Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 237 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

2.5 stars

237 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

2.5 stars

237 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

44%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
57
4 stars
35
3 stars
20
2 stars
32
1 stars
93
1-20 of 202 total reviews
44%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 202 total reviews
1-20 of 202 reviews
A great value for a tablet!
3/8/2012

Customer review by alg2468

5.0 stars 3/8/2012 by alg2468
by alg2468
Top 1000 contributor

This tablet is excellent and a bargain, provided you realize it's not an ipad or a high end tablet, and if you upgrade it to Android 2.2 with a free download on its web site. The Velocity Micro Cruz Tablet has many good points, such as: Excellent touch screen response A clear and easy to read screen (except in direct sunlight, and nearly all tablets are hard to read in direct sunlight) Good battery life A wide variety of applications can be installed - many for free - from sites like the Cruz Market and freewarelovers.com It is great for use as an ereader; the Moon Reader and Ireader Android apps work great, as well as Kindle and you can download Kobo, too; You can use a variety of web browsers for going on the internet; Very good customer service to help you use the tablet's many applications; Pretty good sound from the bottom firing speakers (even better with the headphone jack) Overall a very good value for a tablet.

Was this review helpful? (667) (38)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
alg2468
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Top 1000 contributor
3/15/2012

Customer review by OldBusGuy

5.0 stars 3/15/2012 by OldBusGuy
by OldBusGuy

I've rated this product 5 stars, because that's a high as it goes. My son-in-law has an IPad that (like most Apple products) is WAY overpriced when compared to this little gem. I wouldn't trade tablets straight up. Much easier to live with and more versatile once you learn its features and limitations. Yes it has limitations, but it's $89.00!!!! I would recommend using a stylus... it seems to give you more control and doesn't leave fingerprints all over the case.

Was this review helpful? (62) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OldBusGuy
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
great tablet
3/17/2012

Customer review by 20fan12

5.0 stars 3/17/2012 by 20fan12
by 20fan12

had a few tablets this one is better than some of the higher priced ones very happy with this tablet

Was this review helpful? (46) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
20fan12
jax fla
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Be careful of MIPS-based Android products
4/7/2012

Customer review by SocaJam0

2.0 stars 4/7/2012 by SocaJam0
by SocaJam0

This reader, like many low-cost models uses a MIPS-based platform. As such, you cannot expect the same Android experience as you have on an ARM-based cell phone. Sadly, this is one of the compatibility issue that plagues Android - where they attempt to address every platform made. Look for ARM Cortex-A8, A9, A5, etc ... on the box. This CPU family was introduced in 2004, and are in 99% of all smartphones. Mainstream SW from Google (Android) is distributed for just two hardware platforms: Intel and ARM Cortex-A. Note that Apple, Asus, Lenovo, Samsung, Toshiba and other manufacturers use Cortex CPU platforms. If the description does not mention the CPU type - it is usually a MIPS-powered device. ARM Cortex-based tablets are also available from Panadigital and Velocity - you just have to look for them. Note that older ARM devices (such as ARM11, etc.) dating from pre-2003, are sometimes also used. These older platforms also lack the necessary hardware for ongoing Android Market support. The reason for old ARM and any MIPS architecture being used is unclear, as it will not be a full-featured product, unless the manufacturer provides ongoing Android Market support - out of their pocket, which is not cheap - if done at all.

Was this review helpful? (23) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SocaJam0
us
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
OK, but not very good, depending on what you need
3/29/2012

Customer review by Gercules

1.0 stars 3/29/2012 by Gercules
by Gercules

Before buying, check what apps you want to run (www.cruztablet.com). This unit will not run a lot of popular apps (AngryBirds, Netflix, Skype, and countless others). I have Android on my phone, so I know it very well. This, however, feels like Android's poor stepbrother. Most apps want to be installed on the SD card, so you must have that in. Wi-Fi reception is OK, bur rather weak. Touchsceen response is a bit sporadic. Also, (a big disappointement) - the sceen ratio is 4:3, not widescreen. Really!? I did not know they did that anymore... Returned.

Was this review helpful? (29) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gercules
Would recommend to a friend? No
great for the price
3/10/2012

Customer review by vsharrai

5.0 stars 3/10/2012 by vsharrai
by vsharrai

just got it in today and it is a very great tablet for the low low price. was able to hook up to my wifi right away and start browsing the internet. very great for what i need it for

Was this review helpful? (271) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vsharrai
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I choose this over the iPad
3/13/2012

Customer review by AltBoomz14

5.0 stars 3/13/2012 by AltBoomz14
by AltBoomz14

This is a lovely android tablet. I love the design, and performance. I seriously don't find anything wrong with this. It is as good as the iPad, even better, the price you can buy this it is unbelievable. This is a wonderful tablet, and I 100% recommend it to anyone who wants a quality tablet that you can almost do anything with. I am proud of myself for buying this.

Was this review helpful? (299) (44)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AltBoomz14
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3/13/2012

Customer review by HazleNut79

5.0 stars 3/13/2012 by HazleNut79
by HazleNut79

Velocity Tablet is awesome. Why would someone get the ipad when this is out there? Great quality, great response. I don't have any complaints about it. Very cool gadget.

Was this review helpful? (48) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HazleNut79
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Honest review.
3/25/2012

Customer review by tellinthetruth4u

1.0 stars 3/25/2012 by tellinthetruth4u
by tellinthetruth4u

As a mom who knows a little something about computers...you want to save your money, trust me. I bought two for my girls and its one issue after another. First, its slow. I mean REALLY slow. I bought SD cards for them immediately knowing i would have to and it requires an arm, a leg, a wrist, toes, and ears to get the cards to work. I read a review that finally clued me in on the problem but it does not help. One of them freezes all the time and actually wont even let me turn it off for at least half a day. Too much hassle.

Was this review helpful? (84) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tellinthetruth4u
Sumter, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Tablet
3/13/2012

Customer review by SusanAdms414

5.0 stars 3/13/2012 by SusanAdms414
by SusanAdms414

I just wanted to let you guys know that I bought this, and It is lovely. It is light, TONS of features, and love the quality and vibrance of the screen. The touch feature works excellent. You should give this a try, it is crazy inexpensive and as GREAT as expensive tablets that are EXACTLY the same thing.

Was this review helpful? (242) (60)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SusanAdms414
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Exceptional For The Price
3/29/2012

Customer review by ddaniel455

5.0 stars 3/29/2012 by ddaniel455
by ddaniel455

This is a very nice tablet for the price. To start off with my review i would like to share what I was able to put on this tablet so far (I haven't tried every application out there yet). Here is what i was able to put on my tablet: Act 1 Video Player Advanced Task Killer Free Mobo Task Killer Pro MP3 Download Lite MP3 Fast Searcher And Downloader Music Search And Download AndExplorer Linda Manager YouTube Dolphin Browser Miren Browser Here is what I wasn't able to put on it: Spotify Android Market (I could find most of the applications I wanted on line anyways) The tablet wasn't very nice at all until I updated it for free from the manufactures website. The update fixed a lot of my issues. The only issue I've had so far with this tablet is that if you browse on the web a lot, then it will sometimes freeze, but I fixed this by sticking a needle in the reset hole and pressing the volume button repeatedly. This isn't a very good choice if you like games, but I'm sure there are games out there somewhere that will work on this tablet. This is probably not an excellent choice for a web browser either. This is a very good choice for the people who just want a tablet to read books on, listen to music, watch videos, and download videos and music. I did find a YouTube application that works excellent on this tablet too. It is very nice after you upgrade your operating system. The E books also look very excellent on this tablet. I've had this tablet for a while now, and I'm very happy with it. I love downloading music, downloading videos, watching YouTube videos, reading ebooks, and playing solitaire on my tablet. I've always been able to fix any issues with this tablet so far. It seems to me like a lot of these reviewers didn't even look on line for a solution. Every time my tablet messes up and freezes, I just put a needle in the reset hole and keep pressing the volume button (sometimes you have to hold the volume button down instead of repeatedly pushing it). I am very happy with this tablet overall. It has a fair amount of applications you can install on it, and it works very well. I also doubt you will be able to find anything better for the price either.

Was this review helpful? (30) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ddaniel455
Ridgely,TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Takes too much work to get it going
3/22/2012

Customer review by TravelingSandy

1.0 stars 3/22/2012 by TravelingSandy
by TravelingSandy

This package does not include the necessary 4GB SD card. If you turn it on out of the box, it won't work at all. If you go to the support page, you will learn you have to purchase an SD card, download a firmware update from your PC, then install it on the device. After completing that step, my file manager still won't work. I also discovered this device will not play Angry Birds or Netflix. It also won't connect to hotmail accounts easily. You have to go to their webpage and read their badly-written instructions on how to manually configure the settings to get it to work. Don't even think about buying this unit for a kid.

Was this review helpful? (63) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TravelingSandy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Terrible product.
4/15/2012

Customer review by cherylwithac

1.0 stars 4/15/2012 by cherylwithac
by cherylwithac

This tablet is NOT a 2.2 as it states on the Wal-Mart website. It is a 2.0 upgradable to a 2.2, if you have the wits and know-how to do it. Moreover, it will NOT run anything related to Google, so no g-mail, no Google maps, no Google anything. So even though this tablet is an android, it simply could not do anything useful for me. I found another tablet elsewhere that has made me very happy. Yes, that one cost $200, but it was worth every penny. It's an android set up for Google Play, so it worked right out of the box.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cherylwithac
Knoxville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Do not waist your hard earned dollars.
5/12/2012

Customer review by CFIMuncie

1.0 stars 5/12/2012 by CFIMuncie
by CFIMuncie

This was a purchase for my mother in-law for mother's day. I am a pretty tech savvy person and this unit is by far one of the worst electronic devices I have ever laid my hands on. Most of the apps I tried to install on the T301 would not work. Another problem is the browser. Every time I entered a web address it took me back to the home screen. I tried to search for a site on google, found the site, clicked on the link and back to google search I go. This thing is worthless. I was not expecting an Ipad. I was expecting a tablet that would at least be comparable to a decent android based cell phone with out the phone capabilities. What good is it if you can't even use the features that are pre-installed? When I attempted to call tech support I was put on hold for 30 min then someone answered only to hang up without saying a word. Another 30 on hold and I was done. I attempted to go to there web site for support but it was down. Back to Wally World this brick goes.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CFIMuncie
VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
This tablet is awesome.
3/19/2012

Customer review by MyLoveShack

5.0 stars 3/19/2012 by MyLoveShack
by MyLoveShack

I bought two of these for my kids as a Christmas gift. They love it and it seems that I am always going to my daughter to use hers. I plan to buy one for myself in the next month. It has amazed me how much functionality you get for the price. Try it out!

Was this review helpful? (28) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MyLoveShack
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awful heavy slow
3/28/2012

Customer review by arkchix

2.0 stars 3/28/2012 by arkchix
by arkchix

I liked the full screen and the vibrant colors but it would not download Pandora,Flickr,Youtube some games will not load do to no flash player. Just not good for what I needed it to do. It would be a nice ereader but thats. it.Will be taking this back tomorrow.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
arkchix
little Rock,Ar
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Info not listed in specs
3/30/2012

Customer review by ItzRuin

4.0 stars 3/30/2012 by ItzRuin
by ItzRuin

I'm pretty happy with this tablet because I bought it for a full color touch screen ereader. As a reader I give it a 5. Now it comes loaded with Android OS yes, but you will not have access to Android Market/Google Play Store. I assumed because it was Driod it would have it but instead it has a Cruz Market with limited apps. Also this tablet does not support Abobe Flash. That means no Angry Birds, Draw Something etc. If you're just looking for an awesome ereader with some down time web browsing and basic games then this is a good tablet for you. If you're looking for a mini-PC then you will be dissapointed.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ItzRuin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Usage:Every day
5/2/2012

Customer review by marryme1

5.0 stars 5/2/2012 by marryme1
by marryme1

I LOVE THIS TABLET!! the price is perfect, the apps are plentiful and the processing speed is lightning fast. I would recommend this to anyone that is looking for an inexpensive tablet that can is up to par with all the big boys out there. GREAT BUY!!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
marryme1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I have already returned it
4/5/2012

Customer review by Disappointed2323

2.0 stars 4/5/2012 by Disappointed2323
by Disappointed2323

This android tablet seems like a nice enough product for the price but many of the popular apps are not supported and cannot be used with this product. (angry birds for instance) I purchased this for my son.....who loved all the app games after his Colby tablet was stolen. I ended up getting the kindle fire. It was about 100 dollars more but I have to admit I am very happy I did it. The graphics and access to things are way better than even the colby was.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Disappointed2323
Little Compton, RI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Not a very good tablet at all.
5/7/2012

Customer review by Velthur

1.0 stars 5/7/2012 by Velthur
by Velthur

I purchased the Velocity Micro Cruz Tablet in order to do simple tasks such as check my e-mail, check facebook, and even to read a couple of books. When I received the tablet it worked okay (not bad but also not good), and I was able to get online with it as it immediately recognized my Wifi signal an connected easily. As soon as I pulled up the browser it started encountering MANY problems such as: Connecting Slow Was hard to control Froze up Crashed my network The eBuddy app quit working I set it down to charge one day (FIRST time it charged since I got it the day before) and when I tried to turn it back on it became unresponsive. I tried resetting it but that didn't work. I waited a couple of hours in case it was because the battery was dead, but that didn't fix it. I returned the product as soon as I could. This product has NOT met my expectations and I would NOT recommend buying it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Velthur
United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
1-20 of 202 total reviews
1-20 of 202 reviews