Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 621 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

621 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

621 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
380
4 stars
156
3 stars
24
2 stars
12
1 stars
49
1-20 of 587 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 587 total reviews
1-20 of 587 reviews
plays well
1/15/2017

Customer review by Dougb06

4.0 stars 1/15/2017 by Dougb06
by Dougb06

plays well except i lost the remote so i cant access full control.

Dougb06
TN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great quality
1/15/2017

Customer review by Red725

5.0 stars 1/15/2017 by Red725
by Red725

Just bought this DVD player a picture quality is great. Always happy with Sony products.

Red725
Lufkin, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
very good DVD Player
12/28/2016

Customer review by dee t

4.0 stars 12/28/2016 by dee t
by dee t

I am very pleased with my purchase

dee t
NL, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Basic DVD player
12/11/2016

Customer review by captain44

4.0 stars 12/11/2016 by captain44
by captain44
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Plays DVD's. The remote only controls Sony products, so I have to use my TV"s remote to control the volume.

captain44
Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great little DVD Player
8/2/2012

Customer review by bobt1

5.0 stars 8/2/2012 by bobt1
by bobt1

Searching for a replacement DVD Player to work on my older HDTV that did not have multiple HDMI connectors (needed a component out on the DVD player) led me to few options available. This option turned out to be a great one. While it gave me the component out capability I needed today, it also has the HDMI and upscaling capability I desired to have to support a replacement TV we will be buying around year end. It was a simple install and intuitive to use. It cleanly plays dvd's with excellent quality. The remote control is simple and has all functions needed to operate. If only it could get up and put the DVD in for this couch potato. I highly recommend for any dvd user that doesn't require Blueray or 3D.

bobt1
Tampa, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
PIECE OF JUNK !!!!!
6/8/2015

Customer review by Forge

1.0 stars 6/8/2015 by Forge
by Forge

This piece of junk ( and I'm being kind ) is very noisy. It makes a loud clicking sound the entire time a DVD is in the machine. It will not play some DVDs but will play others even if it's played them before. It won't play many brand new DVDs right out of the package but sometimes if you keep ejecting and reloading them it might. It will freeze while playing and you must stop play and start again from the beginning. I clean every DVD every time I play it and use a lens cleaner every 8-10 hours. It has done this from the start and has nothing to do with anything being dirty.

Forge
Louisiana, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works for a year
8/14/2013

Customer review by DoneInYYZ

1.0 stars 8/14/2013 by DoneInYYZ
by DoneInYYZ

I'll be honest ... I was a Sony fan from the 90s who had lapsed. I decided to test the waters after with an entry level purchase of a DVD player for the den. After less than a year (10 months) with my new DVD player it died. Took it into the Sony store and got my replacement, the DVP-SR510H. This 'replacement' lasted 14 months! Are these now throw-away pieces that are only supposed to last for a year? I've gotten more years out of a off-brand DVD player than this. I am loathe to revisit Sony products now given my personal experience with this simple but ineffectual piece of equipment.

DoneInYYZ
Toronto, Canada
So Far Great
1/11/2015

Customer review by DDOT1080

4.0 stars 1/11/2015 by DDOT1080
by DDOT1080

Purchased /1/10/15. Very Easy setup with HDMI cable. . Only issue is the same I had with the player it replaced. Have to use 2 Remotes. Comcast remote does not work with it. Have to use Visio TV remote to Choose INPUT source (HDMI 2) & Volume. SONY remote used only to Setup, Play/Pause open/close. No other functions work. Same as on previous DVD Players we owned. Frustrating.

DDOT1080
03104
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1080p Upscaling DVD Player
7/15/2014

Customer review by DVDs

1.0 stars 7/15/2014 by DVDs
by DVDs

It works as it should. One flaw is that there is no light on the deck to show if the power is on or what function mode its in. I have this player mounted high so it's difficult to see what it's doing so the lights would have been useful. I know it was made as an affordable player but LEDs are cheap, they could have at least have one for the power button on the deck.

DVDs
Hawaii
Good while it lasted
5/2/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 5/2/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Worked great in the beginning, had it for about 1 1/2 years then it started turning on and off by itself. If playing a dvd, it would just stop and turn off on it's own. We didn't play very many dvd's on this one, so not sure what the problem is, but would not recommend this unit.

An anonymous customer
Weirton, WV 26062, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
grear buy
8/9/2014

Customer review by BIGGUNN

5.0 stars 8/9/2014 by BIGGUNN
by BIGGUNN

This my second Sony dvd player my first one gave out after many years, I have had many players of different makes but Sony is the only one that lasted longer and gave me better service . The different options of how it can be used make this one better than the old one and my old remote works on this dvd player.

BIGGUNN
Alexander Arkansas
Exactly What I wanted
7/16/2014

Customer review by rudyw

4.0 stars 7/16/2014 by rudyw
by rudyw

I'm renting for 3 months and needed a small low cost DVD player with HDMI output. Small because I will place it in storage until I return next year and since I pay for volume of storage I wanted small. The player does what it was designed for without frills and can display closed captions. Meets all my needs.

rudyw
Logan, UT
It's better than good but not quite excelent.
7/15/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 7/15/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have used your product and find it to be better than good but not excellent. Lets say 4.5 Stars. I like the picture it gives me on my T.V. I also like the Sony Product itself. I have had no problems with this product as of yet and if I do I know Sony will stand behind their product.

An anonymous customer
Pennsylvania
Superb DVD player
5/3/2014

Customer review by CoolLouie

5.0 stars 5/3/2014 by CoolLouie
by CoolLouie

After purchasing my new DVD player, we watched our first movie. My family and I noticed right away that the picture and sound quality improved our viewing pleasure. Very happy with this purchase. Highly recommend this product for anyone who is looking for a newer DVD player.

CoolLouie
National City, CA
Good basic player
4/3/2014

Customer review by HardToPlease

4.0 stars 4/3/2014 by HardToPlease
by HardToPlease

Good Basic player which does what it is supposed to. You have to read the instructions (doh!). Does not have component video so if your receiver or home video theatre unit already has two hdmi devices input then you will have to use the composite input or switch cables when playing. Shipping was fast and item was well packed.

HardToPlease
London, Ontario
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Satisfatory perormance
8/18/2014

Customer review by Governor

5.0 stars 8/18/2014 by Governor
by Governor

I purchased this unit as an upgrade for an older player and so far, it has performed magnificently. There were a few features on this machine that I was not aware of until I brought it home and began using it. For the price, I would highly recommend it.

Governor
Cortlandt Manor, NY
Sony DVD player
11/15/2015

Customer review by mouse111

5.0 stars 11/15/2015 by mouse111
by mouse111

I bought this specifically for an older model t.v. It works great and you can't go wrong with a Sony

mouse111
London, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
Piece of junk
3/30/2014

Customer review by reviewer13

1.0 stars 3/30/2014 by reviewer13
by reviewer13

This player only lasted for about a year - and that is with very light usage too, maybe once or twice a month. The player is dead because the tray no longer ejects when you push the open/close button. Very disappointing Sony!

reviewer13
Good for the Money
5/4/2014

Customer review by EricP14

4.0 stars 5/4/2014 by EricP14
by EricP14

I need an up-scaling DVD player for a 3rd bedroom. The product works great, looks great, and most importantly makes my DVD collection look great. Its small foot space is really ideal for any location. I highly recommend.

EricP14
Batesville, IN
Not worth the money
9/1/2015

Customer review by tammyYT

2.0 stars 9/1/2015 by tammyYT
by tammyYT

I bought this about a year ago, when it actually loads the dvd, it works well. But it only actually loads/plays the dvd 1/20 times.

tammyYT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 587 total reviews
1-20 of 587 reviews