Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 74 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

74 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

74 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
43
4 stars
16
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 stars
5
1-20 of 72 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 72 total reviews
1-20 of 72 reviews
6/21/2012

Customer review by jdrich48

5.0 stars 6/21/2012 by jdrich48
by jdrich48

I bought this unit to put in my shed and power some waterproof outdoor speakers, that surround my deck. I like the fact that I can control it with the remote from my deck, while the unit sets in my shed. Works great easy setup and controls.

Was this review helpful? (37) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jdrich48
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
High Quality, Low Price
5/13/2012

Customer review by TatersAnyone

5.0 stars 5/13/2012 by TatersAnyone
by TatersAnyone

I was looking to replace my old Teac receiver, But didn't really want an A/V type receiver. Yes I do run my TV thru it but my 2 speakers are more than adequate. I hate wires running all over the place. The FM reception is excellent. I pick up more stations than in my car or truck locally. I only listen to AM to pick up the local college game so I can't really rate it. I like the auto standby as my wife and daughter were always leaving the old one on all the time. You can rename the inputs to what you actually have plugged into them. I looked at used items and online source but could not beat this price for what You get.

Was this review helpful? (52) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TatersAnyone
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent 2 channel receiver
10/2/2012

Customer review by BillfromBuffalo

5.0 stars 10/2/2012 by BillfromBuffalo
by BillfromBuffalo

This is exactly what I was looking for, a basic 2 channel receiver with lots of power. A lot of 2 channels receivers are only 60-80 watts RMS per channel, but this Sony delivers 135 watts RMS per channel. I'm driving a pair of vintage Henry Kloss Advents which tend to be a little power hungry. This receiver really lights them up. It has a decent tuner with plenty of presets. It's got connectors on the rear to hook up 4 speakers, but then you're running them at 4 ohms. The speaker A-B -Off switch is dirctly under the power button, it's easy to bump the switch accidently turn the speakers off. First time it happened it took me a minute or two to figure out why it wasn't playing anything. Overall, this is a great 2 channel receiver. I would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (33) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BillfromBuffalo
Buffalo NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Well worth the price
5/16/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/16/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

wasnt expecting much for $150, but surpased my wildest expectations

Was this review helpful? (26) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
The only low priced 2.1 anplifer I could find.
8/13/2012

Customer review by madmarty

5.0 stars 8/13/2012 by madmarty
by madmarty

I needed a 2 speaker, stereo amplifier for several devices (DVD , CD, VCR, protable cassett player) and at a good price. This unit has 100 watts per channel output, to 2 speakers, I purchased this unit for a recreation hall 50' x 100' with 2 speakers. The PA system we have will not play "CD"s in stereo. This unit also has a radio tuner which works very well with an outdoor antenna. It has many selectable input for 6 devices. Very good performance and quality.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
madmarty
Mission TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
10/26/2012

Customer review by Arns

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by Arns
by Arns

For an inexpensive receiver, it has very good performance and inputs for all of my audio needs.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Arns
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/9/2012

Customer review by luckyone69

5.0 stars 8/9/2012 by luckyone69
by luckyone69

you can not beat this for the price . the best buy i have made in a long time. if your looking for something to pump some speakers this is the one to get.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
luckyone69
dubois pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Get what you pay for!
9/25/2012

Customer review by prettypoke

5.0 stars 9/25/2012 by prettypoke
by prettypoke

This is a nice unit depending on your expectations. The low reviews come from people expecting too much for 149.00. It does not have separate bass, treble, and mid range or traditional fade. A unit with those features would not cost 149.00. A good set of speakers and this is excellent for movies and iPods,iPhone,iPad,psp,or any audio out plug device. Don't buy a car that looks like a BMW and be unsatisfied because it does not perform like one.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
prettypoke
memphis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Two Speaker Amp/Receiver System
12/6/2012

Customer review by WVElaine

4.0 stars 12/6/2012 by WVElaine
by WVElaine

As of 12/06/12 we have had this system hooked to our Vizio TV for over one month. The TV is used with DirecTV and is also hooked to a Magnavox DVD recorder/player that upconverts the picture. All three boxes (TV, DVR, Amp) are from Walmart. The DVD player will also play on the Amp thru the TV our MPEG layer 3 audio which we record from CD to DVD+R on our W7 computer. This Sony STRDH130 is a good 2 channel amp/receiver suitable for two speakers (left and right) and/or a pair of two channel speakers (A and B both with left and right). The Amp remote control that uses a standard battery was important to us because at high volume Vizio standard speakers are not the best. Since we were not sure the newer 5 and 7 speaker amp/receivers can be used with only two speakers this was the system for us. We have had good experience with Sony and Walmart. Unlike some other Internet stores, from Walmart we get unopened boxes, not returns with someone else's problems. We frequently use in-store pickup to save shipping costs. Sometimes the Walmart Internet price is better than the store price and at the time of purchase that was the case for the Sony STRDH130.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WVElaine
Preston County
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awsome sound for price!
12/14/2012

Customer review by Turnitupsidedown

4.0 stars 12/14/2012 by Turnitupsidedown
by Turnitupsidedown

This is a great reciever with a lot of options. I am using this recieve from my garage to play christmas music to outdoor speakers from computer which sequences my Christmas lights to music. Their big selling point is their auto energy saver. The biggest problem I have is the receiver powers down automatically once audio stops passing through it. This even occurs when I have receiver in stand-by mode. The receiver will go into stand-by mode; however, after some time it will automatically shut itself off. This forces me every night to manual power my receive to get my christmas light music to play when my computer automatically does every thing to schedule. There appears to be no way to turn off power saver or option to leave reveiver in continueous stand-by mode. Other than this, it's a excellent receiver.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Turnitupsidedown
Mandeville, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Solid product in every way
12/3/2012

Customer review by Walllbanger

5.0 stars 12/3/2012 by Walllbanger
by Walllbanger

This receiver will meet the needs for most households hoping to install a dependable and qualitative sound system that delivers in a practical and cost effective manner --- I was looking for a device that was simple, and small enough to easily fit in the remaining space in the "entertainment center" furniture I was already using for several other applications. I have three video-related pieces of equipment connected to my television, and wanted something separate and simple, just for CD audio purposes --- I purchased two small inexpensive speakers, and this system is perfect for "old-fashioned Hi-Fi" living room music, without any special bells and whistles (although it actually has some of these) --- it was easy to hook up, and is easy to operate. Last Word: it even feels heavy when you lift it!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Walllbanger
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love this receiver!
1/19/2014

Customer review by TXgardener

5.0 stars 1/19/2014 by TXgardener
by TXgardener

I bought this to replace an old Sherwood receiver that I had for years. Set-up was very easy that I did not even read the manual! So of course, after I got it working, I thought it was only for Am/Fm radio and not for CD Player, too. Was already thinking of returning it! Well, if all else fails, read the instructions...so I did! My old one had buttons for CD, Tape, AM/FM, etc. This one has a knob called "input selector" and you have to turn the knob to get the CD player. This is really all what I wanted it for - to be able to play my music on my Sony CD changer. Now I'm very happy! Thanks Sony and Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TXgardener
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I love it.
12/30/2013

Customer review by originalblackman

5.0 stars 12/30/2013 by originalblackman
by originalblackman

Sony is my favorite in electronics.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
originalblackman
washington,dc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/2/2012

Customer review by Mike565

5.0 stars 11/2/2012 by Mike565
by Mike565

Great sound and good price. Suits my needs for stereo sound. Thanks

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mike565
St. Helens Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Value for the Price
4/7/2013

Customer review by NDBDon

4.0 stars 4/7/2013 by NDBDon
by NDBDon

As others have noted this is a good receiver for the price. I liked the 2 speaker systems as I already have them. Interfaced easily with the audio products I already had - analog TV, sat box, VCR/DVD/CD recorder player, 4 large Sansui speakers and two sub-woofers. Replaced a 31 year old Pioneer VSX-7300. There are only two things I did not like. No manual entry of AM/FM frequencies - you have to "scan the band" and hope the frequency you want is strong enough to stop the scan. The AM band uses a tiny three pin molex type connector for the very small loop antenna. I would prefer two banana jacks or screw terminals for the AM antenna. I live in a mobile home so reception is very poor for the AM band. The supplied FM antenna was just a single wire that I wrapped around my FM T antenna down lead. Lots of warnings about the case getting hot to the touch in the OM. I've ran the receiver for about a week and it hardly gets above room temperature. Could use a larger and brighter display as well.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NDBDon
Upland, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Amp for the PRice. So far so good.
12/4/2012

Customer review by Rockaday1

5.0 stars 12/4/2012 by Rockaday1
by Rockaday1

Just what I needed.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rockaday1
Freeport, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/12/2012

Customer review by SIH002

5.0 stars 12/12/2012 by SIH002
by SIH002

All I can say is I LOVE IT! Great basic receiver with lots of output. We hook up outside speakers and we are rocking the mountains of NC again.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SIH002
Asheville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value, quality and looks with the Sony name.
12/17/2012

Customer review by Sonyforme

5.0 stars 12/17/2012 by Sonyforme
by Sonyforme

I gave this Sony stereo receiver to my sister and brother-in-law for Christmas. They are very pleased and satisfied with it so far. I've owned my own Sony hi-fi stereo system since 1990 and it has given me nothing but pure enjoyment with reliable, quality service for 22 years. The name Sony is synonymous with high quality design at a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sonyforme
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A little short on Bass
2/23/2013

Customer review by dale6363

4.0 stars 2/23/2013 by dale6363
by dale6363

My old Pioneer (1978) seemed to have more power & more bass. I had a loudness switch that boosted the bass at lower volumes. This one seems to do OK when it is turned up a little louder.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dale6363
Tulsa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Receiver and good price
12/31/2013

Customer review by ARIES44

4.0 stars 12/31/2013 by ARIES44
by ARIES44

I have owned this receiver for 1 week and I have not had any problems. I use an external graphic equalizer with 15 bands for each channel. This receiver sounds awesome but I am also using an equalizer and it makes a big difference. There is no separate on/off switch for the tape monitor so I have to connect my components to the equalizer input not to the inputs on the receiver in order to get the EQ to work. I use a 3 way A/V selector switch for my mp3 player, cd player, TV and run them through the EQ first. I have used EQ`s with all my receivers for over 30 years now.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ARIES44
Morristown, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 72 total reviews
1-20 of 72 reviews