Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 630 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

630 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

630 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
387
4 stars
158
3 stars
24
2 stars
12
1 stars
49
1-20 of 596 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 596 total reviews
1-20 of 596 reviews
Solid DVD player with great picture & sound
4/12/2017

Customer review by JimfromPA

5.0 stars 4/12/2017 by JimfromPA
by JimfromPA

I bought this as an upgrade to my existing DVD player which died. It enhances existing DVDs up to 1080p HD. It also has a HDMI jack which improves the clarity and sound of the player. I was getting interference from the old 3 jack rca connectors. I am very happy with my purchase. And for $39.99, the price cannot be beat.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JimfromPA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
works as should
9/20/2014

Customer review by Whatwherewhy

4.0 stars 9/20/2014 by Whatwherewhy
by Whatwherewhy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

received this item in a nicely packed box that was in good shape. When I opened it I found a badly crushed box containing the dvd player and wondered if it would be damaged. Almost took it back to the store that way but needed to put it to use. it is working at this time so must be a tough little thing. Very surprised Walmart would ship such a damaged box. Remember the outside box was undamaged. Very surprised they would pack such a damaged box at the warehouse may think twice about online and Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (66) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Whatwherewhy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
flawed but pretty good
9/26/2016

Customer review by NicknameRequirementStupid

3.0 stars 9/26/2016 by NicknameRequirementStupid
by NicknameRequirementStupid

I bought one of these three years ago and replaced it with second one recently. After about 2 years the first one I purchased started occasionally displaying the message "can not play disk." As time progressed it was unable to play 90% of the disks I put in it (My two other DVD players have no problem playing the same disks). The menu system for this player is more intuitive and user friendly than some players, but in some ways it's irritating. It takes far took many steps to zoom in to or repeat a section of video. It's also irritating that the ON light is so tiny and dim it's nearly impossible to see across the room. On the positive side, the picture quality is excellent and I like that you can speed it up or slow it down a little and the sound still works - that's great for fast forwarding through a dull section of a film. But the competition appeared to be even worse, so when my original unit failed I replaced it with another of the same model.

Was this review helpful? (25) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 10/1/2016

Hi NicknameRequirementStupid, Sony takes into consideration all good or bad feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We will forward your information to the proper department. Thank you for your feedback. -Vincent

NicknameRequirementStupid
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
so far so good
1/15/2015

Customer review by geodude

4.0 stars 1/15/2015 by geodude
by geodude

Bought this product instead of a blue ray player solely because I could connect to my stereo system. I use it more for playing CDs than I do for watching DVDs. On the plus side it plays both DVDs and CDs well. On the negative side you must press the open/close button twice (unless using remote) to load the CD. It takes a while to load and then requires you to hit the play button once loaded. The DVDs will auto play - just load DVD and close door and it begins playing. The description of the product says it will produce sound when fast forwarding or fast rewinding. I find this true only with the CDs and not with the DVDs. The remote can only be programmed for a TV. I was hoping to control my amplifier's volume as I did with my last Sony 5-disk player. The old remote seems to be working this player just fine so I don't use the supplied remote. Overall I say this product is worth it's cost and would recommend as long as you don't need all the bells and whistles.

Was this review helpful? (36) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 2/2/2015

Hi geodude. That is definitely the news we like to hear. Enjoy your new Sony DVD Player! Dave

geodude
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Most reviews good; ours died in less than a month
6/2/2013

Customer review by Duffysdad

1.0 stars 6/2/2013 by Duffysdad
by Duffysdad

Most reviews that I could find were pretty good. Using an HDMI cable it was super easy to hook up. But from the first use, the scenes woud tend to freeze up. I could fast forward for a few seconds and it would once again play normally; assumed it must have been a scratched disk. Then it happened on the 2nd dvd, and again on the 3rd. Finally on the 4th use it froze and quit all together. Couldn't even get the unit to power down via the remote or the front panel button. Finally unplugged it. After plugging it back in, it would not power-up, eject the dvd or anything else. Finally had to unplug again and take the unit apart to retrieve my dvd. Another annoyance was that the remote only seemed to work about half the time. I assume that was also a symptom of the faulty controls in general. It was a shame, because it was very reasonably priced the upscaling produced a GREAT picture.

Was this review helpful? (47) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Duffysdad
Madison, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Disappointed in Sony
7/19/2016

Customer review by Memama

3.0 stars 7/19/2016 by Memama
by Memama

I purchased this DVD player from WalMart on 7-8-16 and have played several different dvds each day until 7-18-16.....10 days. All dvds played well and I was very satisfied with the unit until last night. The tv screen went black and there was no sound from the dvd which had been playing. The dvd could not be ejected by either the remote control or manually; also, the unit itself would not turn off by either manner. Now my dvd is stuck in the player. The tiny green light on top of the unit to show that it is on cannot even be seen unless I get up and walk close to it. The light needs to be on the front of the unit, not on the top. I am returning the unit to WalMart and will probably purchase one by another manufacturer.

Was this review helpful? (25) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 7/21/2016

Hi Memama. We regret that the DVD player failed to meet your expectations. We'll make sure that your feedback will be heard by the team for further improvements and possible changes on the unit. We also thank you for your concern and suggestion. Best regards, -Mark

Memama
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very basic
5/2/2017

Customer review by WileEShopper

4.0 stars 5/2/2017 by WileEShopper
by WileEShopper

Just needed a dvd player for bedroom tv. This is small enough, and easy to set up. I got it because any other I might chose did not have HDMI connection. Only two negatives at this point. 1. you can only open/close with the remote. 2. the only display light is the power on/off light which is so small you can't see it unless your standing right over it. While except able, it is rather slow to respond.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 5/2/2017

Hi WileEShopper, Your feedback is highly appreciated, it will be a big help in improving the quality of our products. Thank you for sharing your review. ~Ralph

WileEShopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Player
12/4/2016

Customer review by JoeB

5.0 stars 12/4/2016 by JoeB
by JoeB
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Fast delivery. I ordered two Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Players one for a 47" LG HDMI cab;es/ And another for a very old 26" Sharp Tube TV with the RCA cables. The DVD's played great on both. Easy to hook up and use. Would buy again if need too.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JoeB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent DVD Player
10/22/2012

Customer review by okiewideglide

5.0 stars 10/22/2012 by okiewideglide
by okiewideglide

This little DVD player works perfectly. I'm always amazed at the nit picking reviews on an inexpensive item. If you want all the bells and whistles just go ahead and put $2 or 3 hundred more and get you a blueray player(bet money it won't work as good as this little player.# Took all of about five minutes to plug in the power cord and HDMI cable and program the remote to also control my Samsung tv. I have used the player for about 8 hours a day for the first three days after purchasing and it works flawlessly. Near HD quality picture #with HDMI cable) and great Dolby sound. If you want ease of use and an excellent inexpensive dvd player, this is a great buy. I'm very, very pleased with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (370) (44)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
okiewideglide
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
Wasted money
4/4/2016

Customer review by dalesliluv

1.0 stars 4/4/2016 by dalesliluv
by dalesliluv

bought this thinking it would be an awesome little player. i have always trusted sony for other products and when this arrived i was thrilled at the small size since i have a limited space for it...it played for a couple of days and then one night i went to play a dvd disc......it would not play and kept showing a message on my tv "insert disc". i tried several discs that had played before with no luck. so...needless to say this player has been put away and i will see if i can pawn it off on someone who can fix it and if they can it's theirs as i can't afford to get it repaired or send it back for replacement or whatever. kinda makes me question future purchases from sony.

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dalesliluv
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good buy
11/19/2016

Customer review by Spoon1939

4.0 stars 11/19/2016 by Spoon1939
by Spoon1939
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this to replace a refurbished Sony which lasted only a month before it gave up the ghost. It works well so far . It seems to have all sorts of extra capabilities which I don't use (or even understand!). However it plays DVD's fine and displays a good picture on the screen. My only complaint, which is minor but irritating, is that the tiny, tiny green light that tells you the unit is "on" is almost impossible to see unless the room is almost completely dark. That, associated with a couple of second delay in activation leaves you wondering whether the unit is on or not. Otherwise I have no problems.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Spoon1939
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best dvd Player for movie lovers
1/2/2013

Customer review by LocalComsumer93

5.0 stars 1/2/2013 by LocalComsumer93
by LocalComsumer93
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got this dvd player for Christmas for my dad. Not only did it arrive on time or that it was specifically what he wanted, but the quality was outstanding. It was easy to use, plus the choice between the HDMI or regular optic cables were very easy to set up. The thin sleekness to the player makes it great for Entertainment centers and open stands. Best DVD Player for the Price

Was this review helpful? (66) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LocalComsumer93
Grants Pass, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:18 - 24
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Dollar for dollar the best choice.
6/9/2012

Customer review by Kroggers

5.0 stars 6/9/2012 by Kroggers
by Kroggers

The tiny green dot is the only display on the DVD player, which I found odd... However, for the price I paid $15 more than the cheapest DVD player so I could have the HDMI output option, which is very necessary for the future of owning electronics. This model also plays DVD+/-RW's and has Dolby Digital output, options other cheaper models didn't have.... The only reason to upgrade from this DVD player is if you want: 1) a DVD/VCR combo, 2) a portable DVD player, or, 3) a blue-ray player.

Was this review helpful? (278) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kroggers
Spokane, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Great DVD Player for the price.
1/4/2017

Customer review by DisableGuy

4.0 stars 1/4/2017 by DisableGuy
by DisableGuy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I buy nothing but Sony and never have any problems. I think it's top of the line. Great picture HDMI hook up, It's as good as High Def. I had a shipping issue but was still able to get it when I needed it. It wasn't Walmarts fault, it was the company that they used to ship it to me. I find that Walmart has the best prices on quality electronics. Got my DVD player on 12/16/16 at 7:30 am, it was dropped at my front door and they rang my doorbell. It's that simple :) If you need a DVD player this is the way to go for the price.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DisableGuy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/2/2012

Customer review by bikelikeme

5.0 stars 11/2/2012 by bikelikeme
by bikelikeme
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Quality DVD Player product! Great Price and fast delivery. For all my regular DVD's......

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bikelikeme
Colorado Springs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wanted a simple straight forward DVD player.
7/28/2012

Customer review by Existential

4.0 stars 7/28/2012 by Existential
by Existential

Just wanted a simple, inexpensive DVD player with no frills. Got what I wanted and it works well with my other equipmnt.

Was this review helpful? (106) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Existential
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:65 or older
Sony HDMI DVD Player
8/19/2016

Customer review by Aaron

5.0 stars 8/19/2016 by Aaron
by Aaron
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Works great. Nice and compact. I basically use this to play back my movies created on a big screen. Great bang for the buck.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Aaron
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Has HDMI connector
8/23/2014

Customer review by shirleylove

5.0 stars 8/23/2014 by shirleylove
by shirleylove
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love this DVD because of its HDMI connector. It is also a great price and I had no trouble setting it up. Great picture and easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shirleylove
Me.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Age:65 or older
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/9/2013

Customer review by IndRuss

1.0 stars 3/9/2013 by IndRuss
by IndRuss
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I picked up this item at the will call desk at approx 10:00 AM, took it home, opened the package, connected it to my HDTV and attemped to play a number of different DVDs, I continually got a message on the screen (This DVD Can Not Be Played Due To Area Restrictions) I then called the Sony help number, talked to a tech rep who talked me thtough a procedure to reset the player, it did not change anything, and the rep told me it was a defective unit, I returned it to Walmart within a couple of hours of when I picked it up. I have ordered other items from Walmart and have never had a problem, This Sony DVD player appears to be a bummer.

Was this review helpful? (22) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IndRuss
Las Vegas Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/7/2012

Customer review by westkansasmom

5.0 stars 12/7/2012 by westkansasmom
by westkansasmom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This player works great and remembers the last time you had the disc in and what was playing. Great for changing kids dvd's many times a day. :-) It is quite sufficient for our needs.

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
westkansasmom
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 596 total reviews
1-20 of 596 reviews