Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 71 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

71 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

71 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
57
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-20 of 60 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 60 total reviews
1-20 of 60 reviews
5/14/2012

Customer review by PensacolaBren

5.0 stars 5/14/2012 by PensacolaBren
by PensacolaBren

I read all the reviews I could find on sewing machines and decided that the Brother LB6800PRW Project Runway Sewing and Embroidery Machine was the machine for me. It has numerous features I wanted and the price was right. With the ability to download patterns, this machine has more flexibility of use and the quality of the machine was evident when I used it the very first time. It is quiet and with the CD enclosed I had no problem learning how to begin. I would recommend this machine to anyone who wants a quality sewing machine with the added bonus of being able to embroider as well! Walmart made it easy to order this machine and it even arrived for pickup two days earlier which was wonderful considering I could hardly wait to start sewing. I have ordered several items from Walmart and give Walmart 5 stars for their service!

Was this review helpful? (140) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PensacolaBren
Pensacola, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Absolutely LOVE this Machine!!!!
9/18/2013

Customer review by WifeAndMom3

5.0 stars 9/18/2013 by WifeAndMom3
by WifeAndMom3

I purchased this machine about 2 or 3 weeks ago and I could not be any more happier with it! I was going backwards and forwards between this one and the SE400. Everything looks exactly the same but I love the rolling bag and love the show Project Runway so I went with this one. This machine is great for EVERYONE, Beginners, semi pros, and pros. I love how if something isn't correct the light will stay red until you fix it then it will turn green. There's pictures and arrows to really give you detail of what needs to be done to do ANY style, design, or embroidery you want. It cuts the thread for you, threads the needle, etc. There are soo many positive things to say about this machine. When you are using the embroidery make sure you are using the right needle for the type of fabric you are sewing and make sure you are using stabilizers to keep the threading from pulling and tugging on the fabric. Anyone who buys this sewing/embroidery machine will be happy with their purchase.

Was this review helpful? (125) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WifeAndMom3
Dumfries,VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent for beginners for the price!
4/22/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/22/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This embroidery machine is great for beginners. Easy to use, if you read the user manual first, and the results are great. Attaching the embroidery feet for the first time is a little confusing but when you do it two or three times is easy. I will recommend to anyone who is a beginner in sewing and embroidery. Great product for the price.

Was this review helpful? (87) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Puerto Rico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Brother Sewing machine!
9/29/2013

Customer review by dancinfool

5.0 stars 9/29/2013 by dancinfool
by dancinfool

The Brother Project Runway Sewing and Embroidery Machine with Tote, LB6800PRW is the first new machine I've had in 30 years. My previous one was also a Brother machine. I did love that one, but this one surpassed my wildest dreams, I can embroider, quilt, serge, do a gazillion different things that my older one couldn't do. I read many, many reviews on different machines, but ultimately went with the Brother because a) the one I had lasted 30 years, b) the price point was great, and c) now that I'm retired I have lots of free time to explore different sewing options. There is a bit of a learning curve with this machine, but the manuals provided are easy to understand. Brother-USA.com also provides a number of YouTube "visuals" to help. Couldn't be happier with Walmart and Brother-USA!

Was this review helpful? (64) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dancinfool
Lincoln City, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great machine except ....
9/22/2012

Customer review by lolo1946

3.0 stars 9/22/2012 by lolo1946
by lolo1946

I've a couple questions for Brothers Tech Support but after about 10-12 day, 2 requests, I have yet to get an answer. I'm very disappointed in them. I have had this machine almost a month and have sewn on it daily a variety of sewing projects to get a true feel for it. I really like the machine in principle but at least mine has a couple of daunting issues that I've personnaly have never encountered before in 20 yrs of sewing. My first issue with this machine is that I don't feel the "automatic" pressure foot tension is correct as my fabrics slip all over the place and it's difficult to sew a straight line. Since it is automatic there is nothing I can do to adjust it. Secondly, there seem to be some rough spot (?) when trying to load the fabric under the pressure foot. I feel it could either be that the feed dogs sit to high or possibly some kind of snag on the bottom of the feet, or even that the feet aren't being raised high enough, as the fabric doesn't feed smoothly under the foot when trying to load it for sewing.

Was this review helpful? (52) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lolo1946
Alba, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
love love love this sewing machine.
10/30/2012

Customer review by gmalab

5.0 stars 10/30/2012 by gmalab
by gmalab

I recommend purchasing a walking foot for this machine also, I had to get mine from the Brother website because Wal-Mart didn't carry it. I have replaced a zipper in a pair of jeans (with my walking foot) and finished a quilt top so far. I haven't played with the embroider part, but am looking forward to using it soon. The machine is quiet, the self threader is amazing, overall the machine is very user friendly--it is a well build machine and the instruction dvd is very helpful. I intend on taking classes at our local quilt shop so I love the rolling case that came with the machinte. Love the extra features--you can cut the thread with the push of a button after each seam, raise and lower the needle with a button push and the optional foot or button speed control is nice. Don't hesitate--this machine is amazing! And the price is right! I shopped at a local Brother store and their most economical machine was $800...no embroidery feature, a less effective self threader and half the stitch selection!

Was this review helpful? (71) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gmalab
Manchester, Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for all your sewing needs.
4/17/2012

Customer review by GiGi818

5.0 stars 4/17/2012 by GiGi818
by GiGi818

Once I figured out how everything operated, it is very user friendly.

Was this review helpful? (35) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GiGi818
Nederland,Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
love this machine!
8/6/2012

Customer review by elizawill

5.0 stars 8/6/2012 by elizawill
by elizawill

I've owned the LB 6800 for several months now & absolutely love my machine! It works beautifully & I can honestly say any issues I've ever had have been user error (loading the bobbin wrong, using the wrong needle, etc). The Brother customer service is phenomenal and helped me in the beginning, as I was a new sewer. It comes with a CDrom that also has helpful videos. Another things that was fabulous was youtube and google. There are so many tutorials out there on this machine (look for LB 6800, SE 400, or the HE 240 - they're all basically the same exact thing, so any tutorial with these machines will help you). I definitely give this a 5 star rating. I sew beautifully now & I really feel it's because I have an amazing machine. It makes all the difference in the world!

Was this review helpful? (40) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
elizawill
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Initial Impression Favorable
6/19/2012

Customer review by 58butterflies

4.0 stars 6/19/2012 by 58butterflies
by 58butterflies

I have just started learning the details of how to use the options on this new Sewing and Embroidery machine. I was very impressed with the ease of making buttonholes with the built in stitches and look forward to trying other decorative stitches.

Was this review helpful? (30) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
58butterflies
Topeka, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
appears to be a great machine
4/19/2013

Customer review by sewretired

4.0 stars 4/19/2013 by sewretired
by sewretired

Since I've had it such a short time. I cannot give it 5 stars as yet. I've been sewing for 50+ years and have literally worn out several brands and styles of sewing machines--from treadle to electronic. I had a problem getting past steps 11 -14 of the threading process. because the illustration perspective was not done well, at least for this seasoned graphic designer. After umpteen frustrating attempts to "pass the thread behind the needle bar thread guide" as shown in illustration 11, I had to lay the machine on its back to actually see the needle bar thread guide and accomplish the task.With that done, I was able to proceed with actual sewing. I love the start-stop button! No more chasing a migrating foot pedal and am exploring the built in stitches and how to customize them. Next task is to experiment with embroidery. So far so good! I'll do another review when I've actually completed a few projects.

Was this review helpful? (33) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sewretired
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
EXCELLENT MACHINE
2/12/2014

Customer review by APPLIQUEJUNKIE

5.0 stars 2/12/2014 by APPLIQUEJUNKIE
by APPLIQUEJUNKIE

I have had my machine for almost 2 years. I have never had 1 problem. The machine is very user friendly. I was new to embroidery and hadn't sewn for about 20 years. I have enjoyed this machine very very much. The only tip I might could help with is make sure you use new thread to sew with not grandmothers.

Was this review helpful? (28) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
APPLIQUEJUNKIE
aLBERTVILLE AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Impressive
8/25/2012

Customer review by Excited2

5.0 stars 8/25/2012 by Excited2
by Excited2

I bought this machine for my birthday to update my 30 year old Singer. I wanted more than a sewing machine so the embroidery feature intrigued me along with the carrying case on wheels. I bought it a couple of weeks ago and only have had the opportunity to use the basic sewing machine and not the embroidery feature. I have been very pleased with it and find the instructions book is very user friendly as well as the "help" button on the machine. I'm very happy I decided to make the investment in this machine.

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Excited2
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
I think the sewing machine is very easy to use.
6/18/2012

Customer review by artist07

3.0 stars 6/18/2012 by artist07
by artist07

I gave it 3 stars because I had a faulty machine. The needle threader would not work thus 3 broken needles. Brother adviced to return. Also tried to use the embroider unit but once again a broken needle. I am returning for the same model because I do feel it will be an awesome sewing machine. I did get to try out all of the preprogramed stitches and they looked beautiful now I am anxious to try out the embroidery unit when I get my new replacement. I will let everyone know later if 3 stars jumps to a 5 star rating hopefully soon.

Was this review helpful? (21) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
artist07
South Beach, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Great for a beginner or advanced level!!!
6/1/2012

Customer review by ROXYHRT317

5.0 stars 6/1/2012 by ROXYHRT317
by ROXYHRT317

This machine is great. It does everything you want so easily and is sooooo quiet on the 1st and 2nd speed. 3rd speed is noisy but it is also going really fast!!! I have only been sewing for a few months but It is perfect for me and the manual is very easy to follow if you have questions.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ROXYHRT317
JACKSONVILLE, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great starter and Wonderful travel machine
6/3/2012

Customer review by qltrjudy

5.0 stars 6/3/2012 by qltrjudy
by qltrjudy

I have done machine embroidery for several years. I have the top of the line Brother Quattro. I love machine embroidery so much, I wanted to have something small, but that would still do excellent embroidery. This machine fits my needs exactly. A new person could get the hang of it by reading the manual, and watching the video, which is included on CD. Judy

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
qltrjudy
Mid Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Love this machine!!
11/27/2012

Customer review by Starlite711

5.0 stars 11/27/2012 by Starlite711
by Starlite711

I am new to sewing and bought this machine with the hopes that it would be easy to use. The machine is so easy to use and watching the DVD did help. The machine embroiders well was also easy to use. The hoop it comes with is very small therefore it's best to get a larger hoop therefore you do not have to re-hoop your material when embroidering larger areas. The self threader works awesome!! For the price this machine is very cool. Also a tip: use embroidering thread when u are embroidering, I didn't at first and ended up with a large amount of balled up thread. Take my word for it and get the correct thread.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Starlite711
McAllen, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great machine for any skill level
6/12/2012

Customer review by SeptHummingbird

5.0 stars 6/12/2012 by SeptHummingbird
by SeptHummingbird

The directions were clear and easy to follow. The machine offers a great variety of stitches that are easy to adjust to the project you are working on. I had never used an embrodiery machine but it was very easy to learn on this machine.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SeptHummingbird
Kingston,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
I am IMPRESSED really a great machine
1/7/2013

Customer review by CZYCatLady

5.0 stars 1/7/2013 by CZYCatLady
by CZYCatLady

This is my first embroidery machine and I had my first Tee shirt done the 1st day. I wanted to put our logo on shirts instead of paying. The hardest part was getting the logo ready for the (not the sewing machines fault). The machine performed flawlessly. This machine had features that I was not expecting. I like to do sewing crafts and this is the all purpose machine. This is everything I had hoped for and then some.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CZYCatLady
Thomasville, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value
3/22/2013

Customer review by Victexas

4.0 stars 3/22/2013 by Victexas
by Victexas

Sews great. Embroidery is good but limited to 4x4 size. Perfect for simple lettering and designs. Main flaw is if the thread breaks or has to be retreaded during embroidering I have not figured out a way to back up the stitches to sew what was missed.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Victexas
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
spend the money for a better machine
9/1/2012

Customer review by monielynn

1.0 stars 9/1/2012 by monielynn
by monielynn

Owned this machine for two weeks. The bobbin would not wind completly without turning the machine off and back on again several times. That was the first problem. Then, the first time I tried to use the embroidery attachment a safety alarm went off. Called Brother and they said that means the machine needs repairs. Repairs after two week? I don't think so.

Was this review helpful? (21) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
monielynn
alabama
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 60 total reviews
1-20 of 60 reviews