Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 7 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

7 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

7 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-6 of 6 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Careful which Portable Case you order
7/7/2016

Customer review by ara263

4.0 stars 7/7/2016 by ara263
by ara263
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

First off - with a couple of minor exceptions I Love this case and it does exactly what I hoped it would do. In fact it exceeded my expectations in the area of performance and ease of use. The downsides are 2 fold - one is with Walmarts descriptions and the other is for some minor changes I'd like to see in the design, etc. from Humminbird. Be very careful which item you order. There are basically 2 versions of this. One includes the battery (which I wanted and did order) and the other does NOT include the battery. The units marked with an 'NB' in the item number do Not include the battery. For me, having the battery included is half the reason to have this unit. No external wires running around the boat to you onboard battery and with the included charger it's easy to use remotely, in differing locations or on someone else's boat. Also, The descriptions on the Walmart site do not match the item. The description for the one without the battery says it has one and the one with the battery says it does not - be sure to look for the 'NB' (no battery) in the item # for the one that doesn't have the battery. Also if you look you'll see that the pricing is kinda messed up - I bought the one with the battery and charger for less than they have some of the ones with no battery listed. Some of the descriptions also say the transducer is included which is incorrect. If you need to, look on other sites and find the correct item number for what you want then order that item from Walmart using the correct number (ignoring their description). As for the unit itself, the directions aren't the clearest when explaining how to assemble the unit but the unit did come with more than enough parts to assemble depending on which Finder you have. I have the Humminbird 197DI and it had all the necessary hardware to correctly install the FF and the correct portable mounting for the transducer. Once assembled I was impressed with the portability of the unit and ease of use. There are sufficient compartments to house everything including the transponder and cables and even has a pocket to store the charger for the battery. The battery life is very good with several days of use without needing to recharge. Which leads me to my other biggest complaint. When connecting the battery charger you must open a small and very limiting access flap to get to the battery which makes it VERY difficult to connect the charger without removing the battery entirely (definitely have to remove the transponder and cable from it's storage pocket to get access). It's not possible to connect the charger without disconnecting the FF from the battery terminals as well. With all the cables they do include it'd be nice if they included a small cable that permanently attached to the battery (along with the FF) that would make connecting the charger easier.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ara263
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/22/2012

Customer review by NuclearBanana

5.0 stars 12/22/2012 by NuclearBanana
by NuclearBanana
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy to set up, durable, great quality. Thought by description it included a transducer, which it does not.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NuclearBanana
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Portable Case
2/26/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 2/26/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Assembly instructions were good. I have a Humminbird 598ci HD si unit. It went together well with the exception of putting the base into the fabric case. It was a bit of a struggle but it does fit. The battery charger that comes with it has alligator clips to connect to the battery terminals. I replaced them with insulated terminals made for the spade lugs on the battery. Just gave me a little better peace of mind that they would not come off as alligator clips may do if you should move or bump the unit while is charging.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Chelsea, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great product
12/21/2013

Customer review by steelheadbass

5.0 stars 12/21/2013 by steelheadbass
by steelheadbass
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

a little over priced, but what isn't. in its present form battery is nearyl impossible to install and remove. I cut out inside pocket above battery compartment giving me free access to charge battery or remove it. also didn't lose any space because I can still store items in that area. in its original form I could not fit the hummingbird manuel. now it fits nicely above battery in compartment. other than that I love it. can't wait to use it on the water.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
steelheadbass
saint john,in
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/18/2013

Customer review by Carljm

4.0 stars 10/18/2013 by Carljm
by Carljm
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Excellent product, and even a better price. Now my open water locator. Is now ready for hard water fishing! This kit comes with EVERYTHING to convert my 798ciHD

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Carljm
Gordon,Wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
works great
12/17/2012

Customer review by icefishfool

4.0 stars 12/17/2012 by icefishfool
by icefishfool
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Good product given the price. Would like a heavvier duty material, but good none the less.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
icefishfool
wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.