Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 956 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

956 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

956 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
564
4 stars
233
3 stars
52
2 stars
25
1 stars
82
1-20 of 860 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 860 total reviews
1-20 of 860 reviews
Very Nice!!!!!!!
6/18/2014

Customer review by ms2cute2bu

5.0 stars 6/18/2014 by ms2cute2bu
by ms2cute2bu
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I'm loving my Sony DVD.... Great product at a great price......Does just as good as the Top Dollar DVD Players............... I used it to help accent my new Chimney free fireplace... Loving my new look!!

Was this review helpful? (13) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ms2cute2bu
Hattiesburg, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
over-engineered but inconsistent in performance
1/27/2016

Customer review by Exasperated

1.0 stars 1/27/2016 by Exasperated
by Exasperated

I can't fathom the high reviews on this product, which is over-engineered with many bugs. From almost the beginning, it has been inconsistent in performance . . . some times not doing what it's supposed to do, and other times, over-performing. An example: if a DVD is damaged, any player may get stuck on a certain section. But most of us will reinsert the disk, play from before the damage, and then skip over the damage to continue the program. This model has an indelible memory and refuses to reprogram at any point but from where it left off. Once, I even ret'd a library dvd and reserved another copy because the first was too damaged. When I put the different copy in days later, the machine refused to go anywhere but where it left off. Infuriating! And even tho' over-engineered, it still can't perform consistently. Other times, it will do exactly the opposite, when you need it to do what it's programmed to do. Too many bells and whistles and not enough forethought about simple engineering needs. I plan to replace this ASAP.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 1/29/2016

Hello Exasperated! Thank you for sharing this experience with us since this unit comes with a Multi-Disc Resume feature to allow storing memory of 6 different discs that have been played, it is possible to turn this feature off to avoid any issues like that once you have described. For more information please visit the following link that will provide access to the Reference Guide page 7, which will walk you through the setup menu: http://146.215.230.18/release/DVPSR210P.pdf ~Jeannette

Exasperated
Would recommend to a friend? No
Sony use to be the best just ok now
1/11/2016

Customer review by DisappointmentinPlano

3.0 stars 1/11/2016 by DisappointmentinPlano
by DisappointmentinPlano

Very hard to understand connection instructions very confusing. Then when it's connected finally to the TV until the DVD starts a horrible buzzing noise. Buttons so small on controls on player even my 10 year old had to get right next to it to read it. Picture quality ok. Devise is small and fits nicely on shelf. Color is nice. Guess the old saying is right you get what you pay for. This is a second DVD for the kids so doesn't have to have all the bells and whistles but I expected Moe from the name SONY than it's delivered.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DisappointmentinPlano
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not Sony's Best
9/16/2012

Customer review by saintlee

3.0 stars 9/16/2012 by saintlee
by saintlee

I bought this dvd player mainly beacuse of the Sony brand. I have always liked Sony for they tend to hold quality to a better standard than most companies. However, this product isn't what I would call one of their better products Sure it does all the things that the description says it does but there are issues that I find annoying to the point that it cost the review some stars 1- there aren't enough outputs for older electronics to connect to. 2- the unit itself has no track selection buttons - only stop, play power and eject. Making it so that if you don't have the remote for some reason- you are outta luck 3- whomever designed the remote control needs to go back and research other brands. This one stinks. These might sound petty to some but trust me these issues will cause a headache to someone sometime. But for the price and whatnot I'd recommend it. Although I had to return the first one I bought for 'ghosting' issues. overall I can't say I don't like it

Was this review helpful? (53) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
saintlee
Highland, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sony does it again!
6/7/2012

Customer review by CMW48

4.0 stars 6/7/2012 by CMW48
by CMW48
Top 1000 contributor

I replaced an old DVD player I had that just didn't seem to read my DVD's anymore. At first I thought it was my DVD's but they looked perfectly fine--no scratches, smudges. However, every time I put a disc in I'd get a error message like "Bad Disc," "Disc Error" or sometimes it just wouldn't do anything. So, my Sony arrives. I love it, for the price it's a quality DVD player. I have a Magnavox DVD player in the living room and not only did I have problems with it just a couple months after purchasing it, but the buttons on the remote are so small, I'm always pressing something by mistake. I have small hands so that gives you picture of how small buttons must be. This remote the buttons are perfect. I think the only thing I'd say that I don't like is there is no "zoom" or "A - B repeat" button, which I use a lot, especially for funny scenes you want to see over again. But I'm willing to live without it because the DVD player is so awesome. I'm thinking of replacing my larger Magnavox with this Sony I like it so much. I'd definitely recommend this!!!!

Was this review helpful? (99) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CMW48
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Plays well, but has annoying issues.
12/27/2015

Customer review by Matt

3.0 stars 12/27/2015 by Matt
by Matt

The DVD player does perform it's intended function well enough, as in it plays DVDs. However, there are some quirks with it that make it the least satisfying DVD player I've ever had. It is slow to turn on, and many times requires multiple presses of the power button, and when it does turn on it takes a long time. Many times, I have to open and close the tray to get it to recognize the DVD. It might be just my player, but my entire family has commented on it being frustrating to use, and they've never had issue with a player in the past.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Matt
Would recommend to a friend? No
DVD
12/30/2015

Customer review by Spooner46

5.0 stars 12/30/2015 by Spooner46
by Spooner46

Very nice. doesn't have all the bells and whistles as the higher prices DVD, but works well.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Spooner46
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Too much humming sound
1/12/2016

Customer review by LuRiv

2.0 stars 1/12/2016 by LuRiv
by LuRiv

Bought two of these and both have humming noise when turned on... Apparently many of these Sony DVD players have this problem

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 1/13/2016

Hi LuRiv, we're sorry to hear that. We would like to to hear more from you. Please contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and send your contact and product information. We're more than happy to take a look into this matter. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Dave

Comment from - 1/13/2016

Hi LuRiv, we're sorry to hear that. We would like to to hear more from you. Please contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and send your contact and product information. We're more than happy to take a look into this matter. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Dave

LuRiv
Would recommend to a friend? No
not simple
12/26/2015

Customer review by charlies1gma

3.0 stars 12/26/2015 by charlies1gma
by charlies1gma

instructions are hard to understand. too many 'items' just want to put in the disc and hit 'play' works good, just too many steps.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 12/28/2015

Hello charlies1gma! This type of feedback helps us improve out operating instructions manual to make sure that our customers are well informed regarding their product, capabilities, feature available, among others. We will make sure to pass this information to the proper department for future reference, thank you.~Jeannette

charlies1gma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
DVD player
1/9/2016

Customer review by TomS

5.0 stars 1/9/2016 by TomS
by TomS

For the price, this is a very good DVD player. It plays clean, clear pictures and sound is great. I'd put this up against a more expensive player anytime. Easy to set up and easy to use. Perfect.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TomS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy DVD player
1/24/2016

Customer review by Daddio717

5.0 stars 1/24/2016 by Daddio717
by Daddio717

Great purchase, simple to hook up, easy to use, can't beat the price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Daddio717
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great little DVD Player.
1/23/2016

Customer review by Crateracer14

5.0 stars 1/23/2016 by Crateracer14
by Crateracer14

Great compact dvd player for the price. Very good quality picture.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Crateracer14
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sony is a Name you Know and Can TRUST !!!
11/30/2013

Customer review by TylerMtMan2315

5.0 stars 11/30/2013 by TylerMtMan2315
by TylerMtMan2315
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Out of the box and easy to hook up. The remote was different from my last DVD player but I got used to it in a matter of minutes. Nice look and the major thing is I have watched a bunch of movies and like for them to play all night long and I have yet to have any type of freezing up of the video. Nothing worse than to be into a movie and it freezes up them jumps a big bunch of it. The remote can be programed to operate your TV also. The remote is of high quality and easy to work. The display button is the one that lets you access the functions of this player. I will replace the other one with this player. For the price vs quality I have hit a home run Big Time. . . . You can not go wrong with this Sony DVD Player. You can play music and use it to look at pictures you have stored on dvd. I have not tried a picture cd but I am guessing that it will work also. I can not think of not one thing I can say bad about this Player. I have been a Sony fan for the last 30 years.... Can't go wrong and you can save a bit of cash at the same time and it does all and more than the last DVD Player that I had. I researched online prior to buying and looked at others reviews. I purchased online and then went to the store to pick it up less than 1 hour later from Walmart.com Was in stock right in the store so I did not waste a trip out to find out they were not In Stock.

Was this review helpful? (178) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TylerMtMan2315
Tyler Mt. WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
vcr
2/5/2016

Customer review by DogMom

4.0 stars 2/5/2016 by DogMom
by DogMom

Small. good picture. ease of operation.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DogMom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Broken out of the box
12/31/2015

Customer review by goosehunter

1.0 stars 12/31/2015 by goosehunter
by goosehunter

The player looks very good, however the one I bought was broken out of the box. It would not play any DVD's at all.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
goosehunter
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Product
12/6/2012

Customer review by edssissy

5.0 stars 12/6/2012 by edssissy
by edssissy

I had a DVD/VCR player and had to get rid of it. I had been wanting another DVD player but was quite skeptical of the low priced ones. I finally purchased a player from another manufacturer and it gave me major trouble from the beginning. I played 6 discs in it with the last one becoming stuck. I had to tap the player and open the door manually so the tray would eject and give me my disc. I returned it to the store and began looking for another. I decided to research players and read reviews before my next purchase. I saw this player and read some reviews and figured it was worth a try. I bought this player hoping it wouldn't be the same thing and really didn't expect anything less than a low quality player for the low price, I was even prepared to take it back. I was shocked! This player is lightweight, easy to set up and just as easy to operate. I love it! It has played every disc I've put in it, the picture quality is beautiful, crisp and clear and the audio is top notch. I only wish that I had bought RIGHT the first time. This little gem takes up very little space yet it puts out a big performance. I'm satisfied with this product and would recommend it to anyone. Who says quality merchandise has to cost an arm and a leg?! Save yourself some time and money and invest in this product!

Was this review helpful? (86) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
edssissy
Shelbyville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great purchase if you're going for simple.
10/16/2012

Customer review by southernsavvyshopper

5.0 stars 10/16/2012 by southernsavvyshopper
by southernsavvyshopper

I wasn't quite sure how I'd like my purchase, but I'm perfectly happy with it! Small, simple (basic), and it plays dvd's just as well as my much more expensive dvd player in my den. I always read reviews, hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (332) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
southernsavvyshopper
Rainbow City, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
DVD
2/2/2016

Customer review by Pks29733steel

4.0 stars 2/2/2016 by Pks29733steel
by Pks29733steel

Cheap and it works

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pks29733steel
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Sony DVD/CD player at low cost.
1/27/2016

Customer review by walmartshoppertocnm

5.0 stars 1/27/2016 by walmartshoppertocnm
by walmartshoppertocnm

It wastes no space. Easy to install. Ready to use in just a few minutes. The remote control works perfectly, with many functions not available on others. Resulting pictures, videos, and sounds are very satisfying.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
walmartshoppertocnm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
simple, easy to use
1/24/2016

Customer review by MteW

4.0 stars 1/24/2016 by MteW
by MteW

simple, easy to use

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MteW
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 860 total reviews
1-20 of 860 reviews