Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 87 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

87 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

87 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
55
4 stars
17
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
11
1-20 of 70 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 70 total reviews
1-20 of 70 reviews
Great machine for the price.
4/9/2012

Customer review by pitt7fan

5.0 stars 4/9/2012 by pitt7fan
by pitt7fan

I read one review that a person returned it before they turned it on due to the casing being a cheap plastic; this is not the case. True the casing is plastic, but not cheap plastic. The player is sturdy and works great. Loading blurays on my previous player took a while, with this player the loading time is fast. A bluray player is a bluray player no matter the brand, you will get the same picture reguardless of what player you are using. This bluray play though is fast loading time and has easy navigations for apps. You can even browes the internet and type in web addresses; though this is not easy using the remote and you do not get full access of web pages (some are too large to load on player). The reason for this player is for the fast loading time, the many apps you can use, it plays 3D movies, and it is wifi (no wires needed to hook up internet). For what tthis can do, you get alot for the money it cost. If you want a metal casing, look else where, but this will do the same functions as a player with a metal casing but a will cost cheapier becuase it does have the plastic casing (which most players use plastic to get the price down).

Was this review helpful? (53) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pitt7fan
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Fantastic and bumps 2d to 3d
8/3/2012

Customer review by Betteontheharbor

5.0 stars 8/3/2012 by Betteontheharbor
by Betteontheharbor

A player that will take a dvd or blu ray that is 2d and make it pop with simulated 3d?? Thats just one of this machines features. Great sound, plays any blu ray we have put in without issue. One heads up when you buy this, it will not play a disk the first time you turn it on as it wants to update the firmware to the current version. We bought on of these to complement our Vizio 32 inch 3d tv. this is an awesome player.

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Betteontheharbor
oak harbor, wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Performs all advertised features as promises
10/13/2012

Customer review by Lamarrr

5.0 stars 10/13/2012 by Lamarrr
by Lamarrr

Easy setup , integrated wi-fi hooks up fast and easy, numerous built in internet web sites offer a lot of variety, 3-d delivers as promised, and the upgrade of a 2-d movie to 3-d works pretty well also. Nothing negative I can say, it is a fine product. I had tried out another 3-d player before this and am so glad I returned it for this one.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lamarrr
Monticello,Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great price for what it does
12/13/2012

Customer review by roguetrekkie

4.0 stars 12/13/2012 by roguetrekkie
by roguetrekkie

Wireless connection was easy using my router's WPS button. First thing I did was firmware update. After spending about an hour becoming familiar with the players menu, I checked out the online streaming. Very happy with Pandora for music. Then did Vudu's network speed test which showed excellent wireless speed for HDX movie streaming. Used the free credit from Vudu to watch The Bourne Legacy in 1080p and it played flawlessly. No pausing and picture looked great! I like how when I turn on the player it will turn on the TV and find the right HDMI input. I don't yet have a 3D TV so can't comment on that. Also like digital audio output in both optical and coax. It only gets 4 stars for two reasons: the player has web browsing and a Facebook app but it's pointless without a keyboard and mouse. I can't see anyone trying to do that with the remote. I gave up. If they're going to have web browsing why not make use of the two USB ports and provide support for a wireless keyboard and mouse??? Second issue is the two USB ports. I tried two different FAT32 USB flash drives in both ports and the player didn't recognize either. The Sony support webpage says they have to be Fat32. One is 2GB the other is 8GB. So I have to figure that out. There are still many features to try when I have a 3D TV and a smartphone(Galaxy S3 back-ordered) plus the online content. I find this player to be feature rich with excellent streaming and a great price.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
roguetrekkie
Argentine, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Love this Blu-ray player
7/20/2012

Customer review by mammajo61

5.0 stars 7/20/2012 by mammajo61
by mammajo61

I purchased this sony blu-ray player to go with my sony bravia tv, I pluged it up and WOW!! The difference in sound from playing any movie disc is awsome not to mention the picture quality. I also use the netflix through this player and I just cant beleive th difference it makes! I used to use my wii to watch netflix which was good but this Blu-ray player makes a world of difference. My next purchase is going to be the sony sound system, Cant wait for that!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mammajo61
seymour IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Nice Player Lacks Instructions
1/27/2013

Customer review by CinnamonK1

5.0 stars 1/27/2013 by CinnamonK1
by CinnamonK1

This Blu Ray Player is nice but the one downside to it is that it was very difficult figuring out how to set up and get connected to streaming sights. The instructions never tell you you have to get a Sony Account before you can set up anything else. Once I figured that out, I was able to easily connect to Amazon and others.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CinnamonK1
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great 3D player for the money
9/4/2012

Customer review by KyWonder51

5.0 stars 9/4/2012 by KyWonder51
by KyWonder51

This Sony 3D Blu Ray player supports almost every audio and video file type possible when using your USB flash drive. It up-converts regular DVD's to HD quality - and has the option of Simulated 3D on non-3D movies which isn't bad. Not like 3D of course - but pretty good. I am totally pleased with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KyWonder51
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
what a nightmare
7/7/2012

Customer review by OnlineWalMartShopperJim

1.0 stars 7/7/2012 by OnlineWalMartShopperJim
by OnlineWalMartShopperJim

I purchased this player over another favored brand based on ratings. I discovered I had to change the settings in the player if I wanted to watch a 3d movie and finally returned the player after several failed attempts to get the player to update. The wireless receiver is weak at best. I went with a player made by the same brand as the tv i purchased, my favored brand, and within 5 minutes I was able to start watching a 3d movie without having to go in and change any settings on either the player or tv. This player is just a big headache.

Was this review helpful? (17) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OnlineWalMartShopperJim
Kankakee, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Does what other Blu-Ray players don't
1/14/2013

Customer review by eldoradoretired

5.0 stars 1/14/2013 by eldoradoretired
by eldoradoretired

What a surprise and delight to discover a Blu-Ray player that will actually ask me if I want to resume or start a DVD from the beginning, even if player was turned off. My Samsung Blu-Ray DVD player drove me crazy because if I paused a DVD and power went off before I started watching it again, I had to start the DVD from the beginning. And the Sony picture is beautiful. The Wi-Fi was easy for this senior citizen to set up. I couldn't be more pleased with my purchase. And Wal-Mart had the best price on-line or in stores.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
eldoradoretired
Placerville, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/26/2012

Customer review by JVC123

4.0 stars 10/26/2012 by JVC123
by JVC123

Good product. Better than Panasonics.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JVC123
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Happy with product
1/9/2013

Customer review by TegaCayDad

4.0 stars 1/9/2013 by TegaCayDad
by TegaCayDad

Received a Blu Ray player last year for Christmas and wanted another for the bonus room and the 55 inch TV. Really like the player, only reason I don't give it an excellent rating is because when you stop it it doesn't automaticallly start from the same spot without going through the previews again. Otherwise so much better than the one from last year, much quicker to boot up and way more features.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TegaCayDad
Tega Cay, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Blu-ray player and much more
1/7/2013

Customer review by RicoG

5.0 stars 1/7/2013 by RicoG
by RicoG

The Sony player was a better deal than expected since it had more capability. With the player I insert a CD and it turns on the TV and play the CD automatically. It plays both standard, Blu-ray, and 3D Blu-ray disks.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RicoG
Huntsville, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pleased overall
2/28/2013

Customer review by homeschoolfamily

5.0 stars 2/28/2013 by homeschoolfamily
by homeschoolfamily

This is our first 3D Blu-ray player, ok it's our first Blu-ray player in general. We weren't really sure what to expect, but this seems to be it. My kids are tickled with the option to turn their favorite 2D movies 3D and ask for it often, really they aren't in a great 3D, mostly a more defined 2D in my opinion, but the kids seem to love it. It plays movies made in 3D exceptionally well. I remember reading a comment that the user had to go in and set up 3D every time, this has not been the case for us. The player distinguishes what kind of disk it is, and to change the format is easy if you decide to do that. We didn't want to spend a lot of money on a player when we weren't sure how much it would be used and was our first trip to the rodeo, and am glad we decided not to spend more since for the price we got a pretty awesome component. We were confident in the Sony name considering this replaced a Sony VCR and a Sony DVD player both were 10 years old or older and worked like they were new. One thing that bothers the kids more than us adults is the start up time is a little slow (you can set it to start faster but it uses more electricity when not in use), but that is just their childhood impatience and they will live.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
homeschoolfamily
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Setting up was easy.
12/29/2012

Customer review by bonifier

5.0 stars 12/29/2012 by bonifier
by bonifier

The player even found my backup system so I could look at all my photo's on the tv

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bonifier
Cedar Rapids,Ia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Quit working after three weeks
6/24/2012

Customer review by Gib322

1.0 stars 6/24/2012 by Gib322
by Gib322

I had to return this because it quit working. The screen just went black. It had sound but no picture. Weird because Sony is usually good. I exchanged it for an LG. keeping my fingers crossed on this one.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gib322
Idaho Falls, ID
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
I Love it, it does exactly what i wanted it to do.
2/21/2013

Customer review by jjrrtt

5.0 stars 2/21/2013 by jjrrtt
by jjrrtt

I bought this and was a little worried about setting it up. I am not very technical sauve, but it was really easy and it is easy to run too. I love it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jjrrtt
Bend OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Has Russian 1 kanal videos app also
1/24/2013

Customer review by Mangaschgtnes

5.0 stars 1/24/2013 by Mangaschgtnes
by Mangaschgtnes

The Wealth TV's 3D, does not support my Visio 3D TV's SBS. By converting to 3D not 3D programs are not quite. Good product. Works Grteat.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mangaschgtnes
Modesto, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
works great
2/15/2013

Customer review by airfirst

5.0 stars 2/15/2013 by airfirst
by airfirst

Connected to my clear modem by cable. works with crackle and netflix excellent. Plays my blu ray disks. I don't have a 3D ty so can not tell how that works.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
airfirst
or
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/6/2013

Customer review by msony

5.0 stars 1/6/2013 by msony
by msony

nice features, can use smartphone as remote,

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
msony
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/15/2013

Customer review by dlfnplansun

5.0 stars 3/15/2013 by dlfnplansun
by dlfnplansun

After researching other brands, this is as I review from many other purchasers, is in fact all it claims to be at the right price. Excellent performance .

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dlfnplansun
Merritt Island, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 70 total reviews
1-20 of 70 reviews