Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 223 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

223 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

223 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
134
4 stars
59
3 stars
9
2 stars
5
1 stars
16
1-20 of 176 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 176 total reviews
1-20 of 176 reviews
Great window air conditioner.
9/19/2013

Customer review by Rowdy79

5.0 stars 9/19/2013 by Rowdy79
by Rowdy79
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We presently have 2 of these units in operation and they perform better than expected When the desired temperature is reached the compressor turns off . . . and a little later the fan turns off. One of these air conditioner does not turn on until the sun shines on that side of the building and turns off at night. All the functions can be controlled from a remote control and the digital read out is ideal for setting the temperature remotely. Units are really quiet

Was this review helpful? (44) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rowdy79
Titus, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great little unit
5/23/2014

Customer review by thisispia

5.0 stars 5/23/2014 by thisispia
by thisispia

I purchased this online and received in 3 days. Installed in my den and operating is very quiet and room becomes cool quickly making it very comfortable for watching TV. I will purchase another one for my bedroom to replace the one there that is very loud. Very impressed!

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thisispia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Remarkably effective
6/15/2012

Customer review by scholastica

4.0 stars 6/15/2012 by scholastica
by scholastica

My expensive Fri*dr*ch air conditioner was damaged because of restoration work on the walls of my building. Since the work is going to continue for some time, I decided to buy an inexpensive replacement for my bedroom for the summer; and then to purchase a "better" model for permanent installation. Imagine my surprise when this inexpensive model outperformed my former airconditioner, which cost three times the price. Within 10 minutes the GE reduced the termperature in my room by 7 degrees and reduced the humidity from 57 to 49. It performed well, despite the fact that my room is 12 x 15 with 11 foot ceilings. Another thing I like is its weight; it's only about 40 lbs, so despite the fact that I'm an elderly lady, I was able to put it in the window myself. I gave it four stars instead of 5 because it is a bit noisy. But this is a great value and a great little workhorse. I would have bought the larger model, but my window is only 17.5" wide. I highly recommend it..

Was this review helpful? (47) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
scholastica
New York, N.Y.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great ac for a small room.
5/18/2012

Customer review by trushing8

5.0 stars 5/18/2012 by trushing8
by trushing8

Great ac for a small room. It's quiet and effective. Comes with a remote control. The built in thermostat and digital display makes this exceptionally useful. This ac is installed in a 10' x 20' room.

Was this review helpful? (130) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
trushing8
Palmdale, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
quiet, cools fast, easy to install
5/12/2012

Customer review by quartzsitecharlie

5.0 stars 5/12/2012 by quartzsitecharlie
by quartzsitecharlie

this unit replaces a thru the wall unit that is quite old.. was looking for a unit much more efficient than old one, this is quieter, and with thermostat control, will shut off when temp is at set number. have used it only 3 times so far, but seems great This is a window unit, but it easily fit the old thru the wall space.. this was only unit small enough to fit space allowable. This unit is used in a bedroom only. This unit will be used every day thru September.

Was this review helpful? (55) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
quartzsitecharlie
Arizona desert
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/10/2012

Customer review by TooComplicated

4.0 stars 8/10/2012 by TooComplicated
by TooComplicated

I installed it in 1/2 hour and it pulled the room temp down to 64 degrees (the max) in around 25 min with a 91 degree outside in the shade air temp. This is the 2nd A/C I got from Walmart. The 1st was a Heier which vibrated so badly it broke the putty and shook the glass out of the window. I found the fan in the Heier had not had the molding flash trimmed off and was grossly out of balance. I took it back to the store. This was 3 years ago and I continued to use my old unit until it recently died. I considered another Heier but after the fiasco of the 1st one, I decided to spend a few bucks more and try the GE. This GE unit is small, reasonably quiet and does the job for me in 150 Sq Ft 10x15 bedroom. The only thing I didn't like was the fact that the fragile coils were exposed outside and subject to damage if you are not careful with the handling of the unit during install; a simple protective perforated cover would have been nice. I of course was careful! I did like the remote feature very much as you don't have to get out of bed to change something. For the money I don't think you can do better! Only time will tell if it passes the reliability test. Impressive little unit.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TooComplicated
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great AC for small room......office/bedroom.
3/18/2014

Customer review by Paintmanmatt

5.0 stars 3/18/2014 by Paintmanmatt
by Paintmanmatt
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This GE model is much nicer than the Maytag it replaced. I like the digital controls and included remote, especially since I put it in a bedroom.......you don't have to get out of bed to make adjustments. It's very quiet, most of the noise is from the fan hitting the water, but not very loud at all. I am planning on purchasing another one to put in another back room. I live in Florida, so use small AC's in back rooms and bedrooms so I don't have to turn the big AC on until the heat of summer kicks in.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Paintmanmatt
Polk City, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Go For The 6000 BTU
4/29/2012

Customer review by ObamaForPrez

4.0 stars 4/29/2012 by ObamaForPrez
by ObamaForPrez

This is a nice enough unit and it works fine. But I also have the GE 6000 BTU unit and and I like it much better than the 5000. It seems to have twice the cooling power as the 5000. I'm sure that's not true but I'm just saying for the extra thirty bucks I wish I would have gotten another GE 6000 BTU unit.

Was this review helpful? (92) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ObamaForPrez
Florida
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
6/21/2012

Customer review by DAaronM

4.0 stars 6/21/2012 by DAaronM
by DAaronM

This is an excellent air conditioner for one room. I love the delay, you can set to go on before you get home, so when you do the room is cool.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DAaronM
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product and Price.
5/6/2012

Customer review by mrmlkm

5.0 stars 5/6/2012 by mrmlkm
by mrmlkm

Great product and price. I bought this for our pop up camper and does a great job. if you are looking for a great air conditioner this is the one to get. I had it shipped free to my walmart and it came in on time. very satisfied with product and service.

Was this review helpful? (35) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mrmlkm
nice unit for the money
5/24/2014

Customer review by meatpuppet

4.0 stars 5/24/2014 by meatpuppet
by meatpuppet
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

well made and sound level as low as you can get...most units sound like a buzz saw ...not this one seems all ge units are very low on noise level ... well worth the money

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
meatpuppet
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect little air conditoner
9/14/2012

Customer review by ispy1964

5.0 stars 9/14/2012 by ispy1964
by ispy1964

This air conditioner works great! It gets a room freezing cold in a matter of minutes. It is just what I needed in this heat wave we are having in San Diego! I think perhaps any less than stellar reviews are because people don't know how room air conditioners work. They are not meant to cool an entire house, or a kitchen (which gets too hot). They are for a bedroom, a den, or a small living room. You have to close all doors to the room at all times, and keep the cool inside the room. It also helps to leave it running all day, especially when it is really hot out, because it keeps things cool (this unit has an energy saver mode so that it will turn off when it reaches a certain temperature). It isn't meant to cool the whole house, so if you leave the door to the room open it tries to cool the whole house and nothing gets cool. So close the doors and enjoy the cold!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ispy1964
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good product
7/12/2013

Customer review by ITisME2

5.0 stars 7/12/2013 by ITisME2
by ITisME2

Good product, easy to understand and use. All the information was a little hard to find before purchase, such as it has a remote, minimum temperature setting is 64 degrees.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ITisME2
NY upstate in gods country
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/22/2012

Customer review by SafLuv

5.0 stars 7/22/2012 by SafLuv
by SafLuv

I am so glad that I read the other reviews about this product. It keeps my bedroom that is upstairs really cool and the hall way. I love it. And it is not too loud either.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SafLuv
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7/20/2012

Customer review by chiheights

5.0 stars 7/20/2012 by chiheights
by chiheights

Great product for the price. Quiet and blows out nice cool air. Kept my kitchen and living room comfortable. Instillation kit looks neat in window. Easy to install.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chiheights
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good value
5/21/2012

Customer review by djt1234

5.0 stars 5/21/2012 by djt1234
by djt1234

Easy to install and works well. I use in my bedroom and really like the remote and automatic settings. I don't like having it run all the time, so the temp control is great.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
djt1234
Traverse City, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Beware of shipping damage!
6/7/2012

Customer review by stayincoolnenc

4.0 stars 6/7/2012 by stayincoolnenc
by stayincoolnenc

My wife had purchased this model last summer at our local Walmart to spot cool our bedroom. We have been pleased with its performance. I purchased the same unit online (our local store stocked w/ Haier). I should have unboxed it as soon as it arrived, but I wasn't finished w/ my building. I unboxed it yesterday and the metal housing @ the coils was damaged. I removed the housing to inspect the damage and there was none to the coils. I straightened the housing, sanded the damaged area and repainted it. I would have sent it back, but a month had passed since it arrived. I thought about contacting Walmart for a replacement, but decided it might be damaged in shipping too. The boxes have very little foam padding.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stayincoolnenc
Washington,NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
shuts off when temperature is achieved
5/10/2014

Customer review by stlhd

5.0 stars 5/10/2014 by stlhd
by stlhd
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

energy saver

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stlhd
cleveland ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent AC for my needs
6/13/2012

Customer review by Daizin

4.0 stars 6/13/2012 by Daizin
by Daizin

Purchased as a helper to central AC in bedroom and bath. Excluding two large closets, square footage is approximately 285, 8 1/2 foot ceiling, two windows (29x64) that receive heavy sun during the late afternoon, and one skylight that receives sun all day. Forty-inch flat screen TV and computer with 22 inch flat screen monitor. One 100 watt incandescent light after dark that throws a lot of heat. Bedroom a good distance from central AC and receiving slight to moderate air. Room temperature over 80 degrees when TV and computer on even when it's only 80 degrees outside and central AC running. The small GE AC works wonderful for my needs. Very powerful for its size. Colder air than the central AC. Can get the room to 68 with no problem at 91 degrees outside with central AC running. Family likes central AC temperature at 75 degrees so when it turns off in the early evening, the bedroom with the TV and computer on becomes much too hot and temperature continues to rise. The small window AC takes care of that very easily. A few cons. If you want the room temperature to be 72, the AC needs to be set lower, say 68. The lowest setting is 64. Another problem I noticed is with the energy saver controls. If the temperature falls into the 60’s at night, the temperature on the AC registers the outside temperature and doesn’t turn off and on. It stays off. So, if it is 77 in the room, for example, the temperature on the AC might show 64 if it is 64 outside so it won’t turn on. Not sure why that happens. I change it to ‘cool’ and it turns on. If you live somewhere where the temperature stays warm at night, it probably will work fine. Despite those problems, it works very well. If the temperature problems trouble you, don’t buy it, but it doesn’t bother me, because I only have it on energy saver at night when I want it to turn off; however, the energy saver off and on works great when it’s warm outside. The AC is very small and easy to install. I didn’t attach it to the window frame with enclosed screws because it will be removed for the winter. The remote is excellent. Don’t have to point it directly to the AC for it to work. The compressor is very quiet. Barely noticeable when it comes on and goes off. The fan is also much quieter than others I have had. For the price, I can’t complain. If you want an AC with a very accurate temperature gauge, it will probably cost much more. Have had both Carrier and GE 5000 BTU window AC’s in the past. Temperature controls of both worked much better than this one but were not accurate either. They also were much larger in size and cost close to $300. I paid 97 cents shipping and it arrived in two days. Can’t beat that.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Daizin
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Cools my Bedroom off great.
6/17/2012

Customer review by msberry

5.0 stars 6/17/2012 by msberry
by msberry

I love this air conditioner. I put it in my bedroom and it cools it down quick. Sometimes i forget and leave the bedroom door open, the rest of my apt. starts to cool down too.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
msberry
sharon springs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 176 total reviews
1-20 of 176 reviews