Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 8 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

8 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Great cook stove for cooking almost anything
9/3/2012

Customer review by 3IGs

5.0 stars by 3IGs

We replaced our old colman powerhouse with this stove. It lights easier, control burners better, and heats up pans and boils water much faster. love our new stove

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
3IGs
central, illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
5/11/2013

Customer review by ibejoep

4.0 stars by ibejoep

We took this stove on a 5-day, 4-night canoe/camping trip. We cooked dinner x 4 and breakfast x 4 for 5 guys. Overall the stove worked as designed; much better than other stoves I have used over the years. The stove has a few negatives. One can be fixed. The other I’ll live with. The lid can catch on the drip tray when closed. We had to use brute force to pry the stove open. After 10 minutes, the lid was scratched and gouged before we even cooked our first meal. On a cold, wet, tired, hungry night this was a MAJOR disappointment. The problem appears two-fold. First, the drip tray is attached to the base poorly. At the corners the drip tray may separate from the base by 1/16” or so. Second, the rolled edge on the lid is incomplete. The roll should be 270° or more. This roll is only about 180°. When the lid is closed the rolled edge can catch under the drip tray edge like a zip tie. There is no way to finesse it open. I intend to add a screw at each front corner to hold the drip tray tight against the base. This should fix the problem. If Camp Chef would do this simple fix at the factory they’d have a real winner. The lesser problem is size/bulk. I wanted a stove that could handle two 10” pans at the same time. This stove does it with ease. But it’s a challenge packing it in a loaded canoe. It got a few dings and dents as gear was packed around it and we bounced off a few rocks in the whitewater. The dings and dents have no effect on the operation of the stove, so I’ll live with it. It’s a fair trade-off. The stove has only one positive. It works GREAT. Set-up was simple and intuitive. The lid and side screens were effective windbreaks. The regulator attached solidly and accepted propane tanks easily with no leaks. Each burner lit on the first click of the igniter. The flame was easily adjusted. Fuel consumption was reasonable given the high BTU output (4 meals per canister). And clean-up was easy. For me the real test was coffee. We often canoe/camp with 6 to 10 guys who drink a lot of morning coffee. I use a half gallon percolator. Those 10,000/11,000 BTU stoves took as much as a half hour. This one took 14 minutes! I anticipate many happy years of use from this stove. I would buy it again and would recommend it to a friend.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ibejoep
Bangor, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
8/2/2013

Customer review by mmcke

5.0 stars by mmcke

Great stove, absolutely love the fact that it can boil water in no time at all. Would highly recommend !

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
mmcke
Boxborough, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Stove
8/13/2013

Customer review by CJSTAXS

5.0 stars by CJSTAXS

Well worth the money. It boiled a 6qt pot of water in under 6 minutes and perked a 6 cup coffee pot in less the 3 minutes.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
CJSTAXS
Long Island NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Large cooking area
8/8/2013

Customer review by Go2canoe

4.0 stars by Go2canoe

I bought this stove because I take 12-16 people on a canoecamping trip every memorial day weekend, and as a backup for power outages. It has one of the largest cooking surfaces of any portable camping stove. I must agree with another review I read before I bought this stove-the metal housing could be better made/designed. I would also prefer two latch's to keep the stove closed But I may add my own. But at the walmart price I would buy this stove again & I do recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Go2canoe
Harrisburg, Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great stove for base camp, car/trailer camping
6/23/2014

Customer review by scottympm

5.0 stars by scottympm

Great simmering ability. Larger surface makes it easy to use larger pots or pans. Good wind protection. Sturdy and well built. Glad we dumped our Coleman Perfect Flow for the Camp Chef Everest as it is a far superior product!! Excellent value for the money. If you are looking for a good propane stove for base camp, car camping, trailering or general outdoor use, this is it. We also liked the fact it could be bought at Walmart.com and then shipped from the warehouse to the Walmart store of our choice. Quick and easy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
scottympm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Camp Chef High Pressure 2 Burner Stove
6/2/2014

Customer review by alienpsychomom

5.0 stars by alienpsychomom

This is fantasic. I received it in great condition. I have already used it and it works great. Glad I bought it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
alienpsychomom
Richland, Wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
An excellent camp stove.
5/29/2014

Customer review by campfisher

4.0 stars by campfisher

Works great, no problems noted. Actually is best camp stove I've owned.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
campfisher
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.