Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 171 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

171 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

171 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
126
4 stars
31
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 stars
9
1-20 of 114 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 114 total reviews
1-20 of 114 reviews
Another great Vizio value.
6/3/2012

Customer review by joeattaboy

5.0 stars 6/3/2012 by joeattaboy
by joeattaboy

I have a history with Vizio TVs. I saw my first one in a Sears store in 2006, and purchased it based on a side-by-side comparison with three other popular brands. That was a 37" model, and we just replaced it with this E552VLE. (The 5 1/2 year old 37" set, still in perfect condition, is being passed along to my daughter and her new husband). In addition, I have purchased two other Vizios in recent years, a 32" and a 26". All three have been absolutely perfect performers. So when we started shopping for a bigger set, my wife and I were naturally drawn to the Vizio models at Walmart. We looked carefully at the other larger screen brands, and once again, decided to go with this Vizio model. Knowing the reputation Walmart has for exchanging products, we didn't worry about the purchase or what to do if we encountered any issues. Frankly, we never expected to have any, based on our experiences with this brand in the past. All I can say is that the E552VLE has really exceeded our expectations. The HD image from all sources is spectacular, actually eye-popping in some cases. I don't think you really appreciate the great resolution of high def until you have a large-screen unit like this. The setup was very easy. I connected to three sources, a DirecTV HD receiver, a Samsung Blu-Ray player and a Wii game console. The Wii only provides an SD (480i) Image, so you can expand the image using the TV's Wide remote button to provide a full-screen image of your games. With the satellite receiver and blu-ray, the image size and resolutions are all detected automatically. I connected to the Internet using an Ethernet cable into a wireless repeater router set right behind the TV. The network detection was automatic, and I was able to immediately connect to the streaming apps, which include Amazon and Netflix. I pulled down a movie from Netflix and the image was in perfect high definition. (One thing users should be aware of using streaming apps: the first couple of moments of streaming content usually show up on screen in standard definition, as the device buffers the data streaming from the source. I've also experienced this with Roku streaming media devices. Once the stream gets rolling, the HD picture is outstanding). The color contrast and movement in images if really excellent, far better then I imagined. Blacks are deep and colors are rendered well across the spectrum, both for warmth and brightness. There are pre-set video modes for various situations (movies, sports, etc), but I haven't looked at them as the default setup is very satisfactory. I've noticed that some have complained about the quality of the sound reproduction of this and other big screen models. Frankly, I don't hear any issues with the sound out of the box. I'm not trying to fill a big room with sound, but even pushed 1/3 up the volume scale, the sound is full and vibrant. I will eventually reconnect my home theater speakers, but unless you're filling a really large room, you should have no issues with the sound as is. My only grips is with the interface of the Amazon streaming app. Unlike the one on my Roku, you get a very limited set of selections on screen, though you can search their offerings pretty easily. In conclusion, you probably read mixed reviews of Vizio products when compared to higher priced TVs by other manufacturers. I tend to prefer to let my eyes tell me what I like. All I can say that, if you are looking for a large LCD set with a remarkably clear image, lots of features and a price that won't bankrupt you, you cannot go wrong with this Vizio model. If you must have LED technology, 3-D and a "name" on the front panel, go elsewhere. (You can get Vizio models with those features, as well). But you won't go wrong with this E552VLE.

Was this review helpful? (175) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
joeattaboy
Fleming Island, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very happy with the 55" Vizio Flatscreen
5/2/2012

Customer review by waygoofy

5.0 stars 5/2/2012 by waygoofy
by waygoofy

Purchased the 55" Vizio yesterday. It's so big it was tricky to unpack but was packaged well. I also bought a HDMI cable to go from cable box to TV. Once the base was intalled it took about 5 minutes to plug it in and go through the setup. The picture quality is amazing. My wife was abit shocked at it's size but is use to it already. We replaced a Sony rear projection that the screen was starting to darken on. Today, back to Walmart to get another HDMI cable for the Blueray - DVD player. Got that hooked up in a short period of time. It took about 15 minutes to get into Dirtect TV's website to program the Vizio into the Direct TV remote. The first code given worked for the remote. Only other remote needed now is the DVD player remote. THe factory warranty is only a year and on second thought I bought a 5 year warranty through Vizio. With my luck the TV would probably "Die" the day after the one year warranty ran out.

Was this review helpful? (119) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
waygoofy
Seems like a great value...
4/28/2012

Customer review by BillyDM

4.0 stars 4/28/2012 by BillyDM
by BillyDM

We've had it a few weeks and the picture is great! The sound is awesome, and it was easy to set up.

Was this review helpful? (95) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BillyDM
Oxford, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I LOVE LOVE LOVE this TV
6/28/2012

Customer review by KDB0923

5.0 stars 6/28/2012 by KDB0923
by KDB0923

I did a lot of comparison shopping when looking for a Flat Screeen TV. The TV has an amazing picture. During the set up to connect to the Internet I was having problems entering my Router Password. The Vizio FAQ said that the router must be within 30ft of the TV. Mine are located on opposite sides of the house. I purchased a range extender and placed it half way between the office and familiy area. But still no luck in connecting. After speaking with Vizio and Verizon FIOS we finally were able to get the internet to connect. I have a Verizon router that runs WEP. The TV REQUIRES the router to run WPA. The Vizio rep said to contact my cable company and have them change the Router to run on WPA and to also open Ports 80 and 443. Once this was completed by the Cable Tech on their end, I had to clear the settings on the TV back to the Factory setting and then run through the set up again. When entering the new router WPA password I was able to connect to the internet and complete the setup. I returned the Range extender and saved myself $78. I also had to go through the Menu settings using the cable remote, go to settings, video settings and change the picture type from 720p to 1080p. Over all I love this TV and highly recommend it. My room is 19ft long and once I had the tv set-up the picture was so vivid, crisp and clear. I also realized that I could have done a 65" with no problem. FYI, look on the back of your router and it will tell you if your router runs WEP or WPA. The number listed next to it is your router password.

Was this review helpful? (72) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KDB0923
Dallas/Fort Worth, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
THIS T.V IS AMAZAING!!!!!
4/26/2012

Customer review by XxSTIZZxX

5.0 stars 4/26/2012 by XxSTIZZxX
by XxSTIZZxX

Just got this t.v today and I'm loving it the picture quality is amazing and clear. I noticed some people complaining on YouTube about this t.v about lag issue when playing video games on this t.v and even when watching it. I have not experienced this problem this t.v is awesome and I highly recommend people to buy it you will love it and it has internet apps. :-)

Was this review helpful? (117) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
XxSTIZZxX
Bad remote experience
5/20/2012

Customer review by JMA8820

4.0 stars 5/20/2012 by JMA8820
by JMA8820

This TV is awesome. Great picture and options. However the reason for this review is not to point out the obvious or rant and rave about what you can see in any store looking at this TV, but to warn people about an important part of the user experience with this TV that leaves me baffled. The remote is designed to control everything on this TV. It has dedicated buttons for the Netflix and other internet options. It looks like it will control your DVD player and also cable box. The problem is I have to push the buttons over and over and over, waving the remote all around the front of the TV from a distance of 6 feet away to over 20 feet away from the TV. It's like the sensor on the TV doesn’t recognize when you are PUSHING the buttons on the TV's remote control. Big let down, after spending about $1k for a new TV.

Was this review helpful? (58) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JMA8820
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
SOUND PROBLEMS AFTER 1-2 months!
5/18/2012

Customer review by Carly2468

1.0 stars 5/18/2012 by Carly2468
by Carly2468

The volume started to go off a few weeks ago. You have to turn channels or turn the tv off and back on to get the sound back. The past few days, the sound now goes down and then back up. Decided to do a google search on "vizio sound problems 55" and there are lots of sound issues! Will be returning and I have a feeling that some other reviewers here might encounter the same problem after having it a while! Trying to save you a headache!

Was this review helpful? (60) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Carly2468
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Amazing TV
5/8/2012

Customer review by Monte561

5.0 stars 5/8/2012 by Monte561
by Monte561

This TV is great. The picture quality is awesome I've gotten so many compliments. For only 998 you cannot go wrong with this tv.

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Monte561
New jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great tv
5/15/2012

Customer review by SingleMomBargainHound

5.0 stars 5/15/2012 by SingleMomBargainHound
by SingleMomBargainHound

Pros: This tv is wonderful, it was everything I was expecting for an awesome price. Very attractive edging, great sound, great picture. Cons...?: The lag that people were talking about does exist, however it is not a flaw of the television and quite simple to fix. Go to settings and select game mode, it will say it is on but you must select it to turn it on, and it only lags for video games like Call of Duty on Xbox 360. The only downer is that you have to turn game mode on every time you play those types of games. I don't think it's really a con, unless you're lazy.

Was this review helpful? (28) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SingleMomBargainHound
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome picture and decent price.
9/5/2012

Customer review by 123jrod

4.0 stars 9/5/2012 by 123jrod
by 123jrod

I bought this tv 9/01/2012. I got everthing all set up and then I discovered that the remote wasn't working. So I checked out the batteries with a volt meter and the voltage was good. I then called Vizeo customer support and the woman was very nice and helpful. She decided to send me a replacement remote for free which was great but there would be a 7-10 day waiting period for the replacement remote. I'm very impatient by nature so I decided to take the suspected non-working remote back to Walmart just to verify that was the problem. When I got there I explained myself the the Walmart associate and we tested the remote on the store demo tv and it worked. Now I know for sure that the remote sensor in the tv is bad so I had to go home, repack the tv, bring it back to the store and Walmart replaced it very quick. Aside from the inconveinance of buying the tv, setting it up, tearing it back down, bringing it back to the store, bringing the replacement tv back home, setting it back up. I'm very happy with this tv and all that it offers. I would recommend this model to everyone. I think it is acceptable that there will be problems time to time with new products. I would recommend that everyone should buy the extended warranty plan through Walmart for every product that is subjected to everyday use and for peace of mind. Vizeo customer support was great. I also use the Site to Store for items that Walmart dosen't have on the shelfs. I never have had any problems and you can just about order anything and pick it up at Walmart with no shipping charges. Do your homework, choose wisely but nine times out of ten Walmart has the best of the best or will get it for you.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
123jrod
Watertown, SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
***GAMER FANATICS READ***
8/24/2012

Customer review by Justin777

5.0 stars 8/24/2012 by Justin777
by Justin777

Hello, Just wanna tell you guys I bought mine a year ago and works like brand new! When I bought the TV it was $998. I use it EVERYDAY for my computer monitor and Television. This tv is excellent If you rather save a grand than have "PERFECT QUALITY"... Obviously you would be skeptical over the price and the size of TV. The TV itself isnt super thin but it makes up for the sound that thinner tvs dont have, Also the tv lets off heat so it vents it out aswell.. I'm a gamer and watch Netflix and play xbox 360 on it and works and looks great!!! Battlefield 3, Modern Warefare 3, and Skyrim look AMAZING on this Tv. (I would highly recommend buying a HDMI cable before leaving the store). Not to mention once you can actually SEE what your shooting at haha. Your gaming experience will dramatically increase trust me. Best bang for the buck and I would recommend it even to my enemy. -Every product is different though, If you buy the TV and its broken or breaks take it back with receipt- Take care guys

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Justin777
Gulfport, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pleased with our purchase
5/24/2012

Customer review by coolmom1234

4.0 stars 5/24/2012 by coolmom1234
by coolmom1234

Shopped around a long time before buying a 55 inch TV. This one seemed to have the best reviews and had a good price for what we were looking for. Great picture, easy setup, love the built in Wifi. Only problem I can see is the sound, when set lower it seems to go up and down a little. Don't seem to have this problem when turned up higher.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
coolmom1234
Vale, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
overall a great TV for the price, size, quality
6/20/2012

Customer review by TnTTheo

5.0 stars 6/20/2012 by TnTTheo
by TnTTheo

I normally purchase Plasma but, after my last one failed I decide to go with a LCD. runs alot cooler, picture is viewable from all angles (this was a great concern). Picture is beautiful, has a built in WiFi which is cool but time consuming because u do not have a keyboard to use. You have to type in the letters one at a time via the remote and a keypad on screen. I havent checked yet but if I can add a wireless keyboard to it I would use the WiFi capabilities more often. Other than that one issue, you cannot beat this TV.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TnTTheo
Chillicothe, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Almost made it a week!
10/24/2012

Customer review by FloridaThunderSports

1.0 stars 10/24/2012 by FloridaThunderSports
by FloridaThunderSports

I bought this set on 10/1/2012 and the set started sutting off on its own on the 2nd day. I called Vizio and I guess this is a common problem due to a bad power board. I guess ill have to return it and spend the extra hunderd and get the LED model.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FloridaThunderSports
Superior, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
WiFi HDTV SUPERB FOR WIRELESS NETFLIX
5/24/2012

Customer review by SDMikey

5.0 stars 5/24/2012 by SDMikey
by SDMikey

The TV sets up very easy for wireless connection to video streaming services such as NETFLIX. Excellent video and audio and onscreen menus. I loaded hundreds of pictures onto a usb flash drive and plugged into usb port. Instant slide show! Very impressive. I have been watching NETFLIX for several weeks now without a single 'buffering' message. It is just a superb HDTV.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SDMikey
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellant TV for the price
5/13/2012

Customer review by ajrayan

5.0 stars 5/13/2012 by ajrayan
by ajrayan

Bought this tv to replace our huge outdated big screen...and absolutely love it! Very nice style and great picture...would definately recommend and purchase again Well worth the money and then some :)

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ajrayan
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Really a GREAT TV
5/28/2012

Customer review by ShooterD

5.0 stars 5/28/2012 by ShooterD
by ShooterD

This is a Great TV and the price is unbelievable. I had a toshiba 46" DLP and I have a Mitsubusi 65" DLP this Vizio beats the Picture by a mile on either of them and they are good. I only gave the Sound a 4 because you cannot set treble or bass or balance. I purchased the Vizio sound bar and it really helps. If you want a 55" TV for right at $1000.00 by this one and Wal-Mart has the best price!!!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShooterD
Las Vegas NV.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/15/2012

Customer review by Kpfd67

3.0 stars 5/15/2012 by Kpfd67
by Kpfd67

This TV has a nice picture but the sound quality doesn't match. I not really liking the fact that there are only 5 AV/ In / Out ports on the back of the tv. Makes it hard to attach other devices. The price was right for a SMART tv. Recommend surround sound system if you want Movie theater sound.

Was this review helpful? (17) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kpfd67
Odenton, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best Value for this Size - Speakers in Front.
10/12/2012

Customer review by songkrai

5.0 stars 10/12/2012 by songkrai
by songkrai

This is a great TV. TV speakers are in the FRONT of TV. Sound quality is very good at any level. In fact I also purchased a Vizio soundbar and have not installed it yet. Most other brands of TV at this size have the speaker in the rear. A TV with speaker in the rear is a gamble as far as sound/listening goes. A rear facing speaker bounces the sound off of the rear wall. If you want an excellent TV with speakers in front then this is the one. Vizio is one of the few brands that still has sound speakers in the front facing you. A real advantage for better sound/listening. The picture quality is superb. This TV has a multiplicity of APPS. Almost mandatory for a TV today. Yes, one does have to pay a modest subscription for most. But well worth it if you like HULU or Netflix and others. If I were purchasing a TV at this size again, I would purchase this one. I have had this TV for a year now with zero issues. All in all a superb television.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
songkrai
New England
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Panel Issue After Only a Year
11/23/2012

Customer review by Yolo123

1.0 stars 11/23/2012 by Yolo123
by Yolo123

This TV was good while it lasted. Then the picture started blurring and the colors started blurring together. This was after the 1 year warranty. I called a technician and they came out to take a look (which cost 179.00). They said it was a panel problem which would not even be worth trying to fix. I am so mad. This was a waste of money. Vizio is not made for longevity. I'm going to buy a Samsung next.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Yolo123
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 114 total reviews
1-20 of 114 reviews