Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 237 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

2.5 stars

237 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

2.5 stars

237 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

44%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
57
4 stars
35
3 stars
20
2 stars
32
1 stars
93
1-20 of 202 total reviews
44%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 202 total reviews
1-20 of 202 reviews
A great value for a tablet!
3/8/2012

Customer review by alg2468

5.0 stars 3/8/2012 by alg2468
by alg2468

This tablet is excellent and a bargain, provided you realize it's not an ipad or a high end tablet, and if you upgrade it to Android 2.2 with a free download on its web site. The Velocity Micro Cruz Tablet has many good points, such as: Excellent touch screen response A clear and easy to read screen (except in direct sunlight, and nearly all tablets are hard to read in direct sunlight) Good battery life A wide variety of applications can be installed - many for free - from sites like the Cruz Market and freewarelovers.com It is great for use as an ereader; the Moon Reader and Ireader Android apps work great, as well as Kindle and you can download Kobo, too; You can use a variety of web browsers for going on the internet; Very good customer service to help you use the tablet's many applications; Pretty good sound from the bottom firing speakers (even better with the headphone jack) Overall a very good value for a tablet.

Was this review helpful? (667) (38)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
alg2468
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Top 1000 contributor
great for the price
3/10/2012

Customer review by vsharrai

5.0 stars 3/10/2012 by vsharrai
by vsharrai

just got it in today and it is a very great tablet for the low low price. was able to hook up to my wifi right away and start browsing the internet. very great for what i need it for

Was this review helpful? (271) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vsharrai
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I choose this over the iPad
3/13/2012

Customer review by AltBoomz14

5.0 stars 3/13/2012 by AltBoomz14
by AltBoomz14

This is a lovely android tablet. I love the design, and performance. I seriously don't find anything wrong with this. It is as good as the iPad, even better, the price you can buy this it is unbelievable. This is a wonderful tablet, and I 100% recommend it to anyone who wants a quality tablet that you can almost do anything with. I am proud of myself for buying this.

Was this review helpful? (299) (44)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AltBoomz14
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Tablet
3/13/2012

Customer review by SusanAdms414

5.0 stars 3/13/2012 by SusanAdms414
by SusanAdms414

I just wanted to let you guys know that I bought this, and It is lovely. It is light, TONS of features, and love the quality and vibrance of the screen. The touch feature works excellent. You should give this a try, it is crazy inexpensive and as GREAT as expensive tablets that are EXACTLY the same thing.

Was this review helpful? (242) (60)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SusanAdms414
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3/15/2012

Customer review by OldBusGuy

5.0 stars 3/15/2012 by OldBusGuy
by OldBusGuy

I've rated this product 5 stars, because that's a high as it goes. My son-in-law has an IPad that (like most Apple products) is WAY overpriced when compared to this little gem. I wouldn't trade tablets straight up. Much easier to live with and more versatile once you learn its features and limitations. Yes it has limitations, but it's $89.00!!!! I would recommend using a stylus... it seems to give you more control and doesn't leave fingerprints all over the case.

Was this review helpful? (62) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OldBusGuy
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
great tablet
3/17/2012

Customer review by 20fan12

5.0 stars 3/17/2012 by 20fan12
by 20fan12

had a few tablets this one is better than some of the higher priced ones very happy with this tablet

Was this review helpful? (46) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
20fan12
jax fla
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
3/13/2012

Customer review by HazleNut79

5.0 stars 3/13/2012 by HazleNut79
by HazleNut79

Velocity Tablet is awesome. Why would someone get the ipad when this is out there? Great quality, great response. I don't have any complaints about it. Very cool gadget.

Was this review helpful? (48) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HazleNut79
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Honest review.
3/25/2012

Customer review by tellinthetruth4u

1.0 stars 3/25/2012 by tellinthetruth4u
by tellinthetruth4u

As a mom who knows a little something about computers...you want to save your money, trust me. I bought two for my girls and its one issue after another. First, its slow. I mean REALLY slow. I bought SD cards for them immediately knowing i would have to and it requires an arm, a leg, a wrist, toes, and ears to get the cards to work. I read a review that finally clued me in on the problem but it does not help. One of them freezes all the time and actually wont even let me turn it off for at least half a day. Too much hassle.

Was this review helpful? (84) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tellinthetruth4u
Sumter, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very Exceptional For The Price
3/29/2012

Customer review by ddaniel455

5.0 stars 3/29/2012 by ddaniel455
by ddaniel455

This is a very nice tablet for the price. To start off with my review i would like to share what I was able to put on this tablet so far (I haven't tried every application out there yet). Here is what i was able to put on my tablet: Act 1 Video Player Advanced Task Killer Free Mobo Task Killer Pro MP3 Download Lite MP3 Fast Searcher And Downloader Music Search And Download AndExplorer Linda Manager YouTube Dolphin Browser Miren Browser Here is what I wasn't able to put on it: Spotify Android Market (I could find most of the applications I wanted on line anyways) The tablet wasn't very nice at all until I updated it for free from the manufactures website. The update fixed a lot of my issues. The only issue I've had so far with this tablet is that if you browse on the web a lot, then it will sometimes freeze, but I fixed this by sticking a needle in the reset hole and pressing the volume button repeatedly. This isn't a very good choice if you like games, but I'm sure there are games out there somewhere that will work on this tablet. This is probably not an excellent choice for a web browser either. This is a very good choice for the people who just want a tablet to read books on, listen to music, watch videos, and download videos and music. I did find a YouTube application that works excellent on this tablet too. It is very nice after you upgrade your operating system. The E books also look very excellent on this tablet. I've had this tablet for a while now, and I'm very happy with it. I love downloading music, downloading videos, watching YouTube videos, reading ebooks, and playing solitaire on my tablet. I've always been able to fix any issues with this tablet so far. It seems to me like a lot of these reviewers didn't even look on line for a solution. Every time my tablet messes up and freezes, I just put a needle in the reset hole and keep pressing the volume button (sometimes you have to hold the volume button down instead of repeatedly pushing it). I am very happy with this tablet overall. It has a fair amount of applications you can install on it, and it works very well. I also doubt you will be able to find anything better for the price either.

Was this review helpful? (30) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ddaniel455
Ridgely,TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
OK, but not very good, depending on what you need
3/29/2012

Customer review by Gercules

1.0 stars 3/29/2012 by Gercules
by Gercules

Before buying, check what apps you want to run (www.cruztablet.com). This unit will not run a lot of popular apps (AngryBirds, Netflix, Skype, and countless others). I have Android on my phone, so I know it very well. This, however, feels like Android's poor stepbrother. Most apps want to be installed on the SD card, so you must have that in. Wi-Fi reception is OK, bur rather weak. Touchsceen response is a bit sporadic. Also, (a big disappointement) - the sceen ratio is 4:3, not widescreen. Really!? I did not know they did that anymore... Returned.

Was this review helpful? (29) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gercules
Would recommend to a friend? No
Takes too much work to get it going
3/22/2012

Customer review by TravelingSandy

1.0 stars 3/22/2012 by TravelingSandy
by TravelingSandy

This package does not include the necessary 4GB SD card. If you turn it on out of the box, it won't work at all. If you go to the support page, you will learn you have to purchase an SD card, download a firmware update from your PC, then install it on the device. After completing that step, my file manager still won't work. I also discovered this device will not play Angry Birds or Netflix. It also won't connect to hotmail accounts easily. You have to go to their webpage and read their badly-written instructions on how to manually configure the settings to get it to work. Don't even think about buying this unit for a kid.

Was this review helpful? (63) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TravelingSandy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This tablet is awesome.
3/19/2012

Customer review by MyLoveShack

5.0 stars 3/19/2012 by MyLoveShack
by MyLoveShack

I bought two of these for my kids as a Christmas gift. They love it and it seems that I am always going to my daughter to use hers. I plan to buy one for myself in the next month. It has amazed me how much functionality you get for the price. Try it out!

Was this review helpful? (28) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MyLoveShack
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Be careful of MIPS-based Android products
4/7/2012

Customer review by SocaJam0

2.0 stars 4/7/2012 by SocaJam0
by SocaJam0

This reader, like many low-cost models uses a MIPS-based platform. As such, you cannot expect the same Android experience as you have on an ARM-based cell phone. Sadly, this is one of the compatibility issue that plagues Android - where they attempt to address every platform made. Look for ARM Cortex-A8, A9, A5, etc ... on the box. This CPU family was introduced in 2004, and are in 99% of all smartphones. Mainstream SW from Google (Android) is distributed for just two hardware platforms: Intel and ARM Cortex-A. Note that Apple, Asus, Lenovo, Samsung, Toshiba and other manufacturers use Cortex CPU platforms. If the description does not mention the CPU type - it is usually a MIPS-powered device. ARM Cortex-based tablets are also available from Panadigital and Velocity - you just have to look for them. Note that older ARM devices (such as ARM11, etc.) dating from pre-2003, are sometimes also used. These older platforms also lack the necessary hardware for ongoing Android Market support. The reason for old ARM and any MIPS architecture being used is unclear, as it will not be a full-featured product, unless the manufacturer provides ongoing Android Market support - out of their pocket, which is not cheap - if done at all.

Was this review helpful? (23) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SocaJam0
us
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Terrible product.
4/15/2012

Customer review by cherylwithac

1.0 stars 4/15/2012 by cherylwithac
by cherylwithac

This tablet is NOT a 2.2 as it states on the Wal-Mart website. It is a 2.0 upgradable to a 2.2, if you have the wits and know-how to do it. Moreover, it will NOT run anything related to Google, so no g-mail, no Google maps, no Google anything. So even though this tablet is an android, it simply could not do anything useful for me. I found another tablet elsewhere that has made me very happy. Yes, that one cost $200, but it was worth every penny. It's an android set up for Google Play, so it worked right out of the box.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cherylwithac
Knoxville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
no good
3/19/2012

Customer review by cyberchronic

1.0 stars 3/19/2012 by cyberchronic
by cyberchronic

this product dont use flash player and everytime i get on the broswer it shuts off. it don't support google play store and there is not many apps this model is compatible with. i do not recommend buying this.

Was this review helpful? (32) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cyberchronic
Would recommend to a friend? No
Awful heavy slow
3/28/2012

Customer review by arkchix

2.0 stars 3/28/2012 by arkchix
by arkchix

I liked the full screen and the vibrant colors but it would not download Pandora,Flickr,Youtube some games will not load do to no flash player. Just not good for what I needed it to do. It would be a nice ereader but thats. it.Will be taking this back tomorrow.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
arkchix
little Rock,Ar
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Info not listed in specs
3/30/2012

Customer review by ItzRuin

4.0 stars 3/30/2012 by ItzRuin
by ItzRuin

I'm pretty happy with this tablet because I bought it for a full color touch screen ereader. As a reader I give it a 5. Now it comes loaded with Android OS yes, but you will not have access to Android Market/Google Play Store. I assumed because it was Driod it would have it but instead it has a Cruz Market with limited apps. Also this tablet does not support Abobe Flash. That means no Angry Birds, Draw Something etc. If you're just looking for an awesome ereader with some down time web browsing and basic games then this is a good tablet for you. If you're looking for a mini-PC then you will be dissapointed.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ItzRuin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Usage:Every day
5/2/2012

Customer review by marryme1

5.0 stars 5/2/2012 by marryme1
by marryme1

I LOVE THIS TABLET!! the price is perfect, the apps are plentiful and the processing speed is lightning fast. I would recommend this to anyone that is looking for an inexpensive tablet that can is up to par with all the big boys out there. GREAT BUY!!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
marryme1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3/18/2012

Customer review by broma

2.0 stars 3/18/2012 by broma
by broma

keeps freezing got it for christmas 2011 its march 2012 and it wont turn on

Was this review helpful? (19) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
broma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
6/18/2012

Customer review by SingleDeb

5.0 stars 6/18/2012 by SingleDeb
by SingleDeb

Great for someone who is new to tablets and readers we just wanted something to browse internet and a few other simple things great price too. plus my 6 year old likes it. works like a phone

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SingleDeb
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 202 total reviews
1-20 of 202 reviews