Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 224 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

224 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

224 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
135
4 stars
59
3 stars
9
2 stars
5
1 stars
16
1-20 of 177 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 177 total reviews
1-20 of 177 reviews
Great window air conditioner.
9/19/2013

Customer review by Rowdy79

5.0 stars 9/19/2013 by Rowdy79
by Rowdy79
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We presently have 2 of these units in operation and they perform better than expected When the desired temperature is reached the compressor turns off . . . and a little later the fan turns off. One of these air conditioner does not turn on until the sun shines on that side of the building and turns off at night. All the functions can be controlled from a remote control and the digital read out is ideal for setting the temperature remotely. Units are really quiet

Was this review helpful? (44) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rowdy79
Titus, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great little unit
5/23/2014

Customer review by thisispia

5.0 stars 5/23/2014 by thisispia
by thisispia

I purchased this online and received in 3 days. Installed in my den and operating is very quiet and room becomes cool quickly making it very comfortable for watching TV. I will purchase another one for my bedroom to replace the one there that is very loud. Very impressed!

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thisispia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Air Conditioner for a Small Space
7/28/2014

Customer review by MandCinWA

4.0 stars 7/28/2014 by MandCinWA
by MandCinWA
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We installed this to cool the kitchen on extra hot days (thankfully not too many of those here in WA state :), as well as for days we have all the burners going for canning. So far, so good. Pros: - It is small, yet powerful - The remote control makes it easy to power on and pick settings, plus it has a magnetic backing to stick on the fridge. - Provides plenty of options with the varied settings (cool, energy saver and fan + low, medium, high and more) - Pretty easy to install - our set-up required a sheet of plexi-glass and general hand tools Cons: - Sliding extenders have a small gap (see red arrow on image)...just big enough to fit a small bug or eeks! a spider - Even though it's a small unit it's really heavy to lug around and work with

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MandCinWA
WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Remarkably effective
6/15/2012

Customer review by scholastica

4.0 stars 6/15/2012 by scholastica
by scholastica

My expensive Fri*dr*ch air conditioner was damaged because of restoration work on the walls of my building. Since the work is going to continue for some time, I decided to buy an inexpensive replacement for my bedroom for the summer; and then to purchase a "better" model for permanent installation. Imagine my surprise when this inexpensive model outperformed my former airconditioner, which cost three times the price. Within 10 minutes the GE reduced the termperature in my room by 7 degrees and reduced the humidity from 57 to 49. It performed well, despite the fact that my room is 12 x 15 with 11 foot ceilings. Another thing I like is its weight; it's only about 40 lbs, so despite the fact that I'm an elderly lady, I was able to put it in the window myself. I gave it four stars instead of 5 because it is a bit noisy. But this is a great value and a great little workhorse. I would have bought the larger model, but my window is only 17.5" wide. I highly recommend it..

Was this review helpful? (47) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
scholastica
New York, N.Y.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:65 or older
Great ac for a small room.
5/18/2012

Customer review by trushing8

5.0 stars 5/18/2012 by trushing8
by trushing8

Great ac for a small room. It's quiet and effective. Comes with a remote control. The built in thermostat and digital display makes this exceptionally useful. This ac is installed in a 10' x 20' room.

Was this review helpful? (130) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
trushing8
Palmdale, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Great little air conditioner
6/1/2014

Customer review by Pebbles215

5.0 stars 6/1/2014 by Pebbles215
by Pebbles215
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I needed this conditioner for my bedroom and I am happy so far. I really like the remote and also the ability to delay start. I can go to work and set it to turn on a bit before I will return home. That way I don't have to leave it on all day in order to come home to a cool space.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pebbles215
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
quiet, cools fast, easy to install
5/12/2012

Customer review by quartzsitecharlie

5.0 stars 5/12/2012 by quartzsitecharlie
by quartzsitecharlie

this unit replaces a thru the wall unit that is quite old.. was looking for a unit much more efficient than old one, this is quieter, and with thermostat control, will shut off when temp is at set number. have used it only 3 times so far, but seems great This is a window unit, but it easily fit the old thru the wall space.. this was only unit small enough to fit space allowable. This unit is used in a bedroom only. This unit will be used every day thru September.

Was this review helpful? (55) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
quartzsitecharlie
Arizona desert
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
Overall, does a good job
6/3/2014

Customer review by FrankandJessesmom

4.0 stars 6/3/2014 by FrankandJessesmom
by FrankandJessesmom

While the nifty bells and whistles such as a delay start, fan only, energy saver, and remote control are very nice to have, my main concerns were fitting my window, keeping bugs out, quiet, and COLD. It fits in my window nicely and the pull out panels are absolutely the deal maker for me -- they were easy enough to install and I didn't have to go looking for some other part or piece for the unit! It came out of the box, slid the accordion panels on, opened the window, pushed out the screen, sat the unit in the window, brought the storm window down, screwed in the unit to the storm window frame, screwed in the panels and sealed the panels with the foam that was included with the unit (caution - the sticky foam is REALLY sticky! I had a hard time cutting it so I just pulled it to make it fit and found quite a bit of the foam still on my fingers#. Plugged it in to a regular wall socket #it does not need the higher voltage electric socket, yeah!# and turned it on. Cold instantly! I will be purchasing at least 2 more of these little guys in the next week or so -- my main HVAC system died and my family and I are in the process of buying a new home and I'm not going to buy a $4,500 HVAC system for the short period of time that we have until we move -- so these little guys will get us through until our new house is ready! I have had this unit in use for about a month, and I have cleaned the screen easy enough. It's not loud enough to keep me from hearing my kids tv in the next room or keep me up at night, so I'd say for a window unit to be so close to my bed, it must be ok for my sensitive hearing. My German Shepherd doesn't have a problem with it #she likes the cold# but the German Malinois found it to be odd and I catch her sneaking up on it occasionally. LOL Keeps me cold and at night I find I need a blanket. But a small bedroom will be all that it can handle and not a large room or an open room #such as living areas).

Was this review helpful? (31) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FrankandJessesmom
Kentuckessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Great AC for small room......office/bedroom.
3/18/2014

Customer review by Paintmanmatt

5.0 stars 3/18/2014 by Paintmanmatt
by Paintmanmatt
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This GE model is much nicer than the Maytag it replaced. I like the digital controls and included remote, especially since I put it in a bedroom.......you don't have to get out of bed to make adjustments. It's very quiet, most of the noise is from the fan hitting the water, but not very loud at all. I am planning on purchasing another one to put in another back room. I live in Florida, so use small AC's in back rooms and bedrooms so I don't have to turn the big AC on until the heat of summer kicks in.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Paintmanmatt
Polk City, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Go For The 6000 BTU
4/29/2012

Customer review by ObamaForPrez

4.0 stars 4/29/2012 by ObamaForPrez
by ObamaForPrez

This is a nice enough unit and it works fine. But I also have the GE 6000 BTU unit and and I like it much better than the 5000. It seems to have twice the cooling power as the 5000. I'm sure that's not true but I'm just saying for the extra thirty bucks I wish I would have gotten another GE 6000 BTU unit.

Was this review helpful? (94) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ObamaForPrez
Florida
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
6/21/2012

Customer review by DAaronM

4.0 stars 6/21/2012 by DAaronM
by DAaronM

This is an excellent air conditioner for one room. I love the delay, you can set to go on before you get home, so when you do the room is cool.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DAaronM
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Great product and Price.
5/6/2012

Customer review by mrmlkm

5.0 stars 5/6/2012 by mrmlkm
by mrmlkm

Great product and price. I bought this for our pop up camper and does a great job. if you are looking for a great air conditioner this is the one to get. I had it shipped free to my walmart and it came in on time. very satisfied with product and service.

Was this review helpful? (35) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mrmlkm
Perfect little air conditoner
9/14/2012

Customer review by ispy1964

5.0 stars 9/14/2012 by ispy1964
by ispy1964

This air conditioner works great! It gets a room freezing cold in a matter of minutes. It is just what I needed in this heat wave we are having in San Diego! I think perhaps any less than stellar reviews are because people don't know how room air conditioners work. They are not meant to cool an entire house, or a kitchen (which gets too hot). They are for a bedroom, a den, or a small living room. You have to close all doors to the room at all times, and keep the cool inside the room. It also helps to leave it running all day, especially when it is really hot out, because it keeps things cool (this unit has an energy saver mode so that it will turn off when it reaches a certain temperature). It isn't meant to cool the whole house, so if you leave the door to the room open it tries to cool the whole house and nothing gets cool. So close the doors and enjoy the cold!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ispy1964
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Good product
7/12/2013

Customer review by ITisME2

5.0 stars 7/12/2013 by ITisME2
by ITisME2

Good product, easy to understand and use. All the information was a little hard to find before purchase, such as it has a remote, minimum temperature setting is 64 degrees.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ITisME2
NY upstate in gods country
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
Easy to install & works great!
6/26/2014

Customer review by srose88

5.0 stars 6/26/2014 by srose88
by srose88
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought two of these for the bedrooms and they both work great. I don't need to turn them on ahead of time when I want to use them, If the room is too hot I can turn them on and they cool the room in minutes. Having the remote is awesome because I'm way to lazy to make the trek off the bed. I always leave them on the energy saver mode which does a sufficient job cooling the room.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
srose88
Manchester, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Age:25 - 34
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
nice unit for the money
5/24/2014

Customer review by meatpuppet

4.0 stars 5/24/2014 by meatpuppet
by meatpuppet
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

well made and sound level as low as you can get...most units sound like a buzz saw ...not this one seems all ge units are very low on noise level ... well worth the money

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
meatpuppet
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/22/2012

Customer review by SafLuv

5.0 stars 7/22/2012 by SafLuv
by SafLuv

I am so glad that I read the other reviews about this product. It keeps my bedroom that is upstairs really cool and the hall way. I love it. And it is not too loud either.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SafLuv
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
7/20/2012

Customer review by chiheights

5.0 stars 7/20/2012 by chiheights
by chiheights

Great product for the price. Quiet and blows out nice cool air. Kept my kitchen and living room comfortable. Instillation kit looks neat in window. Easy to install.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chiheights
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Excellent air conditioner
7/13/2014

Customer review by Winchester2

5.0 stars 7/13/2014 by Winchester2
by Winchester2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 500 contributor

I had initially bought another brand at Walmart because it was all they had the day I was there. It was a complete fail and I quickly returned it and ordered the GE model online to replace it. My previous air conditioner was a GE that lasted years and I felt confident in buying the brand again. I was not disappointed. My room is about 12x14. Put the temp way down on this unit and it can freeze you out of it. The remote is straightforward and the controls easy to see on the front of the unit. Its a bit noisy on low sometimes but nothing that would keep me awake at night. Not sure how energy efficient it is since I haven't rec'd my electric bill yet to see how much it increased it but I doubt it would be anymore than my old one. Probably even less since air conditioners are even more efficient now.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Winchester2
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 500 contributor
8/10/2012

Customer review by TooComplicated

4.0 stars 8/10/2012 by TooComplicated
by TooComplicated

I installed it in 1/2 hour and it pulled the room temp down to 64 degrees (the max) in around 25 min with a 91 degree outside in the shade air temp. This is the 2nd A/C I got from Walmart. The 1st was a Heier which vibrated so badly it broke the putty and shook the glass out of the window. I found the fan in the Heier had not had the molding flash trimmed off and was grossly out of balance. I took it back to the store. This was 3 years ago and I continued to use my old unit until it recently died. I considered another Heier but after the fiasco of the 1st one, I decided to spend a few bucks more and try the GE. This GE unit is small, reasonably quiet and does the job for me in 150 Sq Ft 10x15 bedroom. The only thing I didn't like was the fact that the fragile coils were exposed outside and subject to damage if you are not careful with the handling of the unit during install; a simple protective perforated cover would have been nice. I of course was careful! I did like the remote feature very much as you don't have to get out of bed to change something. For the money I don't think you can do better! Only time will tell if it passes the reliability test. Impressive little unit.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TooComplicated
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
1-20 of 177 total reviews
1-20 of 177 reviews