Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 205 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

205 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

205 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
171
4 stars
26
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 stars
3
1-20 of 189 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 189 total reviews
1-20 of 189 reviews
Wow!!!!
10/31/2012

Customer review by NYC73

4.0 stars 10/31/2012 by NYC73
by NYC73

Ok, where do I start? Let's start with the first thing that caught my attention to buy this thing in the first place,.......ZOOM! I'll make this simple, I was able to read and photograph a license plate from almost 5 blocks away!! From that same distance, I could possibly make out the person driving the car, although that get's just a little shaky. I've read somewhere, that it doesn't take very good shots at full magnification, yes and no. Yes that's true if you don't have enough light, but the picture I took of the plate was earlier today in NYC where there was still a decent amount of wind, but I had good light! Picture quality.... I'm not qualified to really give a good review because this is the first non-point n shoot I've ever owned and I regrettably bolted out of my summer intensive photography class back in '93! lol But I'll tell you this, at 16 megapixels, and with a CMOS sensor, it's hard for any point n shoot to beat and I'm not sure I'll take another picture I truly care about with my iPhone 4S again. Twice the resolution, wider lens to allow more light, a larger sensor, etc, all make for a great shot. Movies are ok, decent, but will never replace a full HD camcorder of decent value, especially since you can hear the motor of the zoom during movie playback!! Not cool! I bought this camera to take pictures, not video, so I'm keeping it. Flash is pretty strong and it has something that helps keep it from overexposing. I'm still learning how to use this thing and the manual (on CD only, boo) is pretty lengthy so I'm sure I will love it even more once I start using all the features. Also, it allows you to take a picture of a picture. What I mean is, let's say you take a wide shot, but after viewing it in playback mode, you decide you want to focus on one particular thing, you just zoom in to where you want, move the picture up, down, left and right as needed, hit the menu button, and select a function (I just forgot what it's called) and it will take another photo of what you have on screen! Cool, just like my iPhone 4S, lol Speaking of screen, it moves people! If you're short like my wife and want to shoot over someone's head like in a concert or parade, you just flip the screen down. If you're tall or just want a lower shot without having to bend your bad cricketty knees, hold the camera as low as comfortable and just flip the screen facing up, that simple. Hmmm, what else, it's light, not too bulky. Has a 10 second and other timers. Used it to take a funny picture with my wife while she slept on the couch. She asked me today, "When did you take that picture?" lol Oh, I bought a Targus 58" tripod. I bought it at Walmart, but as always, shop and compare. I did see some P510's for cheaper on Ebay, and I've never had a problem because I know how to buy, but Walmart always seems to honor it's warranty and then some and I happen to be close to one almost once a week so it just makes sense for my situation. I could go on, as I'm sure you have nothing else better to do than listen to me ramble my newbie views, but no, I will end it here saying, if you're looking for a fantastic camera to take family, vacation, and general outdoor shots, and occasionally snoop on people, lol, this is the camera for you. Adieu

Was this review helpful? (67) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NYC73
Bronx, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Love it!
8/27/2012

Customer review by PhalangeBananaHammock

5.0 stars 8/27/2012 by PhalangeBananaHammock
by PhalangeBananaHammock

I was wanting an update to my digital camera - My sister has a DSLR, but I wasn't quite ready to jump into all the expense of that - The next best thing I found was this little jewel! Love it!! It's easy to use, compact, takes great pictures, etc.... Has some great features and the zoom is amazing! Would recommend it to anyone! Take the time to read the instruction manuel to learn all the cool features -

Was this review helpful? (45) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PhalangeBananaHammock
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Its a great camera!
5/23/2012

Customer review by meishell

5.0 stars 5/23/2012 by meishell
by meishell

I love this camera I specially love a feature it has on it where you can do selective colring, and the zoom is great I went to a ballgame and was way up in the nose bleed section and this thig zoomed in made it look like I was sitting really close! I still dont know all the functions but I know I love it!

Was this review helpful? (34) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
meishell
missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7/10/2012

Customer review by carpix

5.0 stars 7/10/2012 by carpix
by carpix

I don't have any complaints about this camera it does everything I want it to! Great picture quality. Was really impressed with the way it took pics of fireworks on the 4th!

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
carpix
Kirksville, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
AWESOME advanced camera!
1/3/2013

Customer review by suenamee

5.0 stars 1/3/2013 by suenamee
by suenamee

I just LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE my Nikon P510! This is an AWESOME camera! It has some DSLR features on it, like the manual setting, user setting, aperture setting, program setting. However, the one downfall is that I cannot leave my f-stop at 3.0 on the aperture setting. Nikon said there is no way to override it :(. I would LOVE to be able to consistently blur the background. But as an avid photographer who didn't want to upgrade to the DSLR cameras and buy all the lenses yet, this serves me great! Not only does it have a 42x zoom, but as I mentioned, it does have some DSLR capabilities on it. I do have the S8200 also and I love that camera too. But this camera is for my more "serious" photography. Either way, I think you'll enjoy it as much as I do! I wouldn't recommend this for beginners, unless you keep it all on the automatic settings. I'm still toying with all the settings. But oh so fun! :)

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
suenamee
Hastings, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love this camera. Anything I've been looking for.
12/5/2012

Customer review by DoroTX2003

5.0 stars 12/5/2012 by DoroTX2003
by DoroTX2003

Just to test the Nikon P510 I zoomed in on a green blob on the other side of the deer fence about 120 ft away from the back porch and took a perfect picture of the cactus there. This camera takes wonderful pictures, crisp and vibrant. My husband took a picture of a butterfly 60ft away and you feel like you are right in front of it. Close ups or family pictures are detailed to the point. I love taking pictures of flowers, birds and other animals. Also enjoy landscapes, waterfalls & river. I only have this camera for a little over a week now and have it handy all the time, so I'm able to photograph anything interesting that comes in front of my lens. It is easy to handle, light and comfortable. It comes with everything you need, but would be nice to have it's own bag.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DoroTX2003
Belton, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice Compact Camera
12/22/2012

Customer review by BASG10s

4.0 stars 12/22/2012 by BASG10s
by BASG10s

We bought this camera to take with us on vacation. It gives us the zoom we were looking for without having to change out the lens. The zoom when extended out completely takes a long time to focus, a tripod may help hold the camera steady in order for it to focus. But you can always bring the zoom in and still get a good picture.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BASG10s
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love this Camera
11/27/2012

Customer review by freeda48

5.0 stars 11/27/2012 by freeda48
by freeda48

I did a LOT of research into the super zooms and this camera came closest to my needs. I was afraid that if I got this camera that I would find another one that I liked more, but this camera is amazing. I sometimes have difficulty focusing on stuff, but I am still learning how to utilize all the amazing tricks that there are on this camera. It takes a beautiful picture! Can't wait to be proficient with all that this camera has to offer.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
freeda48
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Exactly the camera I have been searching for!
12/10/2012

Customer review by EverQ

5.0 stars 12/10/2012 by EverQ
by EverQ

I have been contemplating buying a camera for about 5 years. I wanted an SLR, but they are sooo expensive and I was worried that I would be disappointed in their size and having to switch lenses. I like to travel, and I just couldn't imagine myself lugging the big camera and its lenses everywhere. But I wanted the zoom the SLR offered! Then I discovered the Nikon Coolpix P510 with its 42x zoom... and at an awesome cyber Monday price! This camera feels great in your hand... a nice weight to it without being heavy. It's easy to operate. I love the big LCD display and the view finder. I have not yet tried the video or the GPS feature yet, but I'm looking forward to it. I have taken this camera out for two occasions... both inside and outside shots. I've been impressed and happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EverQ
Maple Grove, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/2/2012

Customer review by Erastus789

5.0 stars 12/2/2012 by Erastus789
by Erastus789

I have the Nikon camera coolpix L810 16 megapixels 26X zoom and it takes great pictures, but this one with the 42X power lens, other special features makes this one a big jump up. I bought mine on Black Friday[ TURKEY DAY]FOR $292.00, Even the price today is a steal. I have recommended this to a lot people. Best small compact camera for the money.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Erastus789
Vernal, Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best Camera I have ever used
12/23/2012

Customer review by Soco54

5.0 stars 12/23/2012 by Soco54
by Soco54

I have been happier with this purchase than any other product that I can remember. I took it to a professional football game and my seats were in the endzone on the 2nd level. I was able to take pictures of fans in the opposite endzone. Wow! When the players were on the far 10 yard line, I was able to zoom in on their faces with helmets on. My original objective was to be able to take pictures of my kids at their school functions. This camera meets and exceeds all my expectations.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Soco54
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Camera
2/28/2013

Customer review by cherrypie24

5.0 stars 2/28/2013 by cherrypie24
by cherrypie24

My friend recommended this camera to me right before I was leaving on vacation & after I seen pictures she had taken with hers I ran to Walmart & purchased it immediately. It takes beautiful clear photos! We took some video with it also & it did wonderful, in some other reviews it said it was difficult for video but we didn't have any problems what-so-ever they are perfect movies!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cherrypie24
ND
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Best Camera I owned!
12/14/2012

Customer review by barnyardbunnies

5.0 stars 12/14/2012 by barnyardbunnies
by barnyardbunnies

This is a great camera for the money. Best Camera I've yet owned. It has great zoom, and takes such beautiful photos. Tip: To crop the picture, you have to zoom in to the picture you are wanting to crop, then press the Menu button, and then just click yes, and you will have a copy of the cropped picture, and the non cropped picture!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
barnyardbunnies
Kalispell Montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great! Love this camera
2/12/2013

Customer review by mom2bando

5.0 stars 2/12/2013 by mom2bando
by mom2bando

I went and bought the Nikon D1300 And Although I was completly satisfied with the quality of the images I didnt like the zoom at all. No big deal for close up photography such as portrait taking. But I need zoom! And it just was not cutting it. I took a leap and bought the Coolpix P510 "Amazing!" The picture quality is just as good as the DSLR! And the zoom is great! I recommend it over the D1300 for wildlife or even for mothers who need a good zoom to get those play pictures!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mom2bando
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
The camera is Awesome
12/27/2012

Customer review by Hofdrew

5.0 stars 12/27/2012 by Hofdrew
by Hofdrew

The quality of the picture is perfect. Also very user friendly.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hofdrew
Gibbsboro, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/28/2012

Customer review by clickit123

5.0 stars 12/28/2012 by clickit123
by clickit123

outstanding pictures, easy to use,long battery life. the best point and shoot i've ever used

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
clickit123
jacksonville, fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Product
5/11/2013

Customer review by MPenmar

5.0 stars 5/11/2013 by MPenmar
by MPenmar

Nikon out did themselves, very nice point and shoot, pics are sharp, zoom is excellent giving you lots of reach. Menus and dials are user friendly, easy to learn.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MPenmar
Muskogee, Ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/1/2013

Customer review by petroski

5.0 stars 5/1/2013 by petroski
by petroski

Have been searching cameras for quite sometime before i settled on this one and am happy with my purchase. It fit into my budget and takes quality pictures and video once u get used to working with it to get the best picture quality. Purchased a Sony Handycam before this and am very unsatisfied with the picture quality. Can't go wrong with a Nikon!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
petroski
Hardin KY.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/31/2012

Customer review by honeybug62

4.0 stars 5/31/2012 by honeybug62
by honeybug62

I really like the Nikon coolpix P510. It takes some getting used to all the settings. I think for the money it is a great deal.

Was this review helpful? (6) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
honeybug62
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Great camera with a lot of easy-to-use features
12/7/2012

Customer review by DCTourGuide

5.0 stars 12/7/2012 by DCTourGuide
by DCTourGuide

I have owned 3 similar cameras, all made by Kodak. Since they no longer make digital cameras, I needed to look elsewhere. Examining the specifications of the Coolpix P510, I was pleasingly surprised at all the nice features the camera has. It is lightweight, compact and yet packed with exciting features.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DCTourGuide
Bend, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 189 total reviews
1-20 of 189 reviews