Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 881 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

881 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

881 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
546
4 stars
224
3 stars
49
2 stars
24
1 stars
38
1-20 of 657 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 657 total reviews
1-20 of 657 reviews
Great Little Room Cooler
4/25/2012

Customer review by brittishie

5.0 stars 4/25/2012 by brittishie
by brittishie

i bought it at my local store for $107 (cheaper then online) because at my apartments it has a VERY old swamp cooler that hardly cools off the back part of the apartment. &when i pulled it out of the box i was worried it may be too small to cool off my master bedroom since it says to cool a small room only. but too my surprise, it cools off the room VERY well! i have a fan that blows toward my door which helps it cool off the back part of the hall & small bathroom. i plan on buyin a second one for my sons room since it gets so hot in his room as well. totally worth buying! would definetly recomend it for any room, :)

Was this review helpful? (654) (89)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
brittishie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
Great Price and Performance
5/27/2012

Customer review by mangomike

5.0 stars 5/27/2012 by mangomike
by mangomike

In store for under $100.00 and does a great job for the size! Would I buy it again? You bet.

Was this review helpful? (356) (45)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mangomike
Ocala FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome little AC for a one room
5/8/2012

Customer review by HydeWithinJekyll

5.0 stars 5/8/2012 by HydeWithinJekyll
by HydeWithinJekyll

I have central air, but needed something for when I'm the only one who's hot. I was a little worried because my room was on the tail end of the space recommendation. But it's great. It really chills my room. I love it.

Was this review helpful? (279) (42)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HydeWithinJekyll
North Bergen, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great, Quiet, Cheap Little A/C
7/5/2012

Customer review by doodad69

5.0 stars 7/5/2012 by doodad69
by doodad69

I bought this to replace a 10,000 BTU being used in a smallish, attic room. I went to WalMart looking for a Frigidaire with a remote, but all they had were this one and a few other ones. The one I replaced, which was only 3 years old, but in all fairness, a stupid bird had built a nest on one side of it, so it was sucking in that trash, so it probably only needs a good cleaning, was a GE and never really cooled that well anyway, so I was nervous about getting another one. I am glad I got this one. This one gets a little cool at night so I sometimes have to adjust it, but that's a good thing. It's whisper quiet, and to me, that's not really a good thing because I like white noise anyway. Sure it's cheaply built and only has a one-way air flow adjustment, but heck, it's less than $100 and the one-way adjustment hasn't proven to be a problem. If you're looking for something cheap and quick, and something that actually cools, get this. One thing though...the backing that goes underneath the top rail is wafer thin and when I was taking the backing off, it stuck to the top of the A/C and there's black junk where I had to tear it off. Be careful when applying it to the rail. The screws in the rail didn't want to seat very good, but I will get a #3 phillips to screw it in the rest of the way. Also, even though it's small, it ain't light! I had no problem with it, but a woman or weaker man might want to get some help lugging it up stairs, and if you have a high window, lifting it in. I'm a big feller that works out (I'm handsome too, just to complete the picture in your mind), and I thought it would be lighter because I had one-arm carried my daughter's 5,000 BTU Frigidaire from the car to her room without breaking a sweat. I hope the review serves you well. I don't know what the complaint about them being loud is all about, as mine is quiet as a church mouse. You're welcome.

Was this review helpful? (380) (65)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
doodad69
Dalton, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Cools a bigger space than it advertises....
6/17/2012

Customer review by Rainestorme

5.0 stars 6/17/2012 by Rainestorme
by Rainestorme

This was so easy to install, it took only about 15 minutes. And it really cooled down the room, and very quickly! Within about 10 minutes my room was already feeling cooler, and it's now comfortably 10 degrees cooler! My room is about 23ft x 12ft, plus the 10x10 room next to it is also cooler, and the 10x10 room on the other side of the door is also noticeably cooler. This has worked out great so far!!!

Was this review helpful? (107) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rainestorme
Rogers, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Good cantidate for installation in casement window
7/8/2012

Customer review by KDanagger

4.0 stars 7/8/2012 by KDanagger
by KDanagger

I have sliding casement windows in my house and resisted the idea of buying VERY expensive ($400+) units designed specifically for them. I found that by building a frame to sit inside my sliding windows (on the sill) it was actually pretty easy to install these. I used a plexiglass pane in the upper part of the frame which makes the install look very good. Check out the Instructables website for "Mounting a Standard Air Conditioner in a Sliding Window" to get some ideas. About the AC unit itself: There are two fan speeds in the cooling mode. The power consumption is almost identical in each mode since the compressor still draws the same power regardless. The only difference is that in the high mode the air exchange is a little higher, so the initial cooling might be slightly quicker. The low setting does seem to create more condensation around the vent adjustment wheel. Electrical stats: The power consumption starts around 420 watts and seems to stabilize around 500 watts about 10 minutes after turn on. The power factor measures 0.97. Although the power consumption may appear to be low, be aware that if you run this thing at max (7) on the thermostat for 24hrs a day, 30 days a month, you could see an increase of $35-$40 in your electric bill. In real world usage, your increase will only be a small fraction of that. Cooling ability: This is largely determined by how well insulated the room is. In a newer home with good insulation, this unit will have no problem attaining a 20F drop in a medium sized room. However, in a large uninsulated upstairs bedroom it may struggle to achieve a 10F drop. It's only 5000BTU, don't expect it to do the job of a 10,000BTU+ unit. Window size: The bare unit is 16 inches wide (not counting the clips on the side for the mounting rails. This exactly matched the opening size for one of my sliding windows. By constructing a special mounting frame (see comments at top), I was able to shoehorn it in. If you want to use the included mounting panels, it CAN be made to fit windows somewhat narrower that the specifications claim. You simply have to cut off an inch or two from the ends of all the plastic rails where they slide into the top and bottom of the unit. By doing this, I was able to use the included hardware to easily install one of my units (I bought two) into a window opening of less than 20 inches. I'd guess that somewhere around 19" to 19.5" is going to be the lower limit unless you discard the mounting panels. Misc: The water that collects inside the unit (from the evaporator coil) is channeled into a low spot in the bottom of the unit that the rim of the condenser fan dips into. The water is flung around shroud surrounding the fan which allows the water to drip down into the fan blades. This can be heard as a ticking or soft snapping sound every so often. The water then gets blown onto the hot condenser coil where it quickly gets evaporated. This prevents the unit from dripping (outside) under most conditions. When turning the unit on after a rainstorm, you may hear an increase in this noise for a few seconds until the fan picks up the accumulated water and blows it out the back.

Was this review helpful? (76) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KDanagger
Central PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
4/2/2012

Customer review by Loganmommy0711

5.0 stars 4/2/2012 by Loganmommy0711
by Loganmommy0711

We have central ac in our house but its an older model so we decided to buy a window unit to try to cool the house. We have been very pleased with this product very much worth the 120 dollars spend on this product. Our house is cool and feels very comfortable!

Was this review helpful? (194) (43)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Loganmommy0711
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Now that I have owned this unit for 2 years
8/18/2012

Customer review by Driven7719

5.0 stars 8/18/2012 by Driven7719
by Driven7719

I have owned this unit for 2 years. 2010 - 2012 "Flawless". I can now write a honest review on it. I bought it to put in our tent when we go camping. IT WORKS TOO WELL in the TENT! Well the whole unit can't be in the tent. I install it like a window unit should be installed. It gets pretty cold in our TENT in July. Take extra covers! :) Our Home A/C went out in August of 2012. I took this little unit and put it in our bedroom window, shutting the rest of the house off. 16 x 18 x 9 plus a bathroom. Again... It kept our Bedroom very, very cool to cold! Good Sleeping weather! If you don't have a "Standby A/C", or need a little 110v A/C, for the Money this is the one to have! The little hummm of the A/C and the "COLD AIR" it puts out, makes for a good nights sleep where ever you use it! North Texas

Was this review helpful? (72) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Driven7719
Dallas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Way beter than I expected. It's cooling 237 sq ft
7/19/2013

Customer review by kajdheru

5.0 stars 7/19/2013 by kajdheru
by kajdheru

It's way better than I Expected. It's cooling 237 sq ft of a bedroom and a bath. Daytime shade temps. here are 95- 101. The rooms stay 72 - 74. Had it 3 weeks now and it's been on 24/7. No problems. Turn it down in the nights and it has gotten almost too cool. Got down to 68 when outside was 80 and had to turn it down again. The price from Walmart was $30 - $40 less for the exact same item than from Amazon and others. Walmart shipping was 97 cents. Some of Amazon was free but total price from Walmart was of course still less. Arrived from No. Calif. to Reno 4 days from placing order and that included 4th July holiday. Makes less noise than the fan that I had in the window. Made a little platform of a plywood square and a piece of 2 x 6 and surrounded it in the window opening with some ridged foam insulation. Was able to do the entire installation, including lifting unit into place, all by my self, no problem. (I'm 84 years old) So far no problems and I am very satisfied in every respect.

Was this review helpful? (41) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kajdheru
Reno, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Good Deal!
6/11/2012

Customer review by MommyInAugust2012

4.0 stars 6/11/2012 by MommyInAugust2012
by MommyInAugust2012

So far me and my husband have been very pleased with our purchase. When we got the a/c home and out of the box my husband was skeptical about how well it would work because of it's small appearance. But after the first night, he changed his mind! It was very cool and comfortable in our room. (room size about 10X15) Installation says that it is easy, but for us it was a task in itself; I would definitely recommend having at least two people install this unit. Overall we are very pleased with our purchase, and would recommend this a/c to others looking to buy an inexpensive but efficient machine.

Was this review helpful? (56) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MommyInAugust2012
Suwannee, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent little unit
6/10/2012

Customer review by rwperkinsjr

5.0 stars 6/10/2012 by rwperkinsjr
by rwperkinsjr

After getting it home and unboxing it I thought it would have a hard time doing the job, boy was I wrong! This thing puts out a lot of cool air. In fact I am going to buy another one before they raise the price on this little guy.

Was this review helpful? (34) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rwperkinsjr
Silver City, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/13/2013

Customer review by ialsoagree

5.0 stars 6/13/2013 by ialsoagree
by ialsoagree

Air conditioner is VERY quiet (from the perspective of having had more than a few window air conditioners - window air conditioners are never quiet in the sense of not making a lot of noise, but throwing headphones on to listen to music or my computer all but blocks out the sound of this air conditioner which is about 5 feet away). It does a very good job of cooling my room. It didn't get a great seal in the window, but it does come with plenty of foam that I used to improve the seal. It seems to have worked pretty well. My room cools down quickly and stays cool, even with a very hot computer and three monitors running. I would definitely recommend this air conditioner and wouldn't hesitate to buy one again.

Was this review helpful? (30) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ialsoagree
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better Than Anticipated...
6/13/2013

Customer review by KaitlynnKidd

4.0 stars 6/13/2013 by KaitlynnKidd
by KaitlynnKidd

I read alot of reviews about this unit on here, and after seeing so many negative reviews I was skeptical of buying this product, but I figured I could always return it if it didn't work out. My new home has no central air and gets to over 100 degrees on 90 degree days. I have a 9x13ft room that's even warmer than the rest of the house and has been completely unbearable as the summer progresses. Well, I set this bad boy up (with a little help from a friend, it's heavy!) and let it run on high while I went on a 15 minute errand. When I came back my room was not only cool, but chilly! I can't speak for the lower settings or longevity of this unit yet, but I can say so far I am extremely pleased and would definitely recommend it for someone with a smaller room like me. P.S. The installation kit is very simple and easy to set up, and adjusts well to fit the size of your window. You may need to buy some extra foam because depending on the window sill, you might end up with a very small gap underneath the window, but it's a very easy fix.

Was this review helpful? (29) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KaitlynnKidd
Carbondale, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
seems good so far
5/7/2012

Customer review by ike85

5.0 stars 5/7/2012 by ike85
by ike85

i've had it this ac for a few weeks now, so far runs great, no problems. i wouldn't recommend this for larger rooms but for smaller rooms it is perfect, i dont regret buying this item one bit:)

Was this review helpful? (29) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ike85
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works very well
5/27/2012

Customer review by VirginiaS

5.0 stars 5/27/2012 by VirginiaS
by VirginiaS

I bought 2 of these ac units, one for my living room and one for my bedroom, they cool the rooms very nicely. Very happy with them, and plan on buying 2 more, for my dining room and my son's bedroom. Good quality and price.

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VirginiaS
Terre Haute, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great a/c unit for a small room!
6/24/2012

Customer review by Melnda

5.0 stars 6/24/2012 by Melnda
by Melnda

We purchased this a/c unit for a room in my sister's house to use (and then leave) while on vacation. Installation was easy and the unit cooled the room easily. It was nice and chilly in there while we were sleeping. I would recommend this unit to anyone needing to cool a room when a/c is not available or when a/c doesn't reach the room you'll be occupying. We will probably order one for our upstairs bonus room at home to supplement the a/c we have in the house. Excellent product!

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Melnda
Schertz, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Overall good product
5/31/2012

Customer review by steve010946

4.0 stars 5/31/2012 by steve010946
by steve010946

The overall product was fine. The problem I had was with installation. For the longest time couldn't get the sliders on each side to go on the a/c properly, finally decided to put them in opposite of how the directions told u to install (from bottom to top, rather than top to bottom)

Was this review helpful? (28) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
steve010946
Calabash,NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Good for the price
5/31/2012

Customer review by SandmanP

4.0 stars 5/31/2012 by SandmanP
by SandmanP

It is smaller than i thought it was, but it those the job. Good little Air Conditioner

Was this review helpful? (25) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SandmanP
Queens, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
very cool!
6/24/2012

Customer review by cayugamuse

5.0 stars 6/24/2012 by cayugamuse
by cayugamuse

I bought this AC for my daughter's bedroom-we live in a 3rd-floor apartment. We already had 2 ACs-one built into the wall in the dining room and a Frigidaire I bought for my bedroom a couple of years ago. Her room was still too hot, even with these 2 running non-stop, on 80+ days. I read many reviews and decided to get this little GE AC- it works great! It's nothing fancy (dials not digital, not energy star-which bothered me during my research (but I found out that it's hard to get a 5,000 BTU AC that is energy star-Fridigaire had one at Best Buy but it got terrible reviews.) I wanted something lightweight that I could manage to get up the stairs and in the window-this one weighs 43 lbs-the other brand at BB weighed 52. It was a great price ($98) and does the exact job I wanted it to do-keep my daughter's room cool-now 70 degrees in her room (rather than 75-85) which is perfect-she gets too cold if it goes below 70! I have recommended it to several other people since. I have also found that it is much quieter than my 6,000 BTU Fridigaire, which seems to cycle on and off constantly-not true of the GE. I also think it cools better. We have only had this AC for 2-weeks-and we have used it non-stop since it's been a heat wave-and have had no problems at all. You might want to get one before they are sold out-you may be able to order it online if it sells out of your local store but why wait. My neighbors are jealous because they're sweating! I told them for a hundred bucks get this GE and you won't be sorry-this is the one to get (not the Haier at Target which is the same price but got worse reviews.) I'm glad I got this one! I highly recommend this product for a small-10x12-room.

Was this review helpful? (21) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cayugamuse
finger lakes, ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It's cool!
7/3/2012

Customer review by iniudex

5.0 stars 7/3/2012 by iniudex
by iniudex

I purchased this for use in a ~120 sq. ft. bedroom. This unit was selected based on size, cost, and it's advertised specifications. Installation was easy. The supplied instructions were satisfactory. The manual states that modifications may be required based on the way the window is designed. I found this to be true as I had to make a few minor modifications. I downloaded a copy of the manual before purchasing this ac to make sure it would install safely and correctly in the window. The power cord length is ample, and the controls are user intuitive. It performs well in cooling the room facilitating blissful slumber in the hot Texas summer. When the temperature, humidity, and dew point are high, I also use a fan while running this window unit to create a wind chill and have found this to be quite effective. The filter is easy to remove and clean making this basic maintenance chore easy to perform. This unit also runs much more quietly than anticipated.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
iniudex
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 657 total reviews
1-20 of 657 reviews