Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 37 reviews | 2 out of 5

2.0 stars

37 reviews | 2 out of 5

2.0 stars

37 reviews | 2 out of 5

30%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
25
1-20 of 36 total reviews
30%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 36 total reviews
1-20 of 36 reviews
3/1/2012

Customer review by watkins17

1.0 stars 3/1/2012 by watkins17
by watkins17

this is a piece of junk....never had problems with rca products before but there is a first for everything i guess. ive had this for about 6 months and the tuner stopped working and when i called customer service about this...they treated me like i was an idiot asking me if the product was even plugged in. needless to say they wanted me to ship it to them so i did, and i payed for the shipping cause they wouldnt. i kept my shipping label and tracked it until it was delivered. i called the warehouse and they told me that the electronic piece that was inside was fried and they wanted 250 dollars to repair it...i said he** no. i asked them to send it back to me and they wanted me to pay for shipping once again. since then, i have replaced all rca products with phillips products and have had very pleasant customer service when i cant figure something out.......hope this is very useful to whom ever.

Was this review helpful? (67) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
watkins17
illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not a good deal!
3/7/2012

Customer review by kisstie78

1.0 stars 3/7/2012 by kisstie78
by kisstie78

I purchased this a year ago - nothing but problems. Slow to turn on, now it really won't turn on at all, sound is horrible quality! I am thanful I spent the $20.00 for the 2 yr service plan and all BUT I wish I would just have gone awhole different direction on this purchase - do NOT recommend!

Was this review helpful? (25) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kisstie78
Des Moines, IA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per week
SYSTEM FREEZES UP, NO UPDATE AVAILABLE!
4/23/2012

Customer review by Rubytube

1.0 stars 4/23/2012 by Rubytube
by Rubytube

The system freezes up after scrolling thru menu items such as Netflix movies and other browsing I think if they had went a step further and added a memory card of some type they would have prevented this by giving it the space to store the extra information. It seemed as if it filled up the memory space it had by browsing then had to be turned off and on again in order to be able to add a movie to queue or to just continue looking. Other then this drawback it seemed to work fairly well for the money spent. There were no firmware or software updates to get for this unit so it's likely to never perform right without the ability to store memory or do a system upgrade and the remote was very weak as well. I would have to say it's a bad move by RCA and a dud unfortunately, I had very high hopes for this system and especially for the price.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rubytube
Sherman
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Features are useless when the system doesn't work!
3/14/2012

Customer review by Scorpio90

1.0 stars 3/14/2012 by Scorpio90
by Scorpio90

I bought this theater system at a local Walmart. I was hooking up the speakers and noticed a rattling noise when I took the final speaker out of the box. I turned on the speakers and the one which had a loose part on the inside did not work. This Blu Ray player looked very promising in stores. I was hoping to enjoy the Blu Ray, Netflix, Vudu, internet, dvd, and radio. The Netflix ran so slow through this Blu Ray player that I turned it off and watched Nexflix on my Xbox. This will be returned tomorrow. I don't recommend wasting time and money purchasing this system. I suggest going to an actual electronics dealer and getting better quality merchandise. This is the last time I will buy major electronics from Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Scorpio90
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Do not buy this system
4/19/2012

Customer review by TamGoody

1.0 stars 4/19/2012 by TamGoody
by TamGoody

I just bought this system yesterday and I guess it's right that you get what you pay for. As soon as I got home, I was so excited to be able to watch movies on Netflix and listen to Pandora, but it took me forever to try and figure out how to even access these programs. I will try one more time tonight, but I think I'm going to just box it up and take it right back for a better one. There's also a loud noise coming from the box and it will not go away for anything. The only way you can tune the noise out is to turn the volume up loud enough so that you can't hear it. Setting up was quite simple, but the set up for netflix, pandora, etc. was horrible. The remote didn't even seem to work. The whole system runs slow. Save your money.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TamGoody
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
RCA website access link
12/2/2012

Customer review by walker66

5.0 stars 12/2/2012 by walker66
by walker66

RTB10223 http://1800customersupport.com/Products.aspx?p=114&view=704&sc=55 copy and paste the link above for RCA manuals and fixes online I bought this item on dec/29/2012 and was careful to inspect the box for damage and to see that it was sealed closed. I unpacked everything and inspected it, then hooked it up on a table to check it out. The (5)speakers came with attached (tinned) wires more than long enough. It had a (wire)video cable included but I used an optical cable I bought to hook up the input of the blueray audio to the output of the TV audio. I bought a good HDMI cable to hook up the output of the Blu-ray palyer to the TV. After everything was hooked up I turned on the TV than after 2 min. I turned on the Blu-ray player and waited another 2 min. I put the included batteries into the remote control and started using it. I had to set the TV up for digital sound (do not use auto as it causes problems) and set the picture to 1080p . I had to set the blu-ray up to match TV and used the quick guide . The sound from the TV (5.1) going thru the RCA unit is really good compared to the TV sound alone and I only use about vol 30 on the blu-ray volume. The mute on the blu-ray works (when the TV speakers are turned off). When playing a blu-ray disk the picture is excellent. The remote for the blu-ray is slow, it takes about a 1 sec. to 2 sec. press of a button to get an action. REMOTE is SLOW and is not user friendly !!!!!!!! When powering up the blu-ray player it takes several seconds but you can read the display and see what is going on. After viewing menu items like netflix or vodo it takes a while to go thru power up again and then to go thru disk access. I will return and write more on this review after I have had it for a while.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
walker66
Johnson City , NY USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I love it.
5/23/2012

Customer review by Lizy

4.0 stars 5/23/2012 by Lizy
by Lizy

I think they have corrected the problems. The first one I bought back in February 2012, I had to return because of problems starting DVD's, but after I returned it in March, the new one works great. Every feature works. I really enjoy watching Netflix online movies using it in addition to DVDs. The only distraction is the fan noise when it speeds up to cool it down after watching a movie for over an hour. It only lasts for about a minute

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lizy
Sedona, Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Dont waste your time or money
8/9/2012

Customer review by ACQB1965

1.0 stars 8/9/2012 by ACQB1965
by ACQB1965

RCA has really slid down the pipe. This unit has a very loud cooling fan, specially noticeable in a bedroom setting. Getting the unit to read blurays is an adventure all unto itself. Save your time and money for a more quality unit.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ACQB1965
Midwest USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Unit is Great!!!
5/28/2012

Customer review by Geabaldyvx

4.0 stars 5/28/2012 by Geabaldyvx
by Geabaldyvx

I have no idea what people are doing with these players but the unit I have works without a problem. I have a much nicer system downstairs in my home that has taken me years to build and hands-down it blows this away. However, at 180x the cost it should. I placed this unit in my third bedroom which is used as a second den/Media room/Man Cave. The sound output is fantastic. I was worried that the small cube speakers would not sound good but for a room roughly 12x14 the sound is great. Video Playback from the BluRay or DVD portion works as expected. While there is a slight lag when navigating the menu it isn't major. In all bang for the Buck you can't really go wrong..

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Geabaldyvx
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I am so glad I bought this
6/13/2012

Customer review by tandalaya

5.0 stars 6/13/2012 by tandalaya
by tandalaya

Money well spent. I didnt know there was such a big difference in regular and blue ray, what a great picture and now i have sound that is surround, movies I cud not hear before , now its like im in a theater.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tandalaya
dallas texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
TERRIBLE! DO NOT BUY!!!!
7/15/2012

Customer review by hawkfan75

1.0 stars 7/15/2012 by hawkfan75
by hawkfan75

I'm not even sure how well this this works because it is SO user UNfriendly. The instructions are horrible and vague, there is no number to call. There is a web address in the manual that is supposed to give further help, but it only repeats what the manual says. I would give anything to take this back. Also, although it advertises that it hooks up to netflix, vudoo, and youtube, keep in mind you have to use a cable to hook your player to your computer. It is not wireless.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hawkfan75
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
rca blu-ray home theater rtb 10223
9/1/2012

Customer review by cowboy2005

1.0 stars 9/1/2012 by cowboy2005
by cowboy2005

I have had this player for 8 months. Around the 5 month mark it started not wanting to play dvd's, now after 8 months you have to fight with it to get it to play blu-ray's. I am planing on returning this if I can.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cowboy2005
Stigler Ok
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
You get what you pay for, right?
4/8/2012

Customer review by electrahog55

3.0 stars 4/8/2012 by electrahog55
by electrahog55

In my opinion it's ok for the price if your on a budget as i was of course i would like more quality for the money but for that you have to pay the bucks to get it. It serves my purpose for now untill i can spend around a $1000.00 dollars then it will be obsolete! All in all for the money spent and going from nothing to this it's a good starter system for someone on a budget.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
electrahog55
Denison
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This is JUNK
6/29/2012

Customer review by cowboylvr

1.0 stars 6/29/2012 by cowboylvr
by cowboylvr

I have had this system for less than a year now and have had nothing but problems with it, I could not use any of the internet features it told me it was not hooked up to the internet but alas i was able to use netflix and pandora. it freezes up and locks out to the point where i have to shut it down just to unfreeze it and sometimes that will not work i have had to actually unplug it from the wall. half the time the open/close will not work. the netflix options were hard to manuver but we can do itjust fine on our xbox. So to put it bluntly DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cowboylvr
mims, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Amazing sound and picture for bargain pricing!
2/27/2013

Customer review by cjnuxoll

4.0 stars 2/27/2013 by cjnuxoll
by cjnuxoll

After a Friday night visit with some friends in which we watched a movie on their outdoor projector, my wife insisted that we get something like that. Our friends had gone first-class all the way with super high end equipment, but we weren't sure how it would work out for us or how we'd end up using it so we wanted to go cheap for starters, and then we figured we'd upgrade later if we got into it. After securing a used projector and a new screen from Amazon, I bought this RCA theater system from WalMart. I bought the cheapest blu-ray with amp and speakers I could find and the RTB10223 was the one. I use the HDMI to connect the projector to the blu ray/amp, and wire up the speakers and subwoofer. We set everything up on our back patio deck, with the projector hanging from its mount on the pergola. I put screws in the supports to hang the surround speakers from. The sound quality was nothing short of amazing in less than ideal conditions. The picture quality is also astounding, but at 1080p, it should be. We've used it many times since our initial purchase last September with zero complaints. If anything, it's too loud! I certainly don't see a reason to upgrade at this point, and for the value price, it has far exceeded my expectations. I consider it an excellent value for anyone who's looking for a cheap starter unit. I haven't run a CAT-5/6 to it for network streaming, but I don't expect any issues based on it's DVD/blu ray performance so far. Also, we have only used it a few months outdoors only (we live in California), so I don't know how long it will hold up, but if it lasts a few years then I definitely will have gotten more than my money's worth out of it! Very pleased to say the least! http://sphotos-b.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/178289_10152213468090451_194863665_o.jpg

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cjnuxoll
Sacto, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
9/23/2012

Customer review by beecubed

1.0 stars 9/23/2012 by beecubed
by beecubed

I bought this in-store without doing any research. What a mistake! If you want this system for playing dvd's with Dolby sound, the one I bought will do that just fine. I have no idea about blu-ray since I don't do that. If you want this system for internet streaming, particularly Netflix, DO NOT BUY IT! Nothing but problems. I have had this system about a year and I have been on the phone with my ISP at least fifteen times a month for the whole period. Netflix freezes up all the time. I thought it was my ISP. I even called Netflix a couple of times because I thought it was them. Turns out it was this system the whole time. I know that because I bought a Roku streaming player and it is fantastic. Not one problem to speak of so far and it is lightning fast. A night-and-day difference from this system.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
beecubed
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
No good!
4/21/2014

Customer review by Jennamin

1.0 stars 4/21/2014 by Jennamin
by Jennamin

We purchased this at local store about 2 months ago, it has been terrible since the beginning... First RCA cheaped out and didn't put pads on the bottom of the unit so it scratched our new solid wood entertainment center when we slid the player into the slot. It is so slow to do anything, 5 min start up to turn on, to switch functions, to load a Bluray, netflix etc.... Now it says that there is no internet connection available for netflix, when we have a connection that works for YouTube and pandora on this very device... Tried factory reset, checked all cords rebooted etc to no avail! Do not waste your money on this terrible product... Wish we would have gone with our gut and just bit the bullet for a pricier system!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jennamin
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
throwing it in the trash
3/25/2014

Customer review by shrtwhiteboy

1.0 stars 3/25/2014 by shrtwhiteboy
by shrtwhiteboy

I've owned this unit for about a month. it takes about 5 minutes to turn the unit on. It takes about a minute to switch sources. you have to hit "Open" several times to get the dvd door to open and a couple more times to get it to close. the rear speakers are way too loud and there is no way to adjust it. It only recognizes about half the blu ray movies I try to put in it. Of those it will only play about half of them the whole way through without locking up or skipping scenes. The built in apps have a horrible picture. it's very grainy and some of the movies only take up about half the screen because the resolution is so low. I have tried connecting directly to my network instead of wireless with the same results. I will be throwing this in the trash and going out tonight to buy a Sony or Samsung.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shrtwhiteboy
West Pittston, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/31/2012

Customer review by ldykga

1.0 stars 8/31/2012 by ldykga
by ldykga

I haven't had this unit a year yet and I'm having problems. The remote just stopped working. I have tried universal remotes with no luck. Without the remote its pretty much useless. You can listen to cd's however there is no capability to skip tracks. Without a remote there is no way to play dvds because it will not move past the menu for the dvd. I will not buy a RCA product again.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ldykga
Statesboro, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Stay away from this unit!
2/7/2013

Customer review by asodayih

1.0 stars 2/7/2013 by asodayih
by asodayih

Bought this unit and a new 50" smart LED TV and excitedly went home to set everything up. Within the first few minutes after set up as I was playing around with everything I realized the quality was horrible. The player makes a long "loading type of noise" every time you put a disc in. It is so slow, it freezes, you have to push the buttons on the remote several times before it does what you want. The remote stops working randomly and you have to restart the whole player do get it working again. When you shut the unit off, the picture stays on the screen even after it says its off/goodbye. I put a action movie in and the bullets and loud action parts sounded decent with the system up loud but the characters voices were cracking, so I couldn't watch the movie at high volume. I didn't check to see if I could adjust the sound levels but didn't bother because the remote is too frustrating. Had this unit for two days and will be returning it ASAP for a Samsung. Stay away!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
asodayih
Randolph, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 36 total reviews
1-20 of 36 reviews