Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.4out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 | 94 reviews
5 stars
66
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
8
Sort by: 
1-20 of 76 reviews
1-20 of 76 reviews
5/18/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
You get alot for your money with this one!! I shopped around before buying this air conditioner. I wanted to make sure that I got the most for my $$, and this was it, with 24,000 BTU's! I bought 2 of these air conditioners-one for my downstairs (12oo sq ft) & one for my upstairs (900 sq ft), and my whole house is cool. It literally takes less than 5 minutes of turning them on to cool down the house on a hot day. I haven't used the setting above Medium because there is no need...as a matter of fact, it would probably be like the tundra of I set them on high! You can't even tell that they are on because they literally make no noise. This is probably how all the air conditioners are these days, but the last air conditioner I had was 20 years old & I had to turn the TV on full blast to hear it because the air conditioner was so LOUD, so the fact that this one made no noise made me happy =))
Was this review helpful?
Yes (125)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Deal!!
6/16/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My home is approx. 1300 square feet and this A/C cools the entire house. I paid $469.00 and its worth every penny. It is very large as A/Cs of this cooling capacity are so be sure to have a window large enough and have help moving it. Very heavy! The 220 electric is great. I haven't really noticed much difference in my electric bill since I have been running it. I highly recommend this A/C.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (54)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great air conditioner for the money!
5/15/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I shopped forever for the best deal on a window air conditioner. This one was perfect for price and getting the job done! It's actually a little smaller then the previous one, but cools and blows so much better. I'm through with Kenmore products.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (66)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
7/28/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This air conditioner is an excellent option for cooling a large space. I was hoping it would cool large rooms (about 1600 sf) with elevated ceilings. It has done that very nicely and was much cheaper than the other options (central air, mini split). We put this unit through the wall instead of in a window. We did need to install a 220 plug. We are very happy with this product and would highly recommend it to others. It is easy to install as well, but is quite heavy, so will need a couple people. It has not, however, needed extra support or bracing.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great AC unit!!
6/10/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This GE 24,000 BTU window AC unit is one heck of a cold wind blowing machine! On the Hi Cool setting this baby blows a chilly 41 deg. with the temp taken at the vents! And that was on a 97 deg. day..What more can you ask for out of a under $500.00 very BIG & HEAVY window AC unit??!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (19)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
7/6/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This a great air conditioner for the money. It works great!! It does require a special outlet, but it is worth the extra effort. We have a 16x80, 20 year old mobile home. I was worried that this might not do the job. It easily does. Our temps have been in the 100's like the rest of the country, but we stay a very cool 72. Thank you GE and Walmart for a product and price to keep our cool.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
7/21/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Son and I had a little trouble taking the unit out of its shell to remove the packaging inside, but once we got it going, it was great. Our house has never had air conditioning, its 2,400 sq. ft. I have raised my son on my own in this house, he's 13 now. This unit is a godsend. With the help of our fans, it cooled the whole house! We got the temp. down from 95 to 76 quickly!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great air conditioner
6/4/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This air conditioner was easy to install, and cools very fast. We have only owned it for a short time, so I can't speak about how energy efficient it is, or how long it's lasted, but so far it has been great for what we need.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Product
5/19/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Works great and really nice that it has a remote control!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (33)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
24,200 BTU. More then you paid for! :)
7/26/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Installation process was more then I was expecting, but didn't take more then an hour. Packaging could have been beefier, first unit I had to return because the back grill was smashed in. Using the unit to cool my 1100 square feet home, does a decent job. The energy efficient mode could use to run the fan a bit more, it tends to leave the house warmer. So we use that when we are gone, and switch to the cold mode when we get home. Someone asked about the electrical plug. It's nearly a standard electrical plug, except one of the flat tines is turned 90 degrees, so it can't be plugged into a 120 volt outlet, 220 only.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
cools quickly
5/1/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Once you get through the setting up part (which takes a little patience)and making sure you have correct outlet plug, it works great, operates quietly
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
BEST BUY
4/28/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this last year in August when it was on clearance for less than $350...SCORE!!! Even if I paid regular price it is well worth it. We have an old 800 sq ft home and let me say, after 30 minutes or less of this unit on we have to shut it off! It freezes us out; this even happened during the summer of last year too. We have finally found a good temp (76) setting were we can be cool and save energy too. DOWN FALL: I didn't realize it required a 220 amp, and being we have an old home which do not have 220 amp we need to have it installed. That took the money I saved off the unit...still worth it
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
ok but wrong SPECS!
7/6/2013
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
It's a ok unit. It works as expected. Decent price. BUT I wanted to use it to replace my old a/c unit that died. It will be used as a through the wall unit, and the measurements GIVEN ONLINE SHOWED I had a 1/4 to 1/2 inch extra room buying this unit. WRONG. The specs online are not the same in reality. I had to cut out an extra 1/4 inch on the width & height to get it to fit it through my block house. So in the end I spend a lot of extra money to purchase tools to cut through the wall and hire help. I would not have had to this if it came in the dimensions shown. Just be aware!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
7/27/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The AC runs pretty softly considering it is a big unit also when shipping is 97 cents you can't beat having it sent to your house !!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Shipping Damage
4/14/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I would have liked to at least have given this a try. But, as per another reviewer, I had them open the box on site as the box was damaged. The Unit had several dents and dings and in one place the entire section of vent fins had been bent so badly they were no longer attached to the housing. I refused it. Wal-Mart really needs to step up their game in the shipping department. Were I work a box with that much damage would not have been accepted in receiving.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Item
6/12/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought this a little over 2 years ago. Having Issues
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
High powered high value
5/5/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I repair and install Heating and AC systems. GE is a great brand. The unit lives up to it's advertising. Best used for through the wall install. You may also window install, but be careful(150lbs)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
So far So Good
6/19/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Just had it a little over a week and works great looked for ever for a window unit so glad I finally found this one with walmart for less than 500.00.....
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
good value
7/13/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Walmart associate
This a/c unit seems to function very well so far. Have not had extremely hot 100+ degree days yet like last year though that fried my 20+ year old crosley. This unit is much more quiet than my old unit & seems to work very well on the auto setting. Installation is a bit more challenging than I expected. New a/c unit & 100+ year old house required some retrofitting and is definitely a 2 person job. Overall a good value and shipped site to store with no shipping which is great. Make sure you have a 220 volt electrical outlet as I have noticed some previous reviewers were somewhat appalled at that.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
shipping damage
8/30/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
had it shipped to my local walmart because i read several reviews that stated shipment damage and because shipping was free to a store. it took 8 days to arrive. when i went to pick it up i ask them to open the box to check for damage. the fins on the rear had been mashed pretty bad and it looked like three of the tubes were damaged also. i canceled the order, the associate promptly refunded my credit card. i did not want to take a chance on this happening again so bought at a different retailer. i was really hoping this wouldn't happen as it was a great deal.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640685, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-