Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 21 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

21 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

21 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-20 of 20 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

3/18/2012

Customer review by Delta3144

5.0 stars 3/18/2012 by Delta3144
by Delta3144

I got this hammock after seeing it in the store 2 weeks ago. A nylon hammock in Walmart? Hmmm...Better try this out. If anything, it'll be a backup. I have to say...after a week of testing, this hammock GREATLY exceeds the expectations I had when I purchased it. First off...My primary hammock is an ENO Doublenest, so the standards to impress me are pretty high. Here's the observations that matter: This is not the type if very fine, lightweight material most high end hammocks are made of...it's a sturdier, more water and tear resistant nylon. It IS slightly heavier and bigger when packed...but not by much. It is VERY well built. The website says it is rated to 400lbs, but the hammock says 300. I'd trust the hammock label over the website. It's bigger than I expected. My first hammock was a Byers Mosquito Amazonian. This is bigger than that, but not QUITE as big as my ENO Doublenest. Its just about the perfect size. The attatchment hardware is nothing to get excited about. Just a screw link and some rope. Best you pick up some climbing rated biners. I stumbled upon a quick and easy way to set it up. I picked up some 12' (non ratchet# adjustable tie down straps. This allows me to hand the hammock in under 90 seconds. Wrap one end around the tree, hook to the hammock, use the adjusters to bring it to height. Super easy. The straps were rated to 1200lbs, so no worries there. You can buy the stansport hammock straps from walmart.com #and you should...for $12 they are a steal# but the tie down straps give you versatility when it comes to tree distance. The hammock is super comfortable, and super strong. The only "brand name" hammock close to the price with brand recognition is the Grand Trunk Ultralight, and this hammock is sturdier with a higher weight rating than that. In fact, this is the best hammock I have seen at this price. The SLIGHT extra weight when packedd is no big deal to me, for what you get. This is by far the best item I have ever found in the WalMart camping section. Pick one up now...you wont be disappointed #unless you are one of those crazy hammock ninjas that HAVE to have a $200 hammock#. BUY IT!!! I'm getting another one today, just to have.

Was this review helpful? (58) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Delta3144
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
My best Walmart buy yet!
4/21/2012

Customer review by VivS84

5.0 stars 4/21/2012 by VivS84
by VivS84

My husband told me to see if WalMart had a hammock for our garden . I was looking for the white net one with a bar, so imagine my surprise when I find a small (by small, I mean smaller than my purse! lol) and light (lighter than my wallet) bag that says it holds 300 lbs for $25! I was very uncertain, but figured I'll get it, and worse case, return it. ;# My husband was as unsure as I was when I handded him this small, light package, but he put it up, and even laid in it #he's 6'4" and weighs 235 lbs# and, was pleasantly surprised that it held him comfortably! I have since been in it several times, even napped & played on my laptop, and it is so comfy, without those uncomfortable string diamonds I was used to! The polyester material is like what tents are made of, so it's got decent aeration and is comfortably cool, and it hold water after a rain! lol So now we know when we take it camping, we can roll it over & stay dry! I'm going to buy HIM one later today #since I kinda stole this one from him! lol# and maybe even one for our kids to share ;) I definitely recommend this hammock, and strongly urge everyone to go buy one before they realize how awesome they are and increase the price! lol j/k ;)

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VivS84
Greenville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great hammock - Great price...
11/26/2012

Customer review by anvil440

5.0 stars 11/26/2012 by anvil440
by anvil440

This hammock is great. I purchased it in store (in the sports & outdoors section) for $25. It is huge, comfortable, and super easy to setup. I did replace the included hanging rope for some longer rope (the rope included is only about 6-8 feet in length each) and switched out the little locking links with springs clips (which are also available at WalMart in the hardware section). I weigh around 300 pounds and am a little timid whenever I get into a hammock. This thing did make some scary popping noises the first few times I laid in it (cord stretching and tightening I guess) but now it is all tight and ready for my big butt. The material is smooth and feels good against the skin. It also packs pretty small and is fairly lightweight. I really don't have anything bad to say about it. Especially, since a comparable hammock from REI will run over twice the price.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
anvil440
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
BEST DEAL IN HAMMOCK
12/4/2012

Customer review by MotherJ2012

5.0 stars 12/4/2012 by MotherJ2012
by MotherJ2012

Picked up at store, took it home, opened it up, used it and LOVED IT!!!! I am so glad I bought three of these hammock. This is the best little compact hammock you can find. I weight 260 lbs. and I am 5'8 and this hammock is so comfortable and wide enough that I could cover myself in it. Light weight easy to store come complete with all you need to set it up. However I order the heavy duty straps to be sure, but really don't need them. This hammock is a quick and easy set up and a quick and easy take down. Stores easy in the attached storage bag. Light enough to carry in my purse. Happy in Sneads!!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MotherJ2012
Sneads
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hammock
3/6/2013

Customer review by bishde477077123456789

4.0 stars 3/6/2013 by bishde477077123456789
by bishde477077123456789

Nice well built hammock. My intended use is for camping. It will be used instead of a tent and air mattress. The set up in my yard was quick and easy. It is wide enough to wrap around me completely. The only draw back is the bag that comes with it. Once the hammock is out of the bag it is hard to stuff it all back in. The bag needs to be a little bit bigger.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bishde477077123456789
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product for the price!
5/7/2013

Customer review by origdantheman

5.0 stars 5/7/2013 by origdantheman
by origdantheman

I bought this hammock for my son,I bought one just like this one for myself over 3 years ago and have gotten at least $1,000,000.00 worth of pleasure out of it. I take it up into the woods and tie it between 2 tree's and just relax and listen to mother nature and all her sound's. I have also left it outside during storm's and it's still durable and i weigh about 185lbs. I am still comfortable about it holding me!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
origdantheman
Minor Hill Tn.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cost effective Hammock for Camping.
4/9/2013

Customer review by CaptinDave

5.0 stars 4/9/2013 by CaptinDave
by CaptinDave

Well made and comes with everything you need to just take it out and use it. The price is fantastic. I've seen ready to go systems go for three times this cost. I'm ordering two more for my daughters.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CaptinDave
Western Mass
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great hammock at a great price.
9/7/2013

Customer review by IamAJ

5.0 stars 9/7/2013 by IamAJ
by IamAJ

Having been hiking and camping for over 35 years I feel that I am more than qualified to deliver a proper review of the Equip Travel Hammock. I opted for pickup at my local FedEx store which was a breeze. The hammock was shipped in a cardboard box and arrived in perfect shape. I inspected the hammock and did not notice any issues. Set up was easy and instruction helpful. I have just returned from a hike and used this hammock for a rest. It worked as described and held up without any issues. I am 6'1" and 220lbs and this hammock is great. I recommend it. I plan on using it on my next overnight thanks to its packability and lightweight.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IamAJ
Rockland NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/22/2013

Customer review by Indy59

5.0 stars 5/22/2013 by Indy59
by Indy59

Cool hammock....Bought it for my son's scout trip....put it up to check it out before the trip...ordering me one now!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Indy59
Indy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Gorgeous Two tone Blue parachute fabric Hammock
2/25/2013

Customer review by JohnnyComeLatelyArkansas

5.0 stars 2/25/2013 by JohnnyComeLatelyArkansas
by JohnnyComeLatelyArkansas

Very large hammock, sewn panels of brightly colored cloth. Can't wait to hang it up and try it out. Comes with ample lengths of heavy black cordage on each end. The cords are attached via sewn and reinforced connections and use a metal threaded chain type link, very strong. This product is made in China, but appears to be good quality. It advises no smoking or open flames near the fabric, I agree. The pouch is sewn in the middle on one edge of the hammock and one could put cell phone, wallet, handgun, cash, or other items in it for a snooze, but with it attached it won't be lost! Good luck getting it back in the tiny bag, it's a tight fit, and the little spring loaded closure on the cord has a tough time keeping it all inside, but works. I think for the price it is a good value and I would say it has exceeded my expectations upon receipt. Don't know if I can do a follow up but will try, after actually using it. Thanks Walmart procurement, good job!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JohnnyComeLatelyArkansas
Middle Earth Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Multiple Purchase
4/23/2013

Customer review by yarggary

5.0 stars 4/23/2013 by yarggary
by yarggary

I got one of these and customized the suspension on it. I liked it so much I got two more for my daughters. These are well made and come in about 30% below the cost of other sources I've found. One would be hard pressed to just buy the DIY material this inexpensively. This is a great way to venture into the hammock camping arena.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yarggary
Mass
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent for the price
8/30/2013

Customer review by bpbrenth

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by bpbrenth
by bpbrenth

I purchased this online for $15.00 and it was a steal. The hanging straps are cheap and they use a screw link for a connecting device, but the hammock is a++. The hammock has triple sewn seams and is made of heavy material. It is not as light as a more expensive model but it is twice as sturdy. It is also one of the most comfortable hammocks I have used.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bpbrenth
Dexter, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
see larger review
9/9/2013

Customer review by Andrew7777

3.0 stars 9/9/2013 by Andrew7777
by Andrew7777

Bought two different types of hammcks one for relaxation the other "military" was horrible would not purchase again highly disappointed in Walmart too. After I took the other back, the other nearly doubled in price. So disappointed!

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Andrew7777
Sparta TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Something to be cautious of when buying!
8/13/2013

Customer review by snocyclist

3.0 stars 8/13/2013 by snocyclist
by snocyclist

I have only owned this for a few days and tried it once for about 15 minutes...but my back is still suffering the consequences(I'm an athletic 25 year old, never had back issues). I'm going to give this product the benefit of the doubt, and say I may have just picked up a faulty one. If that's the case, I just have a tip for something you need to look out for. The center of the hammock, both from hang point to hang point(I'll call this length-wise) and from edge to edge(width-wise), is supposed to be the lowest point of the hang. In other words, especially as you sit in it, the edges of the hammock shouldn't be saggy or hanging at the same level as the center; they should be higher. As you turn at an angle to lay in the hammock diagonally, your head and feet should still be higher than your center. My hammock didn't do this correctly. It was almost like there was a rope strung up beneath the hammock length wise, right down the center, so that the center couldn't properly sag. This resulted in no head/feet support proper when I tried to use it at a diagonal, and my center being sort of lifted up. It almost seemed comfortable enough, until 20 minutes later I realized I could barely move my back. If you were to take a width-wise cross sectional, it was almost like my hammock would be shaped like a "w," with the center coming up too high. I tried to adjust at the ropes, modify the hang, etc...but it remained like that. I may try to exchange to see if a different model wouldn't be like this, but I'm a little nervous to give it another shot, and may just go with a quality model instead. Either way, please be aware of this!! I have watched a couple reviews where this was the case with the hammock...I'm assuming they only used their hammock minimally, certainly not on a diagonal, and so still gave a favorable review.

Was this review helpful? (0) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
snocyclist
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
terrible very unpleased
2/27/2014

Customer review by joeys1xx

1.0 stars 2/27/2014 by joeys1xx
by joeys1xx

this hammock is poorly made my friend was lying in it and he weighs 180 its rated for 300lbs I used it once and it broke !!!!! it ripped right down the seams and in the middle this is the worst hammock ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! how do I contact the company to complain for a refund or another one

Was this review helpful? (0) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
joeys1xx
perry ny
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Does What It Is Supposed To
6/16/2013

Customer review by xAngelSoftx

5.0 stars 6/16/2013 by xAngelSoftx
by xAngelSoftx

Took on a Canoe Trip to sleep in for three nights. Worked great, very long. Possibly a little short on the sides but I'm six feet three inches tall and one-hundred-ninety-five pounds and supported and fit me just fine.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
xAngelSoftx
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Nice Travel Hammock
9/4/2013

Customer review by TNWaterboy

4.0 stars 9/4/2013 by TNWaterboy
by TNWaterboy

I read a lot of good reviews on this hammock and watched some encouraging videos about it online, so I gave it a shot.... Its the best value I have seen for this style/type of hammock. I purchased 4 of these on www.walmart.com (on clearance) for about the same price as one of the leading manufacturer similar models (EN@) and it shipped to my house for free! My kids have used them several times and they work perfectly. I would probably replace the cords with "beefier" type if we start using them more regularly and replace the "S" hooks with carabiners. This is the only reason I gave it 4 out of 5 stars. Still, we are very happy these hammocks.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TNWaterboy
Mid, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good entry level hammock
11/23/2013

Customer review by whiskeyshoals

4.0 stars 11/23/2013 by whiskeyshoals
by whiskeyshoals

My first camping hammock. I didn't want to spend a lot and this hammock is a good choice for the price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
whiskeyshoals
Ukiah, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good for the price
10/13/2013

Customer review by Kronwall

4.0 stars 10/13/2013 by Kronwall
by Kronwall

lightweight and strong enough.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kronwall
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Back killer
12/27/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 12/27/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Ive tried quite alot of travel hammocks, and this one easily ranks as the cheepest and most uncomfortable of the ones Ive used. The "hanging kit" should just be thrown away as its a pair of heavy short nylon cords that cant go around anything bigger than a diameter around and it slides down most trees, the hammock itself is designed with a critical flaw. A normal hammock will envelope you and support you like um a hammock. This one however feels like you have a tightrope across your back and the outer walls hang as low as the bottom, so you get no support. Dont buy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No