Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 53 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

53 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

53 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

77%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
31
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 stars
6
1-20 of 45 total reviews
77%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews
7/4/2012

Customer review by Rondingo

5.0 stars 7/4/2012 by Rondingo
by Rondingo

The Nikon L810 takes wonderful photos and the video option is really easy to use after you play with it for awhile. The zoom is nice and the screen is sharp even in bright sunlight. We really like this camera.

Was this review helpful? (54) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rondingo
Augusta, Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not A Big Step Up
8/12/2012

Customer review by BrownsInRI

3.0 stars 8/12/2012 by BrownsInRI
by BrownsInRI

Purchased this camera based on some of the reviews I saw on here. What I found was an excellent zoom, slow auto focus (sometimes wouldnt even auto focus), dull colors, excellent close ups (when it would focus properly. Focus was so slow that I am not even sure if I could use this for anything other than portraits or anything NOT moving. Tried taking photos of water skiiers and jetskiiers and couldnt get the focus to go quick enough to get a nonblurry photo. Even my "still" subjects had an odd blur to them. Anything over 400iso would lead to blurry photos. I wasnt expecting $2,000 dslr quality but I was hoping for an upgrade from my Fujifilm s1000 10.0MP 12X zoom which by the way is still a great camera but has no HD video. The video was constantly autofocusing improperly with the video as well. All in all I got a camera comparable to my "older" Fuji with a better zoom but my fuji focuses better and takes better photos. With this being a supposed "point and shoot" the auto settings didnt do a very good job. It is still a decent camera for its price point but dont plan on using it at a sporting event or for any fast subjects unless you can get them to stop for a picture.

Was this review helpful? (32) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BrownsInRI
Rhode Island
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Ok, but not better than a regular point-and-shoot
10/26/2012

Customer review by VT333

4.0 stars 10/26/2012 by VT333
by VT333

I bought three cameras, including this one, plus had two of my own, put them all in a box and took about 50 pictures with each, one by one, of the same scene in different lighting conditions. Then downloaded the pictures and compared on a large computer screen. This Nikon was good, though the video quality was poor, very dark for some reason. This was was much better than cheaper Canon and Nikon models (the ones sold for $100-120), but I got comparable or even sometimes better quality from Nikon S6300 (sold around $150). That one is much smaller, but gives me the same pictures, or better, plus is 40 dollars less - so I figured why carry around such a big machine. Also, focus was a problem on this one. Often, especially on full zoom, the camera wound't focus, just keeps zooming back and forth and eventually stops with picture completely out of focus. Very annoying. So not bad at all, defiantly better than most, but not the best deal for the money and size. My hope that the larger size and bigger lens would pay off was not supported. Buy a smaller (but not the cheapest) Nikon from the S-series to get same or better pictures, better focus, smaller size, and somewhat lower price.

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VT333
Greensboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
love it. perfect for the beginner
6/11/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/11/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Easy to use i am looking forward to beautiful pictures for years to come very satisfied!

Was this review helpful? (35) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
louisville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Best Camera Ever!! :)
8/9/2012

Customer review by AngMo

5.0 stars 8/9/2012 by AngMo
by AngMo

I love this camera! I got this camera because my family was going on a trip and the pictures turned out amazing! It can zoom in really far and take outstanding pictures!

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AngMo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent
6/19/2012

Customer review by BaltimoreBob

5.0 stars 6/19/2012 by BaltimoreBob
by BaltimoreBob

I have been using this foe my grandsons T-Ball games and it has worked perfectly. I also bought one for my daughter.

Was this review helpful? (16) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BaltimoreBob
Shelby, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
When it focuses, it is very good!
11/8/2012

Customer review by RRRambler

4.0 stars 11/8/2012 by RRRambler
by RRRambler

Have had this camera for 2 months. I bought it for multi-use including copying old record books for a genealogy society--wanted something with 16 mp that I could put on a tripod and snap photos as I turned pages and get quite high resolution even of large pages. It works OK for that. The camera is a little slow to snap a photo as it seems somewhat undecided on focusing and sometimes gets pretty confused. As a test, I took many nature photos with the full 26x zoom, holding it by hand and seeing what it could do. About half of the photos come out OK--between focus confusion and holding it by hand where shaking is very noticeable at high zoom I was pleasantly surprised how good the good photos did turn out. Again, probably half were out of focus. At 26x zoom I probably should have it on a tripod. You can see some of my max zoom photos at http://riverroadrambler.blogspot.com/2012/10/cabin-wildliferou.html I bought an ac adapter, a cable to go to hdmi output, and a 16 gb SD card and run the camera in maximum jpg picture resolution giving me 7 mb photos giving me almost 2000 photos per card. I have the cable to connect the camera directly to a pc to download which works OK and is reasonably fast. I haven't tried hdmi output yet. I don't know about battery life as I mostly have used it with the ac cable for copying. If you remember to press down the shutter button 1/2 way and let the focus set, then photos are more likely to be in focus. Regular photos at lower zooms are quite good. I chose this over a digital single lens reflex having heard that the extra mechanism in SLR will wear out sooner -- and as I have already taken several 1000 copy photos and plan to do 100s of thousands of them in the future I wanted something that didn't have much moving parts to wear out. I like the two different places where I can push the zoom -- top and on lens. I like the thumb pad on the top back to rest my thumb. I don' t like the zoom at close ranges. When I set it in closeup mode to go into copying and let the automatic process happen, it zooms it too close. I have to use the zoom out to get the frame I want--and it is too coarse. It does not seem to zoom continuously, but goes it sort of steps that always seem to be a little too much or too little. And of course, there are endless settings and setups that can be played with. I find the automatic pretty good for everything normal and use the close up for copying. In taking a few thousand copies, I have not had any that were out of focus or that I had problems with. I would have been satisfied without the zoom, but with the camera I am becoming a budding wild life photographer--that 26x zoom is pretty amazing even if it seems to have a mind of its own sometimes. Generally I think that for $229 it is a pretty decent camera. It could stand to be programmed to make up its mind on focusing more quickly and have a smoother zooming process, but as I say about my wife, you get used to the problems and pretty soon they seem like endearing traits!

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RRRambler
Pine Island, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Takes very sharp pictures.
10/7/2012

Customer review by Radioman67

5.0 stars 10/7/2012 by Radioman67
by Radioman67

This camera takes sharper pictures than a Canon SX20-IS that I paid $389 for. I love it. It is very hard on batteries though. I had to buy some 2600mah batteries so I didn't have to change them out all the time.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Radioman67
Boise, Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Inexpensive perfection
10/30/2012

Customer review by Ctar88

5.0 stars 10/30/2012 by Ctar88
by Ctar88

I absolutely adore this camera. It is unbelievably easy to use and takes professional quality pictures inside and out. Could not be happier with this product! Before purchasing this camera I tried many cameras ranging from $500.00 up to $1500.00. The higher priced cameras had higher zoom, and changeable lenses, however, they were much more complicated and the picture quality wasn't any different than the pictures from this Camera. I wouldn't trade my camera for ANY other camera!

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ctar88
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Great starter camera.
8/4/2012

Customer review by germanshorthair

5.0 stars 8/4/2012 by germanshorthair
by germanshorthair

We have been very pleased with our new camera. My son and husband have a Game Bird business. The camera zooms in really well on their dogs working the birds. Extremely clear pictures. Very satisified.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
germanshorthair
Oakland, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
8/26/2012

Customer review by Alan111

5.0 stars 8/26/2012 by Alan111
by Alan111

Very good for most picture taking, although slow to fire on action shots at night or in low light. Outstanding video quality! The photo editing software is very good. It grabs the images and loads from the SD card to computer very well. I did not want to spend over $200 and I wanted good quality too. This does exactly that for me.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Alan111
Northern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Super for the price
10/13/2012

Customer review by PTLprez

5.0 stars 10/13/2012 by PTLprez
by PTLprez

My son's school needed a camera. I really didn't know too much about buying a camera, but wanted one that would take great pictures for year book and historical purposes for the school. I did a little research and then saw this one. It was hard to find one in stock. I finally found one about 20 miles from the school. The day we picked it up, my 13 year old had it out and taking pictures with it in about 10 minutes. Very easy to use. We used it to take pictures at one of our yearly major fund raisers. The pictures were absolutely beautiful. The staff at the school were very pleased with the camera and the warranty, and we were in budget.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PTLprez
Oklahoma City, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
7/27/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/27/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

A great camera at a good price that takes exceptionally great, clear photos. Love it.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Scotia, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Love my new Nikon!!
8/12/2012

Customer review by Brandie28

5.0 stars 8/12/2012 by Brandie28
by Brandie28

Great Price and Great Camera!! I love how crisp the pictures are. This camera is great for sporting events, kids school activities, pictures of nature, family gatherings. I am loving it and I may have to invest in many more memory cards! I love especially love the zoom and the different settings for indoor/ outdoor/ nighttime because you can still get really good pictures from far away and in just about any weather or light condition. I would definitely recommend this product to my friends and family!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Brandie28
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great camera for the money
11/14/2012

Customer review by RangerPhil

4.0 stars 11/14/2012 by RangerPhil
by RangerPhil

Excellent camera for general use. The video function is a big improvement over my last camera. I especially like the zoom lens for capturing wildlife at a distance and for shooting distant landscapes. The only drawback is the lag time in making a shot, but this is a problem with most digital cameras.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RangerPhil
Arden, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disappointment
9/21/2012

Customer review by CashOfficeChica

2.0 stars 9/21/2012 by CashOfficeChica
by CashOfficeChica

I bought this camera (in-store) for a trip to Europe, figured I would upgrade from my 5 year-old Kodak $99 camera, and didn't want to take a more expensive DSLR on the trip. Well, the Kodak would have been a better choice. All the features on this camera were not easy to use out of the box or even after reading the manual, you have to commit the extra time and effort to watch the enclosed instruction disk. Even after that, I was really unhappy with the picture quality. Even comparing similar photos that other people on the trip took, it's this camera. Unfortunately I purchased it 3 days before my trip and by the time I got back to the US, it was past the 15 day return policy. Oh, to add insult to injury, I paid $279 for the camera (at the beginning of August) and it's now $80 cheaper.

Was this review helpful? (8) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CashOfficeChica
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love it!
8/29/2012

Customer review by jp871028

5.0 stars 8/29/2012 by jp871028
by jp871028

This camera makes life a lot easier. I've never owned a high-dollar camera, so I don't how this one would compare to a professional's camera, but it is a huge step up from the last one I had. I think it's very easy to use and the zoom is awesome!

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jp871028
North Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Nice camera
9/17/2012

Customer review by cavalrysoldier

5.0 stars 9/17/2012 by cavalrysoldier
by cavalrysoldier

Trouble focusing sometimes. Battery life is great... lasts a long time on 4 AA batteries. Pictures are ultra sharp. Very nice camera... and... it's a Nikon! Buy it!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cavalrysoldier
Mebane, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very disappointed
11/27/2012

Customer review by LMT2012

1.0 stars 11/27/2012 by LMT2012
by LMT2012

My husband and I bought this camera because we had heard so many good things about Nikon. Well this camera was terrible. It took forever to focus and by the time you finally got it to take the picture the moment you were trying to capture was long gone. We will be exploring a different brand now.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LMT2012
Cullman, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Disapointed
10/19/2012

Customer review by proudmommyof04

1.0 stars 10/19/2012 by proudmommyof04
by proudmommyof04

I was very disapointed with this camera by far the worse Nikon that I have owned. All the pictures were blurry and it never seemed to focus. I had the older version of this camera until it was stolen out of my car on my birthday and it took wonderful pictures that were never blurry. I took it back and exchanged thinking I may have got a dud but I still had the same issues so I took it back and go a refund.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
proudmommyof04
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews