Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 572 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

572 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

572 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
351
4 stars
144
3 stars
20
2 stars
11
1 stars
46
1-20 of 538 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 538 total reviews
1-20 of 538 reviews
works as should
9/20/2014

Customer review by Whatwherewhy

4.0 stars 9/20/2014 by Whatwherewhy
by Whatwherewhy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

received this item in a nicely packed box that was in good shape. When I opened it I found a badly crushed box containing the dvd player and wondered if it would be damaged. Almost took it back to the store that way but needed to put it to use. it is working at this time so must be a tough little thing. Very surprised Walmart would ship such a damaged box. Remember the outside box was undamaged. Very surprised they would pack such a damaged box at the warehouse may think twice about online and Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (35) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Whatwherewhy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disappointed in Sony
7/19/2016

Customer review by Memama

3.0 stars 7/19/2016 by Memama
by Memama

I purchased this DVD player from WalMart on 7-8-16 and have played several different dvds each day until 7-18-16.....10 days. All dvds played well and I was very satisfied with the unit until last night. The tv screen went black and there was no sound from the dvd which had been playing. The dvd could not be ejected by either the remote control or manually; also, the unit itself would not turn off by either manner. Now my dvd is stuck in the player. The tiny green light on top of the unit to show that it is on cannot even be seen unless I get up and walk close to it. The light needs to be on the front of the unit, not on the top. I am returning the unit to WalMart and will probably purchase one by another manufacturer.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 7/21/2016

Hi Memama. We regret that the DVD player failed to meet your expectations. We'll make sure that your feedback will be heard by the team for further improvements and possible changes on the unit. We also thank you for your concern and suggestion. Best regards, -Mark

Memama
Would recommend to a friend? No
so far so good
1/15/2015

Customer review by geodude

4.0 stars 1/15/2015 by geodude
by geodude

Bought this product instead of a blue ray player solely because I could connect to my stereo system. I use it more for playing CDs than I do for watching DVDs. On the plus side it plays both DVDs and CDs well. On the negative side you must press the open/close button twice (unless using remote) to load the CD. It takes a while to load and then requires you to hit the play button once loaded. The DVDs will auto play - just load DVD and close door and it begins playing. The description of the product says it will produce sound when fast forwarding or fast rewinding. I find this true only with the CDs and not with the DVDs. The remote can only be programmed for a TV. I was hoping to control my amplifier's volume as I did with my last Sony 5-disk player. The old remote seems to be working this player just fine so I don't use the supplied remote. Overall I say this product is worth it's cost and would recommend as long as you don't need all the bells and whistles.

Was this review helpful? (21) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 2/2/2015

Hi geodude. That is definitely the news we like to hear. Enjoy your new Sony DVD Player! Dave

geodude
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wasted money
4/4/2016

Customer review by dalesliluv

1.0 stars 4/4/2016 by dalesliluv
by dalesliluv

bought this thinking it would be an awesome little player. i have always trusted sony for other products and when this arrived i was thrilled at the small size since i have a limited space for it...it played for a couple of days and then one night i went to play a dvd disc......it would not play and kept showing a message on my tv "insert disc". i tried several discs that had played before with no luck. so...needless to say this player has been put away and i will see if i can pawn it off on someone who can fix it and if they can it's theirs as i can't afford to get it repaired or send it back for replacement or whatever. kinda makes me question future purchases from sony.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dalesliluv
Would recommend to a friend? No
Perfect
8/24/2016

Customer review by RayRay

5.0 stars 8/24/2016 by RayRay
by RayRay
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Not big or bulky. Works great. Lite wt.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RayRay
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sony HDMI DVD Player
8/19/2016

Customer review by Aaron

5.0 stars 8/19/2016 by Aaron
by Aaron
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Works great. Nice and compact. I basically use this to play back my movies created on a big screen. Great bang for the buck.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Aaron
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Waste of money
8/9/2016

Customer review by Shelby

1.0 stars 8/9/2016 by Shelby
by Shelby

I watched 3-4 movies on this DVD player and then all of a sudden it just stopped having color. the picture was awful. Definitely don't recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (3) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 8/11/2016

Hi Shelby. We regret that the DVD player gave you issues after a very short amount of time, we appreciate that you took the time in bringing this to our attention. We'll have our team investigate this matter. Please do check the link provided in order to fix this color issue with your unit: https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/42999/p/47329,47330,70695/c/65,66/kw/no%20color Best regards, -Mark

Shelby
Would recommend to a friend? No
Most reviews good; ours died in less than a month
6/2/2013

Customer review by Duffysdad

1.0 stars 6/2/2013 by Duffysdad
by Duffysdad

Most reviews that I could find were pretty good. Using an HDMI cable it was super easy to hook up. But from the first use, the scenes woud tend to freeze up. I could fast forward for a few seconds and it would once again play normally; assumed it must have been a scratched disk. Then it happened on the 2nd dvd, and again on the 3rd. Finally on the 4th use it froze and quit all together. Couldn't even get the unit to power down via the remote or the front panel button. Finally unplugged it. After plugging it back in, it would not power-up, eject the dvd or anything else. Finally had to unplug again and take the unit apart to retrieve my dvd. Another annoyance was that the remote only seemed to work about half the time. I assume that was also a symptom of the faulty controls in general. It was a shame, because it was very reasonably priced the upscaling produced a GREAT picture.

Was this review helpful? (41) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Duffysdad
Madison, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Excellent DVD Player
10/22/2012

Customer review by okiewideglide

5.0 stars 10/22/2012 by okiewideglide
by okiewideglide

This little DVD player works perfectly. I'm always amazed at the nit picking reviews on an inexpensive item. If you want all the bells and whistles just go ahead and put $2 or 3 hundred more and get you a blueray player(bet money it won't work as good as this little player.# Took all of about five minutes to plug in the power cord and HDMI cable and program the remote to also control my Samsung tv. I have used the player for about 8 hours a day for the first three days after purchasing and it works flawlessly. Near HD quality picture #with HDMI cable) and great Dolby sound. If you want ease of use and an excellent inexpensive dvd player, this is a great buy. I'm very, very pleased with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (352) (43)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
okiewideglide
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Dollar for dollar the best choice.
6/9/2012

Customer review by Kroggers

5.0 stars 6/9/2012 by Kroggers
by Kroggers

The tiny green dot is the only display on the DVD player, which I found odd... However, for the price I paid $15 more than the cheapest DVD player so I could have the HDMI output option, which is very necessary for the future of owning electronics. This model also plays DVD+/-RW's and has Dolby Digital output, options other cheaper models didn't have.... The only reason to upgrade from this DVD player is if you want: 1) a DVD/VCR combo, 2) a portable DVD player, or, 3) a blue-ray player.

Was this review helpful? (272) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kroggers
Spokane, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't waste your money
3/10/2016

Customer review by LovingDaughter52

1.0 stars 3/10/2016 by LovingDaughter52
by LovingDaughter52

I bought this dvd player for my special needs brother for Christmas. Here it is the middle of March and it has not worked for a month.At first I thought my brother had done something to break it but after taking the cover off (my dad was a tv technician) I realized that the motor that turns the disk is blown. I bought this model because it was easy to use and it was not the cheapest Sony dvd nor the most expensive. Would not recommend.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 3/14/2016

Hi LovingDaughter52, sorry for not replying sooner. We're sorry to hear about what happened to your unit. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com including the following information:<br />- Contact or product information<br />- Event or reference ID ( if available )<br />We're happy to take a look into this matter. Dave

LovingDaughter52
Would recommend to a friend? No
Awesome!
6/16/2016

Customer review by Awesomeness

5.0 stars 6/16/2016 by Awesomeness
by Awesomeness
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I could not be happier with my purchase! It works great! Would highly recommend for the price!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Awesomeness
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
DVD player
8/18/2016

Customer review by Cruisergranny

5.0 stars 8/18/2016 by Cruisergranny
by Cruisergranny
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Works great!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cruisergranny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best dvd Player for movie lovers
1/2/2013

Customer review by LocalComsumer93

5.0 stars 1/2/2013 by LocalComsumer93
by LocalComsumer93
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got this dvd player for Christmas for my dad. Not only did it arrive on time or that it was specifically what he wanted, but the quality was outstanding. It was easy to use, plus the choice between the HDMI or regular optic cables were very easy to set up. The thin sleekness to the player makes it great for Entertainment centers and open stands. Best DVD Player for the Price

Was this review helpful? (66) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LocalComsumer93
Grants Pass, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/2/2012

Customer review by bikelikeme

5.0 stars 11/2/2012 by bikelikeme
by bikelikeme
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Quality DVD Player product! Great Price and fast delivery. For all my regular DVD's......

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bikelikeme
Colorado Springs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Quick and Simple
8/8/2016

Customer review by PeppermintP1

5.0 stars 8/8/2016 by PeppermintP1
by PeppermintP1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Just got it, haven't really used it yet, but it was very quick and simple to hook up. Very light weight and easy to blend in with any décor.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PeppermintP1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/7/2012

Customer review by westkansasmom

5.0 stars 12/7/2012 by westkansasmom
by westkansasmom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This player works great and remembers the last time you had the disc in and what was playing. Great for changing kids dvd's many times a day. :-) It is quite sufficient for our needs.

Was this review helpful? (27) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
westkansasmom
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wanted a simple straight forward DVD player.
7/28/2012

Customer review by Existential

4.0 stars 7/28/2012 by Existential
by Existential

Just wanted a simple, inexpensive DVD player with no frills. Got what I wanted and it works well with my other equipmnt.

Was this review helpful? (106) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Existential
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
dvd player
6/27/2016

Customer review by bunpers1957

5.0 stars 6/27/2016 by bunpers1957
by bunpers1957
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

wonderful worth the money and easy to use

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bunpers1957
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Has HDMI connector
8/23/2014

Customer review by shirleylove

5.0 stars 8/23/2014 by shirleylove
by shirleylove
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love this DVD because of its HDMI connector. It is also a great price and I had no trouble setting it up. Great picture and easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shirleylove
Me.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 538 total reviews
1-20 of 538 reviews