Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 50 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

50 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

50 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
19
4 stars
22
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 stars
1
1-20 of 47 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 47 total reviews
1-20 of 47 reviews
Inexpensive HD camera that gets most jobs done
5/22/2012

Customer review by SonicD3athMonkey

4.0 stars 5/22/2012 by SonicD3athMonkey
by SonicD3athMonkey

The short version of this: it's cheap, but does well. It's really just a nicer version of the HD video capability of your point and shoot camera or smart phone in a camcorder form factor. For more detail, read on: I bought this camera a week ago in a pinch as I was asked to record the key moments of a wedding for my niece. I'm no videographer, but I did want something that shot in HD (although 1080p wasn't a requirement for me). I just wanted something that would shoot in HD and that would allow me to quickly allow me to get to the video files AND not set me back a car payment. This camera pretty much got the job done, even in very low light. Overall I'm pleased with the camera, here's a list of things that I liked: USB charging, shoots stills, face detection, stabilization, nice zoom, very light, clear LCD, simple USB-to-miniUSB cable and charger is easy/cheap to replace. There are a few things you need to know, however. It has an extremely weak battery. I got about 45 minutes of battery life shooting with face detection and stabilization enabled. You can get bigger/better batteries as it shares the same battery type as the more expensive Samsung camcorders (IA-BP210E/EPP or IA-BP420E/EPP). Also, the autofocus struggles a bit in lower light. Face detection struggles with profiles, but excels with finding faces (portraits) in crowds. The LCD gets totally washed out in bright, direct sunlight; you'll have to trust your aim when the sun is over your shoulder. Basically, this is a no frills type of camera. Really, it's about as good a camera as anything you already have in your point and shoot pocket camera. The benefit is the form factor of a camcorder and some extra features that you'd expect in a camcorder. It's 720p HD, so you'll get some very crisp video, especially in bright light situations. Here's an added side benefit of only being 720p: you can use a class 6 SDHC card and never worry about choppy video because of slow memory. 1080p cameras really need a class 10 card to shoot without any risk of choppy video, but at 720p speeds a class 6 card will do just fine (and are cheaper). Also, your video files won't be as big as a 1080p camera. Some video purists out there will probably argue the virtues of going 1080p, but if you're even considering this camera than you're probably not a videographer (or wannabe) and 720p is just fine. Don't confuse this with a pro quality camera or anything you might see in the $400+ range. But it really is the perfect balance of quality and value that you would want from a budget prices HD Flash memory camcorder.

Was this review helpful? (76) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SonicD3athMonkey
Woodbury Heights, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice camcorder for this price point
5/5/2012

Customer review by Greytsilly

4.0 stars 5/5/2012 by Greytsilly
by Greytsilly

I wasn't expecting broadcast quality video from a camcorder at this price. Meets my expectations and the video is quite good in good light. I don't shoot in poor light, so I don't know about the video there. The only thing I didn't like on the controls is that the backlight button is really easy to push by mistake due to it's location. Other than that, I am quite pleased with this camcorder.

Was this review helpful? (70) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Greytsilly
Central NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
4/20/2012

Customer review by atvnutny

5.0 stars 4/20/2012 by atvnutny
by atvnutny

Took this unit along with us on our 4 Wheeler ride this past weekend the video came out great

Was this review helpful? (48) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
atvnutny
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
so far so good...
6/12/2012

Customer review by 1947zakrzewski

4.0 stars 6/12/2012 by 1947zakrzewski
by 1947zakrzewski

After many tape camcoders/combinations since 1983, this is my newest acquizition; Used to lug the bigger units around AND all of the big tapes too (missionary services to E Europe and Mexico); This promises to be the best yet--light, small HD, flash drive(4 gig now--6 later?) etc. Battery life for base battery seems good over 1hr plus. I use my units to capture church sermons and edit using Pinnacle/Avid 14 software, then launch to website! So far, so good! Ray ...con: Tiny fonts for S/N and other graphics....

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1947zakrzewski
Port Orchard 98367
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Still learning
5/21/2012

Customer review by chvy4evr

4.0 stars 5/21/2012 by chvy4evr
by chvy4evr

I found this to be a very nice camera for the price. I am a beginner and so I am still getting use to it. I do find the beginner feature great since I am still learning all of the camera features. I was going to use it for my husband's graduation pictures, but battery needed charging. Overall, I love this camera.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chvy4evr
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Very nice zoom in!
12/16/2012

Customer review by SweatyPaws

5.0 stars 12/16/2012 by SweatyPaws
by SweatyPaws

After returning a $159 camcorder from online, I got my money and bought this one in the store. I really fell in love wtih this camcorder!! Very easy to work with and beginner friendly to any camcorder! Everything focus very good and I get very very good zoom in and close shot of object in my aquariums. Great HD recorder and photo is alright! I advise you use a tripod to get a better stabile recording. I also love the built in video editor! Works very good and have alot of features!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SweatyPaws
Wausau, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
7/4/2012

Customer review by Bob014

5.0 stars 7/4/2012 by Bob014
by Bob014

Fast Delivery! These came in before my shoes. I also love how clear the picture is on such a tiny screen. Totally worth the price too :)

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bob014
Anchorage, AK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Samsung F80 is OK
5/10/2012

Customer review by momin8tr

2.0 stars 5/10/2012 by momin8tr
by momin8tr

Returned the product. It was OK but the image stabilization STUNK! It didn't matter how I held the camcorder (1 or 2 handed, elbows propped on hard surface, etc) when I played back the recording, it shook horribly. I know it's impossible to hold something completely still but if I was prone to motion sickness, watching the recorded video for 5 minutes would have made me sick. Personally, it doesn't matter what the other bells and wistles are if the video shakes so much you can't watch it. I absolutely love Samsung TVs but my 10 year old Sony Hi-8 camcorder provides superior video. Unfortunately, TV and Computer technology have advanced so much it makes my Sony impossible to view on TV or download video. Otherwise, I wouldn't be in the market for a new camcorder.

Was this review helpful? (14) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
momin8tr
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
12/21/2012

Customer review by dancing2

4.0 stars 12/21/2012 by dancing2
by dancing2

Like the camera but cannot get the dvd with the directions on how to use the camera to work.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dancing2
Sarasota, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
AWSOME CAMERA
8/14/2012

Customer review by Dantethereview

4.0 stars 8/14/2012 by Dantethereview
by Dantethereview

This camera is awsome. i got it about 3 days ago and its fine!!! Cool stuff about it: Night light, Focus, Face Detection, Awsome Zoom and flip screen Bad about it: Shakes alot

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dantethereview
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't expect too much
5/16/2012

Customer review by luftwolf

3.0 stars 5/16/2012 by luftwolf
by luftwolf

I think I was expecting too much when buying "on-line". The camera is okay for what was spent but it is quite small, which adds to the "shakyness" of the picture. The CMOS sensor is great and it does turn cheap lens photography into at least balanced and generally focused clips. I think this camera will find it's way as a 'facebook" clip rig. Palm sized cameras are just not meant to use 52x optical focal length work.

Was this review helpful? (5) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
luftwolf
Okc, Ok.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Technology for the Price!
9/8/2012

Customer review by LKCEDITORMARYT

4.0 stars 9/8/2012 by LKCEDITORMARYT
by LKCEDITORMARYT

This was an impulse buy. I was in Walmart to purchase more mini VHCs for the Canon Elura 70 I puchased for a trip to Walt Disney World in 2004. To my horror I later learned that the Canon only records photos onto the SDHC card and all videos record only onto cassettes. This was not a problem at the time but now it's a hassle to buy the cassettes and no non-commercial way to transfer each to a medium others can use. When I saw this camera in the store for $159 and found that it records right onto a media card, I was sold. I need the camera primarily to conduct interviews so I mostly use it mounted on a tripod. It takes patience to learn how to operate this camcorder and I agree with those that say the sound is on the weak side and the zoom is a bit fickle but still does the job. I'm still getting oriented but so far, I love the compactness and many useful features. I love being able to bring home the media card, insert it into my computer and make DVDs instantly! Great technology!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LKCEDITORMARYT
Conifer, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good Product
7/19/2012

Customer review by Cdyana

4.0 stars 7/19/2012 by Cdyana
by Cdyana

Overall it's a good product. A little tricky to use at first as there's a lot to it so you have to learn where everything is under th menus. The only thing I don't care for is the button, for cycling through the menu, can sometime be a little tricky to navigate.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cdyana
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Light camera
12/19/2012

Customer review by More4Nana

3.0 stars 12/19/2012 by More4Nana
by More4Nana

This camcorder is light and fairly easy to use. The battery doesn't last very long though. I had to finish recording my daughters wedding from my cell phone because the battery went dead. That is the only down side I have found on this item.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
More4Nana
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to use and it works excellent
10/22/2012

Customer review by VeveG

5.0 stars 10/22/2012 by VeveG
by VeveG

Hi, I´m glad with my Samsung F80 Camcorder, it´s easy to use and it works excellent not only on video but also in photos. I recommend this camera for all your family.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VeveG
Guatemala City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Samsung video Cam
12/24/2012

Customer review by Doug53

4.0 stars 12/24/2012 by Doug53
by Doug53

Apears to be ok. We have not used it yet but charged it up for Christmass. The price was right for what it is.

Was this review helpful? (0) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Doug53
Lochbuie Colo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
ONE OF THE BEST CAMCORDERS I HAVE GOTTEN
2/7/2013

Customer review by julian4

5.0 stars 2/7/2013 by julian4
by julian4

it does the job battery has a good one hour and a half records hd and no problems simple to use connect it to your computer and downloads video quickly good zoom small has lens cover takes good pictures for a camcorder charger included quickly charges in about 1 or 2 hours and shows orange light when charging and green when done perfect if your not asking for much difficult things.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
julian4
Plano,IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great camcorder
5/11/2012

Customer review by SOCIOPAPI

5.0 stars 5/11/2012 by SOCIOPAPI
by SOCIOPAPI

great camcorder with lots of features and real good quality picture and product

SOCIOPAPI
BROWNSVILLE, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Beginner
The product has a very good price
7/28/2012

Customer review by luvtovideo

5.0 stars 7/28/2012 by luvtovideo
by luvtovideo

Bought this mainly to video sports events that grandsons play in so far it has done an excellent job

luvtovideo
Monticello, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great combination of features while affordable
6/24/2012

Customer review by Peponfree

5.0 stars 6/24/2012 by Peponfree
by Peponfree

Love the Samsung products, the optical is superb... from monitors to tablets to camcords.

Peponfree
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 47 total reviews
1-20 of 47 reviews