Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 481 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

481 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

481 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
295
4 stars
119
3 stars
16
2 stars
11
1 stars
40
1-20 of 448 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 448 total reviews
1-20 of 448 reviews
Excellent DVD Player
10/22/2012

Customer review by okiewideglide

5.0 stars 10/22/2012 by okiewideglide
by okiewideglide

This little DVD player works perfectly. I'm always amazed at the nit picking reviews on an inexpensive item. If you want all the bells and whistles just go ahead and put $2 or 3 hundred more and get you a blueray player(bet money it won't work as good as this little player.# Took all of about five minutes to plug in the power cord and HDMI cable and program the remote to also control my Samsung tv. I have used the player for about 8 hours a day for the first three days after purchasing and it works flawlessly. Near HD quality picture #with HDMI cable) and great Dolby sound. If you want ease of use and an excellent inexpensive dvd player, this is a great buy. I'm very, very pleased with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (266) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
okiewideglide
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Dollar for dollar the best choice.
6/9/2012

Customer review by Kroggers

5.0 stars 6/9/2012 by Kroggers
by Kroggers

The tiny green dot is the only display on the DVD player, which I found odd... However, for the price I paid $15 more than the cheapest DVD player so I could have the HDMI output option, which is very necessary for the future of owning electronics. This model also plays DVD+/-RW's and has Dolby Digital output, options other cheaper models didn't have.... The only reason to upgrade from this DVD player is if you want: 1) a DVD/VCR combo, 2) a portable DVD player, or, 3) a blue-ray player.

Was this review helpful? (215) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kroggers
Spokane, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wanted a simple straight forward DVD player.
7/28/2012

Customer review by Existential

4.0 stars 7/28/2012 by Existential
by Existential

Just wanted a simple, inexpensive DVD player with no frills. Got what I wanted and it works well with my other equipmnt.

Was this review helpful? (84) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Existential
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Best dvd Player for movie lovers
1/2/2013

Customer review by LocalComsumer93

5.0 stars 1/2/2013 by LocalComsumer93
by LocalComsumer93

I got this dvd player for Christmas for my dad. Not only did it arrive on time or that it was specifically what he wanted, but the quality was outstanding. It was easy to use, plus the choice between the HDMI or regular optic cables were very easy to set up. The thin sleekness to the player makes it great for Entertainment centers and open stands. Best DVD Player for the Price

Was this review helpful? (46) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LocalComsumer93
Grants Pass, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sony still makes good products
11/23/2012

Customer review by patdaddyt12

5.0 stars 11/23/2012 by patdaddyt12
by patdaddyt12

I'm sick of all the bad reviews for this dvd player it's $40, of course it's not gonna have all the options on it, if you want a better dvd player you're gonna have to step up to one that's at lease $100.

Was this review helpful? (90) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
patdaddyt12
Alma,WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Basic Player
5/16/2012

Customer review by TechRhino

3.0 stars 5/16/2012 by TechRhino
by TechRhino

For the $ this is a small (half rack) Dvd player. It also doesn't have any display except for a tiny green light next to the power button to let you know that it is on. I have run this DVD player for 2 weeks straight and it is quiet and does the job. Without the display, it is hard to trouble shoot a bad disc or if it is hooked up correctly. It is even difficult to tell the player is on with the small green light. I guess if you strip everything off a dvd player except for hdmi and digital out, this is what it is.

Was this review helpful? (58) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TechRhino
Spring Hill, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/7/2012

Customer review by westkansasmom

5.0 stars 12/7/2012 by westkansasmom
by westkansasmom

This player works great and remembers the last time you had the disc in and what was playing. Great for changing kids dvd's many times a day. :-) It is quite sufficient for our needs.

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
westkansasmom
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/2/2012

Customer review by bikelikeme

5.0 stars 11/2/2012 by bikelikeme
by bikelikeme

Quality DVD Player product! Great Price and fast delivery. For all my regular DVD's......

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bikelikeme
Colorado Springs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Most reviews good; ours died in less than a month
6/2/2013

Customer review by Duffysdad

1.0 stars 6/2/2013 by Duffysdad
by Duffysdad

Most reviews that I could find were pretty good. Using an HDMI cable it was super easy to hook up. But from the first use, the scenes woud tend to freeze up. I could fast forward for a few seconds and it would once again play normally; assumed it must have been a scratched disk. Then it happened on the 2nd dvd, and again on the 3rd. Finally on the 4th use it froze and quit all together. Couldn't even get the unit to power down via the remote or the front panel button. Finally unplugged it. After plugging it back in, it would not power-up, eject the dvd or anything else. Finally had to unplug again and take the unit apart to retrieve my dvd. Another annoyance was that the remote only seemed to work about half the time. I assume that was also a symptom of the faulty controls in general. It was a shame, because it was very reasonably priced the upscaling produced a GREAT picture.

Was this review helpful? (24) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Duffysdad
Madison, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Nice Player
1/29/2014

Customer review by kimsinohio

4.0 stars 1/29/2014 by kimsinohio
by kimsinohio

The player is nice, the only problem is you don't get the HDMI cable in the box. Luckily I had one here otherwise I would have had to go back out and buy one. It is super easy to hook up and then make sure it is set up correctly with the TV. My suggestion is to put on the description that NO cable comes with it. You do have color coded cable, but that is for the volume only and NOT the HDMI, a little deceiving. I haven't used the dvd player yet other than to make sure something came on the tv and that it was hooked up correctly.

Was this review helpful? (21) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kimsinohio
Parma, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good for about 1 year
12/18/2013

Customer review by Briezy28

1.0 stars 12/18/2013 by Briezy28
by Briezy28

This unit failed after just over one year of use. It will no longer load a DVD, even brand new ones. I called Sony support and after trying many fixes it did work on one new DVD but took about 8 min. to load it. After the call, it would once again not load any DVDs. I could not buy an extended warranty from Walmart because the item cost less than $50.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Briezy28
NH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Has HDMI connector
8/23/2014

Customer review by shirleylove

5.0 stars 8/23/2014 by shirleylove
by shirleylove

I love this DVD because of its HDMI connector. It is also a great price and I had no trouble setting it up. Great picture and easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shirleylove
Me.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it!
6/12/2014

Customer review by Natsplayer

4.0 stars 6/12/2014 by Natsplayer
by Natsplayer

I really love this DVD player. It was very reasonable and the picture quality is awesome. It was easy to setup and it's easy to use. The only reason it doesn't get 5 stars is because when I ordered it I wasn't aware tht this HD player didn't come with the HD cord. Tht makes no sense to me and wasn't in the description. Luckily I had one or I would've been upset if I had to pay for another one and then wait to get it.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Natsplayer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Inexpensive but lasts only a short time
4/19/2014

Customer review by lmaspen

3.0 stars 4/19/2014 by lmaspen
by lmaspen

I have had 2 units of this model DVD player. When it works, it is easy to use and does a great job. The 1st unit only lasted about 6 months. Because it was so inexpensive I got another one. The unit I currently have does not work properly anymore (after about 8 months). Right now the remote only works after the DVD is playing. Getting the player to turn on and actually play takes several minutes of manual on-off and pushing play and pushing eject several times. I use it infrequently, but the warranty is only 90 days. I am thinking of getting another throw-away unit because of the cheap price. I hate electronics in our landfills, but I really think this is how products are now designed.

Was this review helpful? (17) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lmaspen
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
3/9/2013

Customer review by IndRuss

1.0 stars 3/9/2013 by IndRuss
by IndRuss

I picked up this item at the will call desk at approx 10:00 AM, took it home, opened the package, connected it to my HDTV and attemped to play a number of different DVDs, I continually got a message on the screen (This DVD Can Not Be Played Due To Area Restrictions) I then called the Sony help number, talked to a tech rep who talked me thtough a procedure to reset the player, it did not change anything, and the rep told me it was a defective unit, I returned it to Walmart within a couple of hours of when I picked it up. I have ordered other items from Walmart and have never had a problem, This Sony DVD player appears to be a bummer.

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IndRuss
Las Vegas Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Doesn't play DVDs or CDs
3/10/2013

Customer review by AmaniDC

1.0 stars 3/10/2013 by AmaniDC
by AmaniDC

I bought this yesterday but it doesn't play any DVD or CD. When I insert a disc I get the "Loading" message on my screen but after almost 2 minutes it reads "cannot play this disc". I'm taking it back tomorrow to exchange it for something else.

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AmaniDC
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Disappointed in this product.
12/13/2013

Customer review by Derryyank

2.0 stars 12/13/2013 by Derryyank
by Derryyank

We have another Sony DVD Player that we bought last Spring and it has performed very well. This unit (DVP-SR510H), however,did not perform nearly as well. Firstly, I assumed it would have a digital readout at the front allowing you to see how far along the DVD. It doesn't have it. Secondly, so far we have played 6 different DVDs and two of them froze up towards the end of the movie. After watching over an hour only to not be able to see the ending is very frustrating.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Derryyank
Morris. IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Item wouldn't even play a disk
1/7/2013

Customer review by Drusty

1.0 stars 1/7/2013 by Drusty
by Drusty

Item couldn't even play a disc the packaging was a huge box with no buffer or bubble wrap to help keep safe as the item was a fragile DVD player. Could've broken during that time

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Drusty
Savannah ga
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A very good DVD Player.
5/18/2013

Customer review by CaregiverDad3

5.0 stars 5/18/2013 by CaregiverDad3
by CaregiverDad3

A big step forward from the three-year-old DVD player it replaced. I especially like the ability to interchange up to six DVDs, stop in the middle of any, then go back and automatically resume at the previous stop point. Video quality is great, too, with a high definition-TV.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CaregiverDad3
Southeast U.S.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good DVD player - Terrible remote control
5/30/2013

Customer review by Bill5489

3.0 stars 5/30/2013 by Bill5489
by Bill5489

I was impressed by the video quality of this DVD player. But I was seriously unimpressed by the remote control. Instead of including buttons for such features as repeat and zoom, you have to navigate through a frustrating menu system to access those features. It’s as if one group of people designed the player itself (which works well) and another group of people purposely decided to make the player as inconvenient as possible to use (by designing a terrible remote control and menu system). Other frustrating features of this DVD player include fast motion, slow motion and advance buttons that work in unintuitive ways and a counter that appears so momentarily that it’s nearly impossible to read (There’s another counter that will remain on indefinitely, but it is part of the menu system, and the menu blocks the video in the background). This unit also has a tiny power-on LED that is nearly invisible from across a large room. On the positive side, the remote control allows you to see screen shots of multiple titles and chapters simultaneously and it has extremely smooth and sharp slow motion (but it doesn't have frame by frame slow motion). If I had it to do over again, I probably would have spent more time researching the features and remote controls of other models, and probably would have bought one of those other models instead of this one.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bill5489
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 448 total reviews
1-20 of 448 reviews