Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 223 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

223 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

5 stars
134
4 stars
59
3 stars
9
2 stars
5
1 stars
16
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 176 total reviews
Great ac for a small room.
5/18/2012

Customer review by trushing8

5.0 stars by trushing8

Great ac for a small room. It's quiet and effective. Comes with a remote control. The built in thermostat and digital display makes this exceptionally useful. This ac is installed in a 10' x 20' room.

Was this review helpful? (130) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
trushing8
Palmdale, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Remarkably effective
6/15/2012

Customer review by scholastica

4.0 stars by scholastica

My expensive Fri*dr*ch air conditioner was damaged because of restoration work on the walls of my building. Since the work is going to continue for some time, I decided to buy an inexpensive replacement for my bedroom for the summer; and then to purchase a "better" model for permanent installation. Imagine my surprise when this inexpensive model outperformed my former airconditioner, which cost three times the price. Within 10 minutes the GE reduced the termperature in my room by 7 degrees and reduced the humidity from 57 to 49. It performed well, despite the fact that my room is 12 x 15 with 11 foot ceilings. Another thing I like is its weight; it's only about 40 lbs, so despite the fact that I'm an elderly lady, I was able to put it in the window myself. I gave it four stars instead of 5 because it is a bit noisy. But this is a great value and a great little workhorse. I would have bought the larger model, but my window is only 17.5" wide. I highly recommend it..

Was this review helpful? (47) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
scholastica
New York, N.Y.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Go For The 6000 BTU
4/29/2012

Customer review by ObamaForPrez

4.0 stars by ObamaForPrez

This is a nice enough unit and it works fine. But I also have the GE 6000 BTU unit and and I like it much better than the 5000. It seems to have twice the cooling power as the 5000. I'm sure that's not true but I'm just saying for the extra thirty bucks I wish I would have gotten another GE 6000 BTU unit.

Was this review helpful? (92) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ObamaForPrez
Florida
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
quiet, cools fast, easy to install
5/12/2012

Customer review by quartzsitecharlie

5.0 stars by quartzsitecharlie

this unit replaces a thru the wall unit that is quite old.. was looking for a unit much more efficient than old one, this is quieter, and with thermostat control, will shut off when temp is at set number. have used it only 3 times so far, but seems great This is a window unit, but it easily fit the old thru the wall space.. this was only unit small enough to fit space allowable. This unit is used in a bedroom only. This unit will be used every day thru September.

Was this review helpful? (55) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
quartzsitecharlie
Arizona desert
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great window air conditioner.
9/19/2013

Customer review by Rowdy79

5.0 stars by Rowdy79

We presently have 2 of these units in operation and they perform better than expected When the desired temperature is reached the compressor turns off . . . and a little later the fan turns off. One of these air conditioner does not turn on until the sun shines on that side of the building and turns off at night. All the functions can be controlled from a remote control and the digital read out is ideal for setting the temperature remotely. Units are really quiet

Was this review helpful? (44) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Rowdy79
Titus, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Overall, does a good job
6/3/2014

Customer review by FrankandJessesmom

4.0 stars by FrankandJessesmom

While the nifty bells and whistles such as a delay start, fan only, energy saver, and remote control are very nice to have, my main concerns were fitting my window, keeping bugs out, quiet, and COLD. It fits in my window nicely and the pull out panels are absolutely the deal maker for me -- they were easy enough to install and I didn't have to go looking for some other part or piece for the unit! It came out of the box, slid the accordion panels on, opened the window, pushed out the screen, sat the unit in the window, brought the storm window down, screwed in the unit to the storm window frame, screwed in the panels and sealed the panels with the foam that was included with the unit (caution - the sticky foam is REALLY sticky! I had a hard time cutting it so I just pulled it to make it fit and found quite a bit of the foam still on my fingers#. Plugged it in to a regular wall socket #it does not need the higher voltage electric socket, yeah!# and turned it on. Cold instantly! I will be purchasing at least 2 more of these little guys in the next week or so -- my main HVAC system died and my family and I are in the process of buying a new home and I'm not going to buy a $4,500 HVAC system for the short period of time that we have until we move -- so these little guys will get us through until our new house is ready! I have had this unit in use for about a month, and I have cleaned the screen easy enough. It's not loud enough to keep me from hearing my kids tv in the next room or keep me up at night, so I'd say for a window unit to be so close to my bed, it must be ok for my sensitive hearing. My German Shepherd doesn't have a problem with it #she likes the cold# but the German Malinois found it to be odd and I catch her sneaking up on it occasionally. LOL Keeps me cold and at night I find I need a blanket. But a small bedroom will be all that it can handle and not a large room or an open room #such as living areas).

Was this review helpful? (31) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
FrankandJessesmom
Kentuckessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product and Price.
5/6/2012

Customer review by mrmlkm

5.0 stars by mrmlkm

Great product and price. I bought this for our pop up camper and does a great job. if you are looking for a great air conditioner this is the one to get. I had it shipped free to my walmart and it came in on time. very satisfied with product and service.

Was this review helpful? (35) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
mrmlkm
Makes Irritating Noises, Temperature Not Accurate
5/25/2012

Customer review by IHateJunkyStuff

3.0 stars by IHateJunkyStuff

I recently picked one of these up at my local Walmart to cover my small 10x11 bedroom. I was debating on getting this one or the next size up - 6,400btu. I didn't want to get something oversized. I made that mistake previously and the unit was constantly cycling and the room was very uncomfortable, not to mention the excess energy it was consuming. The larger GE A/C unit at Walmart looked like it had better air flow control, which was the only reason I was considering it. This one just has disc inside of it to control the air flow, not vents which can be directed up and down and side to side. They should have the top of the unit angled up, along with the vents, like other a/c units I've seen. That way the cold air blows up in the room and sinks down, and also gets it further away from the system's thermostat for more accurate temperature readings. Nevertheless I decided on this since I really didn't want to oversize the unit, and my options were limited locally. After using it for a while, here's what I found. It makes these horrible metal and pinging tapping sounds. If you're the type who has trouble tuning out irritating sounds when sleeping or otherwise, this might not be the one for you. The fan is quiet, and having three fan speeds plus the ability to have it automatically control the fan speed is nice. In auto fan mode, the fan speed cycles down to low when the compressor is not running. My second gripe with this, as with lots of former window a/c units, is that the thermostat is drastically off. I have two differet thermometers withing 5 feet of the unit. When the A/C says 68, both my other thermometers in the room show 74-75! They must've located the internal thermister was to close to the vents. What they should do is to have a plug in the side for an external thermostat so that you can place it near where you are in the room, so it's not measuring the temperature right next to where the vents on the system are, which of course, is going to be much colder than where you sit. They should just have an RF remote with a thermostat built into it so it will measure the temperature where the remote is! I think perhaps I will try the alternative Frigidair 5,000 btu A/C that Walmart online seems to have online now and order it in. There were some complaints about noise with that in the reviews, but that may be subjective and they werent't very descriptive as to whether it was fan noise or otherwise. The Frigidaire comes with a much better remote that displays the temperature on the remote, so if you are near sighted and need to change the temperature at night, it's right there on the remote.

Was this review helpful? (27) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
IHateJunkyStuff
New York
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great little air conditioner
6/1/2014

Customer review by Pebbles215

5.0 stars by Pebbles215

I needed this conditioner for my bedroom and I am happy so far. I really like the remote and also the ability to delay start. I can go to work and set it to turn on a bit before I will return home. That way I don't have to leave it on all day in order to come home to a cool space.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Pebbles215
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great AC for small room......office/bedroom.
3/18/2014

Customer review by Paintmanmatt

5.0 stars by Paintmanmatt

This GE model is much nicer than the Maytag it replaced. I like the digital controls and included remote, especially since I put it in a bedroom.......you don't have to get out of bed to make adjustments. It's very quiet, most of the noise is from the fan hitting the water, but not very loud at all. I am planning on purchasing another one to put in another back room. I live in Florida, so use small AC's in back rooms and bedrooms so I don't have to turn the big AC on until the heat of summer kicks in.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Paintmanmatt
Polk City, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent AC for my needs
6/13/2012

Customer review by Daizin

4.0 stars by Daizin

Purchased as a helper to central AC in bedroom and bath. Excluding two large closets, square footage is approximately 285, 8 1/2 foot ceiling, two windows (29x64) that receive heavy sun during the late afternoon, and one skylight that receives sun all day. Forty-inch flat screen TV and computer with 22 inch flat screen monitor. One 100 watt incandescent light after dark that throws a lot of heat. Bedroom a good distance from central AC and receiving slight to moderate air. Room temperature over 80 degrees when TV and computer on even when it's only 80 degrees outside and central AC running. The small GE AC works wonderful for my needs. Very powerful for its size. Colder air than the central AC. Can get the room to 68 with no problem at 91 degrees outside with central AC running. Family likes central AC temperature at 75 degrees so when it turns off in the early evening, the bedroom with the TV and computer on becomes much too hot and temperature continues to rise. The small window AC takes care of that very easily. A few cons. If you want the room temperature to be 72, the AC needs to be set lower, say 68. The lowest setting is 64. Another problem I noticed is with the energy saver controls. If the temperature falls into the 60’s at night, the temperature on the AC registers the outside temperature and doesn’t turn off and on. It stays off. So, if it is 77 in the room, for example, the temperature on the AC might show 64 if it is 64 outside so it won’t turn on. Not sure why that happens. I change it to ‘cool’ and it turns on. If you live somewhere where the temperature stays warm at night, it probably will work fine. Despite those problems, it works very well. If the temperature problems trouble you, don’t buy it, but it doesn’t bother me, because I only have it on energy saver at night when I want it to turn off; however, the energy saver off and on works great when it’s warm outside. The AC is very small and easy to install. I didn’t attach it to the window frame with enclosed screws because it will be removed for the winter. The remote is excellent. Don’t have to point it directly to the AC for it to work. The compressor is very quiet. Barely noticeable when it comes on and goes off. The fan is also much quieter than others I have had. For the price, I can’t complain. If you want an AC with a very accurate temperature gauge, it will probably cost much more. Have had both Carrier and GE 5000 BTU window AC’s in the past. Temperature controls of both worked much better than this one but were not accurate either. They also were much larger in size and cost close to $300. I paid 97 cents shipping and it arrived in two days. Can’t beat that.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Daizin
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good value
5/21/2012

Customer review by djt1234

5.0 stars by djt1234

Easy to install and works well. I use in my bedroom and really like the remote and automatic settings. I don't like having it run all the time, so the temp control is great.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
djt1234
Traverse City, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great little unit
5/23/2014

Customer review by thisispia

5.0 stars by thisispia

I purchased this online and received in 3 days. Installed in my den and operating is very quiet and room becomes cool quickly making it very comfortable for watching TV. I will purchase another one for my bedroom to replace the one there that is very loud. Very impressed!

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
thisispia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
6/21/2012

Customer review by DAaronM

4.0 stars by DAaronM

This is an excellent air conditioner for one room. I love the delay, you can set to go on before you get home, so when you do the room is cool.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
DAaronM
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/20/2012

Customer review by chiheights

5.0 stars by chiheights

Great product for the price. Quiet and blows out nice cool air. Kept my kitchen and living room comfortable. Instillation kit looks neat in window. Easy to install.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
chiheights
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7/22/2012

Customer review by SafLuv

5.0 stars by SafLuv

I am so glad that I read the other reviews about this product. It keeps my bedroom that is upstairs really cool and the hall way. I love it. And it is not too loud either.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
SafLuv
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good product
7/12/2013

Customer review by ITisME2

5.0 stars by ITisME2

Good product, easy to understand and use. All the information was a little hard to find before purchase, such as it has a remote, minimum temperature setting is 64 degrees.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ITisME2
NY upstate in gods country
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
nice unit for the money
5/24/2014

Customer review by meatpuppet

4.0 stars by meatpuppet

well made and sound level as low as you can get...most units sound like a buzz saw ...not this one seems all ge units are very low on noise level ... well worth the money

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
meatpuppet
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
perfect for the price
5/28/2014

Customer review by alto

4.0 stars by alto

It took longer to put together than i would like but it cools the room perfectly and is not too loud.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
alto
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
shuts off when temperature is achieved
5/10/2014

Customer review by stlhd

5.0 stars by stlhd

energy saver

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
stlhd
cleveland ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 176 total reviews