Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 42 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

42 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

42 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
18
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 stars
7
1-20 of 30 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 30 total reviews
1-20 of 30 reviews
42" LED HL42XLE2a version ROCKS!
4/19/2012

Customer review by nogeekneeded

4.0 stars 4/19/2012 by nogeekneeded
by nogeekneeded

I am an older college educated gentleman & it never ceases to "amaze" me how many bogus reviews (most likely competitors) are posted on websites. I bought the Haier HL42XLE2a off from walmart.com and I am totally satisfied with it! At first I was leary of Haier til I did some online research on several websites, not just one or two. I paid $379.98 for it & its picture quality rivals your major brands costing almost 2-3 times as much. Sure the sound is bad, but I knew it before I made the purchase, FYI most of your new tvs have poor sound. It has vibrant color and inputs for just about anything you wish to connect to it. The remote is well laid out & does not have that cheap look to it. I WAS going to buy an Element tv, BUT after experiencing their poor customer service first hand & reading a multitude of bad reviews from several websites I purchased Haier instead. Here is some valuable advice: Before buying anything online surf to as many websites as possible researching ALL reviews on a product.

Was this review helpful? (50) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nogeekneeded
Midwest, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
Overall outstanding for price
5/5/2012

Customer review by Techieshopper2

5.0 stars 5/5/2012 by Techieshopper2
by Techieshopper2

To keep this simple for the non eggheads, this product met my expectations and the price point is very low for the size, LED edge lit, 1080p, 120 hz. PICTURE QUALITY, Picture is about as good as it can get with a basic cable hookup, the HD TV signal looks amazing with HD cable service and also on BD. There is no jitter or pixelation on fast video (live racing etc). COMPUTER USE, (1080P via HDMI) I do have 2 of them for use as a dual monitor set up. (yes I'm a comp geek too) Excellent for FPS and MMPORG gaming. Did notice the need to reset overscan to off after each power up. (odd it doesn't save that, possibly a firmware fix needed) FUNCTION, the basic included functions and settings controls are on par. color tuning is available if you feel it is out of what you are used to or prefer finer tuning. CONNECTIONS, 3 HDMI and the usual. There are plenty of connections for Blue-ray, HD SAT or Cable. APPS, there are none. Hook up an old computer and can do so much more. SOUND....get a sound bar or sound system for all flat panels. It is common sense now.

Was this review helpful? (44) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Techieshopper2
Green Bay, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/23/2012

Customer review by churchgoer66

5.0 stars 5/23/2012 by churchgoer66
by churchgoer66

My rear projection Sony died so I went in to buy a 46 inch HD. Was looking at the Samsung when we saw this one. I was a bit leary due to a few of the bad ratings, but some of them were just people failing to read instructions. Picture is good quality. It was easy to set up, multiple HDMI connections for Cable box, PS3, etc. Easy to get out of the box, and set up. Sound leaves a little to be desired but after messing with it for a few minutes its decent

Was this review helpful? (32) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
churchgoer66
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great TV really Slim
4/19/2012

Customer review by WarmStar

5.0 stars 4/19/2012 by WarmStar
by WarmStar

I am not sure why this TV got bad reviews so far. i really love it, the picture quality is amazing and the sound is incredible for such an inexpensive TV. I would highly recommend this, great features, beautiful picture and fabolous price.

Was this review helpful? (35) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WarmStar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
AWESOME DEAL FOR THE MONEY
7/14/2012

Customer review by Meg59

4.0 stars 7/14/2012 by Meg59
by Meg59

Gorgeous clear, crisp picture! Nice looking and great energy saver as well. Sound slighty disappointing but does not dimish from the overall performance of this t.v. Certainly worthy of purchase; especially for such an exceptional price! mp

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Meg59
Hyde Park, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/18/2012

Customer review by TiaraK

5.0 stars 5/18/2012 by TiaraK
by TiaraK

Clear picture, color seems awesome from black to white, cool-bluish/warm-redish/normal option, options for to tweak your own setting, Energy star tag says $19/year normal cost which is extremely low due to LED, It gets the job done.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TiaraK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good picture but lousy sound
4/17/2012

Customer review by GeoManReviews

3.0 stars 4/17/2012 by GeoManReviews
by GeoManReviews

I probably would have returned this Haier had I not had a theater sound system at my home. Without the system, it sounds like an old radio - extremely poor quality. Although the the picture quality on Blu-Ray and FIOS HD is very good. I haven't had any picture issues as what was reported in other reviews. So the bottom line - if the price attracts you, better budget for a good sound system.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GeoManReviews
Newark, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome picture!!!
6/17/2012

Customer review by pencilman2010

4.0 stars 6/17/2012 by pencilman2010
by pencilman2010

Has basic features. No PiP or any RCA jacks on opposite side or middle back in case your setup (like mine) is on the other side. You mostly have to put it on (cinema view) to see full screen and that cuts some of the TOP off.. like the heads. I am NOT putting down this TV by any means, it is a GREAT TV!!! Very bright screen because of the LED back lit, that is why I paid a few more $$ for the LED back lit instead of the plain LCD. Easy to put on the stand too!! Awesome picture!!! I don't have TV service so mine is hooked up to my computer (dual pci ex card)and by HDMI cable and regular over the air antenna. Just extend display to your PC monitor and just drag it to the big screen TV. Mark the puter geek

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pencilman2010
jackson,al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
3/9/2013

Customer review by jppenn

4.0 stars 3/9/2013 by jppenn
by jppenn

I have owned the 46" Haier LED for about 6 months now. I have had no problems whatsoever and am very satisfied with this product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jppenn
OKC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Decent TV
7/8/2012

Customer review by arethereanynamesnottaken1

4.0 stars 7/8/2012 by arethereanynamesnottaken1
by arethereanynamesnottaken1

The sound is horrible, but I was able to get a sound bar and it sounds fine now. The picture is great, and the size is just what I was looking forward to. I love how thin the TV is as well.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
arethereanynamesnottaken1
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
very good value
6/22/2012

Customer review by olddude63

5.0 stars 6/22/2012 by olddude63
by olddude63

Great picture, controls easy to use, and good price

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
olddude63
forney, texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great for the price
4/15/2013

Customer review by mmozd

3.0 stars 4/15/2013 by mmozd
by mmozd

The sound is horrible, but the picture is great.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mmozd
denver, co
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Don't waste your time
6/14/2012

Customer review by saintsfaninmarianna

1.0 stars 6/14/2012 by saintsfaninmarianna
by saintsfaninmarianna

I was extremely excited about finding this Haier TV online for less than $500 and the larger screen size. The size is great and the tv is easy to set up, there is however not digital optical cable hook up on the back of the TV so if you want to add a sound bar or surround sound you will have to do so with an HDMI cable which you will then loose one of your HDMI slots for improving the sound. Next and the most bothersome about this Haier TV is that the picture quality is aweful by any standards. When views dark objects on screen you have what I would call a ghosting effect of both green and red colors. I was watching a soccer match on ESPN 2 in full HD and noticed immediately that there was motion blur and inconsitant colors within the screen. I have a 50" Samsung Plasma tv in my living room and there is no comparison in picture quality. I did calibrate the TV according to display mate so I have the truest picture quality possible with the Haier tv. I am returning my unit to my local wal-mart store today and not sure what model brand tv I am going to go with.

Was this review helpful? (10) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
saintsfaninmarianna
Marianna, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Decent tv but comes at a price
6/25/2012

Customer review by coolguyside

3.0 stars 6/25/2012 by coolguyside
by coolguyside

replaced my old lcd 32'' tv 720p with this one. cons first - the sound is awful but just get anything that plugs into an aux cable. - watching time warner HD cable in 1080i will only display full resolution of the screen in zoom mode wide, basically tv must be in wide mode if you wish for picture to fill out the whole screen, which i guess is normal for other tvs. - haier customer support s awful. called 4 times and 3 times got a voicemail robot and the 1 time i had to be transferred 3 times before i talked to the right people. - flimsy stand, feels very breakable, non-adjustable, but does its job. not like my other samsung led tv. - hdmi inputs are put very closely together so if your hdmi cable has a wide input it might not fit in you use all 3. - during really dark scenes in movies, tv, blu ray, the black colors looks pixelated. - remote control can control other electronics next to the tv...for example it increased the time on my fan's timer haha pros - thin, but not thinner than samsung's led tv line - good price - easy installation, simplistic menu - decent picture quality for the price overall i would recommend this tv for the price. obviously if you're looking for an exceptional tv toshiba, sony and samsung offer the best quality. this is like the hyundai brand in terms of luxury when compared to competitors such as bmw, mb, audi. you really get what you pay for and don't expect haier to help you out very much when you call. we have 2 samsungs and 1 toshiba tv at my house and this has to be on the lower end of the tv echelon, i just use this in my "man cave". walmart shipped it very quickly.

Was this review helpful? (3) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
coolguyside
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Do not buy this tv..
8/28/2012

Customer review by whatadealoo7

1.0 stars 8/28/2012 by whatadealoo7
by whatadealoo7

This was my first flat screen tv. I wanted to see the olympics on big screen. It shuts itself off every twenty minutes or so. Picture quality is horrible. I called the company and they did not mention that this particular model has a problem with the power supply. At first it would work for an hour and then turn itself off, then after an hour break may it work for twenty more minutes or so. What a nightmare!Had to return it after a week or so. By the way I usually never give bad reviews. Please do not buy this tv. Spend a little more money and get a better one.

Was this review helpful? (1) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
whatadealoo7
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
You Get What You Pay For!
4/13/2012

Customer review by Sshazz

1.0 stars 4/13/2012 by Sshazz
by Sshazz

I took a chance for the first time on a Haier brand and will never buy another. The display was inconsistent from channel to channel - the picture quality at times would jitter and stall! This is not worth the money. The sound quality is terrible and I could have purchased a soundbar, but I did not want to add to the expense. Sorry to say, this is going back!

Was this review helpful? (10) (39)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sshazz
Madison, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Horrible
6/28/2012

Customer review by FamuRN

1.0 stars 6/28/2012 by FamuRN
by FamuRN

Very short and to the point, the TV did not turn on longer than 2 seconds. It showed a setup screen then it disappeared....I tried everything but still the same results. Don't waste your money!

Was this review helpful? (2) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FamuRN
Tampa, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Bad Quality
4/13/2012

Customer review by BingC

1.0 stars 4/13/2012 by BingC
by BingC

Cheap, but poor quality. I simply return it right away.

Was this review helpful? (3) (38)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BingC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great TV and Picture quality for the price!
4/19/2013

Customer review by HiTechGal

5.0 stars 4/19/2013 by HiTechGal
by HiTechGal

This TV's picture quality is MUCH better than I expected. I haven't even used the HDMI cord yet, and movies look really great, very clear. The only thing I've noticed is the sound is not very loud, and more like the sound you would get from an alarm clock radio. (which is okay with me because I'm hooking it up to surround sound). If you find this on sale like I did, for under 400 bucks, it's definately something worth buying. Shipping time to the actual store was a little lengthy (about a week and half) but worth the wait.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HiTechGal
Greenville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fnatastic in every way
4/24/2013

Customer review by SLEEK

5.0 stars 4/24/2013 by SLEEK
by SLEEK

The color is great, the sound is good and the overall ease of operation is excellent.

SLEEK
Shaker Heights, OH, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Usage frequency:Daily
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 30 total reviews
1-20 of 30 reviews