Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 205 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

205 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

205 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
171
4 stars
26
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 stars
3
1-20 of 189 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 189 total reviews
1-20 of 189 reviews
Love this camera. Anything I've been looking for.
12/5/2012

Customer review by DoroTX2003

5.0 stars 12/5/2012 by DoroTX2003
by DoroTX2003
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Just to test the Nikon P510 I zoomed in on a green blob on the other side of the deer fence about 120 ft away from the back porch and took a perfect picture of the cactus there. This camera takes wonderful pictures, crisp and vibrant. My husband took a picture of a butterfly 60ft away and you feel like you are right in front of it. Close ups or family pictures are detailed to the point. I love taking pictures of flowers, birds and other animals. Also enjoy landscapes, waterfalls & river. I only have this camera for a little over a week now and have it handy all the time, so I'm able to photograph anything interesting that comes in front of my lens. It is easy to handle, light and comfortable. It comes with everything you need, but would be nice to have it's own bag.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DoroTX2003
Belton, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Its a great camera!
5/23/2012

Customer review by meishell

5.0 stars 5/23/2012 by meishell
by meishell

I love this camera I specially love a feature it has on it where you can do selective colring, and the zoom is great I went to a ballgame and was way up in the nose bleed section and this thig zoomed in made it look like I was sitting really close! I still dont know all the functions but I know I love it!

Was this review helpful? (34) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
meishell
missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best Camera I owned!
12/14/2012

Customer review by barnyardbunnies

5.0 stars 12/14/2012 by barnyardbunnies
by barnyardbunnies

This is a great camera for the money. Best Camera I've yet owned. It has great zoom, and takes such beautiful photos. Tip: To crop the picture, you have to zoom in to the picture you are wanting to crop, then press the Menu button, and then just click yes, and you will have a copy of the cropped picture, and the non cropped picture!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
barnyardbunnies
Kalispell Montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Camera which turns Amateur in to professional
9/30/2012

Customer review by S.UMASHANKAR

5.0 stars 9/30/2012 by S.UMASHANKAR
by S.UMASHANKAR

I am a proud Nikon owner for the past 12 years.I have many cameras and models and was thinking to go for DSLR.After going through several models/makes I finally filtered two one is Nikon D5100 & other is this Nikon P510.According to me the only big difference is the sensor size,but p510 won me with its looks,features and of-course the Zoom.This camera is awesome,easy to carry,able to get distance objects with east.only one problem is the Zooming in video mode,not able to continuosly focus object,as it gets out-of focus while zooming ( but gets in to focus with in seconds ).Great Buy worth it

S.UMASHANKAR
Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu, India
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
AWESOME advanced camera!
1/3/2013

Customer review by suenamee

5.0 stars 1/3/2013 by suenamee
by suenamee

I just LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE my Nikon P510! This is an AWESOME camera! It has some DSLR features on it, like the manual setting, user setting, aperture setting, program setting. However, the one downfall is that I cannot leave my f-stop at 3.0 on the aperture setting. Nikon said there is no way to override it :(. I would LOVE to be able to consistently blur the background. But as an avid photographer who didn't want to upgrade to the DSLR cameras and buy all the lenses yet, this serves me great! Not only does it have a 42x zoom, but as I mentioned, it does have some DSLR capabilities on it. I do have the S8200 also and I love that camera too. But this camera is for my more "serious" photography. Either way, I think you'll enjoy it as much as I do! I wouldn't recommend this for beginners, unless you keep it all on the automatic settings. I'm still toying with all the settings. But oh so fun! :)

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
suenamee
Hastings, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love it!
8/27/2012

Customer review by PhalangeBananaHammock

5.0 stars 8/27/2012 by PhalangeBananaHammock
by PhalangeBananaHammock

I was wanting an update to my digital camera - My sister has a DSLR, but I wasn't quite ready to jump into all the expense of that - The next best thing I found was this little jewel! Love it!! It's easy to use, compact, takes great pictures, etc.... Has some great features and the zoom is amazing! Would recommend it to anyone! Take the time to read the instruction manuel to learn all the cool features -

Was this review helpful? (45) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PhalangeBananaHammock
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
7/10/2012

Customer review by carpix

5.0 stars 7/10/2012 by carpix
by carpix

I don't have any complaints about this camera it does everything I want it to! Great picture quality. Was really impressed with the way it took pics of fireworks on the 4th!

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
carpix
Kirksville, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Exactly the camera I have been searching for!
12/10/2012

Customer review by EverQ

5.0 stars 12/10/2012 by EverQ
by EverQ
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have been contemplating buying a camera for about 5 years. I wanted an SLR, but they are sooo expensive and I was worried that I would be disappointed in their size and having to switch lenses. I like to travel, and I just couldn't imagine myself lugging the big camera and its lenses everywhere. But I wanted the zoom the SLR offered! Then I discovered the Nikon Coolpix P510 with its 42x zoom... and at an awesome cyber Monday price! This camera feels great in your hand... a nice weight to it without being heavy. It's easy to operate. I love the big LCD display and the view finder. I have not yet tried the video or the GPS feature yet, but I'm looking forward to it. I have taken this camera out for two occasions... both inside and outside shots. I've been impressed and happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EverQ
Maple Grove, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wow!!!!
10/31/2012

Customer review by NYC73

4.0 stars 10/31/2012 by NYC73
by NYC73

Ok, where do I start? Let's start with the first thing that caught my attention to buy this thing in the first place,.......ZOOM! I'll make this simple, I was able to read and photograph a license plate from almost 5 blocks away!! From that same distance, I could possibly make out the person driving the car, although that get's just a little shaky. I've read somewhere, that it doesn't take very good shots at full magnification, yes and no. Yes that's true if you don't have enough light, but the picture I took of the plate was earlier today in NYC where there was still a decent amount of wind, but I had good light! Picture quality.... I'm not qualified to really give a good review because this is the first non-point n shoot I've ever owned and I regrettably bolted out of my summer intensive photography class back in '93! lol But I'll tell you this, at 16 megapixels, and with a CMOS sensor, it's hard for any point n shoot to beat and I'm not sure I'll take another picture I truly care about with my iPhone 4S again. Twice the resolution, wider lens to allow more light, a larger sensor, etc, all make for a great shot. Movies are ok, decent, but will never replace a full HD camcorder of decent value, especially since you can hear the motor of the zoom during movie playback!! Not cool! I bought this camera to take pictures, not video, so I'm keeping it. Flash is pretty strong and it has something that helps keep it from overexposing. I'm still learning how to use this thing and the manual (on CD only, boo) is pretty lengthy so I'm sure I will love it even more once I start using all the features. Also, it allows you to take a picture of a picture. What I mean is, let's say you take a wide shot, but after viewing it in playback mode, you decide you want to focus on one particular thing, you just zoom in to where you want, move the picture up, down, left and right as needed, hit the menu button, and select a function (I just forgot what it's called) and it will take another photo of what you have on screen! Cool, just like my iPhone 4S, lol Speaking of screen, it moves people! If you're short like my wife and want to shoot over someone's head like in a concert or parade, you just flip the screen down. If you're tall or just want a lower shot without having to bend your bad cricketty knees, hold the camera as low as comfortable and just flip the screen facing up, that simple. Hmmm, what else, it's light, not too bulky. Has a 10 second and other timers. Used it to take a funny picture with my wife while she slept on the couch. She asked me today, "When did you take that picture?" lol Oh, I bought a Targus 58" tripod. I bought it at Walmart, but as always, shop and compare. I did see some P510's for cheaper on Ebay, and I've never had a problem because I know how to buy, but Walmart always seems to honor it's warranty and then some and I happen to be close to one almost once a week so it just makes sense for my situation. I could go on, as I'm sure you have nothing else better to do than listen to me ramble my newbie views, but no, I will end it here saying, if you're looking for a fantastic camera to take family, vacation, and general outdoor shots, and occasionally snoop on people, lol, this is the camera for you. Adieu

Was this review helpful? (67) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NYC73
Bronx, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Not a bad camera
7/18/2012

Customer review by MountainWolfMan

4.0 stars 7/18/2012 by MountainWolfMan
by MountainWolfMan

I do photojournalism, am the official photographer on a fire department, and take photos for the fun of it. I have owned Nikon SLR film cameras, as well as medium and large format cameras. I recently bought the P510, and am very impressed with some of the features, and quality of photos. I love the zoom, although I am waiting to see how long it goes before the motor no longer works, or the gears strip out. This has been the problem with the last 3 digital P & S cameras. One was a Nikon Coolpix. I hesitated to buy this camera for that very reason. It is loaded with many features used by pros, but falls short in some areas. For example, it doesn't have a bulb shutter speed. There is no connection for an external flash. Even at full power, the onboard flash is not good for distance. I prefer using a side mounted flash unit, and this camera doesn't allow for it. Overall this is a very good camera. I love the GPS feature. I use it often. I am waiting to see how durable it is under the extremely heavy use I give it.

MountainWolfMan
Beauty, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice Compact Camera
12/22/2012

Customer review by BASG10s

4.0 stars 12/22/2012 by BASG10s
by BASG10s
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We bought this camera to take with us on vacation. It gives us the zoom we were looking for without having to change out the lens. The zoom when extended out completely takes a long time to focus, a tripod may help hold the camera steady in order for it to focus. But you can always bring the zoom in and still get a good picture.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BASG10s
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Camera for Non-Pro, Enthusiast
10/16/2012

Customer review by jumpingmaniac

5.0 stars 10/16/2012 by jumpingmaniac
by jumpingmaniac

This is a great camera for the photography enthusiast who's not quite ready to invest in a DSLR and multiple lenses. Perfect for nature photographers, the P510's 42X zoom makes photographing elusive animals ten times easier and also provides many more customization options than a typical point-and-shoot. You'll now have full command of shutter speed and aperture, which is essential when your subject is a running deer, bird, or waterfall. I've taken full advantage of continuous shooting (7 fps, up to 5 images) and have realized what I was missing before by not having an optical/peephole viewfinder. If I had to list this camera's faults, it would be its relatively limited aperture range (F3.0 - F8.4), limited control of focus even while using manual focus mode, and its overall inability to focus on extremely close objects such as insects or flowers. But these are minor when the other features are considered, making the P510 a great value overall.

jumpingmaniac
St Louis, MO, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent portability! See's Saturn!
7/11/2012

Customer review by GMsdnga

5.0 stars 7/11/2012 by GMsdnga
by GMsdnga

I use this camera for reasons that should be done with a DSLR. The zoom helps me get the best picts from a safe distance in a war zone. I use manual settings for most of my shots. I included a picture of Saturn from a dark sky location. I used 1/80 shutter, 7.8 fstop and 1600 ISO on a Manfrotto tripod with a 10 second delay. For a point and shoot to reach out this far, is the reason why I do not have a DSLR and spare zooms. We had a mortor explode close by and the camera fell while attached to the tripod. The tripod 1/4" mount broke off the bottom plastic of the P510, so I epoxied the lower half of the camera back on. I would like to see a few changes in firmware. Allow full 8 sec shutter at any ISO. Add a RAW NEF or JPG choice. Allow digital zoom in Manual mode. Add a bulb function. Allow the screen to dim much more for night astrophotography. Add a finer focus control as the current one moves too course. Finally, make it in Gloss Yellow.

GMsdnga
Afghanistan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this Camera
11/27/2012

Customer review by freeda48

5.0 stars 11/27/2012 by freeda48
by freeda48
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I did a LOT of research into the super zooms and this camera came closest to my needs. I was afraid that if I got this camera that I would find another one that I liked more, but this camera is amazing. I sometimes have difficulty focusing on stuff, but I am still learning how to utilize all the amazing tricks that there are on this camera. It takes a beautiful picture! Can't wait to be proficient with all that this camera has to offer.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
freeda48
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Video function is a pain
5/26/2013

Customer review by ClearFountain

3.0 stars 5/26/2013 by ClearFountain
by ClearFountain
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Although the photo image quality is good and sharp; unfortunately it doesn't work for me because of the lame video function. It is hard to focus, so trying to focus while video taping moving objects almost impossible -- it leads the video from blurry to blurry with a transient sharpness (you can't keep the sharpness because it automatically turns to blurry, that drives you nuts, imaging my feeling during my kid's graduation performance, Grr...). I figured that you have to focus before you record, without refocusing, to make a sharp video. No, no, not for me. One of the main purpose for me is to take pictures/videos of my kids (they are move about a lot). I guess if you take pictures of still objects or scenic views , they are totally fine. I have an old cannon point-and-shot camera, it works well for video taping, always focus, and quick enough, so I am looking for a newer Cannon, maybe a SX50, as long as the image quality is as good as a Nikon.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ClearFountain
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/2/2012

Customer review by Erastus789

5.0 stars 12/2/2012 by Erastus789
by Erastus789

I have the Nikon camera coolpix L810 16 megapixels 26X zoom and it takes great pictures, but this one with the 42X power lens, other special features makes this one a big jump up. I bought mine on Black Friday[ TURKEY DAY]FOR $292.00, Even the price today is a steal. I have recommended this to a lot people. Best small compact camera for the money.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Erastus789
Vernal, Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best Camera I have ever used
12/23/2012

Customer review by Soco54

5.0 stars 12/23/2012 by Soco54
by Soco54

I have been happier with this purchase than any other product that I can remember. I took it to a professional football game and my seats were in the endzone on the 2nd level. I was able to take pictures of fans in the opposite endzone. Wow! When the players were on the far 10 yard line, I was able to zoom in on their faces with helmets on. My original objective was to be able to take pictures of my kids at their school functions. This camera meets and exceeds all my expectations.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Soco54
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great depth and clarity
6/14/2012

Customer review by South Dakota man

5.0 stars 6/14/2012 by South Dakota man
by South Dakota man

I purchased this fantastic Nikon P510 on 6/9/2012. I purchased it while on a trip in Western South Dakota and took approximately 200 photos before fully setting the camera. When I got home and put the photos on my comuter, I was greatly amazed at the clarity and depth perception. Pro's great photographs and the camera was quicker to respond than I percieved since it was such a large zoom. I shot 200 photos and some with flash and also set up the camera and didn't run out of battery. I was pleased of that for a rechargable camera battery. Worked well on a tripod. I purhcased Con's: A lot of controls and settings, will take time to learn to set the camera to apply to best for the sitiations.I was disapointed the self timer is not available in the pet profile scene, but that is a really small issue. I had one time when I could not get the focus to work, and shut the camera off and it worked correctly. This may have just been a operator error too. I believe the camera fac exceeds my expectations already. The link below won't allow me to upload a photo

South Dakota man
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Camera
2/28/2013

Customer review by cherrypie24

5.0 stars 2/28/2013 by cherrypie24
by cherrypie24

My friend recommended this camera to me right before I was leaving on vacation & after I seen pictures she had taken with hers I ran to Walmart & purchased it immediately. It takes beautiful clear photos! We took some video with it also & it did wonderful, in some other reviews it said it was difficult for video but we didn't have any problems what-so-ever they are perfect movies!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cherrypie24
ND
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Well rounded Super-Zoom with great 3D capability
12/7/2012

Customer review by DC Hobbyist

5.0 stars 12/7/2012 by DC Hobbyist
by DC Hobbyist

Many good things has already been said about this excellent camera, I like to share my very satisfied 3D still photo experience using the Nikon P-510. The 3D is both very easy to use and produce excellent real 3D photos, not the pseudo 3D found on some other makes. You take the first shot, line up two images on the LCD, the camera will take the second shot automatically, Nikon did an excellent job designing their 3D method, I have average 95% success rate taking 3D photos. The P-510 can play back 3D photos via a HDMI cable to your 3D TV, the results are just excellent, but if 3D TV is not available, the MPO 3D files from the P-510 can always be converted to Anaglyph format using stereo photo programs from the internet, the Anaglyph files can be viewed on any PC or digital photo frames using the old Red / Green 3D glasses. The 3D function is best be used on stationary objects, it still works if the scene contains some moving objects, as long as the moving objects takes up only a small protion of the pictire. Hope you will enjoy this very interesting feature.

DC Hobbyist
Toronto, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 189 total reviews
1-20 of 189 reviews