Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 87 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

87 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

87 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

99%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
56
4 stars
24
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
1-20 of 71 total reviews
99%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 71 total reviews
1-20 of 71 reviews
Good starting point for home preparedness
9/29/2012

Customer review by MFrancis

4.0 stars 9/29/2012 by MFrancis
by MFrancis

In the past I have been a live-a-board sailor and multiple times fitted out a boat for 30-90 days of sailing. It is a daunting task. I wasn't familiar with emergency kits until they were demonstrated on TV. After reading buyer reviews on multiple kits options decided this would best suit my needs. It is a good value but I made a few additions 1. Added minimum 3 - 1 litre bottles of water. The first days of an emergency water might be scarce 2. The Aquamira bottle included is very nice and good for 100 gallons of water . . . however Aquamira also sells Water Treatment Drops (1oz) as a cheap backup and treats 30 gallons. Chemical treatment is consider a superior guard against bad water. Est cost $12 3. The Fire On disk is an emergency fire starter ONLY. Estimating 30 days requires heating fuel for 20 hours a safe cooking stove is essential. A pocket stove is easy to find, plus add sufficient fuel that works with your stove. Make sure you have at least two types of fire starters. COST EST $30 4.. To conserve fuel a sailor are prepared to make two meals at a time and put the 2nd meal in a wide mouth thermos (a 28 oz plastic Thermos with a sturdy built in handle works well) A wide mouth Nalgene bottle would NOT be an appropriate alternative. COST EST $8 5. It appears this kit requires cooking every meal which is unrealistic if your group includes kids or the elderly. 1-2 boxes of crackers w/peanut butter, canned cheese or foil pouch tuna or chicken are a cheap solution. These can be rotated yearly which adds to your long term cost and a serious omission of this particular kit. COST EST $20 7. No flavor enhances was a surprise. Some long term food storage kits have up to 20% of the total contents/calories as Kool-aid or Gaterade like drinks. I added 24 individual servings foil wrapped water enhancers designed to be poured into a liter water bottle They are easy to find. COST EST $8 8. The kit may be nutritionally sound but I added several bags of dried fruit, nuts and multi-serving pouches of vegetables.These can be purchased on line or at a local camping store. COST EST $20 9. In times of stress, sweets are an obvious moral boost. Fun size M & M's, individual servings of hot chocolate mix instant coffee, a couple freeze dried Mountain House desserts add to the overall cost but if you are 'addicted' to eating sweets or coffee you might not be able to live without them COST EST $24 10. Add a measuring cup, a cooking pot, a metal cup and plate, plus 2 or 3 1 oz purse size hand sanitizers and two dry wash cloth, aluminum foil and coffee filters. Most can be purchased at a dollar store. COST EST $12 11. The county extension office offered a class in homeland security and recommends several screw cap plastic bottles be added to a food storage kit to secure dry-powdered food or keep uneaten loose food. A recycled plastic peanut butter jar and a open mouth mayonnaise jar were suggested 12. An additional safeguard to consider is a 72-hour MRE kit which may be unnecessary but me I'm a bit uneasy having the bulk of emergency food to be from the same source. COST $38 All the above suggestions can be put in a zippered canvas bag or back pack and secured to the Augason kit with a clip or a bungy cord. Sailing journals often mention the quality of food available is a deal breaker to how well an individual tolerates adversity. The items suggested above adds $180 but likely can stretch a 30-45 day kit into a 60 day kit which makes the purchase of the Augason 300 meal kit plus add-ons still an affordable option for home preparedness.

Was this review helpful? (475) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MFrancis
SE Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
7/14/2012

Customer review by Blnzrfn

5.0 stars 7/14/2012 by Blnzrfn
by Blnzrfn

I haven't broken the seal because I don't want to compromise the contents and it's 25 year shelf life . I read reviews before I purchased this product . I read it was a high quality product . It has been recommended that you tape a measuring cup and lighter and pot to lid so you can grab it and go . Also that you figure extra water in your emergency plan for rehydration of this product . I plan to buy one for each of my 5 siblings for Christmas . Hope this was helpful . Better to have and not need then need and not have .

Was this review helpful? (237) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Blnzrfn
Northern IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Excellent way to begin or diversify food storage.
7/21/2012

Customer review by WolfNotSheep

5.0 stars 7/21/2012 by WolfNotSheep
by WolfNotSheep

The Auguson Farms 30-Day Emergency Pail is essentially a 6-gallon bucket filled with several large mylar (heavy duty foil) pouches. Each pouch contains a different freeze-dried food product. There is also a food planner that illustrates exactly what should be eaten and when in order to make the contents of the bucket last for either 30 or 45 days. Each pouch is individually sealed and has a Ziploc type zipper to remain fresh once opened. There is very little spare room left in the bucket after all the pouches are piled in. The lid will also come sealed to the bucket, so a good bit of prying is in order to remove it. I have not opened or tasted any of the products yet but have had plenty of other Auguson Farms products in the past and have always been very satisfied with them. Hands down I would recommend this product to anyone (aside from my enemies, they can starve). And I will definitely be buying again.

Was this review helpful? (236) (41)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WolfNotSheep
Central Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Several of the packets had holes
2/13/2013

Customer review by Wizzzard

1.0 stars 2/13/2013 by Wizzzard
by Wizzzard

I received the pail and it appeared to be in good condition externally. There was no damage to the shipping container or the pail. The lid was very difficult to remove because there is a plastic ring that has to be torn off, sort of like a zipper. This had to be cut with a knife. On opening the lid, I immediately smelled food and saw some powder on the outside of the mylar bags. The manufacturer claims that this food is supposed to have a 25 year storage and that it is either nitrogen flushed or has oxygen absorbers. Neither of these are any good if the bags are punctured. It appeared that the sharp edges of the bags had punctured the other bags. In all, 4 of the bags were leaking powder or other contents. This appears to have been a result of rough handling when the items were packed into the pail. I requested a full refund from Walmart, and to their credit, they issued a full refund promptly. I wouldn't buy any more of this item for the reasons stated. I haven't eaten any of it, so I can't comment on that.

Was this review helpful? (95) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wizzzard
Moorefield, WV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It IS for emergencies...
11/28/2012

Customer review by Preppergirl3

3.0 stars 11/28/2012 by Preppergirl3
by Preppergirl3

Bought 3 pails. REALLY DIFFICULT to remove lid. First pail had small rip in oatmeal, and 4 cheese powdered bags had leaks in their seal. Second pail had tear in oatmeal, and 2 cheese powdered bags had leaks in their seal. The third seemed ok. The bags felt powdery on the outside but I couldn't find what leaked. When repacking I removed water bottle and "fire round" to give food more room as it was obvious the items being compressed in the pail which caused the bags to open and the inside of the lid caused the oatmeal to tear as it is the top packed item. Items are sealed in some sort of non see through plastic bags. The oatmeal is in Mylar. Overall product packaging gets a 3 (barely). I can't rate te food as it was purchased for emergency and have not tried it. Wish the bucket had a "twist" lid instead of a "peel open" that took 2 people, pliers and a hand towel to protect my fingers. Don't regret purchase.. Price is good considering how much you get.. Can't re seal pouches once opened though except Mylar.

Was this review helpful? (73) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Preppergirl3
Palm Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Meets all initial expectations
4/19/2013

Customer review by SteveInColorado

5.0 stars 4/19/2013 by SteveInColorado
by SteveInColorado

I ordered this with the intent of using it, prior to an emergency, to see if the kids would like to eat what was included, and to get an idea of the amount of water needed to prepare the contents of an entire kit. If I am satisfied I will be purchasing three new Emergency Pails for the family to supplement the #10 cans of Augason Farms food I already have. Look for me to be updating my review in a few weeks after we have had a chance to try out the meal planner. There is both a 30 day and a 45 day meal planner, I plan to try portions based on both ration schedules. Shipping: I placed my order on the 17th, I received my Emergency Pail on the 19th, when it had been scheduled for delivery on the 24th. Shipping is probably the most variable of all things for an online purchase, but based on my experience I would not expect unreasonable transit times for this product. Packaging: The 6.5 gallon Emergency Pail shipped in a heavy gauge cardboard box, neither the box nor the pail were damaged in transit. Item Review: I ordered my Emergency Pail on April 17th, 2013. The PACKED ON date shown on the label for this pail is 04/15/2013, two days prior to the date I ordered it, four days prior to receiving it. The BEST BY date shown on the pail is 02-12-2033. ---HOWEVER--- The individual packages have a manufacture date range of 02/13/2013 (for the Cheesy Broccoli Rice) to 03/29/2013 (for the Cheese Powder) and best by dates corresponding to the same days in 2033. So the best by date on the Pail is dated 1 day prior to the earliest best by date on an individual package. The lid was a standard pail lid and took less than two minutes to open. The lid was the variety that has a pull tab for removing the material between sections allowing you to pry off the lid. I have had poor experiences with this style and so manually cut the material rather than pulling the tab. Other than the kitchen scissors I used to snip the plastic no tools or gloves were needed. I would recommend you replace the lid that comes with the Emergency Pail with a Gamma Seal lid, which allows for easy opening and closing. Some Walmarts have the lids in stock, and they are available online at Walmart.com through ToolKing.com, however the price is significantly higher than when you find them at a brick and mortar Walmart. For colored lids I find the best price and availability are at Walmarts in Utah(where Augason Farms is located), when I drive through on vacation I stop and pick a few up, I have also seen them at Walmarts in Washington State, never in Colorado where I live however. Black lids I get locally at a national DIY chain, but only if I run out of those I bought at a Walmart while traveling. Though I can see where the lid that ships with the pail prevents pilfering of supplies before the need for them arises, I would pay more for a pail that came with a Gamma seal or similar product on it for ease of use. Augason Farms sells empty Pails and Gamma Seals together as packages on Walmart.com so there would be no new inventory for them to bring into their network. Other than a small rip in the meal planner there was no damage to the contents of the pail. I removed and inspected everything, no rips, no tears, there was what I assume was leaked product because of the smell of the dust, but I believe it came from manufacturing not any of the containers in my Emergency Pail. I do wish that there was some flavoring for water included in the Emergency Pail such as the Orange Delight or Apple Delight drink mix they offer separately, the addition of some sort of hard candy would also be nice.

Was this review helpful? (98) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SteveInColorado
Front range of Colorado, north of Denver/Boulder
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/8/2012

Customer review by Stashiu

5.0 stars 7/8/2012 by Stashiu
by Stashiu

This is a good deal. Great for bug-out, or bug-in. Includes a way to heat food too. long shelf life. Buy one for each member of your household.

Was this review helpful? (62) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stashiu
Lancaster, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
A review of Emergency food bucket for a month
6/19/2013

Customer review by Chocodoggy

5.0 stars 6/19/2013 by Chocodoggy
by Chocodoggy

I must say that I was quite impressed with the bucket and how heavy it was. I have scene some others at different stores and was disappointed at how light weight and poor the food quality seemed. When this arrived, I couldn't believe how heavy the 6 Gal. pale was, its very heavy and looks like it would supply lots of calories for the month. Now I have heard that this dehydrated food doesnt have much in the way of Protein, but you can subsidize that by purchasing some black beans, pinto beans, stuff like that, which has lots of protein. I feel that if you had that along with the dehydrated food, it would work pretty well. I haven't tested my food yet, but like I said, very impressed with the size, weight and presentation of whats inside of the bucket, there are several pictures of the food and it looks pretty good. I will try some out this week and come back to do one more Review. So basically this was a review for how much food you get for 30 days for only $99 and for how well packaged it is and how nice the photo illustrations are of the food included! So far, I am really impressed by this company, Augason Farms. Also, you get a total of 1857 calories a day from this but like I said, you will also need to get some protein in your regiment which can be done with canned beans of various sorts from the store. You can keep canned food for probably as long as this is good for which is 26 years. Canned food will last much longer and if it goes bad you will know because the cans will start to bloat and bulge. Take Care hope this helped a little but like I said, check back in the next few weeks and I will also rate the taste of this food. TJ

Was this review helpful? (62) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chocodoggy
Phoenix, Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Eatable but read comments
9/23/2012

Customer review by SurfaceChief

2.0 stars 9/23/2012 by SurfaceChief
by SurfaceChief

Tried the macaroni & cheese , the cheese powder was a pain to dissolve. If your at home safe and can cook the food like normal this is ok. It reminds me of military food, not especially great or bad. If your on the move, real freeze dried meals are the way to go, you can use cold or hot water, and they taste really good.

Was this review helpful? (48) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SurfaceChief
Carthage, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Best deal for the money
12/18/2012

Customer review by Kret

5.0 stars 12/18/2012 by Kret
by Kret

I bought one for me and one for my sister as we have been talking about prepping for an emergency situation for awhile. I opened mine when I got it to check it out. Maybe I was doing something wrong but it took me about 45 minutes just to open the bucket. When I finally got it open I took everything out to check it. There was a tiny hole in one of the mylar bags which was not a big deal because I wanted to try one of the meals. Pretty tasty but I wouldn't want to be on the diet in this bucket for too long. Mostly starches. That's okay too because now I can buy other emergency meals to have more variety. It is a great way to get started with any emergency plans you have for you and your family. Great price and fast, free delivery. Walmart undersold everyone again.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kret
Baltimore
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Bought as a starter into Augason farms products
7/16/2013

Customer review by HighHopesinHighHeels

5.0 stars 7/16/2013 by HighHopesinHighHeels
by HighHopesinHighHeels

We bought these as a great starter into Augason products. There is a lot of food in this pail for how much it costs. The creamy potato soup and maple brown sugar were great. A lot better than what I expected for a food storage company. I ended up purchasing several more and giving them as Christmas gifts. Its a nice back up plan for "just in case".

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HighHopesinHighHeels
Chandler, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Just in case
9/29/2012

Customer review by BUTX

5.0 stars 9/29/2012 by BUTX
by BUTX

Got two of these just in case. Checked around and this was the best deal. Not only concerning what you get, but also Walmart prices were well under any others. They have a 25 Year shelf life and mine were produced 2012. Hopefully I will never have to use these things, but now I am ready for those zombies.

Was this review helpful? (22) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BUTX
Burleson, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Top 250 contributor
Augason Farms 30-Day Emergency Pail
8/13/2012

Customer review by Spikemcm

5.0 stars 8/13/2012 by Spikemcm
by Spikemcm

Looks like a real good deal! I haven't broke the seal on the pail yet but what it contains is a real good deal I believe. I went with many of the other reviews on deciding on the quality of the product and like what I read. I think getting 30 days of food for one person is great. I don't want to open the pail till we get our supply built up a bit, then we can try em and rotate stock. But I guarantee you, if your hungry anything taste good. Plus I know you can get samples to try before you tear into your stock just to try it.

Was this review helpful? (25) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Spikemcm
Chicago Suburb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
GREAT PRICE
11/29/2013

Customer review by 57BELAIR

4.0 stars 11/29/2013 by 57BELAIR
by 57BELAIR

CAN'T BEAT THIS PRICE, COMPANYS OWN WEBSITE ASKING $40 MORE. BUT RIGHT OUT OF THE BOX, THE PLASTIC LID WAS NOT SEALED PROPERLY, I FIGURE IT SHORTEND THE LIFE OF THE FOOD TO MAYBE ONLY 10 YEARS. TOP MUST NOT HAVE BEEN SEALED PROPERLY FROM FACTORY.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
57BELAIR
OLEAN, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worth it
12/19/2013

Customer review by FunnyHappy

5.0 stars 12/19/2013 by FunnyHappy
by FunnyHappy

I haven't tried them yet and honestly hope theres no need right now. I believe having emergency food on hand is EXTREMELY important with the craziness going on. I have a family and want to have food set aside "just in case" and I'm not talking about the whole doomsday thing. This is more for emergency purposes such as cost of food increasing, lack of funds etc. You decide. Invest when you can but stock up. This is a wonder deal and I plan on buying more, enough to feed a family of 3 for a minimum of 1 year.

Was this review helpful? (19) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FunnyHappy
Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
best value emergency pail
9/12/2012

Customer review by momtrepreneur

4.0 stars 9/12/2012 by momtrepreneur
by momtrepreneur

This is a good deal! the water bottle alone is valued at 30 dollars. The cheapest 30 day suplly I have seen thus far. Haven't tried the food but have read positive reviews about the quality.

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
momtrepreneur
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
My review isn't based on the taste of the food!
4/13/2014

Customer review by 140581

4.0 stars 4/13/2014 by 140581
by 140581

I always wanted to get something like this since I live in Los Angeles. If a big earthquake hits, I want to be prepared to stay at home, (if it's safe to do so). With this 30 day supply, as long as I have enough water stored, I don't have to worry about going out into the chaos, (stores too damaged to open/looters/ people acting irrational). I haven't opened it, I just added it to my earthquake kit so hopefully the quality of the food is good. I recommend getting a trash can and putting this inside of it along with a first aid kit, water, blankets, etc. and close it up and put somewhere where you can access it easily in case of an emergency.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
140581
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great purchase
8/7/2014

Customer review by FreedomDrinker

5.0 stars 8/7/2014 by FreedomDrinker
by FreedomDrinker

I've heard great reviews of Augason products & we were very pleased. Exceptional , from packaging to taste. I would highly recommend them & the price is just icing on the cake.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FreedomDrinker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great way to put some thing away for a rainy day.
9/12/2012

Customer review by Thorsflame

5.0 stars 9/12/2012 by Thorsflame
by Thorsflame

I was extremely happy with this purchase. The package arrived in a timely manner and in good shape. What really shocked me was how light it was for a month's + worth of food. It wouldn't be a problem at all to transport if need be. My only uncertainty is how it may taste. Because this is for emergency use only I haven't tasted it. My fear comes from my time in the Army and eating MREs. They weren't so great, as expected from freeze dried food, so there's my concern. Still I bet its better than starvation.

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Thorsflame
Farmington, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Awesome
11/13/2012

Customer review by Henlnhl

5.0 stars 11/13/2012 by Henlnhl
by Henlnhl

The Bucket was chocked full of food and the water bottle is a nice addition. I will be getting more of these for sure. Great price.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Henlnhl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 71 total reviews
1-20 of 71 reviews