Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 39 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

39 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

39 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
21
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
4
1-20 of 39 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 39 total reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews
the next step into the future
2/6/2013

Customer review by Elewpier5

5.0 stars 2/6/2013 by Elewpier5
by Elewpier5

I am quite impressed with this technology. I feel like I step into the future each time I use it. I purchased it as a test to see if I'm ready for this technology in a new kitchen I'm planning. So far my test is going well and I'm glad I purchased it. I'm using it alongside my older cast-iron element electric range, and I find I gravitate to the Sunpentown instead. In summer I'm sure this will be very welcome since there is no heat leftover afterwards to overheat the kitchen. Other reviewers have well discussed the type of cookware needed. Basically, if a magnet sticks to at least the bottom of the pot, you're good to go. The power rating of 1300 watts is more than adequate for all my needs so far. It will sear scallops with very high heat, and then cool instantly to just barely warm if you choose which eliminates the need to move the cookware to a cooler spot. Heat responds instantly to temperature or power increases, and slows down just as fast. No need to bother thinking about residual cooking time when switched off as you do with older style resistance burners. I have some cast iron pieces which seem to work even faster than the induction-purposed cookware. Both types work fine. Surprisingly, the cast iron handle on my 10" frypan did not get more than touchably warm since the heat concentrates to the bottom of the cookware. I think the cook levels which are based on wattage and the temperature selections which sample the actual heat in the pot are a useful design. I tested the temperature settings with an electronic thermometer and the readings were accurate within a degree or two. Others have mentioned hearing a very faint clicking sound when in temperature mode, but this is normal. Cooking by temperature demands a different kind of thinking, but then most of us adapted to the microwave oven after a little practice. A fan inside keeps the circuitry cool, which I think is quiet enough. I don't mind it, it's just different. I gave only four stars for durability only because with less than two weeks of use I don't feel I can fully answer that yet, but will update in a few months. It seems well built for its purpose, the ceramic glass is beautifully made, the design is sleek and easy to clean, and is surprisingly lightweight but not too. The controls are logically positioned, easy to see and understand, and I like the overall design.

Was this review helpful? (44) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Elewpier5
Philadelphia PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This cooktop is great, just unplug when not on.
9/27/2013

Customer review by PlanoLink

5.0 stars 9/27/2013 by PlanoLink
by PlanoLink

this Sunpentown cooktop is great, it cooks fast the food taste better, its a power saver!! But when its fan turns off unplug it. It uses 2/3 of an amp when its off. I have mine plugged into a 15 amp power strip, works fine. I start in cook mode then change to temp mode. I looked a long time before I got this, I think its the best for the price range. (Get the black one)

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PlanoLink
Plano Tx.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better than I expected
9/21/2013

Customer review by homeontheroad

5.0 stars 9/21/2013 by homeontheroad
by homeontheroad

Can't believe how fast it cooks and boil over is stopped immediately when the stop button is pressed. Easy clean up. I am using it in my RV and it can be used outdoors for potlucks. Has a larger cook area than most I have seen. Made a large pot of chili with no problems. Love that it can be used as a slower cooker though I haven't tried it yet.

Was this review helpful? (28) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
homeontheroad
everywhere
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I like this item!
12/1/2012

Customer review by kitchenw

5.0 stars 12/1/2012 by kitchenw
by kitchenw

have not had it long enough to truly rate the durability, but the heat up time on my pot is fantastic! I can heat things faster than with my microwave! Just be sure you know the symbol of the induction pans, and how to check for compatibility. Copper clad, ceramic covered will NOT work! Otherwise, a great item!

Was this review helpful? (26) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kitchenw
ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value
12/26/2013

Customer review by Lonzo7

5.0 stars 12/26/2013 by Lonzo7
by Lonzo7

Was looking into induction cooktop advertised on tv. Was a lot of negatives in reviews, mostly about shipping. Found this unit with more functions like intermittent heat and near 1/2 the price of the basic unit on tv (before s/h!). Received quickly, packed securely very good value. Be sure to have an electrical circuit that can handle the wattage if you want to use on high power. 1300 watts can pop a breaker if too much else is on same circuit.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lonzo7
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I love it.
5/25/2014

Customer review by Gill2000

5.0 stars 5/25/2014 by Gill2000
by Gill2000

I read all the revievs of all the different models in order to get as much information as possible and I decided to buy the Sunpentown 1,300W in black. This is the first time to have I owned one and I was worrid I might have a difficult time learning how to use it. But it was so easy to start cooking, and to understand how it works and it heats so fast and the cooking time is so much faster. All of my steenless pots and Pans work great with it and I am really glad I purchaded this cooktop. I hope it will last me a long time. It also keeps your kitchen a lot cooler.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gill2000
El Paso Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Induction Cooktop
3/11/2014

Customer review by mysopin

4.0 stars 3/11/2014 by mysopin
by mysopin

I looked at several cooktops and their reviews, and liked this one the best. The induction on this one could have been higher to at least 1600 Watts,instead of 1300 Watts, and the fan is a little loud,but you get used to it in time.I have several cast iron cookware that I use. all of them work quite well,and several stainless steel pans. Remember if a magnet sticks to the bottom of the pan it's good to go.The timer works fine for warming up left overs as well.In all the cooktop is very good for the price of $59.40.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mysopin
Austin,Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cooktop convience
8/14/2012

Customer review by PeeWee22

5.0 stars 8/14/2012 by PeeWee22
by PeeWee22

Excellent cooktop. Does all the right things.

Was this review helpful? (23) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PeeWee22
Silver Springs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
this is a wonderful intro to induction cooking!
3/16/2013

Customer review by asilbee

5.0 stars 3/16/2013 by asilbee
by asilbee

i love this thing. i got rid of my old gas range. i am now using this with a convection oven instead. most of my cookware worked with it.(test bottom of pan with magnet) this thing can be controlled by temperature or watts. it has a timer. for the price there is no other choice.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
asilbee
cincinnati ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Temp. settings are unreliable.
2/3/2013

Customer review by Dirtmaster

1.0 stars 2/3/2013 by Dirtmaster
by Dirtmaster

Sometimes water boils at a setting of 180 f, other times it appears to to heat to the desired setting (within a twenty degree spread) so some foods get burned very quickly. It even burned some of the non stick surface off a pan while scrambling eggs and melted the high temp utensil I was using. I will return it. If all you want to do is boil water, it will work OK. Of course, you can a much cheaper electric boiler if that is all you need. But, if you need controlled cooking temps, don't trust it. It could be that I have a defective unit but, I will return it and try another.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dirtmaster
Acworth, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
my Sunpentown Induction Cooktop is awesome.
3/4/2013

Customer review by TUCKER38

5.0 stars 3/4/2013 by TUCKER38
by TUCKER38

My new Sunpentown Induction Cooktop surpasses all of my expectations. it heats up rapidly and maintains set temp and if you turn the selector down, the temp drops at once. It works so well that I use it 2 or three times a day. I am really happy with my purchase and I'm considering buying another one next month.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TUCKER38
Jackson, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Could be good
9/23/2012

Customer review by MyPuptarts

3.0 stars 9/23/2012 by MyPuptarts
by MyPuptarts

Could be a good unit, but panel lights did not work out of the box. Sent the unit back and bought a different kind.

Was this review helpful? (16) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MyPuptarts
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent Choice
1/17/2013

Customer review by Charm2

5.0 stars 1/17/2013 by Charm2
by Charm2

The only reason I didn't give it 5 Stars on all points is b/c I haven't had it long enough to know if it will be durable- Have used it several times in past couple of weeks- I learned how to adjust the temp, time, & wattage so I do it all quickly & easily now- Last nite I used my Stainless Pressure Cooker on this unit...having had it on 1100 at first, then down to 700 Watts...then down to 500 watts- Finally I decided to switch to exact very LOW temp & use the timer for the last 8 minutes after no more pressure cooking- I finished cooking the stew on VERY LOW temp..alternating between 180 & 210 F- IF it lasts a long time, then It IS a 5 Star product- So far I consider this cooktop an excellent choice-

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Charm2
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/17/2013

Customer review by Wehavefour

4.0 stars 3/17/2013 by Wehavefour
by Wehavefour

I am learning each time I turn it on. A few suggested temps to use for different foods would have been nice for those of us new to induction cooking.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wehavefour
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great if you have a camper, a cabin or a kitchen.
2/2/2014

Customer review by lucksack

4.0 stars 2/2/2014 by lucksack
by lucksack

I haven't used it a great deal. that is why only 4 stars. the few times I have used it, it met expectations. it will take a while to get proficient with it. be prepared to purchase compatible cookware for it. also, it could use some kind of protective cover to keep it from getting scratched. I can see where it can be real handy. so far no complaints and would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lucksack
steubenville, oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/30/2013

Customer review by Poofsky

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by Poofsky
by Poofsky

Used it three times now for fried chicken, and the cook top works great. Holds the temperature fairly steady, never burnt the oil, yet kept it just right for properly deep fried chicken. So far seems accurate, looks good, cleans up easy.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Poofsky
Gilbertsville, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LOOKS USED
7/15/2014

Customer review by Blotty

3.0 stars 7/15/2014 by Blotty
by Blotty

I bought two of these and they both had many fine scratches all over the plastic part where you turn on and set the temp. One was clearly a return as the original sealed packaging was opened. That was the nicer one. The other one had more scratches and even had a greasy fingerprint on one of the push pad areas. Gross. I have not cooked with them yet but boiled water in both of them to see if they work and they do. I am not sure if I am going to return them. Disgusted in the obviously used condition.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Blotty
Outer Banks, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Well worth the money!
11/2/2013

Customer review by LShorty

5.0 stars 11/2/2013 by LShorty
by LShorty

Well worth the money! Just have to get use to cooking at much lower temperature settings. (No real instructions) Most meals cook at 160-180 deg., frying at 210 - 280 deg.. Use stainless, cast iron or induction rated aluminum only. If you don't have the right pan, the heater won't turn on.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LShorty
Casa Grande, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great introduction to induction cooking
7/23/2013

Customer review by CRGenes

5.0 stars 7/23/2013 by CRGenes
by CRGenes

Simple, yet clear instructions. Plenty of safety features and variety of cooking temperatures and wattages. Easy to use and clean up. The only thing missing from description is that you need a dedicated outlet.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CRGenes
Deepwater, Missouri, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Cooktop
3/27/2014

Customer review by Allieoopes

5.0 stars 3/27/2014 by Allieoopes
by Allieoopes

Saw the commercials for the Nu Wave. Too expensive, but wanted to try it. Tried this one and it is great. Cooks faster then regular burner. Does not burn the food. Keeps it hot without burning it or having it stick to the pan. Really great cooktop. The pan gets hot but not the cooktop. Only thing I don't like is you have to use certain pans, but I had some so didn't really matter. The pan has to be able to have a magnet stick to it. But overall a great thing.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Allieoopes
Centerville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews