Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 78 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

78 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

78 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
48
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
9
1-20 of 67 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 67 total reviews
1-20 of 67 reviews
Great Tent for Family Camping
5/1/2012

Customer review by LMarie1979

4.0 stars 5/1/2012 by LMarie1979
by LMarie1979

We decided to purchase this tent for a spur of the moment family camping trip after realizing that our family of 5 was not going to fit comfortably in our 6-person tent anymore. We were amazed that a tent of this size was so reasonably priced, but worried that we would be sacrificing some quality because of it. That honestly was not the case! During our trip we had 90 degree weather, rain, wind gusts up to around 40+ mph, and even a couple of 40 degree nights. This tent held up to ALL of it and kept us warm when needed, cool when needed, and most importantly, DRY! There are windows everywhere, a big screen door connected to one of the rooms, and a standard door attached to the other room, with dividers that could be used between all 3 rooms. There are also little corner shelves and wall pockets in each room for storing things. The top of this tent is entirely made of mesh, which definitely helped with circulation and keeping the tent fairly cool during the hot days. The roof covering went on fairly easily and held, even with the high winds we had. We were extremely grateful for that since we had a thunderstorm pop up in the middle of the night. We stayed completely dry, not a drop of water made it in anywhere. It was fairly noisy from the roof cover and walls flapping everywhere from the wind, but we survived and so did our tent! As far as putting it together goes, we had 2 of these to put up for our trip; the 1st tent took longer than the first since we'd never done it before. About an hour + for 3 girls to set up the first one. The 2nd tent was put up by a group of about 6 or so people and only took around 20-30 minutes. One thing to note is that this material is fairly thin. Make sure you pack a tarp to lay down first. We forgot ours and unfortunately 1 of the tents had a hole poked through the bottom from some big weed in the ground. The same tent also had one of the tie-downs for the roof covering tear, but I honestly think that was a combination of user error and trying to put up a tent in such high winds. The only other issue we had was with the zipper on the canvas door that covers the big screened area. I don't know if it was from overuse by kids or what, but the zipper separated and could not be re-threaded, so we can no longer zip that big door and have already talked to Walmart about exchanging our tent since we only got 1 weekend out of it. Other than those couple of things, this tent is excellent and I would definitely recommend it to others who camp in groups or as a family, and want a large tent but not the large cost. We were able to fit a Queen size air mattress, a play pen, and 2 twin air mattresses, along with all of our belongings in this tent and still had room for more and to move around too.

Was this review helpful? (299) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LMarie1979
College Station, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
ONE OF THE BEST TENTS I HAVE EVER OWNED
1/15/2013

Customer review by Happyevans

5.0 stars 1/15/2013 by Happyevans
by Happyevans

I am a single 51-year-old woman who loves to travel and camp. This past summer I stayed by myself in a nicer quality campground in Rapid City, South Dakota for the Sturgis Bike Rally. After carefully selecting a campsite large enough for this unit, I laid down heavy duty tarps in order to create a footprint. I then read the instructions and was able to set it up (all by myself) for the first time in a little less than 45 minutes. The key is to put together just the roof frame, attach the tent with the provided hooks to the appropriate locations, install and attach the rainfly, and THEN insert the frame legs to raise it. I learned from past experience to use heavy duty stakes with every tent, as they do provide more stability than the ones that usually are included with a tent. I made sure that each and every stake was pounded into the ground as far as they could go before attaching the tiedown cords for the tent and rainfly. Inside, I used five sets of plastic collapsible shelves (about $13.00 a set at Walmart) for storing everything from clothes to kitchen items. My site included electrical outlets, so I conveniently ran long outdoor extension cords through the tent to power all appliances and equipment. There were two folding lounge chairs in the front room (complete with detachable footrests), two sets of shelves, a floor lamp and the television. In the corner room, I slept on a very comfortable double height queen size air mattress with a collapsible queen size frame underneath, and set up a set of the shelves in the corner. The room was so large that I was still able to walk around the bed. My 10,000 btu air conditioner with remote fit quite nicely in the floor level vent on the side of the tent, and kept me quite comfortable even during the hottest time of the day. The third room was equipped with a 4.2 cf mini refrigerator and microwave set atop two sets of shelves, and a folding table and four small folding chairs. Even with all the equipment inside the tent, I still had more than enough room to move around. In fact, I stayed in it over a month after the Rally ended because I had so much fun. Yes, folks, I really "roughed" it!! As always happens at the Sturgis Bike Rally, several severe storms with high winds, hail and pounding rain passed over the camp. NOT ONE DROP OF WATER came inside the tent, and the frame stood miraculously unfazed, even in 40 mph+ winds. Nothing ripped, tore or otherwise failed to meet my expectations. I was even able to use the "porch awning" as a mini carport by parking my full size SUV under it!! When camping with any tent, care must be used to pick out a site that will provide some stabiity and protection against the elements. After all, they are NOT RVs and therefore do not offer the same comforts of such. Common sense dictates that a big unit like this one cannot be set up out in the middle of a field with no trees to shield it during a storm. It is also important that ALL of the tiedowns are tightly secured to the stakes, which are to be firmly pounded into the ground several inches. Without these precautions, many of the problems outlined in other reviews will occur. The larger the tent, the more care should be taken to ensure that it will remain safely intact. In summary, I HIGHLY recomment this tent, especially for families. It is a tremendous value for such a roomy, quality item and, if properly cared for as outlined above, should provide many years of fun and excitement. Thank you for reading my review!!

Was this review helpful? (153) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Happyevans
Seattle, Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
I would buy again.. very nice tent for the money!!
6/4/2012

Customer review by AronW

4.0 stars 6/4/2012 by AronW
by AronW

This tent is very nice and extremely large. My daughter wanted to have a birthday party/camp trip with her friends so it was a good excuse for me to by a larger family tent to use in the future. I was amazed at its size and versatility. ASSEMBLY – really is a 2 person job, but I did it myself in about an hour once I figured out the frame configuration. I would recommend getting three 8x10 5mil tarps to lay out underneath to prevent possible tears in floor or possible wet ground. I laid the tent out and then began assembling the roof frame. The poles are color coordinated dots to the connectors which make for easy assembly, once you figure out how it lays out. Once I had the frame assembled I began constructing the legs (partially)… very important not to extend the legs until you have the tent and roof connected to the frame. Once I had that assembled I attached the tent to the frame. The poles will be much more secure once you get the tent attached to it so don’t worry so much if they come a part a little during construction. I then applied the roof canopy… once that was completed I extended the legs and the tent was perfect. Stakes – they are cheap so I purchased 3 packs of 8 heavy plastic… paid off in the end and only cost about $10. I used the stakes that came with the tent to hold down the roof canopy strings… made the tent much more stable since it is not really a dome tent. The extra 10-15 min to set up the extra stakes was well worth it as the tent was very sturdy INSIDE – very roomy and had 3 shelf adders which made it nice. The room of the tent is mesh which keeps it well ventilated and the roof/rain cover keeps out the weather and sun.. plenty of large windows all throughout the tent. I heard some people complain there were latches to hold the doors open, but no latches to hold the windows… seemed like a silly complaint because you will notice the windows zip down and not up… they leave an extra pocket at the bottom so you can just roll the open window into the pocket to keep out of the way. Two large zip up doors also work great. We used the back room for girls to change in privacy. The walls are thin, but surprisingly keeps the tent warm at night. OCCUPANCY - This tent says it sleeps 12 but it could easily hold more… my daughter and her friends (10 total) easily slept in two of the rooms and my wife had a Queen sized Cot/Mattress from Colman (very handy and nice to have) set up in the 3rd room…. Still had plenty of room left over. This could easily hold 12 full grown adults with no problem AC – the tent does have an AC slot at the bottom in the back which is laughable since the roof is mesh, but I can see if it is really hot and you have small children you want some cool air blowing in… it is a nice feature to have. The mesh zips up so you can close it off when not using to keep critters out. TEAR DOWN – much easier to tear down for sure, but make sure you keep track of the poles and connectors… there are a lot of them and it would be very easy to leave one behind.

Was this review helpful? (139) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AronW
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great Family Tent! Easy Setup AND Take-down.
4/29/2013

Customer review by tampapi

5.0 stars 4/29/2013 by tampapi
by tampapi

First a little background. We are a family of four. My wife and I and two kids ages 9/5. We do not consider ourselves seasoned campers by any means. We've maybe camped six times over the past four years. First, let's talk about the package. The tent arrives in a nice roll-around bag, neatly packed with all support bars. We were surprised at how much room was in the bag since most tents NEVER go back in their original bag! But be aware this tent/bag is heavy. You won't want to roll this far to get to a campsite. When we unpacked everything, we were a little concerned about the lack of instructions. But we figured since everything is color-coded, we would just start connecting rods together. This was a mistake. We quickly realized that we were "missing" parts. So we quickly scanned the three step diagram inside the bag and noticed it said to lay out the tent first. oops. So we laid out the tent and found the missing pieces attached to the tent itself. Ok, now we're rolling. Don't forget to lay down the largest tarp you can find. Our is roughly 19 x 17. After laying out the tent, we inserted all the color-coded bars and up it went. Once it was erect, we staked each corner and threw on the rain fly. Complete setup took us 25 minutes but that included the misstep of not reading the diagram first. We've seen comments about watching an online video. We think it's unnecessary. This tent is VERY SIMPLE to set up. Now if you've never set up a tent, it may be foreign at first, but for anyone who has set up tents in the past, you will not have a problem. Don't let the size scare you. Once set up, we installed our air mattresses. We decided that we would sleep on the far right room and the kids would be tucked into the corner room. That leaves the far left room open for an all-purpose room. I think this is the best layout you could have. The all purpose room has a screen that you can leave open. Throw a king size comforter down and you have a nice cool place for the kids to lay down and relax if they get tired, keeping them from laying in their bed and getting sand and dirt in it. We also stored all our dry food in this room. At night, just close the screen and you are animal proof. We were pleasantly surprised after setting up our queen air mattresses how much room was left over. You could walk around the mattress in both room. We upgraded from an Embark 10 person tent (the one with the front porch) and had no room whatever so ever to walk around inside. I am 6'4 and could stand anywhere in the tent. The height is about 6'10. The single most exciting feature to me was the covered "lanai". I bought one of those zero gravity chairs at sports authority and set it on the lanai. Plugged in a fan and had the best seat in the house. I would have slept out there had the wife let me! At night, the air flow is great. The rain fly is designed to allow air flow through the top of the tent. And the windows are huge! It's like being in a real cabin. There is an a/c hole in the the corner room. We may explore purchasing the portable a/c because we would like to try camping in the summer. As far as any complaints go, we only have one. The zippers that open the door to each bedroom get stuck easily on the surrounding fabric. Have to go slow and be patient. Jammed them a few times, but learned how to work them eventually. When it was time to get down, we just reversed the setup procedure. Took all the vertical bars out so the tent dropped straight down. Then removed all the roof bars. Packed all the bars in the bottom of the bag. Fold room three over on top of room two so you have a rectangle. Then fold length wise in half. Then roll it up, keeping in mind the width it needs to be to fit back in bag. We got ours folded on the first try and got it back in the bag no problem. Oh few other things to mention, the hanging shelves in each room are great! We stored sunglasses, ipods, car keys, etc. Very good way to keep the small things organized. And we had one brief period of rain, maybe 10 minutes worth. Not really worth noting, but the tent stayed completely dry - no leak issues. I would highly recommend this tent to any families with kids. You could also fit another couple in the third room if needed. And heck, you could put a couple in sleeping bags on the lanai if you really need to!

Was this review helpful? (92) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tampapi
Sarasota, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
5/27/2012

Customer review by katyp5110

4.0 stars 5/27/2012 by katyp5110
by katyp5110

My husband and I bought this tent because of the air conditioner port. We took it camping for the first time this weekend. The fabric could be thicker and stronger, but overall we loved it. Very spacious and easy to put together. We also loved the heavy duty bag to store the tent in, the plastic bottom and wheels are a big help to moving it around. The tent stakes that come with it are really cheap, so we bought heavier plastic ones. The air conditioner port was a life saver due to the heat. The air conditioner will cool all three rooms if needed, and is more than sufficient if doors are zipped up. Overall we're happy with our purchase!

Was this review helpful? (123) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
katyp5110
Charleston, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great Tent
6/19/2012

Customer review by NEWalmartReview

5.0 stars 6/19/2012 by NEWalmartReview
by NEWalmartReview

We bought this tent today and set it up in the back yard to treat it with seam sealer and water proofing spray. At first we didn't try to study the diagram and tried to just connect same color ends together. Don't do that. Look at the diagram first. Don't attach the legs (they have white strips around their connection end) until it is over the tent and ready to raise. If you do construct the roof frame first it goes easily. When it says to connect the brass hooks, do not connect the black ones at the same time. We had one black hook for the wall connecting to the roof frame and tore it off when we raised it up. Don't do that either. Study the directions, they take a bit to get and it will go much smoother. It is certainly a 2+ person process and could take 20-30 minutes after you get the hang of it. We love how spacious this tent is and that my 6'2" husband can easily stand up in it, and not just in the center. The awning is perfect and will be used for a sun/rain cover with the double-zip window room for additional bad weather space. Our old tent tarp for the ground is not near big enough so we will be heading out to get a larger one. Thanks to the reviewers that said the stakes were cheap, they are and we got better ones before even trying to put it up. The ones in the box will work fine for the rain fly ropes and added stability in wind. Overall an excellent tent and I can't wait to camp in it.

Was this review helpful? (85) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NEWalmartReview
NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Just like a cabin!
7/16/2012

Customer review by fun789

5.0 stars 7/16/2012 by fun789
by fun789

We bought this tent with hopes of being able to stand up and change inside comfortably, we absolutely can. This not only has more height but space as well. We have 3 children and they have their own room and we have our own room and we have room for playing games in without the bugs getting to us. So far it has held up in rain and wind. It was very easy to put together once we figured out the color coding scheme. We would recommend that this tent be put up with two adults that can work well together because it is a process but super simple. We absolutely are satisfied with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fun789
Alexandria, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great tent
6/4/2012

Customer review by iamcountry

5.0 stars 6/4/2012 by iamcountry
by iamcountry

I haven't camped in years and the last time I did it rained. We were soaked and so was everything in our tent. The tent was untimately ruined by the storm and we Had to purchase a new one to camp this time. My first purchase right after was camp dry and Seam sealer. I was not taking any chances. My fiancé decided that because it said waterproof in the box that it was unnecessary to take it out, set it up and prepare it for our trip. I believe some laziness was involved in that decision but I thought hey he can learn the hard way! We went camping and had torential storms two nights in a row ( I think they follow me). Each morning I expected To wake up to several inches of water and was amazed to find only a tsp Amt in two corners of the tent. Needless to say my fiancé got the last laugh. Only partially negative thing about this tent was set up. A little hard first time up but a cake walk after you figure it out!

Was this review helpful? (34) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
iamcountry
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
great tent for the price
11/25/2012

Customer review by crazycjray

5.0 stars 11/25/2012 by crazycjray
by crazycjray

Great value good quality, plenty of room, easy to assemble. Took me only 30 minutes to assemble for the first time. Wife loves it so that is definately a plus. Definately recommend to others.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
crazycjray
orlando, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Well Worth It
7/18/2012

Customer review by shorty07088

5.0 stars 7/18/2012 by shorty07088
by shorty07088

Just returned from a camping trip and I love this tent, very spacious and comfortable. You will need at least two adults with patience to set this tent up but once you get it together it is very nice. It took us atleast and hour or so(first time set up). It rained friday night and not even a drop of rain entered the tent and we didn't even use tent sealer. Well worth the money

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shorty07088
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Amazing Tent! Large, roomy, complete with porch.
8/20/2013

Customer review by EternalStudent

5.0 stars 8/20/2013 by EternalStudent
by EternalStudent

Okay - if you're looking for a large tent, around 16' x 16', you can stop looking now. This is it! I've been camping for over 40 years. I have owned countless tents, from bivvy tents to backpacking tents to very large, car camping tents. Without a doubt, this is the best tent I've ever owned, period. I'm 6'4", and sometimes tents make it hard for me to get in the tent and/or stand up in them. No problem in this tent... not at all. Other reasons I like this tent: Three 8' x 8' rooms. Big windows for all rooms. One of the main selling points of this tent is the COVERED PORCH! When it's raining, what a great thing. In other tents, when it's raining and you're trying to get in the tent, inevitably you bring in a lot of rain with you. When you exit, the same thing. With this tent... where the fourth 8' x 8' room would be is a "porch" that is completely covered by the rain fly. This rain fly completely shelters both entrances. Several times I have been camping with this tent it has rained (at times very hard), and what a relief to get under the rain fly, take off wet jacket & shoes, and enter the tent. Very civilized, if you ask me! The porch also provides cover for chairs if you want to sit outside but still be in the shade. Another great feature is the "screen" room. One of the rooms has a floor-to-ceiling bug mesh door. You can pull the rain fly portion of the door back, and enjoy the breeze and view without the company of bugs (can you tell that I HATE BUGS!). So nice, and the room is also a fully functional room (unlike some of the screen rooms/porches in other tents, which might not even have a floor). SETUP The directions to set up the tent are sewn into the bag. And yes, the first time you set it up, you'll need them. It helped that I watched the video on the walmart.com site of setting up the tent; especially helpful in showing how to properly connect the tent to the frame and in attaching the rain fly (when fully assembled, the rent is so high that you really need to put the vertical poles only HALF way up, attaching the tent and rain fly, then putting the poles all the way up). I noticed that a couple of the colors on the connection points did not really match the colors on the poles. I just added a piece of duct tape to identify those poles and connection points. I believe that it is imperative to setup the tent for the first time at home, prior to using it. I lent the tent to some friends, and had them over to run through setting the tent up before they left... a life-saver for them, as they arrived at their campsite after dark and would've been hard pressed to set that thing up at night. The more times you set it up, the easier (and faster) it becomes. Just a personal recommendation: ALWAYS stake down your tent, complete with guy lines. I had a large tent nearly blow away in what must've been a something like a micro-burst... I wasn't there when it happened, but the entire tent was flipped over and several of the poles were bent and connection points were broken. It was not really stormy... but wow... took lots of duct tape and pole-splints to fix it! ALSO: I add steel tent stakes and use them to stake the tent down. The included yellow stakes I use for the guy lines... they're a bit more visible. I might be getting reflective guy lines to further enhance the visibility. EXPERIENCES I have now used this tent four times. It has rained every time. One time, it was also very, very windy (winds I estimate at 30+ mph). See above recommendation to stake down the tent, and I was glad I did. Even though the walls are nearly vertical, the tent did not flex very much at all. I did not have one drop of rain come through. The rooms are big enough for me to put a queen sized air mattress in there, plus a "night stand" alongside the bed. With my aerobed, it was very nice and comfortable. One thing to be aware of is that water WILL collect on both sides of the pole in the rain fly above the porch. There are a couple of small holes that are meant to drain the collected rain water, but they didn't seem to work very well (too easily clogged with leaves, branches, etc.). However, the extra weight did serve to help stabilize the porch pole... and punching the rain fly from underneath works very well to get the water out. I have not used the air conditioning flap, but it was a very convenient point of entry for the electrical extension cord! I use a 16' x 14' tarp underneath... works well enough but I might get a larger one. I fold the corner where the porch is so that rain water does not accumlate there. One last thing: in every other big tent I've had, getting the tent back into the bag has been a major challenge... and although it is still tight, this tent does go back into the bag quite nicely. That's it! Have fun camping!

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EternalStudent
North Carolilna (by way of Oregon and California)
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
EVERYONE loved our "mansion"
11/22/2012

Customer review by cottonacademy

5.0 stars 11/22/2012 by cottonacademy
by cottonacademy

was easy to set up. There is a small bag with stakes wrapped in with tent. We missed it and had to buy stakes, found it when we took down tent. less than 30 min to put up and 15 min to take down. All the poles and brackets are color coded. THe brackets are attached to the tent so put down a tarp (we heard from everyone that is a good idea to keep you dry and prevent accidental tears.. and it's easier to clean tarp than tent) and then lay out the tent THEN it will be easy to see where to attach the bars. We bought extended replacement coverage, just in case. We had hard winds and some rain, did worry it would blow around, but didnt budge--- some tents in our cub scout camp were upside down in the morning! It did rain off and on, we were completely dry. The windows can be left as open screens or zipped closed as much as you'd like. There are tie backs to keep doors and window screens open. there is a covered porch area. Was me and 5 kids and we had PLENTY of room.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cottonacademy
Katy, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/13/2012

Customer review by roknana

4.0 stars 7/13/2012 by roknana
by roknana

love the size for the money. though would suggest to pre put it together before going any wear! its coled coded but on the instructions you half to find a number to match the color....so i put the frame together before i went camping (it does take two people,it is big)and drew a diagram on a piece of paper ,writing down where the corerd poles went,much easier to put together!i also put a 16bt 20 ft tarp underneath! i read the review before purchase and glad i did , it worked great!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
roknana
minot,nd
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
coolest tent in park
6/19/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/19/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Picture this....Florida in June, 95 degrees in the shade, thunderstorms about 4 every afternoon, check in is at 3pm and our first opportunity to go camping with this tent. We did watch the set-up video before this first attempt. It took about 45 minutes to put it up including counting the poles then sorting them by color. Directions are sewn into the tent bag so they didn't blow away....good thing. Got the a/c in the hole, propped on an egg crate. Room for the 2 dogs and their beds (cat not allowed on camping trips after last time), 3 coolers, card table w/chairs, queen air bed and dvd player. Was very comfortable, dry and cool for the 12 hour storm that set in. The following morning when the sky cleared and everyone one emerged only from the rv's. We were the only tenters left! Everyone else had abandoned due to in-tent flooding. After that everyone who wandered by waved and commented...."great tent", "best tent in the park", "still best tent in the park", "can we see the inside", "where did you get it", etc. Excellent tent and a wonderful experience.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Central Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
1st Time Campers with Four Children
10/22/2012

Customer review by MomStilLovesBarbie

5.0 stars 10/22/2012 by MomStilLovesBarbie
by MomStilLovesBarbie

This thing was awesome. Yes it was diffifult putting it together but once we figured it out, it was the talk of the camp yard. I would suggest you watch the video and set up the tent before your trip. We didnt and it cost us 5 hours in the dark of frustration. But with the fear of no shelter we kept at it until the peices made sense. The directions are straight foward, but like anything new and with lack of sun light we had issues. However once errected, it was spacious, felt like a little cabin. Plenty of air windows, yet once zipped plently of privacy from outsiders and the children if you get my drift. The handly hanging pockets for hats, socks, hicking boots was helpful. WE even had a portable toilet in there for those night time moments. We so enjoyed the porch, gazing on the warm days. Had no tears, no ground issues and we were on gravel with no extra tarp on the floor only blankets (but plan on getting a tarp for the additional moisture block next time. Nothing ripped and we had a 10, 8, and two 5 year olds. Plus another campers kid playing in the tent. Had Queen mattress in each room and 32quart tub with clothes in our room. Loved this tent, cant wait to use it again. We have a bet to see how fast we can get the tent up now since we know what were doing.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MomStilLovesBarbie
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Love this tent!
5/8/2013

Customer review by MandSmomma

5.0 stars 5/8/2013 by MandSmomma
by MandSmomma

I absolutely love this tent. We took it camping at Stone Mountain a couple of weekends ago. My husband and I put it together when we first got it to make sure we understood how to do it. It has gotten easier and quicker each time we put it together. With 2 people doing it, it takes maybe 15 min. I like that it has 3 separate rooms. We have had a large tent before that had hanging "dividers" that made it into a 3 room tent. But this tent truly has 3 separate rooms. We have a 14 year old boy and a 3 year old girl so each has different needs. We put our 3 year old in the inner corner room as it did not have a door and she didn't need one. Our son had his own door in and out as did we. It has a "power pocket" which we didn't find until we took it down and a little zippered area to put an a/c if you were so inclined. Our 3 year old thought it was her "escape" door just for her! We had heavy rains our 2nd night there so it weathered through with no leaks. I can't find anything to complain about with this tent.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MandSmomma
Springville, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
6/18/2012

Customer review by jameslovesme

5.0 stars 6/18/2012 by jameslovesme
by jameslovesme

I totally love this tent. I finally upgraded to a much bigger tent after 6 yrs w/my previous tent. I was a bit nervous on set up when I opened bag to see all the parts. We followed directions & it does take 2 people, on first setup was easier than expected. It took us 30 mins due too one of the parts was missed marked its colors. But at the end was easy to fix. Highly recommed this tent and when you take down to get the colored masking tape to redo the dots they put on ware off easliy. used the tent 2 times since I got this. Love it and the room is great!! second time took us almost 20 mins to put up.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jameslovesme
Lanesboro MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great Family Tent! Plenty of Room & Privacy!
7/31/2013

Customer review by obxdog

5.0 stars 7/31/2013 by obxdog
by obxdog

This tent is amazing! We decided to purchase this tent for several reasons. First, we were looking for a replacement for our old tent. Second, we wanted more space- headroom, sleeping areas, storage areas, a canopy, divided areas, etc. Third, we wanted total enclosure and rain protection. Fourth, the reviews were decent. Despite some of the reviews which said it took forever to set up with experienced campers, we purchased it anyways! We are very pleased with our purchase! We did a trial set up at home first. It was simple. The directions are clear! Follow them. It makes things much easier. Unroll the tent and lay it out where you'd like it first. I'd recommend laying a tarp down under the tent for added protection from sticks, rocks, roots, branches, grass, etc. We used a 10 x 20 and an 8 x 10. We didn't put one under the awning area becuase it really isn't necessary. Then, set out all the color coded poles in groups. The poles are connected by metal, not cloth bungee material. Great feature!! They assemble quickly and simply. Next, connect the poles to the connectors on the tent. These too are color coded. Tip: Before raising the corner poles, put the rainfly on. It makes it much simpler to put on. The entire tent was up in less than 30 minutes for first time set-up with two people. We staked the tent to the ground, but did not use the strings attached to the rainfly to secure it. We didn't sleep in it during trial set-up in our backyard. Another tip: Waterproof your rainfly before you use it! It took 3 cans to generously spray the rainfly. Walmart sells them in shoe section for $6.75. It was well worth it. It rained lightly after setup but before putting the silicone spray on. The tent stayed dry. The water just beaded on the rainfly and ran off. But, experience has proven that waterproofing tents is always good! Take down of the tent is simple. Remember how you opened it! Fold the three 8 x 8 sections of the tent so it makes one. Then fold that into thirds and roll. It took about 15 minutes to tear down. So, how did it do camping? Great! The second time, it went up in about 15-20 minutes. This time we even tied out the strings attached to the rainfly for security. Do the same for the awning. This secures it in rain or wind. Another tip: If windy or rainy, tilt the pole that holds up the awning towards the tent so the awning tilts/leans/angles towards the ground. Then stake it tightly. This prevents rain build-up, wind from getting under the awning and raising it like a parachute, and from strain on the seams. Using the tent was amazing!! It has tons of space. 2 zippered entrances- 1 D-door into main room, another T-style door into canopy area. The T-style door entry to the canopy area has a full outside covering with another completely separate T-style zippered mesh lining underneath. This allows for ventilation and light while still being screened in. Once inside, ther are 3 fully separate rooms- each separated by zippered D-doors. This allows for absolute privacy- exclusive of noise, of course. Each room has a hanging corner shelf with 3 shelves each. Each room has two windows that zip down with mesh outside linings. They even appear to have cross bars like real windows. The ceiling is completely mesh, which allows for ventilation, air flow, and breathability. But don't worry, the rainfly completely covers it. You'll stay warm and dry! There are hooks which attach to the roof poles that keep the mesh lining at least 6 inches from the rainfly over the entire tent. Really Nice!! Most rainflys touch the mesh which eventually leads to leakage in those areas. The entire floor, even in the canopy area, has a bathtub style tarp bottom which is connected to the tent. It comes up about 6 inches. This will keep the whole tent dry! Unlike other tents which have a canopy area, this one is actually completely enclosed. The bottom and the sides are attached to the tent. It can be used as a sitting room, a dining area, a sleeping area, a storage area, a pet area, an entrance area so as not to get the rest of the tent dirty. How did it hold up? Well, one of the nights it got down to the low 40's. We all stayed warm. Another night it rained ALL night. We all stayed dry. Completely dry! Not one drip, not one leak. Every seam is taped. The mesh roof and the rainfly resembles a pitched roof! The water simply ran off the tent. I'm sure the waterproofing spray helped too. Another tip: Keep all bags, clothes, air mattresses, etc. away from the tent walls. This will help keep the tent dry and those areas eventually leaking water. It was also windy the same rainy evening. The straps secured the tent. It didn't waver. The awning stayed up. We did angle it downwards towards the ground for better wind and rain resistance. Headroom was great. I have tall boys- 6'2". They could stand with plenty of space. Even getting in and out of the tent was a breeze. You don't really have to bend. We did put our heavy duty tarps under the tent. Campsites always have debris on the ground or hidden surprises. Not a hole in the floor at all. Each room could comfortably fit a queen size air mattress in it along with luggage. We only used one queen in one room, a twin in another- which left tons of room, and we used the canopy area as an entry way, place for our stuff, a bucket for a toilet, misc. We camped with several families so our coolers, chairs, and table were elsewhere. If wanted, the canopy room has plenty of room for a card table, 4 chairs, coolers, bags, shoes, etc. The options with this tent are limitless!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
obxdog
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
6/18/2012

Customer review by Busterbob

5.0 stars 6/18/2012 by Busterbob
by Busterbob

After the first time setting up the tent you might have to correct color codes. After all corrections are made it gets easier every time. For a tent its the best.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Busterbob
lugoff sc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Most bang for your buck
5/19/2013

Customer review by HappyCamper32583

5.0 stars 5/19/2013 by HappyCamper32583
by HappyCamper32583

After all of the ribbing about bringing a house with us on our camping trip, most of my friends could not hid how envious they were! It was very easy and fast to set-up, especially with three or four people (I set it up by myself in less than 30 minutes). Had a pretty good storm come through the next day and we stayed high and dry! It was also very airy and we stayed very comfortable even during 80+ degree temps. I do recommend you purchase a ground tarp large enough to cover the whole footprint (20x20) to prevent a possible puncture from a stick and so that you can better utilize the front "patio" area (which you can store in the same bag as the tent). Also, while the stakes they provide are OK, get the good 10" Coleman (or comparable) stakes for extra security. I have not only recommended this tent to others, I helped a friend pick theirs up the next weekend after they camped with us!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HappyCamper32583
Pensacola, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 67 total reviews
1-20 of 67 reviews