Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.3out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 | 639 reviews
5 stars
393
4 stars
160
3 stars
24
2 stars
13
1 stars
49
Sort by: 
1-20 of 604 reviews
1-20 of 604 reviews
Solid DVD player with great picture & sound
4/12/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this as an upgrade to my existing DVD player which died. It enhances existing DVDs up to 1080p HD. It also has a HDMI jack which improves the clarity and sound of the player. I was getting interference from the old 3 jack rca connectors. I am very happy with my purchase. And for $39.99, the price cannot be beat.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
works as should
9/20/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
received this item in a nicely packed box that was in good shape. When I opened it I found a badly crushed box containing the dvd player and wondered if it would be damaged. Almost took it back to the store that way but needed to put it to use. it is working at this time so must be a tough little thing. Very surprised Walmart would ship such a damaged box. Remember the outside box was undamaged. Very surprised they would pack such a damaged box at the warehouse may think twice about online and Walmart.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (70)No (15)
Report
Was this review helpful?
flawed but pretty good
9/26/2016
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought one of these three years ago and replaced it with second one recently. After about 2 years the first one I purchased started occasionally displaying the message "can not play disk." As time progressed it was unable to play 90% of the disks I put in it (My two other DVD players have no problem playing the same disks). The menu system for this player is more intuitive and user friendly than some players, but in some ways it's irritating. It takes far took many steps to zoom in to or repeat a section of video. It's also irritating that the ON light is so tiny and dim it's nearly impossible to see across the room. On the positive side, the picture quality is excellent and I like that you can speed it up or slow it down a little and the sound still works - that's great for fast forwarding through a dull section of a film. But the competition appeared to be even worse, so when my original unit failed I replaced it with another of the same model.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (29)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
so far so good
1/15/2015
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought this product instead of a blue ray player solely because I could connect to my stereo system. I use it more for playing CDs than I do for watching DVDs. On the plus side it plays both DVDs and CDs well. On the negative side you must press the open/close button twice (unless using remote) to load the CD. It takes a while to load and then requires you to hit the play button once loaded. The DVDs will auto play - just load DVD and close door and it begins playing. The description of the product says it will produce sound when fast forwarding or fast rewinding. I find this true only with the CDs and not with the DVDs. The remote can only be programmed for a TV. I was hoping to control my amplifier's volume as I did with my last Sony 5-disk player. The old remote seems to be working this player just fine so I don't use the supplied remote. Overall I say this product is worth it's cost and would recommend as long as you don't need all the bells and whistles.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (41)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Most reviews good; ours died in less than a month
6/2/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Most reviews that I could find were pretty good. Using an HDMI cable it was super easy to hook up. But from the first use, the scenes woud tend to freeze up. I could fast forward for a few seconds and it would once again play normally; assumed it must have been a scratched disk. Then it happened on the 2nd dvd, and again on the 3rd. Finally on the 4th use it froze and quit all together. Couldn't even get the unit to power down via the remote or the front panel button. Finally unplugged it. After plugging it back in, it would not power-up, eject the dvd or anything else. Finally had to unplug again and take the unit apart to retrieve my dvd. Another annoyance was that the remote only seemed to work about half the time. I assume that was also a symptom of the faulty controls in general. It was a shame, because it was very reasonably priced the upscaling produced a GREAT picture.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (55)No (14)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent DVD Player
10/22/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This little DVD player works perfectly. I'm always amazed at the nit picking reviews on an inexpensive item. If you want all the bells and whistles just go ahead and put $2 or 3 hundred more and get you a blueray player(bet money it won't work as good as this little player.# Took all of about five minutes to plug in the power cord and HDMI cable and program the remote to also control my Samsung tv. I have used the player for about 8 hours a day for the first three days after purchasing and it works flawlessly. Near HD quality picture #with HDMI cable) and great Dolby sound. If you want ease of use and an excellent inexpensive dvd player, this is a great buy. I'm very, very pleased with my purchase.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (377)No (44)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Deal
7/17/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought this for my mom for Christmas, could beat the price tag! She loved it and has had no issues or complaints with it. Would most certainly recommend.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Disappointed in Sony
7/19/2016
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this DVD player from WalMart on 7-8-16 and have played several different dvds each day until 7-18-16.....10 days. All dvds played well and I was very satisfied with the unit until last night. The tv screen went black and there was no sound from the dvd which had been playing. The dvd could not be ejected by either the remote control or manually; also, the unit itself would not turn off by either manner. Now my dvd is stuck in the player. The tiny green light on top of the unit to show that it is on cannot even be seen unless I get up and walk close to it. The light needs to be on the front of the unit, not on the top. I am returning the unit to WalMart and will probably purchase one by another manufacturer.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (26)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Dollar for dollar the best choice.
6/9/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The tiny green dot is the only display on the DVD player, which I found odd... However, for the price I paid $15 more than the cheapest DVD player so I could have the HDMI output option, which is very necessary for the future of owning electronics. This model also plays DVD+/-RW's and has Dolby Digital output, options other cheaper models didn't have.... The only reason to upgrade from this DVD player is if you want: 1) a DVD/VCR combo, 2) a portable DVD player, or, 3) a blue-ray player.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (285)No (29)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good for the money
9/8/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought 3 diff brands same price or a little cheaper and non worked. This one works great and remote works too
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best dvd Player for movie lovers
1/2/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I got this dvd player for Christmas for my dad. Not only did it arrive on time or that it was specifically what he wanted, but the quality was outstanding. It was easy to use, plus the choice between the HDMI or regular optic cables were very easy to set up. The thin sleekness to the player makes it great for Entertainment centers and open stands. Best DVD Player for the Price
Was this review helpful?
Yes (70)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great!
9/3/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Great price and it was here in no time! Works great too!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
DVD player
8/31/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This player works very well and has played many DVDs without any problems.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
11/2/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Quality DVD Player product! Great Price and fast delivery. For all my regular DVD's......
Was this review helpful?
Yes (22)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Wasted money
4/4/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
bought this thinking it would be an awesome little player. i have always trusted sony for other products and when this arrived i was thrilled at the small size since i have a limited space for it...it played for a couple of days and then one night i went to play a dvd disc......it would not play and kept showing a message on my tv "insert disc". i tried several discs that had played before with no luck. so...needless to say this player has been put away and i will see if i can pawn it off on someone who can fix it and if they can it's theirs as i can't afford to get it repaired or send it back for replacement or whatever. kinda makes me question future purchases from sony.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (21)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Wanted a simple straight forward DVD player.
7/28/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Just wanted a simple, inexpensive DVD player with no frills. Got what I wanted and it works well with my other equipmnt.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (107)No (14)
Report
Was this review helpful?
12/7/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This player works great and remembers the last time you had the disc in and what was playing. Great for changing kids dvd's many times a day. :-) It is quite sufficient for our needs.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (28)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
3/9/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I picked up this item at the will call desk at approx 10:00 AM, took it home, opened the package, connected it to my HDTV and attemped to play a number of different DVDs, I continually got a message on the screen (This DVD Can Not Be Played Due To Area Restrictions) I then called the Sony help number, talked to a tech rep who talked me thtough a procedure to reset the player, it did not change anything, and the rep told me it was a defective unit, I returned it to Walmart within a couple of hours of when I picked it up. I have ordered other items from Walmart and have never had a problem, This Sony DVD player appears to be a bummer.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (23)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Has HDMI connector
8/23/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I love this DVD because of its HDMI connector. It is also a great price and I had no trouble setting it up. Great picture and easy to use.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Player
12/4/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Fast delivery. I ordered two Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Players one for a 47" LG HDMI cab;es/ And another for a very old 26" Sharp Tube TV with the RCA cables. The DVD's played great on both. Easy to hook up and use. Would buy again if need too.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643946, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-