Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 32 reviews | 1.9 out of 5

2.0 stars

32 reviews | 1.9 out of 5

2.0 stars

32 reviews | 1.9 out of 5

25%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
2
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 stars
21
1-20 of 32 total reviews
25%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 32 total reviews
1-20 of 32 reviews
6/26/2012

Customer review by Anabri

4.0 stars 6/26/2012 by Anabri
by Anabri

We needed an upgrade from out old vhs/dvd player and bought this maganavox-built in wi-fi with netflix/vuduu. This meets our expectations alright. It works great, the only thing that sucks, is when on netflix, there is a 1-2sec delay after pushing the arrow buttons to search or select the movie/show. But that's something we can live with and adapt to. We're staisfied with it.

Was this review helpful? (33) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Anabri
Apache Junction, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not worth it
8/13/2012

Customer review by kah222

1.0 stars 8/13/2012 by kah222
by kah222

I bought this for my bedroom to use for Netflix and Blu-ray. This product has issues connecting to the internet all the time. I have it for a week and it takes me 15 minutes each time to connect to Netflix. Then to pick a show on Netflix is extremely slow also. A lot of times the sound doesn't match screen. The Blu-ray is fine. But I am returning this due to the issues with Netflix.

Was this review helpful? (15) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kah222
Lakewood, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not worth the money!!!
7/30/2012

Customer review by Wilbysdad

1.0 stars 7/30/2012 by Wilbysdad
by Wilbysdad

I decided to purchase my second Blu-Ray player when I looked at this item. This was the first one that I purchased with built-in WiFi. I have Netflix for my PlayStation 3 so I thought this would be just as awesome...I was wrong. The set up was easy to connect to my home's internet but the sound and video did not match up. The audio was delayed about a second making watching anything on Netflix annoying. The Blu-Ray player did work fine but that was not the only reason why I purchased this item. I took it back the next day.

Was this review helpful? (13) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wilbysdad
Janesville, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Blu Ray Player
7/29/2012

Customer review by BluRayKing

4.0 stars 7/29/2012 by BluRayKing
by BluRayKing

Well I start this review by saying this blu ray player is good but it is not the best. One there aren't any digital optical output for the true hd sound second the picture quality of great Blu Rays like Batman Dark Knight, Casino Royale or Up and Happy Feet doesn't show too great and without the Digital Optical the sound is not so great but if you are looking for a blu ray player to just watch your movies give it a try.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BluRayKing
Edwardsville,IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not Bad
9/21/2012

Customer review by MrPib

4.0 stars 9/21/2012 by MrPib
by MrPib

Just bought this player to replace and older model because we wanted the WI-FI connection to stream Netflix. It's a pretty nice gadget for the price. No problems with it so far. I haven't had any of the problems with audio out of sync or excessive pauses between commands. I recommend it for those on a budget.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrPib
SE Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Just a player
9/14/2012

Customer review by crazyforwallyworld

1.0 stars 9/14/2012 by crazyforwallyworld
by crazyforwallyworld

Magnavox MBP5320/F7 Never could get the product to update software. Tried wireless and USB. Still nothing. so no streaming. Player worked well enough. Although without the update it fought me getting the disc out. I unplugged, counted to ten, powered up, and hit eject. It came out the second time. Took the player back to store and got refund. I am from Tennessee where the Magnavox/Phillips plant USED to be. The empty building is still there but manufacturing is where everything else is today...China. My third try with Magnavox/Phillips. My suggestion, just avoid ALL Magnavox/Phillips products these days. Too bad. Used to be great products years ago...

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
crazyforwallyworld
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Does NOT support Netflix.
10/21/2012

Customer review by TomboyinMakeup

1.0 stars 10/21/2012 by TomboyinMakeup
by TomboyinMakeup

I bought this player for the sole purpose of streaming Netflix to my tv, was highly disappointed to find out that it does not support netflix. Even though the remote itself has a button on it dedicated to the netflix app. The company should not say that an item is compatible with netflix when it is not. I will be taking it back to Wal-Mart first thing in the morning. Please don't waste your time on this product and its false advertising.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TomboyinMakeup
Would recommend to a friend? No
easy set-up with no problems so far
12/28/2012

Customer review by Veerodman

5.0 stars 12/28/2012 by Veerodman
by Veerodman

I was afraid i may have some problems with this unit after seeing these ratings but took a chance on it as it was on sale for $54 as opposed to $75 for a Roku hd without the blu-ray player.So far both the blu-ray player and wi-fi performed better than expected and it was very easy set up instructions on screen...This was the best deal I found for a 1080p streaming blu ray player.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Veerodman
lonoke,Ar.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/29/2012

Customer review by Travelingtasha

5.0 stars 12/29/2012 by Travelingtasha
by Travelingtasha

I received this for Christmas and works great. Good price and easy setup,

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Travelingtasha
Fenton, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good Player
9/16/2012

Customer review by smitzinok

4.0 stars 9/16/2012 by smitzinok
by smitzinok

Wanted a compact player for the bedroom, Easy setup, for the price works good no problems. wifi works great. Does what its supposed to do.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
smitzinok
Ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
LAN or wireless, up to you.
3/3/2013

Customer review by Blackdragon110583

3.0 stars 3/3/2013 by Blackdragon110583
by Blackdragon110583

I bought this for my living room, the kids already had a roku box in their bedroom and I wanted to be able to watch Netflix without having to move the xbox every time I wanted to watch a movie. First of all, if you are buying this for Netflix then there are better players out there. Buy the roku xs, it connects directly to your internet and is kid friendly ( they cant buy stuff on vudu, etc unless its unlocked). Netflix runs pretty slow on this device, it takes a minute or 2 to load Netflix, you hit the buttons and it takes time to scroll through and a lot of the time it will load the wrong movie because it is slow to catch up. If you expect it to be fast like a xbox 360, keep looking. if you are purchasing this as a first time on Netflix, it may be a good fit for you as your not expecting it to be fast. The bluray works great however. BUT there are just a good ones for cheaper and they have buttons on the front in case you lose the remote. This one does not. all you have is a power button, a open/close and a usb port on the front. Installing this was very simple, you don't need a computer to set it up like the roku box. It automatically found my connection (LAN# and I had no problems at all. I did not try wireless as we bought it to connect to our router to "throw the signal" to the rest of the house. Big selling point: you can use this directly to your router #LAN port on back), or you can use this wireless. Its up to you. If you don't have a computer, this is easy to setup witho03ut one and is still a pretty good value for your money.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Blackdragon110583
Belmont, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Don't waste your time or money.
11/28/2012

Customer review by OlderOldBob

1.0 stars 11/28/2012 by OlderOldBob
by OlderOldBob

Will not connect to Netflix or Vudu, wireless or wired. YouTube is the only network ap that works and the interface for that is pretty bad. This P0S will be returned at the earliest opportunity.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OlderOldBob
North Central Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Mistaken Value
8/19/2012

Customer review by sidmcb

1.0 stars 8/19/2012 by sidmcb
by sidmcb

This was our first Blu-ray player we have bought. We bought it for 2 reasons other than value: WI-FI and Netflix. We wanted this player for our bedroom so we could watch netflix as we were dropping our Satellite provider to save money. Netflix was an absolute must, so the set up was pretty easy, had a great signal from the wi-fi, YouTube worked great, but neither the Netflix nor Vudu worked. I called both customer service at Magnavox and Netflix, Netflix did all they could to help, but it was not a problem on their end. Magnavox pushed it off on Netflix and never came up with a viable solution. After 4 hours of trying to resolve the issue, we are finished with this player and will be returning our player for a full refund.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sidmcb
royston, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Buy Something Else!
8/16/2012

Customer review by Monks96

1.0 stars 8/16/2012 by Monks96
by Monks96

We went down to our local Wal-mart and bought this DVD player last month. We've had good luck with Magnavox electronics in the past, but this new blue ray player has made me reevaluate my brand loyalty. I purchased it mostly for streaming Netflix, which it will no longer do. My wireless network is fine and it will connect to Vudu and Youtube well enough,but no Netflix! Also, imagine sitting down to watch a DVD and the minute you turn it on it requires a twenty minute software update. I can understand this once in a while, but twice in a month? On top of that it is extremely slow doing any function. The player must have the slowest processor known to man, I swear! If you press a button on the remote it takes a couple minutes for the DVD player to think about it and respond. That alone can be extremely aggravating and will lead me to put this Magnavox where it belongs, in the trash! If I were you I would save my money on this and buy another brand.

Was this review helpful? (4) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Monks96
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Lacks Playback Versatility
8/20/2013

Customer review by Gajim2

2.0 stars 8/20/2013 by Gajim2
by Gajim2

First, the player wouldn't connect with my new wireless router using the 'push button' connect method. It did connect using the manual SSID-Password method. But I was very disappointed that the player would not play #or even load# my personal DVDs. It played commercial DVDs and Blu ray fine #although the player made loud noises getting a disc loaded and displaying menus#, but I make my own videos into DVD disks #complete with menus, etc# that play in my PS3 and every PC in the house but they wouldn't even load on this Magnavox. This player was returned three hours after I bought it and I picked up a LG 530 which played my DVDs, and everything else, just fine.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gajim2
Buford, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
This is a very slow player
8/14/2013

Customer review by gapeach478

2.0 stars 8/14/2013 by gapeach478
by gapeach478

I purchased this DVD player in May 2013 from the walmart store. All of the program features are very slow. When you press play, pause or stop, or the directional buttons on the remote control, its about a 5-10 second delay before the player does whatever you pressed. It's very annoying. I am on a budget which is why I purchased this particular one. When I save a little more money I'm getting rid of this and purchasing a Vizio blu ray player like another one that I have.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gapeach478
Perry, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Customer service unable to resolve problems.
9/21/2012

Customer review by Pansysweet

1.0 stars 9/21/2012 by Pansysweet
by Pansysweet

Purchased this player over a month ago and it wouldn't play DVD's received from Netflix, and froze up completely and wouldn't even eject the disc till we unplugged it and restarted it. We tried ordering replacement Netflix DVD's, all of which worked fine when played on our laptops. First customer service told us we needed a software upgrade. Had to order the upgrade from a different customer service line where they told me it would be shipped in 7 days, and would take approx. 6 business days to receive. The upgrade came faster than expected, but it turned out it wasn't even needed, once installed the player showed it already had the current version. Player still doesn't play Netflix DVDs, and when I called customer service again today, after being transfered and placed on hold for 1 hour and 20 minutes I was told by customer service rep Brittany that the player doesn't play 'modified' DVD's, and that any discs played from Netflix or Redbox or any similar company won't work. I was also told that it could just be a problem with the lense reading the discs. I was told that there was nothing they could do about the problem, they could not replace the player or offer any upgrades. Luckily Walmart is amazing and I was able to return player and exchange it for something I'll be able to use. Other than not being able to use the product for our main intention, they player worked fine on regualr DVD's and streaming wasn't too fast, but it played smoothly. Just not work the $ if you don't have cable and rely mostly on Netflix home delivery.

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pansysweet
CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Look elsewhere
1/28/2013

Customer review by FLJim

1.0 stars 1/28/2013 by FLJim
by FLJim

Bought it to watch Netflix and a few Bluerays but never could get it to connect to Netflix, although my other devices will. Called both Magnavox and Netflix and none of their usual suggestions worked ( unplug it, restart the router, bla, bla..) Only works on Youtube so my network is OK. Going back tomorrow.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FLJim
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
EPIC FAIL!
2/17/2013

Customer review by Jake0999

1.0 stars 2/17/2013 by Jake0999
by Jake0999

Got it set up, even set up a Vudu account to try to get apps. It does not support Amazon, which is where most of my purchased content resides, so this unit is going back. Lousy on Netflix, even after the update. They really need to compensate anyone they tricked into buying this garbage for their lost time and frustration.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jake0999
Indianapolis
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I wouldn't buy it.
2/18/2013

Customer review by stevennpr

1.0 stars 2/18/2013 by stevennpr
by stevennpr

I bought it today 2/18/2013 and was not able to get it to start the setup. I returned it thinking it was defective. The second one does the same thing. It will not start setup. I called Magnavox, they said it was either my new tv or the new hdmi cable. I hooked the bluray player to my other tv and it had the same result, would not start the setup. I don't know what to do but return it and get one that works. I don't think it is the hdmi cable because it would show "please wait" as stated in the setup instructions then the screen would go blank except for hdmi1 in the top right. Thinking it is the bluray player still so I don't recommend buying one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stevennpr
florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 32 total reviews
1-20 of 32 reviews