Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 155 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

155 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

155 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

65%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
57
4 stars
43
3 stars
4
2 stars
11
1 stars
40
1-20 of 113 total reviews
65%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 113 total reviews
1-20 of 113 reviews
Lasted all of 7 months....
5/2/2012

Customer review by WallaceTheBrave

1.0 stars 5/2/2012 by WallaceTheBrave
by WallaceTheBrave

This TV wasn't bad while it lasted, though the sound was horrible (but I have a home theater system). Unfortunately, as March Madness kicked into high gear, one day it just went off and wouldn't turn back on. It was still under warranty, but I waited over two months, first for the repair contractors to do anything, then for Westinghouse to send them the parts, then to find out that one of the part was out of stock (from so many repairs), then to wait the required month from that date for a "replacement," which never materialized. At this point, I'm waiting on a refund. All this time, I've had no TV. Never again, Westinghouse. The product wasn't bad while it lasted, but it died far too soon, and Westinghouse customer service is garbage ("there's nothing we can do, sir"). I can't believe this TV is still being sold--apparently the issue I had is a common one, with the power board. Don't waste your time and money on this!

Was this review helpful? (197) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WallaceTheBrave
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
WHATEVER YOU DO DON'T BUY THIS TV
8/1/2012

Customer review by ToddG77

1.0 stars 8/1/2012 by ToddG77
by ToddG77

My review will be similar to others, purchased TV and it lasted 6 months before it just died. Picture quality was so so and sound was horrible on this set. Put in warranty claim with Westinghouse and they are flat out useless, I had to wait 30 days to see if they could get parts in, then I had to wait another 30 days to see if they could find a replacement (ironic the manufacture has NO TV's in stock!) They authorized me to send the TV back for a refund, and now they refuse to respond to calls, they claim there is nobody that can assist, and when I request to speak to a supervisor or somebody with authority they deny your request. I am still awaiting a response after shipping the TV back 3 weeks ago on a refund..... Walmart please stop selling an inferior product from a company that does not support their products or value their customers. This will be the LAST purchase of anything from Westinghouse, and I urge others to purchase with extreme caution.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ToddG77
Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
a bad batch of Tv's, spend money elsewhere...
7/20/2012

Customer review by Consumer911

1.0 stars 7/20/2012 by Consumer911
by Consumer911

Do NOT buy this TV, I bought one and was very happy with my purchase for five months. Then one day while watching a movie the screen just went dark, I called Westinghouse and was told that this model was a "bad batch" of tv's and that they would send a tech out to me. Tech never called, I called two weeks later and was told that the part was on backorder, I waited for one month from the original outage before calling again and was told that they would be happy to replace the tv... only they had no 46" tv's in stock, three 46 led's on their website and 2 lcd tv's all 46" yet these guys don't have any. So I was offered a 40" and a 22" of obvious even lesser quality TV and they tried to make it sound like this wonderful deal, IF I WANTED A SMALLER TV I WOULD HAVE PURCHASED A SMALLER ONE! Then I was told if I was still on backorder for another thirty days I could get a refund, that could take up to 90days. Horrible customer service I was hung up on by one of their call center employees. I asked to speak with a manager I was told to give them my number and one would get back to me, two days later still no call, now I have spoken with a manager and he said he would call me back on monday, today is friday.

Was this review helpful? (30) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Consumer911
Reno, NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very good deal on day one
8/31/2012

Customer review by ILikeFindingDeals

4.0 stars 8/31/2012 by ILikeFindingDeals
by ILikeFindingDeals

I just got this tv delivered today. The box was beat up on the top and there is a small knick in the top of the plastic, but on the back and very small. Otherwise it was packed well and in good shape. The screen is very beautiful, a little motion jumping even with 120 Hz, but not terrible. My only complaint would be that if you are standing, so slightly above the screen, and to the side, The color very quickly fades from vision. Don't know how this compares with other tvs, but just what I am seeing. I have no problem with the sound, it is easily loud enough, and isn't crackling or popping. The remote is very simple and most of the buttons are just used to change input. Since I did read losts of bad things in the other reviews, I dod go ahead and buy the 4 year warranty for an extra $50. Overall I definitely recommend this for anyone not wanting to spend $1500 - $2500 for something more top of the line. I will make more reviews as more time passes.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ILikeFindingDeals
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
4/19/2012

Customer review by organicfood

5.0 stars 4/19/2012 by organicfood
by organicfood

This TV was hanging on the display next to the Samsung and LG televisions and looked every bit as good, if not better. When I inquired about it the sales rep told me that it was also made by LG, which eased my concerns of buying a less popular brand. Although I had to drive across town to get one in stock, I am very happy that I decided to get this TV! The picture is incredible! No blurring or pixelizing! Contrast is excellent, blacks are black and brights are bright without having to sacrifice either end of the spectrum. Very little glare from lights in the room as well! Sound is better than most I have heard (but not important if you have a surround system like I do). There are no internet conections or fancy apps that clutter up the interface, it is just a simple, user friendly television.

Was this review helpful? (97) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
organicfood
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Don't waste your Money!!
12/28/2012

Customer review by Kyoshin

1.0 stars 12/28/2012 by Kyoshin
by Kyoshin

I'll start off by the good stuff, not expensive at all, good picture quality. But, it only lasted for a good 11 months and it just died, wouldn't turn on at all, "lucky" I was still under warranty. Everything was perfect for submitting my RMA in order to get it fixed, sent it to them, waited a good month, called them and they said it can't be fixed that I will get it replaced, sounds right... it was going to take around 3 weeks to get my new replacement. So I waited, called again and was told that they don't have the TV at the moment, that it was on back order that by next month a shipment was coming and as soon it was there I was going to be given a tracking number for my TV. Story short... same excuse since today Dec 28th, waiting since Aug 2012. I recommend saving the money and getting a Samsung or another good brand even if it costs you more, it will last longer and their custumer service is way better than Westinghouse.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kyoshin
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
4/17/2012

Customer review by LionNit

5.0 stars 4/17/2012 by LionNit
by LionNit

I was definitely skeptical about buying a lower priced LED TV, and I was unsure of the Westinghouse product quality. I have definitely been pleasantly surprised thus far. This TV is a great deal. The picture is fantastic. I upgraded from a smaller LCD, and I have to say this picture is better. I use it for mostly sports, football and baseball events, and the 120hz keeps up with the action. I do not game and rarely use blue ray or movies so I have no issues with the 2 HDMI ports. The cable HD set-up was smooth and easy, make sure your cable box is set to 1080P broadcast because when I first hooked up I thought the picture occasionally looked blurry with fast paced action, but when I realized my cable box was set to 720P, I changed it to 1080 and the picture has been flawless. I have been very pleasantly surprised by the sound quality, that was one of my big concerns after reading all the reviews. The sound is absolutely fine for watching TV in a normal size living room. You always have the option of connceting to a stereo system if you need the full sound effect. Overall I would recommend this TV and I just can't see spending any more on the higher priced brands when you get such a great quality picture from the Westinghouse for half the price.

Was this review helpful? (126) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LionNit
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
6/22/2012

Customer review by HORRIBLETV

1.0 stars 6/22/2012 by HORRIBLETV
by HORRIBLETV

I purchased 2 of these tvs from walmart for my home, at first I was very happy they have excellent pictures but after a week or two they both began having issues, I have now been through 6 televisions not 1, not 2 but 6 and everytime it is broke with the same issues......each time by the way you have to wait on a list that I have now been on for 40 days and they cant send me a tv until they have one and because there are so many broken it takes forever......BUYER BEWARE THIS IS RIDICULOUS......I bought this television 11/20/11 and still dont have a functioning TV...

Was this review helpful? (40) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HORRIBLETV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
"WARNING"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
8/13/2012

Customer review by Flash451

1.0 stars 8/13/2012 by Flash451
by Flash451

If you read this and buy it anyway you deserve what you get! I bought not one but two of these new great price. But you know what they say about you get what you pay for so true. I had problems with the one TV turning itself off and the sound on the other not so good. But I endured mainly because of the price. And I didn't buy an extended warranty either. 11 Months in one TV just turned off with just 4 laps to go in a Nascar race, and that was it no more power or anything. The other one the picture started going out first just the lower part left then the whole thing. Lucky both still under factory warranty. Westinghouse has been a real nightmare trying to get a refund. First they tried to tell me my warranty was expired lucky I still had receipt then they have some company call you to troubleshoot the problem over the phone yeah right just a stall tactic. This company puts your parts on order and says if they don't come in within ten days they will cancel work order and send you back to Westinghouse for replacement or refund. Of course no parts so the TV is on backorder till forever I guess they sure don't know. So I want a refund sure ship the TV back with their label and we will send refund from corporate in 8 to 10 days yeah right. I called corp. after the ten days they said oh I'll start your paperwork today ok how long don't know. I call back in a few days how long oh December 21 WHAT! this all started in July sorry we have a lot of refunds sir. They are NOT a member of BBB and many complants. I got it moved up some after telling them I'm getting ready to file complant with BBB. I would never ever buy a Westinghouse product again in my life! Oh and if you get trapped in the same mess don't let them talk you into shipping another TV to you because I heard they are refurbished but of course they won't tell you that ahead of time!

Was this review helpful? (40) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Flash451
Amarillo, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Beware!!!!
3/1/2013

Customer review by AmyKir

2.0 stars 3/1/2013 by AmyKir
by AmyKir

We bought this in December 2011. Never had a problem with it until three weeks ago. It just totally shut off. Wouldn't come back on. Thankfully, we bought a two year warranty with it. Called and they were very helpful. Sent out someone to look at it. They order a whole new motherboard. Just had the tech here, yesterday, and they replace the motherboard and the TV worked fine. Went to bed last night, shut off the TV, but this morning, turned the TV back on and it was on for half an hour and then it SHUT OFF again!!! It won't come back on. Called the place again and they have to send a tech back out to our place to confirm the TV is done, before they refund us. All we know, if we would have known this was going to happened, we could have gotten another TV...a totally different brand and been done with Westinghouse. Very disappointed. So, IF you are looking to buy this brand, please be ware. And buy the warranty with it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AmyKir
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Don't buy this tv!
5/22/2012

Customer review by mominoklahoma

1.0 stars 5/22/2012 by mominoklahoma
by mominoklahoma

I have had this set for almost 6 months and until today I would have told anyone to purchase it. Yesterday it turned itself off and won't power back on. I called Westinghouse who seemed helpful and said they would send out a technician. Which is accurate but when you call the tech company they tell you that they will diagnosis what is wrong with your set with the information they have been given and then see if the part is avaliable and if its not then it will be on back order for at least 10 days so the whole process of getting my tv fixed at a minimum will take 2 weeks and most likely 1 month with no television. Run away as fast as you can!

Was this review helpful? (29) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mominoklahoma
Ada, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Lasted almost 8 months
9/1/2012

Customer review by RippedJack

1.0 stars 9/1/2012 by RippedJack
by RippedJack

There were a couple of things I didn't like about this television. The clock simply doesn't work. Changing stations takes several seconds, surprisingly long when you're just sitting there. The sound is bad, but I got a sound bar for it. I loved the picture. All the positive reviews were written within the first few days or weeks of ownership. Eventually, your purchase will go south with no practical recourse whatsoever. Mine only lasted 8 months before it went dead in the middle of a show and refused to power up. Westinghouse support requires you return it at your own expense. And, they will not fix it, will not propose a suitable, let alone identical replacement, and you may never see it again or a reimbursement.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RippedJack
Rocky Mountains
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/19/2012

Customer review by Tut12

1.0 stars 8/19/2012 by Tut12
by Tut12

We never were able to plug this TV in... there were no screws included to attach it to the stand, and there was no guide/information book included for the TV. The delivery was fast but the set was left on my front porch, in the box, upside down. The box had 'right side up' symbols printed on it. We took this TV to the Walmart in town where they made a quick refund... very good service in the store. Immediately went to the electronics dept and purchased another TV!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tut12
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Bad news all aroiund
4/19/2012

Customer review by LifeLongDYI

1.0 stars 4/19/2012 by LifeLongDYI
by LifeLongDYI

This TV (46") was to replace a 32" full backlit LED so all the cabling, blu-ray player, wall plug, etc used were the same. The 32" TV was fairly new with a great picture and never a problem in any mode or setting. So there is no problem with anything but the new Westinghouse. Assembly (stand) and set up of the new Westinghouse was easy and straight forward. The remote is not easy to use and the TV response is quite slow. Initial picture was very good considering the price of $539. After about 15 minutes of ON time, and running in FILL picture mode, which I prefer, I began to see white flashes on the screen. They rapidly worsened and became almost continuous in FILL and OVERSCAN picture modes (1:1 and STANDARD are ok up to now). The flashes will be anywhere from a 2 to 3 inch thick horizontal white bar to the whole screen. I also noted when attaching the stand to the TV that the stand has been "bolted" to something, presumably this TV, before. The shiney screw head/washer scrapes into the metal coating on the stand were unmistakeable. The TV was not advertised or noted by WalMart as a return, open box, or refurbished item. Also, the accessories (remote, power supply, cord) were in rather "normal" looking zip lock bags. I called Westinghouse and they said I'd have to ship it to a service center as for this type of problem they wouldn't send out a service rep. I had called Westinghouse before I bought the TV and they said for a 46 inch or larger TV they would send out a service rep and I wouldn't have to ship it if it had any problems. Go figure? So now I'm dismounting, disassemblying, repacking, and heading to the local WalMart to see if they'll take it back and refund my account even though I bought it at WalMart Online with free ship to store. For the features and price of the TV, I guess it was worth a try but this is my first and last of this name brand and for WalMart online TVs. I'll stick with what's available in the store and spend the extra money. I've lost way too much time and effort on this project and once is quite enough.

Was this review helpful? (137) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LifeLongDYI
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV for the Price.
9/14/2012

Customer review by walterspoint

4.0 stars 9/14/2012 by walterspoint
by walterspoint

I have an old Westinhouse 32" LCD and it has been holding up for years. I decided to go with the 46" LED LCD after reviewing prices and options. I use a sound bar speaker system so the sound from the TV is not an issue for me. Hooked it up to my Dish receiver with an HDMI cable and the picture is outstanding. Piece of Advise: Use the internet to find out the best picture setup to use. Take your time on this part. The picture quality is outstanding. They have a 90 day return policy through Wamart.com so that is always a nice option. I am going to try this TV out and take it through the motions. Our kids love it. I enjoy the 120 Hz refresh rate. TV was easy to set up after I found out the right HDMI cable to use. One drawback is that it does not have a lot of inputs like my smaller Westinghouse. It does not have any ypbr hookups. I have Dish, DVD, and Wii hooked up to it right now. I hope that the TV works well. So far, I am very pleased.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
walterspoint
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Stay away from Westinghouse TVs
7/5/2012

Customer review by damien66vi

2.0 stars 7/5/2012 by damien66vi
by damien66vi

Worked great for 60 days ....then it went dead....waited 60 days for Westinghouse to finally send a replacement ....that died 2 days after it was recieved.....it has now been 4 1/2 months and they have not replaced the TV or issued a refund . Spend a hundred dollars more and buy another brand

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
damien66vi
Palm Springs, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
horrible customer service
10/23/2012

Customer review by WVjoycie

1.0 stars 10/23/2012 by WVjoycie
by WVjoycie

Purchased this TV in March. I worked great until August. It shut itself off and never worked again. Called customer service. They said return it. I did. They want to send a refurbished TV. I requested a refund, after several calls to them they agreed to a refund, but it will take 2 to 4 months for them to refund my money. It is now late October I stlll have no TV or money and it does not look like it will be resolved any time soon. DO NOT PURCHASE THIS TV. Walmart should stop selling this or any other Westinghouse product.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WVjoycie
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
BUYER BEWARE
3/18/2013

Customer review by Drones

1.0 stars 3/18/2013 by Drones
by Drones

TV worked OK for 7 months, then it would not turn on either with the remote or the power button. I called Westinghouse and was told a work order would be opened and an email sent providing instructions. Neither happened, and this process was repeated 3 more times over a 4 week period. At week 5, they gave me instructions over the phone to buy a shipping box from U-Haul ($87) and they would provide a shipping label. They never sent the label. I then researched the web only to find numerous complaints about similar problems with Westinghouse warranty service. ALL Tv's need to be mailed back to them, at customer expense, for repair. Regardless of size. Ridiculous! Another web search provided online repair instructions for this model/problem, changing the main board. I found the board online for $85, replaced it, and the TV is now fully functional, no thanks to Westinghouse. BUYER BEWARE.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Drones
Tampa, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
DID NOT LAST
10/23/2012

Customer review by LLCOwner

2.0 stars 10/23/2012 by LLCOwner
by LLCOwner

I Purchased this TV on 11/10/11. its a very nice design, very slim, great price and easy to set up. on 05/26/12 i noticed a few dim spot in the picture. seems like some of the bulbs died in the LED. so i call and was told it was still under warranty and they would replace my unit. 2 months later, i still had not received an email or a call from westinghouse so i decided to call and see what’s up. i was told that they do not have any tv in stock and they did now know when they would have any available. their solution was to offer me a 32" and a 40" 2 for one... i didnt need a smaller television so i said i would wait. i could still view my TV but the dim spots were very annoying. after another month of waiting i called back and was told they did have more TV's in stock, so they said they would send my replacement. a month later i receive the replacement. set it up, and the TV was in a "negative" mode. ( reds were blue, yellow was green, white was black) somehow the TV they sent me was a dud. I call back to speak to management and was told several times there is no manage in the call center and i would have to follow up with the corporate office. 3 weeks ago i called back and finally got a supervisor on the phone and was told they no longer have any 46' TV’s in stock and had no idea when they would have more. Thus, i requested a refund. i was then told the refund process will take 14 weeks to go through. Needless to say, i don’t recommend this brand, the picture was good while it lasted. but the issues iv had trying to replace a broken television i had for 6 months outweighs the savings.. just purchased the 55" TLC LED to get me through until my refund comes from Westinghouse.. i would recommend going with another Brand if you can afford it.. too much trouble with Westinghouse

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LLCOwner
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wonderful TV....until it stops working.
11/27/2012

Customer review by bwriictk

2.0 stars 11/27/2012 by bwriictk
by bwriictk

We purchased this item last year around Black Friday as a Christmas present for my husband and myself. Initially, we were extremely impressed by the tv - the picture was crystal clear, the sound was more than enough for us in terms of quality and volume, and the price was unbeatable. After owning our tv for just over 10 months (early October), one day the television completely stopped working. After contacting Westinghouse, we shipped our tv to them only to be told they couldn't fix it. They then informed us our tv was out of stock, but they would give us a 40" and 21" in place of our 46" ("That's a total of 61 inches!".) Needless to say, we turned down the offer. Currently, we are awaiting a refund check that we are told is supposed to be sent mid-December since they couldn't send us our original tv in time. Overall, dealing with Westinghouse has been too much hassle for the $100 or so that we saved. I strongly encourage you to stay away from all Westinghouse products because you don't want to deal with this company's "customer service" if any problems arise. Keep in mind that many customer reviews are based off of short-term experiences. I never leave reviews, but I was so disappointed by this product that I felt compelled to let as many potential customers know before making the same mistake we did.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bwriictk
Bloomington, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 113 total reviews
1-20 of 113 reviews