Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 46 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

46 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

46 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
29
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
2
1-20 of 45 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews
Worth every penny of $109.96!!!
5/26/2012

Customer review by gphebus

5.0 stars 5/26/2012 by gphebus
by gphebus

Before I start the revue there is only one thing you must keep in your mind...$109.96. Is this the best tent ever? No. Is it the easiest to setup? No. I love the tent and to beat a dead horse, it is worth every penny. The picture Walmart provides does not do the tent justice. It shows the rain fly completely unzipped and open. When it is closed up this thing is a fort. It is 85% of a full rain fly. It covers all but just over a foot from the ground all the way around. It comes with good quality cord for the tie downs. I did buy two packs (10-12 stakes) of strong tent stakes from Harbor Freight Tools at a total of $5.00. When this thing is staked down and tied, it is going nowhere. It is solid. The first time we used the tent it stormed. We did not seal the seems. We put it up right out of the box. It is a fort. A dry fort. We had the rain fly in the propped up position, as the picture shows of the entrance. no rain came in. If you wanted to collapse the front of the rain fly, it will cover the front of the tent just below the door. It has a zipper so you can come and go with ease. As for the size of the tent? We are a family of six. We have two queen sized mattresses for my wife, myself, our six-year-old and four-year-old. We also put up a port-a-crib for our 1 1/2 year-old, a large rug at the entrance to warm feet on and enough room for our stuff. A good size reference would be, it will hold three queen sized mattresses. Its footprint is large enough to hold a good amount but not so large that it is hard to find a good spot to put it up on level ground at a camp site. If you take off the rain fly, it is the ultimate star gazer tent that will keep the bugs away. In a nut shell, the pros are: The rain fly is AWESOME. Great tie downs. Sturdy tent. Lots of room. Great air movement. Warm at night with no dew issues in the morning. Color coded setup. Awning is fantastic. Strong ceiling to hold lights or fans easily. Power port. Worth every penny. The Cons: There are some. My biggest dislike is the center of the tent is netting and it droops a bit. I am 6'4" so it hits the top of my head. If you are under 6'0" this will not be an issue. It is not a big enough issue to loose a star on. There are no windows to open from the inside of the tent. The window openings are built into the rain fly. The goods about this are they do not leak at all. Takes 10-15 minutes to put up. Our last tent was an insta-tent that took 1 minute to put up and take down. I hate tent poles but this is ok. You trade size for convenience. As I said, it is worth $109.96. For the money you can't beat it. Ozark Trails did a good job improving flaws with their last years tents. Personally, I don't think anyone else makes a $109.96 tent that can even compare to this big boy. The tent is AWESOME!!! I added some photos of the tent in the yard after we cleaned it up after camping.

Was this review helpful? (215) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gphebus
Clovis, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Lots of room, keeps the rain out
8/1/2012

Customer review by tlcp70

5.0 stars 8/1/2012 by tlcp70
by tlcp70

Bought this tent and took it for a week of camping. We are a family of 3, and there was lots of room for us and our gear. I think it would be tight to sleep 8 (as it states) but I could see 6 people fitting. We had strong winds and rain a few days of our trip and the tent held up beautifully. While we were packing up there was a down pour. No rain came in the tent, it stayed nice and dry. We are very pleased with this tent!

Was this review helpful? (45) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tlcp70
Elmira, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Don't know if this helps
1/28/2014

Customer review by DesertJack

5.0 stars 1/28/2014 by DesertJack
by DesertJack

I've read other reviews on this out of curiosity and read where one person had a problem with the tent so let me say that all tents must have some type of water sealant for them. Use a spray or Bees wax work great where a leak is. Now my friend & I were up in North Dakota & found are selves with no place to stay & there wasn't anyone renting. So he went to Walmart & found this tent that he got on sale for like $70 & I've never seen it that cheap since, I looked. But this tent was so impressive for the money it's worth 3 times the price. I've gone camping my whole life & I'm in my mid 50's now. Always bring a tarp with you to put over a tent when you go camping in case it rains!!! But this tent work great in below freezing weather. With a small heater & tarp below the tent which is what you use for tents. Best buy on a tent I've ever seen & it still works great 3 years later.

Was this review helpful? (43) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DesertJack
flagstaff, Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Very Roomy Sturdy Tent
7/29/2012

Customer review by AmzJ1183

4.0 stars 7/29/2012 by AmzJ1183
by AmzJ1183

Let me start by saying I am an ultra newbie to camping, as in I have never done it. I haven't even so much camped out in my back yard! So when you read this review keep all this in mind; if you are an experienced camper I doubt my review will be of much help. I purchased this tent to potentially sleep up to five adults on no less than three queen size air beds for a three day rock concert camping festival up in northern Minnesota. I was told the weather in the day time was hot and muggy and at night cool and a bit damp. I had never been up that way so I was relying upon the expertise and knowledge of others to guide me. I read the reviews on this and many other tents and I didn't have a big budget so this tent seemed to fit all of my needs. Lots of space and quite decent reviews. I did as I was told and the week before going practiced setting it up. This is the only reason I gave it four stars instead of five. The tent is a bit laborious to set up especially if you know nothing about doing so. If you're a true beginner like me, three to four people is most definitely recommended for set up. Two or three experienced people could probably set it up and now after having used it successfully I would agree. Bare minimum for sure is two people. Still, the setup wasn't too bad and I was surprised when we were able to get all the parts back into the bag successfully as well. Fast forward to the trip itself and my actual usage and subsequent reviews. The tent truly is enormous! When it says it can fit three queen size air beds they aren't kidding. It fit the three beds plus some nominal room to throw our stuff in. If you have a lot of gear then I recommend only two queen air beds and a smaller bed as the queen air beds laid side by side take up 95% of the floor space. You can indeed stand up inside if you are six feet tall or shorter (it was all girls in the tent who met this criteria, if you're taller it's not too bad to bend down a couple inches). This was very very handy to be able to change clothes in as we were camping with guys as well and the restroom facilities were close but not close enough to be able to just jog out and change. With the rain fly and door zipped you have total privacy, with it open you have wonderful ventilation. I am one that easily overheats and I was thoroughly impressed with how well ventilated the tent was when all vents were opened. I did purchase a heavy duty tarp to lay under neath the tent as it does not include a footprint with this model, and I would definitely recommend this so as not to tear up the bottom of the tent. The stakes provided with the tent were adequate for the most part but I would recommend having a set of back up more sturdy stakes available. The tent held up beautifully when it got a little windy out. We never had rain so I cannot attest to how well this tent would perform in those conditions but my guess is it would be fabulous. I had tent seam sealer on hand per more recommendations but did not use it during the trip. I did not notice any glaring holes in the seams and as I said we never experienced inclement weather so I cannot attest to the performance of this tent in those conditions. As a total beginner to camping I was and am extremely happy with this tent. It was every bit worth the cost, which may not be much to the average camper but was a big chunk of change for a newbie. I'd happily recommend this tent to anyone and everyone; it is very well suited for families. The tent comfortably sleeps six, could squeeze eight in sleeping bags only. I'd say stick with the six for comfort purposes, eight would be a stretch. I loved that there were power cord openings as well as little pockets on the walls to put small valuables in. It is a tent that can keep you both warm and cool when needed all via adjusting the ventilation. I highly recommend getting a tent light of some sort; I purchased a cheap $8 overhead LED one that worked beautifully to light the entire tent as well as a couple flashlights for spot lighting as needed. The one and only con is the setup, but I can live with that and with practice it no doubt becomes much easier. Great tent!!

Was this review helpful? (29) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AmzJ1183
Greeley, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
AWESOME huge tent, very low price!!
6/3/2014

Customer review by jksddfgklajgh

5.0 stars 6/3/2014 by jksddfgklajgh
by jksddfgklajgh

I can't really give a good opinion as to the ease of set up as we arrived at midnight and had to do it in the dark, but, we got it done in about a half hour first time. It is huge and I would say you could even fit more than 8 people. My husband has a bad back and needed something that would allow him to stand, this tent is 6'2", end to end! Great buy! I would highly recommend this tent to anyone needing a lot of room!

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jksddfgklajgh
Zimmerman, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Loved it
6/1/2013

Customer review by mgarciber37

5.0 stars 6/1/2013 by mgarciber37
by mgarciber37

It was our 1st time camping every. We bought 2 tents for mothers day. One was bought directy at Walmart the OZARK 14X8 for my mother and her dog. The other one was bought online ( the 10 person tent , 3 room XL listed for 139) my mothers day present. On the same mothers day 2013 we decided to assemble my moms Ozark 8 person 14X8 , this thing was huge.It occupied all my living room " I live in a condo". I said oh honey we are going to have to change our XL 3 room tent. So as soon as we got our 3 room XL tent if was not for us. I was looking something more the style of the 14X8 because it was so cozzy. So I found the 17X8. I love evrything about it. The colors, the space, you can walk in and change your clothes standing up without having to crawl or bump your head. I put a queen bed, a twin bed, a 3 folding gym mattress and in the middle a plastic 3 drawer stand with all our clothes for 3 days plus a box with all the cleaning stuff and another box with all the none perishable food. We were 4 inside ( mom, dad , 13 year old daughter and 6 year old. It was so spacious we had space to sit in the middle and play cards. The beds were in the corners. There is no way 8 people can sleep in it comfortable unless one on top of each other or on sleeping bags on a straight line. But I would say 5 maybe 6 would fit. It also rained and no problems at all. Someone said the pics of Walmart do not do justice and I agree. It is much more bigger and prettier than what it looks and totally agree when he talks about the rainfly. It goes all the way to the bottom almost touching the floor ground. This is a great buy, $109 is unbeatable. It looks firm and steady and after seeing several tents this has an awesome rainfly covering almost every corner.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mgarciber37
SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
love this tent
5/13/2013

Customer review by beowulf1408

5.0 stars 5/13/2013 by beowulf1408
by beowulf1408

For the price this tent is great.held up good in heavy rain but to be safe its best to buy a tarp, Its was easy to set up, not so difficult

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
beowulf1408
new jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Great for my needs
9/4/2014

Customer review by Bupper

5.0 stars 9/4/2014 by Bupper
by Bupper

The tent itself is huge (see pictures). Directions are sparse, but the largest pole is used to the fly entrance, the shortest go at each end and two next largest in the middle. There are 6 windows; one each end, one in the back, one in the door and one on either side of the door for a total of 6. Without the fly you can sleep under the stars with a mesh top to keep out insects. I sealed the fly completely and since the 'tub' is heat sealed I don't see how water can get in with the fly on properly. After setting it up I will use a tarp underneath. I think the floor might be the weak point ?. I think it is a great value for me. I will only use it occasionally and with only a couple of other people. It is well designed and I expect if you are a regular camper and plan on camping in extreme conditions and using it a lot, this might not suit your needs. For someone who plans on using it once or twice a season it seems ideal. I probably could have gone smaller, but this is great buy and isn't very big to store. I was very pleased with the design, appearance and quality. No negatives from me.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bupper
E. Taunton, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great Tent, best price!
7/7/2014

Customer review by sanskriti

5.0 stars 7/7/2014 by sanskriti
by sanskriti

So far only used twice but its VALUE FOR MONEY!! I bought it for $79 and its much more worth it. I use two queen air beds and still planty of room left for other stuff you want to keep inside the tent. Rainfly is the biggest plus when it rains it covers well enough area beyond the tent boundaries so no possibility of getting water inside the tent. I am very happy with it. Stands good in bad weather as well.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sanskriti
Overland Park KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Best tent for price
6/16/2014

Customer review by Kenjos1978

5.0 stars 6/16/2014 by Kenjos1978
by Kenjos1978

This tent was easy to set up and for a family of four was huge area inside of tent to sleep and for all our supplies for our six day vacation.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kenjos1978
Prattsburgh NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice tent for price
10/26/2012

Customer review by jweaver02

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by jweaver02
by jweaver02

Big tent will hold 3 queen air mattresses. After you set it up once real easy next time. Plenty of space to stand up and move around. Not sure how it is in the rain but can't be too bad the rain fly covers almost 80% of the tent. Did well in wind gusts of 35mph. Good tent for the price. I have owned a lot of tents and this one ranks in the top 3.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jweaver02
Van Buren, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pleasantly Surprised
8/1/2014

Customer review by Rosiegypsy

5.0 stars 8/1/2014 by Rosiegypsy
by Rosiegypsy

When my new tent arrived, it was a little larger than I expected. I had a previous model that was around the same size, but folded down much smaller. However, I am very pleased with this tent. Having camped in tents since I was very young, the ease of set up on this is a huge plus. It's marked for a two person set up, but if pressed, one person could easily accomplish this alone, and in very little time. The design allows for a lot of privacy, but still allows for nice air flow. I do recommend setting up the tent before actual use, and sealing the seams of the rain fly with a camp sealant. I always do this with all of my tents, just in make sure it stays dry inside. All in all, great value for the price.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rosiegypsy
Central Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great for dry weather
8/21/2014

Customer review by RevMark1

1.0 stars 8/21/2014 by RevMark1
by RevMark1

This tent is of good size for the money. Would be great for dry weather camping, but it rained and we got soaked. I have tent camped since 1988 and never been soaked inside a tent before.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RevMark1
Sweetwater, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
won't last
3/12/2014

Customer review by NothingButLove

2.0 stars 3/12/2014 by NothingButLove
by NothingButLove

It would be the perfect size but would probably only last a few camping trips. The fabric is thin. There is no windows on ends just mesh and rain flap to go over them. We set it up to check it out. The fold were you put the rods was thin and attached to mesh. It felt like it was going to ripe just trying to set it up. The rods were the same way. The bottom is thin. You would definitely need a tarp under it if you want it to last more than 1 trip. It does take at least 2 people to set it up because the rods just go across like a tunnel. I think stacking it down is what really holds the whole thing up. We had to take it back. We go camping at 2-3 times a year, with 3 kids all 8 yrs and older. This tent would probably last a couple if trips before you have to start repairing if your lucky. You get what you pay for.....

Was this review helpful? (8) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NothingButLove
Queen Creek, Az
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Absolutely pleased!
8/25/2014

Customer review by BaileysMaid123

5.0 stars 8/25/2014 by BaileysMaid123
by BaileysMaid123

I was excited about buying this tent because it's actually the first one I've owned. Very shortly after it arrived at my house, a very eager 5 year old just had to sleep in it that night. Now keeping in mind, I've never owned a tent, I've never actually set up a tent of this size before, and all I had to help me was a 13 yr old and of course the very eager 5 year old. It didn't take us long to put the tent up, and it wasn't very complicated. Took maybe 25 min. for a bunch of novice first timers. The size was perfect, plenty of space and I was very impressed with the dome and the provided space for an average grown size adult male to not have to hunch over. The tents durability is spot on, it stayed up in my back yard for about a week with no shortage of wind, and it's just as it was coming out of the box. The only thing I can complain about is having to pack that beast back up. Probably completely circumstantial and individually environmental, it was a pain. Note to yourself though, I only had a 5 year old to help. Got everything back in the bag in about a half hour, and that's being very tedious with the pegs and ties. Believe me, it probably didn't look pretty, but mission accomplished. I can't wait until we can use it somewhere other than the yard, because I'm sure I'll be just as pleased.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BaileysMaid123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pretty good tent
8/30/2014

Customer review by ThisGuy76

4.0 stars 8/30/2014 by ThisGuy76
by ThisGuy76

I have only used this tent once and it was for only one night. That being said, it rained like crazy all night long and we stayed dry inside. It was very roomy and I was completely satisfied. It also was fairly easy to assemble.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ThisGuy76
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GREAT TENT FOR THE PRICE!!!
8/14/2013

Customer review by OutdoorOhio

5.0 stars 8/14/2013 by OutdoorOhio
by OutdoorOhio

Very spacious, easy to set up, doesn't get damp overnight due to the great airflow this tent has. If camping during the fall or winter just bundle up a little, or buy some nice sleeping bags. ENJOY

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OutdoorOhio
grove city, ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Roomy and inexpensive
8/4/2014

Customer review by Dwood23

5.0 stars 8/4/2014 by Dwood23
by Dwood23

I was surprised of how much headroom there is, as well as the quality of the tent.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dwood23
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
BIG tent!!
9/3/2014

Customer review by TexasGirl2525

5.0 stars 9/3/2014 by TexasGirl2525
by TexasGirl2525

I just used this tent over Labor day. It was fantastic. The tent is HUGE... we have a four person family and slept in sleeping bags, with plenty of room left over. The tent can easily fit two queen mattresses with additional room to spare. The tent has plenty of windows. At night the breeze would gush through the tent. I was concerned, but the tent held up. The large windows are also great for stargazing. I could sit inside the tent away from the bugs and look into the nights sky. Originally I bought the 8 person Coleman from Walmart, and it broke on the first use. I like this tent better because my husband and I could stand up in the majority of the tent. I'm 5'7 and he's 6'0 and we had no problems standing all over this tent. The picture on the web site doesn't do this tent justice, It's a large family tent with good features. The ONE problem I did see, was the condensation collected at the top of the rainfly, and dripped inside the tent first thing in the morning. Once the sun came out it dried up that condensation from the night before. It wasn't a huge problem, but I'm not sure if this would happen every time. It rained a little before we arrived, so we didn't get to test it in the rain.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TexasGirl2525
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
more room than I expected
10/10/2014

Customer review by CubScoutCamp

5.0 stars 10/10/2014 by CubScoutCamp
by CubScoutCamp

Purchased this tent to replace damaged one to use primarily for cub scout campouts. It was pretty easy to get together, and had more room than I expected. We bought it on rollback, so it was a very good deal for us!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CubScoutCamp
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews