Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 198 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

198 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

198 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
140
4 stars
31
3 stars
13
2 stars
5
1 stars
9
1-20 of 169 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 169 total reviews
1-20 of 169 reviews
Very Cold air.
8/19/2013

Customer review by Coolman72

4.0 stars 8/19/2013 by Coolman72
by Coolman72
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have a 14x20 sun room (sliding glass doors on 3 sides) on the back of my house. It got too hot with the screens and a ceiling fan so I bought a 8000 btu ac for the only window. I used it for about 2 weeks but when the temp got up in the 90s and did not cool down to much at night it would not keep the room temp down. I then ordered this 10,000 btu. It does a great job cooling the room. the air is so cold you don't want to stay in the air flow to long. There is one thing I do not like and that is the track under the AC that the adjustable sides slide in is wider than the the one on the 8,000 btu and it would not fit in the area of the window where it is supposed to set. (where the bottom sash is when the window is closed.) I have a new vinyl window but that should not matter the 8,000 fit just fine. I had to unscrew the U track and cut back side off to make it work. Once you get it in it's not going any where and it does not hurt any thing. Just a little extra work to make it fit.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Coolman72
Lynchburg Va.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Absolutely what I was hoping for!
8/21/2013

Customer review by Xanthan

5.0 stars 8/21/2013 by Xanthan
by Xanthan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was nervous. I bought this after reviewing allot of air conditioners. Setting it up in the window was easy and quick. The very first thing I noticed was the fan actually makes more noise then the compressor. It is quiet enough for me to sit next to while on the phone. It is a very sturdy unit. It doesn't seem like a cheaply built item and it works great! I keep the fan on low or auto and I keep the mode on energy saver. It cools my place down instantly and I have had some hot days. I live in a 30 foot trailer and it heats up even on only mildly warm days. The unit is in the bedroom window in the back of the trailer and cools through the bathroom door, the other bathroom door and into the living room and kitchen area and keeps everything cold without the additional fans that usually have to push the air through the doorways. By cool, I mean cold! I like a cold room! I have had no unit freezing issues as well. It has been flawless.

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Xanthan
Rainier OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
excellent AC unit
7/9/2012

Customer review by GraciousGod

5.0 stars 7/9/2012 by GraciousGod
by GraciousGod

I read the review prior to deciding on an ac unit, and I have to say I'm pretty pleased with this unit. It has no trouble cooling off my 1 bedroom duplex unit (approx 700sf), and I get better airflow/cooling when I am 'creative' with the fans. This is during the TX summer when temps get around 105 too, in a house that is mostly windows (not terribly energy efficient, albeit scenic!). Bottom line, the unit is fairly heavy, although I managed to install it into a 29" window without any help (very simple installation, although I personally would buy some additional 3/4" or better weatherstripping, some L-brackets, and more screws for a more secure install). I have only had it a day now, but it cooled off the house reasonably well on a 95 degree day, brought the temp down better than the existing (but not efficient) central unit--down to 75 degrees in one room, maybe 78 or 79 in the adjacent room, and approx 81 in the room after that. Noise-wise, I really cannot comment as it is the first window unit I've ever had or experienced, and yes it's a little loud, but that's entirely subjective and depends on where it is mounted in the house. I may re-write a review after I get my first electric bill though! :-)

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GraciousGod
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great AC
5/18/2012

Customer review by Dalylah

5.0 stars 5/18/2012 by Dalylah
by Dalylah

My central AC broke in my apartment so I purchased this for a temporary fix. I live near Palm Springs. CA (desert) where it gets up to 125 so AC is a must. This has kept my 2 bedroom apartment cool quite well and my energy bill has dropped. The first time I ran it it took awhile to cool because my apartment had become superheated. So if you purchase this, give it a day or so to really show you what it can do. After the initial cooldown it keeps the temperature down without struggling. I would definitely buy it again.

Was this review helpful? (140) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dalylah
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
6/24/2012

Customer review by Retirededman

5.0 stars 6/24/2012 by Retirededman
by Retirededman

This is an excellent quiet air conditioner. I had a Sharp that was noisy and needed a good replacement . I got a 6000 BTU GE for another room and knew I was going to have GE in the entire house. The features have been really upgraded. Its a pleasure when I need comfort in 90+ temperature.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Retirededman
New York City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Exceptionally quiet
5/29/2012

Customer review by NutsForAutos

5.0 stars 5/29/2012 by NutsForAutos
by NutsForAutos

I purchased this unit believing that if GE can build jet airplane engines they can certainly built a good air conditioner. I mounted this unit in the wall with very little difficulty. The fan noise is very low and the cooling efficiency seems to be very high. I wish it had the feature of providing the current temperature when the unit is turned off like the unit it replaced had.

Was this review helpful? (86) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NutsForAutos
Fort Wayne, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Cools Great
6/22/2012

Customer review by gunner66

5.0 stars 6/22/2012 by gunner66
by gunner66

Ordered to replace old ac in shop. Keeping 24 by 24 room nice and cool even on 100+ days.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gunner66
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This is a great window unit!
5/25/2012

Customer review by TurtleDundee

5.0 stars 5/25/2012 by TurtleDundee
by TurtleDundee

Cools down our kitchen and living room nicely. And with fans blowing the air around it even cools the hallway and 3 bedrooms. This unit is well worth the money

Was this review helpful? (153) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TurtleDundee
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent.
8/5/2012

Customer review by JDALLT

5.0 stars 8/5/2012 by JDALLT
by JDALLT

We have never owned an AC unit so this was a first for our open architecture country home. With the weather continuing to be hot day after day I decided to get an AC unit to assist with cooling the house. This unit had good reviews, a great price and fit in a small side window of our picture window nicely. Currently it cools a large area of about 650 - 700 sq ft with the assistance of a fan to help return the air from about 35 feet away. This 10000 BTU easily cools this large area to a comforatble temperature and does not really have to continually run to maintain it. Very impressed for the price and size.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JDALLT
Upstate NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great a/c
6/23/2012

Customer review by cbebbfa

5.0 stars 6/23/2012 by cbebbfa
by cbebbfa

this a/c on low is working as well as my old one on high

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cbebbfa
carbondale
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
VERY GOOD PRODUCT
7/10/2012

Customer review by SUFFERNOMORE

5.0 stars 7/10/2012 by SUFFERNOMORE
by SUFFERNOMORE

PURCHASED IN TIME FOR HEAT WAVE. HAVE NOT TURNED OFF FOR DAYS COOLS KITCHEN AND REC ROOM OVER 400SQ FT VERY QUIET ENERGY STAR RATED VERY HIGH AFTER RESEARCHING UNIT

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SUFFERNOMORE
PENNSYLVANIA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Disappointed
7/16/2012

Customer review by AnnaBelle22

1.0 stars 7/16/2012 by AnnaBelle22
by AnnaBelle22

I've had this unit for one year and had to replace it recently. I've always taken great care of the unit and maintained it regularly. The control panel stopped working properly and the unit would unexpectantly shut down. The unit finally would not cool at all. The GE brand used produce quality products but I've had disappointing results with their products as evident in this window unit. I will not purchase another GE product again.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AnnaBelle22
Seguin, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Does a great job cooling!
7/5/2012

Customer review by parkeradesigns

5.0 stars 7/5/2012 by parkeradesigns
by parkeradesigns

I was slightly skeptical at first....even though the unit is 10,000 btus. Our livingroom and kitchen area are basically one large room. The ac unit does a more than adequate job of cooling our home and our electric bill has not changed much (though we use it very often)! Great value and I would definitely recommend!

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
parkeradesigns
Zolfo Springs, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Disapointed
6/6/2012

Customer review by Honeybee827

3.0 stars 6/6/2012 by Honeybee827
by Honeybee827

I read the reviews and thought this air conditioner would be a good buy. I had a LE 10000 BTU and loved it's easy control and programming. This AC cools but the control panel doesn't seem to work right. The room temp gauge changes sporadically so the energy saver mode does not work properly. The room temp will jump from 75 degrees to 71 degrees then back to 75 degrees. I'm still trying to figure out how to regulate the temperature to make the energy saver mode work. I wish I had gotten the LE 10000 BTU. It is not quiet like I read in another review. It is very noisy.

Was this review helpful? (45) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Honeybee827
Marrero, La
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It's ok, Ive had better though.
8/24/2012

Customer review by BirneySr

3.0 stars 8/24/2012 by BirneySr
by BirneySr

It cools nicely, but.... the "energy saver" setting is annoying and I guess it is "energy saving" if it shuts the unit down even when the room is warm, duh... It does retain the water inside the unit even when tilted on the correct angle and uses the fan inside to splash water against the compressor to help cool the compressor, so if you buy one, don't think something is wrong. My brother is a licensed HVAC mechanic over 20+ years. It's just an ok unit, easy to install I must say, but nothing fantastic either, we will see what it does for my electric bill when it gets here as I shut down my 2.5 ton central unit and use this instead as that was eating me alive !! to the tune of about 300.00 per month. We will see......

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BirneySr
Humid, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Do not buy!
8/8/2013

Customer review by Johnsonto

1.0 stars 8/8/2013 by Johnsonto
by Johnsonto

I bougth this air conditioner at the end of the summer last year. I did the research and read the reviews and decided to get this model because of the reviews and I thought that GE would be a good product. I ran the unit a few times and it cooled fine. This spring, I turned the unit on and it blew warm air...would not cool. I was told to send the unit to a refurb shop in Ark to be repaired or replaced. I did and received a refurb unit in a couple of weeks. I installed the unit and it seemed to work OK. I have not run the unit but a few times this summer. It is not cooling again...blows room temperature air. I would not buy this unit again.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Johnsonto
Would recommend to a friend? No
7/25/2012

Customer review by Sauceygirl

5.0 stars 7/25/2012 by Sauceygirl
by Sauceygirl

Along with a ceiling fan, this air conditioner cools 4 rooms. It's pretty quiet and very efficient. We have run this air conditioner at least 30 straight days from am to pm and our bill was 144.00 which we consider excellent. Only around a $4.00 difference from the month before. Definitely would recomment.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sauceygirl
Mercer, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great A/C
7/24/2012

Customer review by BissellLover

5.0 stars 7/24/2012 by BissellLover
by BissellLover

This unit is cooling our living room and kitchen area great!! It has nice features and a remote control. I recommend this product. It's been 105 here and this is keeping up nicely.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BissellLover
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Cools great.
10/22/2012

Customer review by Shophooter

5.0 stars 10/22/2012 by Shophooter
by Shophooter

Good buy for the money. I have different sizes in each bedroom to match the size of the room. We run these at night. My electric bill is greatly reduced by cooling only the bedrooms at night and leaving the whole house unit off almost all the time. One unit keeps the house cool enough with the ceiling fans during the day. My elec bill is $200 to 300 less each month during the summer and we sleep great at night because we like it cold to sleep. Each unit has paid for itself and then some. These work so much more efficient than a large whole house unit. Why? The coolant doesn't have to travel 20 to 50 feet losing its efficiency and most homes have the vent duct-work in the attic where its very hot, makes it worse. They don't make your house look pretty but pay for themselves easily in a summer.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shophooter
Ft Worth Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT AIR CONDITIONER
7/10/2012

Customer review by JO162

5.0 stars 7/10/2012 by JO162
by JO162

I BOUGHT THIS AIR CONDITIONER LAST SUMMER AND IT IS WONDERFUL. IT COOLS OFF A LARGE LIVING ROOM, DINNING ROOM AND KITCHEN PERFECTLY. THE DELAY BUTTON IS A NICE ADDED BONUS, I SET IT BEFORE I GO TO WORK AND MY APARTMENT IS NICE WHEN I GET HOME. IT IS A GREAT VALUE AND I AM GOING TO BUY ANOTHER ONE BUT LESS BTU'S FOR A BEDROOM.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JO162
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 169 total reviews
1-20 of 169 reviews