Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 534 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

534 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

534 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
329
4 stars
132
3 stars
18
2 stars
12
1 stars
43
1-20 of 501 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 501 total reviews
1-20 of 501 reviews
works as should
9/20/2014

Customer review by Whatwherewhy

4.0 stars 9/20/2014 by Whatwherewhy
by Whatwherewhy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

received this item in a nicely packed box that was in good shape. When I opened it I found a badly crushed box containing the dvd player and wondered if it would be damaged. Almost took it back to the store that way but needed to put it to use. it is working at this time so must be a tough little thing. Very surprised Walmart would ship such a damaged box. Remember the outside box was undamaged. Very surprised they would pack such a damaged box at the warehouse may think twice about online and Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Whatwherewhy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Buy
1/17/2016

Customer review by JenaW

5.0 stars 1/17/2016 by JenaW
by JenaW

This player does exactly what it claims to do. It's easy to hook up and does a great job!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JenaW
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
so far so good
1/15/2015

Customer review by geodude

4.0 stars 1/15/2015 by geodude
by geodude

Bought this product instead of a blue ray player solely because I could connect to my stereo system. I use it more for playing CDs than I do for watching DVDs. On the plus side it plays both DVDs and CDs well. On the negative side you must press the open/close button twice (unless using remote) to load the CD. It takes a while to load and then requires you to hit the play button once loaded. The DVDs will auto play - just load DVD and close door and it begins playing. The description of the product says it will produce sound when fast forwarding or fast rewinding. I find this true only with the CDs and not with the DVDs. The remote can only be programmed for a TV. I was hoping to control my amplifier's volume as I did with my last Sony 5-disk player. The old remote seems to be working this player just fine so I don't use the supplied remote. Overall I say this product is worth it's cost and would recommend as long as you don't need all the bells and whistles.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 2/2/2015

Hi geodude. That is definitely the news we like to hear. Enjoy your new Sony DVD Player! Dave

geodude
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good picture
1/10/2016

Customer review by Shooter19999

5.0 stars 1/10/2016 by Shooter19999
by Shooter19999

Easy to set up basic design with HDMI and component plugs. Good picture, much better than our older player.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shooter19999
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent DVD Player
10/22/2012

Customer review by okiewideglide

5.0 stars 10/22/2012 by okiewideglide
by okiewideglide

This little DVD player works perfectly. I'm always amazed at the nit picking reviews on an inexpensive item. If you want all the bells and whistles just go ahead and put $2 or 3 hundred more and get you a blueray player(bet money it won't work as good as this little player.# Took all of about five minutes to plug in the power cord and HDMI cable and program the remote to also control my Samsung tv. I have used the player for about 8 hours a day for the first three days after purchasing and it works flawlessly. Near HD quality picture #with HDMI cable) and great Dolby sound. If you want ease of use and an excellent inexpensive dvd player, this is a great buy. I'm very, very pleased with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (337) (39)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
okiewideglide
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
sony dvd plryer
12/17/2015

Customer review by Robb

5.0 stars 12/17/2015 by Robb
by Robb

This is so worth the price I paid great picture, Thanks again!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Robb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Most reviews good; ours died in less than a month
6/2/2013

Customer review by Duffysdad

1.0 stars 6/2/2013 by Duffysdad
by Duffysdad

Most reviews that I could find were pretty good. Using an HDMI cable it was super easy to hook up. But from the first use, the scenes woud tend to freeze up. I could fast forward for a few seconds and it would once again play normally; assumed it must have been a scratched disk. Then it happened on the 2nd dvd, and again on the 3rd. Finally on the 4th use it froze and quit all together. Couldn't even get the unit to power down via the remote or the front panel button. Finally unplugged it. After plugging it back in, it would not power-up, eject the dvd or anything else. Finally had to unplug again and take the unit apart to retrieve my dvd. Another annoyance was that the remote only seemed to work about half the time. I assume that was also a symptom of the faulty controls in general. It was a shame, because it was very reasonably priced the upscaling produced a GREAT picture.

Was this review helpful? (28) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Duffysdad
Madison, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Good basic player
2/4/2016

Customer review by Featherinthewind

4.0 stars 2/4/2016 by Featherinthewind
by Featherinthewind

Easy to set up....works great. Good value..

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Featherinthewind
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dollar for dollar the best choice.
6/9/2012

Customer review by Kroggers

5.0 stars 6/9/2012 by Kroggers
by Kroggers

The tiny green dot is the only display on the DVD player, which I found odd... However, for the price I paid $15 more than the cheapest DVD player so I could have the HDMI output option, which is very necessary for the future of owning electronics. This model also plays DVD+/-RW's and has Dolby Digital output, options other cheaper models didn't have.... The only reason to upgrade from this DVD player is if you want: 1) a DVD/VCR combo, 2) a portable DVD player, or, 3) a blue-ray player.

Was this review helpful? (263) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kroggers
Spokane, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sony is IT
2/1/2016

Customer review by mwdubya

5.0 stars 2/1/2016 by mwdubya
by mwdubya

this is very easy to install and use and works great...buy it

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mwdubya
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works great very small
1/27/2016

Customer review by havasuflower

5.0 stars 1/27/2016 by havasuflower
by havasuflower

Size is amazing petit love it price is great

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
havasuflower
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent
1/24/2016

Customer review by BGlobe

5.0 stars 1/24/2016 by BGlobe
by BGlobe

We needed a new dvd player right away. I ordered on line and picked it up at the store.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BGlobe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/7/2012

Customer review by westkansasmom

5.0 stars 12/7/2012 by westkansasmom
by westkansasmom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This player works great and remembers the last time you had the disc in and what was playing. Great for changing kids dvd's many times a day. :-) It is quite sufficient for our needs.

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
westkansasmom
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best dvd Player for movie lovers
1/2/2013

Customer review by LocalComsumer93

5.0 stars 1/2/2013 by LocalComsumer93
by LocalComsumer93
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got this dvd player for Christmas for my dad. Not only did it arrive on time or that it was specifically what he wanted, but the quality was outstanding. It was easy to use, plus the choice between the HDMI or regular optic cables were very easy to set up. The thin sleekness to the player makes it great for Entertainment centers and open stands. Best DVD Player for the Price

Was this review helpful? (64) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LocalComsumer93
Grants Pass, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
not for the old fashion
12/17/2015

Customer review by cindyshubby

1.0 stars 12/17/2015 by cindyshubby
by cindyshubby

If you have an older television this thing is a nightmare to hook up. Yes I did use the instructions but they might just as well been in Chinese. I gave up and will return for a refund

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 12/22/2015

Hi cindyshubby, sorry for the late reply. Sony takes the voice of our customers very seriously and hearing all feedback - good and bad is important to us. If you're still with the player, we would like to recommend to check out our online connectivity guide at http://www.sony-asia.com/microsite/bravia_connectivityguide/index.html. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Dave

cindyshubby
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great
1/23/2016

Customer review by poppirick

5.0 stars 1/23/2016 by poppirick
by poppirick

Works great and it's hdmi

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
poppirick
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
DVD Player
1/22/2016

Customer review by Chict

5.0 stars 1/22/2016 by Chict
by Chict

Great product for the money. No frills just a DVD player.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chict
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
DVD Player for a good price and quality.
1/20/2016

Customer review by Carlton

5.0 stars 1/20/2016 by Carlton
by Carlton

Not the best but for the PRICE it is Excellent! No reason to go on.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Carlton
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great
1/18/2016

Customer review by tree

5.0 stars 1/18/2016 by tree
by tree

great

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tree
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wanted a simple straight forward DVD player.
7/28/2012

Customer review by Existential

4.0 stars 7/28/2012 by Existential
by Existential

Just wanted a simple, inexpensive DVD player with no frills. Got what I wanted and it works well with my other equipmnt.

Was this review helpful? (104) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Existential
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 501 total reviews
1-20 of 501 reviews