Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 817 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

817 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

817 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
486
4 stars
202
3 stars
45
2 stars
19
1 stars
65
1-20 of 721 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 721 total reviews
1-20 of 721 reviews
Great purchase if you're going for simple.
10/16/2012

Customer review by southernsavvyshopper

5.0 stars 10/16/2012 by southernsavvyshopper
by southernsavvyshopper

I wasn't quite sure how I'd like my purchase, but I'm perfectly happy with it! Small, simple (basic), and it plays dvd's just as well as my much more expensive dvd player in my den. I always read reviews, hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (210) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
southernsavvyshopper
Rainbow City, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Needed a new dvd player
4/10/2012

Customer review by INeedMoneyNow

5.0 stars 4/10/2012 by INeedMoneyNow
by INeedMoneyNow

I was shopping around for a new dvd player and found this one. Amazing price. Amazing product. Comes with the connection cord and batteries!

Was this review helpful? (399) (65)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
INeedMoneyNow
Mobile, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Sony is a Name you Know and Can TRUST !!!
11/30/2013

Customer review by TylerMtMan2315

5.0 stars 11/30/2013 by TylerMtMan2315
by TylerMtMan2315

Out of the box and easy to hook up. The remote was different from my last DVD player but I got used to it in a matter of minutes. Nice look and the major thing is I have watched a bunch of movies and like for them to play all night long and I have yet to have any type of freezing up of the video. Nothing worse than to be into a movie and it freezes up them jumps a big bunch of it. The remote can be programed to operate your TV also. The remote is of high quality and easy to work. The display button is the one that lets you access the functions of this player. I will replace the other one with this player. For the price vs quality I have hit a home run Big Time. . . . You can not go wrong with this Sony DVD Player. You can play music and use it to look at pictures you have stored on dvd. I have not tried a picture cd but I am guessing that it will work also. I can not think of not one thing I can say bad about this Player. I have been a Sony fan for the last 30 years.... Can't go wrong and you can save a bit of cash at the same time and it does all and more than the last DVD Player that I had. I researched online prior to buying and looked at others reviews. I purchased online and then went to the store to pick it up less than 1 hour later from Walmart.com Was in stock right in the store so I did not waste a trip out to find out they were not In Stock.

Was this review helpful? (101) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TylerMtMan2315
Tyler Mt. WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Another Sony product
4/25/2012

Customer review by Curry97

5.0 stars 4/25/2012 by Curry97
by Curry97

Arrived promptly but with no wrapping other than the factory carton and much taping not attributable to Sony but WalMart's uncharacteristic sloppy ware house handling and shipping through the USPS. That said. it worked out of the tattered box, an example of the typical great SONY manufacturing system. Didn't even need to use any of the formatting menu. It's exactly the size of a sheet of typewriting paper and the thickness of a medium book. Has all the inputs for RCA plugs one can use. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? (206) (41)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Curry97
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great DVD player and excellent value!!
5/11/2012

Customer review by guydad2

5.0 stars 5/11/2012 by guydad2
by guydad2

I bought this DVD player on-line. The shipping was fast and the player is a great value, it's very compact which was just what I needed in size. The player works great and very easy to operate thru the remote control.

Was this review helpful? (124) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
guydad2
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
11/16/2012

Customer review by Lastriel

1.0 stars 11/16/2012 by Lastriel
by Lastriel

You have to own a Sony TV or a TV that is in the booklet to get the DVD player to work. I stupidly bought two-one for my TV that was not on the list of TVs and one for my daughter's TV, which was also not on the list of TVs you can use the DVD with. The company should list the TVs that this will work with in the sales information.

Was this review helpful? (144) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lastriel
Hebron, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice compact unit
5/7/2012

Customer review by SFMom5

4.0 stars 5/7/2012 by SFMom5
by SFMom5

This DVD player is nice and compact. It is a really basic unit with remote. Works fine. My only complaint is there is no way to tell on the front of the unit what track is playing or a green light telling you that you are in play mode. There is a power light when the unit is on but when I was hooking the unit up it would have been helpful to know whether or not the unit was in play mode or not. No bells and whistles but the price was low so a good value for what it is.

Was this review helpful? (94) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SFMom5
Santa Rosa, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Sony does it again!
6/7/2012

Customer review by CMW48

4.0 stars 6/7/2012 by CMW48
by CMW48

I replaced an old DVD player I had that just didn't seem to read my DVD's anymore. At first I thought it was my DVD's but they looked perfectly fine--no scratches, smudges. However, every time I put a disc in I'd get a error message like "Bad Disc," "Disc Error" or sometimes it just wouldn't do anything. So, my Sony arrives. I love it, for the price it's a quality DVD player. I have a Magnavox DVD player in the living room and not only did I have problems with it just a couple months after purchasing it, but the buttons on the remote are so small, I'm always pressing something by mistake. I have small hands so that gives you picture of how small buttons must be. This remote the buttons are perfect. I think the only thing I'd say that I don't like is there is no "zoom" or "A - B repeat" button, which I use a lot, especially for funny scenes you want to see over again. But I'm willing to live without it because the DVD player is so awesome. I'm thinking of replacing my larger Magnavox with this Sony I like it so much. I'd definitely recommend this!!!!

Was this review helpful? (80) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CMW48
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Great Product
12/6/2012

Customer review by edssissy

5.0 stars 12/6/2012 by edssissy
by edssissy

I had a DVD/VCR player and had to get rid of it. I had been wanting another DVD player but was quite skeptical of the low priced ones. I finally purchased a player from another manufacturer and it gave me major trouble from the beginning. I played 6 discs in it with the last one becoming stuck. I had to tap the player and open the door manually so the tray would eject and give me my disc. I returned it to the store and began looking for another. I decided to research players and read reviews before my next purchase. I saw this player and read some reviews and figured it was worth a try. I bought this player hoping it wouldn't be the same thing and really didn't expect anything less than a low quality player for the low price, I was even prepared to take it back. I was shocked! This player is lightweight, easy to set up and just as easy to operate. I love it! It has played every disc I've put in it, the picture quality is beautiful, crisp and clear and the audio is top notch. I only wish that I had bought RIGHT the first time. This little gem takes up very little space yet it puts out a big performance. I'm satisfied with this product and would recommend it to anyone. Who says quality merchandise has to cost an arm and a leg?! Save yourself some time and money and invest in this product!

Was this review helpful? (61) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
edssissy
Shelbyville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
For Granddaughter - she LOVES it
10/21/2013

Customer review by Southernoak

5.0 stars 10/21/2013 by Southernoak
by Southernoak

I purchased this item for my Granddaughter who is 11 because she wanted to be able to watch her Disney movies in her bedroom with her friends. I needed to get her something simple to operate, but with additional features when needed. This DVD player provides both! Her mom didn't have to show her how to operate it because the controls are very simple for the basic functions she uses. She LOVES it!! Who knows, she probably knows how to use all the advanced features as well or will figure them out soon. Then she can help me figure out how to use all the features on my DVD player. ;-)

Was this review helpful? (30) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Southernoak
southernoak, Southeastern USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good DVD Player
8/25/2012

Customer review by MadamShopper

5.0 stars 8/25/2012 by MadamShopper
by MadamShopper

This is a good value for the price. I am 67 years old, but I took it out of the box, hooked it up, (very easy) put a DVD in and it worked beautifully. Good clear picture and sound. Easy to operate and small and compact. I recommend this to everyone.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MadamShopper
Portland, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not Sony's Best
9/16/2012

Customer review by saintlee

3.0 stars 9/16/2012 by saintlee
by saintlee

I bought this dvd player mainly beacuse of the Sony brand. I have always liked Sony for they tend to hold quality to a better standard than most companies. However, this product isn't what I would call one of their better products Sure it does all the things that the description says it does but there are issues that I find annoying to the point that it cost the review some stars 1- there aren't enough outputs for older electronics to connect to. 2- the unit itself has no track selection buttons - only stop, play power and eject. Making it so that if you don't have the remote for some reason- you are outta luck 3- whomever designed the remote control needs to go back and research other brands. This one stinks. These might sound petty to some but trust me these issues will cause a headache to someone sometime. But for the price and whatnot I'd recommend it. Although I had to return the first one I bought for 'ghosting' issues. overall I can't say I don't like it

Was this review helpful? (42) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
saintlee
Highland, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This dvd player did not meet my expectations.
4/24/2013

Customer review by Grandstand

1.0 stars 4/24/2013 by Grandstand
by Grandstand

It will not play widescreen movies, so am returning for a better model

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Grandstand
SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Product
11/6/2013

Customer review by CCWilliams

5.0 stars 11/6/2013 by CCWilliams
by CCWilliams

I had some minor problems setting the DVD player up initially, but that was mostly because of the setup on my older (and outdated) television, but it was easily remedied. I had some misgivings at how well the DVD player would work given how cheap it was priced, but I was willing to give it a shot as it was a brand name I knew and trusted. And I am glad I did. It is an excellent product and I have had no problems with it so far.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CCWilliams
North Tonawanda, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A basic DVD player
6/7/2012

Customer review by catsNC

4.0 stars 6/7/2012 by catsNC
by catsNC

So far, this has been a good product. My only con so far is that you don't see how much of the DVD has played. My previous one had the time on the front and I liked knowing how much I had watched. This one does not show that. It is small, doesn't take up much room at all, and has worked just fine so far. I think it's a good product for the money.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
catsNC
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Sony DVD Player - Good and Cheap!
6/20/2012

Customer review by ladyrambo

4.0 stars 6/20/2012 by ladyrambo
by ladyrambo

This DVD player works great, so the very low price makes it a best buy in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ladyrambo
Surprise, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/26/2012

Customer review by Weezee55

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by Weezee55
by Weezee55

I Just Absolutely Love My New Sony Player It's The Best Dvd Player I've Had What I Love Most About It Is That It Plays All Types Of Dvd & CD's That's What Makes This Dvd Player So Great & I Have A 2yr. Warranty. Thanks Walmart

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Weezee55
Winter Haven, Fla.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So small yet so good
5/6/2012

Customer review by Floriogio

5.0 stars 5/6/2012 by Floriogio
by Floriogio

Only used this once but it was flawless. I expect good service.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Floriogio
Signal mountain, Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
11/14/2012

Customer review by lovethesesheets

1.0 stars 11/14/2012 by lovethesesheets
by lovethesesheets

Have purchased 2 of these and neither have lasted longer than 6 months. Very disappointed in the product. Would NEVER buy a Sony product again

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovethesesheets
CORONA,CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great DVD player!
3/15/2014

Customer review by rohocop

5.0 stars 3/15/2014 by rohocop
by rohocop

Bought this to replace a 13 year old Hitachi player that had seen better days. The Sony is "much" smaller, not even half the size of the older player, but has all of the capabilities, if not more, than the older model and at a great price! With the "Sony" name this player should last as long as the other one, if not longer. Would highly recommend this player to anyone! Definitely saves space as well!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rohocop
woodstock va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 721 total reviews
1-20 of 721 reviews