Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 34 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

34 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

34 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
25
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
1-20 of 31 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 31 total reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews
Fabulous with reservation
7/7/2012

Customer review by married5

5.0 stars 7/7/2012 by married5
by married5

Lugging around a DSLR with a long telephoto lens can be very tiring but I like to have a camera with me every time I go out. I bought one of these P510s a few weeks ago when they were first introduced. I didn't really know what to expect. It sounds great on paper but was the blurb too good to be true? I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised. My first few shots of greenfinches at my back garden bird feeder were superb - and they were hand held. I couldn't hand-hold my DSLR with a 500mm lens like that. It needs a monopod or tripod. The P510 is very easy to use and has most of the features of my Nikon DSLRs. The only slight drawback is that the speed of focusing is slower than my DSLR and telephoto. Fine if the subject is sitting still but not so good if it is moving. It won't replace my DSLR completely but as a 'second camera' to have with me all the time, it is excellent.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
married5
Chicago IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Best all-around camera there is
8/13/2012

Customer review by Aardvark46

5.0 stars 8/13/2012 by Aardvark46
by Aardvark46

This camera has something for everybody. It allows an amateur to simply set it at automatic and let it take excellent photos, but it also provides a tremendous number of optional manual settings for the advanced amateur and professional. The menus are fairly simple and obvious, and if you aren't sure what is the best choice, you can let the camera decide. The camera allows various density settings, from VGA to 16 megapixels, and videos can be recorded in several different formats and definition. The zoom lens is terrific, but it does take a moment to autofocus at maximum zoom. On the other hand, if you are shooting at 42X, the subject is probably far enough away that you can set the focus manually at infinity and bypass the autofocus. The camera allows you to take various special effect photos, and add these and other effects to photos already taken while they are still in the camera. The instruction manual, available as an on-line download or using the CD-ROM included with the camera, is lengthy and complex, and is probably the only down-side to the camera. It doesn't make it immediately clear what processes are automatic, and how they interact, as opposed to the manual settings that only someone with a lot of background in old film SLRs would recognize. But if you study the manual and experiment with the camera, you'll soon learn what you need to know. I have two older, smaller Nikon Coolpix cameras, so the basic functions were familiar to me, but even for a novice all the buttons and dials are well marked and fairly intuitive. This is a really terrific camera, and frankly I can't see why anyone other than a full-time professional photographer would need anything else.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Aardvark46
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nikon COOLPIX P510
5/8/2012

Customer review by gunadvocate79

5.0 stars 5/8/2012 by gunadvocate79
by gunadvocate79

This is a fantastic camera. The 42x zoom is awesome. Practically erases the need for a digital zoom, which destroys picture quality anyway. Has great scene modes and it's nice to be able to control the fstop and shutter speeds like an DSLR. This camera is worth every penny. Only con is the size, but it's not a deal breaker.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gunadvocate79
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
I love this Nikon COOLPIX P510
7/15/2012

Customer review by Sumatzoo

5.0 stars 7/15/2012 by Sumatzoo
by Sumatzoo

I waited for this Camera for weeks. Nobody had the RED in stock. Then Walmart online did and the process went real fast. I never would of thought it would arrive at my door in 48 hours. Very Pleased and the Quality is AWESOME. I took a picture of the moon and this camera picks up the craters. LOVE IT

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sumatzoo
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love it!
7/2/2012

Customer review by Paso7

5.0 stars 7/2/2012 by Paso7
by Paso7

I love this camera. It is really sharp looking. Faster than I thought it would be, and the pictures come out great. Battery life wasn't that great, I will have an extra battery on hand next time. However, it is rechargeable. The zoom is fantastic! Would definitely recommend!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Paso7
Paso Robles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Camera with a lot of promise, but falls short.
6/23/2012

Customer review by Ronaka

2.0 stars 6/23/2012 by Ronaka
by Ronaka

Camera has a dazzling zoom and features, but image quality is poor and not much better than my old Kodak point-and-shoot. Specifically, every pic no matter the parameters came out 'soft' , which is a nice way to say they were not sharp; softness is an attempt to mask imperfections. However, with the included ViewNX software, sharpness could be adjusted to acceptable levels, so the camera is capable of taking sharp pics, but it is designed not to. So why doesn't it? I contacted Nikon Customer Service #which was excellent, by the way#, but the bottom line was that sharpness "is a matter of perspective." Part of the problem is that it has a small sensor. GPS almost totally worthless, even in clear weather and with no obstructions. Maybe tagged the pic one out of 40 times. I ended up returning the camera. Walmart made the return easy, so thumbs up to them. This camera is FUN to use for sure, and may be worth it to some (young people and beginners) and I hated to give up on it, but the dull pics drove me crazy. Zoom even at max level, on the other hand, actually was fairly good -- image stabilization worked well. I'm now looking to get a Sony Nex5N.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ronaka
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/14/2012

Customer review by bvrtal

4.0 stars 8/14/2012 by bvrtal
by bvrtal

Instructions could be a little more informative. The sport setting blurs the picture some times, like not fast enough shutter speed. Does'nt shoot in RAW

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bvrtal
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GOOD BRIDGE CAMERA
9/12/2012

Customer review by IWasJustsaying

5.0 stars 9/12/2012 by IWasJustsaying
by IWasJustsaying

This is a good "bridge" camera, a step up from a little pocket digital, but not quite a full SLR. Optical Zoom Lens is outstanding. Easy to understand camera settings after playing with the camera a couple of times. In video mode, picks up some motor noise from the camera. Only could be better if it accepted a remote shutter release. In the red it is a beautiful camera and I have received many comments from people about how attractive it is. For my needs it is close to perfect.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IWasJustsaying
Houston Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
I found the zoom to be amazing.
12/9/2012

Customer review by Pikisona

5.0 stars 12/9/2012 by Pikisona
by Pikisona

I bought both the Nikon COOLPIX P510 and the Canon T3 with a 18-55 and 75-300 zoom lens so I could compare both before buying one. The Canon is just like the film Canon Rebel I owned 10 years ago, so I kind of knew my way around it. The Nikon was all new to me however I found the controls to be right where I felt they should be, very intuitive. The Nikon is light and easily manageable, even with the zoom fully extended. No need for a tripod, no extra lens to carry around. Even shooting rock formations a mile away I was able to get clear beautiful photos with awesome detail. The Canon has all the features you could want (except a huge 16.1 megapixel CMOS), but I don't need or want that much camera and 2 lenses to lug around when everything I need is built into the Nikon COOLPIX P510.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pikisona
Sedona, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This camera exceeded my expectations
12/11/2012

Customer review by CiaraZ

5.0 stars 12/11/2012 by CiaraZ
by CiaraZ

It is my first time owning a Nikon and I truly regret not having bought one before. It takes excellent pictures, even in low light. I just took my son to see Santa at Macy's in NYC where the whole set up is pretty dark. The quality of the pictures was amazing. It capture the lights, the dark areas and all the bright colors. I did not waste any pictures and shot all of them on Auto mode because I haven't had time to review the manual yet. The person in front of me asked me to take pics with her camera and she was having trouble getting a good picture. She returned the favor by taking a couple of pics of us with my camera and told me "wow, this camera is great" Also, my son loves to jump on the bed and on the couch. For the first time ever, I have been able to capture him on picture while he is in the air (again, only on the Auto mode) and the pictures are so good that it looks like he is frozen in the air, waiting for me to take a pic. Definitely a very good buy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CiaraZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/9/2012

Customer review by Dawn72

5.0 stars 7/9/2012 by Dawn72
by Dawn72

This camera is awesome. Just got back from Outer Banks and I have amazing pictures. Beautiful sunset pics, full moon glistening off the ocean, firework pictures and just general pics of my boyfriend and I. Love it! Glad I chose this camera. Far exceeded my expectations. Zoom is incredible!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dawn72
Flatwoods, ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Amazing!!!!
8/20/2012

Customer review by trikerbabe08

5.0 stars 8/20/2012 by trikerbabe08
by trikerbabe08

This is the most amazing camera I have ever used. We tried several Walmart stores looking for it, but every one of them was out of the camera. The department managers told us that it had been a HUGE seller and they couldn't keep them. I also got it WAY sooner than was estimated, but it seems that anything I order from Walmart is this way. Thanks for being so efficient!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
trikerbabe08
Russellville, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
8/21/2012

Customer review by ArizonaEppi

5.0 stars 8/21/2012 by ArizonaEppi
by ArizonaEppi

Outstanding camera, perfect for shooting web pics.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ArizonaEppi
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Beware of packaging
12/15/2012

Customer review by KimYukon

1.0 stars 12/15/2012 by KimYukon
by KimYukon

I actually haven't tried the camera yet, but wanted to express my disappointment in the way it was packaged. The camera was in it's own box put into a bigger box with ONE piece of paper to cushion it. The camera obviously was shaken all over in that bigger box. Terrible way to pack a delicate item. I hope it works when I open it Christmas morning. Knowing how it was to be packed, I would not have bought it from this website. Probably won't ever again.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KimYukon
Yukon, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent camera/great feel/red color is awesome
10/25/2012

Customer review by BabsCA

5.0 stars 10/25/2012 by BabsCA
by BabsCA

Excellent camera for bridging from simple point/shoot towards full DSLR. The zoom is powerful. Saw this model in both black and red online. Only black in the store, so I ordered from walmart.com. I love the color. Design feels good in my hands for holding to take photos. Still learning the options and functions, but was quickly able to start shooting pics the afternoon I received in the mail (less than 5 days from ordering).

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BabsCA
Canandaigua, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Camera!!
2/3/2013

Customer review by Juanderful

5.0 stars 2/3/2013 by Juanderful
by Juanderful

Fantastic value no need for different lenses and very compact awesome photos!! And It's A Nikon!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Juanderful
Cape Coral
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great camera
11/29/2012

Customer review by idlespurs

5.0 stars 11/29/2012 by idlespurs
by idlespurs

this camera takes beautiful sharp pictures. Only had a couple of weeks and still learning all the bells and whistles but I think Im really going to enjoy it. Only thing I dont like about it is the battery doesnt last long enough

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
idlespurs
Cleveland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/29/2012

Customer review by bgethel

5.0 stars 11/29/2012 by bgethel
by bgethel

great camera easy to use

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bgethel
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Camera
1/3/2013

Customer review by MissTmT

5.0 stars 1/3/2013 by MissTmT
by MissTmT

We bought this camera as a Christmas gift. When it arrived in the mail, I had to open it and take a peek & see what it looked liked before it got wrapped! We had to make sure it was up to our expectations! Let me tell you, it's a beautiful camera. I wanted to keep it for myself. I usually buy Sony cyber shot, not anymore! This camera is not only stylish but so simple to use. The zoom is amazing! My next camera for myself will be a canon cool pix! Extremely pleased with this camera!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MissTmT
Massena, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
i like this camera more every time i use it
9/27/2012

Customer review by metalsteve

5.0 stars 9/27/2012 by metalsteve
by metalsteve

As I learn all the functions and options on this camera, the more I like it. One of my favorite cameras I have ever owned.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
metalsteve
Crestview, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews