Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 117 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

117 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

117 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
82
4 stars
24
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
6
1-20 of 103 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 103 total reviews
1-20 of 103 reviews
More Than Just a Battery Box
7/3/2013

Customer review by TheTruckist

5.0 stars 7/3/2013 by TheTruckist
by TheTruckist
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very satisfied with this Minn Kota Power Center. If you are looking for a simple "box" to place your battery in, there are much cheaper options available. However, this item provides the recommended circuit breakers and other options to complete your trolling motor (and other 12 volt needs) installation. Note that some jurisdictions require your battery to be mounted securely, this item provides the necessary mounts, with hardware, for easy install. Strap provided is sturdy as is the overall product. It's what one would expect from a company like Minn Kota. The thumbscrews for the positve & negative connections on the outside of the box are heavily coated and the exposed studs are gold plated. Cables are heavy as well...nothing flimsy about the package. The folding handle on the top lid is made heavy and I foresee no problem in this box handling the weight of a Group 29 or 31 battery. By the way, the description states for Group 24/27 batteries...a Group 31 will fit and that was a concern for my application. I opted to mount mine to the floor using the supplied hardware and if I wish to remove the entire box along with installed battery, there are 2 cupped handles on each end to lift it out. I wouldn't try to lift a heavy battery inside the box with the lid-mounted handle although if the strap was in position and cinched up tight, I would think it would stand up to the lifting. I am using this on a 2-man Bass Raider-type boat and this Power Center box will keep the battery from moving around when moving and launching once mounted. I like it so well that I'm considering a second Center for another battery. It makes for a very clean install.

Was this review helpful? (91) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheTruckist
Nickville KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lots of nice features
7/31/2013

Customer review by Guitartech4u

4.0 stars 7/31/2013 by Guitartech4u
by Guitartech4u
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had to order it through Walmart, but I was still working on the boat so it was OK, not like is was in a hurry. Checked it out when it came in, everything works, both breakers and the battery level LED,s. The one thing I didn't like (why I couldn't give it 5 stars), it has two accessory plugs, one on either end of the box. They are run through the 10 amp breaker so you can power a few accessories. I didn't feel comfortable bouncing down the lake with an auto type accessory plug powering my accessories, so I got a trolling motor plug and receptacle and replaced one of the accessory receptacles with it. It fit in the existing hole perfectly and all I really had to do was drill the holes to match the TM receptacle holes and pop rivet it back in and hook it up. But that's just me, I still would recommend this to anyone who needs a nice portable power supply for your boat or wherever large deep cycle/starter batteries are used. Strong handle, easy hookup, you just can't beat it for the Walmart price...

Was this review helpful? (35) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Guitartech4u
Suffolk, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great lil box!!
6/10/2014

Customer review by TheOnlyTruthSeeker

5.0 stars 6/10/2014 by TheOnlyTruthSeeker
by TheOnlyTruthSeeker
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Ok so the box comes with a 60 amp in line fuse with a 10 amp fuse for the 12v acceries plugs. It also has a battery tester on board so no guessing games on the status of your battery. You toss your battery in and put the boxes leads on the battery and close it up, then attach your trolling motor up to the outside connection and your ready to rock. I have used it 3 times and all 3 times the box got wet. First time was early morning dew, 2nd and 3rd times was water that got kicked up in the boat. Still works good. I wouldn't expect it to work if it got doused with water, but its held up so far for me. The box comes with a strap to hold the lid down and I have carried my battery around in it , handel is strong enough to hold up to the weight of a 29 dc marine battery. Its in all a tough lil box that is well wourth the money!!!!

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheOnlyTruthSeeker
Front Royal Va.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A Nice Addition To The Minn Kota Trolling Motors
7/11/2012

Customer review by dappledachshund

4.0 stars 7/11/2012 by dappledachshund
by dappledachshund

I bought this box after I purchased the motor and realized that I needed a 60 amp fuse to properly use the motor. This box has the fuse built into it. Has a usefull gauge for battery life. The biggest downfall of the box is it is a bit flimsey with the weight of the battery and trying to carry it by the handle doesn't work well. We carry it by the sides because we don't want the handle to break or the lid to come off. Strap is good but tends to give with the weight of the battery. We use a WalMart 27 battery in it. Also wish it had come with some directions for those of us who are new to things like this.

Was this review helpful? (58) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dappledachshund
Johnstown, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
It does the trick.
8/14/2012

Customer review by Flacheese

4.0 stars 8/14/2012 by Flacheese
by Flacheese

My only complaint is when you use the handle do carry it, it comes apart and becomes misaligned. The strap is plenty strong so I do not think it will come apart enough to be damaged. It has 2 12v lighter type sockets which I used for my fish finder and a spotlight, which I liked very much. I even used it one day to charge my phone and more than one occasion for an air pump. You can not build something similar for the price you pay for this,(unless you already have the items laying around) I tried. A nice product.

Was this review helpful? (41) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Flacheese
Fort Myers, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Everything needed for serious boater and more.
10/26/2013

Customer review by Fishon66

5.0 stars 10/26/2013 by Fishon66
by Fishon66
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have used various types of battery compartments in the past, but this one is the most complete, sturdy and convenient. The two circuit breakers save the need for wiring to comply with current law, and the insulated terminals are an excellent safety measure. The battery power gauge is a plus, as is the two accessory plug ins. I was so impressed with the one I bought, I ordered another one the day I received it. In the past I had built my own power centers that were not as complete, and cost me more to build.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fishon66
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Backup Power
9/26/2013

Customer review by Lestat

5.0 stars 9/26/2013 by Lestat
by Lestat
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I don't have a boat. I use this for backup power when the lights go out. It is perfect for areas where the power goes out frequently. I put a large deep cycle marine battery from Walmart inside. I can run lights, charge phones, computers, etc. It has built in 10 and 60 amp breakers so you don't have to worry about fuses. The built-in cigarette lighter power connectors are great for charging portable devices. The large Positive and Negative posts are great for connecting a power inverter to generate 120V house voltage.

Was this review helpful? (38) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lestat
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great way to keep it clean.
11/30/2013

Customer review by JGFF

5.0 stars 11/30/2013 by JGFF
by JGFF
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This power center is large and will fit most batteries. You will nee to add padding to the inside to keep the battery tight.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JGFF
Sac, CA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Recommended
8/5/2012

Customer review by Ozmosis99

5.0 stars 8/5/2012 by Ozmosis99
by Ozmosis99

I recommend this as a safe, effective and easy solution to use with a trolling motor. Once the battery is inside and connected, it can be used and charged without being removed. The circuit breaker has already saved me once when my motor got stuck trying to start in heavy weeds. The strap could be sturdier since batteries are so heavy. I have added some nylon rope as to help support it, and have had no problems.

Was this review helpful? (40) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ozmosis99
Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Home Product
12/2/2013

Customer review by JoeChief

5.0 stars 12/2/2013 by JoeChief
by JoeChief
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Using the power center in my Van to power a mobile amateur radio transceiver. Good features which allow test to determine when battery requires recharge. Accessory cigarette lighter plug in, 2 have 10 amp circuit breakers.. Main source which I use directly from the side clamps is protected by a 60 amp breaker.. Also good for use with an Inverter during power outages.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JoeChief
Syracuse NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Makes the battery easy to deal with
6/11/2012

Customer review by BigLakeFish

5.0 stars 6/11/2012 by BigLakeFish
by BigLakeFish

The case holds the battery, has the REQUIRED 60 Amp circuit breaker, and as an additional bonus has a battery charge meter on the outside of the case so that you know how much power is left in the battery. I read where it is very important for batery life to charge the battery immediately after use even if you only used a bit if you wish to extend the battery life as long as possible. While slightly more expensive than the battery and breaker with a battery box I feel it is worth it. The only downside I found was that one must unscrew the wing nuts on the contacts in irder to charge the battery. This I suppose is unavoidable if we wish to protect the battery from being shorted out.

Was this review helpful? (17) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigLakeFish
Western WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Battery box
10/28/2015

Customer review by 2streets

5.0 stars 10/28/2015 by 2streets
by 2streets

I put this on my travel trailer. Now I just plug the solar charger into one of the outlets on the side to keep the battery maintained. I like that it has a battery condition gauge that I just push the button and know what the battery's status is.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2streets
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
NOT WHAT I THOUGHT
12/14/2015

Customer review by auctionman

1.0 stars 12/14/2015 by auctionman
by auctionman

Seems to be built well. NO INSTRUCTIONS, both acessory ports are just holes with no sockets, strap wont hold weight of battery without slipping out . Its GOING BACK I'm offended to be charged nearly $50. for a product like this.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
auctionman
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good little box
4/29/2014

Customer review by MIFisherGuy

4.0 stars 4/29/2014 by MIFisherGuy
by MIFisherGuy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this primarily for the battery charge indicator. Not a bad little box, but I expected something a little beefier, though it does not feel cheap. Works well, and makes carrying the battery easier. It is also large enough to have a 27DC equivalent sized battery in it, and still have just enough room to store my 7ah back-up in there as well.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MIFisherGuy
Swartz Creek, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very good and handy to have
3/24/2013

Customer review by Sandbox07

5.0 stars 3/24/2013 by Sandbox07
by Sandbox07
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I received my power center last week on a Thursday, 3 days ahead of the schedule. The power center was easy to attached to the battery and worked excellent. Besides using it to run my trolling motor I also attached an adapter to my running lights so when I needed to turn them on all I have to do is plug the adapter into the accessary plug on the side of the power center. The battery level indicator on top of the power center is very helpful with 4 light levels (full, 1/2, low, and recharge). The light levels are also 4 different colors so a quick push of the test button and you'll know instantly where your battery level is. Power center box, strap and carrying handle are sturdy and make it easy to move around. I highly recommend this product!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sandbox07
Kiowa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Well built
2/26/2013

Customer review by dogwalker3

4.0 stars 2/26/2013 by dogwalker3
by dogwalker3
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Let me preface this with the fact that I think it is over priced somewhat. However, of the two power stations I looked at, this looks to be the better built. All the connections are solid. Product description is accurate. I toyed with the idea of just buying a seven dollar battery box but by the time you buy circuit breaker and extra wireing this for me was the better option. All in all I am pleased with the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dogwalker3
SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
very over priced for what it is
12/11/2015

Customer review by johnm

1.0 stars 12/11/2015 by johnm
by johnm

not even made in the USA

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
johnm
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great accessories, easy to use, nice for a woman!
12/13/2015

Customer review by CampWest

5.0 stars 12/13/2015 by CampWest
by CampWest

I am a woman raising two young granddaughters, and we do a lot of camping. I needed a power solution because there is usually no electricity, and I needed something that would simplify this whole electrical process which I barely understand - and I should mention that I really hate having to mess with electricity, I have had a couple unpleasant experiences. I have a boyfriend who occasionally comes along camping, but I am on my own to rig and operate this stuff when he's not around. I have a marine battery for a trolling motor, but also use it for powering car and phone and tool chargers, lights, and a small air compressor. All these items seemed to need circuit breakers and specific hookups, and I was feeling overwhelmed trying to figure out how to adapt it all to a campsite - plus I always have that fear of electricity in the back of my mind. My boyfriend told me about these battery boxes, and I read a lot of reviews and specs and finally chose this one. I am so happy, it has really changed everything for me. My boyfriend installed my battery inside the box for me - the inner cables are included, and they hook up to the battery terminals. Then the lid is closed and that is really the last of having to deal directly with the battery. The outer box has all the accessories I need, plus the required circuit breakers are built in to the box and it really eliminated a lot of confusion and worry for me. I really like that there is a built in meter on the lid - I press a button and the meter reads how much charge the battery has left. There are two cigarette lighter outlets on the side of the box, and I can plug in the phone chargers and air compressor. We have a 12ft inflatable boat, and though we have somewhat adapted the floor, I always worry about the battery tipping over or getting wet when we bring it along for the trolling motor. Now I just bring the box with the battery in it, and only have to hook up the motor wires to the outside box terminals - which somehow are not as intimidating to me as hooking up straight to the battery. My boyfriend recently gave me an inverter, and I can now hook it up and have regular plug electric receptacles - heaven! I also have a car battery charger that I can hook up to the outer box terminals when I want to charge the marine battery. The box is quite durable plastic, handle so far is alright, but the battery inside is so extremely heavy that I usually grasp the side handles to move it. I have grabbed the handle and dragged the battery box short distances, and the box does fine despite my abuse, but I am not sure the nylon strap that runs around the box will last for a long while. I think if it was much wider it would seem more stable. I have had a lot of campers and boaters stop when they see my battery box, they have a lot of the same questions I had, and every one of them go away impressed with all the functions, swearing they are going to go buy one for themselves. This box has made electricity not so terrifying for me, enables me to power all sorts of devices, and has made camping so much more comfortable.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CampWest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Unique item, it is what it appears to be!
10/11/2013

Customer review by GINOLUCKY

4.0 stars 10/11/2013 by GINOLUCKY
by GINOLUCKY
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Will be using this to hold a deep cell trolling motor in a small 15 foot boat. It will not only keep the battery terminals covered (safe) when attached to the trolling motor, but also allow through the use of the cigarette lighter outlet other small or temporary electrical items to be attached (ex. Running lights; cell phone power cord; spot light; fish finder etc.) As another mentioned, some improvement could be made in regards to the strap keeping the top and bottom of the box together.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GINOLUCKY
Temperance, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
As advertised
5/28/2013

Customer review by fuzzy17

4.0 stars 5/28/2013 by fuzzy17
by fuzzy17
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It was delivered as advertised on their web site and has performed admirably. My only concern is that there is but a thin strap securing the top and bottom of the battery case. A more secure way of mating the bottom and top of the case would be a most needed improvement. Otherwise it is a good product with a lot of potential to hook up electronics and keep them safe.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fuzzy17
spfld. mass
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 103 total reviews
1-20 of 103 reviews