Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 143 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

143 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

143 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
102
4 stars
26
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 stars
9
1-20 of 129 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 129 total reviews
1-20 of 129 reviews
More Than Just a Battery Box
7/3/2013

Customer review by TheTruckist

5.0 stars 7/3/2013 by TheTruckist
by TheTruckist
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very satisfied with this Minn Kota Power Center. If you are looking for a simple "box" to place your battery in, there are much cheaper options available. However, this item provides the recommended circuit breakers and other options to complete your trolling motor (and other 12 volt needs) installation. Note that some jurisdictions require your battery to be mounted securely, this item provides the necessary mounts, with hardware, for easy install. Strap provided is sturdy as is the overall product. It's what one would expect from a company like Minn Kota. The thumbscrews for the positve & negative connections on the outside of the box are heavily coated and the exposed studs are gold plated. Cables are heavy as well...nothing flimsy about the package. The folding handle on the top lid is made heavy and I foresee no problem in this box handling the weight of a Group 29 or 31 battery. By the way, the description states for Group 24/27 batteries...a Group 31 will fit and that was a concern for my application. I opted to mount mine to the floor using the supplied hardware and if I wish to remove the entire box along with installed battery, there are 2 cupped handles on each end to lift it out. I wouldn't try to lift a heavy battery inside the box with the lid-mounted handle although if the strap was in position and cinched up tight, I would think it would stand up to the lifting. I am using this on a 2-man Bass Raider-type boat and this Power Center box will keep the battery from moving around when moving and launching once mounted. I like it so well that I'm considering a second Center for another battery. It makes for a very clean install.

Was this review helpful? (134) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheTruckist
Nickville KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lots of nice features
7/31/2013

Customer review by Guitartech4u

4.0 stars 7/31/2013 by Guitartech4u
by Guitartech4u
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had to order it through Walmart, but I was still working on the boat so it was OK, not like is was in a hurry. Checked it out when it came in, everything works, both breakers and the battery level LED,s. The one thing I didn't like (why I couldn't give it 5 stars), it has two accessory plugs, one on either end of the box. They are run through the 10 amp breaker so you can power a few accessories. I didn't feel comfortable bouncing down the lake with an auto type accessory plug powering my accessories, so I got a trolling motor plug and receptacle and replaced one of the accessory receptacles with it. It fit in the existing hole perfectly and all I really had to do was drill the holes to match the TM receptacle holes and pop rivet it back in and hook it up. But that's just me, I still would recommend this to anyone who needs a nice portable power supply for your boat or wherever large deep cycle/starter batteries are used. Strong handle, easy hookup, you just can't beat it for the Walmart price...

Was this review helpful? (55) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Guitartech4u
Suffolk, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice item great features!
4/5/2016

Customer review by Comfy

5.0 stars 4/5/2016 by Comfy
by Comfy

Haven't had it very long, but am very pleased with how it stores my marine battery and provides easy access to the hookups for my trolling motor. Nice to be able to charge my cell too!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comfy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
excellent
7/11/2016

Customer review by Garet

5.0 stars 7/11/2016 by Garet
by Garet
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great carrying case and gives ability to check the life of your battery. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Garet
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Handy Battery Holder
2/18/2016

Customer review by Cookre

5.0 stars 2/18/2016 by Cookre
by Cookre

I like the size of case and seems to be well made, I have the largest marine battery advance auto sells in it.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cookre
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Battery box
7/18/2016

Customer review by JGeils

5.0 stars 7/18/2016 by JGeils
by JGeils
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Does the job!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JGeils
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great lil box!!
6/10/2014

Customer review by TheOnlyTruthSeeker

5.0 stars 6/10/2014 by TheOnlyTruthSeeker
by TheOnlyTruthSeeker
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Ok so the box comes with a 60 amp in line fuse with a 10 amp fuse for the 12v acceries plugs. It also has a battery tester on board so no guessing games on the status of your battery. You toss your battery in and put the boxes leads on the battery and close it up, then attach your trolling motor up to the outside connection and your ready to rock. I have used it 3 times and all 3 times the box got wet. First time was early morning dew, 2nd and 3rd times was water that got kicked up in the boat. Still works good. I wouldn't expect it to work if it got doused with water, but its held up so far for me. The box comes with a strap to hold the lid down and I have carried my battery around in it , handel is strong enough to hold up to the weight of a 29 dc marine battery. Its in all a tough lil box that is well wourth the money!!!!

Was this review helpful? (25) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheOnlyTruthSeeker
Front Royal Va.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A Nice Addition To The Minn Kota Trolling Motors
7/11/2012

Customer review by dappledachshund

4.0 stars 7/11/2012 by dappledachshund
by dappledachshund

I bought this box after I purchased the motor and realized that I needed a 60 amp fuse to properly use the motor. This box has the fuse built into it. Has a usefull gauge for battery life. The biggest downfall of the box is it is a bit flimsey with the weight of the battery and trying to carry it by the handle doesn't work well. We carry it by the sides because we don't want the handle to break or the lid to come off. Strap is good but tends to give with the weight of the battery. We use a WalMart 27 battery in it. Also wish it had come with some directions for those of us who are new to things like this.

Was this review helpful? (66) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dappledachshund
Johnstown, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Minn Kota trolling motor battery center
6/4/2016

Customer review by Gordon

5.0 stars 6/4/2016 by Gordon
by Gordon
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Super great! Way better than the old flimsy battery box I used to use. Very convenient and easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gordon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Power Center
6/3/2016

Customer review by waterworld

5.0 stars 6/3/2016 by waterworld
by waterworld
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Nice if you do not have a battery compartment . Keeps battery secure and dry.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
waterworld
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It does the trick.
8/14/2012

Customer review by Flacheese

4.0 stars 8/14/2012 by Flacheese
by Flacheese

My only complaint is when you use the handle do carry it, it comes apart and becomes misaligned. The strap is plenty strong so I do not think it will come apart enough to be damaged. It has 2 12v lighter type sockets which I used for my fish finder and a spotlight, which I liked very much. I even used it one day to charge my phone and more than one occasion for an air pump. You can not build something similar for the price you pay for this,(unless you already have the items laying around) I tried. A nice product.

Was this review helpful? (47) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Flacheese
Fort Myers, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Everything needed for serious boater and more.
10/26/2013

Customer review by Fishon66

5.0 stars 10/26/2013 by Fishon66
by Fishon66
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have used various types of battery compartments in the past, but this one is the most complete, sturdy and convenient. The two circuit breakers save the need for wiring to comply with current law, and the insulated terminals are an excellent safety measure. The battery power gauge is a plus, as is the two accessory plug ins. I was so impressed with the one I bought, I ordered another one the day I received it. In the past I had built my own power centers that were not as complete, and cost me more to build.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fishon66
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome
5/28/2016

Customer review by TomD

5.0 stars 5/28/2016 by TomD
by TomD
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Awesome

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TomD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great.
6/6/2016

Customer review by Brian

5.0 stars 6/6/2016 by Brian
by Brian
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Product came as promised. Works great. Quality product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brian
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Backup Power
9/26/2013

Customer review by Lestat

5.0 stars 9/26/2013 by Lestat
by Lestat
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I don't have a boat. I use this for backup power when the lights go out. It is perfect for areas where the power goes out frequently. I put a large deep cycle marine battery from Walmart inside. I can run lights, charge phones, computers, etc. It has built in 10 and 60 amp breakers so you don't have to worry about fuses. The built-in cigarette lighter power connectors are great for charging portable devices. The large Positive and Negative posts are great for connecting a power inverter to generate 120V house voltage.

Was this review helpful? (43) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lestat
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Must have for small fishing boats
6/26/2016

Customer review by jobu

5.0 stars 6/26/2016 by jobu
by jobu
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought 2 of these for my trolling motors in my small fishing boat. These things are really convenient and they look cool too! I wouldn't recommend using the top handle to transport this with a battery installed unless you want to lose a toe.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jobu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Recommended
8/5/2012

Customer review by Ozmosis99

5.0 stars 8/5/2012 by Ozmosis99
by Ozmosis99

I recommend this as a safe, effective and easy solution to use with a trolling motor. Once the battery is inside and connected, it can be used and charged without being removed. The circuit breaker has already saved me once when my motor got stuck trying to start in heavy weeds. The strap could be sturdier since batteries are so heavy. I have added some nylon rope as to help support it, and have had no problems.

Was this review helpful? (45) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ozmosis99
Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great way to keep it clean.
11/30/2013

Customer review by JGFF

5.0 stars 11/30/2013 by JGFF
by JGFF
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This power center is large and will fit most batteries. You will nee to add padding to the inside to keep the battery tight.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JGFF
Sac, CA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Needs disclaimer: battery not included
5/11/2016

Customer review by noboomboom

2.0 stars 5/11/2016 by noboomboom
by noboomboom

Nowhere in the description of the "power center" product is it said that there is no battery inside. After the "power center's" arrival, I went back to the ad to re-check the description. Only in one customer comment is it stated that no battery is included.

Was this review helpful? (11) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
noboomboom
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Product
4/3/2016

Customer review by LakeMan

5.0 stars 4/3/2016 by LakeMan
by LakeMan

Bought this for our little skiff. Makes charging a breeze and protects the battery from the elements. Love the power ports for charging and playing the radio. I liked it enough to buy one for my friend, too

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LakeMan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 129 total reviews
1-20 of 129 reviews