Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 134 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

134 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

134 reviews | 4 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
71
4 stars
34
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 stars
18
1-20 of 110 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 110 total reviews
1-20 of 110 reviews
Great for a monitor!
4/29/2012

Customer review by slovy

5.0 stars 4/29/2012 by slovy
by slovy

I'm a computer enthusiast and gamer, and I wanted something bigger than the 22" Acer monitor I was using before. This TV really fit the bill, and was a heck of a value as well. Now I can do all my gaming and movie watching in crisp 1080p. I can't comment on the sound of this set, as I am using a quality set of 2.1 speakers instead. I was a bit disappointed that the USB feature of the TV only supports very low resolution video, but as I have the set hooked up to my computer anyway, it's not much of a problem. This TV would be a great purchase for a console gamer, as it's fairly large, full HD, and can be bought for under $350. I guess that's all. Hope I helped anyone looking into this set!

Was this review helpful? (121) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
slovy
Missoula, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great for the money
4/27/2012

Customer review by badge531

5.0 stars 4/27/2012 by badge531
by badge531

I have had this tv for a week. I bought it more for gaming than just watching tv from my local Walmart. It was easy to set up and has an awesome picture, both when gaming and watching tv. I have read other reviews for other tv's complaining about the sound, but the sound on this tv is very good. I may even purchase a second one for the bedroom.

Was this review helpful? (215) (37)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
badge531
Verona, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV
4/28/2012

Customer review by watervalleygal

5.0 stars 4/28/2012 by watervalleygal
by watervalleygal

What a great buy for a really nice LCD tv. Bought this set today and set it up without any problems. Great picture and sound, I bought this to go in my bedroom and so far, I couldn't be happier with this purchase. Thanks Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (97) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
watervalleygal
Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Great Bang for the Buck!
6/17/2012

Customer review by a6m5

5.0 stars 6/17/2012 by a6m5
by a6m5

I've been wanting to move up from my 720p Sharp, but had been too cheap to upgrade to 1080p. I was looking between 37" to 42" screen size, with 1080p capability, so I can get more from my Playstation 3/Blu-ray. I had hoped to find one under $400, but closer to $300, so when I found this on Walmart.com, I started to research it a bit. I've always been fond of the Emerson brand, but this TV is actually manufactured by Funai, a Japanese company. They are no SONY or Panasonic, but I've always heard good thing about them. I've come across a few DOA(dead on arrival), or defective unit reviews, but from my experience on extensive HDTV review research, just about every make, every model have those problems. I decided to take a chance on this Emerson/Funai. Picture: The bang for the buck in this department is just unbelievable. All I can say is thank you to Emerson & Funai. Most of what I see on the on-air TV are 1080i or 720p, but they still look great. Whether you like rich color, bright, or dark, they are easily adjusted in the "menu" mode using the remote. Sound: It is just OK, and not very loud. Still, the sound quality is superior to my older Sharp 720p that it replaces. Like most people, I have a surround sound system(Yamaha) hooked up, so I can use that for the movies on DVD or Blu-ray. Set-up: Unbelievably easy, and like most flat-panel TV, it doesn't weigh anything. Assembly requires screwing on the stand, and you are done. As far as the wiring/connection, I have HDMI cable to my Playstation 3. I don't play games anymore, but it serves as my Netflix/DVD/Blu-ray player. My second hook-up is the antenna for off-air free TV. Finally, the power cord, and I was done. TV pretty much walked me thru the set-up as far as channel scanning, picture adjustment, etc. If you've done it before, it's a cake. ETC.: Only "con" on this TV, and it's not a big deal for me, would be the remote. It is functional, but it is perhaps overly simple, and very cheaply built. For the closed caption, you have to actually go into the menu to turn it on, which is bit of a pain. The whole adjustments you can make with the caption is a whole other matter(change colors, size, etc.). Exterior of the TV is not at all fancy, but I couldn't care less about that. It's a clean design, and that's all I ask. Taking it home, box was so compact, I had no problem loading it in the backseat of my car with ease. Untested part of course is the reliability. All I can tell you is that I've had this TV for just over a week now, I've used it a lot(hours & hours, it's great lol), and it's been flawless. It's such a great TV, and I still can't believe how affordable this TV is. Thanks again to Emerson, Funai & Walmart, too.

Was this review helpful? (60) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
a6m5
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
AWESOME TV
5/9/2012

Customer review by Brightshadow

5.0 stars 5/9/2012 by Brightshadow
by Brightshadow

I bought this TV yesterday and looks perfect in my bedroom. Really easy to set. Great picture and sound. Very good price. Better than VIZIO or SANYO. I will recommended it.

Was this review helpful? (88) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Brightshadow
Miami, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best tv ever!!!!
5/7/2012

Customer review by Evanw

5.0 stars 5/7/2012 by Evanw
by Evanw

Customers seem too concerned about brand names when buying a tv. Everyone things Vizio, Samsung,etc... are the best tvs to buy, well they are if you have a ton of money. As a college student I am broke but wanted a big tv for my room! This tv is perfect and I don't notice the difference between Emerson and Vizio other then the fact that I can afford the Emerson. All in all this tv is amazing and I will recommend Emerson tvs to all!

Was this review helpful? (40) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Evanw
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very satisfied, with a couple of minor exceptions.
6/24/2012

Customer review by EastCoastMathWiz

4.0 stars 6/24/2012 by EastCoastMathWiz
by EastCoastMathWiz

Overall, I am very satisfied with this purchase. The TV displays an excellent picture and the overall quality is very good. Before purchasing this TV, I considered other TVs with rock bottom prices. However, I decided on this one because the price was on the low end, but the overall quality of this TV was much better than similar TVs with rock bottom prices. I watch over-the-air programming using a roof top TV antenna. I also watch a lot of internet programming by hooking up my laptop to this TV. The three HDMI ports on the side of the TV are very convenient for connecting my laptop to the TV. The base is solid but does not swivel. The picture quality is excellent! The only minor drawbacks I've noticed are: -There is no electronic programming guide built into the TV. You can see info about the program you are currently watching, but you can't see what's coming up. It's not too big of a big deal for me because I use my phone to access an online TV guide. -The TV does not display the time of day. -The sound is a little on the tinny side. However, there is a built-in equalizer that I've been fiddling with. Perhaps I just haven't figured out the best equalizer settings yet... If the TV had an electronic programming guide and displayed the time of day, I would have rated it with 5 stars. Please know that this opinion of a person who does not watch a lot of TV and does not need a top of the line TV to enjoy watching TV.

Was this review helpful? (42) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EastCoastMathWiz
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
WAS SURPRISED
5/16/2012

Customer review by jcdawg

5.0 stars 5/16/2012 by jcdawg
by jcdawg

bought this tv on 5/15/12. read that it had great reviews. took a chance on it and i was very surprised. the picture is very sharp the tv stand was very easy to hook up and it was easy to connect everything to. the sound is good. i did buy the extended warranty just for peace of mind. if your looking for a good 39"tv this is the one for you.

Was this review helpful? (32) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jcdawg
prattville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Emerson LC391EM3 - Great TV, Features & Price
7/20/2012

Customer review by Northerner26

4.0 stars 7/20/2012 by Northerner26
by Northerner26

I ended up with this Emerson 39" LC391EM3 mostly because my local Walmart had it in stock so i could actually see what the picture looked like & i knew what i was getting. It took a little bit of messing in the menu to get it set the way i like but its ready for many years of use (i hope). the sound isn't to bad and i probably wont worry about getting a sound bar or anything but will see? I paid a total of about $392 for the TV, 2yr extended warranty (3 years total) and tax and i see from the website its still on sale for $328 and my luck the price will probably drop now that i bought it? Some channels look a LOT sharper then others so i would guess that has something to do with HD? I am happy i can clearly see the picture when i am at my computer desk as they are both against the same wall. I was looking for a TV with the 178-degree vertical and 178-degree horizontal angles but wasn't to worried since i had an old stand that swivels but glad this one has that feature, although it isn't listed in the features on Walmart's site. The main thing i don't like, in fact i hate a LOT and its with most all TV's is the shiny black frame. why cant it be a dull/flat black with a rough surface to help hide fingerprints and smudges? It is the dumbest thing i have ever seen and just cant figure out why they would do it? I haven't tried it yet but the PC feature for viewing pictures and .AVI movies is going to be way cool. I really wish it could view .PDF files so that way i could read some e-books on my TV. a few things i don't like is the remote for this TV, all the buttons are square and flat and i cant get a feel where certain ones are without looking. At least with other remotes such as my TiVo i can just feel and know what button is what by the contour or little nub some have sticking up. and the base that mounts to the bottom takes three screws which are way to short, it only catches a few threads before getting tight and i don't like that, would hate to bump the TV and have it break off the base because the screws weren't threaded in far enough. So overall its a good TV but its my first LCD so i'm not very experienced but i am VERY detail oriented, i like the picture and quality so it will get the job done for now. and in several years when this thing dies i'm sure LED's will be cheaper or something better will be invented by then? I would recommend this to anyone looking and if i end up having problems i will report back and also hope its still under warranty. (3 years)

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Northerner26
Vermillion, SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV for first 90 days.
11/8/2012

Customer review by larryt2919

1.0 stars 11/8/2012 by larryt2919
by larryt2919

Was a great TV for the first 90 days. Then picture would not come on. Unplugged from wall and plugged back in and worked for another 30 days. Now won't come on at all. I guess that's why it only has a 90 day warranty. Now it's a boat anchor.

Was this review helpful? (24) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
larryt2919
Conyers, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This is a Wonderful Buy!
6/28/2012

Customer review by Bad1986

5.0 stars 6/28/2012 by Bad1986
by Bad1986

I purchased this TV as an upgrade to the 26' inch that I had in the living room. I wanted something larger for movies and gaming but wasn't willing to spend a fortune. I was looking for a 40' inch under $400, and then I found this 39' inch for $328 plus tax it came to about $344, still UNDER $350 bucks! The picture is crisp and clean, and the sound is terrific. The base attaches easily with 3 screws and the set-up took me less than 3 minutes, if you are looking for the best bang for your buck then this TV is for you!

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bad1986
Alexandria, Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Emerson 39" LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LC391EM3
5/29/2012

Customer review by Gizmoette

5.0 stars 5/29/2012 by Gizmoette
by Gizmoette

We are very satisfied with our new flat screen! The picture is extremely clear, and we can adjust the picture and set it at whatever we desire also! In other words, the TV has about five settings that are pre-set, and then the owners can adjust and save their settings to suit them also. We are really pleased with the TV and especially the price, which is a real bargain for the money!!! We would recommend this to a friend indeed!

Was this review helpful? (21) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gizmoette
Shelby, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product for size and price
12/29/2012

Customer review by timnsac2

4.0 stars 12/29/2012 by timnsac2
by timnsac2

I started looking at new T.V.'s before Thanksgiving. I wanted a TV that was larger then my 32" Visio so I could transfer the Visio to my bedroom and use the new one for the living room. I compared most brands and took into consideration, LCD vs. LED, 720p VS. 1080 p, 36" VS. 39". To help narrow my search I decided that LCD would work for me, as long as it was 1080 p. I wanted at least 2 or 3 HDMI ports, and finally decided on the larger size (39"). From there I looked at the major manufacturers. Visio was always on my short list because of owning one for more then 3 yrs and never had a problem with it. I finally choose the Emerson after going into my local walmart and comparing the picture side by side. I recommend this to everyone looking for a new TV. I am pretty much a technical geek, but making a decision based on just words, descriptions, and specifications on a web site was not enough. Overall Picture quality, sound quality, and ease of use makes the Emerson a great choice. Hope this helps anyone looking to purchase a new TV.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
timnsac2
Sacramento CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Will not work with DISH Network receiver.
7/7/2012

Customer review by ABWC

3.0 stars 7/7/2012 by ABWC
by ABWC

I have a Dish Network receiver connected to my new Emerson TV model LC391EM3 with an HDMI cable. Everything is fine until I turn the TV off. When I turn the TV on I must disconnect the HDMI cable for 10 seconds and reconnect it to get reception from the satellite receiver. Either end of the HDMI cable can be disconnected and reconnected to restore input. I am on my 2nd TV, 2nd HDMI cable and 2nd receiver with this same problem. I've rebooted the TV and the receiver several times. I've tried turning the receiver off before the TV and all other combos of off and on. I can't be the only person in the USA trying to connect DISH Network to this TV. Emerson (Funai#, after 4 lengthy calls, has just given up. This TV is just right for my home so I hate to return it for another brand. I'll give Emerson #Funai) service one more call and if that doesn't work I'll have to return it for a different brand. Thank goodness for Walmart's return policy.

Was this review helpful? (14) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ABWC
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Never buy Emerson
12/14/2012

Customer review by NeverAgainEmerson

1.0 stars 12/14/2012 by NeverAgainEmerson
by NeverAgainEmerson

We bought an Emerson 32" TV. Started having trouble with it after 3 months. Sent it back to Emerson and they sent us a nice new "Referb" . LOL....Took no time at all for this to have sound problems. Emailed Emerson and they just ignored me. Needless to say we lost our money on this one. We will never buy another Emerson product. Buyers beware, You have been warned.

Was this review helpful? (14) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NeverAgainEmerson
Springfield,Mo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
9/13/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 9/13/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The picture wasn't clear, almost fuzzy look. When I returned the unit the the store, the salesman from the electronic dept. said he's heard the same description from other customers who returned the TV's.

Was this review helpful? (14) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Atlanta, Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Do not buy Emerson Products
11/11/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 11/11/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Wish i could put half or quarter start up here. I bought a 55" tv by emerson. It went out on the 14th of october, we are still waiting to hear from them. I have called and emailed a lot! No response. Horrible Customer servie!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (17) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
La Porte In 46351
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
stopped working after a month
6/5/2012

Customer review by tnaubr

1.0 stars 6/5/2012 by tnaubr
by tnaubr

I got this tv less than a month ago, and it doesnt turn on anymore.

Was this review helpful? (22) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tnaubr
las vegas, nv
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
my first flat hdtv emerson 39" class lcd 1080p
6/12/2012

Customer review by greg3325

5.0 stars 6/12/2012 by greg3325
by greg3325

this is my first hdtv and i have to say it was my best choice. the picture and sound is sharp and crisp. i read a few people saying something about the sound, this unit has about 7 different settings along with a personal setting with the help of a five band graphic equalizer adjustment. it is easy operate and easy to set up. the only downside is the time it takes to upload channels in the setup phase, but on the other hand it will give more channels if one only has stright cable. the tv may find 2.1 or 2.2 or 2.3 than it will go to channel three. with that knowledge i say it is worth waiting the extra minutes during setup. thank you walmart for selling this tv, i find emerson electronics to be very realible-greg

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
greg3325
volusia county
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Save Money Without Having to Settle
2/24/2013

Customer review by Dyrekai

5.0 stars 2/24/2013 by Dyrekai
by Dyrekai

First of all, let me say that I am a gamer and picture quality is very important to me. I had originally planned on buying a Samsung or another brand that is known for high quality products. After tirelessly researching and trying to find the TV that was right for me, I realized they were over my budget. I then decided to take a trip to my local Walmart, not planning on walking out with a brand new television. When I saw this beauty and the amazing price attached to it, I couldn't help myself. VALUE: 5/5 I am a big bargain hunter. After searching vigorously over the world wide web on sites such as Amazon, eBay, Best Buy, and others, this is one of the best deals I came across. I was a little concerned about buying a lesser-known Emerson brand TV, but I'm glad it didn't hold me back. MEETS EXPECTATIONS: 5/5 For the price, this TV met my expectations and surpassed them. PICTURE: 5/5 The picture quality is amazing. When I first booted up my Xbox on this television, I was very impressed. Colors are crisp, bright, and smooth. Gameplay is also very smooth. This television being 60Hz rather than 120Hz was a concern, but there are no issues, even in fast-paced games such as Call of Duty. One issue I experienced is that when I boot up my Xbox before turning my television on, the picture will be in standard definition rather than HD. I then have to restart the Xbox to get it in HD. This is not a big issue, but can be annoying if you have a habit of turning your console on before your TV. Also, if you aren't subscribed to high-definition channels from your service provider, standard definition can be a bit underwhelming on this TV; more so than others. However, after tinkering around with the settings, you can get a decent and tolerable picture. Note that this is ONLY an issue with standard definition channels, and after all, HD TVs are made for HD channels. SOUND: 4/5 Going from a gigantic CRT TV with plenty of room for hefty speakers to this much thinner, much lighter TV, the sound did sound a big "tinny" at first. I have since gotten very much used to it, and do not plan on buying a sound bar for it. As long as it's in a smaller room such as a bedroom, the sound will suit you just fine. In a living room, you might want to buy a sound bar. But most, if not all, HD TVs have underwhelming speakers because of the decreased amount of space compared to their CRT predecessors. FEATURES 5/5 No, this TV doesn't have a wide range of features, but it doesn't claim to either. What it does, it does very well. It has three HDMI inputs, a regular video input, an RGB input for your PC, and a USB port. All the input channels are very easy to switch back and forth to, as well. Let me say, I am far more than pleased that I decided to buy this rather than a more expensive one. I have absolutely no regrets. It's been about two months and I am still very pleased. Buy this, and save a little money and forget about having to settle for less than you want and deserve. You won't regret it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dyrekai
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 110 total reviews
1-20 of 110 reviews