Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 481 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

481 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

481 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
261
4 stars
122
3 stars
25
2 stars
9
1 stars
64
1-20 of 340 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 340 total reviews
1-20 of 340 reviews
Great all in one unit
5/26/2012

Customer review by GMC1965

5.0 stars 5/26/2012 by GMC1965
by GMC1965

I purchased this item as a back-up for the unit I have (same product) I am so happy with this unit that I bought another so when this one needs to be replaced I have the same one on hand. It is easy to use and set up...copies and scans quickly; prints with a good ink usage ( I do buy the XL cartridges). I do paperwork at home every night for my job and print logs and sheets weekly so it is a must have for my needs. The only tempermental part of this unit is the document feeder. It can get jammed and if you are not careful you can damage the feeder so it will not work. I have used this model for 4 years now...I just replaced the original I bought and whe nI did I purchased the new one to have a backup for when this one is to be replaced. I run on windows Vista home premium--I can't say how this unit will work with other versions on Windows.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GMC1965
North Adams MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
STUPID MACHINE
7/25/2012

Customer review by AKSMALLBIZ

1.0 stars 7/25/2012 by AKSMALLBIZ
by AKSMALLBIZ

I spent 5 hours trying to set this machine up. It's not my first HP. I kept getting a installation fatal error box so uninstalled everything and tried again. Got the same error box but the "your G4500 installed correctly" box right after that – weird. I was able to align the cartridges with the printout for that, print a word doc and send a fax. Then the cartridge stuck with loud banging noises. I walked through the online guide and managed to pull it free, slicing my hand in the process. Now it won't print from my computer at all. I tried the copy function just to see if maybe I needed to install the software a THIRD time and it now paper jams with each try. I am trying to write this review without swear words and that is extremely difficult. I am going to toss it in the trash (wouldn't wish this machine on my worst enemy- kiss my $68.00 goodbye -get what you pay for doncha??) and go buy another brand.

Was this review helpful? (36) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AKSMALLBIZ
Wasilla, Alaska
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Beware of the Ink cartridges!!
6/9/2012

Customer review by LUVLY40s

3.0 stars 6/9/2012 by LUVLY40s
by LUVLY40s
Top 500 contributor

Great Prices hp has even the performance of the product is good, but where they stick you is the refill ink cartridges, you can't manually refill the cartridges you have to purchase new refill 901 ink cartiridges everytime in order to get the best use out of hp products. I would not recommend this product for a business of any size, I use mine for regular use at my home, printing various documents needed, my son's school assignments, printing photo's etc. This product is convenient and wonderful to have at home but the price of the ink refill cartridges and how quick they must be replaced is not worth it in the long run. Pay a bit more for another product and get a longer ink life. Hope this helps!

Was this review helpful? (479) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LUVLY40s
Inglewood, California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Top 500 contributor
Great Buy
3/25/2013

Customer review by JudiRD

4.0 stars 3/25/2013 by JudiRD
by JudiRD
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have a laptop computer. Set up for print, copy, scan and wireless were a breeze. There is an instruction book included. I initially used the printer, scanner and copy features using a USB cable to see if I liked the unit. I reinstalled the CD software to choose the settings for wireless. I had to buy an ethernet cord to connect router and printer. I've printed from various locations in the house. I have not tried the fax option yet so I can't comment on that feature. It is a bit loud when it starts up but it is becoming quieter as I use it more. I've used it for printing black and white and color photos and print. Quality is good. I compare it to my HP 970 Deskjet from 1999, still workig, and it is much faster. The print papers pop out before I know it. Ink consumsion is good so far. I've used about 1/4th of the cartridges and printed about 20 photos. ONE NEGATIVE-Box says usb cord is included and it was not, so I used an old printer USB cable. (4 stars for no USB cable & loud.)

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JudiRD
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lousy product. Scanner not functional
8/21/2012

Customer review by Gensuknives

1.0 stars 8/21/2012 by Gensuknives
by Gensuknives

Bought this HP all-in-one 21 days ago. Very poor (or no) documentation. Would freeze during scan and lock-up computer. Spent 9 hours on phone with tech support (4 different sessions). They were unable to get it functioning at all. Promised twice to call me back...never did. All in all, a poor excuse for an all-in-one printer. No useful instructions on how to scan or use the machine. Today, got frustrated and returned it to Wal-Mart, got full refund and turned right around and bought an Epson WorkfForce 545 all-in-one. It installed beautifully first try, prints, scans to a findable location on my computer, prints photos and documents; and faxes. No problems with it in the least. The Epson has all the features I wanted in the other (lousy) excuse for an all-in-one, and was only $20 more. I would have spent $50 more to have avoided all the hassle the HP printer caused me.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gensuknives
Spring, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
HP and Walmart Make Quality Affordable!
5/20/2012

Customer review by Mus1cIsMyL1fe

5.0 stars 5/20/2012 by Mus1cIsMyL1fe
by Mus1cIsMyL1fe

I've ALWAYS preferred HP products; I've owned their desktops, monitors and printers. My previous printer was the HP PSC1315v. It performed well. Everything has an eventual breaking point and my printer's was yesterday. After determining it was a hardware issue and would need servicing, I decided to look at Walmart.com to compare new vs. servicing. I looked at several brands--Canon, Kodak, Epson, etc.--but for features, I kept coming back to the HP Officejet 4500 Print, Scan, Copy & Fax. The price was quite affordable too--$69.00--and had the dimensions required for my desk area. I made sure the ink cartridges were affordable and readily available online and in-store. Since I'm familiar with HP's installation procedure it was a breeze. In fact, I didn't even use the provided power/USB cables because my old printer's cables were hot-swappable. One drawback I noticed, was the folding, extendable paper tray...if one were to be reckless with it, the tray could possibly break. However, this is not a show-stopper for me. I simply made a mental note to be careful when sliding the tray back in! I did PLENTY of research and read MANY reviews from people like you so I've considered all reviews and opinions. Now, keep in mind I've only had this printer less than a week so if I have any issues, rest assured I'll be coming back to let you know. However, at this point, I'm completely satisfied with Hewlett-Packard for quality and Walmart for prices!

Was this review helpful? (130) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mus1cIsMyL1fe
Central Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Okay printer with a few flaws.
5/8/2012

Customer review by TroubledPerson

3.0 stars 5/8/2012 by TroubledPerson
by TroubledPerson

This is the second printer that I bought, the first one in less than 10 days had a malfunction. it sounded like a machine gun when it tried to print. Something inside must have broken. The second printer is good so far. It makes a lot of noise when printer and sometime the printer doesn't grab the paper to print on. Otherwise I really enjoy this printer very simple to use and set up. Seems to be a good printer after the first problem.

Was this review helpful? (36) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TroubledPerson
McGehee, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worth The Money!
4/25/2012

Customer review by Judicious5hopper

4.0 stars 4/25/2012 by Judicious5hopper
by Judicious5hopper

I wasn't expecting this machine to be so cooperative, but it was. I got it (including wireless connection) hooked up in less than 15 minutes. The only negative that I can say right now, is that it has no monitor on it and you can't preview any of your pages. Other than that, it is quiet, fairly quick, and easy to operate, much better than that HP Photosmart C6510 that cost a lot more. I only gave it 4 stars because there's always room for improvement.

Was this review helpful? (187) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Judicious5hopper
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Poorest HP product I have ever purchased
7/29/2012

Customer review by forgeit

1.0 stars 7/29/2012 by forgeit
by forgeit

This has to be the worst printer ever. My last printer I used for 10 years, it also was an HP. I purchased this one after I set it up I proceeded to print test page half way thru it stopped and says the print cartridage is incompatible. After going thru all of the help procedures, I returned it to Walmart and they replaced it with another Printer. I have had this one for 30 days and I never know if it will print or not. I have yet to be able to print a legal size document. When trying to print it will ask for a fax number or will print letter sized even though it is loaded with legal paper. When trying to print from my PC, I usually have to unplug the power from the printer and pug it in again. That usually works as long as you only make 1 copy. If your in a hurry forget it.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
forgeit
Inverness, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome printer
4/11/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/11/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This product works great, I bought it yesterday 4/10/12 and the set up was easy. I was able to fax a document right away and the recipient received it right away. Prints came out clear and clean and it works really fast. But most importantly it was at a great low price.

Was this review helpful? (408) (48)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Chicopee, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice product for such a low price
4/10/2012

Customer review by bmorebully

4.0 stars 4/10/2012 by bmorebully
by bmorebully

surprised it's not more reviews,but this works fine only problem I had was installing the ink cartridges because the tray wouldn't slide over but after that everything was a breeze,up and running just fine, only reason a person wouldn't buy this should be because it doesn't have wireless but that wasn't a deal breaker for me

Was this review helpful? (169) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bmorebully
Baltimore,md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
OMG this product is amazing
5/6/2012

Customer review by ifeyini

5.0 stars 5/6/2012 by ifeyini
by ifeyini

I had a Lexmark X4270 and the ink cartridges are the worst so I purchased this from Walmart.com and picked it up at my local store. It was so easy to install and I use it daily. This by far exceeded my expectations and the ink replacements are so reasonable. I would recommend this because its a great working product.

Was this review helpful? (126) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ifeyini
Charlotte NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Waste of money
6/3/2012

Customer review by RenoGoldenGal

1.0 stars 6/3/2012 by RenoGoldenGal
by RenoGoldenGal

This thing is a nightmare. Doesn't help my opinion a bit that it is now showing here $20 cheaper than what I paid back in March. I have had this thing for three months and have had nothing but problems with it. EVERY time I try to print something there's a PAPER JAM. EVERY SINGLE TIME!! I have read some of the other reviews of people who love it and can't believe they bought the same product. I would like to drop this thing off a tall building and watch it explode in a million pieces.

Was this review helpful? (32) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RenoGoldenGal
Reno
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great features but this one is piece of garbage
8/7/2012

Customer review by westernNCshopper

1.0 stars 8/7/2012 by westernNCshopper
by westernNCshopper

Never could get this printer to work, and I consider myself excellent at fixing office equipment. There's a glitch in the sensor on the cartridge door, so the machine refuses to work until I close the door to it's satisfaction - which isn't happening. Then the brand-new ink cartridges randomly generate "ink cartridge malfunction" error messages. It's going back as soon as I can get to WalMart and I'll probably look for another model rather than buy another one of these.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
westernNCshopper
Franklin, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
11/13/2012

Customer review by ladigady

5.0 stars 11/13/2012 by ladigady
by ladigady
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This one is an updated version of the old one I had. My previous HP J4540 (3 yrs) began doing that bang-bang sound when starting; that one did what I needed just noisey, so I purchased this one on-line. It came to the store earlier than I expected. I am delighted with it, does all a small home office may need and can connect to other computers in our house. I would suggest it to others. The ink is not expensive if you buy from an ink cartridge shop compared to some places. I still use the older one in another room, since it still works well and I don't have to walk so far to get the docs. Have had it 2-weeks now. No complaints.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ladigady
Arlington, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
this printer exceeds the last one I purchased.
6/30/2012

Customer review by fxdwggoldkey

5.0 stars 6/30/2012 by fxdwggoldkey
by fxdwggoldkey

The printer,fax,copier,does it all,I used it almost immediatly after arriving home with it. Very easy to set up and I used in at least 15 minutes of arriving home.Great price as well,for the product like I said at the beginning,exceeds the last one and easier to use. Thanks Walmart,my last one bit the dust half an hour to me purchasing this one,and your Walmart is just around the corner,so it all worked out great.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fxdwggoldkey
Sarasota,florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Good printer for a GREAT price!
5/8/2012

Customer review by GKell

5.0 stars 5/8/2012 by GKell
by GKell

No complaints on this printer. It was pretty easy to set up and start using.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GKell
Avoid HP 4500
8/22/2012

Customer review by BigerBug

1.0 stars 8/22/2012 by BigerBug
by BigerBug

Owned HP printers in past, work great last long time. Purchased HP 4500, nothing but wireless communication probs. received another HP 4500 with warranty, the rplacement had cartridge carriage problems, replaced with different model. HP customer care was great, although I spent hours on the telehone with tech support.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigerBug
South Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
small issue
5/25/2012

Customer review by HHC34

3.0 stars 5/25/2012 by HHC34
by HHC34

Followed directions out of box,my windows 7 did not reconize untit,was so busy that before I had a chance of looking for website help an update came from HP that seems to have corrected all the issues

Was this review helpful? (24) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HHC34
connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Horrible Printer
6/12/2012

Customer review by 91493

1.0 stars 6/12/2012 by 91493
by 91493

I bought this printer about a month ago and it gives me nothing but problems. It is always saying that the ink cartriges are missing or installed incorrectly. It is also always saying that there is a paper jam, but there definitely isn't. The printer hardly ever connects with the compter. DO NOT BUY THIS PRINTER!!!!

Was this review helpful? (54) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
91493
Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 340 total reviews
1-20 of 340 reviews