Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 198 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

198 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

198 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
137
4 stars
33
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 stars
16
1-20 of 146 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 146 total reviews
1-20 of 146 reviews
Very Disappointing HDTV
8/21/2012

Customer review by cajungenes

1.0 stars 8/21/2012 by cajungenes
by cajungenes

I have enjoyed a wireless blueray player for a while now. So when I went to get a new TV, builtin wireless and smarttv options were a must. I was really happy with this Vizio at first, but after only four weeks I am having so many issues with it I am returning it. At first it had random issues where the sound wouldn't come on. I would have to turn the set on and off and finally the sound would work again. Also the wireless networking would freeze, stop streaming, lockup and other assorted problems. I thought maybe the problem was with my network or provider. Nope, I tried reaching Netflix through my DVD player on my same network and provider and guess what? No problems. This set is very buggy and has intermittent problems that come and go. I would not recommend it to anyone and I will not be bringing another one home. You get what you pay for I guess.

cajungenes
Baton Rouge, La
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Wifi speeds almost dialup
7/26/2012

Customer review by tbbjr

1.0 stars 7/26/2012 by tbbjr
by tbbjr

While the picture quality is good, the reason I bought this tv is because of its wifi capabilities and the 802.11N card. Unfortunatley not all 802.11N cards are equal and this card only pulls in wifi at around 100-300kbps. Straight line of sight and only 25 feet from an 802.11N base station. Amazingly, when connected by ethernet the speed still maxes out at only 5mbps, half of my measured ISP speeds. This is actually our 2nd Vizio, the first one had a bad sound card in it and was returned. If you want high wifi performance out of your tv, don't buy Vizio. If you already have a Vizio and streaming video is constantly buffering, you'll benefit from getting an external wifi device like an Apple TV Box. Solved my crummy Vizio wifi performance.

tbbjr
Would recommend to a friend? No
Warrantee is no good.
8/4/2013

Customer review by OldMan13

2.0 stars 8/4/2013 by OldMan13
by OldMan13

After using this TV for 2 months, I started having trouble with 2 HD channels. Both channel pictures would continually go blank for about ½ second then return. The sound would remain on but the screen would go blank. VIZIO strung me along for two months eventually sending a technician to replace parts, which did not correct the problem. I was then told that VIZIO would replace the TV. They did not. After another 2 weeks they cancelled the replacement, telling me that it wasn’t their problem, It was a cable problem even though I don’t have the same problem with any other of my TVs that are on the same cable. And they wanted me to take an extended warrantee...HA! The first one is no good. Oh, other than this problem, the TV is fine.

OldMan13
Alabama, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Great Buy
7/19/2012

Customer review by budgeter

4.0 stars 7/19/2012 by budgeter
by budgeter

I did some research before buying this TV. I had a specific price range and wanted a Vizio. I'm happy to say this was a great buy. I actually got a little more bang for my buck with the higher hertz (120) and the wifi. The wifi is great with one downside, you cannot load all the apps you want. There is a limit of about 20. I know you can pair an iPad for remote controlling but I'm not seeing where you can use a Bluetooth keyboard. The picture quality is great and the menu offerings are good for the price point. The surround sound is also good quality. If you're on the fence you can't go wrong with this TV. I plan to buy a bigger screen next year and will stick with Vizio. Hope this helps.

budgeter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Great buy for the price
8/17/2012

Customer review by Tyrant

5.0 stars 8/17/2012 by Tyrant
by Tyrant

I have had this particular television for over a month but just set in up 5 days ago. I am truly in love with this tv. I don't understand why people are giving negative reviews. The tv quality is excellent everything shows clear. I was having a problem with the remote in the beginning but that was due to something blocking the sensor on the television. The only negative thing that I have to say about this tv is, I hate that it does have the option to rotate. That definitely something I love about my LG. I wish there was more apps for the tv but I hear that Vizio is trying to allow more apps. Which is definitely cool.

Tyrant
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
VIZIO SMART TV WIFI
3/29/2013

Customer review by tp3262

2.0 stars 3/29/2013 by tp3262
by tp3262

I am please with the picture quality but displease with the wifi connection. I have another tv that is a different brand and also has wifi built in it and for some reason the Vizio's wifi connection is so slow compared to my other tv. I have high speed internet connection. My other tv, you just press the button and it comes on in seconds! Takes about a good minute for the apps to come up with the Vizio. Frustrating at times but for the price I paid, I guess it will do for now but I will not purchase another Vizio once again. Will stick to Panasonic!

tp3262
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love Vizio
4/6/2013

Customer review by Jcelmer

5.0 stars 4/6/2013 by Jcelmer
by Jcelmer

This is our second Vizio Smart TV in a year. The convenience associated with accessing netflix, etc without wires is paramount. The TVs work great. I've only had one problem with them so far: if you watch a certain channel or netflix for two long they go into sleep mode. Sometimes it happens after only 45 minutes but that is rare. The screen brightens up again if you push a button. We got this tv for $400 free ship which is an awesome deal - kinda wish we'd gotten two. Our next TV will be a vizio. They are by far the best TVs in their price range.

Jcelmer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Worked for less than 1 hour
3/23/2013

Customer review by BllondeCowgirl

1.0 stars 3/23/2013 by BllondeCowgirl
by BllondeCowgirl

I purchased this TV because of the bargain price and because I wanted wi-fi. It was easy to set up and the picture was bright and clear - for about 1 hour. Then the picture got darker - I could stilll see the images, but the clarity was gone. I turned it on again the next day and noticed that the picture quality faded in and out. I returned it in less than 48 hours. Valuable lesson - you get what you pay for.

BllondeCowgirl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Very good purchase
4/5/2013

Customer review by CaptainRon

5.0 stars 4/5/2013 by CaptainRon
by CaptainRon

This our 4th Vizio TV set. We really enjoy the ease of operation with WiFi. We can access movies quickly and easily. We enjoy this as our main set, instead of other, larger Visio TV sets we have. Picture quality is sharp, clear and very hi-definition. Operation of the apps on the set is very easy and convenient. We would and have recommended this TV set to friends and family.

CaptainRon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great Buy
3/24/2013

Customer review by ladylo30

5.0 stars 3/24/2013 by ladylo30
by ladylo30

I have only had the TV for about a month but so far so good. This is my second VIZIO and I think that I really holds it own against its competitors. The picture is awesome and I really love the Wi-Fi feature which allows us to stream movies and video. I will be looking to purchase a larger TV soon for my family room 50" or larger and I will most likely be going with a VIZIO.

ladylo30
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Keep looking!
1/10/2013

Customer review by sassysr

3.0 stars 1/10/2013 by sassysr
by sassysr

We purchased this set last week, mainly because of price and Consumer Report's rating. The picture is fuzzy at times, the color is rather blah, and even setting the color, contrast, etc. higher did not help the picture that much. Be assured this is our first and last Vizio product. We are taking it back and trading for a Sony.

sassysr
Chapin, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Returned
4/12/2013

Customer review by pelosa01

1.0 stars 4/12/2013 by pelosa01
by pelosa01

Had to return it after 5 days. HDMI ports and RCA ports didn't work and it started shutting itself off. Sounds like it might be a problem with the system board. Sams was great on the return. Ordered online and was able to return to store. Went with a bigger model since the store didn't carry this model.

pelosa01
KS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Still waiting to be connected
7/9/2012

Customer review by AlLly

4.0 stars 7/9/2012 by AlLly
by AlLly

After 5days of frustration in trying to connect to my network, with phone help from vizio, AT&T ...I am now waiting for a professional to make an in home service call....there may be some thing wrong with the tv itself.....has anyone else had such a problem? All my other wireless products work fine.

AlLly
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Happy with my purchase
7/14/2012

Customer review by JillM

5.0 stars 7/14/2012 by JillM
by JillM

I recently purchased my 42" Vizio TV and was worried that it wouldn't measure up to a LG or Samsung, but I am very pleased with my purchase. The set-up was easy and I was able to access Netflix easily. :) PICTURE QUALITY AND SOUND ARE GREAT! Happy customer!

JillM
ND
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Good value
7/18/2012

Customer review by Xeroid1

5.0 stars 7/18/2012 by Xeroid1
by Xeroid1

Sound and picture quality are good. It would be nice to have an S-video input and an additional comp input. Older input devices do not have HDMI outputs which means that this TV is limited to coax and comp inputs. Operator manual leaves much to be desired.

Xeroid1
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
7/18/2012

Customer review by DDavis

4.0 stars 7/18/2012 by DDavis
by DDavis

I have had a slight problem with a white line across the top if the picture in SD mode, which thr Crarter Tech said was comming from the broadcaster and not a problem with the TV set. My neighber does not have this problem with his other brand of TV

DDavis
Traverse City, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Very Poor Customer Service From Vizio
3/18/2013

Customer review by TheChemist

1.0 stars 3/18/2013 by TheChemist
by TheChemist

I bought this TV on August 19, 2012 because I wanted an inexpensive TV for my bedroom. The picture quality isn't all that great (Blacks & Flesh-tones are awful), but the price was low, so you get what you pay for. By the beginning of March 2013, the Vizio logo on the front of the TV will no longer illuminate when you power the TV off. Since the color of the Vizio Logo is used for diagnostics (white on, orange off), I called Vizio customer support to let them know about my issue. After the customer service rep spoke to me, she put me on hold and contacted a service representative. The service rep diagnosed the problem to be a failing LED. The customer service rep put me on hold and started to set up a service visit. When she came back on the line, the customer service rep told me that Vizio will not repair the failing LED since the picture and sound on the TV are still working. I really can't believe that Vizio will not repair the failing LED that illuminates the Vizio logo on the front of the TV. The color and flash rate of the logo are used for diagnostic trouble codes when a problem arises with the TV circuitry. Now I have no way to tell what the problem is when a part inside the TV fails. It also amazes me that this is their "LOGO" that will now not illuminate when the TV is off. It is supposed to be a bright orange "VIZIO" logo showing off their brand name. If Vizio won't repair something as simple as a failing LED, the horror stories I have read about Visio Service on all the A/V forums must indeed be true! Granted it would cost Vizio to send a repair person to my house to fix the problem, but they must not really care about their products being 100% functional. This is the first and the last Vizio product I will ever purchase.

TheChemist
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Enjoying the Smart TV
4/6/2013

Customer review by tjordan

5.0 stars 4/6/2013 by tjordan
by tjordan

Its a great tv and i am enjoying it.. THe only problem is the remote. its hard to press letters to browse on the apps such as youtube and the youtube app freeze up alot but other than that the tv shows great pics and I love it..

tjordan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Great tv
6/22/2012

Customer review by PTCruzar

5.0 stars 6/22/2012 by PTCruzar
by PTCruzar

I was so impressed with my 47" VIZIO LCD TV that I purchased the same model (same specs), only smaller (42"). The only thing I'm bummed about is since I don't have HD in my master bed, the picture quality isn't great.

PTCruzar
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
for the price I love, like the wi-fi apps
4/16/2013

Customer review by socalval

4.0 stars 4/16/2013 by socalval
by socalval

So far I like the TV, just wish the wi-fi could surf the net. I can only access the wi-fi thru the provided apps. I thought I could go to web sites that I choose like ABC and Fox to watch episodes. Love Pandora app.

socalval
upland, C
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
1-20 of 146 total reviews
1-20 of 146 reviews