Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 246 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

246 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

246 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
77
4 stars
78
3 stars
37
2 stars
21
1 stars
33
1-20 of 213 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 213 total reviews
1-20 of 213 reviews
good value, but it doesn't work with our HDTV
1/8/2014

Customer review by paperbackrider

3.0 stars 1/8/2014 by paperbackrider
by paperbackrider
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After some major finagling, my fiancee was able to get this set up to work through his Xbox for Netflix, etc. and then through the dvd player/receiver, but we were not able to hook it up directly to our television-- also a Wal-Mart product: a Hiteker 37" flatscreen. You could say it's an issue with the television, but after reading other reviews and such on the internet when we were trying to figure out how to get everything connected, I found a number of people had the same problem, so it seems like a good thing to bring up. Before purchasing this sound system make sure you have the ability to hook it up. Our television didn't have the necessary audio outputs to connect to the receiver. We were able to run a cable that was HDMI on one end and RCA on the other from the Xbox to the receiver. Our movies are now awesome though! It's got pretty good sound. I know I jumped several times watching horror movies over the weekend because it sounded like things were coming up behind me!

Was this review helpful? (81) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
paperbackrider
champaign, il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Digital through DVD, 1 R/L analog input, none else
6/13/2014

Customer review by 0192837465

1.0 stars 6/13/2014 by 0192837465
by 0192837465

While unpacking this I noticed that it only has 1 analog input for connecting other devices. I wanted to be able to connect my digital (toslink) cable box and digital DVR to the sound also. I could have through the single analog R/L jack but for the money it should have at least one digital sound input. So I packed it up and took it back. If you only want good sound with the DVD player then this system is for you. With there being so many satellite and cable boxes with digital outputs, I can't figure out why Sony would design a product with such a narrow application. One digital coax or toslink input and this would be a great system for the masses. Now, it's only good if all you watch are DVDs. What a waste of potential, of course the whole range of this product line suffers the same fatal flaw, regardless of the wattage you choose.

Was this review helpful? (49) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 7/8/2014

We always appreciate customers who take the time to give us their feedback. And we definitely appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Again, thank you for your feedback.

0192837465
Fredericksburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
great replacement
9/25/2016

Customer review by homer08

5.0 stars 9/25/2016 by homer08
by homer08
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

this home sound system replaced older system. great sound for the price

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
homer08
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Dont have hdmi or optic inputs!
12/26/2013

Customer review by Hymmie1

1.0 stars 12/26/2013 by Hymmie1
by Hymmie1

I bought this and went home to hook it up to my Sony 50" flat screen. Well come to find out my up to date TV only has a digital optical output for sound and this product has only stereo rca analog inputs which anyone that knows sound, knows that it can NOT be true 5.1 surround sound. The only way that you could get real surround sound through this product is by playing a dvd. Not to mention it wasn't even that loud, not even enough for a one room apartment. I took this back and upgraded to the Sony 3D 5.1 surround sound for 130.00$ more and it was a huge difference. It has optical and hdmi inputs along with amazing features such as wifi, Netflix, and many more. Sound quality is amazing! I recommend paying extra for the SONY 3d 5.1 it is defiantly worth it.

Was this review helpful? (128) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hymmie1
Hobart, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Impressive......
7/31/2012

Customer review by MusicManHW

3.0 stars 7/31/2012 by MusicManHW
by MusicManHW

I bought this for our bedroom, and i must say, I AM IMPRESSED! The speakers are very small, but the sound is amazing. I agree with one reviewer who said its great in a room about 12'x12'..after that, you'll be disappointed. It is only 300 watts after all. Set up was very easy. I have it hooked up for TV AND computer. The only disappointing thing is when you are watching a program on TV, the volume in nearly maxed out, and still isn't loud enough, but when watching a DVD, it's amazing! I have an HD TV, and the TV signal is HD satellite. There are a few settings for surround, and for what you are watching/listening to. Example: Movie, or Music. I recommend this product..but i shoulda went with the 1,000 watt system..for me, the louder the better :)

Was this review helpful? (84) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MusicManHW
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great sound sytem for a 12x12 room.
4/29/2012

Customer review by Punkkillgames

5.0 stars 4/29/2012 by Punkkillgames
by Punkkillgames

I own a 22 inch vizio in my room and i wanted a music system to go with it... so i bought this. It works really really good in my room. Good amount of bass in music, hd quality on screen for not being blu ray. It was only 130 dollars. I didnt think my friends 500 watt sony sounded much better and he paid 190 for his. I am very happy with this system. the only thing i dont like is i cant hook up consols to it and the usb reader wont read ipods. It only reads usb sticks or sony products. Or just basic mp3 players. It does not read ipods because they are mp4 players not mp3. Kind of a downer but its still amazing!

Was this review helpful? (217) (56)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Punkkillgames
Arnold, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very poor system, waste of money and time.
11/30/2013

Customer review by Michael747

1.0 stars 11/30/2013 by Michael747
by Michael747

The home theatre system does not have controls to adjust individual volume levels of any of its speakers. What is the meaning of home theatre and surround sound if you cannot adjust volume of each speakers to suit room dimensions and seating arrangement? Whatever is default, you have to listen. You also have to keep volume to max as many other users complained. I have a Magnavox home theatre system which I bought for fifty dollars about six years ago. I can control volume of center speaker, woofer, surround/back LR, and front LR, ALL speakers in that system. I thought with tech advance and Sony brand name this system would have at least that much and beyond that but this system is total waste of money and time. Extremely poor system.. I bought it today, wasted time in setup and found that it is worthless. It is back in the box ready to be returned tomorrow.

Was this review helpful? (47) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Michael747
OKC, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Nice grill...easy to put together.
7/30/2016

Customer review by Marcia

5.0 stars 7/30/2016 by Marcia
by Marcia
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Purchased this grill last week. I took me about 30 minutes to setup and use.

Was this review helpful? (5) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Marcia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Review Girl
8/9/2012

Customer review by MrsReviews

5.0 stars 8/9/2012 by MrsReviews
by MrsReviews

This product was actually a good purchase i wanted something that wouldnt hurt the pockets yet would give me what i needed for my 3d tv and YES THIS HAS DONE IT... you hear everything from the tv even the behind sounds and thats what a surround sound should do to me. The mix of the sound is just perfect its like its not to loud or to soft its GREAT.... PLEASE GET THIS PRODUCT you WONTbe SORRY

Was this review helpful? (234) (45)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrsReviews
Milwaukee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
perfect unit for basic surround.
1/9/2016

Customer review by charles

5.0 stars 1/9/2016 by charles
by charles

pros .very high quality sound .easy to use .easy to install pergatory .probably not a good system to show off loudness as it is more focused on fine tuned crystle clear sound rather than loudness. cons .not very loud .not designed for a large room 12x12 is the largest you can use these in or you wont hear everything equally. .the speakers NEED to be facing you in every direction or it will be unequal sound. they do not blast sound sideways. follow these instruction and you will LOVE this system. also i use a JVC SD 27" tv. big screen with tiny speakers

Was this review helpful? (22) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
charles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great deal for the money
7/26/2016

Customer review by Otterman1

4.0 stars 7/26/2016 by Otterman1
by Otterman1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great little unit for the price, works very well for my bedroom. Good sound and nice range, easy hookup. One issue with playing straight TV through it but easily solved with a headphone adapter.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Otterman1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good buy for the money!
7/14/2012

Customer review by cajuncat51

4.0 stars 7/14/2012 by cajuncat51
by cajuncat51

Great sound for the money, love the FM channels, hook up is a breeze! Woofer really puts out the Bass. Controls took a little more timeto figure out. But, in all, darn good buy for $100.00 some bucks. Kind of stinks that Blue -ray is darn expensive!

Was this review helpful? (54) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cajuncat51
Springdale, Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Even at this low price, the sound is disappointing
7/19/2014

Customer review by Madmanmoose

2.0 stars 7/19/2014 by Madmanmoose
by Madmanmoose

I got this for a small, apartment living room; where my couch is within 6 feet of the TV and this sound system. You get no sound at all, until you are at about 50% volume; and, at full volume you have trouble hearing dialog if the air conditioning or dishwasher are running. Part of the problem is that the system doesn't play nice with my Comcast box; so, I am forced to run the sound out of the Comcast box, into my HDTV, and, from the HDTV into the Sony sound system. Even with the apartment totally quiet, softly spoken dialog is often unintelligible; and, even louder dialog is muddy/mushy. I've tried all the presets; but, none really makes a difference. Even though this is just 300W, I expect better volume than this. I am very sorry I didn't invest another $50 for a better system with (at least) 1000W. In any case, I couldn't possibly recommend this system.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Madmanmoose
New Providence, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
look close before ordering........could be better
11/30/2013

Customer review by j135

4.0 stars 11/30/2013 by j135
by j135
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

not even a headphone jack......missed it before i ordered

Was this review helpful? (42) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
j135
western md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not happy
12/30/2012

Customer review by addicted2WM

1.0 stars 12/30/2012 by addicted2WM
by addicted2WM

Of course I read all the reviews on how wonderful this product is and I pick the one that is a dud. I have only had it for less than a month and the mechanism that turns the disk is jammed and my movie won't pop out when I hit eject. Had to break the cd cover off to pull movie back out. I hope Walmart will exchange it for the same and I hope the next one works as well as the reviews say.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
addicted2WM
Bridgeport, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
NOT GOOD
2/20/2016

Customer review by prabuddha

1.0 stars 2/20/2016 by prabuddha
by prabuddha

NO MATTER WHAT I DO IT WON'T WORK IF YOU HAVE CABLE! ALSO WHEN THE SPEAKERS ARE ALL HOOKED UP, I DID IT 3 TIMES AS ALL SPEAKERS ARE COLOR CODED. I DON'T GET ANY SOUND OUT OF RIGHT FRONT SPEAKER AND RIGHT BACK SPEAKER AND THE SUBWOLFER DOES NOT FULLY WORK. I USE IT IN MY BEDROOM THAT'S WHERE I WATCH DVD'S. MY MAIN TV IS ALL DIGITAL. DON'T BUY THIS, BEING A SONY IT'S A BIG DISSIPOINTMENT. BUT FOR THE BEDROOM IT WILL DO.

Was this review helpful? (9) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 2/23/2016

Hi prabuddha, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologize for the disappointment this has caused you. We would like to recommend you to perform all the available steps through the link below. <br />https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/41851/c/65,66/kw/No%20Picture%20but%20sound%20is%20still%20playing%20<br />Regards, Dave

prabuddha
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very good product
6/28/2012

Customer review by Terrirn

5.0 stars 6/28/2012 by Terrirn
by Terrirn

I bought this item for our church choir to use during practices. It plays the necessary cds very well and the sound is awesome. So far we haven't had any trouble with the unit and since it is not used all the time, I don't expect to. Very pleased.

Was this review helpful? (46) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Terrirn
Bessemer, Al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
NEED EXPENSIVE EQUIPMENT TO GET IT TO WORK
12/9/2013

Customer review by ummnofindsomethingbetter

3.0 stars 12/9/2013 by ummnofindsomethingbetter
by ummnofindsomethingbetter
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It only has a red and white in with no digital audio coaxial in doesn't hook up properly to a lot of the newer tvs. Needed 60.00 in equipment to make it work, spent 20 and got a much nicer system that does so much more.

Was this review helpful? (16) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ummnofindsomethingbetter
Mebane NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great sound
10/16/2013

Customer review by caps4ever

5.0 stars 10/16/2013 by caps4ever
by caps4ever

i just redid my living room and im happy to add this piece. didnt use the dvd player but the surround sound was worth every penny. would highly recommend

Was this review helpful? (42) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
caps4ever
Seattle, Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
8/20/2012

Customer review by CFL1000

5.0 stars 8/20/2012 by CFL1000
by CFL1000

Very Good sound for a good price. Easy to set up and looks nice with your TV. Lots of wires however.

Was this review helpful? (16) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CFL1000
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 213 total reviews
1-20 of 213 reviews