review by patriot

2.0 stars 10/26/2016 by patriot
by patriot

If you look up the calories of all the items in this bucket most of them are under 200 calories per serving! In fact , you would have to eat 1 of every food in the bucket (thats 10 servings) every day to even reach 1500 calories....

patriot
Would recommend to a friend? No
Terrific
10/1/2016

Customer review by Grandmother Roanoke Va

5.0 stars 10/1/2016 by Grandmother Roanoke Va
by Grandmother Roanoke Va

I have been giving my married children for Birthdays, Anniversaries, and Christmas presents one bucket each time for 3 years now. We bought one and tastes is and all their children and our children liked it...And so rather then get them sweaters the don't need etc this has worked out great...of course for the grandchild they get regular presents, but we feel that this is money better spent. Only wish they had a gluten free bucket..great product 25 life years..thank you ands it's shipped free.

Grandmother Roanoke Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just in time for hurricane Matthew
10/8/2016

Customer review by Linnie

4.0 stars 10/8/2016 by Linnie
by Linnie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Just received my bucket & I can't believe the timing do to receive it do to the hurricane. I have not been able to check inside of it due to some much excitement.

Linnie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Amazing service & amazing product !
10/8/2016

Customer review by Riding Buddy

4.0 stars 10/8/2016 by Riding Buddy
by Riding Buddy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We were happy with the quick delivery. We are not opening container since it will expire sooner. Hope all that was promised is there.

Riding Buddy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Value
9/25/2016

Customer review by Ellen

4.0 stars 9/25/2016 by Ellen
by Ellen
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We are excited to have an emergency food supply. We have only opened 1 bucket and discovered the cheese packet on top had a slice in it so the cheese powder had spilled out. We are afraid to unpack the rest of the bucket to check the other packets because we know we will never get it all back in. Hopefully the rest in in tack.

Ellen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 262 total reviews
1-20 of 262 reviews